General => General Discussion => Topic started by: prodigyrf on June 08, 2016, 12:58:45 PM
Particularly at Collaroy stoopids!
http://joannenova.com.au/2016/06/witchdoctors-blaming-climate-change-for-storms-again/ (http://joannenova.com.au/2016/06/witchdoctors-blaming-climate-change-for-storms-again/)
Particularly at Collaroy stoopids!
http://joannenova.com.au/2016/06/witchdoctors-blaming-climate-change-for-storms-again/ (http://joannenova.com.au/2016/06/witchdoctors-blaming-climate-change-for-storms-again/)
Or trees, or rivers.
But flood plains are beautifully nice and flat. Perfect to build big rambling housing developments on....
Coastal erosion is so well known, but people seem to forget especially when chasing million dollar waterfront views. There is a town in England that in the 14thC was as large as London, coastal erosion has completely destroyed it. Current Population: 183
(https://fractalbat.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/dunwichmap.jpg)
That's why we the Dutchies invented the dykes. :cheers:
And invented child slave labour to plug the leaks...
Exactly. :cup:
What was the name of our most famous pirate again where all kids singing about in kindy?
Piet Heyn.
Gay gender is the correct term I think.
LOL.
The finger in the dyke is a yank story.
Plan A
Find an unstable sandy coast line . Build a town around but set back from the beach . Create blocks with absolute water front views , Rate them Up the Wazoo for the great view . Quote the owners a huge price to put in a sea wall to protect said unstable sandy coast line block so they louse interest . Wait till the 1 in 100 or 30 year storm , then say its your fault for not coughing up to get the sea wall done .
Plan B
When it turns to SH1T run & hide , quickly .
What could possibly go wrong ,,,,,,, ????????
The finger in the dyke is a yank story.
True that (note to self: don't google "finger in the dyke" on the commuter train. Especially if you've accidentally typed "Fingerin the dyke" into your iPhone).
hahahahah
Worst part is these rich, whinging wankers will claim it on insurance which means we all pay for it!
Silverfox
Worst part is these rich, whinging wankers will claim it on insurance which means we all pay for it!
Silverfox
Don't think insurance will pay if it's an act of sea.
I shouldn't have read this when I just has a mouthful of water. :cup:
[/quote
GOOD onya, Swallowed a mouth full of beer the wrong way now, Bugger ya !! .. Better than spitting it all over the computer monitor though . ;D ;D :cup:
There is no "WRONG WAY TO SWALLOW BEER", just different ways. :cheers: :cheers:
Don't think insurance will pay if it's an act of sea.
and they are crying being told they will have to pay for a sea wall to be built - 5million.. **** em.
To be fair I think a lot of these guys have tried to pay for their own sea walls but locals have obviously protested about how that will look like crap on a beautiful coastline.
I am not rich but I am also not poor, like others here on this forum we have all worked hard and made sacrifices to get where we are in life.
I do feel very sorry for those whom have not only suffered considerable damage to their home but are now aware that their home and investment is worth significantly less $$ than it was prior to this event.
Sad times for them.
Yeah you gotta feel sorry to a certain extent.. Must be heartbreaking watching your home ( and swimming pool..anyone see that pic on the news!) being smashed to bits by mother nature. Its a shame about the insurance not paying out but If you choose to live on a coastal cliff then ya gotta expect something like this will happen every few decades.
I wasnt happy a few years back when I had to pay a levy for the queenslanders when the big floods hit toowoomba. It was a well known flood plain!
Yeah you gotta feel sorry to a certain extent.. Must be heartbreaking watching your home ( and swimming pool..anyone see that pic on the news!) being smashed to bits by mother nature. Its a shame about the insurance not paying out but If you choose to live on a coastal cliff then ya gotta expect something like this will happen every few decades.
I wasnt happy a few years back when I had to pay a levy for the queenslanders when the big floods hit toowoomba. It was a well known flood plain!
Toowoomba isn't on a flood, it's on top of the Darling Downs...
Insurance for those properties types will fly through the roof even further now. I was talking to a client who lived on a canal at Noosa Waters who has stopped insuring his house as the cheapest quote he was getting to insure was over $30k per annum........thats alot of after tax dead money.
Wow!! If it were me, I reckon I'd be selling up and moving. The insurance co's are telling him something......
Who would buy it?
He did, once....
Wouldn't be able to sell it now
I feel sorry these guys. They'll probably all have insurance too.
What about all the bludgers when inland floods or bushfires happen and they don't have insurance! Then they cry on tv and govt and the media go all goey and collect monies for them. In the blue mountains last bush fires there wasn't only uninsured but the fireys said there were houses with leaves three rows up on tiles out of the gutters!!! Hadn't been maintained in years , That's akin to arson yet they all got helped out!
When are we going to start making people reponsible for there own actions?
It will be interesting to see the tax payer pick up the tab for the council -- when the council are forced to construct a big ugly gazillion dollar sea wall to defend the public road on the other side of those million dollar homes.... if and when the ocean eats its way to the short distance through those homes; and then threatens the main road on the other side of them ....
And to think - those "wicked millionaires" .... now long gone; their homes since distroyed because others had demanded that the council not allow the sea walls to be built -- were in fact willing to pay for the sea walls out of their own money - not tax payers money....
Define irony; define the weak and stupid ruling the roost; define Australia. ....
The existing seawall appears to of done its job? Why was it missing from that bit? It seems so simple put e rocks in the missing bit reclaim the land behind it and rebuild the homes?!? The beach il come back
See my previous post. .... Sadly certain elements in the local community protested and stopped it from happening. ....
Wasn't there a children's story about one man building his house on sand and the other building on rocks?
I'm often puzzled by the locations that buildings are allowed to be constructed by councils that employ qualified engineers and geologists. But then again I have no qualifications.
Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
There was a case in Belongil at Byron Bay about a guy the Council tried to sue for building a rock wall adjoining the beach.... must try and look it up.
As for the house at Noosa Waters there is always someone wealthy enough to buy it...........Noosa $$$ factor
.....As for the house at Noosa Waters there is always someone wealthy enough to buy it...........Noosa $$$ factor
Yep...
http://www.echo.net.au/2016/05/rock-wall-theft-public-land/ (http://www.echo.net.au/2016/05/rock-wall-theft-public-land/)
The existing seawall appears to of done its job? Why was it missing from that bit? It seems so simple put e rocks in the missing bit reclaim the land behind it and rebuild the homes?!? The beach il come back
It's not quite that simple. Coastal protection works are designed to prevent erosion. This 'hardens' the coast and reduces its ability to adjust naturally. The defences can therefore exacerbate further erosional problems, eg seawalls reflecting and concentrating wave energy and erosion, and groynes starving the downdrift side of sediment thereby leading to further erosion.
A council in the UK ended up punching a hole in one of its defences to allow sand through to stop extreme erosion further down.
At uni we looked at a case study where the sea just eroded around the sides and back of an exisiting Seawall. Lots of councils worldwide are just abandoning sea defences for these reasons.
Toowoomba isn't on a flood, it's on top of the Darling Downs...
Okay not a flood plain but an area that has been subject to flooding!
Wasn't there a children's story about one man building his house on sand and the other building on rocks?
I'm often puzzled by the locations that buildings are allowed to be constructed by councils that employ qualified engineers and geologists. But then again I have no qualifications.
Actually deep sand like Perth is one of the most stable bases to build on but that comes with a caveat that it can't be allowed to move sideways, downhill, etc You see that in a lot of the strip footing older houses in Adelaide with our notorious shrinking and expanding clay soil. The wet areas and verandahs often consisted of a thin, unreinforced layer of concrete or terrazzo on top of a fine sand bed contained within the strip footings and no movement/cracking problems.
All the houses that went under in the Brisbane floods 5 years ago have not only regained the initial drop in value, but have continued to go up in value.
People have a short memory span.
My person opinion is if you didn’t take out insurance and something happens, then bad luck you shouldn’t be getting government hand-outs.
If you have insurance then it’s time the insurance companies stop hiding under the fine print to get out of paying claims. One of the first questions on a house insurance policy is your address, so they know straight up if your in a flood, fire or waterfront zone.
This is when they should be pricing the policy subject to the appropriate risk and if they offer insurance, then they can’t get out of paying a claim because of flood or bushfire. So they either price it accordingly or don’t offer the insurance as least this way it’s not giving people false hope.
Rich or poor these people in Sydney bought a house and took out insurance. If it was a normal king tide that destroyed their house bad luck as to me means they didn’t build high enough, but a king tide plus a huge storm surge is a different matter. Have to remember Mr average living in low lying land next to creeks/canals are also being flooded due to the king tide plus a huge storm surge, but they just don’t have the million dollar view and people aren’t going your rich so suck it up.
Okay not a flood plain but an area that has been subject to flooding!
The previous flood in Toowoomba, that didn't even come close to the severity of the last one, was in 1974. I was there at the time. That's over 40 years ago. The flood was so bad around Ipswich, that one person I know lost their house, when it floated down the river at Brassall.
It's in the Bible.
Silverfox
Why is that when we have bush fires and peoples homes are lost, we can't do enough for them, that is, those who have built in the middle of the bush, their dream homes and tried to make them as safe as possible against raging fires, that when they burn to the ground and loose everything, we dig deep to help them out ?
My castle is as every bit as important as your castle and I'm far from filthy rich.
Show some empathy and a bit of class.
It's in the Bible.
Well that just destroyed any credibility the argument may have had :angel:
Why is that when we have bush fires and peoples homes are lost, we can't do enough for them, that is, those who have built in the middle of the bush, their dream homes and tried to make them as safe as possible against raging fires, that when they burn to the ground and loose everything, we dig deep to help them out ?
My castle is as every bit as important as your castle and I'm far from filthy rich.
Tall poppy syndrome at it's ignorant best ??
Very well said. These people may have money and they have probably worked dam hard for it so good on them. They would have insurance.
$ 4 Sale
Ex Million $ property absolute water frontage , close Sydney
1 Large bucket of Sand
Send Speewa Consulting lots of $$$ & l will send you to a beach
close to you to collect
The more you send the more you get , Freshly washed & ready to go
. ??? .
When are we going to start making people reponsible for there own actions?
WHAT???
Surely you jest. It's always someone else's fault, or at least society's!!! >:D
(Sure would be nice though, wouldn't it?)
Cheers Brian
One would expect someone to have done something to help protect their investment by doing something about the seawall.
Blame Local Govt Dept , & & & & anyboby else you can think of ,,,,,,
l personably have taken an almost coastal property 158Km inland . Call me cRaSy . BUT tsunami warnings are just crap to me ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,?
I take the view that Gummint should not compensate at all for private property loss in natural disasters such as fire, flood and tempest, but simply be there with all its resources to ensure immediate safety of its citizens and afterwards to reinstate public infrastructure only once the threat has passed. Private property losses should be left entirely to each individual's personal resources or their insurers for specific losses they insure against, albeit there is the social safety net of Centrelink if you're wiped out.
Anything else is trying to pick winners among losers and encourages moral hazard and lack of responsibility for our personal choices and concomitant risk taking. If insurers don't or won't insure for particular loss categories (like sea damage at Collaroy) then that tells us all something important, that the risk is high. Actually when insurers say they won't cover for specific risk, that's not exactly true as you can always get insurance for any risk (LLoyds Names for example), but what they're really saying is it's not worth them quoting premia almost no one would pay and hence the specific exclusions (ie perhaps Collaroy beachfront might be levied at 10% of market value per annum and they'll insure you).
Well if you can't insure and the Gummint is not to be the private insurer of last resort then you pays yer money and yer takes yer chances, but notice that iron rule would see many more purchasers do their due diligence and lower prices in high risk areas like flood, bushfire, sea egress and the like. Private insurers are much more qualified than the public circus to be the bearer of bad tidings for us all in that regard and send us the message- buyer beware because you can't load your risk taking onto your wiser neighbours and come crying to nanny.
And that goes for big biz and big union wanting to privatize the gains and socialize the losses too-
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-06-09/sa-government-promises- (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-06-09/sa-government-promises-)$50m-for-troubled-steelmaker-arrium/7496924
welcome to the new divine right of elected kings to anoint their particular favourites eh?
Interesting to compare and contrast -
http://www.msn.com/en-au/news/world/there-is-no-money-left-bye-russian-pm-causes-social-media-storm/ar-AAgP5t4?ocid=spartanntp (http://www.msn.com/en-au/news/world/there-is-no-money-left-bye-russian-pm-causes-social-media-storm/ar-AAgP5t4?ocid=spartanntp)
and I guess it's up to Russian citizens to decide how much tax they want to pay to support their elderly on a level playing field, although they might want to be more circumspect about their Govt's particular choices in international relations as well.
And that goes for big biz and big union wanting to privatize the gains and socialize the losses too-
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-06-09/sa-government-promises- (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-06-09/sa-government-promises-)$50m-for-troubled-steelmaker-arrium/7496924
welcome to the new divine right of elected kings to anoint their particular favourites eh?
Interesting to compare and contrast -
http://www.msn.com/en-au/news/world/there-is-no-money-left-bye-russian-pm-causes-social-media-storm/ar-AAgP5t4?ocid=spartanntp (http://www.msn.com/en-au/news/world/there-is-no-money-left-bye-russian-pm-causes-social-media-storm/ar-AAgP5t4?ocid=spartanntp)
and I guess it's up to Russian citizens to decide how much tax they want to pay to support their elderly on a level playing field, although they might want to be more circumspect about their Govt's particular choices in international relations as well.
I agree on your first point, but don't see the relevance of your second point.
In current election mode that article tickled my fancy that a politician somewhere in the world could actually tell it like it is that sorry there's no more dough left for you, unless of course you can convince your fellow citizens to pay more taxes madam. Only in an ex commie country it seems.
We all need to take a long term perspective with capricious Mother Nature and her 10, 20, 50, 100 year statistical events although that's our reckoning not hers-
http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/julien-knez-paris-flooding-then-now (http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/julien-knez-paris-flooding-then-now)
An insurance actuary's task is not an easy one it seems.