General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Goose on December 01, 2015, 11:10:37 AM
I'm looking at getting a combo set of cordless drills. 18V brushless. For use around the house/trailer. I am looking at Bosch blue as they seem a bit cheaper than the equivalent Milwaukee and DeWalt 18V brushless ranges and i honestly don't need that kind of quality as i am not a tradie but i do want them to last about 10 years.
First question. I need a driver for driving screws plus screwing/unscrewing fiddly things. This is what i am thinking:
(https://sydneytools.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/1/small_image/210x/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/g/d/gdr18vecbb_1.jpg)
Bosch GDR 18 V-EC BB 18V Li-Ion Cordless Brushless Impact Driver
I want this for driving screws into wall stud (6G and 8G type screws) and screws into masonry anchors. I presume it will do this no problem as its 170Nm torque. But will this driver be OK for screwing/unscrewing screws that don't require much torque? Like the little screws that hold appliances, toys and hobby boxes together?
Second Question. I need a drill for drilling pilot holes. These will be an even mix of masonry, wood and steel. Up to 10-13mm in masonry. To keep costs down i want to get just 1 decent drill that can do all 3 materials. I've found in the past that only a proper rotary hammer drill is any good at putting holes in house bricks. A regular driver drill that has a hammer function in my experience just annihilates the masonry bit when trying to drill into bricks and gets nowhere fast. As such can i get a rotary hammer drill like this:
(https://sydneytools.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/1/small_image/210x/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/g/b/gbh18vecbb.jpg)
Bosch GBH 18V-EC BB 18V Li-Ion Cordless Brushless Rotary Hammer
and still except it to work OK for drilling holes in wood and metal? Or am i completely missing the point and still need a regular drill still for wood and metal. For example if i was hanging a flat TV on the wall i would drill into the stud with the bottom drill (in drill mode) and then drive the 8G screws with the top drill. Am I on the right track?? But i was drilling holes in brick for a wall mounted clothes line then put the bottom drill in hammer mode and go for it.
Third question. Are 3Ah batteries OK for around the house or should i be looking at 4Ah?
Last Question. The above hammer drill has 1.7J energy. Is this enough energy for drilling into house bricks? The previous drill i borrowed from someone was the corded Ozito rotary hammer drill @ 3.5J and it was effortless drilling into brick. I notice that regular drills with a hammer function don't seem to offer a figure for the energy, so i figure its not much.
Goose
The impac driver will do everything you need, most of them have an adjustable torque setting so you can decrease it for finer work, increase it for batten screws and the like. No dramas there. happy to be corrected but the rotary hammer drill is just that, for masonry etc, it appears to have a quick fit sds chuck, so will only take that style of drill but, won't take an ordinary drill bit or a spade bit, holesaw etc...
Skins are pretty cheap these days, so you are best to have a drill and a rotary hammer drill. As far as batteries go the 3.0 ah will do it but 4.0 or 5.0 ah will give you longer run time, this is important with hammer drills, grinders and saws. The other thing to consider is the range of skins and availability, I run the Milwaukee gear for work and have a fair range of skins, grinders, saws, right angle drills, blowers, fans etc. At the end of the day it comes down to use and budget.
Josh
If you only want them for use around the house and trailer, save yourself some coin and go the Ryobi 18+ gear. I have flogged my drills, to the point of smoke starting to come out and they just keep going. Had the drills for just over 5 years now and still going strong. The first 2 batteries lasted just on 4 years.
Cant agree more.....I have these guys and do a LOT of woodwork carpentry etc no issues with the impact driver or the drill. Still on original batteries and I don't look after them at all. Bunnings, really low cost good gear.
I think I'm into year 6 with these guys now....something like that.....
Another option, the new bunnings Ozito 18v power x range of tools. I have the impact driver, angle grinder (my new favorite tool), jigsaw, blower, led work light and whipper snipper. The 3.0ah batteries last very well even with the grinder and they have a 5.2ah coming soon. I've had no trouble with them so far but the best part is the 5 year tool and 3 year battery warranty. For the price, you can't go wrong.
http://www.ozito.com.au/c/63-power-x-change/s/121-power-tools (http://www.ozito.com.au/c/63-power-x-change/s/121-power-tools)
X2, i recently updated my battery drill and several other battery power tools and went with the Ryobi 18 + one range. As an ex tradie i am finding these just as good as any of the major brand ones that i used to run in the past. I did look at the 4ampHR battery but found that it made the drill very heavy to handle when using so i chose two 2ampHR batteries instead. This gave me plenty of running time and the ability to change the battery over while the other one was charging. This then means you have no down time.
X3 or is that 4 for ryobi.
The smaller batteries should be fine unless you are driving hundreds of screws regularly.
http://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-one-18v-2-piece-cordless-drill-kit-_p6210598
I would go with a plug in hammer drill or rotary hammer for masonry.
Andy
x? for the Ryobi one+ gear. Also have a lighting skin I keep in the truck all the time. Good gear for the price.
In bunnos now and they have just released the Ozito power x sds hammer drill as well.
I went for the Bunnings Ozito 18v lithium iron battery drill skin and a battery pack with 1.5ah & a 3.0ah batteries.
Used it a fair bit for drilling and fixing tek screws and its a brilliant bit of kit.
Main reason I went for it was price - under $160 - and as mentioned above, the 5 year replacement warranty on the drill and 3 year replacement warranty on the batts.
Can't remember the brand but there was a drill being marketed during the cricket over the weekend. $ 199 with 10 year warranty.
$299 for the Bosch kit or $100 bucks less for the Ozito with an angle grinder as a bonus and nearly double the warranty.
Can't remember the brand but there was a drill being marketed during the cricket over the weekend. $ 199 with 10 year warranty.
A "Worx" 20v Li-ion from Masters.
Thanks to my wife ;D
Another vote for Ryobi.
Ive had my Ryobi 18+ gear a fair few years and no problems.
My favourite is the fan as it keeps the air in the camper trailer circulating nicely.
I use makita cordless stuff everyday, the impact drill will not have a tension adjustment generally, so not good for small screws as it is easy to bust them, especially as they have a higher rpm than a driver drill
Most of the cheapys will do the job, the batteries are generally not as long lived, and make sure you never partially charge them too
Lots of choice these days
What ever you buy, make sure you get the kit / deal with the biggest batteries.
I use ryobi as well.
Ryobi is only available from bunnings
Makita / bosh etc... Are available from multiple outlets.
It does come down to the range of accessories, and what you want to do.
I've got 2 left thumbs so didn't want to over invest, but did want flexibility to throw them in the car, ryobi have a 12v charger, run a fan (still figuring out how to sneak that one into the house), impact drivers, impact wrenches etc...
Some, like AEG, dont have a wide range...
My Ryobi gear has been good. The chainsaw still surprises when it slices through 6" dry gum. I have the newish $39 Ozito drill for small screws. Again, better performance than the price suggests.
Wow thanks everyone some real good info. I thought the cheaper ones were junk but apparently not.
Does anyone know or use aeg? Only available in bunnings seems an upmarket ryobi and made by the same people.
Hey Goose.
My understanding with AEG is that it's owned and built by the same company that build Milwaukee... Happy to be corrected if this is wrong
But I do know they have a 6 year warranty on skins. Used them at one of my worksites and can't fault it. Does everything it needs to do but I still prefer to use my Milwaukee gear.
Bruce
Have only ever bought the cheaper Ozito up until last year. Needed some heavier gear late last year to do some serious work with recycled hardwood. Burnt out a Makita 18v, Makita grinder, Makita saw, Bosch drill and a Makita power drill when halfway through. Replaced the saw, power drills and grinder with AEG, and tried the Ryobi 18V. All still going strong after completing the hardwood job and an extra 6 months of fairly heavy work on the new house.
Very happy with the 18V Ryobi performance and looking forward to add some of the extras that can be purchased.
I have the older blue series AEG drill and torch. Can't fault the drill but both batteries died quickly. As replacement weren't off the shelf I changed to Ryobi. The new orange series appears to now be stocked regularly and perhaps the batteries are better. A tradie friend has Milwaukee which I've used when helping him on a job. Bit more compact than the Ryobi gear and has "street cred" whereas the Ryobi says "amateur" :)
Off topic, I was doing some work in our onsite van on the weekend and had to use some Phillips head screws rather than Robertons (square drive). Painful!
First question I will ask you is;
Do you plan to use the drill regularly? or will it sit in a tool chest most of the time?
This is important.
I have a plethora of tools and I use them reasonably regularly, but nowhere near as much as a tradesman.
I once bought a cordless drill thinking similarly to what you are now.
I found that when ever I wanted to use it the battery was dead, and after a while it would no longer take a charge that held for more than 5 or 6 holes.
Simple, the batteries need to be used and recharged to keep them functional.
If, as I do, you plan to use the tool less than once or twice a month, go for electric.
The cord is a pain, but the power is ways there and don't go flat (unless you cut the cord, but that's another story)
In addition electric drills are generally more powerful and in some cases lighter.
Just some food for thought.
Goose. Do you really need brushless stuff if it’s only for occasional use? Yes it’s the latest technology, but you pay a premium. The brush stuff is still good. Don’t just stick to Bunnings, outside of Ryobi / AEG their tool range is pretty limited. Check out Total Tools, Sydney Tools, Power Tool Specialists and the like for combo kits.
Ryobi, AEG and Milwaukee are all owned by TTI Group, with Ryobi & AEG exclusive to Bunnings and Milwaukee sold at trade tool outlets. Downside of Ryobi and AEG is limited to where you can purchase. The Milwaukee stuff is brilliant.
18v Impact drivers are fine with small screws, providing the operator is watching their trigger control… Leave the rotary hammer drill for masonry only. You can get SDS chuck adaptors, but they’re too bulky to use for general drilling.
IMO, best bang for your buck in trade quality is Makita. Really good deals on combo kits and a massive range of skins. Some of my stuff is 8 years old now and 3 of those years was daily trade use. The original batteries are still going too, lost their edge a bit, but still fine for occasional use. Dust buster, fan, torches and line trimmer all come camping with me and the quick charger runs off a 300w pure sine inverter no worries.
Having said that, I recently purchased a Milwaukee sub compact 12v kit and its awesome! I rarely pull out the 18v gear now. Outside of 25mm spade bits and batten screws the drill and impact driver does everything and the 3/8 ratchet is super cool.
Do you plan to use the drill regularly? or will it sit in a tool chest most of the time?
This is important.
I have a plethora of tools and I use them reasonably regularly, but nowhere near as much as a tradesman.
I found that when ever I wanted to use it the battery was dead, and after a while it would no longer take a charge that held for more than 5 or 6 holes.
If, as I do, you plan to use the tool less than once or twice a month, go for electric.
The cord is a pain, but the power is ways there and don't go flat (unless you cut the cord, but that's another story)
In addition electric drills are generally more powerful and in some cases lighter.
On the subject of battery life, with my Ryobi gear I bought one of the 6 port charging docks. It always stays on as it charges the batteries then, it turns off for 5 days, then turns on and senses if the batteries need a top up, then off again, etc. Basically set and forget while being very energy efficient. As far as lithium ion batteries go but, you should have no dramas with them holding any sort of memory due to irregular charging.
This is important.
With Lithium batteries you should have no worries. I have a Hitachi 18v Li-on drill that's probably about 4yrs old and it can sit in the shed for weeks at a time without being used. Pull it out and it's still good for a fair chunk of work. Batteries only take about 45 minutes to charge anyway.
It was only the old Ni-Cd batteries that needed to be fully drained and then fully charged, or they would develop a memory when only part charged. With the new Lithium battery technology, they can be part charged, fully charged or whatever without the problems of old. With many brands now doing the "Skins" it is a good way to go if you are requiring several power tools or more, and it is a good idea to have two batteries as well.
I know that it is a clever marketing tool but this one works both ways.
I've got the Ryobi gear and find it great value for the money. I re screwed my whole roof with my impact driver and it never missed a beat. And that was 40 year old hardwood battens. Fully expected it to die but 18 months later it's still going strong.
Cheers, Mike.
It was only the old Ni-Cd batteries that needed to be fully drained and then fully charged, or they would develop a memory when only part charged. With the new Lithium battery technology, they can be part charged, fully charged or whatever without the problems of old. With many brands now doing the "Skins" it is a good way to go if you are requiring several power tools or more, and it is a good idea to have two batteries as well.
I know that it is a clever marketing tool but this one works both ways.
Generally lithium being ok to partially charge is true, I have had issues with a couple losing capacity, so I have enough batteries to allow me to get thru a day without charging, thus enabling me to do it at home ( I do lots of small jobs where I have had the issue of forgetting my charger and leaving it in the power box and having to drive back, I should get an inverter but mehhh)
Keep an eye out on the specials tables at Bunnings and Masters. I picked up a brushless Hitachi drill driver combo for $340 three weeks ago. Deal of the century I think
You have to use the batteries otherwise they will die and become expensive and useless tools
Just in Bunnos again and they have a brushless Ryobi kit there now. Drill, 5.0ah + 2.5ah batteries and charger.
I'd say that's a pretty good price for all of that. The 5aHr battery will be handy if you are using it on a brush cutter or hedge trimmer.
Ozito is to tools what Great Wall is to 4x4s.
Cheap & falls apart at the thought of anything 1/2 serious.
Relax, put the diff lock on, climb another sand dune & enjoy the view.
Interested to know if you've used their new red power x range. I know the old grey ozito gear was a bit dodgy, but I have been flogging the new range gear and its holding up well. And once again, 5 year warranty I it does happen to die.
Another ryobi one user. I bought it for the van to use with the Bos jockey wheel, drop jacks and screw pegs. Only went ryobi for $$$ and it was the only one gnat offered a 12v charger (didn't want invertors) also got the vac and camp light to use the same batteries. Just brilliant and considering updating the old pana and staying with the same range. The only critisism I have of the cheapies in ten drills is they don't spin faster enough! Okay for most stuff but the higher speed makitas etc are better with rivet drills etc.
Also add I see the bunnings availability as plus, there stores are everywhere so if I was caught and need a battery
Another YES vote for Ryobi.I have pretty much the full range of skins and run 3 batteries which are about 4 years old and still holding good charge.
I use them daily for work and cant fault them.They get used and abused and still keep going.
A handy addition is the 12 volt charger can charge batteries from car so have Charged batteries where ever you go.
Another Ryobi user. Started with a drill, then a hedge trimmer and recently I bought a second hand lot from a tradie who had flogged them and then upgraded so I've got a kit of around 15 tools. A couple of the second hand bits were dead, but for amount I've paid I've got nothing to lose with them.
Don't worry about the biggest battery for a drill, I've got 2x 1.4ah and 2x 4ah. The smaller batteries are great for the drill, nice and light, no loss of power and run time is plenty. The bigger batteries make a difference on high speed stuff like the circ saw or blower. Having two smaller batteries for a drill is good, always keep one charged in case.
The other thing I did was when I bought my Ryobi drill I had some old GMC 18v gear that had dud ni-cad batteries. I bought the cheapest Ryobi skin I could find (torch) cut the base off it, grafted it to the gmc battery shell once the batteries were removed. Now it's possible to use the old gmc drill, jigsaw, recip saw with a Ryobi lithium battery. The battery/skin system does lock you in a bit, but not completely.
One thing to add about the Ryobi, I bought a drill kit about this time last year and the charger died a few weeks ago. One of the LEDs would just flash dimly, not like it used to. Took it back to the green shed and they replaced it (as they should) but they did say there was a faulty batch of chargers. They checked the serial number against their list. So if yours is about 12 months old may be wise to get it checked. This is the single battery charger, not the multi battery one..
I have had the Ryobu stuff for about 6 years. Bought it when we bought out first house and doing renos. The gear is incredibly good value and of a high enough quality to last. That being said we bought another house at the start of this year which saw me needing a couple of extra skins so I decided I would get some makita gear too. I decided on Makita over the other trade gear due to the spread of skins they have that are useful to the home handyman. If you can afford it do it! All skins feel great in the hand and have heaps of punch, far more than my ryobi gear. When it comes to things like circ saws the ryobi gear uses odd diameter blades limiting yoir options considerably.
Advice - Buy Ryobi or step up to trade quality Makita or Milwaukee. The Ryobi gear is far from junk and the price gap to the good gear is stuff all especially when looking at skins. To buy the middle ground you are just paying extra for what is really no gain over the Ryobi.
In a moment of weakness on Saturday I grabbed a Ryobi 1/2" impact driver kit. It came with two batteries and I really do not need four.
If anyone is after a brand new 5Ah battery rrp $139. I'll let it go for $100. Send me a pm.
Might sell the charger too if anyone wants it.
Edit: pick up near Penrith nsw.
We have a fair few AEG 18v brushless gear as both hubby and I just really like them. Great power, batteries last a bloody long time in all the tools except the cordless angle grinder (seriously those things suck power but brilliant nonetheless if you're ever stuck and need to do quick fixup job in the bush). For me, I find the aeg stuff to be slightly lighter and not as heavy/clumsy when using compared to other tools. We also have been buying cheap nasty Ozito woodworking tools for camper trailer mods in the garage but those things smoke/get hot after a while. If we were to get serious with woodwork, we would buy better brands.
Only thing like others have said, you are restricted to only being able to buy additional skins from Bunnings (compared to other brands), plus Bunnings never have sales. They do have a lot of floor stock in different combo kits from time to time which might be useful. You can negotiate a discount with Bunnings if you say you'll take your cash to Masters instead. Been there, done that. :)
Masters are starting to sell the Dewalt and Stanley Fatmax gear which are solid. The stanley fatmax power tools range are just breaking into the aussie market so they having decent sales at the mo. Other brands - makita and hitachi are nice but can get pricier. If you do solid work, spend the money on something that will last for years.
We have a fair few AEG 18v brushless gear as both hubby and I just really like them. Great power, batteries last a bloody long time in all the tools except the cordless angle grinder (seriously those things suck power but brilliant nonetheless if you're ever stuck and need to do quick fixup job in the bush). For me, I find the aeg stuff to be slightly lighter and not as heavy/clumsy when using compared to other tools. We also have been buying cheap nasty Ozito woodworking tools for camper trailer mods in the garage but those things smoke/get hot after a while. If we were to get serious with woodwork, we would buy better brands.
Only thing like others have said, you are restricted to only being able to buy additional skins from Bunnings (compared to other brands), plus Bunnings never have sales. They do have a lot of floor stock in different combo kits from time to time which might be useful. You can negotiate a discount with Bunnings if you say you'll take your cash to Masters instead. Been there, done that. :)
Masters are starting to sell the Dewalt and Stanley Fatmax gear which are solid. The stanley fatmax power tools range are just breaking into the aussie market so they having decent sales at the mo. Other brands - makita and hitachi are nice but can get pricier. If you do solid work, spend the money on something that will last for years.
Mate had a stanley fat max drill. Went back three times for three different issues in a month. Masters person said they have a high return rate. Stanley, Dewalt and black and Decker all are stanley brands. Personally I steer clear of them all. Love the AEG stuff. Went through an unergonomic phase. You had to be a contortionist to select forward and reverse and their stuff was poorly balanced (still tough as nails though). All that is behind them now.
Shame they seem to be a bunnings only brand now
That's what I regret about starting out with Ryobi gear. Can't buy it anywhere else, which means it's hard to get it discounted. Ebay often has Ryobi one+ gear at prices higher than Bunnings.
So the trigger brake has just died in my 7-8 year old Makita (160nm) impact driver.
$40-$50 for new trigger or $270 for 280nm brushless 1/2" impact wrench.
Decisions decisions...
Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk
That statement is a load of crap
I have an Ozito impact drill and it's the BEST 1 I have ever had including "Hilti, Metabo and Bosch"
The $ 40-00 battery drill is amazing value, I use 1 for running in 150mm tech screws instead of tent pegs. Just yesterday I dismantled a sleeper garden bed unscrewing 100mm screws that had been in the wood for 3 years with it. For the price why would you go and spend 1 or 2 hundred $'s if your not a tradie, even then these would probably be better value.
If your a brand name snob, sure spend the money, me, I look for value for my dollar spend, and "ozito" gives me what I need and more
I have an Ozito impact drill and it's the BEST 1 I have ever had including "Hilti, Metabo and Bosch"
The $ 40-00 battery drill is amazing value, I use 1 for running in 150mm tech screws instead of tent pegs. Just yesterday I dismantled a sleeper garden bed unscrewing 100mm screws that had been in the wood for 3 years with it. For the price why would you go and spend 1 or 2 hundred $'s if your not a tradie, even then these would probably be better value.
If your a brand name snob, sure spend the money, me, I look for value for my dollar spend, and "ozito" gives me what I need and more
X2 and the warranty is for replacement
Opinions are like arseholes, everyone has one.
My opinion is clear & unlikely to change. These things are cheap for a reason.
I hope you have a good experience with your unit.
IMHO there is nothing wrong with the cheaper brand power tools. The only thing I would be mindful of is using a drill bit larger the about 10mm. The cheaper drills don't like being loaded up that much for too long. In saying that I have also experienced some very average name brand drills too. I reckon it's like anything. You look after it, it will go the distance.
Generally the issue with the cheaper tools is the quality of the battery cells used and the charger technology (charge time), they're usually the first things to die. I'd say there are tons of perfectly good cordless tools gathering dust in sheds because the batteries are dead and replacement batteries not a $$$ viable option.
The other issue is the models tend to change often, leaving batteries and tools non-compatible with newer stuff.
Bought my first cordless 17 years ago. A Black and Decker to help build a shack. Died about 4 years ago so bought a Rockwell. Has done 3 large sheds, 2 extra large verandahs, still going strong. Bought a Ryobi One a few months ago just because of the extra bits that can be attached. For non trade use I do mot see the use of spending a huge amount.
Never ceases to amaze me how aggressive some people get with their opinions.....
Initially I bought a heap of Ozito tools (because I'm a cheaparse) and found that every one of them died over a shortish period, there is a very good reason why the brushed items (jack hammer) comes with spare brushes, they chew through them. The replacement warranty wasn't in force back then (or at least not at my local Bunnings, warranty was honoured in a couple of cases but it was always a battle).
Eventually my confidence in the brand failed and I replaced them with the Ryobi range, to date, have not had a failure and my carpentry hobby hasn't had to be interrupted because of it.
Again, like arseholes, as was so eloquently stated, this is just my opinion based on my experience, I'm sure many of you have had great experiences with the Ozito brand......
Went to buy Ryobi but ended up with Ozito red range. Drill, impact driver and grinder, charger, two batteries and bag for $199. If they die in the next five years it's a free replacement (3 on batteries). That's about double the warranty for half the price. No one warrants stuff for that long if the products have no chance of lasting, I reckon.
Bought a clearance ryobi 18v as a spare spare cos swaggers thought they were ok. Price $60 2 small batteries. Probably will be ok but not nice in the hand. Wouldn't want to be using it all the time.
No one warrants stuff for that long if the products have no chance of lasting, I reckon.
True, but it only covers 'DIY' use and it's marketed towards DIYers, so I guess stuff will last longer with only occasional use. They also probably factor in people losing their receipts after a year or so, also being so cheap some people don't bother returning stuff?
Remember GMC from about 15 years ago? Cheap with a 2 year replacement warranty. GMC ended up going broke because of their warranty. Returns outweighed sales.
Apparently Ozito is now owned by Einhell and most of the new stuff is rebadged Einhell? Might not be the Ozito of old anymore?
True, but it only covers 'DIY' use and it's marketed towards DIYers, so I guess stuff will last longer with only occasional use. They also probably factor in people losing their receipts after a year or so, also being so cheap some people don't bother returning stuff?
Remember GMC from about 15 years ago? Cheap with a 2 year replacement warranty. GMC ended up going broke because of their warranty. Returns outweighed sales.
Apparently Ozito is now owned by Einhell and most of the new stuff is rebadged Einhell? Might not be the Ozito of old anymore?
Daughter's friend dad owned gmc. Loved the fact a gmc biscuter was available for $100 as opposed the prices rupes and festo charged. Changed the market I reckon. I remember he said to me that gmc were the first in the world to put a laser on a circular saw. Now has 707. He loves the fact everything gets shipped to Masters direct from China. No reps. No warehouse. No stress. Just engineers working out what else we need or think we need.
Changed the market I reckon.
Companies globally like GMC certainly changed the market. They put tools in the hands of people that would not normally buy power tools and put power tools in the hands of people who shouldn't use tools... Price, warranty and things like lasers made them massively popular with handymen and tradies. There were tons of tradies out there that loved the stuff.
Now every hardware chain has their own budget tool brand.
The trade off was everyone else had to drop their prices to compete. By either cutting margins, lower quality components and moving manufacturing from places like Japan & Germany to China.
In the end i bought an AEG combo of brushless cordless drill, brushless cordless impact driver (200Nm), 2 * 2.5Ah batteries and a charger. I also got a 125mm 1100W angle grinder with 20 discs. It was $498 from Bunnings all up.
It was meant to go straight into santa's sack but i couldn't help myself, so its all been opened already. I'm happy with the quality and the drills feel really good in the hand. They are light and powerful. The drill has 3 modes (hammer, drill and screw) and 2 speeds. Its good for drilling the holes and then driving screws slowly which is what i needed as in the past i always strip the heads. Doing some tests with the impact driver was great as well. It can drive a 50mm screw into a batten in the blink of an eye.
Interesting to note the 6 year AEG warranty requires that you upload a copy of your receipt within 30 days to the AEG site, which i have done and has been acknowledged by AEG.
I want to thank everyone for all their tips and advice in this thread, has been quite useful to me.
Went to buy Ryobi but ended up with Ozito red range. Drill, impact driver and grinder, charger, two batteries and bag for $199. If they die in the next five years it's a free replacement (3 on batteries). That's about double the warranty for half the price. No one warrants stuff for that long if the products have no chance of lasting, I reckon.
Considered the same Ozito drill set when looking at purchasing a new cordless drill but noted the rated torque was considerably less than the equivalent Ryobi, so went with the Ryobi.
I've brought plenty of Ozito stuff over the years and agree the price and warranty is very competitive. Never had any issues getting the warranty honoured but it's usually Murphy's law that the stuff stops working or breaks at the most inconvenient time - which is really frustrating in the middle of a project.
In the end i bought an AEG combo of brushless cordless drill, brushless cordless impact driver (200Nm), 2 * 2.5Ah batteries and a charger. I also got a 125mm 1100W angle grinder with 20 discs. It was $498 from Bunnings all up.
It was meant to go straight into santa's sack but i couldn't help myself, so its all been opened already. I'm happy with the quality and the drills feel really good in the hand. They are light and powerful. The drill has 3 modes (hammer, drill and screw) and 2 speeds. Its good for drilling the holes and then driving screws slowly which is what i needed as in the past i always strip the heads. Doing some tests with the impact driver was great as well. It can drive a 50mm screw into a batten in the blink of an eye.
Interesting to note the 6 year AEG warranty requires that you upload a copy of your receipt within 30 days to the AEG site, which i have done and has been acknowledged by AEG.
I want to thank everyone for all their tips and advice in this thread, has been quite useful to me.
Good stuff Goose. Now you just have to resist the temptation to expand your kit with skins...
So the trigger brake has just died in my 7-8 year old Makita (160nm) impact driver.
$40-$50 for new trigger or $270 for 280nm brushless 1/2" impact wrench.
Decisions decisions...
Seems Santa was listening. Under the xmas tree, I found a nice brushless impact wrench and two 5ah batteries.
You wont regrett aeg,i changed my gear over to aeg a couple of years back from hitachi and qualities equaly as good with much better price and warunty
Those looking for a quality drill kit for a bargain Masters have the Stanley Fatmax 18v drill and driver combo on special till Wednesday I think $149. Picked one up and the Chuck quality is excellent pretty impressed definetly a cut above the ryobi
The other thing I did was when I bought my Ryobi drill I had some old GMC 18v gear that had dud ni-cad batteries. I bought the cheapest Ryobi skin I could find (torch) cut the base off it, grafted it to the gmc battery shell once the batteries were removed. Now it's possible to use the old gmc drill, jigsaw, recip saw with a Ryobi lithium battery. The battery/skin system does lock you in a bit, but not completely.
Hi Newie
Just found this thread.
I've got both GMC & Ozito gear with dead ni-cad's :'(.
Could you please give us some further details on your surgery, as that sounds very interesting! :D
Graeme
I bought the ryobi torch for about $19, alternatively look for cheap second hand one+ gear.
Disassemble the battery pack from the 'other' stuff, you really only need the top of it that plugs into the other tool, make sure the clip things that hold the battery from falling out of the tool are still included.
Chop the base off the ryobi skin, enough of it so you can still plug in the ryobi battery, keep some wires attached to the bit you chopped off. Shape it to fit inside the 'other' top.
Connect the wires from the ryobi skin base to the terminals inside the top of the 'other' battery.
Glue/screw/tape the 'other' top to the ryobi skin base and you've got an adaptor. I used a combo of screwing a couple of metal straps and hot melt glue to stick them together.
Looks ugly as ... And changes the weighting of the tool, but works.
Those looking for a quality drill kit for a bargain Masters have the Stanley Fatmax 18v drill and driver combo on special till Wednesday I think $149. Picked one up and the Chuck quality is excellent pretty impressed definetly a cut above the ryobi
Good timing. Might pick up one of these.