General => General Discussion => Topic started by: GeoffA on April 15, 2016, 08:58:09 PM
We're getting the NBN hooked up on Monday. Don't want it, but we don't have a choice. The current BigPond cable (115mb/s) will be disconnected later in the year, so we may as well get the pain over and done before the rush.
We have a flat roof, and we're on a slab. Waiting to see the look on the techies faces when they get here.... :o :o ;D ;D
I'll be interested in your experience.
Pardon my ignorance but why would a flat roof and being on a slab be difficult?
Makes it fun to run new cabling.
Aw yeah. Duh!
I have that all sorted Jamie. We've lived here for 31 years...... ;D
No worries mate, straight along the loungeroom gyprock in grey conduit.
She be right mate, no probs
Nah, make it the orange conduit, looks better.
Nah... the NBN folk will probably just wana jumper it in via ya old copper on the node; down the end of the street . .. LOL..
All the homes in the area have FTTP. They were all done about a year ago.
Just need to do the final hook-up into the house.....
All the homes in the area have FTTP.
I hate you :)
....but let's wait and see if it's any better than the current BigPond cable. I'm sure there will be issues.....and expenses...
Geez, two tins and bit if string would be better than my Bigpond cable. After years if complaints and frustration they finally found a faulty connection in a pit out the front about two months ago
and here i was thinking you guys down there were still yet to be hooked up to power,water & sewerage Geoff ;D
and here i was thinking you guys down there were still yet to be hooked up to power, water & sewerage Geoff ;D
They've got plenty of sewerage down there ;D
"In more sh+t than a werribee duck", has to come from somewhere.
Some sort of life experience brought the saying into life and made it popular usage.
Your lucky Geoff, Fibre to the node out here.
They're in the process of constructing the fibre part ATM.
There's a box 20M from my property, but they still took the connection to the junction pillar 40M away.
Then it has to come back to the house via overhead cabling.
At least the Fibre should be more resistant to water in the cables.
Get a good rainfall out here and the telstra pits become a secondary drainage system.
They've got plenty of sewerage down there ;D
1 outlet per household.....same as everywhere else Jamie..... :-*
My son is renting over behind the racecourse. He's a nerd studying computer science at uni so reliable fast internet was on the top of his list. He was only looking to rent houses that had nbn or were able to be hooked up. He's very happy with the speed and reliability so far as I'm aware. We are on cable here so he didn't want to step backwards. His computer here was downloading 24/7 here plus a multitude of other kids devices all hooked up to it.
I'm sure it will be fine. They had a box on the outside of the house and 1 point inside with a router attached. (I think that's all he has)
Sneezy
We still get DVDs from the BCC library. ... I was chatting to a friend about the demise of video shops....
At $2 a movie - it seemed reasonable to guessnimate that with wages and rent and all the rest - that that each video store may have had approx 150,000 - 250,000 hires pa...
So multiply that by say the approx 30 stores that were once upon a time in Brisvagas ... and that's at least the amount of movies being downloaded these days over the Internet ....
But because downloads are "free" ... and becuase the demographic has no doubt expanded - the figure is probably even far greater. ..
Food for thought. ...
Hope the turkeys down there are better than the dodos up here. About 2 months after connection its sorted, after the tech said by early afternoon the connection should be enabled, Could connect and make phone calls but could not ring out, My second hand set won’t work, modem failed after two weeks and it took another two weeks for a replacement, second modem ok but still has some noise one the line, Answers machine will only work if it’s near the modem.
Best of luck.
Chris.
We still get DVDs from the BCC library. ... I was chatting to a friend about the demise of video shops....
At $2 a movie - it seemed reasonable to guessnimate that with wages and rent and all the rest - that that each video store may have had approx 150,000 - 250,000 hires pa...
So multiply that by say the approx 30 stores that were once upon a time in Brisvagas ... and that's at least the amount of movies being downloaded these days over the Internet ....
But because downloads are "free" ... and becuase the demographic has no doubt expanded - the figure is probably even far greater. ..
Food for thought. ...
Whats this DVD thingy ?
Geoff l will mail you a carrier pidgin so you can communicate with the outside world . When you are driving around look for a phone box with a pinky/purple top , its a Whyfi spot thingy :cheers:
Hope the turkeys down there are better than the dodos up here........
So do I Chris.....
Just what is this cable,fttp, fibre and nbn that you're all talking about ???
They were supposed to be here between 8am and midday. Still no show. Not a great start..... >:(
He probably doesn't have a GPS that goes that far into the wilderness.
my dude was right on time... Brilliant.. 5 mins in house, down the road for 10, back to house for testing and he left.
came in put the box on a wall inside that was an 'external' wall
then "WASNT ALLOWED" to touch anything else, EG: the fukcin modem! Nothing else.
Still waiting for everything else we were promised, like the TV etc... - and for our old internet to be cut off that was going to be cut off on March 31st cause we "HAD" to go to the NBN.. Lying ****s.
Well, the tech finally arrived at 1:30pm.......had issues at previous installs. Too bad if we had other things planned for the arvo.....
Took him about an hour to do his stuff, after I lifted the appropriate roof sheets. Went pretty smoothly.
Earlier we were getting 95 down and 35 up. It's now dropped back to 25 down and 35 up. Still seems to go OK at that. Will give it a day or so.....
For reference, the cable was getting 115 down and 2.5 up.
The TV thingy is here, but can't be bothered with it ATM.
I wish I could get it on up here, our copper must have been laid 30 years ago
Dont laugh Noel but thats how the solar installers were going to run the cables back to the switchboard from the inverter at my fathers house. They couldnt see a problem in fixing conduit along the cieling and then drill a hole in the plastered wall behind the switchboard. They got a bit upset when my father called me over and I told them no way.
Haha, not laughing mate, been a Telstra Tech for 27 years and have seen some doozies in my time. We were taught properly and in those days there was no time restrictions on installs so they were done correctly no matter how long they took. I think one of the best was a TV arial straight out a single brick external wall 2 stories up over the eaves to the antenna on the middle of the roof. Not even any fixings, just swinging in the breeze.
In 1987 a Telecom tech turned up to my townhouse to install a phone point from the kitchen to an upstairs bedroom....
3 Level dwelling; concrete slabs with brick walls; carpeted throughout ...
"No worries" -- all he did; (could do?); was to pull the carpet off the floor hooks around the walls - and chase the cable around all the walls in the dinning room adjacent to the kitchen; then down the hallway; up 14 srairs; and around the walls of the bedroom.... Job done....
NBN has been run through town , & run it did . Not stopping to be connected up unless its to wifi but only if your out of town , not in town . l am " in town " only by 500m but that counts :'( :cheers:
It goes OK. No issues....
[img width= height=]http://www.speedtest.net/result/5267474093.png[/img] (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5267474093)
Now you're just showing off :'( :'( :'(
I still hate you :)
BigPond cable had faster download, but the upload and ping are better now.
Don't really notice all that much difference to what we had, but it was forced onto us.....
[img width= height=]http://www.speedtest.net/result/5267474093.png[/img] (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5267474093)
Your download is 30 times quicker than mine. I would not complain :'(