General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tracker on June 01, 2016, 04:50:30 AM

Title: State of Origin...2016
Post by: tracker on June 01, 2016, 04:50:30 AM

Goooooo QLD.....Only 2 States to be in..Queensland and drunk..... :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Title: Re: 1st. State of Origin...2016
Post by: GDAIY on June 01, 2016, 04:52:16 AM
I'll pay that one.
Post by: Garfish on June 01, 2016, 05:40:18 AM
Queenslander
Post by: sol on June 01, 2016, 05:40:45 AM
Go you good thing. Queensland all the way ;D ;D :cup:
Should be a ripper ;D

Post by: scrapsD40 on June 01, 2016, 06:21:15 AM
With much trepidation and no significant history to support my stance - go blues
Post by: tracker on June 01, 2016, 06:29:27 AM
With much trepidation and no significant history to support my stance - go blues

Hey Scraps......Your clearly colour blind..... ;D ;D
Post by: BaseCamp on June 01, 2016, 06:37:24 AM
Go Qld!!    and bring the game back to Lang Park!!

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 01, 2016, 07:31:53 AM

Goooooo QLD.....Only 2 States to be in..Queensland and drunk..... :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

And you're really good at being both.
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 01, 2016, 07:35:39 AM

Hey Scraps......Your clearly colour blind..... ;D ;D
Qld SOO team are just like a handsome man, if it wasn't for us ugly bastards giving them something to play with, there'd be noone to make them look good.
Having said that, the handsome men don't always get the chocolates or the ladies, could be a reason for that
Post by: Robbo on June 01, 2016, 11:23:28 AM
Well team. Since it's that time of the year again, i thought it was only fair
That i took you for a walk down Memory Lane... ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Julian Kaye on June 01, 2016, 12:20:02 PM

I'll be watching the paint peeling off the wall. It's more interesting.
Post by: baggs71 on June 01, 2016, 12:36:04 PM
BRING IT ON! :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
(http://s20.postimg.org/u59tt10b1/xxxx_angels.jpg) (http://postimage.org/)
click image upload (http://postimage.org/)

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: tracker on June 01, 2016, 04:10:18 PM
And you're really good at being both.

Heyyyyy....!!!!! ....I resemble that ...... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: tracker on June 01, 2016, 06:03:17 PM
Getting vocal cords lubed up now.......Me Me Me .....La La La....Gezzzz ...more XXXX needed

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on June 01, 2016, 06:23:21 PM
Getting vocal cords lubed up now.......Me Me Me .....La La La....Gezzzz ...more XXXX needed

Remember when lubing up more the 2 strokes is a .......  Oh wrong thread again.
Post by: Proudy on June 01, 2016, 07:06:47 PM
Blues Blues Blues.

Post by: briann532 on June 01, 2016, 07:09:36 PM
Not normal for most families, but my wife has taken my son to watch the game - Blues all the way...

And I'm taking my princess out for a date to Riverside Oaks Golf Club.

Good bonding time for us all.

Loving it.

Oh and go the blues!!!
Post by: listo on June 01, 2016, 07:53:44 PM
Queensland all the way!!!! Go cane toads!!!!!

The last 10 years haven't been kind to me with the Blues or the Knights or any other team I support... I'm hoping if I jump ship, maybe I'll see NSW get a win  ;D
Post by: patroldude on June 01, 2016, 07:58:45 PM
State of Origin Game 3 fulltime score: Queensland 52 thrash NSW 6

QLD tore up the record books to smash New South Wales in 2015 State of Origin Game 3, destroying the Blues by 46 points, the largest ever margin in an Origin game.

Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha

Title: 1st. State of Origin...2016
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 01, 2016, 08:42:42 PM
Anyone else find it ironic that NSW is sponsored by speewa? Next year it should be Corona. Pretty so so game.....
Post by: Bird on June 01, 2016, 08:57:15 PM
Go Carlton!!
Title: 1st. State of Origin...2016
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 01, 2016, 09:40:52 PM

You gone to bed? Qld'rs very quiet.....
Post by: listo on June 01, 2016, 10:11:02 PM
Well done QLD, well deserved
Post by: Pog on June 01, 2016, 10:11:50 PM
Good to see the Purple team win.
Post by: BaseCamp on June 01, 2016, 10:13:40 PM
Qld Supremacy!

Post by: Garfish on June 01, 2016, 10:17:54 PM
Queenslander
Post by: baggs71 on June 01, 2016, 11:10:13 PM
Go Carlton!!
hahabhahhah
12th on the ladder....better than the last few years...poor ratten
Post by: tracker on June 02, 2016, 05:20:29 AM
You gone to bed? Qld'rs very quiet.....

Have a captain hook at the score board...!!!!!.......hehehehhe.... ;D ;D... :angel: :angel:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 02, 2016, 05:40:43 AM
Now, as a proud Queenslander, I'd like to see NSW win a couple to re-ignite the series.

At the moment though, NSW is so bad at it, even if our guys play at half strength like last night, NSW still can't win.  ::)

Geez, we gave 'em a series win to try to help 'em out a couple of years ago, because if our guys did it 10 on the run, everyone gets bored. (Especially out players)

Oh well, NSW can always hope that QLD doesn't turn up for the next two games I suppose.
Mind you, they'd probably still lose even then.
Post by: Rumpig on June 02, 2016, 05:42:45 AM
I wondered who'd be the first Roach to blame the refs for their loss, looks like it was Laurie Daley  ::) ::)
Post by: archer63 on June 02, 2016, 06:27:40 AM
One thing I always hate seeing is dangerous illegal play like some wanna be lifting the knees when about to be tackled.
Should be an immediate sin bin.
Post by: Fox67 on June 02, 2016, 06:43:58 AM
I was wondering if I was the only one who thought Klemmer lifted his knees into Morgan, looked like he got collected right in the jatz.
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 02, 2016, 07:03:17 AM
Now, as a proud Queenslander, I'd like to see NSW win a couple to re-ignite the series.

At the moment though, NSW is so bad at it, even if our guys play at half strength like last night, NSW still can't win.  ::)

Geez, we gave 'em a series win to try to help 'em out a couple of years ago, because if our guys did it 10 on the run, everyone gets bored. (Especially out players)

Oh well, NSW can always hope that QLD doesn't turn up for the next two games I suppose.
Mind you, they'd probably still lose even then.
Agree, there has been for too many years an imbalance of strength, determination and culture that if not fixed soon will see viewers walk, which will then affect sponsorship, and like it or not, it's all about the money......

Last night was a lacklustre performance from NSW and the Qld'rs barely raised a sweat. If there's a repeat performance in game 2, the crowds will walk and so will many corporate box sponsors.
Post by: Steffo1 on June 02, 2016, 08:00:08 AM
I was wondering if I was the only one who thought Klemmer lifted his knees into Morgan, looked like he got collected right in the jatz.
Too right he did & it wasn't the first time Klemmer did it it in the game!
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 02, 2016, 08:01:01 AM
Was it Gallen who was steamrolled by Myles in the first 2 seconds of the game, for shielding players? It was only marginally on screen, but I'm positive it was  ;D Made me chuckle.
Post by: latestarter on June 02, 2016, 08:11:52 AM
I agree with Scraps
The absolute absence of skill displayed in that game was breath taking
No wonder people are walking to other codes

- - ducking for cover - -
Post by: DaveR on June 02, 2016, 08:48:50 AM
At best, if I am lucky, I get to watch 3 sport matches per year.
Origin
I must say that over the years it is getting bad, this business of holding the game up with the rules being nutted out is helping me lose all interest.
Yes I know a game can be swayed by a decision which is good or bad, but at least then it was interesting, you'd have a mob of blokes a bit un-happy take it to the other guys as they were pumped.
Now
They stand around for so long waiting for what ever, then when they start up there is no momentum any more.
Bring back the biff, and lose the lawyers I say.

Oh
And 9 should have a 2nd channel running with Roy and HG commenting. That would make it interesting.
Post by: Robbo on June 02, 2016, 10:43:57 AM
At best, if I am lucky, I get to watch 3 sport matches per year.
Origin
I must say that over the years it is getting bad, this business of holding the game up with the rules being nutted out is helping me lose all interest.
Yes I know a game can be swayed by a decision which is good or bad, but at least then it was interesting, you'd have a mob of blokes a bit un-happy take it to the other guys as they were pumped.
Now

They stand around for so long waiting for what ever, then when they start up there is no momentum any more.
Bring back the biff, and lose the lawyers I say.

Oh
And 9 should have a 2nd channel running with Roy and HG commenting. That would make it interesting.

Yep, totally agree Dave. It ain't what it used to be.
The PC Brigade have seen to that.  ;D ;D
Post by: Rumpig on June 02, 2016, 11:18:27 AM
One thing I always hate seeing is dangerous illegal play like some wanna be lifting the knees when about to be tackled.
Should be an immediate sin bin.
yeah we were making comment about Klemmer at work this morning with his knee lifting runs. Whilst that running style isn't responsible for how Morgan got knocked out, it definitely is something the refs should have cracked down on.
Was it Gallen who was steamrolled by Myles in the first 2 seconds of the game, for shielding players? It was only marginally on screen, but I'm positive it was  ;D Made me chuckle.
yep and then Gallen went chasing after him after that also...lol
I agree with Scraps

typical first Origin match...lower scores and mostly about defence more then attack. Other codes wish they had a spectacle like the Origin, it's a massive ratings winner on the telly.
Post by: oldmate on June 02, 2016, 12:19:45 PM
I agree with Scraps

Yep. I'm gone. Only wasted half the game watching it last night. Won't make the same mistake in a few weeks.
Post by: baggs71 on June 02, 2016, 12:21:06 PM
Living in SA for 11 years ive seen a big change here....normally if there is not a SA sprortsperson in a match some where then you usually will never hear about it...but to channel nine credit it is now on tv free to air...year ago i had to run up to the pub and watch it....

The locals love it too and pick a side to win also...so its gaining favor each year....
Last night was a bit boring but it had its moments

My only complaint about origin is the dubbing effect??????
They turn up the mics when they rush forward and turn them down again during the tap....ita down right bloody annoying
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 02, 2016, 02:20:54 PM
yep and then Gallen went chasing after him after that also...lol

Yep, 8:10 ;D

https://youtu.be/hNjIjKBG4ck
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 02, 2016, 02:37:45 PM

Yep. I'm gone. Only wasted half the game watching it last night. Won't make the same mistake in a few weeks.
Carlton's looking for fans and they're playing well this year
Post by: glenm64 on June 02, 2016, 03:21:39 PM
Cant believe all the left handed, whale hugging leso's whinging about Sam Thaidays comment.
Thought it was quite funny, but also pretty accurate description of the game.

Post by: DaveR on June 02, 2016, 05:34:19 PM
Sam Thaidays comment.

What was his comment?
and
Wot did the diesel dykes says???
Post by: baggs71 on June 02, 2016, 05:37:09 PM
What was his comment?
and
Wot did the diesel dykes says???
Post by: Nomad on June 02, 2016, 05:57:28 PM
Sam Thaiday

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/state-of-origin/thaiday-sums-up-queensland-win-with-colourful-joke/news-story/c2904df6a9f67c171fbefd685ab7a231 (http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/state-of-origin/thaiday-sums-up-queensland-win-with-colourful-joke/news-story/c2904df6a9f67c171fbefd685ab7a231)
Post by: DaveR on June 02, 2016, 06:17:12 PM
Bugga, so there was a part of the game worth watching, I turned it of by then.
Good work Sam, someone needs to make it interesting.
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 02, 2016, 07:10:33 PM
It's ok, there's been a meeting here in Mexico today to see if a joint sporting code working group can come up with an idea to save the day. So you'll be pleased to know we're sending Travis Cloke up to play for Qld'rs in game 2
Post by: baggs71 on June 02, 2016, 07:15:05 PM
It's ok, there's been a meeting here in Mexico today to see if a joint sporting code working group can come up with an idea to save the day. So you'll be pleased to know we're sending Travis Cloke up to play for Qld'rs in game 2
the biggest hot and cold player in the AFL,,,waste of supporters money ::)
Post by: Bird on June 13, 2016, 09:05:47 PM
http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2016/06/darrell-eastlake-ready-to-watch-beloved-state-of-origin.html (http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2016/06/darrell-eastlake-ready-to-watch-beloved-state-of-origin.html)

Was never a Daryl fan, but what a sad way to end up...
Didn't realise he commentated the origin for so many years...
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 13, 2016, 09:07:43 PM
http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2016/06/darrell-eastlake-ready-to-watch-beloved-state-of-origin.html (http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2016/06/darrell-eastlake-ready-to-watch-beloved-state-of-origin.html)

Was never a Daryl fan, but what a sad way to end up...
Didn't realise he commentated the origin for so many years...

Watched that tonight. Couldn't believe it. Almost didn't recognise him
Post by: Bird on June 13, 2016, 09:12:32 PM
Quote from: scrapsD40
Watched that tonight. Couldn't believe it. Almost didn't recognise him
yea I missed it, had to shoot out to Packy - and just now a mate was tellin me about it

Alzheimer’s disease and dementia, emphysema, diabetes and an irregular heartbeat.
(http://i0.wp.com/www.tvtonight.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2016-06-01_1625.jpg)
Post by: baggs71 on June 16, 2016, 12:11:00 PM
Wow
I found him awesome to listen to as a kid in qld
..along with ray and the boys...

I had no idea it was him in the picture.....
Toughest gig in the world is being old...
It touches everyone....
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 22, 2016, 02:48:09 PM
No, it's ok, don't thank me. It's my pleasure

https://www.facebook.com/nswblues/videos/10154221000221894/
Post by: DaveR on June 22, 2016, 05:10:28 PM
BA DA DA DA DA

That's the most intelligent thing I have heard from a cockroach about the game yet.

PS
Gone on the wiggles for getting involved for a wind up   :cup:
Post by: tryagain on June 22, 2016, 07:11:35 PM
No, it's ok, don't thank me. It's my pleasure

https://www.facebook.com/nswblues/videos/10154221000221894/ (https://www.facebook.com/nswblues/videos/10154221000221894/)

I challenge anyone to watch that 3 times and not have it stuck in their head afterwards.
Post by: DaveR on June 22, 2016, 07:48:47 PM
Game hasn't started yet and I'm sick of sports bet adds already.

Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk

Post by: patroldude on June 22, 2016, 08:12:27 PM
QUEENSLANDER
Post by: BaseCamp on June 22, 2016, 08:43:23 PM
I challenge anyone to watch that 3 times and not have it stuck in their head afterwards.
Why arn't we allowed to chant:  "boo a blue" anymore? - these nanny days....

Post by: Bird on June 22, 2016, 09:21:01 PM
Game over...

If that Moloney dude in the Blues jumper whose playing for Qld gets another gig, I'll go heave...
Post by: Rumpig on June 22, 2016, 10:18:37 PM
 8) no more to say  8)
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 22, 2016, 10:19:45 PM
Qld team seem a bit flat, like oh, we won again?
Post by: Nomad on June 22, 2016, 10:27:44 PM
I think qld should give the U21's a run for the dead rubber...........
Post by: tk421 on June 22, 2016, 10:58:30 PM
Yawnfest again. I've seen this movie before.

NSW self destruct with stupidity
The team of 2 Queenslanders and 11 Islanders,Kiwis and everywhere else, get away with stuff the blues get penalised for
Ch9 commentary is dreadful

Can't wait for the next game-not. Thankfully there is always Netflix
Post by: tryagain on June 23, 2016, 01:04:02 AM
The team of 2 Queenslanders and 11 Islanders,Kiwis and everywhere else, get away with stuff the blues get penalised for

! No longer available (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PFi2mT9G65A#)
Post by: Garfish on June 23, 2016, 06:20:26 AM
Game over...

If that Moloney dude in the Blues jumper whose playing for Qld gets another gig, I'll go heave...

Who are they going to replace him with Pearce. 
Post by: macca on June 23, 2016, 06:53:35 AM
Yawnfest again. I've seen this movie before.

NSW self destruct with stupidity
Ch9 commentary is dreadful

Can't wait for the next game-not. Thankfully there is always Netflix
Bugger, as a Victorian that has only followed NRL for five or six years I thought the Maroons were full of Queenslanders . What does SOO mean???? Do agree about Ch9  commentators tho, they are very biased towards the Blues. What's with that sour puss Brad Fitler, looked like he had just been told off by his mum
Post by: Rumpig on June 23, 2016, 07:25:58 AM
Bugger, as a Victorian that has only followed NRL for five or six years I thought the Maroons were full of Queenslanders . What does SOO mean???? Do agree about Ch9  commentators tho, they are very biased towards the Blues. What's with that sour puss Brad Fitler, looked like he had just been told off by his mum
it's not where you are born that determines who you play for, that's just something sore losing NSW supporters bring up when whinging about their teams inability to win a series. The link below explains how it works...even NSW best ever halfback was born in Toowoomba, James Tamou born in NZ etc etc. It actually gets funnier every time this gets brought up, especially that song they made up about it thinking it would upset us...lol. https://www.nrl.com/portals/nrl/RadEditor/Documents/2015/AboutUs/StateofOriginEligibilityExplained.pdf (https://www.nrl.com/portals/nrl/RadEditor/Documents/2015/AboutUs/StateofOriginEligibilityExplained.pdf)
Post by: DaveR on June 23, 2016, 07:33:48 AM
NSW seem to forget how the 1st games rules for player selection were done as well.
It was based on the state where the team is based that you played for on the day.
When it was changed to rules similar to now, QLD started winning and didn't they hate it.

Bit disappointed that Gallen only had the 1 whinge to the ref last night.
Post by: patroldude on June 23, 2016, 08:01:08 AM
When Freddy was interviewing Gallen after the match, it looked like the pair of Em where about to fall in a heap crying Funny chit
Post by: patroldude on June 23, 2016, 08:03:16 AM
Then Freddy interviews Woodys and asks how he's feeling?
Woodsy comes back with - Chithouse mate
GOLD
Post by: tk421 on June 23, 2016, 08:07:26 AM

SOO = First professional (senior) team that you play for

I find the hype and tribalism around it a bit much. It's just become a nice money earner for the NRL so its flogged to death and seems to get worse every year.

If you're a dedicated follower of a team chasing a premiership,  SOO can be a nightmare. It removes key players from teams and exposes them to injury; forces teams to play reserve sides; & lets teams win in the regular comp that might not have otherwise. I'd rather my team focus on getting the premiership tbh (not that this is v. likely this year)

Post by: archer63 on June 23, 2016, 08:08:56 AM
When will they ever learn !!

Focus 100% for 80 mins on playing & winning the game and stop thinking about cheap shot opportunities....and they might actually start to win....maybe.
Post by: BaseCamp on June 23, 2016, 09:13:20 AM
As a Queenslandeeeer ... I was actually hoping the cocaroaches would win....   the (State of Origin) game ain't what it used to be - and what's with the heavy habitual reliance on the video ref.....    Just let the on-ground refs get on with it, cock ups and all.....

But what about that guy who ran the whole length of the paddock and scored a try....   brilliant!!!

Post by: DaveR on June 23, 2016, 09:16:40 AM
Which 1? The NSW player, great effort.

Post by: BaseCamp on June 23, 2016, 09:24:47 AM
Yeah...
   The cocaroach... that ran the whole length of the field . ....  I don't follow the NRL enough to know all the names. ....   but they happily get my eyeballs every year for SofO......

Post by: Bird on June 23, 2016, 09:25:44 AM
Quote from: BaseCamp
As a Queenslandeeeer ... I was actually hoping the cocaroaches would win....

the (State of Origin) game ain't what it used to be -

I must admit I thought that last night... there didn't seem to be the excitement surrounding it.

and what's with the heavy habitual reliance on the video ref.....    Just let the on-ground refs get on with it, cock ups and all...

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=47017.msg833805#msg833805 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=47017.msg833805#msg833805)

Sadly the AFL have followed the NRL's nightmare and built a "BUNKER" now - 1 bloke will be in the bunker controlling ALL AFL games at one time!!!! Talk about a ****in nightmare.
Post by: tryagain on June 23, 2016, 09:42:32 AM
it's not where you are born that determines who you play for
The link below explains how it works...even NSW best ever halfback was born in Toowoomba, James Tamou born in NZ etc etc. https://www.nrl.com/portals/nrl/RadEditor/Documents/2015/AboutUs/StateofOriginEligibilityExplained.pdf (https://www.nrl.com/portals/nrl/RadEditor/Documents/2015/AboutUs/StateofOriginEligibilityExplained.pdf)
I think that is the issue, SOO by name implies something that it isn't. I think it should be where you are born and leave it at that, or change its name to State of rubbery convoluted decision-making process to decide who you can play for, but that doesn't have the same ring to it.
Post by: Bird on June 23, 2016, 09:44:25 AM
Quote from: tryagain
I think it should be where you are born and leave it at
Agree 10000%

Also someone will be getting roasted today, there was 1 ad break without a gambling ad in it... someone will lose their job...
Post by: jmorgan1981 on June 23, 2016, 09:56:53 AM
Leilua and Cartwright have come in.

That is all I'm going to say about it.
Post by: Garfish on June 27, 2016, 03:02:09 PM
Kevin Walters coach for two games already has as many series wins as NSW for last 11 years..

The rules for eligibility are what they are, I love how brothers could be on different sides. Would of loved to have seen the Sims brothers go at each other in origin
Post by: rags on June 27, 2016, 06:17:37 PM
Kevin Walters coach for two games already has as many series wins as NSW for last 11 years..

The rules for eligibility are what they are, I love how brothers could be on different sides. Would of loved to have seen the Sims brothers go at each other in origin

I think the refreshing thing about this season's series has been the two coaches. They have conducted themselves with the upmost sportsmanship, and with regard to each other including Walters agreeing with Daley's on the ref and saying that almost all 50/50 calls have gone Qld way. They appear weekly on Fox together and it is on display there and shows that they have a genuine respect and friendship with each other. It included a recent discussion if their roles where reversed and had to coach the other teams how they would go and the response was similar in that coaching a team which has been together for a long while with success and including successful club combinations both current and past is always going to be easier than moulding new inexperience together.
Far more pleasant than some of the arrogance of past coaches.
Post by: KingBilly on July 01, 2016, 05:23:00 PM
NSW Blues Hire Sally Robbins As Team Counsellor Ahead Of Game III

Former Olympian Rower Sally Robbins, has been hired by the NSWRL to ‘help bring about a bit of ticker’ in the most unsuccessful Australian representative sports team of this millenium.

http://www.betootaadvocate.com/sports/nsw-blues-hire-sally-robbins-as-team-counsellor-ahead-of-game-iii/ (http://www.betootaadvocate.com/sports/nsw-blues-hire-sally-robbins-as-team-counsellor-ahead-of-game-iii/)

Post by: Rumpig on July 01, 2016, 06:21:35 PM
NSW Blues Hire Sally Robbins As Team Counsellor Ahead Of Game III

Former Olympian Rower Sally Robbins, has been hired by the NSWRL to ‘help bring about a bit of ticker’ in the most unsuccessful Australian representative sports team of this millenium.

http://www.betootaadvocate.com/sports/nsw-blues-hire-sally-robbins-as-team-counsellor-ahead-of-game-iii/ (http://www.betootaadvocate.com/sports/nsw-blues-hire-sally-robbins-as-team-counsellor-ahead-of-game-iii/)

as in Lay down Sally?...seems appropriate I guess...lol
Post by: DaveR on July 13, 2016, 03:49:44 PM
So....
Ummm ?
Is it "Be nice to a Cockroach Day" today?   >:D

Post by: KingBilly on July 13, 2016, 05:13:54 PM
So....
Ummm ?
Is it "Be nice to a Cockroach Day" today?   >:D

No way never  ;D.  Hope the CTs slaughter them (again)

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 13, 2016, 06:06:37 PM
The Queenslander's bus has crashed and killed every Queensland player on the way to the game.

NSW, whilst still being the underdogs, will still play tonight on their own as a tribute to those killed...... and still friggin lose.
Post by: rags on July 13, 2016, 07:37:39 PM
Or could it be a day the tides turn, like the great St George dynasty of the past good times comes to an end.
While I'm not sure if it is now I do sense that NSW are building to a good future and have some exciting young players in the wings just waiting to grow some bum fluff before being released.
In the grand scheme of things the maroons have not had a decisive advantage in this trilogy. But you can never discount a team of a champions which is what Queensland are.
Post by: DaveR on July 13, 2016, 08:16:09 PM
It will now that Gall an is leaving. :)

Post by: DaveR on July 13, 2016, 08:17:50 PM
Wots with the rainbow coloured boots?

Post by: BaseCamp on July 13, 2016, 08:33:16 PM
As a staunch mighty maroons supporter; I am actually hoping that the cocaroaches win tonight...

The SoO series is becoming too predictable these days....   "shooting fish in a tank" as the saying goes - gets boring after a few years   :)   ;) ....

At least bring back some biffo; & the sin bin.. and blood bin....   

Post by: KingBilly on July 13, 2016, 09:09:12 PM
gets boring after a few years

Never gets boring when ya winning ;D ;D ;D

Post by: rags on July 13, 2016, 10:20:35 PM
I think NSW just did a Queenslander on Queensland and pull one last try out of the bag to save the game
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2016, 10:25:56 PM
I think NSW just did a Queenslander on Queensland and pull one last try out of the bag to save the game
it went very quiet in here didn't it?
Post by: KingBilly on July 13, 2016, 10:30:42 PM
Tough game.  Winners are grinners.

Oh, and nobody got penalised for wearing gloves  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Rumpig on July 13, 2016, 10:30:59 PM
it went very quiet in here didn't it?
we're to busy laughing that they only managed to win by 4 after a 12 - 2 penalty count in their favour...lol. We won the series, it's no biggie they won game 3...to little to late for them  8)
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2016, 10:33:33 PM
we're to busy laughing that they only managed to win by 4 after a 12 - 2 penalty count in their favour...lol. We won the series, it's no biggie they won game 3...to little to late for them  8)
I still cant see a reason to play a 3rd game after winning 2 out of 3....
Post by: Rumpig on July 13, 2016, 10:36:33 PM
to be honest I nearly didn't watch the game, the series was done and dusted no matter how much the media and channel 9 tried to talk it up as not being a dead rubber.
Post by: rags on July 13, 2016, 10:47:08 PM

I think both teams just demonstrated why they consider to play a third game is important especially if a team seals it 3 .0.
As I said I think the tide is turning. Tonight Qld had to revert to playing the infringement game which is now previlant in the modern game, ie when challenged give the penalty away, knowing that the ref may penalise but not use the sin bin. They then regroup for next set.
Shame they can't play a again in 2 weeks.

As an aside tonight was the 1st time that I turn the to down and listened to MMM, as Vauton and Gould get on my goat. it was a good way to listen
Post by: Shaun99 on July 13, 2016, 10:59:36 PM
Holy Shit balls, another case of FITS tonight (Football Induced Turrets Syndrome), but the best team won in the end.

Just think if we get rid of Daley as coach, remembering there is no actual evidence that he is fact a coach, we might be in with a chance next year.

Post by: archer63 on July 14, 2016, 07:49:42 AM
Proud happy QLD supporter....but for a competition to remain healthy....it must have strong competition.

If NSW turn up to play good footy, stay disciplined, focus on trying to win....they give themselves half a chance.

But if their focus is on squaring up, grubby tactics....then they are not 100% focused on winning...any half decent coach in junior grade will say the same.

Looks like bully boy fifita didn't like getting his baby pigtail pulled....and that was all it took for him to lose focus.

Arrgghhh....will those blues never learn  ;D

Post by: BaseCamp on July 14, 2016, 08:03:51 AM
LOL.....     WINNER...!!!!!!!!   :)   :)   :)

Post by: Rumpig on July 14, 2016, 08:12:15 AM
Very poor sportsmanship on the NSW players behalf walking off during Cameron Smiths post game speech I reckon, JT summed it up nicely.
Pretty funny looking at Jennings after he scored that last try, none of his team mates wanted anything to do with him and he was left standing there trying to celebrate on his own....nice "team"...lol
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on July 14, 2016, 08:28:45 AM
Very poor sportsmanship on the NSW players behalf walking off during Cameron Smiths post game speech I reckon, JT summed it up nicely.
Pretty funny looking at Jennings after he scored that last try, none of his team mates wanted anything to do with him and his was left standing there trying to celebrate on his own....nice "team"...lol

How was Woods' celebrations  ;D Jennings scores, Woods does the big run in and dive onto someone's back, only no one was there, leaving Woods to face plant onto the paddock.  ;D

As for the disrespect shown by NSW at the presentation, that was nothing compared to what their own coach did. He walked out before the game finished, having conceded to Qld and didn't even see his own sides game winning try.

A team lead by example  ::)
Post by: DaveR on July 14, 2016, 09:42:16 AM
As someone who couldn't give a ..... about the game from week to week, and knows little of the rules there is 1 thing about the match I notice, and have done so for a long time.
Every time a QLD player is tackled, as he is being tackled, there is a very short committee meeting of sorts in behind to discuss what should happen next. Then, usually something different happens.
NSW?
I am happy to be proven wrong, but I never see this.
How about the conference last night when the QLD lad was sin binned between him and JT....

NSW just seem to take the same moves, a battle of attrition so to speak, WWI tack ticks. Time to move on.

I like how Laury Dally gets his coaching technique from the commentary box, glad I'm not wearing his shoes today.  ;D

I also noticed that the biased Gus even recon the penalties against QLD were unfair, must have been bad.
Post by: Rumpig on July 14, 2016, 09:55:43 AM
How was Woods' celebrations  ;D Jennings scores, Woods does the big run in and dive onto someone's back, only no one was there, leaving Woods to face plant onto the paddock.  ;D

As for the disrespect shown by NSW at the presentation, that was nothing compared to what their own coach did. He walked out before the game finished, having conceded to Qld and didn't even see his own sides game winning try.

A team lead by example  ::)
just saw the Woods thing on the telly...classic...lol. Maybe NSW players are so out of touch with celebrating, they have forgotten how to do it?....lol. Times are tough when your coach wants to get down to the tunnel early to console you on your loss before the game has even ended....the game is never over hill it's over, as proven once again last night.
Post by: DaveR on July 14, 2016, 10:02:24 AM
just saw the Woods thing on the telly...classic...lol.

I've been trying to find it on the web, anyone got a link?
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on July 14, 2016, 10:22:11 AM
I've been trying to find it on the web, anyone got a link?

https://www.facebook.com/nrl/videos/10153860654913074/ (https://www.facebook.com/nrl/videos/10153860654913074/)
Post by: DaveR on July 14, 2016, 10:35:27 AM
https://www.facebook.com/nrl/videos/10153860654913074/ (https://www.facebook.com/nrl/videos/10153860654913074/)

thanx

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Hairs on July 14, 2016, 11:05:20 AM
Looks like bully boy fifita didn't like getting his baby pigtail pulled....and that was all it took for him to lose focus.
Hey, I had long hair as a kid when I played,
Anyone, anyone that pulled it got a face full of knuckles,   8)
But apparently you can't do that theses days  >:D

Inglis, had intent.

Lets call a spade a spade here, Smith elbowed a few faces last night,  tell me what was Corey Parker(13) doing running towards the players celebrating after the last try?
He came running in from twenty away and was pushed away by a Blue's Player.
And has for Gallen walking away, I can't find the footage, Smith got in his face in the second half and said something to him.
Gallen was shocked by his comment.
There is a lot crap that goes on that the mic's & cameras don't pickup or the production team cut out.

Qld players had the Shits from the very start.
And as for Gould sticking up for qld, I haven't listen to that prick for years, he's an over paid idiot like the rest of the channel 9 presenters.

They are all grubs, it's not the game it was twenty years ago.
Just my two Bobs worth  ;D
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on July 14, 2016, 04:02:40 PM
thanx

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Better with music  ;D

https://www.facebook.com/tab.com.au/videos/1422520641107982/ (https://www.facebook.com/tab.com.au/videos/1422520641107982/)
Post by: Rodt on July 14, 2016, 04:42:41 PM
tell me what was Corey Parker(13) doing running towards the players celebrating after the last try?
He came running in from twenty away and was pushed away by a Blue's Player.
Apparently Maloney hit him in the head from behind as he was running through (after Parker had stopped chasing). I didn't see it but was told about it today (by a Blues supporter)

Rod
Post by: DaveR on July 14, 2016, 04:47:37 PM
Better with music  ;D

https://www.facebook.com/tab.com.au/videos/1422520641107982/ (https://www.facebook.com/tab.com.au/videos/1422520641107982/)

Link don't work
Post by: paulo on July 14, 2016, 04:52:31 PM
It looked to me that Maloney didn't hit him from behind, just give a bit of a hip and shoulder, but he seemed to pick Parker out. But as mentioned above, there's a lot of chirp going on during the games, and the Qlder's sure aren't backwards in getting in NSW's faces about anything. Or the ref's for that matter!
Post by: bak79 on July 14, 2016, 04:59:37 PM
Apparently Maloney hit him in the head from behind as he was running through (after Parker had stopped chasing). I didn't see it but was told about it today (by a Blues supporter)

Rod

gave him a slap then went and hid behind Klemmer like a little *^&( .  worst part of QLD losing last night was missing out on Gal crying one last time. 
http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/james-maloney-swoop-assault-on-maroons-veteran-corey-parker/news-story/81ceed1bf9a3a6f220db0df6e37916a4 (http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/james-maloney-swoop-assault-on-maroons-veteran-corey-parker/news-story/81ceed1bf9a3a6f220db0df6e37916a4)
Post by: achjimmy on July 14, 2016, 05:15:12 PM
I didn't see the game last night I've pretty much given up on league including origin this year. Just too much BS . But I heard the lopsided penalty count ? And all I can think is about time. One thing pissed me with league was the square up count that almost evened it game after game, like yeah statiscally that's going to happen. We even had that controversy few years ago where the ref called for the square up lol. Hopefully penalties are called as they are deserved regardless.
Post by: tk421 on July 14, 2016, 05:25:29 PM
Lopsided penalty count? Funny how when the refs actually police the tackles and play the ball by QLD players instead of ignoring them Queensland start to struggle. It's like Union. Whenever refs actually pinged Richie McGraw for his infringements, NZ always struggled

Penalty for off side? They were offside...fair
Warned about someone getting sent off for repeated infringements then commit a professional foul immediately after to prevent a certain try. Seems fair to me

It's not a lopsided contest. Most series end up being 2-1. Very few whitewashes. 2 games in this series separated by tiny margins? Hardly a dominanant performance.
Post by: Bird on July 14, 2016, 05:29:25 PM
Quote from: tk421
Hardly a dominanant performance.
arent they up to 8 out of 10 series now??
Post by: Rumpig on July 14, 2016, 05:38:48 PM
Pretty funny reading people's view on the game dependant on the blue or maroon tint of the glasses they are wearing whilst watching the game. If anyone thinks both teams aren't as bad as each other in the illegal play and niggle department (ie: facials in tackles, lying on them to slow play down, etc etc), they're kidding tbemself.
Post by: paulo on July 14, 2016, 05:47:03 PM
My thoughts too achjimmy. Why is it a problem that one team gives away more penalties than the other. I can never understand that the commentators/players/coaches complain that a vastly different penalty count means one side is being favoured. Can it not be that the side with the higher penalty count is just breaking the rules more often, either accidently or tactically?
Post by: achjimmy on July 14, 2016, 07:18:25 PM
My thoughts too achjimmy. Why is it a problem that one team gives away more penalties than the other. I can never understand that the commentators/players/coaches complain that a vastly different penalty count means one side is being favoured. Can it not be that the side with the higher penalty count is just breaking the rules more often, either accidently or tactically?

Yep that's it Paulo. You just get zealot fans who can't see one side or the other same as politics. my team at one stage was the best offside players in the game. The refs insisted in equal counts so they won games. If the league is stupid and it is they let this Shit and other stuff go on and it destroys the game.
Post by: tk421 on July 14, 2016, 07:45:12 PM
arent they up to 8 out of 10 series now??

Yes, but my point is that each series is usually won 2 games to 1 and the scores are usually pretty close. eg This series:
Game 1 - 6-4 = 2pts
Game 2 - 26 -16 = 10pts
Game 2 - 14-18 = 4pts

Yes, there is the odd game that has the exceptional but over the last 10 years QLD has averaged 19 points a game vs NSW 13pts. 6 points in it. And since the start in 1982 the average is 16 (QLD) vs 15 (NSW) points a game.

To me that's not a dominant performance. Yes QLD have been winning the series over the last decade, but they've not been 'dominating' like the commentators like to say. If they were winning 3-0 every series, or by massive margins,  I'd say that's dominant, but in the past decade only the 2009 and 2010 series were won 3-0 and the scores have usually within 10 points of each other.

Since it began it its sitting at QLD 57 to NSW 47 games won - 19 series wins (QLD) to 14 (NSW) - thats a 57% success rate.

Which is why we all tune in each year, because its usually going to be close.

Post by: DaveR on July 14, 2016, 07:57:20 PM
52 - 6.
It don't get any closer than that. :).

Post by: tk421 on July 14, 2016, 08:14:34 PM
Can it not be that the side with the higher penalty count is just breaking the rules more often, either accidently or tactically?

I agree most of those penalties were for offside or late flop penalties that would have been given every day of the year. If you can't notice the ref is picking it up, and you keep doing it, suffer the consequence. Cronk's was a professional foul any day of the year, and came after 4 consecutive penalties and a warning, he deserved to go.  But hey, it achieved the aim. It saved 6 points for the sacrifice of a player for 10 minutes. Union players do it all the time - they'll deliberately run off side if the opposition look like scoring, as the ref has to blow. They'd rather give away 3 points than 7.

Fifita deserved to be pinged off for being an idiot - did he deserve to go off? Probably not.  But I do sympathise, Cooper was a idiot for throwing the ball at  Moylan. Big tough guy screaming abuse at the little guy he's just run over - dickhead IMO. I can't stand that kind of behaviour and there's no need for it.

Post by: tk421 on July 14, 2016, 08:24:05 PM
52 - 6.
It don't get any closer than that. :).

Yes, yes, as I said there are one or two exceptions out of the 105 games played since 1982, but on the whole scores are pretty close.

Out of those 105 games only 35 have had a score difference greater than 10points. And in the last decade of QLD 'dominance' only 8/33 have had a score difference of greater than 10.

But if you want to cherry pick. Remember NSW 56-QLD 16 in 2000?  :)
Title: Re: State of Origin...2016
Post by: Foo on July 14, 2016, 11:14:02 PM

I agree most of those penalties were for offside or late flop penalties that would have been given every day of the year. If you can't notice the ref is picking it up, and you keep doing it, suffer the consequence. Cronk's was a professional foul any day of the year, and came after 4 consecutive penalties and a warning, he deserved to go.  But hey, it achieved the aim. It saved 6 points for the sacrifice of a player for 10 minutes. Union players do it all the time - they'll deliberately run off side if the opposition look like scoring, as the ref has to blow. They'd rather give away 3 points than 7.

Fifita deserved to be pinged off for being an idiot - did he deserve to go off? Probably not.  But I do sympathise, Cooper was a idiot for throwing the ball at  Moylan. Big tough guy screaming abuse at the little guy he's just run over - dickhead IMO. I can't stand that kind of behaviour and there's no need for it.
Throwing the ball at his head? Hahahaha a six months old baby could have thrown it with more force, it was dropped from about six inches above his head.

Your worst nightmare is behind you. ????

Post by: Rumpig on July 15, 2016, 08:06:26 AM
At the end of the day the important thing is who holds the Sheild up at the end of game 3....who was that again?   8)
Post by: tryagain on July 15, 2016, 09:04:14 AM
At the end of the day the important thing is who holds the Sheild up at the end of game 3....who was that again?   8)

Why does the saying "your only as good as you last game" come to mind  ;D
Post by: Rumpig on July 15, 2016, 09:49:30 AM
Why does the saying "your only as good as you last game" come to mind  ;D
you mean the game where NSW won in the dieing seconds of the game, on the back of a 12 - 3 penalty count in their favour, with a try awarded that even NSW commentators said shouldn't have been due to an offside player, where the missed tackle count was 37 - 13 against Qld, line breaks were 7 - 2 for NSW, Qld made about 90 more tackles then NSW, and the NSW coach missed the end of the game as he had left the box in disgust to go and console his players on yet another lost game?....yeah NSW showed us  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Joff on July 15, 2016, 10:10:09 AM
waa waa waa - christ you Queenslanders whine!! even when you win hahaha - It's gunna be fun to watch over the next decade as your origin team sinks into mediocrity (just like your economy). The amount of fantasy drivel about one blues player or another being a dog or how the ref's are against you or how some thing has prejudiced you will grow exponentially.

Best part is, unlike your economy, when your Origin team turns turtle NSW wont be compelled to bail you out  :cup:

here fishy
Post by: Rumpig on July 15, 2016, 10:30:06 AM
Who's whinging?...I'm laughing at how much you Roaches are talking up the win like it was some sort of dominant performance, and how they think their players are saints that fon't do the stuff they say the Qld players do. If you look at the stats, NSW should have won that game by atleast 20, yet were lucky to steal a last second win. At the end of the day we hold the Sheild YET AGAIN!!!! Maybe NSW can win next year so their media can call it a dynasty, and be the death of origin  ::) At the end of the day it was a dead rubber game, we'd already won the series. 8) 8)
Post by: Streetkid on July 15, 2016, 10:40:31 AM
The shield is one thing but every nsw supporter knows the only contest that counts these days is the dead rubber.
Post by: Rumpig on July 15, 2016, 10:44:01 AM
The shield is one thing but every nsw supporter knows the only contest that counts these days is the dead rubber.
:cup: ;D ;D
Post by: Joff on July 15, 2016, 10:58:59 AM
There you go again, whining like big girls that a NSW person has taken some positive from a win. waaa waa waa. You'll be sorry when NSW annexes you and turns your state into a bio hazard waste dump. Although it's pretty close now considering you lot that live there  >:D

I'm so bored hahahaha 
Post by: tracker on July 15, 2016, 11:12:43 AM
Well....here i go rummaging through the pantry looking for the popcorn....... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on July 15, 2016, 11:15:33 AM
funniest Shit was some ex-storm player on radio saying this win was the beginning of a dynasty for NSW..

FFS, they were lucky to win!
Post by: Joff on July 15, 2016, 11:45:27 AM
I'm just Shit stiring hahahaha
Post by: DaveR on July 15, 2016, 12:38:42 PM
funniest Shit was some ex-storm player on radio saying this win was the beginning of a dynasty for NSW..

No, thats all good, we need them to be saying that.
The result from the last time they rubbished the QLD side was us getting the 1/2 century, bring it on, tell us how bad we are, need to hear it for the next 10 months.

I see it is game 2 in Perth next year now....
May as well be Lang Park, as the Sand Gropers have the same thoughts on NSW as us.
Love em......  ;D
Post by: tryagain on July 15, 2016, 07:06:30 PM
you mean the game where NSW won in the dieing seconds of the game, on the back of a 12 - 3 penalty count in their favour, with a try awarded that even NSW commentators said shouldn't have been due to an offside player, where the missed tackle count was 37 - 13 against Qld, line breaks were 7 - 2 for NSW, Qld made about 90 more tackles then NSW, and the NSW coach missed the end of the game as he had left the box in disgust to go and console his players on yet another lost game?....yeah NSW showed us  ;D ;D ;D

Should have won by twenty, could have won 53-6 if we wanted too but it's much more fun letting you get your hopes up and then winning in the dying seconds to get one back at Queensland.  ;D

The result from the last time they rubbished the QLD side was us getting the 1/2 century, bring it on, tell us how bad we are, need to hear it for the next 10 months.

I tune out to the build up but surely there is trash talk before each game isn't there? don't tell me they are slipping.

May as well be Lang Park, as the Sand Gropers have the same thoughts on NSW as us.
Love em......  ;D

except I think they also have the same thoughts about QLD that NSW do, My impression is that any state from the eastern starboard is to be disliked.

Who's whinging?...I'm laughing at how much you Roaches are talking up the win like it was some sort of dominant performance, and how they think their players are saints that don't do the stuff they say the Qld players do. If you look at the stats, NSW should have won that game by at least 20, yet were lucky to steal a last second win. At the end of the day we hold the Sheild YET AGAIN!!!! Maybe NSW can win next year so their media can call it a dynasty, and be the death of origin  ::)

If that's the standard you want to apply then Queensland hasn't been dominate at all over the last 11 years, they have just been lucky to have stolen lots of last second wins.

I would really like for Thurston to take an early retirement from origin as he makes it hard for me to want someone to kneecap him with comments like this. (http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/johnathan-thurston-shows-his-class-with-shout-out-to-struggling-remote-indigenous-community/news-story/4c31d23493c6ad90c68a5bdeb40a9a61) I honestly think with out him the "Dynasty" wouldn't have been, if he isn't putting someone in a gap, converting them from all over the park or rolling the ball into the in goal for another set of six he is holding up the NSW player to stop a try. He has only had one average series from memory, hence NSW winning one.
Post by: DaveR on July 16, 2016, 06:39:23 AM

I would really like for Thurston to take an early retirement from origin as he makes it hard for me to want someone to kneecap him with comments like this. (http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/johnathan-thurston-shows-his-class-with-shout-out-to-struggling-remote-indigenous-community/news-story/4c31d23493c6ad90c68a5bdeb40a9a61)

There must be a few Pollies out there who hope he keeps playing, if he turns to that, he's in first try, no sweat.