General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Banjo16 on March 12, 2016, 06:54:25 PM

Title: House Painting
Post by: Banjo16 on March 12, 2016, 06:54:25 PM
After having the interior arches in our home  removed the planned interior painting was brought forward to now.

We both thought that seeing it was close to 20 years since we last painted why not get a pro as the knees etc are not what they used to be, we're talking 3br,lounge,dining,family etc. No bathrooms as there maybe a future reno there.
After getting quotes ($6600) it was a no brainer that the knees etc were not as bad as first thought.

We have done the Lounge,Dining,Family etc & have spent approx $400 on paint,looks amazing & can't wait to finish.

Title: Re: House Painting
Post by: Coolblue80 on March 12, 2016, 07:11:36 PM
Even if the quote was $66,000 I'd pay it. I hate painting. Just typing a reply about painting gives me the heeby jeebies.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: Moggy on March 12, 2016, 07:30:32 PM
And dont forget painters with trade accounts (dulux, wattyl etc) can get up to 60% discount on paint.
That makes it a ripoff trade imo,  but walls & ceilings are easy its the archs & trims in gloss that are a pita

Post by: ATC on March 12, 2016, 07:33:39 PM
We spend nearly 400 on sample pots of paint.
Well I didnt, but someone next to me did.

Then we paid a "professional" painter, not worth it.
2,000 for just the interior, i flew my mother down part way through to project manager them so they wouldnt leave after we went to work.

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

Post by: jmorgan1981 on March 12, 2016, 07:34:46 PM
It is all s#+t if you ask me. I did a heap of renos on my place the worst bit by far was the painting.

I paid someone cash to do the last bits.
Post by: McGirr on March 12, 2016, 08:25:59 PM

I am the opposite, I enjoy painting. The cutting in , skirting boards etc.

The end result makes it worth it.

Post by: Snapman007 on March 12, 2016, 09:02:38 PM
I found a hooker that said she would do anything for $900.
Post by: Bill on March 12, 2016, 09:53:27 PM
I don't paint.
SWMBO loves to paint so does it all.
Post by: speewa158 on March 13, 2016, 05:20:39 AM
Nothing better than ripping the lid off 20 L of paint tub,,, Let the fun Begin  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: terravista on March 13, 2016, 12:25:07 PM
In many cases the labour factor is high due to the preparation work prior to the actual painting. A tradie could easily underquote the prep time, and the owner not want to pay because the finish was not spectacular.
That said, they are likely to overprice the prep and rip owners off.
Post by: Nomad on March 13, 2016, 06:26:32 PM
I just had an internal single coat done to down stairs.....about 160 sqm. and about half of upstairs done say about 120 sqm. no ceiling work was needed. Outside was done in a single coat. Whole lot plus 35sqm of decks stripped and re stained was $7500. Better to pay by the hour......and make the f^ckers work.
Post by: Bird on March 13, 2016, 07:07:53 PM
Even if the quote was $66,000 I'd pay it. I hate painting. Just typing a reply about painting gives me the heeby jeebies.
Post by: Beachman on March 13, 2016, 07:22:26 PM
Painting is easy, the preparation is the hard bit.  Maybe I’m a tight ar$e, but I couldn’t pay someone $6000+ plus paint inside of my house when I know I could do it myself for $1000 in martials. So jobs like plastering. tiling & bricklaying I have no problem paying because some trades are an art, but painting isn’t one of them.
Post by: Nomad on March 13, 2016, 07:40:11 PM
Painting is easy, the preparation is the hard bit.  Maybe I’m a tight ar$e, but I couldn’t pay someone $6000+ plus paint inside of my house when I know I could do it myself for $1000 in martials. So jobs like plastering. tiling & bricklaying I have no problem paying because some trades are an art, but painting isn’t one of them.

Not for me painting is hard. By the time I **** up and drop a can of paint somewhere, clean it up, use e wrong colour, fall of a ladder  etc $7.5k was cheap. I couldn't paint a wall white and make it look good if I tried to do it 100 times.
Post by: Bird on March 13, 2016, 07:45:16 PM
Quote from: Nomad
I couldn't paint a wall white and make it look good if I tried to do it 100 times. :cheers:
Im glad its not just me.
Post by: Titfish on March 13, 2016, 08:06:35 PM
I just finished painting the inside of our place.. Never again. The only positive was that I could do it before the new carpet went in so I didn't have to worry so much about spillage. Just the same I did suggest to somebody at one stage that each tin should come with a complimentary joint taped to the lid to help take the edge off. Hated every minute of it.

Ken
Post by: Bird on March 13, 2016, 08:21:41 PM
I don't paint.
SWMBO loves to paint so does it all.
Can she come and do my ceilings... I just replaced the downlights with LED's... got a few holes to patch and paint.
Post by: Moggy on March 13, 2016, 08:39:52 PM

that each tin should come with a complimentary joint taped to the lid to help take the edge off.

Ken

I'll buy paint where you get it but 1 wont be enough

Post by: Jacko on March 13, 2016, 10:05:32 PM
I just finished painting the inside of our place.. Never again. The only positive was that I could do it before the new carpet went in so I didn't have to worry so much about spillage. Just the same I did suggest to somebody at one stage that each tin should come with a complimentary joint taped to the lid to help take the edge off. Hated every minute of it.

Ken
Just did the same thing, bought a new house that needed some work, ripped up floating floors in bedrooms and had to fit arcs and skirts to entire house and paint every thing before carpet went in and we could move. Extremely painful but the $ savings were just to great to pass up
Post by: McGirr on March 13, 2016, 11:39:49 PM
Cheers, Mike.

Give me a call when you need that painting job done mate. Will even throw in some original dot paintings for you worth $70,000  :cheers:

Post by: oldmate on March 14, 2016, 05:26:47 AM
Give me a call when you need that painting job done mate. Will even throw in some original dot paintings for you worth $70,000  :cheers:

You will even be able to pick it up direct from our supplier out west soon too.
Post by: Rodt on March 14, 2016, 05:33:36 AM
Same as some others we bought a new house and were going to replace the floor coverings and the ceiling lights and build in the garage etc so while the reno works were happening we got in and repainted the whole inside over a couple of weekends. Weren't that worried about spills as we were replacing the carpets but still had to put sheets down in the tiled areas. The actual prep (washing, patching etc) wasn't too bad but doing all the trims I found time consuming as I just wanted it finished.

No matter what I do I can't get doors to look like a professional has done them so they are still the same colour as per previous (nearly 2 years later). Will get a tradie to come in and do them I reckon

Rod 
Post by: tk421 on March 14, 2016, 07:39:03 AM
I hate doing the trims, the rest I'm not too bad at. The big thing I find is the professional painters get it done in half the time I can, even though my finish isn't too bad.
Post by: Troopy_03 on March 14, 2016, 07:43:01 AM
Here's one way to do it...
https://youtu.be/T9MAmWnOznI (https://youtu.be/T9MAmWnOznI)
Post by: MarkVS on March 14, 2016, 07:48:18 AM
Nothing better than ripping the lid off 20 L of paint tub,,, Let the fun Begin  :cup: :cheers:

Speewa,
I'll pay for your airfaires up and any beer you drink after your finished.....Sound fair ???   :cheers:

MarkVS
Post by: GeoffA on March 14, 2016, 07:50:37 AM
Speewa,
I'll pay for your airfaires up and any beer you drink after your finished.....Sound fair ???   :cheers:

MarkVS

Sounds expensive..... :o :o :P :P
Post by: GBC on March 14, 2016, 07:53:38 AM
As a builder I'd just like to say gday and send some love to any professional painters who happen to be unfortunate enough to go camping and read this tripe.
If a weekender can get a finish as good as a pro then they've employed a weekender.
Post by: MarkVS on March 14, 2016, 07:58:41 AM
Sounds expensive..... :o :o :P :P

It was only beer after he's finished...not while he's working as well...I'm not willing to spend THAT much....

MarkVS
Post by: GeoffA on March 14, 2016, 08:16:39 AM
It was only beer after he's finished...not while he's working as well...I'm not willing to spend THAT much....

MarkVS

That'll get the job done faster, but will just make him thirstier.....he'd attack it like the Tassie Devil..... :P
Post by: Goose on March 14, 2016, 09:25:20 AM
Small weekend painting jobs are fine for DIY, but when you're talking about doing the whole house in 2 coats, plus prep work, plus cleanup, you need to remember what its costing you to take time off work to paint... you are effectively paying your own labor by not working or taking annual leave.

Only other advice i'd throw in is if you hire a pro and plan on leaving any furniture or items in your house whilst the paint, wrap it up yourself.
Post by: Rodt on March 14, 2016, 02:50:57 PM
Has anyone got any views on the Paint Runner Pro that James Cheney has been trying to flog off on TV? While the salesmanship tactics annoy the crap out of me the idea sounds like it may have some merit as having to stop and recharge the roller and then start again on ceilings is a PITA.

Any good brands out there or is it all a con?

Rod