General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on March 23, 2016, 11:04:19 AM

Title: 4x4 equip Combo shovel - Price is in -> Group Buy
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2016, 11:04:19 AM
Pricing and ordering information are here: (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=47559.msg817709#msg817709)

(http://www.exploroz.com/shop/images/items/2710_1_0__TN1000x800.jpg)

Names:
Victorians:
Bird x 1 Pickup at Regional.
Feisty - 2x Premium - Pickup/Bruce.
Feisty - 1x Standard - Pickup/Bruce.
Fuji - Premium (he always takes the best) Knockwood.
Clarky - Pickup at Knockwood
SJI - Premium - Pickup at Regional
Staghorn - Premium - Pickup at Regional.
BrickyMatt - Standard one - Pickup by Staghorn.
Alan Loy - Std - pickup from Bruce at work.

Qld
Basecamp - Premium - Pickup Qld.
Cyclone71 - Premium - Pickup Qld.
Plusnq - Premium - Pickup Qld.
VAGRANT- Premium - Pickup Qld.

Waiting on them to tell us what they want and where to pickup..  :)
BigJules -
TopCat -
Title: Re: Mean Mother Multi Shovel or other Shovels
Post by: Spada on March 23, 2016, 11:39:31 AM
I've been using one of these for a few years without any drama.........

http://bushranger.com.au/diggar-3_piece_shovel.php (http://bushranger.com.au/diggar-3_piece_shovel.php)
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2016, 11:40:50 AM
I've been using one of these for a few years without any drama.........

http://bushranger.com.au/diggar-3_piece_shovel.php (http://bushranger.com.au/diggar-3_piece_shovel.php)
Bingo.. Just found that one then!
How does it join up? Is it fibreglass handle?
Post by: Spada on March 23, 2016, 11:45:50 AM
fibreglass handle (all the yellow bits) with a steel/alloy threaded joint thats looks to go about 4" into the fibreglass either side of the joint.

If you realy lean on it, it does flex a little, but for normal camping & 4wheel driving I dont believe it's ever come close to failing. I've dug a lot of dunny holes with it.

I'm sure you could break it if you tried hard enough though.
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2016, 11:49:45 AM
http://www.4x4equip.com.au/showProduct/2.+4x4+Accessories/Off+Road+Shovels/IDH-2-1/Combo+Shovel+-+Ultimate+(3+Piece+Shovel)...............Special+Price+ (http://www.4x4equip.com.au/showProduct/2.+4x4+Accessories/Off+Road+Shovels/IDH-2-1/Combo+Shovel+-+Ultimate+(3+Piece+Shovel)...............Special+Price+)!!
Our Price: $99.95 AUD inc GST
(http://www.exploroz.com/shop/images/items/2710_1_0__TN1000x800.jpg)

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4MAN-COMPACT-2-PIECE-RECOVERY-SHOVEL-TOOL-4WD-4X4-CAMPING-OUTDOOR-SPADE-OFF-ROAD-/401036101221 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4MAN-COMPACT-2-PIECE-RECOVERY-SHOVEL-TOOL-4WD-4X4-CAMPING-OUTDOOR-SPADE-OFF-ROAD-/401036101221)
$69
(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTE5NFgxNjAw/z/XTEAAOSwu4BVyS0x/$_57.JPG)

http://www.ironman4x4.com/products/camping-accessories/camping/3-piece-shovel-inc-carry-bag (http://www.ironman4x4.com/products/camping-accessories/camping/3-piece-shovel-inc-carry-bag)
$129
(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/WcH-qX-LBCw/maxresdefault.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 23, 2016, 11:56:02 AM
I have the 4x4 equip, it flexes a bit but still digs the thunderbox hole when needed

Post by: Swannie on March 23, 2016, 11:56:36 AM
4x4 equip is the best
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 23, 2016, 12:04:06 PM
I spent $26.00 at home Hardware in Mansfield.
Walked out with a wooden handled shovel/spade. And the receipt.
It fitted across the back of the cruiser just behind the rear seats.
It now lives in the front pole section of my Tvan. 
Sarah made a cover for the blade so it doesn't get ash mud and dirt over everything. 
(Tim's Sarah at Stratford.)  Sarah does nice work.
Post by: D4D on March 23, 2016, 05:34:08 PM
4x4 equip is the best

x2 and the original...
Post by: Mongoose on March 23, 2016, 07:25:37 PM
Of course, you could opt for the shovel of all shovels...Spear & Jackson No. 3 with reinforced brass handle. ;D

Don't take my word for it - see for yourself at about 19:15...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=y9RgoFBsrJ4
Post by: jwb on March 23, 2016, 07:31:12 PM
Of course, you could opt for the shovel of all shovels...Spear & Jackson No. 3 with reinforced brass handle. ;D

HUH???
Post by: GeoffA on March 23, 2016, 07:34:59 PM

:cup: :cup:
Post by: achjimmy on March 24, 2016, 08:27:00 AM
I got the bushranger one. Couldn't see much diffence TBH. It's solid enough to dig you out of anything your likley to get bogged in. As for digging in really hard dirt I don't know.
Post by: BigJules on March 24, 2016, 11:08:02 AM
I really like the 4x4Equip unit, with the other attachments like axe head, maddock etc, but sheeez that's a lot of cash for a shovel.
Post by: D4D on March 24, 2016, 11:46:45 AM
The other consideration with the 4x4Equip shovel is that it is guaranteed to have the handle and blade in alignment when you screw it together.
Post by: Hoyks on March 24, 2016, 01:42:48 PM
Whit' brass handle??

Mongoose, you are a boring little tit!
Post by: feisty on March 24, 2016, 04:38:03 PM
Post by: feisty on March 24, 2016, 04:40:01 PM

Great that we have another fan or two here. Just about know every word to every episode. Such a shame they didn't make more.....
Favorite line: will sir be requiring the naughty books tonight?

Better add something about shovels.... that 4x4 equip looks pretty good. Might have to get one myself.
Post by: Bird on March 24, 2016, 05:49:00 PM
Quote from: feisty
Great that we have another fan or two here. Just about know every word to every episode. Such a shame they didn't make more.....
Favorite line: will sir be requiring the naughty books tonight?

Better add something about shovels.... that 4x4 equip looks pretty good. Might have to get one myself.

Might see if I can arrange a bulk buy on a brand or 2...
Post by: brickiematt on March 24, 2016, 06:56:56 PM

I'd be interested.
Post by: feisty on April 09, 2016, 08:37:46 AM
Hiya bird. Wondering if you are still looking into this?
Post by: Bird on April 09, 2016, 10:36:39 AM
Hiya bird. Wondering if you are still looking into this?
I'll make some calls to the bloke standing next to me.
Post by: staghornflat on April 09, 2016, 12:50:59 PM
Good on you Evo!!
Post by: feisty on April 09, 2016, 07:07:15 PM
Did he answer the phone or did he pretend he was busy......
Post by: Bird on April 09, 2016, 07:25:50 PM
:-[
Post by: evolution on April 09, 2016, 08:30:37 PM

He forgot to call. If either of us remembers I'll check the pricing and availability in the morning

Nick
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on April 11, 2016, 10:35:55 AM

Aah precipitation, helps with moistening the ground for shovel work.
Post by: evolution on April 12, 2016, 12:38:02 PM
If anyone is interested in a possible group buy of the 4x4 equip Combo shovel either in ultimate or standard I have put it to my rep and just awaiting a reply on pricing.

Nick
Post by: Cyclone71 on April 12, 2016, 12:40:04 PM
Count me in please Nick could really do with one on the Modcon FF1

Post by: Bird on April 12, 2016, 12:55:51 PM
If anyone is interested in a possible group buy of the 4x4 equip Combo shovel either in ultimate or standard I have put it to my rep and just awaiting a reply on pricing.

Nick
sounds good
Post by: wakychapmans on April 12, 2016, 02:37:19 PM

so hang on... which was the one that had interchangeable ends for shovel, axe and mattock?

Post by: plusnq on April 12, 2016, 03:16:22 PM
I'm interested
Post by: tryagain on April 12, 2016, 03:50:27 PM
Always thought this was an interesting idea, probably about 4 x what I would pay for it though.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUYzLNHYIjE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUYzLNHYIjE)
Post by: feisty on April 14, 2016, 10:13:02 PM
Interested too Nick.
Post by: Bird on April 15, 2016, 09:01:56 AM
Quote from: evolution

Once Sir Nick have a price, you'll pay up for it.

Names:
Cyclone71
Plusnq
Feisty
Post by: evolution on April 15, 2016, 11:40:34 AM
Once Sir Nick have a price, you'll pay up for it.

Names:
Cyclone71
Plusnq
Feisty

Hopefully will have an answer by the end of the day. Im assuming I'll need a min order of 10.
We can absorb probably 3 at the shop, but that leaves 7 that will need to be pre ordered if everyone is happy with the price.

Nick
Post by: Bird on April 15, 2016, 11:42:27 AM
Hopefully will have an answer by the end of the day. Im assuming I'll need a min order of 10.
We can absorb probably 3 at the shop, but that leaves 7 that will need to be pre ordered if everyone is happy with the price.
Sounds fair.
Title: Re: 4x4 equip Combo shovel - Possible Group Buy
Post by: Swannie on April 15, 2016, 12:39:41 PM
I got my 4x4 equip from anaconda $80
Post by: BaseCamp on April 15, 2016, 01:19:43 PM
I'm interested,
BaseCamp

Post by: topcat on April 15, 2016, 07:59:47 PM
I'm in - thanks!
TC
Post by: fuji on April 15, 2016, 08:07:40 PM
Yep, tradie,style please
Post by: evolution on April 15, 2016, 10:40:08 PM
So question is,
Standard or ultimate shovel pack?

Nick
Post by: BaseCamp on April 15, 2016, 11:51:33 PM
I got my 4x4 equip from anaconda $80
That's a cheap price..   It was still original kit, yes?

Just wondering -- being 20% cheaper than the deal???

Your $80 buy is for the combo shovel?

Post by: plusnq on April 16, 2016, 04:46:51 AM
So question is,
Standard or ultimate shovel pack?

Nick

Is there a difference ?
http://www.4x4equip.com.au/listProduct/2.+4x4+Accessories/Off+Road+Shovels (http://www.4x4equip.com.au/listProduct/2.+4x4+Accessories/Off+Road+Shovels)
Post by: GeoffA on April 16, 2016, 05:58:07 AM
Is there a difference ?

The Ultimate digs the hole for you.... :P
Post by: plusnq on April 16, 2016, 06:10:15 AM

Thats the one I want then!  :cup:
Post by: Cyclone71 on April 16, 2016, 06:37:37 AM

Sounds good to me
Post by: Swannie on April 16, 2016, 07:12:08 AM
That's a cheap price..   It was still original kit, yes?

Just wondering -- being 20% cheaper than the deal???

Your $80 buy is for the combo shovel?

Yep they had a sale and it is the genuine combo ultimate shovel in the red bag. They come up on eBay regularly as well. Got a new one in the bag that GeoffA grabbed for me for $50 off eBay not long ago I actually gave that one to hutchie62

Starsky
Post by: BigJules on April 16, 2016, 07:49:51 AM
I'm sure my mate will want one

Post by: speewa158 on April 16, 2016, 08:14:14 AM
This is the death knell of the PDFP ,,, :'(                           :cheers:
Post by: KingBilly on April 16, 2016, 08:33:01 AM
Is there a difference ?
http://www.4x4equip.com.au/listProduct/2.+4x4+Accessories/Off+Road+Shovels (http://www.4x4equip.com.au/listProduct/2.+4x4+Accessories/Off+Road+Shovels)

Ultimate has stainless steel joiners

Post by: tryagain on April 16, 2016, 02:36:05 PM
Tossing up between one of these or a shovel and shovel holder (Roof rack or spare wheel) and weighing up the pro's and cons.

4x4Equip Pro'sCons
Standard shovel and mount Pro'sCon's
Obviously different pro's/con's would be more or less relevant depending on the personal situation but am I missing anything major?
Post by: clarky on April 16, 2016, 07:26:59 PM
Hi guys,

Please add me to the list. Cheers Clarky.
Post by: jr on April 16, 2016, 07:53:20 PM
Im keen but still lost as to which kit and how much?
Post by: Bird on April 16, 2016, 08:00:13 PM
I'll update the list after watchin me team getting flogged
Post by: evolution on April 16, 2016, 08:25:26 PM
Im keen but still lost as to which kit and how much?

I still haven't had a price given to me as yet.
I did get an email letting me know I should have an answer Monday though.
I'm guessing it will be cheap though as my rep is seeing what the best deal he can do is :)

Nick
Post by: Bird on April 16, 2016, 10:14:59 PM
Lets see what the connection comes back with on Monday in price and model
Post by: BaseCamp on April 18, 2016, 03:57:00 PM
I still haven't had a price given to me as yet.
I did get an email letting me know I should have an answer Monday though.
I'm guessing it will be cheap though as my rep is seeing what the best deal he can do is :)
Nick

Thanks Nick - see if you can give him a tickle about the other prices mentioned in the posts above...  ($80   or    ...$50-LOL; I know what the answer will be to that one already..)...  ???
Post by: Bad Scott on April 18, 2016, 08:39:44 PM
put us down for one. Will pick up from evo on my way back home.
Post by: feisty on April 18, 2016, 10:50:48 PM
put us down for one. Will pick up from evo on my way back home.
At this rate you might be picking up 10.......
Gotta be worth at least a beer each for you!
Post by: Bad Scott on April 19, 2016, 05:25:11 AM
At this rate you might be picking up 10.......
Gotta be worth at least a beer each for you!
Swagmail time :D
Post by: plusnq on April 20, 2016, 04:26:28 AM
Did we get any feedback from the rep regarding price yet?
Post by: Alan Loy on April 20, 2016, 04:45:30 AM
I'm interested
Post by: Rumpig on April 20, 2016, 06:47:56 AM
Tossing up between one of these or a shovel and shovel holder (Roof rack or spare wheel) and weighing up the pro's and cons.

4x4Equip Pro's
  • Easy to stow
  • Can leave it in the vehicle/camper and would always be ready to go
  • Handle options
Cons
  • Takes up storage space
  • Could get a bit messy storing it after use in mud
  • Requires assembly each time.

Standard shovel and mount Pro's
  • Doesnt take existing storage space
  • Easier to store muddy
  • Could use existing shovel
Con's
  • Would have to pack it before each trip (or leave it attached and have it weather
  • Roof rack mount would add some wind resistance
  • Need rear mounted spare or roof racks

Obviously different pro's/con's would be more or less relevant depending on the personal situation but am I missing anything major?
be aware that if you mount the shovel on your roof rack it will rust when it rains, it then drips that rust stain on your vehicle. I have my shovel mounted this way, and have gotten Ssrah to make me a cover for my shovel to help prevent this from occurring, but it won't completely stop it from happening
Post by: Bird on April 20, 2016, 10:18:25 AM
Quote from: plusnq
Did we get any feedback from the rep regarding price yet?

He's a bit preoccupied with blown up ZD30's at the moment :(
2 cars in a month :(
Post by: evolution on April 20, 2016, 11:39:59 AM
He's a bit preoccupied with blown up ZD30's at the moment :(
2 cars in a month :(

Haha 😂 yeah, but I did pm you pricing ;)
Post by: Bird on April 20, 2016, 12:03:54 PM
... but I did pm you pricing ;)

**** so you did... missed it during the PM Wars..
Post by: Bird on April 20, 2016, 12:25:55 PM
Pricing is in (I missed it yesterday.. Suffering from OVD).

Pickup is free from Regional Campers in Albury, or from me at Langwarrin, Blackburn or Knockwood.

Prices:
Premium... Which is on sale through 4x4equip for $99.95 normal retail of $129.95
Our Price = $85  8)

Standard which is still a good shovel. Has retail of $99.95
Our Price = $65  8)

If we can get 50 orders it goes down again ;D

So the way it will work is PM Nick (Evolution) for Bank info.. Once they are all paid for Nick will order stock.
This way he isn't stuck with 10-20 shovels and $1000+ out of his rocket.

When I pickup my work of art from Nick, I'll pickup the ones for Melbourne and arrange delivery to everyone (Inc Knockwood).

Anyone who cannot pickup, can work out Swagmail - or pay shipping, so think about it first.
Post by: clarky on April 20, 2016, 12:32:05 PM
Hi guys.

I'm good for a premium please and can pick up at Kockwood. If you can pm me the bank details I will arrange a transfer.

Cheers, Clarky.
Title: Re: 4x4 equip Combo shovel - Price is in -> Group Buy
Post by: Cyclone71 on April 20, 2016, 02:14:57 PM
Hi Boys

I will have a premium please will probably just pay shipping unless a swag mail is coming to Brisbane soon.
Nick will PM you for bank details and get the process underway
Cheers for organizing this guys excellent stuff.

Cyclone71

Post by: Cyclone71 on April 20, 2016, 02:16:39 PM
Maybe if there are a few coming to Brisbane area we can organize bulk shipping (cheaper??) and swagmail from there

Cyclone71

Post by: plusnq on April 20, 2016, 02:24:05 PM
I'll have a premium as well thanks.

Maybe if there are a few coming to Brisbane area we can organize bulk shipping (cheaper??) and swagmail from there

Cyclone71

I am happy to be a pick up location in Brisbane if needed. I am at WOOLOOWIN in the inner north.
Post by: BaseCamp on April 20, 2016, 02:54:21 PM
I'll have a premium as well thanks.

I am happy to be a pick up location in Brisbane if needed. I am at WOOLOOWIN in the inner north.

x 2  -- this would work for me too...
Post by: tryagain on April 20, 2016, 04:28:06 PM
be aware that if you mount the shovel on your roof rack it will rust when it rains, it then drips that rust stain on your vehicle. I have my shovel mounted this way, and have gotten Ssrah to make me a cover for my shovel to help prevent this from occurring, but it won't completely stop it from happening
Was this mounted like this long term or even after a short time? my trips in the foreseeable future will be a few weeks at most and would store it away between times.
Post by: feisty on April 20, 2016, 05:28:46 PM
Haha ???? yeah, but I did pm you pricing ;)
I feel for you mate. Time to put a tow bar on the bike I reckon.

Will pm you for bank details.

The premium one for me

Great work by you and Bird
Post by: staghornflat on April 20, 2016, 05:36:59 PM
Put me down for a premium and I will pickup( maybe brickiematt's as well)
Post by: Rumpig on April 20, 2016, 06:09:40 PM
Was this mounted like this long term or even after a short time? my trips in the foreseeable future will be a few weeks at most and would store it away between times.
my shovel sits on the roof rack long term as I use it for work also. In saying that, use your shovel in a fire to remove coals for a camp oven etc, and it'll burn the paint off it in a hurry...get it wet from rain after that and it'll rust pretty fast.
Post by: evolution on April 20, 2016, 06:23:26 PM
I feel for you mate. Time to put a tow bar on the bike I reckon.

Will pm you for bank details.

The premium one for me

Great work by you and Bird

haha all good.
$$$ = :( new turbo
New Turbo = :)
except $$$ still = :(

Post by: Bird on April 20, 2016, 07:01:25 PM
All credit to Nick... I just asked.. :)

Page 1 updated.
Post by: evolution on April 20, 2016, 07:19:49 PM
I'll put up details etc once I work out the best way to do it. Should be in the next day or so.
As far as postage to brisbane, I'll see what I can work out with it.
Once I have set numbers and locations I can sort of make a plan with how best to get it to you.
No point paying this and then get stung with a large freight charge to cart x amount of shovels north lol.

If everyone can confirm on this thread, and then also add where you plan on picking it up or freighted to then I can sort of work it out from there.

Nick
Post by: Bad Scott on April 20, 2016, 07:28:25 PM
Premium for me please. Will pickup on way back. Bank details please
Post by: Bird on April 20, 2016, 07:30:22 PM
Updating first post as we go.
Post by: Cyclone71 on April 20, 2016, 08:22:04 PM
Looks like a plan is starting to come together
I am happy to work in with Plusnq,Basecamp and anyone else in Brissy I am at Tarragindi so easy pick up for me.
Maybe Brissy Shovels could be shipped direct to cut down on double handling etc.

Cheers Cyclone71
Post by: feisty on April 20, 2016, 08:55:28 PM
Now 2 premiums please bird.
Put the call out to a few mates to see if we can make 50.....
 Will pick up from you of that's ok.
Can't make knock wood
: (
Post by: brickiematt on April 20, 2016, 08:56:32 PM
Standard one for me thanks Nick. Will take up staghornflat's offer :D

Put me down for a premium and I will pickup( maybe brickymatt's as well)

Cheers mate, good excuse to catch up!
Post by: staghornflat on April 20, 2016, 08:58:48 PM
Standard one for me thanks Nick. Will take up staghornflat's offer :D

Cheers mate, good excuse to catch up!
👍👍
Post by: topcat on April 20, 2016, 09:29:38 PM
Firstly, thanks Nick and Mr B for arranging.

I'll take a Premium shovel - I'll pm you for bank details Nick.

Mr B - not sure if I can make Knockwood for the weekend due to kids sport but can pick up at either Langwarrin or Blackburn if you're ok with that.

Thanks,
TC
Post by: feisty on April 20, 2016, 10:57:57 PM
OK bird I now sit at 2 ultimates and 1 standard povvo version.

Cheers!
Post by: VAGRANT on April 21, 2016, 06:21:56 AM
Could I please be included in the Premium list to Brisbane.
If needed I could be a daytime pickup point at Milton near XXXX
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on April 21, 2016, 06:53:53 AM
I'm really digging this thread ...
Post by: Alan Loy on April 21, 2016, 07:51:29 AM
A standard one for me.  Pick up in Blackburn or Knockwood
Post by: evolution on April 26, 2016, 08:40:44 PM
Hi guys,
Sorry for the delay. Work is pretty hectic at the moment. I will try and respond to everyone's pm once I have the order details set in stone.
I've been looking into freight for Queensland etc, but I can't see it working out any cheaper than buying locally.
This is due to the weight and the fact it would need to be on a pallet.

Once this week and the start of next week is over (albury caravan camping show)
I should be able to get everything sorted.
Once again I apologise about the delay.

Nick
Post by: Bird on May 11, 2016, 12:38:03 PM
Any nooz?
Post by: staghornflat on May 13, 2016, 04:41:58 PM
Keen to get them before QB weekend if possible?
Post by: evolution on May 13, 2016, 06:08:41 PM
Ok so here is what I need to do the order.
Bird, can you please collect everyone who has asked for one and let me know the total number and of what kind?
The other point I want to make is that for anyone who needs it posted, it will be cheaper to purchase from a shop up where you are.
The freight on these are shocking due to size and mass of them.
I can possibly orgainise some as far as sydney via swagmail, but anything else would need to be arranged elsewhere.
Courier prices I was getting for these would make you cry. Sorry guys.

Nick
Post by: tourer77 on May 13, 2016, 06:18:58 PM
Put me down for a premium, I can pickup in Albury, cheers  ;D
Post by: Cyclone71 on May 13, 2016, 07:12:21 PM
Thanks Nick and Bird
Great job sorting this shame about the delivery prices guess you should count me out.
Maybe the QLD guys can get together and find a supplier up here and organize our own group buy anyone keen?
Thanks again guys
Cyclone71

Post by: plusnq on May 13, 2016, 08:41:49 PM
Thanks for trying Nick. Pity about the freight cost. It seems like I am out as well.

Shane
Post by: topcat on May 13, 2016, 10:24:24 PM
Thanks Nick / Mr B - I'm in for a premium.
Tony
Post by: staghornflat on May 20, 2016, 10:37:10 AM
How's the progress Bird/Evo?
Post by: fuji on May 22, 2016, 06:43:24 PM
I'm out, I'll buy one from Bunnins and cut the handle 6 inches. 😁
Post by: BaseCamp on May 22, 2016, 10:23:59 PM
Thanks Nick for giving it a red hot go.....   but as another Qlder....    I'm unfortunately  out....