General => General Discussion => Topic started by: J.R on May 19, 2016, 06:59:12 PM

Title: MDC $70k Caravan
Post by: J.R on May 19, 2016, 06:59:12 PM
Anybody seen the new off road MDC caravan?

Looks pretty sweet.

Would be interesting if they are 100% Australia made or imported.

It doesn't bother me either way, but I'd like to see the size of the container if it was just out of curiosity.
Title: Re: MDC $70k Caravan
Post by: Bill on May 19, 2016, 07:07:19 PM
According to the salesman at last weeks show in Cairns they are prefabbed overseas and assembled here...
Post by: SaltHorse on May 19, 2016, 07:11:40 PM
Looks nice,

MDC is definitely getting a very respectable range of trailers and vans. The Chinese campers seem to be following a similar path to Japanese motorbikes; cheap at first and refined to market leading products.

Salty.

Salty.

Post by: oldmate on May 19, 2016, 07:16:11 PM
Have lifestyle released a van?
Post by: edz on May 19, 2016, 07:21:28 PM
Reckon you would fit about 8 chassis  flat packed in a 30 foot shipping container then bring the wall frames etc  flat packed in another  .. Would be interesting, might have to ask  !  ..
Post by: Bird on May 19, 2016, 09:21:07 PM
70k?? Yen?
Post by: oldmate on May 19, 2016, 09:22:50 PM
70k?? Yen?

Seams a lot hey?
Post by: PJ80 on May 19, 2016, 09:28:52 PM
What is going on with the front window?  Looks like an imposed photo.

Not something that would attract me but assume it will appeal to some.

Post by: rockinj on May 19, 2016, 10:05:16 PM
looking through the window to the open door of the van at the tree behind the van.
Post by: fergy on May 19, 2016, 11:17:10 PM
Someone put a door direct over the axles ?
I think it's a window too wide for a door
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 19, 2016, 11:28:02 PM
http://assets.marketdirect.com.au/images/trailers/16XT22INV/_full/207A0709.jpg (http://assets.marketdirect.com.au/images/trailers/16XT22INV/_full/207A0709.jpg)

Shows access door is just behind the rear Axle passenger side.
Post by: fergy on May 19, 2016, 11:30:37 PM
Yep but that's the window you can see through to the trees on both sides
Post by: prodigyrf on May 20, 2016, 10:22:04 AM
Seams a lot hey?

Not really as a tandem roady Jayco Sterling that size would cost $70k and it's an off-roader and may have all the bells and whistles like imported campers do for their price.
Post by: Bird on May 20, 2016, 10:31:10 AM
Quote from: prodigyrf
Not really as a tandem roady Jayco Sterling that size would cost $70k and it's an off-roader and may have all the bells and whistles like imported campers do for their price.

lets start the chinese v jayco argument ;D

I thought chinese were supposed to be a cheap alternative ??? now they are same price... Hmmm
Post by: KingBilly on May 20, 2016, 11:11:51 AM
I thought japanese korean cars were supposed to be a cheap alternative ??? now they are same price... Hmmm

Fixed it for ya  :D

Post by: Dusty road on May 20, 2016, 11:18:47 AM

I thought chinese were supposed to be a cheap alternative ??? now they are same price... Hmmm

On the flip side Jayco were supposed to be better quality....Hmmmm
Post by: oldmate on May 20, 2016, 07:14:32 PM
and it's an off-roader

Yep, that's what the sticker on the side of it says  >:D ;D
Post by: prodigyrf on May 20, 2016, 11:16:03 PM

their
No Chinese offroad price = Jayco road price by the looks. Offroad rated campers and caras are always significantly dearer than their bitumen equivalents.
Post by: The punter on May 21, 2016, 12:23:30 AM
Who woulda thought..... MDC actually came up with something they designed themselves
Post by: tryagain on May 21, 2016, 03:29:37 AM
Who woulda thought..... MDC actually came up with something they designed themselves
I don't know for sure but I would be surprised if that was the case, I'd say it's more likely they found a manufacturer already making them and modified/optioned it and branded to suit.
Post by: Garfish on May 21, 2016, 06:39:21 AM
Looks a bit like a kedron.   But they all look a bit the same like a lot of tinnies look the same

Loved the MDC website save $21,000 now $79,990
Post by: VAGRANT on May 21, 2016, 08:08:39 AM
Have lifestyle released a van?
;D Good work.
Post by: D4D on May 21, 2016, 08:29:46 AM
No Chinese offroad price = Jayco road price by the looks.

Nah, a mate has a new Jayco Outback Starcraft, similar spec as the MDC for $55K.
Post by: prodigyrf on May 21, 2016, 10:47:14 AM
Nah, a mate has a new Jayco Outback Starcraft, similar spec as the MDC for $55K.

Starcraft are entry level but here's a used 21'6" offroader for sale for $69k where the seller claims new replacement cost is $90k and he'd be right for a well kitted tandem offroader around 22 foot-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/supreme-caravan-off-road/141933017414?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140106155344%26meid%3D3fd8810c4b5a47c6a09ba602e8270921%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D182119584457 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/supreme-caravan-off-road/141933017414?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140106155344%26meid%3D3fd8810c4b5a47c6a09ba602e8270921%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D182119584457)

Met a single bloke up the NW with some hoojah big offroader he reckoned cost him $140k so $70k is chicken feed in this offroad big stuff. Like the roadside stop where 1 bloke was busy underneath a brand new looking Merc Winnebago and I casually asked his missus if there was a problem and he needed a hand. Oh no he's just checking the water level as it's their first trip in it from Perth. Oh you bought it new quizzes I? No says she we got it for a bargain. Only $240k with 1500km on the clock says she gloatingly. Me gulp! thinking streuth they must be well over $300k new. Apparently the bloke that bought it new took it home proudly to show the missus their new toy for hitting the road and she told him point blank there's no way she was travelling in THAT thing! How the other half live eh?

Post by: tryagain on May 21, 2016, 05:05:08 PM
Whilst there are some differances there are also plenty of similarities with this one. http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/paradise-point/caravans/discovery-full-off-road-caravan-factory-direct-prices-/1111336204 (http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/paradise-point/caravans/discovery-full-off-road-caravan-factory-direct-prices-/1111336204)
Post by: D4D on May 21, 2016, 05:25:27 PM
Starcraft are entry level

So is the MDC I was comparing it too ::)
Post by: Swannie on May 21, 2016, 05:47:14 PM
So is the MDC I was comparing it too ::)

At the end of the day whatever floats people's boat. As long as we are all out there enhaling  some camp smoke.

Starsky
The purchaser of an entry level caravan :)
Post by: oldmate on May 21, 2016, 06:51:14 PM
At the end of the day whatever floats people's boat. As long as we are all out there enhaling  some camp smoke.

Starsky
The purchaser of an entry level caravan :)

lol.. yep thats it
Post by: plusnq on May 21, 2016, 06:52:02 PM
And getting back of course  ;D >:D
Post by: rockinj on May 21, 2016, 08:58:55 PM
crap, if that's entry level I'm ... you know whatted.
Post by: BaseCamp on May 21, 2016, 09:26:50 PM
I wonder what sort of "off road" -- buyers of these sorts of units  are thinking of dragging these monsters through?    LOL...

Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on May 21, 2016, 09:57:10 PM
I wonder what sort of "off road" -- buyers of these sorts of units  are thinking of dragging these monsters through?    LOL...

hopefully they might chuck it up on a dvd
Post by: oldmate on May 21, 2016, 09:57:26 PM

there not.  it means they can drive on dirt rd.
Post by: GattonFam on May 24, 2016, 01:19:07 PM
Starcraft are entry level but here's a used 21'6" offroader for sale for $69k where the seller claims new replacement cost is $90k and he'd be right for a well kitted tandem offroader around 22 foot-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/supreme-caravan-off-road/141933017414?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140106155344%26meid%3D3fd8810c4b5a47c6a09ba602e8270921%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D182119584457 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/supreme-caravan-off-road/141933017414?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140106155344%26meid%3D3fd8810c4b5a47c6a09ba602e8270921%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D182119584457)

Met a single bloke up the NW with some hoojah big offroader he reckoned cost him $140k so $70k is chicken feed in this offroad big stuff. Like the roadside stop where 1 bloke was busy underneath a brand new looking Merc Winnebago and I casually asked his missus if there was a problem and he needed a hand. Oh no he's just checking the water level as it's their first trip in it from Perth. Oh you bought it new quizzes I? No says she we got it for a bargain. Only $240k with 1500km on the clock says she gloatingly. Me gulp! thinking streuth they must be well over $300k new. Apparently the bloke that bought it new took it home proudly to show the missus their new toy for hitting the road and she told him point blank there's no way she was travelling in THAT thing! How the other half live eh?

??? It doesn't have a water gauge on it????
Post by: chester ver2.0 on May 24, 2016, 03:16:06 PM
After looking at offroad caravans recently i have concluded that you pay an extra 5k for every inch it is lifted above standard height
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2016, 03:42:24 PM
I think that sort of money is obscene for a on or "offroad" caravan/trailer/camper/call.it.what.you.like..
Post by: McGirr on May 24, 2016, 03:52:42 PM
You shoukd see some of the setups that come into Mt Barnett. Everyone has a style and budget that suits their lifestyle.

For us we will probably look for a van or hybrid to carry our gear as it will be our house for a number of years.

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on May 24, 2016, 03:56:48 PM
I think that sort of money is obscene for a on or "offroad" caravan/trailer/camper/call.it.what.you.like..

Depends on what you compare it to.........

http://www.campertraileraustralia.com.au/features/best-camper-trailers/1403/best-camper-trailers-trackabout-dakar-sv-extenda/ (http://www.campertraileraustralia.com.au/features/best-camper-trailers/1403/best-camper-trailers-trackabout-dakar-sv-extenda/)
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2016, 04:00:54 PM
Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane
Depends on what you compare it to.........

Me personally - I wouldn't care really.. its a ****in obscene amount of money for a trailer!

YMMV
Post by: VAGRANT on May 24, 2016, 04:35:25 PM
I had to spend that much, anything less my $100 shovel would have felt out of place.  :cheers: ;D
Post by: Spada on May 24, 2016, 04:46:52 PM
I had to spend that much, anything less my $100 shovel would have felt out of place.  :cheers: ;D
Here here......
Value for money is a perception based on your own personal needs and wants.  One mans ripoff is another mans bargin. Who are we to judge how someone else spends their hard-earned  ?
Post by: KingBilly on May 24, 2016, 05:22:27 PM
Here here......
Value for money is a perception based on your own personal needs and wants.  One mans ripoff is another mans bargin. Who are we to judge how someone else spends their hard-earned  ?

Post by: McGirr on May 24, 2016, 07:00:06 PM
Here here......

Most sensible comment posted  :cup: