General => General Discussion => Topic started by: UIZ733 on June 12, 2016, 01:12:28 PM
Why do people (predominantly males) do it?
More specifically, why do some people think it is OK or fun to leave big black streaks of rubber on public roads in straight lines or donuts?
By doing this, I would imagine at the very minimum, they are tossing away large amounts of hard earned (tyres), not to mention the catastrophic dangers involved.
For the record, I have never done it because I could never afford it and maybe I am just a sissy.
Because they are ####wits, that's why. No other reason, just that they are ####wits.
Shane.
Because they have a small penis
It's getting bad up around our way, every intersection at the moment is coated in rubber and the latest trend this week is attacking any good looking bit of grass verge and tearing it up
Because they are ####wits, that's why. No other reason, just that they are ####wits.
Shane.
X2 You've nailed it Shane. :cup:
Because they have a small penis
And excess rubber
...not for long...
And excess rubber
That rubber could have been used to advantage and prevented them from being conceived. :'(
Is hooning worse now that in previous generations?
Define hooning.
If under the current hooning laws, yeah, I've hooned.
Not saying it was correct, but back in the day, we raced for money down the Gold Coast. (did ok too) ;D
Some old road out the back of the coast, near the dog pound, if I remember correctly.
May he who has "NEVER, EVER, HOONED", cast the first infringement notice.
Type 1 offences are:
•dangerous driving... NO. (some might say yes)
•careless driving... NO.
•organising, promoting or taking part in racing and speed trials.......................................YES.
•wilfully starting a motor vehicle or driving in way that makes unnecessary noise or smoke.YES. (You have to test nitrous oxide some where)
•evading police... NO. (because he caught me)
Type 2 offences are:
•driving a vehicle that is uninsured and unregistered.................................... NO.
•driving without a licence or when your licence has been suspended............... NO.
•high range drink driving—with a blood alcohol level above 0.15%................. NO.
•exceeding the speed limit by more than 40km/h......................................... YES.
•driving a modified vehicle that does not comply with vehicle safety standards. YES.
•driving while under a 24 hour suspension order.......................................... NO.
Now, lets be honest everyone.
I used to do it when I was younger on back roads & out of town away from everyone. We used to love it & had a blast, racing each other & doing time trials down windy dirt roads.
Our town never had a race track so we made our own. We may not have been in the right, but we took it away from town so we wouldn't hurt anyone or lose our licenses. No harm was done. Not sure how I'd go in this generation coming through though, cars have a lot more power now.
We were more into rallying back then so we mainly had V8 eating 4 and 6 bangers ie 180B's , an RX4 , turboed LJ , an LJ with triple webers , cortina etc. One mate had an XB intercepter and one bought an XA GT look-a-like. We used to cruise up and down the Princes Highway in Dandenong, do high speed runs on the Gunnamatta road when on hols at Rosebud and do the windy Mountain Highway from Boronia up to Mt Dandenong. We were in the ANZ car club too so would go to motorkhanas and we did night rallying. We did burnouts occasionally but not really our thing for some reason. It was always more fun sitting sideways like the drift cars these days. When I look back , some close calls but we all survived with the worst one being the 180B SSS which tripped over a gutter (it was that low )and he end over ended it which put him in a coma for 4 weeks. Sitting back now thinking about some of the things we did , having a beer and laughing.
Raider
Define hooning.
If under the current hooning laws, yeah, I've hooned.
You define hooning, not the previous Qld's governments definition.
Since those laws, that definition of hooning, are you still a hoon?
The short sharp bark of a V8 , the bus stop , waiting for the the " bad girls " after school , the pick up ...the Moment Torque exceeds friction.
You just know she gonna go all the way to redline .
And yes I accept that modern cars are a lot more powerful , it's just young blokes have gotten a lot dumber - and that's if they are even remotely interested in either cars or girls .
I still have my ' silly ' cars in a shed and they still make me happy .
It's just now if your a goose the car is gone , when I was young Mr policeman would take the keys and tell you to pick me up tomorrow from the station .
I actually sold a ripper car to a policeman after he had booked me " guaranteed fast that one " I walked to work for 12 months .....
That was 30 yrs ago , geez I'm old !
You define hooning, not the previous Qld's governments definition.
Since those laws, that definition of hooning, are you still a hoon?
I had to google it to find out what the laws are Shane. Do they change with each election?
I'm not a hoon now and I'm first to admit, todays hoon is way more out of control than when we were blazing around the blurbs.... I think.
We were dickheads, no doubt about, but we still had some respect for our cars and I think these days, that doesn't exist for very many.
It's getting bad up around our way, every intersection at the moment is coated in rubber and the latest trend this week is attacking any good looking bit of grass verge and tearing it up
Yep, I see it all the time. We are lucky where we live. Dirt roads, lots of steep hills and really really big pot holes in the roads.
Amazing how many people must have had dull teenage years, or it was too far back to remember.
That could well be the quote of the century. :cup:
Yep. I'm bloody guilty as charges
**** we had fun
(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/milktruck/stout2.jpg)
(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/milktruck/stout3.jpg)
Sadly don't have any of our bike club touring weekends in central NSW slipstreamin each other doing stupid40 kph and dozens of trips down the old road, thru nation, on the way to Bathurst... burnouts, wheelies, and watchin Don Gwilliam trying to jump over a glowing 44 gallon drum in the bollox and not quite making it over the camp chair stuffed into the top of the 44...
ahhh those were the days.
As a young fella I did my fair share of burnouts and driving too fast around corners, getting the rear end to slide out. Had an XE falcon as a first car. Put a sports exhaust on it and used to coincide my gear changes with the bark of the exhaust..man I loved that car and thought I was cool hooning around. A lot of it was showing off to mates and a fair bit of the young fella 'im invincible' attitude. I think a fair few from each generation is the same.
The thing that made me give up my hooning was buying a 2.4 turbo diesel hilux surf...first time i took off out of a side street with a truck nearly rear ending me made me realise I had to adjust my driving style..With the falcon I had all the power in the world to slip into traffic quickly but not so with the hilux! So I started driving conservatively and have done ever since.even now with a v6 prado. Wife reckons I drive like a grandpa! We live in a nice coastal touristy town and I get annoyed seeing the young ones doing burnouts and driving dangerously. Rubber marks on the road look horrible! Man, reading this back makes me feel like a hypocrite..but I guess atleast I realised my errors!
Type 1 offences are:
•dangerous driving... NO. (some might say yes)
•careless driving... NO.
•organising, promoting or taking part in racing and speed trials.......................................YES.
•wilfully starting a motor vehicle or driving in way that makes unnecessary noise or smoke.YES. (You have to test nitrous oxide some where)
•evading police... NO. (because he caught me)
Type 2 offences are:
•driving a vehicle that is uninsured and unregistered.................................... NO.
•driving without a licence or when your licence has been suspended............... NO.
•high range drink driving—with a blood alcohol level above 0.15%................. NO.
•exceeding the speed limit by more than 40km/h......................................... YES.
•driving a modified vehicle that does not comply with vehicle safety standards. YES.
•driving while under a 24 hour suspension order.......................................... NO.
Now, lets be honest everyone.
Better google that again Jeepers, Driving unlicenced or under suspension is in the type 2 category.
I'm not a hoon now and I'm first to admit, todays hoon is way more out of control than when we were blazing around the blurbs.... I think.
We were dickheads, no doubt about, but we still had some respect for our cars and I think these days, that doesn't exist for very many.
agree totally
351 Cleaveland, yella terra heads, twin holly 650 double pumpers, mallory twin point, extractors to 4 foot hotdogs under the sills of the XB ute, outlet in front of the back wheels, was a :police: magnet.
I remember the words.......undue noise due to manner of operation, wheels too wide, clearance too low, steering wheel too small, idle too lumpy (if you could get it to idle), window tint too dark, why are you out so late son...................... :'( :'( :'( i loved those days when i could afford the fuel and the tires. >:D
Guess I am guilty as charged too orificer.
Datto 180B, Dual 45mm DCOE Webers, shaved and worked head, extractors to 2" exhaust, Fulcrum suspension etc etc. Loved picking on V8's :laugh: :laugh:
Trip from Sydney to Lismore up the coast road average 72mph
Then had a HT P/V with a worked 192 with triple Webers this time and a datto 1600 gearbox conversion. You think V8's were thirsty.... 6-8 MPG on a good day. I used to love my Webers (and not a baby Q either).
Then moved onto road bikes after that till I worked out that the radars were getting better at their job.
The chances of getting seriously caught were a lot less in the 70's than it is now, not that I am condoning what I used to do. I think I was addicted to speed, not the drug type though.
Still driving Datto's but a more sedate one these days. Still it took me a long time to eventually slow down. And a lot of $$$$ to state revenue.
Still driving Datto's but a more sedate one these days. Still it took me a long time to eventually slow down. And a lot of $$$$ to state revenue
I'd love another 510, (datto 1600) but they pull diamonds these days.
(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9d/Datsun_Bluebird_1600SSS_(1970)_rear_2013_Nissan_Global_Headquarters_Gallery.jpg)
I'd love another 510, (datto 1600) but they pull diamonds these days.
Yeah, Dattos were the ultimate sleeper machine. Loved showing up the bent 8's
http://www.speedhunters.com/2012/10/a-9-second-700hp-street-legal-datsun-510/ (http://www.speedhunters.com/2012/10/a-9-second-700hp-street-legal-datsun-510/)
Had a full licence at 15 (NZ) and my own Austin A40 a year or so later. We did time trials on the back roads, 0-60 (mph) and the bloody Austin was so slow I had to knock off the old mans Zephyr before I could be a hero. Pretty tame stuff, but cars were hard to get. By law, you needed a 50% deposit to buy any old banger, and had to be in possession of overseas funds to get a new car.
Can remember going to the Alpine Rally when it was up in the North East. My mate was in his XB interceptor going flat out with a stock looking 120Y up his clacker pushing him all the way. Probably a George Fury fan. The 180B's and the 1600's were good because you could put a 2 litre in them and also the 6 cylinder 240K gearbox and independant rear end fitted nicely. I also loved the Weber / Dellorto sound.
Did a few silly things in my younger days, more sedate nowadays but still appreciate a fast car. I thought I knew fast until...
I did a job for a guy last Thursday. He had recently bought himself a BA XR6 Turbo manual, fully modded with approx 430rwkW (told me this after my drive). He told me to take it for a spin but make sure I hang on when it hits 3000rpm. So I cruised to the nearby highway, took off gently, in second I put my foot down. Went OK but then at about ~60kph it hits 3000rpm, OMG it was like a switch was flicked!!! An almighty growl, a massive shove in the back then the car starts sliding sideways as the tacho hit redline and the wheels spun like they were on ice. This lasted 2 seconds until I pooed my pants, all this happened at almost the 90kph speed limit. I swear my life flashed before my eyes - I drove like a grandpa back to his place after that!
I can still see the attraction to "hooning" but its definitely not for me anymore.
When people did stuff years ago, generally speaking, cars were so underpowered by today's standards that the levels of peril were lower. These days you can buy ordinary cars that do amazing things. My 2-litre VW DIESEL does over 200kph. My first Holden was pushing it to do 130kph. Pretty much the same right across the range. A 20yo's skills at 130kph are pretty dodgy, at 200kph they are completely, criminally absent.
Also worth remembering is the fact that right now there are X kilometres of road shared by millions of cars. Back in the day there were the same X kilometres of road but a very small fraction of today's car numbers. What was then a "quiet back road" where shenanigans didn't affect many people is, generally speaking, a 'busy back road" these days.
I've lived in the same quiet Far North Coast village for 40 years, with a winding narrow road defined by horses and carts in the 1880s. About 10 years ago it was discovered as a "rat run" by commuters between two regional centres who found the highway too roundabout. These dickheads (of both sexes) still drive like they're on the highway, hundreds of them, each morning and evening. What I am saying is that basic road-use conditions have changed drastically since belting down a "deserted" road was just a bit scoundrelly. These day's it's criminal.
I can remember drag racing out the back of Samford and behind the Brisbane Airport. Being a "Redcliffe boy" .... driving out to Ipswich with a heap of mates to race them.
Pretty sure for a few years I couldn't drive round corners without being at least a little bit sideways.
Mainly in V8's (ford and holden) but a few faster 6's.. By the standards at the time.
Always had a 4B too. Can't say I was any better.
Reverse donuts in the mud.. Sand etc.
I'm pretty sure I was the young driver I now hate.
I can also remember buying cheap cars at the wreckers and playing smash up Derby in the bush at what is now Norrhlakes shopping centre and housing estate.
Brings back memories of an old Austin 1800 hitting a ditch and bouncing about two car lengths high almost straight up while almost in slow motion, twisting and coming down on its roof.. Pretty sure that windscreen smashed a millisecond before my head was going to go through it.. And losing a a bet cause I couldn't jump that ditch....
I believe my parents spoke to me about this... I thought it was hilarious. However..
I got a talking to about having a young family.. And not living for myself anymore...( just married and first kid on the way at the time.)
I think I even listened a bit. Albeit I doubt I changed overnight.
I think we lived by luck.. As opposed to the skill we thought we had...
I can remember drag racing out the back of Samford and behind the Brisbane Airport. Being a "Redcliffe boy" .... driving out to Ipswich with a heap of mates to race them.
Pretty sure for a few years I couldn't drive round corners without being at least a little bit sideways.
Mainly in V8's (ford and holden) but a few faster 6's.. By the standards at the time.
Always had a 4B too. Can't say I was any better.
Reverse donuts in the mud.. Sand etc.
I'm pretty sure I was the young driver I now hate.
I can also remember buying cheap cars at the wreckers and playing smash up Derby in the bush at what is now Norrhlakes shopping centre and housing estate.
Brings back memories of an old Austin 1800 hitting a ditch and bouncing about two car lengths high almost straight up while almost in slow motion, twisting and coming down on its roof.. Pretty sure that windscreen smashed a millisecond before my head was going to go through it.. And losing a a bet cause I couldn't jump that ditch....
I believe my parents spoke to me about this... I thought it was hilarious. However..
I got a talking to about having a young family.. And not living for myself anymore...( just married and first kid on the way at the time.)
I think I even listened a bit. Albeit I doubt I changed overnight.
I think we lived by luck.. As opposed to the skill we thought we had...
We had "Time Trials" between the One Mile & the Five Mile & then head up to the Milky Way servo.
My modded AP6 was up there with my mates 289 GT!
I’m boring as never really hooned mainly because I’ve always owned boring slow cars.
But I would prefer these guys do burnouts/drifting in the back streets rather than then becoming a street racer speeding down our neighbourhood streets.
There are a lot of members with small dicks here. :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Lots of happy 'well hung' studs too. :cup:
Yeah, but that's ok, I still get a root on a regular basis.
That's harsh.
It's winter.
My boss Stephen hates it when I shorten his name to dick. Mind you I don't think he likes to longer version either.....
I was a Hoon and loved it >:D
I am another one who must put his hand up (and I liked to drive fast) ;D.
Had a 510 Datto, an XU-!, 260Z, HZ V8 ute, a couple of rally cars, and series of road bikes. All had a flogging at one stage, but was never booked while 'road testing' as we picked non populated areas to stretch our legs. At the time we thought we had absolute rocketships, but by todays standards they were nothing. We certainly didn't do burnouts, wreck other peoples property, and I like to think that we didn't endanger innocent people. Whilst rallying I quickly learned my limits, but also figured that it improved my driving skills considerably. Certainly the laws of the day can't be compared to todays.
I also think that todays hooning is way over the top, and can't really be compared to speeding of days gone by. I also think that anyone who has driven a car on it's limits, driven it safely, and driven it well, has a memory for life. Long live the unrepentant revheads however old they are!
Flame suit is on.
I was a Hoon and loved it >:D
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Nahh its just a long way to see clearly from Victoria ;D ;D
Had a full licence at 15 (NZ) and my own Austin A40 a year or so later. We did time trials on the back roads, 0-60 (mph) and the bloody Austin was so slow I had to knock off the old mans Zephyr before I could be a hero. Pretty tame stuff, but cars were hard to get. By law, you needed a 50% deposit to buy any old banger, and had to be in possession of overseas funds to get a new car.
Mine was the A40 Somerset model, slow yes but 40mpg was great and was like sitting in a lounge chair.
Your worst nightmare is behind you. ????
Are reporters really this dumb or do they thing that the general population is. If your going to write an article, go to the trouble of doing it right.
http://www.9news.com.au/national/2016/06/13/16/57/car-explodes-while-performing-stunt-at-sydney-hoon-meet (http://www.9news.com.au/national/2016/06/13/16/57/car-explodes-while-performing-stunt-at-sydney-hoon-meet)
Are reporters really this dumb or do they thing that the general population is. If your going to write an article, go to the trouble of doing it right.
http://www.9news.com.au/national/2016/06/13/16/57/car-explodes-while-performing-stunt-at-sydney-hoon-meet (http://www.9news.com.au/national/2016/06/13/16/57/car-explodes-while-performing-stunt-at-sydney-hoon-meet)
WTF????
"Video shows the car repeatedly rotate as its exhaust forms a thick, blinding cloud of heavy grey smoke"
Truth be known I was a hoon in my Hillman Gazelle.
And then jumps up onto the hood, what hood? It doesn't have one ???
And I can't even see a torrie? Or are my eyes lying. Looks like a Capri.
but its HOONS
I'd be surprised if most people in their youth didn't 'hoon' at one time or another.
I'm guilty of it. Drove a 500hp, 10 second Mazda rotary that was a genuine street sleeper.
I never terrorized neighbourhoods, never did huge burnouts or stuff that I thought intentionally endangered other people on the road. However, with 500hp in a vehicle that weighed a little over 1000kg, it was easy to drive very fast. You could probably appreciate that traction was a bit of a problem too....
Now that I'm older, wiser, have my own kids, and know what I know now, if I could change the past I probably might.
Hindsight and maturity is a wonderful thing. Unfortunately most of us don't have either of those things when we're young.
I'd be surprised if most people in their youth didn't 'hoon' at one time or another.
I'm guilty of it. Drove a 500hp, 10 second Mazda rotary that was a genuine street sleeper.
I never terrorized neighbourhoods, never did huge burnouts or stuff that I thought intentionally endangered other people on the road. However, with 500hp in a vehicle that weighed a little over 1000kg, it was easy to drive very fast. You could probably appreciate that traction was a bit of a problem too....
Now that I'm older, wiser, have my own kids, and know what I know now, if I could change the past I probably might.
Hindsight and maturity is a wonderful thing. Unfortunately most of us don't have either of those things when we're young.
The bloke with the big penis earlier in he thread never did.
If you are referring to me, yes. ;D
I wonder how those who are parents now would feel if their son was a hoon today?
Or how would they feel if their daughter was 'going out' with somebody they knew was a hoon?
I know what my my reaction would be. I would be appalled and extremely worried in either circumstance. I would be doing EVERYTHING reasonable and legal to stop the behaviour.
If you are referring to me, yes. ;D
I wonder how those who are parents now would feel if their son was a hoon today?
Or how would they feel if their daughter was 'going out' with somebody they knew was a hoon?
I know what my my reaction would be. I would be appalled and extremely worried in either circumstance. I would be doing EVERYTHING reasonable and legal to stop the behaviour.
Nah corn dogs comment.
But yeah I hooned, and like all the others have said it's something you grow out of or move to a race track and I like most think that it's bloody dangerous to do on the street an I would hate to know my son is doing it, but that's is called old age and growing up.
I'd be wrapped.. but no chance of that happening, only 1% of kids ever leave their electronic items these days for more than 1 minute a day
^^^^ Had to front up and meet the parents of one girl I started dating, Her dad offered me a beer straight up " No thanks I'm driving " then went out and had a look at my car " a worked Ford Escort " had a bit of a chat about it etc and asked to be taken for a drive .
On the drive he said get up it and give it some " Nahh not around here in the suberbs " , so we went out a bit further and he wanted to see how it and I went ..
Soo I give it to it through the winding hills and flats, till he said ok take us home, gave a few pointers on a few things I could have done a little bit better and told me I could date his daughter, Recognised that I was able to control the car and a good driver, BUT would appreciate it if I wouldnt ever drive like that with his daughter in the car .. Looked me in the eye, shook my hand and said have her home by midnight on week ends .. :angel:
That was that and it was BBQ,s n Beers every race day weekends and Bathurst, but no driving afterwards . 8) dad old Nev is ..
Had my fair share of quick cars & bikes, namely worked GTR Torrie, RS2000, Honda 750F2 and I was in serious danger of becoming a hoon if you will.
I did the smart thing and went racing in proper sanctioned events and pit myself against proper fast guys not street punks
Best thing I ever did to grow as a person, driver/rider
I love proper competition.
That feeling of going as hard as you can while keeping the eye on the prize, because going fast and not blowing up, not crashing, using the noggin with strategy (and head games) all at the same time is what makes you a racer instead of a thrasher
I just love it, there's nothing better in my book
Far far better than taking your life in your hands on the streets
Yep was , raced cars (FF & sports sedans) and still am I guess? Just bought an XR6 ;D
Gotta admit I too was a bit of a hoon, had a rocket R100 & Rx2 coupe, did stupid stuff but not like you see now, yes I lost my licence but I learned my lesson, switched to 4x4 on parents advice, admittedly first fourbie was a turboed Brumby that also hauled add back then, but I soon grew tired of not keeping up with mates cruisers/patrols in tough stuff so I reckon it was a great life lesson, wouldn't be doing cape etc now if not for that. In saying this I have a young son 5hat I'm hoping has a slow 4x4 with airbags as his first vehicle.
Yep I was a hoon, clocked my first ever 200klm/Hr in an Rx4 13b rotary, then upgraded to a hatchback Torana with a 454 big block, after that write off a 308 HG Monaro. My current SS Torana hatch doesn't get taken out these days but damn I'm still hooning today. It's just something about the big 2hungy leaving the kids in their Commodores & Falcons at the lights :)
Starsky
Yep, I was and probably still am a hoon, and I'm proud to be surrounded by so many small penis brothers. :cheers:
I thought this forum was called hoonsinswags!
Yep have to admit i was/am a bit hoony.
Not keen on the tossers doing burnouts, high speeds and outright dangerous driving in built up areas, but as others have said - time and place.
I do miss my sideways dirt action in the old RA28 Celica!
Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk
Had my fair share of quick cars & bikes, namely worked GTR Torrie, RS2000, Honda 750F2 and I was in serious danger of becoming a hoon if you will.
I did the smart thing and went racing in proper sanctioned events and pit myself against proper fast guys not street punks
Best thing I ever did to grow as a person, driver/rider
I love proper competition.
That feeling of going as hard as you can while keeping the eye on the prize, because going fast and not blowing up, not crashing, using the noggin with strategy (and head games) all at the same time is what makes you a racer instead of a thrasher
I just love it, there's nothing better in my book
Far far better than taking your life in your hands on the streets
Some people just like speed, it can be addictive. My name is NewieCamper, I love speed. I am guilty of the occasional burnout, power slide, speed run, drifting around on dirt roads etc. Over the years I've learned there is a time and a place, not that I always knew that. Some hoons don't get that and instead of spray painting stupid marks on your building think it's cool to leave big black lines all over the road or tear around the neighbourhood making lots of noise.
I now (still) get my speed thrills on push bikes, especially in the bush. It seems some people don't grow up!
watched it, done it, still do sometimes
would never do it where you would see me
I started driving myself to work at 16yo being an apprentice chef so i was really careful not to be stupid , never really did any dumb Shit later either.
Got a bike at 17 and apart a few times managed to control myself into my late 20's.
While working in Adelaide i met some guys at Malala that would take us on some hot laps the hills and chain of ponds.
Now i mostly ride solo on my Daytona 955 so dont go too hard.
Well....I never really got into hooning.....My first car was an old HD holden....Wasn't real quick but it had a straight through glove box and shaved windshield wipers with a tigers tail hanging out of the fuel cap........and fake bullet holes down the side....... ;D ;D ;D ;D
I thought I was a hooner with my HX Holden ute :cup:.
That all changed when I blew two tyres at once and had to buy new ones :'(
Wasn't good on only $300 / fortnight so decided to stick the hooning where the sun don't shine and the hip pocket was better for it ;D
Rod