General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on December 15, 2015, 05:59:07 AM

Title: Do you remember when
Post by: speewa158 on December 15, 2015, 05:59:07 AM
 Do you remember when  ??? ??? ???
A dimsin was 3c
You could feed all your mates on 5c of chips in news paper .
fuel was 4c a litre .
Sadddly l do        :cheers:
Title: Re: Do you remember when
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 15, 2015, 06:01:07 AM
Cracker Night
Post by: speewa158 on December 15, 2015, 06:02:23 AM
l can live in fear of what you got up to  >:D
Post by: edz on December 15, 2015, 06:12:05 AM
I was a bit later than you Speewa , Coke was the real thing and a 10c bag of mixed lollies was enough to keep you chomping away for half the day .
Post by: speewa158 on December 15, 2015, 06:18:42 AM
Where did you get the  10c from  ??? ???
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 15, 2015, 06:27:08 AM

Where did you get the  10c from  ??? ???
from the glass drink bottles we pinched from the back of the shop, then walked around the front of the shop and got the 5c refund;D
Post by: terravista on December 15, 2015, 06:33:11 AM
30 cents for school lunch and you could get a cake for smoko, a pie and can of Coke for lunch and a packet of 10 Craven A cigarettes.
Then sell the ciggies for 2 cents each and buy a couple of comics to read on the bus back home or a spinning lure at the fishing supplies.
Post by: Julian Kaye on December 15, 2015, 06:53:41 AM
Air conditioning in the FJ was opening the quarter vents on a really hot day, trains were made of timber and you could hang out the doors, dad mowed the grass with a Qualcast, mum did the washing by firing up the copper, delicatessens were called ham & beef shops, bread was wrapped in tissue paper, chips were wrapped in newspaper and newspaper was used in the outside dunny. Divers gave hand signals, our cricket stars were called Davo and Slasher and Bradman was a God. You didn't need a licence to fish, tents weighed a ton and somehow Dad, Mum, three kids,Grandpa and all the bags fitted into the FJ to go on Christmas holidays. Chicken was something special at Christmas and ham came in tins. Oh the memories.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on December 15, 2015, 07:09:44 AM
Yep 3c a potato scollope, Craig
Post by: MarkGU on December 15, 2015, 07:22:08 AM
we all had to be home when the street lights came on  :cup:
Post by: plusnq on December 15, 2015, 07:28:55 AM

And Mum had kicked you out of the house in the morning with a packed lunch.
Post by: UIZ733 on December 15, 2015, 07:31:05 AM
Do you remember when  ??? ??? ???
A dimsin was 3c
You could feed all your mates on 5c of chips in news paper .
fuel was 4c a litre .
Sadddly l do        :cheers:
It might be sadder if you didn't.
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2015, 07:33:57 AM
lollies 10 for a cent.. 5cent paddle pops...
$10 used to do us a weekend of munchies, drinks, and fuel/oil in our bikes.

$2 of hot chips from cooks kitchen, and a loaf of bread used to feed several of us at lunchtime when out Boat Harbour

$9.99 for a carton of throwdowns.. we used buy a $2.00 ticket and get 5 beers out of it ;D ;D ;D

collecting ally cans, 1/2 filling every second one with sand and cashing them in...
same with the bottle trick above... 'the glass drink bottles we pinched from the back of the shop, then walked around the front of the shop and got the 5c refund' although we used to jump fences and return them to the other shop in town :D
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2015, 07:40:37 AM
PS.. Crawford Productions would make great aussie TV shows... and we had good actors who could act...

You could sit down and watch tele without smut being the selling point of the "show"

although, this is more likely what Speewa had (great theme music though! - John Meillon as Mr Pym  great work)
https://youtu.be/tlycZqRHUKI (https://youtu.be/tlycZqRHUKI)

or The FJ Holden!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xk54a0p1qw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xk54a0p1qw)
Post by: J.R on December 15, 2015, 07:46:03 AM
Mum would leave $4 on the bench for our lunch and bus money.

.40c was the combined bus and train fair (Rowville to Fern Tree Gully).

.99c would buy you a packet of 15's PJ durries from Safeway.

Lunch was s couple of steamed dim sims with soy sauce and a can of coke from the tuck shop.
Post by: J.R on December 15, 2015, 07:49:34 AM
PS.. Crawford Productions would make great aussie TV shows... and we had good actors who could act...

You could sit down and watch tele without smut being the selling point of the "show"

although, this is more likely what Speewa had
https://youtu.be/tlycZqRHUKI

TV had proper entertainment shows. Mash, The Paul Hogan Show, Leyland Brothers, Chips and a lot more.

Now, TV is all about home reno's, very fat people loosing weight, has been TV stars dancing, gay couples on cooking shows and so on.
Post by: plusnq on December 15, 2015, 07:55:55 AM
There was Number 96 though.....
Post by: Snapman007 on December 15, 2015, 07:56:40 AM
I didn't die riding my bike without a helmet and never drowned in an unfenced swimming pool.
Playing cricket and footy on the road (No, not at the same time stewped ;D). Xmas holidays we'd be playing out there under the street lights till after 9pm some nights and no one died.
Dry dog sh1t turned white.

Post by: Bird on December 15, 2015, 08:18:45 AM
TV had proper entertainment shows. Mash, The Paul Hogan Show, Leyland Brothers, Chips and a lot more.

Now, TV is all about home reno's, very fat people loosing weight, has been TV stars dancing, gay couples on cooking shows and so on.
http://australianmovies.net/ (http://australianmovies.net/)
Post by: noel_w on December 15, 2015, 08:57:07 AM
You had street lights?
Proudest kid in town when Dad bought a brand new Chrysler Royal Auto. Buttons on the dash for Drive, Park, Reverse etc. Like to have it now.
Post by: gronk on December 15, 2015, 08:58:37 AM
I didn't die riding my bike without a helmet and never drowned in an unfenced swimming pool.
Playing cricket and footy on the road (No, not at the same time stewped ;D). Xmas holidays we'd be playing out there under the street lights till after 9pm some nights and no one died.

A lot of that was pure luck though !!  ;D

I remember hanging onto the back of a car going downhill on the pushy and sling shooting past them when they slowed down for the corners !!

Or getting under a train bridge and popping your head up between the sleepers when a train approached......seeing the eyes of the train driver was magic !!

I remember 5 cents used to buy a packet of fags ( remember the fag lollies ).....now you throw away 5 cents because it's useless !!

Post by: edz on December 15, 2015, 09:09:06 AM
Thanks for those links Bird, Just watching that FJ holden one, Anyone else remember how bloody terrible those press in safety pop tops on the coke and  drink cans used to be  :cheers
Early seventies going to  the pictures strolling like a king with $5 in ya pocket from washing a few cars at the miner's quarters [ We lived onsite at the mines ] , 40c for downstairs stalls or 70c for the balcony, A drink,  box of jaffa's,  10 minutes of cartoons before the first movie then intermision, out for a burger and drink and a flog of the pinnies at the cafe next door and back in time  to get an icecream and watch the 5 minutes of cartoons before the second movie started .And coming home with change left over ..
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2015, 09:26:58 AM
Thanks for those links Bird, Just watching that FJ holden one, Anyone else remember how bloody terrible those press in safety pop tops on the coke and  drink cans used to be  :cheers:
these?
(http://bevhavlik.powweb.com/eBay/SodaPepsi3.jpg)

I liked these, pull in 1/2 and fling the ring part away!
(http://www.antiquebeercans.com/beer-can-photos/photolid2.jpg)
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2015, 09:27:53 AM
Buyin Sunnyboy or razz and looking inside to see if you got a free one
(http://cdn.xenlife.com.au/wp-content/uploads/Sunny-Boy.jpg)
Post by: edz on December 15, 2015, 09:39:42 AM
That be the ones, the old slyle ones used to make great spring flung frizbies, later on when I'd left home, they were made into great chains strung around the flat as christmas decorations to go with the 8' high solid round beer can christmas tree  that we drunk in the lead up to crhistmas ..
Our only rule was each layer had to be all the same type of beer cans .. ;D
Similar to this one .
Remember when you had to open softdrink / beer cans with an opener like this
Post by: Steffo1 on December 15, 2015, 09:41:45 AM
The Rawleighs man?
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 15, 2015, 09:50:07 AM
Panelvans and an evening at the drive in.  ;D
Post by: RobM on December 15, 2015, 09:52:15 AM
When you could leave your home open for weeks while away on holidays and it was the way you left it when you got home and you could leave milk money on the front steps every night and nobody stole it.
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2015, 09:53:51 AM
There weren't fun police everywhere..

Standard sized blocks of land were close to an acre..

Bread and milk getting delivered...
Post by: Redcherokee on December 15, 2015, 09:59:37 AM
The fruit and veg man would sell stuff from big rattan baskets on the back of his truck.  If we ran out, it was a big responsibility to run down His house and knock on his back door and get "two pound of carrots and a cauliflower" in paper bags to carefully carry home.

Post by: edz on December 15, 2015, 10:10:00 AM
Or if you didnt have a van at the time, fitting lay flat reclining bucket seats into you car from a Jap job and a custom center console to eerr um make things a bit more comfortable . ;D
Post by: gronk on December 15, 2015, 10:18:57 AM
Buyin Sunnyboy or razz and looking inside to see if you got a free one
(http://cdn.xenlife.com.au/wp-content/uploads/Sunny-Boy.jpg)

Can still buy them....
Post by: BaseCamp on December 15, 2015, 10:30:17 AM
What about when late night trading didn't exist; and the shops closed for the weekend at 11:30am on Saturday morning ....

Post by: BaseCamp on December 15, 2015, 10:33:16 AM
And while I think of it. ...

In brisbane in the early 1980s THE ONLY THING open for food on any Sunday enening was McDonalds Hoyts...  (Elizabeth street in the CBD )

Post by: Green rv on December 15, 2015, 10:47:20 AM
you could drive unregistered vehicles on the beach.

ride in the tray of the old ute.
Post by: GFM449 on December 15, 2015, 10:51:24 AM
Staying at my Grandparents house as a kid and having to go outside to use the pit dunny......
Post by: Julian Kaye on December 15, 2015, 11:42:19 AM
Part 2:
    Noel Kelly was the toughest man alive, StGeorge won the comp every year, Shintaro was really cool and you could make star knives out of old bottle tops, trucks had those mechanical hands that made hand signals, coffee came out of a bottle, making your own ginger beer, buying a newspaper in the morning AND afternoon, wearing black rimmed sun glasses so you looked like Roy Orbison, the fanciest thing in a cake shop was a cream bun, Lakemba was a nice suburb and only rich people ate Chinese food.
Post by: scblack on December 15, 2015, 12:01:54 PM
What about when late night trading didn't exist; and the shops closed for the weekend at 11:30am on Saturday morning ....

Isn't that W.A. even now?

I don't know if they changed trading times the last couple of years, but that was WA trading times very recently (or very close to it). Except for the large national retailers.
Post by: gronk on December 15, 2015, 12:44:56 PM
Do you remember when you got a foot up the ar*e for doing something wrong....and it made you stop and think about what you did....and you thought twice about doing it again....and you didn't suffer from any mental scars ......but it did make you think about consequences ...
Post by: Moggy on December 15, 2015, 02:01:12 PM
The pub was only open from 11 - 1 & 5-7 on Sundays.
A 6 pack of beer was $2.50

Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 15, 2015, 02:17:15 PM
Passion Pop (aka Leg opener) was the choice of drink on a Friday and Saturday night, I still remember as a kid working in the drive in bottlo and dad yelling out for 3 bottles of leg opener. I had no idea what he was on about  >:D

Post by: Bird on December 15, 2015, 02:23:52 PM
Isn't that W.A. even now?
Gympie does I think
Post by: stabicraft on December 15, 2015, 02:51:25 PM
As a boy scout I was required to carry a knife.
And we went bush walking without GPS and didn't get lost.
We camped in national parks and didn't need triplicate forms signed by god himself and we even cooked over open fires.

The police walked the beat and even stopped for a chat with my parents to see if there was anything going on in the street that required their attention. This was called policing, back when police were not just revenue collectors.

I could take the girlfriend out for a movie, popcorn and ice cream for less than $5.00.
I complained when petrol was 22 cents a liter at the snowy mountains, when it was only 12 cents a litre everywhere else.

The closest thing we had to mobile phones was a phone box at the end of our street.

Oh for the good old days

Post by: Fizzie on December 15, 2015, 03:09:30 PM
Sadly enough I do remember just about everything here  :'(

Another one - when the families together & there's more than 5 people in the wagon, all the kids sat in the back (& we're all still here!).

Similar thing - driving on holidays & Mum would put pillows on the floor of the back seat so we kids could lie down & have a proper sleep.
Post by: gronk on December 15, 2015, 03:22:37 PM
My mum used to take us to soccer in the Peugeot 203.....the whole team bar one !!

Used to go to the pictures, and even though my aunty was the lighthouse and we had to behave, we'd roll jaffas down the aisle ( remember when buildings had timber floors ! )

Remember when Santa Claus was real ???  ;D ;D         50 yrs ago for me !!  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on December 15, 2015, 03:28:21 PM
Remember when Santa Claus was real ??? 

You aren't trying to say he's not real, are you ???

Hey, we watched "Miracle on 34th Street" just last night & I can tell you that Santa is real!

(& always remember, that if you think Santa's not real, then he won't come to your place!)  >:D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 15, 2015, 03:58:55 PM
Coin pumps for after hours fuel.
Post by: Hewy54 on December 15, 2015, 04:34:39 PM
6 o'clock closing at the pub. Dad was a barman so we go to pick him up and do behind the bar to get a sasparilla.
Our bread was delivered by horse and cart - used to hitch a ride to school. (1964)
First job was in a servo and you could get 5 gallons of regular for $2.25 (10c a litre)
Title: Do you remember when
Post by: aussie9 on December 15, 2015, 05:39:53 PM
6 pack XXXX. $1.50.  Drive in   .30 cents.     Driver kept the 20c for fuel which was 35c / gallon.   
My wage as a first year apprentice was $43 a fortnight.    Take home pay

Post by: scarpsD40 on December 15, 2015, 05:48:16 PM
These were in fashion?

No me neither
Post by: #jonesy on December 15, 2015, 05:54:50 PM
Meat pies could stay in the pie Warmer for hours. Sauce was free.
Dimsims would be in the bain marie
If you wanted to see a TV show you had to be there or miss out.
Post by: briann532 on December 15, 2015, 05:57:16 PM
Do you remember when..............

People used to say please and thank you...........
Post by: sol on December 15, 2015, 06:48:46 PM
Check out this song.

A Different World........ Bucky Covington.

Great words  :cup:

Post by: plusnq on December 15, 2015, 07:01:36 PM
Good one. Thanks for sharing
Post by: GeoffA on December 15, 2015, 07:29:26 PM
BP Zoom for the mower, and Zoom 50 for the outboard, from their own pumps.....
Post by: oldmate on December 15, 2015, 07:33:56 PM
winnie blues were a few bucks
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 15, 2015, 07:44:24 PM
Milk bottles with alfoil caps

Post by: aussie9 on December 15, 2015, 07:49:38 PM
Do you remember when

Governments didn't want to control and restrict every aspect of our lives

Post by: GeoffA on December 15, 2015, 08:25:44 PM
Milk bottles with alfoil caps

...delivered to every primary school, every day, in 1/3 pints...
Post by: plusnq on December 15, 2015, 08:35:42 PM
And hot
Post by: lino6 on December 15, 2015, 08:49:35 PM
Remember when you could go to the river for a swim 2 weeks out from Christmas and there wasn't 30 caravans parked along the sand bar. All empty. All saving their spot for Christmas...

Actually, remember when you could get a spot for camping over Christmas!
Post by: Mongoose on December 15, 2015, 09:04:06 PM
These were in fashion?

No me neither

Trying to un-see that.

Can't. :-[
Post by: Hewy54 on December 15, 2015, 10:17:30 PM
Worked my way through school as a monitor.
2 years in primary school as milk monitor. Put the milk out in class crates until recess, collect and wash bottles until lunch.
First year at high school as bin/furnace monitor after recess and lunch.
Second year as sprinkler monitor. Had to leave class every hour (for half hour) to move sprinklers during summer.
Do not know how the hell I ever got to year 12 let alone pass.
Post by: tracker on December 16, 2015, 04:26:35 AM
And also... ( if you were lucky enough to have some )..coins in your pocket were called ...sixpence....threepence...2 bob...

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 16, 2015, 07:32:08 AM
Worked my way through school as a monitor.
2 years in primary school as milk monitor. Put the milk out in class crates until recess, collect and wash bottles until lunch.
First year at high school as bin/furnace monitor after recess and lunch.
Second year as sprinkler monitor. Had to leave class every hour (for half hour) to move sprinklers during summer.
Do not know how the hell I ever got to year 12 let alone pass.

Sounds just like my school years ..........

Almost  ;D
Post by: duggie on December 16, 2015, 08:33:46 AM
Home loan interest rates were 17.5 to 18 percent, now they complain about a 0.25 of a percent rise.
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2015, 08:35:27 AM
Do you remember when

Governments didn't want to control and restrict every aspect of our lives

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Terry W4 on December 16, 2015, 08:38:26 AM
When the ice for the ice chest was delivered by a chap using a horse and cart with a hessian sack on his shoulder. Then mum bought a Silent Night kero driven fridgy didge.
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2015, 08:42:21 AM
Quote from: duggie
Home loan interest rates were 17.5 to 18 percent, now they complain about a 0.25 of a percent rise.
my old man talks about those days, and going to work with $1.00 for his lunch
I cant wait for things to Shit themselves and interest rates go up to 10%! The look on peoples faces crying about .25 will be priceless
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2015, 09:12:51 AM
When you could walk into a small corner store and buy a REAL hamburger with flavor... and the dude in the shop would know your name, and ask how your parents are (by name too)...

The servo where Beetsons mum used to serve you, and dad would put a massive $5 of fuel in, and he'd let me check the oil and fill it.. :D
Post by: Foo on December 16, 2015, 09:13:18 AM
A carton of tallies = $4.90

A Golden Gaytime = .10c

Potato scollops = 10 for .8c

Fuel = 3.5c/ltr

Could get a bag of lollies = 64 for 10c

A jug of beer = $3.50 and rum an coke jug = $5

Race go-carts down the street and play tenis and cricket without getting run over.

Have the dump man chase you on foot for flogging bits and pieces to make a push bike.

From 65t of anger and getting friggin angrier!

Post by: Fizzie on December 16, 2015, 10:44:53 AM
These were in fashion?

Don't remember the crocheted shorts ever being in fashion!

These however

(http://picture-cdn.wheretoget.it/ajy4vs-i.jpg)

They were definitely in fashion!  >:D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 16, 2015, 11:08:48 AM

Don't remember the crocheted shorts ever being in fashion!

These however

(http://picture-cdn.wheretoget.it/ajy4vs-i.jpg)

They were definitely in fashion!  >:D
yep, my Mum used to wear them.......
Post by: Bobsan on December 16, 2015, 11:14:10 AM
A 750ml long neck of VB cost 38 cents and it also came in 750ml large cans.
Post by: woftam on December 16, 2015, 11:31:41 AM
Having recently had my old man pass away memories of growing up have been strong in my mind lately. My favourites would have to be –

Getting a clip under the ear and a lecture from the old man for sneaking onto the local rifle range to dig through the mounds to get lead to make into sinkers for fishing. Followed by watching the old man get a lecture from his mum about going crook on the kids for something he did as a kid. “that was different” wasn’t a defence. Love my nanna. :cup:

Fishing with the old man and nanna on the river bank next to the abattoir outlet pipe. Watching nanna with a fish hook stuck in her finger, casually push it through, snip the barb off with the pliers and then pull it back through and keep fishing. No fuss, no drama, no 4 hours in ED.

Walking down the main street on a Saturday morning as a 12 year old with a .22 slung over my shoulder to go rabbiting. And where was my old man while I was loose with this lethal weapon ? About a step to the left.

Sadly today the first memory would be child abuse, the second would be elder neglect or some such and the third would probably be child abuse or too dangerous or a blood sport or some other dung.

To the original poster (and all contributors) thanks for starting (and continuing) this thread. Reading the posts brought back a lot of memories.
Post by: edz on December 16, 2015, 12:20:34 PM
You made things from scrounged stuff, like the old fence paling rifles for war games or river oak branch and corrugated iron boats  cut to shape with a tomahawk [ still got all my fingers and toes ] borrowed from the wood heap, a few vegimite  jars from the rubbish pit with a bit of petrol or kero in them and a rag wick for molotov grenades and a few crackers ..  . Just imaginations and not a store  bought toy or plaything to be seen ...   Ahhh the memories
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2015, 12:44:30 PM
Home made billy-carts!

Banana seats on pushys, 3 speed between ya balls! Sissy bars!
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/a4/fb/79/a4fb79f6510501ffa44848d03da88be1.jpg)
Post by: Snapman007 on December 16, 2015, 01:16:54 PM
Dibs on the dragster, way cool.👍
Post by: edz on December 16, 2015, 01:20:55 PM
My boss has got 3 or 4 of these Dragsters, one in totaly restored to original condition and another being done atm ..
First time I ever rode a bike with hand brakes was on one of these in a metalic Orange color, wasnt mine and put us down a steep hill into a 4 strand barbed wire fence, blood n scratches torn clothes and all the kid who owned it cried about was that I'd scratched his new bike ... Go figure . ;D
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2015, 01:22:12 PM
Dibs on the dragster, way cool.👍
There were a stack of them at an old school car show few years back... $500 each they were sellin for in Shit condition.. needless to say none sold!
Post by: Snapman007 on December 16, 2015, 01:50:41 PM
In good original condition they'd be top buying at $500.

Definetly worth more unrestored, to me anyway.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 16, 2015, 02:14:09 PM
In good original condition they'd be top buying at $500.

Definetly worth more unrestored, to me anyway.

There's a Bennett on eBay now for $350
Post by: speewa158 on December 16, 2015, 02:37:50 PM
Can still buy them....

Yep :cup:
Post by: stabicraft on December 16, 2015, 02:58:50 PM
I remember camping the OLD way
A marquee tent 15'x15', heavy canvas and tent poles made of wood.
So heavy that the tent was a roof and walls separate to be able to carry it.
No floor, had to bring carpet with you.
No rooms just hanging sheets across the poles to define rooms.
No zippers, everything was tied up and laced "just right"
Gas fridges that weighed more than one strong man could carry.
Camp beds made of canvas that scheeched all night when you moved.

In all a simple camping trip would require two or more trips with a trailer to get everything set up.

And when it rained, it leaked..........from everywhere.
The floor flooded as it was not sealed and you had to dig trenches to keep the water out.
I remember waking one night when My hand was out of the blankets and it touched water.
The lake flooded and we had 12 inches of water through the tent.

Such fun

Post by: gronk on December 16, 2015, 03:17:47 PM
Home made billy-carts!

Banana seats on pushys, 3 speed between ya balls! Sissy bars!
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/a4/fb/79/a4fb79f6510501ffa44848d03da88be1.jpg)

Any 1/2 decent kid of my era wouldn't be seen dead with one of those things under his ar*e.....50yrs ago it was a cobbled together mismatch type of roadbike ( ah ha, a mountain bike !! ).......even had another roughie made from parts scrounged from the dump for use as a river bike ( for riding and jumping into the river ).
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2015, 03:21:19 PM
Remember when your job felt safe??
Post by: gronk on December 16, 2015, 04:06:29 PM
Remember when your job felt safe??

I remember when I HAD a job !!   ;D
Post by: denidoug on December 16, 2015, 04:22:51 PM
Pay packet with cash and pay slip
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 16, 2015, 04:39:46 PM
When sex was safe and drag racing was dangerous.
Post by: gronk on December 16, 2015, 05:00:59 PM
When sex was safe

Umm......has something changed ?????
Post by: speewa158 on December 16, 2015, 05:50:59 PM
Pay packet with cash and pay slip

Weekly                     ;D   :cup:   :cheers:
Post by: cancan on December 16, 2015, 07:07:58 PM
I remember pre decimal as a I kid and putting 8c worth of petrol in my motorbike...also remember putting in $98 petrol in the car this week and thinking it must be just below half a tank and that oil is the lowest its been in years

Post by: Garfish on December 16, 2015, 07:31:57 PM
A house cost under $100k..   
Post by: Paul (SA) on December 16, 2015, 07:33:27 PM
 Friday night was always takeaway night. Dad would come home from the pub via the local fish and chip shop with a five dollar chicken and two dollars worth of chips. It was enough to feed the whole family of five.
Post by: gronk on December 16, 2015, 07:39:01 PM
A house cost under $100k..

You must be young.......my 1st block of land was $4900 and the 3 bed house I had built was $35,000....I could have bought a 2,000 m2 block, but didn't because they wanted an extra $300..
Post by: Hewy54 on December 16, 2015, 08:39:37 PM
When we moved to Adelaide in 1962 we nearly had a family fallout. My grandmother was disgusted that my folks had moved from Pt Lincoln paying $2 per week for a railways house and moved to Salisbury to a new house where their repayments were nearly $10 per week.
Our first house cost us $30500 in 1979.
We must all remember it is all relative. My first job paid 87.5c per hour, but this would buy9litres of petrol. A juniors wage nowadays of $12 per hour will still buy 9 litres of petrol.
A house costing $30000 in 1979 took 5 years wages to buy.
My latest house at $420000 was about 6 years pay, but a bigger house with many more features.
Post by: DCP on December 16, 2015, 09:44:44 PM
G`day All
First and only house we bought (still live it )in 1974 cost me $ 27000.
First wage packet, apprentice, in 1962 was 5 quid a week ($10 a week for you young guys)
Back in the day we only had a meat safe and things were kept cold in an ice chest, wood stove for cooking and log fire for heating. cloths washing was done in a wood fired copper and a double concrete trough. No AC or even fans just open the windows and on hot nights sleep outside.
In school we all faced forward used pens with nibs and good old Indian Ink, we hand an assembly in the morning and sang the national anthem. Played brandy and red rover all over at lunch time which involved the whole school. Biggest thing was we learnt  respect. Jobs at home were setting the table , washing the dishes and on the week end mow the lawn with a gut buster motorless reel type  lawn mower. Hi light of the week was always the Sunday roast with  my cousins, either at our place or theirs, there were 5 boys in their family so footy ,cricket, basket ball and baseball were played till we dropped. Then after dinner it was time to gather around the dinning table and play card games until the Sunday wireless (radio) serial started then it was silence until it finished .
Great memories thanks for the thread
Beers and Cheers DCP 
Post by: rockrat on December 16, 2015, 09:57:32 PM
I loved cracker night when I was a kid. I would hand pick the ones I wanted at the shop and keep them in a suitcase under the bed.  Used to sneak a few out, wrap them in tape and turn them into burgers.  And bugger me, dad always knew when I had snuck some out.  He acted angry but I actually think he wished I'd invite him along.
Post by: Fizzie on December 17, 2015, 08:08:40 AM
I could have bought a 2,000 m2 block, but didn't because they wanted an extra $300..

we nearly had a family fallout. My grandmother was disgusted ... their repayments were nearly $10 per week.

My Mum often told us that just after WW2, she had a chance to buy land off Bauer St in Southport at 10 quid an acre, but her Dad wouldn't let her "waste her money" on useless swamp that would never be any use for anything. That was the block that they later built Sundale Shopping Centre on ...  :'(
Post by: xcvator on December 17, 2015, 10:34:26 PM
Going to the flicks on Saturday arvo, mum would give you a bob, a zac to get in, a tray to spend ( a bag of lollies and an icy pole) and asked for the change when you got home.

Riding my bike 10klm's with 8 or 10 rabbit traps hanging off of it in the afternoon and setting the trap line, going back on the bike at 9 or 10 pm to check the traps, then again in the morning, and bring both the bunnies and the traps home, clean and deliver the rabbits, then go to school, all for 5/- a pair ( top money then )

When Springvale junction only had a stop sign and a copper after 4pm on Sundays

When it took 2 days to get from Yallourn to Eden for our holidays.

When dim sims weren't invented

When you actually used your hand and arm to make traffic signals

When my mum and dad asked wtf did you buy a block of land out here for, when my sister and brother in law showed them where they had bought a block of land with a war service loan for 10 pounds .Only open drains, no made roads, nearest shop was 3 klm's away, dunny in the back yard. Where was it, Inga Street East Burwood, closer to the cbd than the geographical centre of Melbourne now.

Playing "kick the can" hidie in summer time

When every one carried a knife. Cleaning  rabbits, fish, finger nails, or cutting through a snake bite, you just had one.

Sitting in the "finger stalls" at the pictures when you were older

Being able to eat fish no matter where you caught them

When there wern't any carp in the rivers or lakes

When the trout fishing season opening was a big deal
Post by: Hewy54 on December 18, 2015, 12:38:50 PM
We used to measure temperature in F and the magic number was 100 (37.8 C)
Now we use C and the magic number is 40 (104F)
Just remembering this as we look at the third day in Adelaide of over 40 with 44 due tomorrow.
Post by: Bird on December 18, 2015, 03:09:52 PM
http://www.domain.com.au/news/10-forgotten-wonders-of-1980s-homes-20151217-glpoof/ (http://www.domain.com.au/news/10-forgotten-wonders-of-1980s-homes-20151217-glpoof/)
Post by: Moggy on December 18, 2015, 03:38:55 PM
Waiting for 6.10pm to listen to Dad & Dave on the radio

Post by: Foo on December 18, 2015, 04:10:27 PM
And don't forget this one!  ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NFLIG0iVys0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NFLIG0iVys0)

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 21, 2015, 04:32:26 PM
Some cool old movies back then too.

Two Lane Blacktop.
Running On Empty.
Christine.
Duel.
Orig. Mad Max.

Loads of others too and worth a watch on YouTube from time to time.
Post by: dales133 on December 21, 2015, 05:04:34 PM
from the glass drink bottles we pinched from the back of the shop, then walked around the front of the shop and got the 5c refund;D
I did exactly the same thing????
Post by: edz on December 21, 2015, 05:12:51 PM
Some cool old movies back then too.

Two Lane Blacktop.
Running On Empty.
Christine.
Duel.
Orig. Mad Max.

Loads of others too and worth a watch on YouTube from time to time.
Midnight spares is another of my favourites
Post by: BaseCamp on December 21, 2015, 05:20:16 PM
Or when the capital city TV stations closed transmission for the day by about 11pm-12mn....    Gota love the Test Pattern. .....

In Brisbane....   Channel 10 was called Channel 0 (zero)...  and because of something to do with the frequency - always gave poor reception. ...

Or the original  (wooden and "humped") Hornybrook Hi way bridge into Redcliffe.....

That wad 3 bridges ago.....

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 21, 2015, 05:30:44 PM
The bumpity bumpity bump bridge
Post by: Garfish on December 22, 2015, 05:49:27 AM
Or when the capital city TV stations closed transmission for the day by about 11pm-12mn....    Gota love the Test Pattern. .....

In Brisbane....   Channel 10 was called Channel 0 (zero)...  and because of something to do with the frequency - always gave poor reception
Or in Regional Qld you had 2 channels, abc and another which was like a blend of the others.
Post by: RobM on December 22, 2015, 06:34:15 AM
Teachers threw chalk at you for talking in school or for the favourite students it was the blackboard duster
Post by: edz on December 22, 2015, 06:37:35 AM
The kitchen didnt over flow with every convenience known to exist, just the basics ..You made butter in a churn, home made pressed tounge cold meats / silverside ,  jams and bread,  bench mounted hand cranked meat mincers, killed a beast and hung it from a tree and did all the butchering at home, [ We used to swap half with our Italian neighbours for half a  pig and home made salami's ] , you would go down the creek flats with a hex barrel pump action .22 and shoot pidgeons and parrots for dinner,  Blue annadised alluminium milk jugs,  the kero run fridges and the PYE brand grey oval TV on four legs with two dials on top and a string of antenna ribon nailed to the wall .
Walk 5 ks to school through a track in the scrub accross creeks and paddocks.
Post by: Bill on December 22, 2015, 07:10:01 AM
I grew up on a farm.
I remember carrying buckets of milk to dump into the bulk tank before pipelines.
I remember walking next to the hay wagon in the fields throwing and stacking hay bales on the wagon before kicker balers.
Being 1 of 4 boys in my family I remember Dad renting us to neighbor farmers for $5.00 each a week to get their hay in as well.
I remember doing a couple hours of chores before going to school.
I remember using a pitchfork to unload the manure wagon until we could afford a pto driven one.
I remember pulling one of the front tires off the old narrow front end Massy Furgeson tractor in the winter so it would go through snow easier.
I remember carrying buckets of sap to the bulk tank on the sled in spring time to boil down into maple syrup, again this was before pipelines.
So much more I remember, but thats the gist of it.
Post by: Trailer Bloke on December 22, 2015, 07:13:58 AM
Having to call into my grandmothers everyday on my way home from school to chop wood so she could cook her dinner.
Post by: Bird on December 22, 2015, 07:27:19 AM
Remember when fuel didn't go up days before every long weekend/public holiday and there wasn't this fictional "price cycle" ???
Post by: BaseCamp on December 22, 2015, 07:50:46 AM
What about how the old folks would happily drain off all the sludge out of the Sunbeam electric frypan -- (after that morning's bacon and chops fry up....)...   only to pour it into a hideous looking vat; for reuse on the next fry up; infinitum....

Well at least the fat vat had a 5 micron....  er; I mean 5mm strainer at the top......

Then who had a "slops bucket" in their kitchen - under the sink?....   presumably to preserve the drainage. .....

Post by: Ozsnowman on December 22, 2015, 10:00:53 AM
Or in Regional Qld you had 2 channels, abc and another which was like a blend of the others.

I miss this - I mean it's great having all channels and all, but here in Bendigo we had our own identity with the station. We had our own proper local news (for a while they even made their own national mixed local/national bulletin), sporting events - hell even the Saturday morning cartoons show were a local production. We get "local news" made in Ballarat or Canberra, no other programming at all, not even the local Bendigo cup, which was screened for many many years before aggregation. According to Wikipedia, we were an early TV station too:
Quote from: Wikipedia
The first regional television stations were launched five years after the rollout of television to metropolitan Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth. GLV-10 in Traralgon opened on 9 December 1961 and was followed 14 days later by GMV-6 in Shepparton and BCV-8 Bendigo.

So instead of a local identity, we get hours upon bloody hours of infomercials...
Post by: glenm64 on December 22, 2015, 10:12:21 AM
Getting the cane at school.
6 of the best on each hand.
Ahhh the good old days.

Post by: stabicraft on December 22, 2015, 10:58:16 AM
Remember when movies had story lines.
Didn't have sex, car chases destroying hundreds of cars or special effects so detailed that you can really believe the monsters existed?

Remember buying a wagon wheel and not being able to get through it, not like today when a child can swallow it in one go?

Remember fishing without having to need a licence or knowing 13 million rules and have maps of each and every inch of the lake so you didn't fish illegally?

Remember when Cops were friendly and criminals were scary?

Remember when each and every aspect of our lives was not legislated, outlawed, fines imposed and public servants generated to reap in the cash?

Remember when councils actually did something for the money you paid them?

Remember when new clothes were rare and hand me downs were the norm, brand name clothes didnt exist?

Remember when made in Japan was rubbish?

Remember when we made things in Australia and people were employed?
Post by: Bird on December 22, 2015, 11:03:11 AM
Quote from: stabicraft
Remember when we made things in Australia and people were employed?
struggling to...
Post by: tk421 on December 22, 2015, 11:32:34 AM
What about how the old folks would happily drain off all the sludge out of the Sunbeam electric frypan -- (after that morning's bacon and chops fry up....)...   only to pour it into a hideous looking vat; for reuse on the next fry up; infinitum....

My grandmother always cooked in butter and would drain the leftover cooking fat off and store it in an old margarine tub in the fridge. It would separate and the top used to go a pale creamy colour. She also stored left overs in the same margarine tubs.

I came home from the pub one night hungry, remembering we'd had mashed potato for dinner. I opened the fridge and saw nice tub of left over mash potato sitting there, put my spoon in and took a huge scoop...

and spent the next 20 minutes cleaning up the kitchen
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 22, 2015, 03:57:30 PM
I grew up on a farm.
I remember carrying buckets of milk to dump into the bulk tank before pipelines.
I remember walking next to the hay wagon in the fields throwing and stacking hay bales on the wagon before kicker balers.
Being 1 of 4 boys in my family I remember Dad renting us to neighbor farmers for $5.00 each a week to get their hay in as well.
I remember doing a couple hours of chores before going to school.
I remember using a pitchfork to unload the manure wagon until we could afford a pto driven one.
I remember pulling one of the front tires off the old narrow front end Massy Furgeson tractor in the winter so it would go through snow easier.
I remember carrying buckets of sap to the bulk tank on the sled in spring time to boil down into maple syrup, again this was before pipelines.
So much more I remember, but thats the gist of it.

I'm thinking, you don't have dementia after all.
Post by: Hodgies on December 22, 2015, 04:12:14 PM
Paying the 10c toll on the original wooden humpy hornibrook bridge. Redcliffe
Post by: plusnq on December 22, 2015, 04:19:50 PM
Accidentally swallowing the sixpence in the Christmas pudding
Post by: GeoffA on December 22, 2015, 05:01:08 PM
The Williamstown Ferry, and the old coal fired Newport Power Station.
Post by: BaseCamp on December 22, 2015, 09:49:41 PM
When you would get to Bribie via the Cooper out of BNE?.... 

The Bribie bridge opening in the 1960s ....   had a toll to be paid  (on the mainland end). ...

The guys working the toll booth lived in a little cement block dwelling nearby the bridge. ...

That shed is still there... (boarded up though)....

Rentons Hardware at Bongaree; super crusty white bread baked on the Island; the movie theater with canvas seats; the fish & chip shop beside the jetty with the huge Croc on the awning....  Surfside Restaurant at Worrim run by Hal and Jerry....

Post by: edz on December 22, 2015, 11:04:42 PM
You were 19 and had the responsibillity  of looking after 10 blokes and had the use millions of dollars worth of machinery supplied by the department of defence  ;D
Post by: tracker on December 22, 2015, 11:37:25 PM
Accidentally swallowing the sixpence in the Christmas pudding

Gezzzzzz......You guy's were rich.....We only had threepenny  bits in our puddings.....hehehehhehe

Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on December 23, 2015, 02:35:21 AM
Pounds, shillings and pence, we changed over on the 14th of February 1966.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 23, 2015, 04:07:13 AM
Pounds, shillings and pence, we changed over on the 14th of February 1966.

Some of my family didn't change over until years after that.  :-[
Post by: sol on December 23, 2015, 05:09:00 AM
  Gezzzzzz......You guy's were rich.....We only had threepenny  bits in our puddings.....hehehehhehe

;D X 2 ;D

Post by: edz on December 23, 2015, 06:29:50 AM
Ohh yeah that feeling of crunching a thrippeny bit in a steamed christmas pudding has stayed with me all these years
Post by: plusnq on December 23, 2015, 06:58:42 AM

And I've worked hard to maintain that position ever since  ;D  ;D ;D
Post by: denidoug on December 23, 2015, 11:06:28 PM
When free camping was anywhere
Post by: tracker on December 24, 2015, 03:20:50 AM
When free camping was anywhere

Gezzzzzzz.....Wouldn't that be fantastic to see that again........( dreaming )

Post by: speewa158 on December 24, 2015, 04:36:47 AM
                            Young People today don't realise how Tuff we did it
                                      & Just how lucky they are
                                         Lucky Lucky Lucky

Post by: Trailer Bloke on December 24, 2015, 06:38:44 AM
Saying please when asking for something and saying thanks when receiving something. Note to kids it's called manners.
Post by: robbo1172 on December 24, 2015, 07:33:45 AM

Saying please when asking for something and saying thanks when receiving something. Note to kids it's called manners.

Manners are sorely missing these days, although my kids are great with please, thank you and you're welcome...

Makes me smile every time someone says, what lovely manners.

Robbo...
Post by: Steffo1 on December 24, 2015, 02:23:49 PM
When you would get to Bribie via the Cooper out of BNE?.... 

The Bribie bridge opening in the 1960s ....   had a toll to be paid  (on the mainland end). ...

The guys working the toll booth lived in a little cement block dwelling nearby the bridge. ...

That shed is still there... (boarded up though)....

Rentons Hardware at Bongaree; super crusty white bread baked on the Island; the movie theater with canvas seats; the fish & chip shop beside the jetty with the huge Croc on the awning....  Surfside Restaurant at Worrim run by Hal and Jerry....

Enrights had the Woorim News, Honey was the boat builder just before you got to Woorim & Ian Fairweather lived somewhere around that area. My grandfather was one of his few friends. "Pie" Thomsons home made pies.
I remember queueing up for the opening of the bridge. My sister & I were a bit disappointed that the barge had been replaced.
Post by: Kangaron on December 24, 2015, 04:44:05 PM
When you could launch your boat at Mordialloc creek and the fee was 2 bottles of Abbots Lager for Jack Pompei.
Post by: Foo on December 24, 2015, 08:25:09 PM
When I could drink more than a 3/4s of a bottle of Rum, and not be smashed!  :'(

Post by: denidoug on December 24, 2015, 09:14:53 PM
When you could launch your boat at Mordialloc creek and the fee was 2 bottles of Abbots Lager for Jack Pompei.
When we we're kids we caught bream and gars off Jack's landing
Post by: edz on December 24, 2015, 09:56:20 PM
You would go down to the creek flats with your brothers and sisters with dad and select a real chrismas tree, bring it back and set it up on the verandah in a bucket full of water and river rock, decorated with crepe paper and a few  rolls of twisted coloured foil and home made ornaments ..lit by a few tea light candles ..
Post by: Rumpig on December 25, 2015, 06:37:56 AM
When you'd leave a few tallies or even a six pack out for the garbo's to have just before Xmas...your way of saying thanks for the job they did all year
Post by: edz on December 25, 2015, 07:01:20 AM
Missed our garbo this morning, but still do this, Some of the younger drivers give you bit of a funny look when your standing  at the bins holding a  present .
Post by: jwb on December 25, 2015, 08:52:40 PM
When the Outhouse waste used to be collected?
Burly gents swinging it up on their shoulder!
Crasy Shit!
Post by: jwb on December 25, 2015, 08:53:56 PM
When I could drink more than a 3/4s of a bottle of Rum, and not be smashed!  :'(

Good night v bad night ?
Post by: Ozsnowman on December 26, 2015, 10:06:30 AM

At the cinema watching Star Wars the other day - walked into the loos as a young kid (7/8 approx) was walking out - he held the door open for me, I said thanks to him, and blow me own if he didn't smile and say 'you're welcome'! I almost fell over! I cannot for the life of me remember when I have seen a young kid so polite! A big tick to his parents, good job!
Post by: Kangaron on December 26, 2015, 12:33:01 PM
You could go to the Boxing day test with a rubbish bin full of ice, and everyone took a slab.  :cheers:
Post by: Troopy_03 on December 26, 2015, 02:47:00 PM
When the Outhouse waste used to be collected?
Burly gents swinging it up on their shoulder!
Crasy Shit!

And watching it slop over his shoulder when it was a bit too full... would have to have been one of the nastiest jobs around eh...
Post by: Discoduck on December 26, 2015, 04:18:15 PM
So many memories.
Having to get a girl home before the street lights went out (about 1am'ish).
TV (all stations) finished before midnight.
Guy Fawkes night mentioned already, and I remember even as a wee schoolboy maybe 6 or 7 buying my own crackers from the local hardware store. 1d bangers were the most expensive we could afford. Plenty of empty blocks around then to let them off (we were 5 miles from Adelaide GPO). Used to get what we called squibs, platted little tiny bangers, used to throw half a dozen at the feet of the bread cart horse; jolly thing would dance on the spot but never move off until the bread man got back and yelled at us.
There is absolutely no question that we had far more freedom then than people have today. Complacency allows the FGPs to continue stripping the freedom and rights we and our forebears fought and died for. (FGP = F...ing Grey People - the suited public servants that call the shots but are not voted in, don't know who they are. You get the idea).
Dogs played in the street with all us children. Nowadays a dog on the loose is seen as a bigger threat to our safety than ISIS.

Post by: cancan on December 26, 2015, 05:28:17 PM
I remember working weekends and public holidays and no such thing as penalty rates... that was part of my job and if i didn't want to do those hours you find another job. ..now i go for a walk with the hope of a beer and at one of the local cafes but they are all closed. .only presume it's not viable to open due to penalty rates

Post by: Terry W4 on December 26, 2015, 05:47:01 PM
I remember BEFORE TV was actually here in Australia - 1956 for Melbourne Olympics and then launched in Sydney later in the year.