General => General Discussion => Topic started by: jetcrew on March 07, 2016, 03:11:43 PM

Title: A painfull arvo on sat
Post by: jetcrew on March 07, 2016, 03:11:43 PM
 Well it had to happen eventually I had a decent "off" on the dirt bike

50-60kph over a berm 3rd gear flat landed text book on rear wheel except in a big rut that angled off on a 45 degree angle.

Hit hard on right shoulder and head ..knocked myself out .came too with my mate at my side  :D

Realised pretty quick my shoulder was not good ..self assessment and then the realisation my shoulder was a bit deformed ... Tried to rotate it around but threw up so got my mate to do it and it popped or sort of slid back in which gave some instant relief..

Next issue ....we are 20 odd Klm from the cars .... A few minutes passed and I felt a little more under control .. Discussed options and a helicopter would be only option in the Terran we were in .. But there is no way I was going to let anyone make that call ..it was not life threatening and I know what they cost to run.

So I got on my bike very gingerly and the boys map out the easiest way back sticking to fire trails and dirt roads . 40 mins later with very watery eyes and ground down teeth I make it back to car .

Then off to emergency .. End result I just came home from hospital outpatients .
2 cracks , one in top of arm bone and one in the socket where the arm drove  into the socket
Grade 1-2 AC joint tears in 2 of the ligaments and torn a few muscle strands off the rear and front.

End result is 4 weeks laid up with a review then see how much longer after that...

Funny though my ears are hurting the most .... ;D ;D ;D well that was pretty stupid she keeps saying and now I can't drive for a month either ..man am I in the poo :D

Good news is bike is not to bad at all considering  :D ;D

This just took an hour to type left handed  ;D :D

Just thought I'd share , I'm gunna go crazy for 4 weeks I may learn to do lots of things left handed  :D :D

Jet  :cheers:
Title: Re: A painfull arvo on sat
Post by: plusnq on March 07, 2016, 03:17:49 PM
Not good Theo. Glad to hear it wasn't worse. You will have a lot of challenges with only one usable arm for a while.  ;D
Get well soon.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 07, 2016, 03:18:29 PM
When I had two breaks in my scapula, I found that Jack Daniels was very, very good when ya mix it with pain killers.
Post by: scrapsD40 on March 07, 2016, 03:21:28 PM
Good to hear you're still with us. Google 'one handed activities'. That will occupy the next 2 days with research
Post by: barrel01 on March 07, 2016, 03:27:18 PM
Ouch sorry to hear mate, hope you have a speedy recovery.

They say that there are only 2 types of dirt bike riders, those that have fallen and those that will fall, I guess you can move into the first category now!
Post by: BaseCamp on March 07, 2016, 03:32:06 PM
Geeez - that's a bad fall, Theo..
But it will make the victory more sweet in 4 or 8 weeks when you are on the up and up again; and on the road to recovery...   relaxing at some beautiful camping spot with the family again    :cheers:
Post by: jetcrew on March 07, 2016, 03:56:30 PM
thanks guys  :cup: :cup:

I feel better already  ;D

should get the bike back from my mates place in next few days so I can have a good look over it, but it rode fine after the fall..or maybe I was too busy crying to notice  ;D ;D

J :D

Post by: D4D on March 07, 2016, 04:07:46 PM
Remember pain is just weakness leaving the body :)
Post by: scrapsD40 on March 07, 2016, 04:12:37 PM

thanks guys  :cup: :cup:

I feel better already  ;D

should get the bike back from my mates place in next few days so I can have a good look over it, but it rode fine after the fall..or maybe I was too busy crying to notice  ;D ;D

J :D

Post by: Terry W4 on March 07, 2016, 04:16:39 PM
Were you carrying a first aid kit? Strapping your arm to your chest would have provided more relief. If not think about it next time.
Post by: noel_w on March 07, 2016, 04:20:36 PM
Been there done that except mine was a road bike and I T boned a stalled car crossing my lane. I feel for ya mate, my right shoulder still suffers on cold rainy days 30 years later.
Hope it heals quickly mate.
Post by: xcvator on March 07, 2016, 04:21:42 PM
That's not too good Theo,  :'( :'( but I think it'll be worse when you have to ask the missus to do the paper work for you in the bog  ;D
Post by: paulo on March 07, 2016, 04:23:28 PM
Were you carrying a first aid kit? Strapping your arm to your chest would have provided more relief. If not think about it next time.

Good advice Terry but unfortunately he needed his right hand to make the bike go 8)

All the best for the recovery Jet
Post by: speedcomm on March 07, 2016, 04:26:06 PM

Impossible to ride a dirt bike with your right arm strapped to your chest.  I too have had an almost identical stack about the same distance out from the trailers. Longest ride I've ever endured... If you ride gently with both arms on the bars it's doable :(
Post by: jetcrew on March 07, 2016, 04:36:58 PM
thats  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: Bad Scott on March 07, 2016, 04:41:14 PM
Sorry to hear jetcrew. :cheers: To a speedy recovery

Good to hear you're still with us. Google 'one handed activities'. That will occupy the next 2 days with research
Clapping would be interesting >:D
Post by: feisty on March 07, 2016, 04:44:20 PM
Bugger!  Shall I start a dc/dc thread to keep you occupied?
Post by: jetcrew on March 07, 2016, 04:47:38 PM
Impossible to ride a dirt bike with your right arm strapped to your chest.  I too have had an almost identical stack about the same distance out from the trailers. Longest ride I've ever endured... If you ride gently with both arms on the bars it's doable :(

spot on mate, very gentle and nearly no throttle, piss funy when we got back, right arm on throttle gone numb and no matter how much I told my brain to move it it would not move and I could not take my left arm off the clutch and i could not lean over to knock it out of gear..So i was tuck on the bloody thing  ;D ;D

Been years since I have endured that sort of pain..nice to know I still can though  ;D marriage has toughened me ..... emotionally of course...LOL

Jet   
Post by: Brett B on March 07, 2016, 04:53:42 PM
Not fun hey mate
Take care  :cheers:
Post by: deepop on March 07, 2016, 05:09:22 PM
One handed activities - hmmmmmm - the missus is gonna be busy!

Been there too - knee for me.

Hope you get a full recovery - don't push it too far too soon.
Post by: Gazza00 on March 07, 2016, 05:23:47 PM
If you are right handed, the worst part is trying to teach your left hand ...  how to wipe your ass   ;D
Post by: jetcrew on March 07, 2016, 05:25:41 PM
If you are right handed, the worst part is trying to teach your left hand ...  how to wipe your ass   ;D

Its coming ...the endone has slowed the train up but its gunna happen soon... is it wrong i,m looking forward to the challenge

J ;D 
Post by: GBC on March 07, 2016, 05:39:17 PM
Oh yeah, endone/codein craps - lots of fun. I had two broken arms once - learnt the definition of humility pretty dam quick. Get well soon.
Post by: briann532 on March 07, 2016, 05:47:46 PM
mmmmmmmmmmmm endone........... mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...........

Glad to hear you're not too bad. Still sorry it happened to you though. :'(

At least you can still get on here!!! Positive side to everything.
If you get bored just type something about a bike or 6 B&S and you'll have hours of entertainment......

Alternatively you could set up camp next to a river for a month and "recouperate"...... ;D
You know - no work, sit on your posterior, drink beer your medicine and chill.....

Speedy recovery mate,
Post by: Fathom on March 07, 2016, 05:48:58 PM
Pain fades...
Chicks dig scars...
:)
Post by: Nomad on March 07, 2016, 05:58:51 PM
Enjoy those endones for a little while but ween yourself off them asap........they are so addictive..........I liked them with a glass of red wine myself.

Post by: Rumpig on March 07, 2016, 05:59:52 PM
Was thinking the same thing...broke my right wrist in 2 places at work many years ago, wiping your arse, trying to zip up jeans, and even going to the bank trying to sign a cheque were all major jobs doing it left handed.
Hope the healing up goes ok Theo  :cheers:
Post by: Pog on March 07, 2016, 06:05:48 PM
Yep... Sorry to hear. Lucky you were able to ride out of the area.

I have had to make the same sort of ride 3 times (slow learner... ).

1st was a left shoulder (Torn AC joint) about 10km from home.
2nd was snapped medial ligament in right knee about 90km from home.
3rd was a badly torn right Hamstring about 30km from home.

The worst part about all bike related injuries is having to listen to the Mrs harp on about it.... We get it... We are idiots... We really don't need to be reminded about it every 1/2 hour!

And good luck with wiping your arse with your non-preferred hand for the 1st few times. Baby wipes are useful at this time.

Good luck with your recovery.
Post by: scrapsD40 on March 07, 2016, 06:08:53 PM

Chicks dig scars...
not from self emasculation tho, or so I've heard
Post by: oldmate on March 07, 2016, 06:09:08 PM
...... Yep i deleted what i wrote. :)

Hope you get better
Post by: KingBilly on March 07, 2016, 06:19:45 PM
Theo, Theo, Theo.  Mate it was only a matter of time  :D. But the mark of a true offroad motorcyclist is how long before you are back on the beast.  If it is more than 4 weeks, you will forever be known as "sidesaddle"  ;D ;D ;D

Question, did you go down and still hold onto the handlebars?  If you did it was only an "incident", if you let go, it was an "accident"  ;D ;D

Get better soon mate.  And I hope the pain subsides soon.

Post by: MDS69 on March 07, 2016, 06:36:47 PM
Ouch get well soon.
A long time ago a mate and I rode from Tibooburra across to Innaminka. A day trip out to the Dig Tree saw me come a gutsa at around 50km/h. Two days later we were in Lyndhurst and went to the flying doctor clinic as I was in pain still. Three fractured ribs was the call. Still had to ride to Birdsville then back around to Innaminka and back to the car at Tibooburra with a 25kg back pack. Every time I rolled over in bed or pulled myself up by the bars to stand on the pegs reminded me of my little off.
Post by: jetcrew on March 07, 2016, 06:54:15 PM
About to have dinner and then hit the endone train so i can sleep through the night. only got 20 pills no repeats so only using at night, after 10 nights things should have settled down I hope.

Dr reckons physio straight up is the go provided the pain is doable.. I told him i made pain my friend and he laughed. but bloody hell every 2 mins in emergency they wanted to dose me up I refused whilst in hospital as i wanted to know how it felt.

On that a massive shout out to the people who run this country and those who staff our medical facilities, I have not one single complaint about how the cabooulture hospital and today the redcliffe hospital treated me, sure there were some long waits but to be given such a level of care from trained professionals at no cost (besides my tax) is exceptional.

So if you work in the medical system a big shout out to you, thats everyone right down to volunteers who help you find your way around  :cup: :cup:  I feel a little wrong to have used up so much of the systems time and money on what is really my hobby, trying to limit costs and being as respectful as i could to each and every person within the system was the only way i could try to feel ok with it.

we really do live in the lucky country  :cup: :cup:

Jet ;D ;D       
Post by: KingBilly on March 07, 2016, 07:22:24 PM
Mate, the street druggies crush the Endone up and use it as a suppository.  They reckon it works quicker.  You should give it a go  ;D ;D ;D

Post by: jetcrew on March 07, 2016, 07:32:58 PM
Mate, the street druggies crush the Endone up and use it as a suppository.  They reckon it works quicker.  You should give it a go  ;D ;D ;D

i cant get it in KB..was i suppose to take em out the packet first 
Post by: jk on March 07, 2016, 08:03:45 PM
You do good work mate, I hope you recover quickly and well.   We've all been down that road  :-\  , hope the wife is treating you well, she might even be able to help clean the bike up once it's home  ;D

Johnno
Post by: GeoffA on March 07, 2016, 08:06:19 PM
All part of the fun Jet. Speedy recovery.

Good that you were riding with some mates..... :cup:
Post by: Bird on March 07, 2016, 08:13:52 PM
Quote from: Fathom
Chicks dig scars...
I win ;D
Post by: Frostd on March 07, 2016, 08:31:16 PM
Mate, glad to hear you are still alive, but in a little pain. Brooms head would not have been as bad as the fall. You may have woken up with a headache. :)
Post by: nab on March 07, 2016, 10:35:20 PM
That sucks big time, hopefully you are fully recovered for your big trip!!!! Very lucky boy to come out of relatively unscathed......

I can't stand the thought of riding a dirt bike for this very reason. I love the thought of speed and adrenaline but the thought and high risk of injury really scares the hell out of me. My missus is a nurse in emergency and often sees the results of bike stacks - unfortunately it is a major cause of para/quadriplegia.

Rode a little bit when I was younger, never stacked it but it didn't do anything for me. Each to there own though, my mates love the dirt bikes and luckily have had only minor stacks too!!!!
Post by: oldmate on March 08, 2016, 04:32:42 AM
My missus is a nurse in emergency and often sees the results of bike stacks - unfortunately it is a major cause of para/quadriplegia.

Rode a little bit when I was younger, never stacked it but it didn't do anything for me. Each to there own though, my mates love the dirt bikes and luckily have had only minor stacks too!!!!

Many many moons ago, at Stockton beach one Easter, there was a boys weekend on the bikes. My mate went jumping off the top of a sand dune, he didn't check what was on the other side. Well it was a huge drop off, he literally rode off a cliff. Anyway, when he hit the ground he was still on the bike. The bike was wedged into the ground/sand upright where it landed, and his back became a big shock apsorber. Helicopter ride out and about 12 weeks at John hunter in Newcastle learning to walk again. Spent about 9 months after this in a full back/body brace to hold him up. Very very lucky to have walked ever again. I never rode a bike after.
Post by: achjimmy on March 08, 2016, 06:30:54 AM
Jet all the best to recovery mate. When you can do what you can to improve your shoulder(s) post physio (exercise, weights etc) unfortunately shoulder injuries never go away fully I've found.
Post by: Fizzie on March 08, 2016, 07:34:19 AM
Jet, best wishes for a speedy recovery & hope things come good quickly.

When you can do what you can to improve your shoulder(s) post physio (exercise, weights etc) unfortunately shoulder injuries never go away fully I've found.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with Jimmy, though.

Busted my wrist in a work accident coming on 2 years ago - surgery to fix the actual physical damage then in a cast for 3 months - come out of the cast & develop frozen shoulder. Now 18 months after surgery & permanent impairment in wrist & still can't lift my arm above shoulder / head height  >:(

Thankfully my left arm so can still do things right-handed.

Good luck with it all!

Post by: evolution on March 08, 2016, 08:15:16 AM
Not good bud,
a few years ago I put my humerus through my scapula. I know the feeling all too well of trying to put your arm back in its socket. Although I may have taken the idiot train a little too far and tried to put it back in by using a tree  :'(

Hope you pull through soon mate, and the soft tissue damage isn't bad. My bones healed pretty well but I still struggle with all the muscles and tendons etc that I tore.
On the upside should be a few weeks of not having to clean the floor, cook dinner etc etc  >:D Get well soon mate  ;D

Nick
Post by: McGirr on March 08, 2016, 09:08:10 AM

I will send over the nurse to help you take your mind off the pain  :cheers:

Post by: raider on March 08, 2016, 09:10:01 AM
Hope everything goes well with your recovery. The only thing I would add is to make sure you follow any physio regimes to the letter. I stacked about 2 years ago and my bicep tendon cut through my sub-scapularis ( something like that anyway)which required surgery and obviously recovery time. I was given stretching exercises post op and did them but not as often and probably not as strictly as I should have. When I started physio my shoulder didn't have the stretch and there was talk of another op to clear scar tissue which luckily i avoided - but only just . I was given the same advice after the fact which wasn't helpful. Also watch the weight as you're on your arse for a while.
i have recovered pretty good and it only gets sore after gym work but i serve a tennis ball like a girl ( no offence ladies ) but it should get better. Not so keen on the caravan park tennis challenges much anymore  ;D  Only ridden the bike ( XR600 )twice since,  even though I have income protection but ended up over 10K out of pocket after surgery and physio. Ouch.

PS . They reckon Endone gives you constipation - you work out what pain is the worst. Mine are still in the cupboard  ;D   Good Luck
Post by: Steffo1 on March 08, 2016, 09:18:13 AM
Aaah, motorcycles!
Hope all goes well. As mentioned, stick to the physio even though you think they're Masochists.
I did my right A.C. pretty badly 14 months ago with an horizontal dive into a Boab (don't ask) & it still isn't too flash so, nothing silly too early.
As for one handed activities, what about...............................................................Dot Painting !
Post by: GUEY on March 08, 2016, 10:03:21 AM
+5 on the learning to wipe left handed. Burnt the top of my hand pretty badly many moons ago that required it to be all bandaged up. I think I had two attempts left handed before giving up and finding a plastic bag to cover the bandages.
I'm not ambidextrous  :'(

Hope you have a speedy recovery  :cheers:
Post by: hempo on March 08, 2016, 10:47:40 AM
Bloody hell - glad you are okay.  All the best with the recovery.
Post by: Bad Scott on March 08, 2016, 10:49:59 AM

I will send over the nurse to help you take your mind off the pain  :cheers:

I've got a sore leg :D
Post by: plusnq on March 08, 2016, 10:55:03 AM
I've got a sore leg :D

We'll put a needle into it. That should solve the problem  ;D
Post by: Bird on March 08, 2016, 11:06:55 AM
It only hurts while the pains there

Wait till you go for your second Putti Platt :(
http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1894455-overview (http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1894455-overview)
Post by: Black Diamond on March 08, 2016, 11:11:57 AM
Bugger mate get well soon, top effort to get back on the bike :cheers:
Post by: loanrangie on March 08, 2016, 11:53:27 AM
Its no fun being laid up, had my 3months off last year and still trying to catch up with everything and trying to get back in shape.
 Rest up and dont rush anything.
Post by: jetcrew on March 08, 2016, 07:33:49 PM
thanks all for the advice and wishes :cup: :cup:

My mate Cliffy dropped my bike off tonight ..he even washed it ;D ;D :cup: :cup:

Damadge is not to bad ..bent the subframe over a bit but not worth worrying about ..interestingly we noticed it hit the left side first then flipped over to the right which is where cliffy fount it on its right side but the left side has most damadge , so looks like I went off to the right bike went left impacted then flipped over in the ruts to the right ..found a tear in my right boot on the inside that coincides with a bruise on my inside right ankle ..so that explains that...

Cliffy reckons he thought I was cactus as I did not move for a while..i thought I came too as he arrived but apparently not . was a little bit after his arrival, I didi niot know he had also stopped to claen his googles as well i though he was just moments behind me so i have lost a few minuites somewhere. he said i was rolled up a bit with my head down and my body over my head a bit at a base of a tree ..looked like I had hit the tree hard head on he thought , but luckily i had not it was just where i slid to and stopped ;D ;D

All in all a lucky escape me thinks both for me and my bike , always good recounting the incident and looking back at factors that caused it..besides the obv of course. Lots of little lessons in it for me thats for sure, looking at my bike I did not feel any sort of detachment so I have not lost my nerve so to speak at this stage but time will tell..as soon as I can i will cut a few laps around the yard just to feel the bike again and get back on the horse ...

The old DRZ400 is one tough mother of a bike :cup: :cup:

Jet ;D   
Post by: BigJules on March 08, 2016, 08:11:50 PM
Take care mate. We don't bounce like we did when we were young fellas.
Post by: wedwards on March 08, 2016, 09:15:17 PM
Just don't let it spook ya - get back on and regain your nerve or abandon bikes entirely - there's nothing worse than a biker with half a nerve cos that only ends one way. Get better soon

Post by: McTavish on March 08, 2016, 11:40:15 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Igrdi_lhhW4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Igrdi_lhhW4)

Post by: speedcomm on March 09, 2016, 07:33:07 PM
thanks all for the advice and wishes :cup: :cup:

My mate Cliffy dropped my bike off tonight ..he even washed it ;D ;D :cup: :cup:

Damadge is not to bad ..bent the subframe over a bit but not worth worrying about ..interestingly we noticed it hit the left side first then flipped over to the right which is where cliffy fount it on its right side but the left side has most damadge , so looks like I went off to the right bike went left impacted then flipped over in the ruts to the right ..found a tear in my right boot on the inside that coincides with a bruise on my inside right ankle ..so that explains that...

Cliffy reckons he thought I was cactus as I did not move for a while..i thought I came too as he arrived but apparently not . was a little bit after his arrival, I didi niot know he had also stopped to claen his googles as well i though he was just moments behind me so i have lost a few minuites somewhere. he said i was rolled up a bit with my head down and my body over my head a bit at a base of a tree ..looked like I had hit the tree hard head on he thought , but luckily i had not it was just where i slid to and stopped ;D ;D

All in all a lucky escape me thinks both for me and my bike , always good recounting the incident and looking back at factors that caused it..besides the obv of course. Lots of little lessons in it for me thats for sure, looking at my bike I did not feel any sort of detachment so I have not lost my nerve so to speak at this stage but time will tell..as soon as I can i will cut a few laps around the yard just to feel the bike again and get back on the horse ...

The old DRZ400 is one tough mother of a bike :cup: :cup:

Jet ;D

Ahh yes DRZ400s are like old Hiluxs, if they could talk they would have some interesting stories ! Local trail bike cops around here even had drz400s..
Post by: bullfrog on March 10, 2016, 06:33:50 PM
Would have been safer at brooms with Frosty mate !!! Talk soon bud, get well. :cheers: