General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Troopy_03 on April 06, 2016, 09:36:04 AM

Title: Truck near miss
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 06, 2016, 09:36:04 AM
Saw this on the news this morning.
https://www.youtube.com/embed/jKQYRen_MIA (https://www.youtube.com/embed/jKQYRen_MIA)

One of those..... "I hope I've got spare undies" moments...
Luckily no one hurt though.
Title: Re: Truck near miss
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2016, 09:44:18 AM
fark!!!!!!
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 06, 2016, 09:57:30 AM
fark!!!!!!

Reckon there would be skid marks all round eh?

and a few on the road too.
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2016, 09:58:14 AM
Reckon there would be skid marks all round eh?

and a few on the road too.
I wanna see the cam from the other truck too!
Post by: oldmate on April 06, 2016, 10:20:49 AM
Yep, there lots of undies to change there
Post by: Snapman007 on April 06, 2016, 10:37:59 AM
Truck drift'n. He did well to put it between the car and the other truck.
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2016, 10:42:58 AM
Truck drift'n. He did well to put it between the car and the other truck.
listening to it I don't think he missed the car!
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 06, 2016, 10:48:39 AM
The report on the news said he hit the car. The young woman must have gone like the clappers, to get out of the way.
I reckon he lifted his foot off the brake just in time, to bring it almost straight again.
Post by: UIZ733 on April 06, 2016, 10:49:51 AM
Like many truckies unfortunately, driving like a loon with no understanding (or interest in) of the dynamics of his vehicle or road conditions. If the car was stopped the other side of the log they were dead. The number of times I have been almost run off the road by idiots like that is scary. They literally do not give a flying phuck about anybody else on the road.
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 06, 2016, 11:02:56 AM
Like many truckies unfortunately, driving like a loon with no understanding (or interest in) of the dynamics of his vehicle or road conditions. If the car was stopped the other side of the log they were dead. The number of times I have been almost run off the road by idiots like that is scary. They literally do not give a flying phuck about anybody else on the road.
I think that's a pretty big call. Most are pretty good at the job they do, and are mostly responsible drivers.
Without actually being there, it's a bit hard to make a judgement call on the situation, due to the way dashcam footage appears when played back. Speed and depth of field can be greatly distorted. Having said that, he does look like he's coming pretty fast.
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2016, 11:04:24 AM
I think that's a pretty big call. Most are pretty good at the job they do, and are mostly responsible drivers.
Without actually being there, it's a bit hard to make a judgement call on the situation, due to the way dashcam footage appears when played back. Speed and depth of field can be greatly distorted. Having said that, he does look like he's coming pretty fast.
agree

how many 100 times hes probably driven that road and never met another car let alone a fallen tree... lets drop the speed limit everywhere to 10
Post by: oldmate on April 06, 2016, 11:09:23 AM

Yep agree.

Post by: Snapman007 on April 06, 2016, 11:17:43 AM

Yeh with the sound up I can def hear him hit something but by the camera angle and the position of the two stationary vehicle I think it might be more of a swipe unless it happened out of the dash cams mic range.

Agree with troopys comment, it looks like he lifts off the brake at the right time to straighten the trailer to avoid a direct impact.
Post by: edz on April 06, 2016, 11:31:06 AM
Skid marks and GPS / dash cam will determin his fate .. Be a big wake up call though either way   .. Her car would have been a write off most likely anyway ..
Post by: raider on April 06, 2016, 11:50:04 AM
She obviously hit it and was letting a few F bombs go and then you can just hear her at the end again. He would have taken her car out pretty good based on the noise and the rough position of the car when the first truck pulled up. She needs to buy a Tatts ticket having survived two incidents.
Post by: Homerj on April 06, 2016, 11:52:06 AM
Like many truckies unfortunately, driving like a loon
I don't think he did anything wrong, in fact I reckon he did a pretty good job.  At the point he took action to avoid them, I would've taken my hands off the wheel and thrown my skirt over my head.  The girl driving the car said she didn't see the log either.  Who drives at 50ks all the time in case there's a log across the road?  Her car was destroyed.
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2016, 12:02:04 PM
Quote from: Homerj
At the point he took action to avoid them, I would've taken my hands off the wheel and thrown my skirt over my head.

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: callmejoe on April 06, 2016, 12:19:11 PM
Yep most  "truckies" are bloody crazy arsed hoons. Crazy, no idea space out steering wheel attendants. Pretty much just school drop outs...
I'm actually surprised they even get given  a license. 
Those hopeless no good truckies, just out to cause havoc.
Just look at the FWY into the major cities ever morning, 100's of truck coming in,  smashing ever think in there path. Just like that movie death races.
Oh did I go on for to long. ?
Have i OVER EXAGGERATED ? AND lost the point. ?
I'm just a high school drop out. Living my dream, driving all over Australia, and getting paid for it. 

Joe..
Post by: alnjan on April 06, 2016, 02:12:35 PM
The only thing wrong from the footage we see, is the first truckie not putting a call over the radio to warn other truckies about the tree.  The second truckie did a bloody fantastic job.  On the brakes as soon as he could, off the brakes to hit the tree to minimise the damage and once over the tree back on the accelerator to try and thread the needle as best he could.  If he had just hit the brakes the whole way through he would have taken everyone out. 
Post by: duggie on April 06, 2016, 02:32:23 PM
The only thing wrong from the footage we see, is the first truckie not putting a call over the radio to warn other truckies about the tree.  The second truckie did a bloody fantastic job.  On the brakes as soon as he could, off the brakes to hit the tree to minimise the damage and once over the tree back on the accelerator to try and thread the needle as best he could.  If he had just hit the brakes the whole way through he would have taken everyone out.

Yes, a fantastic bit of driving and control, not just driver control but emotional control as well . Cab may have smelt a bit for a while though.
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2016, 02:39:22 PM
Im surprised the dude with the camera in his truck didn't say intercourse or similar.
Post by: oldmate on April 06, 2016, 03:53:38 PM
Im surprised the dude with the camera in his truck didn't say intercourse or similar.

at the end he does.  ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 06, 2016, 03:59:28 PM

I think ya out voted by those of us who think he was a bit of a legend.  :cup:
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2016, 04:09:20 PM
Lucky the bacon didn't see it.. they'd have confiscated his truck for 30 days for HOONING....
Post by: jfella on April 06, 2016, 04:15:08 PM
Dont know how you can be critical of the truck driver when the car driver couldn't even stop of the tree - you can hear her say I just came around the corner and went straight over it.

If the truckie could do that again he should give Ken Block's producer a call!
Post by: tracker on April 06, 2016, 04:25:57 PM
Almost Pop corn time ..... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Champin on April 06, 2016, 05:18:37 PM
Dont know how you can be critical of the truck driver when the car driver couldn't even stop of the tree - you can hear her say I just came around the corner and went straight over it.

If the truckie could do that again he should give Ken Block's producer a call!
Can see that. Looks like she left a bit a sump behind. Unless they're poo stains.
Post by: GUEY on April 06, 2016, 05:26:34 PM
If you look at the road before the truck comes down, there are some good skids marks there already.
I reckon she had a pretty wild ride in her own car before the truck came.
That lady needs to buy a lotto ticket!!!
And top job from the truck!
Post by: Coolblue80 on April 06, 2016, 05:31:33 PM
I drive for a living and resent pretty much everything you say. That driver deserves a medal. That situation could have ended a few different ways and most of them not good.
I also agree with one of the previous comments that if the car couldn't stop in time what chance did the truck have.
Next time you want to bag a truckie, think of how just about everything you buy, use and consume came from.  99% of the time it was transported by trucks.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: briann532 on April 06, 2016, 06:36:51 PM
Sorry guys, I've been a bit slow.

Didn't realise we had moved on from drones to truck drivers........

Fair go. He didn't kill anyone, and I can say without any doubt, he would have done his best in the situation that was thrown very rapidly upon him.
I'd even go as far as to say the fallen tree was actually the problem.

Who would have thought hey?

Righto then, who's starting the "ban the tree's" thread.
They're dangerous you know. Cause all sorts of havoc in bush fires too... Just get rid of them. Worse than P-platers. Full of stoned Koalas' and drop leaves everywhere!!!.

;)
Post by: DarWen on April 06, 2016, 06:42:33 PM

Like most car drivers you have no idea What it takes to control a truck around the thousands of idiots in cars. I Had to do 2 practical driving tests to be able to drive my truck, as well as driver training on the dynamics of trucks. next time you're driving to work have a look around at how many car drivers are just staring straight ahead not checking their mirrors, texting, holding their phones, having breakfast, reading reports. just some of the things I have the advantage of seeing siting up so high.
Post by: Brij on April 06, 2016, 10:46:54 PM

After almost 10 years working with trucks, half the time giving them tickets and the other half escorting them when they were oversize, I know who I would prefer to share the road with!

I can only recall a handfull of instances when I came across a truck drivers not paying attention. Usually when they were on the phone.

Car drivers not paying attention? Every damn day!! ??? Usually a case of only looking 2 metres in front of them. .........and phones, and texting, ............

But you generally don't notice the cars because they aren't big and scary. 

Peter H

Post by: achjimmy on April 07, 2016, 08:21:44 AM
Yep brilliant by the truckie IMO. Don't know the speed limit there is the only thing but what do you do lots country roads are blind like that ?  I'd say the buzz box was written of by the log before the truck finished the job.

As above if anything the first truckie should of got on the UHF he obviously knew the guy?  But he didn't have long and the shiela was his first concern. Hindsights a great thing hey??? 

I find  most truckies are courteous and well behaved and even more so when Iam towing and if you show some respect too. Yep few ratbags 1-2% , unlike car drivers who are 30% ratbags and 40% have NFI.
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 07, 2016, 09:27:48 AM
just some of the things I have the advantage of seeing siting up so high.
Not too bad sitting up higher in a 4WD at times either.  ;D
Post by: Snapman007 on April 07, 2016, 09:53:46 AM
Is there any dash footage from the second truck anywhere?
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on April 07, 2016, 09:55:12 AM
Unless they're poo stains.

They are, the car Shit itself too
Post by: austastar on April 07, 2016, 10:02:37 AM
   So what can we learn from this?

A tree across a road - yawn!

A tree across a road at the bottom of a hill - hope nothing is coming?

A tree across the road where sight lines are shorter than braking distances and at the bottom of a hill?

In hind sight, my guess at the best move would be to reverse away from the log on the right hand side of the road as far as practical to avoid what happened and avoid getting rear ended. Then hit the radio as soon as you are out of the danger zone.

Scarry stuff!

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2016, 10:09:57 AM
Quote from: Brij
I know who I would prefer to share the road with!
Me too...
I used to regularly travel interstate at night so I wouldn't have to put up with car drivers that drive 5klms a day to work, and this was their 1ce a year "Trip" and think they can instantly drive from Brisbane to Melbourne in 1 go. But this is back when I used to drive trailers myself.