General => General Discussion => Topic started by: kiwipride on January 24, 2016, 09:40:05 AM
Hi, had anyone here tried to get any type of sponsorship for a overlanding trip? Just thought that it might be a good way to help finance a long trip.
Heading to the Cape in June and could do with a little help.....
Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
Ok I'll try first.
I'm doing another 3 month trip starting in June.
We're looking at doing the Kimberleys, NT and down to Macdonalds Ranges and back across to WA on the GCR.
Looking for beer and fuel sponsonsors.
Any assistance greatly appreciated.
Its all starts what you have to "sell". Then you will have to prove that you can deliver what you promise.
You'll probably have more luck writting short trip stories of your travels with photos, plenty action shots an family/group pictures etc.
Dare i say that 4wd monthly go for this type of stuff for the mag. So I'm sure other mag would also. Once i heard 4wd monthly paid about $700 per article. Moneys money...
getting paid to go on holidays..... WTF.... good luck with that one.
Why?
We have been invited to test things and provide feedback, ending up being able to keep those items. You're probably better off looking at writing articles for industry related magazines. You need to have a point of difference to make it interesting for them though ;)
Lil :)
I'm also wanting to do a 4 week trip down along the Great Australian Bight in the future myself...I'm happy to pay the cost of the trip myself, but if anyone wants to chip in and pay my house and car loans repayments for me whilst I'm on holidays, it'd be very much apreaciated. As a big thank you for you're generosity of paying my loan repayments, i'll happily send you pics of myself and my family relaxing on a desserted beach somewhere once we get phone reception. :cheers:
getting paid to go on holidays..... WTF.... good luck with that one.
Sent from my Pixel C using Tapatalk
You'll need a decent Facebook or other social media following for a fair while and then you'll most likely get some kit, not cash. Like the camp man. Writing articles would ya best bet I reckon.
I better get my act together writing more trips, hopefully I might get given a new 200 series or I might just run a myswag raffle like Garrick did to get one ;D ;D
I know someone who does it. They write articles for the EMG group. They got a discount on tyres when they purchased 8 tyres of the same size and make. They received stickers for the vehicle etc.
They also have a decent social media outlet via FB.
Angus
I sponsor vb when I'm on holidays, I pay them so I can have a vb in my hand at all times.
Was thinking of going on a cruise to Hawai with a few other couples later this year or early next year. I too would appreciate some sponsorship towards costs
I better get my act together writing more trips, hopefully I might get given a new 200 series or I might just run a myswag raffle like Garrick did to get one ;D ;D
Oh, you wicked, wicked man with thoughts like that >:D >:D >:D ;D
Now you do realise that if you have a media business the tax man will write off all your costs don't you :angel:
(http://cdn.meme.am/instances/55353171.jpg)
Couldn't we all.... ???
I'm also wanting to do a 4 week trip down along the Great Australian Bight in the future myself...I'm happy to pay the cost of the trip myself, but if anyone wants to chip in and pay my house and car loans repayments for me whilst I'm on holidays, it'd be very much apreaciated. As a big thank you for you're generosity of paying my loan repayments, i'll happily send you pics of myself and my family relaxing on a desserted beach somewhere once we get phone reception. :cheers:
(http://weknowmemes.com/generator/uploads/generated/g1364512837511498759.jpg)
I know someone who does it. They write articles for the EMG group. They got a discount on tyres when they purchased 8 tyres of the same size and make. They received stickers for the vehicle etc.
They also have a decent social media outlet via FB.
Angus
Thanks Angus.
I've received concessions on Tyres and other gear that I have tested when we have gone on a trip. Had to report back on how the tyres went on our trip to the Cape. Another was "Recovery Tracks" that are made for heavier loaded vehicles for which I did a video that also shows the action of the front "ATB style Diff Centre". The first job was getting the Canter bogged.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6-93EZ6zws (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6-93EZ6zws)
Dan.
To be fair, I use to chase sponsorship when we did the drag car thing.
I guess ya have to understand, what you want to achieve, has been tried by many, successful for a few and make sure you have a point of difference to entice them to spend some money on you and your outfit.
I was getting in the late 90's early 2000's, I use to get different amounts from different businesses that ranged from $1,500 to $4,000 per year and one bloke would pickup the account for the methanol each meeting.
Good luck.
Good luck but I doubt there are many companies throwing dollars around......
These boys have most of it tied up
All for adventure
Pat Callahan
Roothy
4WD TV
And there are a few others........
If you need sponsorship to fund your trip you might want to re-think.
Good luck but I doubt there are many companies throwing dollars around......
These boys have most of it tied up
All for adventure
Pat Callahan
Roothy
4WD TV
And there are a few others........
If you need sponsorship to fund your trip you might want to re-think.
Hi weeds
Thanks, but I never said that we "needed" sponsorship for our trip. I was just wondering if anyone was successful in being able to use a companies product in exchange for wearing a few logos or stickers on their 4x4's basically.
A lot of sponsors want to see your portfolio beforehand, so unless you have a gig with one of the major tv channels, you will be extremely limited.
Approach your local 4x4 store or the one you spent the most coin in, you might be lucky for a couple of stickers.........but it you have a bit of this brand or that brand, you'll be very limited as to what you get.......which will probably be a few free stickers.........
I have a mate that is a part owner of 4 large 4wd stores here in SEQ, it's pretty surprising just how many people approach them looking for free gear for events that they are running. Unless you can show a way it will be financially beneficial for them to help you out, as Doc says, stickers are about all you'll likely get.
Hi, had anyone here tried to get any type of sponsorship for a overlanding trip? Just thought that it might be a good way to help finance a long trip.
I'll chuck in a couple of bucks if you're heading back to Kiwiland.... ;D ;D ;D ;D
We get asked for sponsorship all the time.
There are a few things on our list b4 we hand over anything and its not a straight cash hand over.
Nothing is for free, it has to be a win/win situation.
The person wanting sponsorship has be to reputable and background checks are a must, they are essentially representing and promoting our business.
I would not be surprised if you're asked for a business plan for the trip.
It all about successful advertising for the person/company that decides to back your adventure.
If you understand this, you may just have a chance.
We asked asked for sponsorship all the time.
There are a few things on our list b4 we hand over anything and its not a straight cash hand over.
Nothing is for free, it has to be a win/win situation.
The person wanting sponsorship has be to reputable and background checks are a must, they are essentially representing and promoting our business.
I would not be surprised if you're asked for a business plan for the trip.
It all about successful advertising for the person/company that decides to back your adventure.
If you understand this, you may just have a chance.
Thanks for the heads up, cruiser.
I was just wondering if anyone was successful in being able to use a companies product in exchange for wearing a few logos or stickers on their 4x4's basically.
Lots of people will fit stickers to their cars for free, so what's in it for the supplier?
Good luck.
I'll chuck in a couple of bucks if you're heading back to Kiwiland.... ;D ;D ;D ;D
Hahaha, Australia day and all
We did get some cash $650 and a heap of projecta gear when we wrote an article on travelling oz with kids. They often asked us to test other gear which we would have done had we been extreme off-roaders but it stopped when management changed.
:cup: :cup: :cup:
Hi weeds
Thanks, but I never said that we "needed" sponsorship for our trip. I was just wondering if anyone was successful in being able to use a companies product in exchange for wearing a few logos or stickers on their 4x4's basically.
OK no worries.......
I ran two events a few years ago.....managed to get reasonable sponsorship, the one thing they all asked was what was going to be the return on their investment?????
In most cases I had already purchased their gear mainly because I thought it was good value for money and a quality product. With both events I didn't end up with any of the sponsored products, they were given to attendees.
I still olive a plug for the companies that supported me back than.
Good luck with it all....
I never have but its worth asking I guess.
If your able to pitch a decent proposal to a business that will benefit from whatever it is your offering then I see no reason why it wouldn't hurt to ask. Perhaps the bigger players in the 'industry' such as ARB, Weaco, Engel etc etc are already well and truly tied up with sponsorship but these days there are 100's of suppliers out there that may consider giving away/loaning products etc if its a win win situation.
I considered doing the magazine article thing once upon a time but for what they needed and what they were prepared to pay I felt it was too much effort for reward at the time.
Good luck with it.
I never have but its worth asking I guess.
If your able to pitch a decent proposal to a business that will benefit from whatever it is your offering then I see no reason why it wouldn't hurt to ask. Perhaps the bigger players in the 'industry' such as ARB, Weaco, Engel etc etc are already well and truly tied up with sponsorship but these days there are 100's of suppliers out there that may consider giving away/loaning products etc if its a win win situation.
I considered doing the magazine article thing once upon a time but for what they needed and what they were prepared to pay I felt it was too much effort for reward at the time.
Good luck with it.
Thanks.
Their loss (and ours) Danny. I'm sure it would have been an entertaining read....... ;D ;D
Im not sure the content would have been entirely suitable ;)
On behalf of my crew, I would like to publicly thank REDARC for generously sponsoring our upcoming trip to the Cape.
We also look forward to installing and reporting on the performance of the BCDC's over the coming few months. I am sure that they will perform well especially if their fine support and service is anything to go by!
Again, cheers to REDARC! :cup:
Good work. well done
Thanks mate.
Just wanted to thank one of our sponsors for the Cape York trip, Wilde Beer (wildebeer.com.au)
If you guys want to try a healthy beer (and may have Coeliac's) I highly recommend trying a drop or three.http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cheers.gif (http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cheers.gif)
Just wanted to thank one of our sponsors for the Cape York trip, Wilde Beer (wildebeer.com.au)
If you guys want to try a healthy beer (and may have Coeliac's) I highly recommend trying a drop or three. http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cheers.gif (http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cheers.gif)