General => General Discussion => Topic started by: scrapsD40 on June 05, 2016, 09:33:16 AM
Setting this thread up for the Mexicans up north on holidays (oh and the locals) to share the weather events in Qld/NT.
I hear it was a bit wet and windy yesterday?
t-shirt and shorts weather in Brisbane today. Not a cloud to be seen, grass already looks greener.
Only got 23mm in the last two days :'( :'( :'(
Cracker of a day up here....... except..... its blowing around 10 15 knots from the S/W, so its friggin freezing.
We're supposed to get to 22 degrees, but its near freezing on 16 at the moment.
Shorts, T-shirt, but I have thrown on a Redneck Coat (Flannelette shirt)
Oh, KB, we got 100mm over three days. ;D
Absoluly brilliant weather here! At the top... ;D. Kevin
Not a cloud in the sky :cup:
Wot they all said, did have about 250mm yesterday, but great today
Sunny and warm in Gladstone after a cool start. Bit of breeze about. Got 70mm in a storm Friday night.
Cheers, Mike.
Bloody terrible ATM and forcast says more torrential rain and gale force winds for the next ...>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>. Months atleast, Ohh and dont believe whats being shown on TV either ,theyre lying to you .. ;D
Western Australia or Darwin even the Gulf country sounds like a better bet ...Snigger snigger that should keep a few Mexicans south of our border. ;D ;D
Bit chilly here in Mackay...12Deg. this morning...15-20 MPH winds...partly cloudy....But still managed to catch 6 nice mud crabs yesterday.....Ahhhhh...to chilli or not to chilli..MB just boil them..... >:D
cheers Tracker.
Mmmmmm! Chili MC. I'm on my way.
Sorry Steffo1...i decided to just boil them......Get them ready for a huge crab Sanger....Here's a pic of just 4 of them
Ohhh...btw....weather is great up here...... ;D ;D
Weather is ok.... A bit windy...... Oh dear, there goes the power!!! And I've got a roast on!!! Time to spark up the Cobb!!!
Sent from my iPhone using the Tappy thing
Winter has finally arrived...the wind today is relentless, got the fire place going in the house tonight for the first time this year.
Rumpig, have you lost power?
all good here, did you pay the bill?...lol
With the wind blowing like it is, good chance a line has come down from a tree in your area maybe?
all good here, did you pay the bill?...lol
SWMBO is always all over that!!
Bray park is all out!!
Just been on Weatherzone forum and read this below, we live a stones throw from Archerfield....no wonder I have the fire going
at 2:30pm, Brisbane was sitting on 17.6C with an Apparent Temp of just 11.9C (Archerfield's was just 8.8C).
At noon today, Toowoomba was on 9.7C with an Apparent Temp of 3.4C with all the low cloud and drizzle around the Downs.
We retreated indoors today up in Stanthorpe. It's ffffffreezin. Managed to visit 2 breweries before the cold and wet got to me.
We're camped out at Stormking dam and the diesel heater is doing a stellar job keeping it pleasant indoors.
Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk
We retreated indoors today up in Stanthorpe. It's ffffffreezin. Managed to visit 2 breweries before the cold and wet got to me.
We're camped out at Stormking dam and the diesel heater is doing a stellar job keeping it pleasant indoors.
there was about a 5 - 10 % chance that places such as Guyra (other side of Glen Innes, but gets similar weather to where you are) would see snowflakes on Sunday night / Monday morning, so if you are still there the heater should be cranked up for tonight
I jumped out between drizzley squalls and filled the diesel heater tank so I've got 10L to keep the frost at bay tonight. Hopefully the sun will poke through tomorrow and we can enjoy some vino. Off home tues.
16° here at the moment, overcast with cold W-NWerlies to 30 kph + (topped at 44 o/night by my weather stn) & we're pretty protected by hills & trees!
But.....our tanks & dam are chockers :cheers:
Ya know it's cold when you walk into the server room and it's warmer than the outside temp. Freezing up here, must be below 20degC at the moment.
Regardless of the wind its better than Melbourne weather Horse.
But.....our tanks & dam are chockers :cheers:
Our pool was as well on the GC, & so it should have been with 348mm over 3 days. :D
2 days of howling wing since though & we've already lost about 50mm :'(
Ya know it's cold when you walk into the server room and it's warmer than the outside temp. Freezing up here, must be below 20degC at the moment.
Is that you Noel
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160606/33f65412253935c9d233e05d2103c806.jpg)
Is that you Noel
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160606/33f65412253935c9d233e05d2103c806.jpg)
Nah, thats my brother Boris. He replaced his blood with Vodka so he wouldn't freeze.
Freezing here this morning. 15.1 C.
Even my dogs have sweaters on.
Probably snow here tomorrow.
Freezing here this morning. 15.1 C.
Even my dogs have sweaters on.
Probably snow here tomorrow.
Bill, if it does you are quite welcome to borrow my Queensland snow shovel!
It's been freezing in the burbs of bne for a couple of days now..... at least the howling wind has subsided. ..... but we've been in too much denial to deploy the lecky blankets atm....
Big Mistake. ....!!!
Slept in several layers of clothes including a scarf and feather down snow coat LOL . ... Doona and 2 x blankets. .... omg....
So,winter in Qld in Tuesday this year. Bring on tomorrow for summer to start.
I watched the temp go from 3 2 1 0 between Kingaroy and Dalby this morning from 4.30-6am in the truck.
Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
Absolutely crap here at the moment. The pool has had a pretty good flush the last few days, so needs a few days to settle, but with these big tides, won't take long.
So,winter in Qld in Tuesday this year. Bring on tomorrow for summer to start.
Spring tomorrow, summer on Thursday. (Well it is on the good coast anyway ;D )
Bill, if it does you are quite welcome to borrow my Queensland snow shovel!
HaHa that's great.
Thanks for the laugh...
And this morning looks like?
Should be fine, still lying in bed and haven't looked outside yet though. It's not supposed to start up until Sunday I think, maybe get the odd sprinkle today in some places
Looks ok a my joint so far
Up here in Herberton , things are looking up.
After a week of constant drizzle the sky has cleared . Beautiful blue sky and the sun is shining. :D :D
According to BOM, rain is starting to build around the Isa, & Longreach - Blackall (so looks like Jet will have a wet drive today!): http://www.bom.gov.au/products/national_radar_sat.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/national_radar_sat.shtml)
Currently "supposed" to gradually move SE, reaching SEQ late morning Sunday, with possibility of 100mm in 6-12 hours :'(
Young bloke is up at Amberley with Air Force Cadets this weekend doing rifle training, so may just qualify them for posting to submarines instead (shooting underwater! ;D)
Was a beautiful day yesterday after a week or more of rain.
This morning the rain is back with a vengeance...
Sure is. We are camped down the road and it's pretty wet.
512klm radar is looking nice currently from Brissy. Looked at the forecast timing last night and should start the big show around 11 a.m today, with the heavier rain falling around 4 p.m. Forecast shows rain going through until around 10 p.m then pretty much stops after that.
How long can you tread water Rumpig ??????????????
On the 512km radar it looks like the rain bands are heading straight for brisbane atm..... I always get twitchy with these weather systems, because we live in a very old house, totally exposed on a Ridgeline. ....
How long can you tread water Rumpig ??????????????
i'll be fine mate, most of Brissy will be under water before it gets to my place. The usual places will likely flood, but I don't think it'll be Armageddon here, think NSW is supposed to cop it a lot worse then we will get.
The lawn almost dried out from the last lot...
I got a ceiling to paint today.
That's good the water will flow past you , but l hope l can still see the roads as l head North later this week??
haven't been keeping track of where you are travelling through, Southern coastal NSW was supposed to be where this system was going to hit worse the forecast had said. This system clears Qld tonight, water levels will drop quickly here after that but sounds like a few roads out West have had or are getting a nice drink.
sounds like a few roads out West have had or are getting a nice drink.
Yeah, Jet should be able to tell us all about it! :D
Up here in Herberton , things are looking up.
After a week of constant drizzle the sky has cleared . Beautiful blue sky and the sun is shining. :D :D
The bloody rain is back, hammered down early this morning. >:( >:( Settling into a wet day . Bugger. :'(
Good steady rain here, had 20mm already with more coming. Not much planned work getting done this week by the looks
Stacks of good rain over the last 24 hours, but the sun is starting to poke through the clouds again out at Longreach. :D Anybody travelling down from here towards Birdsville over the next couple of days needs to be very careful going off the side of the road as it is very slippery. Should dry out hopefully in time for most travellers heading to the BRB as long as there is no more rain.
Still a bit dark in Cairns
You FNQ mob can blame Broncos11 for your weather. He went & bought a boat! ;D
Mainly overcast and a few infrequent light rain showers mixed with a bit of gusty wind < less than 20knts around here atm .. More of a drizzly day .
You FNQ mob can blame Broncos11 for your weather. He went & bought a boat! ;D
And a bloody nice boat too !!! ;D ;D ;D
Rain hasn't even started here yet other then a short sharp heavy shower at 6 a.m this morning, might need to check the weather forum to see what's happening...though 4 p.m was when it was supposed to rain heavy.
EDIT...looking at the weather forum the heavy rainfalls have been pushed back a few hours now, starting around 6 p.m through to 10 p.m
Just started pissing down here at my joint.
We all know....the further south you get ....the slower you get.... ;D ;D ;D ;D
By the time you get to Victoria... it takes those guy's 2 hours to watch 60 minutes.... :angel: :angel: :angel:
You may be correct, but at least we're watching it in colour
Sorry mate.....in real terms....Queensland is Colour....... ;D ;D ;D
Rain started here a few hours ago, only had 23.7mm so far today though
Had 50mm+ here. ;)
Last I looked we were nudging 50mm here. Graphs I looked at this morning had the heavier rain falling between 4 & 6 p.m, which appears to be the case here.
The pool has 30mm in it so far, since lunch.
hasn't rained here all day. ;D
Just cracked 100mm for the day here, still raining fairly heavily also. Down the road has started to flood as usual, roads being cut around low lying areas of Rocklea.
A photo of the Sth Pine river taken from our verandah in flood 2 weeks ago, tonight it has risen another metre on that level ( to dark to photo)
Sorry don't know why that pic has been rotated I'll see if it can be fix
Any clues to why a pic has rotated when attached (using iPad)
Apparently according to news reports they were rescuing people from flooded cars just down the road from my place earlier tonight, you'd think they'd have learnt by now to stay out of the water ::) Normally i would head down there and get pics of the flooding, but was dark by then and to cold and wet and windy outside, so i just stayed warm and dry on the recliner instead 8)
Was dry but overcast on Moreton today. Ferry ride home was a bit choppy.
80mm for Tin Can over the week-end
Lots of roads closed inland , Aramac to anywhere looks damp on the site . Might dry out in a few days though ??
Absolutely spectacular day today.
Mooloolaba yesterday.
Reports are 3 tornados touched down yesterday, one of which did that damage above, another at Bribie somewhere also. Weatherzone forum was talking about the possibility of tornados a few days before the event happened, just didn't know where or if any would actually form.
Gezzzzzz Louise.......Chilly 10 Degs. up here in sunny QLD......brass monkey weather. Clear as a bell....full moon.
Don't get much better !!!
Sunny today?
Glorious day on the GC, sunny, no wind (although we were supposed to be getting blown away ???) but with a little bit of a nip in the air - it's 17`outside at the moment! ;D
Yup. Brissy sunny, not a cloud in the sky. Don't think the cold front has hit us yet. Shorts and singlet still ;)
Sent from my HTC_0PJA10 using Tapatalk
A lot warmer here at Tin Can Bay than it would be back in Armidale. Wasn't too bad lad night swagging it, we're staying in a cabin for the next couple of nights and doing some exploring around the area now before heading back south via another night swag camping.
Mr and Mrs Edz will be in town tomorrow and we're going for lunch at the Marina Bar and Grill.
If ya have any interest, give me a call in the morning on 0411 545 025 (Between 8 and 10 would be good, as i'll be at the marina then, so just around the corner.
A nice 7* C outside atm here on the border slight breeze, .. Look out Tin Can Bay here we come .. 5am and off
Beautiful day yesterday.
Raining a fair bit this morning.
The temp gauge here says just above zero.
Guess winter s here.
And?
I hope so. Am on my way
Make sure you pack plenty of warm clothes, winter has hit up here :D
Pretty good today. A swim at the beach and a walk around the local area.
Sunset from our rooftop deck
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160701/d59ef713ec9b918b6e4548a1cc11c1bb.jpg)
Pretty good today. A swim at the beach and a walk around the local area.
:o :o my lord man it's Winter, to cold for swimming...I had a jumper on at work this morning
You own a jumper? Come on this is Queensland, doesn't get cold up here
does in the wind and shade of late, I actually wore tracky pants all day at work the other day.
No sun on the Cold Coast this morning(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160704/1773de48a7af4547f5fea166a73aa279.jpg)
No, we timed it especially for you Scraps >:D
Been brilliant weather for 2 weeks, & supposed to be sunny again for the rest of the week, but we thought you'd be miserable if you didn't have a rainy day to make you feel at home!
Cracking Winters day here today....previous June max temp for my area was 28.2 degrees, today we managed 28.9 degrees.
WHAT A CROCK
F@^N QLD weather reports .
Last week drove down from the back of Hopevale , home . lt rained for 3 days , flooded roads , closed roads , overcast sky did l mention crap weather ....................
Crossed into NSW at or about Nebel to meet blue sky , sunshine , dry roads & 21C .Beats the crap out of any QLD weather . !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WHAT A CROCK
Last week drove down from the back of Hopevale , home . lt rained for 3 days , flooded roads , closed roads , overcast sky did l mention crap weather ....................
Crossed into NSW at or about Nebel to meet blue sky , sunshine , dry roads & 21C .Beats the crap out of any QLD weather . !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wow, that's incredible, a not so sunny day in Qld. Are you sure?
WHAT A CROCK
if we put on good weather while you were here, there's a chance you might want to come back again...or worse still, want to move up here :o ;) ;D
WHAT A CROCK
It's to keep the rabbits out....
Qld weather is so bad, you mexicans should never venture up here :angel: :angel:
WHAT A CROCK
Thank Christ he's gone!
OK fella's, we've p#$%ed off another Mexican & sent him home - turn off the bad weather effects & bring back the sunshine! >:D
Ohhhhh, yes - sorry, 28` is just a little too warm - could we knock it back just a few please? >:D
Thank Christ he's gone!
OK fella's, we've p#$%ed off another Mexican & sent him home - turn off the bad weather effects & bring back the sunshine! >:D
Ohhhhh, yes - sorry, 28` is just a little too warm - could we knock it back just a few please? >:D
Astalavista Baby .............................
He'll be back!!! (in deep Arne voice)
& wearing sunglasses ( & looking Cool ) ( lts Cold In QLD )
not if you get here tomorrow...lol
Tomorrow ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,lm still trying to dry out last weeks Crap ...............................
I has been wet out I central Qld, I left there the other day 4deg and wet. The rain has stopped now I think but the rivers have flooded.
https://www.facebook.com/WintonShireCouncil/videos/989642524467821/ (https://www.facebook.com/WintonShireCouncil/videos/989642524467821/)
Too right it is. I've had to throw a singlet on as it's dropped to 21° outside.
I think the 89% humidity may have something to do with feeling warmer than it is.
Too right it is. I've had to throw a singlet on as it's dropped to 21° outside.
I think the 89% humidity may have something to do with feeling warmer than it is.
i actually have the ceiling fan going in the lounge room tonight, I was getting hot just sitting here watching the telly...lol
?? Just what were you watching ?????? Did the brown paper package arrive from the ACT , again ??
got a special delivery from Germany...lol
Back Packer on the Rampage Vol 28 is Good ,,,,,,,,,,,,,so lm told ........
Unseasonably warm here in Richmond...
Got to love winter (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160723/066ef9f71848ba9fbc90c0c3f09b1158.png)
Sent from my fingers via my brain
Got to love winter
Yep, all 2-3 weeks of it here it QLD every year.
Yep some one got up yesterday and said, ok lets turn winter off this year. Ive always wondered what that little switch on the ceiling fans do. They actually do turn summer on and off in qld
28*C with a 10 / 15 + knt breeze atm here on the Border , might be in for a scorcher of a summer ..
Kids are in the pool even though it has no sun on bit.
Bloody freezing.
Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk
Wow..Lots of low cloud early this morning....Temp. was 16 deg. at 7.00 but didn't mind cause i was fishing... so caught a Blue Grouper ..Alias Venus Tusk fish and quickly turned this fish into dinner.... ;D ;D ;D
Then to ........
Does this mean, tomorrow we get a photo of a turd.
Ummmmm... I guess so..... >:D >:D >:D
Here you go jeepers. 1 turd. And the other is a toaster
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160723/a532b532a690bfa5e5f30822a2632108.jpg)
Here you go jeepers. 1 turd. And the other is a toaster
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160723/a532b532a690bfa5e5f30822a2632108.jpg)
LMFAO......heheheheheheheh........ ;D ;D
I'm a slightly smaller turd now...... by 12 kilos.... ;D
Still a turd though.
I'm a slightly smaller turd now...... by 12 kilos.... ;D
Still a turd though.
Lol. Good work

yep gotta love a Qld Winter...just home from a weekend away camping, and no need to run the diesel heater 8) 8).
Also gotta love a cracking camp spot about an hour from home, with few other people about the place aswell 8) 8) 8) 8)
Yep.. It's crap living up here...
We're not long back from taking a purchaser for a "wet road test" with the boat.
4 of us on board, shirts and shorts and sunnies were the order of the day for a 1 hour test.
I think the buyer liked it too, as his deposit should show up in our account tomorrow. ;D
Nice bloke, him and his mate. Both seemed impressed too.
The water was sparkly clear, the sun, it was a shining, the Fraser barge was running.......
just another winters day in Tin Can. Gotta love Queensland. :cheers:
We were cruising at 26 knots, when I said, we're gunna chuck a U-Turn.
Miami Vice, eat ya heart out, tipped in good and tight, straight around to exit the U-turn @ 17 knots.
One looked at the other..... geez, it handles well.
Phew! Another Winters day in Queensland. ;D ;D
Hopped out of the truck in Gracemere today, and it was the first time in ages that jeans and t-shirt felt too hot. Heck, it was even cold near Miles last night.
Ahhh, Queensland. Love this version of winter.
Hopped out of the truck in Gracemere today, and it was the first time in ages that jeans and t-shirt felt too hot. Heck, it was even cold near Miles last night.
Ahhh, Queensland. Love this version of winter.
you visiting Brett and Jillsy?
Actually ran into Jillsy and the kids at the supermarket....
Heading to Bargara tomorrow for a week. Thought of visiting you, but you sold the boat :'(
(Seriously, not sure on plans but will try to drop in if we can).
Been raining since last night...
I'm thinking work can get stuffed and this is going to be a long weekend ;D
There's a campsite with my name all over it at Inskip I reckon :D
Yep same......................
Taken the boat to chuck into the water at Tin Can and going to slip up the Sandy Straits fishing, whale watching and enjoying the sun.
Stuff work I have had enough.
Fraser's looking good. 2 more sleeps.. 8)
(http://)