General => General Discussion => Topic started by: DaveR on December 19, 2015, 03:41:52 PM
Sadly, I can't claim all the credit for this one.
We've left princess 10 year olds cloths bag at home.
This is a new height in screw ups for us.
So it is in to noosa shops for me in morning.
Grrrrrrrrr
always an op shop nearby.
I've done it too. One Saturday morning in July saw us raiding the opp shop and salvos in Wingham and Gloucester before heading to Barrington Tops.
Look on the bright side, at least it is warm. I was shopping to cloth her for the snow.
Grrrrrrrrr
Something to look back on when the daughter gets older!!!
After a quick visit to Hastings St, I'm sure she will forgive you. ;D
She now has visions of shopping for all new clothes.
The best we've done till now was leaving pillows for 3 kids at home. Got some in the small town of Woodenbong believe it or not.
I also just found I left keys at home for camper.
Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk
Bugger, look on the bright side, these things happen in threes, so you've only got one more to go :cup:
& you tell us ??? ??? are you looking for support here ??? ???
Tel him hes dreaming :'( :'( :'( :'( You did pack the :cheers:
Tell me you did :cheers:
No hastings st thanks. I'll avoid that as much as I can.
Why is it your fault Dave? Surely she could make sure her clothes are packed??
I know mine woud have been all over it. Very important for 10yo girls IME.
Good luck with it....
Normally all my fault. Today, I'm sharing blame as she was asleep this morning when I came looking for her stuff.
Normally all my fault.....
:cup: :cup:
Been there, done that. Drove from Melbourne to Cobar, and upon set-up, found I'd left small noisy child's clothes and the missus' doona at home.. :-[
I'm not living that one down any time soon. :'(
No hastings st thanks. I'll avoid that as much as I can.
I think you will find hastings st and Noosa in general is an an RV friendly place. Dump points everywhere and double length trailer parks in the main st. Lots of taps to fill your tanks in public places. Free camps just next to the beach as long as it is for no more than three nights. Although I could be wrong. .....
I feel for you. Hope everything has worked out. Cold beer required and feet up.
I think you will find hastings st and Noosa in general is an an RV friendly place. Dump points everywhere and double length trailer parks in the main st. Lots of taps to fill your tanks in public places. Free camps just next to the beach as long as it is for no more than three nights. Although I could be wrong. .....
HAHAHAHAHA funniest thing I've read all week ;D I remember going for dinner along there not long after we got our new Kluger. The car parks down the end are soooo bloody narrow you could barely open the doors to get out.
She now has visions of shopping for all new clothes.
The best we've done till now was leaving pillows for 3 kids at home. Got some in the small town of Woodenbong believe it or not.
I also just found I left keys at home for camper.
I shouldn't laugh, well maybe just a little, nah stuff it. :cup: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: sorry, no I'm not. :angel: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
There has to be one more stuff, it happens in threes ya know? :angel:
Grrrrrrrrr
I thought you were heading to Straddie??
Better half changed our minds, at Boreen Point, not been here before. Loving it so far. I'll be heading up the beach to rainbow for 1st time since 1994.
Bout time you let the moth balls out and bought your daughter some new gear anyway.
New. What's that? All opp shop for our kids.
always an op shop nearby.
Funny enough I love a good country op shop. Daughter packs for herself and always forgets something. We always end up at an op shop buying something. Daughter realises now when I say don't worry what it looks like cos we won't see anyone where we're going that I mean it......
New. What's that? All opp shop for our kids.
New for her.
My list of ills. I have forgotten
The cooker
the kids beds
we let our daughter pack who then forgot her undies
all different trips thank goodness
At least you didn't take the cloths and leave the 10year old at home ;D
Lol. Experience?
no but close lol
Grrrrrrrrr
Yea, your gonna pay for that. Top job Dad :laugh:
Actually if you didnt say a word, a 10 yo would probably think it was a pretty top holiday of no one made them have a bath and change their clothes :)
To make you feel better... I will dob some of my friends in....
2 have forgotten the tents poles for their tents....
And the winner...
On our Cape York trip a few years ago... One couple bought their son along... Who randomly changed cars between the four vehicles...
After fuelling up in Cooktown, and a comfort stop... We all drove off assuming the young bloke was in "someone else's truck".
We only got as far as the 1st corner, to quickly return and find him locked in the toilets..
Oops.....
If pigs could fly... Imagine how good their wings would taste.
Actually if you didnt say a word, a 10 yo would probably think it was a pretty top holiday of no one made them have a bath and change their clothes :)
You don't have daughters, do you Jack??..... :P
I'll confess
Winter camping, packed the grog (always 1st), tent, food, water, phone rings gets side tracked for a while. Come back to ute, yep got everything, drive 5-6 hours to campsite, bugger forgot my sleeping bag, airbed, pillow, clothes. The grog played a mammoth part in keeping me warm.
What did I learn, Make sure I have 2 reserves of grog
To make you feel better... I will dob some of my friends in....
2 have forgotten the tents poles for their tents....
And the winner...
On our Cape York trip a few years ago... One couple bought their son along... Who randomly changed cars between the four vehicles...
After fuelling up in Cooktown, and a comfort stop... We all drove off assuming the young bloke was in "someone else's truck".
We only got as far as the 1st corner, to quickly return and find him locked in the toilets..
Oops.....
Lol, see that's why you don't have friends. But, I believe your story, cause I know all those people. ;D ;D ;D
I didn't name and shame...
I left it anonymous. 
You know what's funnier, that the 2 that left there poles at home, both have exactly the same type of tent ;D ;D
Who was it that wrote up a trip report & mentioned that they stopped for their first night & realised they hadn't hooked up the CT? Think that one probably wins the "forgotten" award! ;D
We were going up to O'Reilly's for a few nights when our young bloke was about 6. Finished packing that morning, asked "Got your shoes on?" "Yep", in the car & away. Stopped at Canungra & get out to find that the shoes he's put on, because it was a showery morning, were his plastic gum boots. We were going bushwalking... Detour 30k to Beauie to buy new shoes!
No opp shops on a Sunday I am told. So a quick trip into big w this morn it is.
She is complaining about it so we need to go. If it was master 6 year old he wouldn't have noticed.
Have left the kids bags behind as well... it only a problem if you cant get to shops.... i am at double island point so will brave noosa tomorrow... was going to do the farmers market this morning but have managed to get out of it thankfully
I've left the cooking gear at home, luckily was on a boys weekend, and remembered before we went off road and down river. Grabbed a roll of alfoil from a servo and kept going, had to wrap everything foil and on coal, 1st time having to cook crab on coals, took some working out how long
I didn't name and shame...
I left it anonymous. 
Keep going you too, We will guess it eventually ;D
Paying for it now. Instead of sitting on my kayak on noosa river, I'm sitting in car at shops with 6 yr old twins whilst mum is in shops with eldest.
Oh well. Bit of a perve.
I've left the cooking gear at home, luckily was on a boys weekend, and remembered before we went off road and down river. Grabbed a roll of alfoil from a servo and kept going, had to wrap everything foil and on coal, 1st time having to cook crab on coals, took some working out how long
Just curious ....How long did they take...???? :cheers: :cheers:
Talk about impulse buying on the road.....
Many years ago we did a day trip to the eumundi markets with friends; at about 2pm decided to cut loose - and rather than go back to BNE - decided on impulse to visit the dolphins at Tin Can Bay.....
Arrive Rainbow Beach to stay overnight at the caravan park (in a cabin)... Buy some Tees and shorts, undies, toiletries etc... then off the next morning at approx 5am; back to tin can....
On a high from the spontaneity - we then decide to make a call to work "about Monday".... and then after the dolphins on Sunday .... take that shortcut road through to Maryborough.... and then spend a couple of nights at Kingfisher. ...back to work approx 1pm Tue....
On an overnighter up the Murray got up in the morning to an impending storm. Decided to forgo brekky and do a quick pack up. We had left the car connected to the softfloor trailer over night. Got packed up just in time as the storm hit . Sat in the car for half an hour till the rain stopped as I had packed the car keys in the trailer. Had to unfold in the mud to find the keys.
Always carry a spare set of keys now.
Never screwed up when camping, but there's still time.
Boating however, on one ocassion I managed to leave the bung out of the boat and launched into water, then in winching it back on the trailer and driving up the ramp I mustn't have clipped over the winch rachet and as I was driving up the concrete ramp (boat half full of water), I watched in the rear view mirror the boat slip backwards off the trailer and land flat onto the ramp. In my panic I then hit the accellerator instead of the brake and drove the car off the side of the concrete ramp onto the rocks on the side. Still laugh about it today. Somehow nothing was damaged apart from my pride, and as it was early morning, there was only one bystander in a state of shock;D
Hitting the loud pedal instead of the brake is a sign of old age isn't it.
It's always a good laugh sitting at a boat ramp watching others misfortunes, you wouldn't be a boat owner if you hadn't left the bungs out at least once would you?
Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
Never managed to leave the bungs out, but on an old wooden boat I had, it used to let in a little water, no bilge pump, so to empty it, it was a matter of driving on the river at the right speed, get someone to take out the bungs, and keep cruising until the water had drained. My observer managed to drop the bung plug so we had to keep cruising until someone could find a spare bung and have it ready for us when we got to the bank.
l was at Guides camp ( as a responsible Adult ??? True ) As we were about to leave to go home noted a small guide alone in the car park , she went to toilet & crew shot through . As we started to work out what was going to happen a Land curser arrived . He had got to town stopped to buy ice creams & had 1 extra , Opppppps lts amazing how fast the Rig will go when you have forgotten somebody else's child ., All ended well :cheers:
About 5 years ago we went for a weekend away to Landcruiser Park with a couple of other families.
After a 6 1/h hr trip from Brisbane thanks to the mates massively overloaded camper busting a spring hanger, and us needing to fix side of the road. We made it to camp after dark with me giving him a constant bagging on the ease and benefits of my simple tent without the need of all the excess crap he seemed to be carrying :)
Set up tarp, then pull cabin tent out to find I hadn't packed our tent poles...
Was just lucky my mate kept a heap of extra poles in his massively overloaded camper. 
About 5 years we went for a weekend away to Landcruiser Park with a couple of other families.
After a 6 1/h hr trip from Brisbane thanks to the mates massively overloaded camper busting a spring hanger, and us needing to fix side of the road. We made it to camp after dark with me giving him a constant bagging on the ease and benefits of my simple tent without the need of all the excess crap he seemed to be carrying :)
Set up tarp, then pull cabin tent out to find no poles had been packed...
Was just lucky my mate kept a heap of extra poles in his massively overloaded camper. 
Just curious ....How long did they take...???? :cheers: :cheers:
From memory, this around 20 years ago and never did it again as it was easier to boil them, it was just under 10 minutes. Also found out by accident that better to put upside down so the juice stays in the shell when cooking.
Brand new boat, first time into the water.
Left the bung out.
Fortunately, it was a Stabicraft and even driving it around for 10 minutes didnt see enough water to fill even the small bilge.
Had to go for a swim to put the bung back in.
On another occasion.
Having driven to our chosen camping spot, twice,
Once to tow the trailer and once to tow the boat.
We went to go fishing, we had left the licences and keys at home.
A quick trip to the RMA and we were given a free copy of my licence (Good work guys)
A key was available from the local marine center and we were back on the water.
I now carry photocopies of my licence, fishing licence and other specifics on the boat and several spare keys hidden around the boat and car.
Was not looking forward to driving backwards and forwards again.
Start of a two week holiday Sydney to Fraser. Got to our first nights stop free camping at Gloucester and realised we'd left the cooker and the pillows at home. Quick 30minute drive back to Gloucester to buy the last two butane cookers in the camping store and by sheer luck woolies has a sale on pillows.
I have forgotten to pack my wife's clothing bag. But not my fault. It wasn't in the 'things to be packed' pile by the door. Apparently I am supposed to know it was on the bed in the 'just in case of last minute packing' pile
Camping on a river bank - pack up day came. Loaded up the trailer, ready to go - got around the back and started pushing to make it a better angle to connect the car up to it.....
Gravity however had other plans, suddenly we started moving backwards toward river lol. I aimed it toward a tree in case I wasn't able to stop it, and yelled for the missus - somehow the two of us managed to stop it hurtling down into the river hehe.
Boy, do I get reminded of that every time we set up now ;D ;D
Second trip out in my camper was a solo trip to Murphy Creek Escape.
Unhooked the C/T, handbrake on, jumped in the car to move it and when I got out the C/T was picking up speed heading towards the river.
I had no hope of stopping it so turned it 90 degrees which stopped the runaway trailer.
hell of a way to find out the handbrake doesn't work...
A few more seconds and it would have been over the edge and gone forever...
Robbo
Left the keys to my Aussie Swag behind once. Can't open the kitchen without keys :(
Ended up borrowing a single burner and a frypan from one of the other campers.. :-[
Second trip out in my camper was a solo trip to Murphy Creek Escape.
Unhooked the C/T, handbrake on, jumped in the car to move it and when I got out the C/T was picking up speed heading towards the river.
I had no hope of stopping it so turned it 90 degrees which stopped the runaway trailer.
hell of a way to find out the handbrake doesn't work...
A few more seconds and it would have been over the edge and gone forever...
Robbo
That's a heart stopper
And I'm gonna be there ;D
You might be lucky as others can help too >:D
I just had myself a great day splashing about with kids and kayaks. Am now watching princess model her new clothes, which by the way cost me twice as princess 6 yr old had to have new stuff also. Anyway. I'm now just about to grab another beer and feel better about my small screw up thanks to reading all these bigger screw up.
Cheers everyone.
Enjoyed reading this and feeling a bit better about some of my more minor ones. Have a good Christmas Dave - and your family of course.
I just had myself a great day splashing about with kids and kayaks. Am now watching princess model her new clothes, which by the way cost me twice as princess 6 yr old had to have new stuff also. Anyway. I'm now just about to grab another beer and feel better about my small screw up thanks to reading all these bigger screw up.
Cheers everyone.
Have a great break and a merry Christmas
Dave lm just glad you can still afford :cheers:
From memory, this around 20 years ago and never did it again as it was easier to boil them, it was just under 10 minutes. Also found out by accident that better to put upside down so the juice stays in the shell when cooking.
Thanks Mate....Seems i'll stick to boiling them or steaming.... :cup: :cup: