General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Paul (SA) on November 03, 2015, 10:12:07 PM
It seems this event is getting bigger and bigger each year.
I have noticed on their website they are looking for volunteers for 2016 from 4-6 July.
I would be keen on doing this if I could get to Birdsville with anyone heading up there from Adelaide! Sing out if you are going and want some company on the trip up and someone to share the trip costs!
http://www.bigredbash.com.au/bigredbash/2016-big-red-bash-volunteer-application (http://www.bigredbash.com.au/bigredbash/2016-big-red-bash-volunteer-application)
Waiting for the remaining four artists to be announced.......I'm keen to see one of the four listed am far.
Hay Paul. Yes the event is getting bigger and bigger every year. We went last year and it was awesome. If AC/DC are the headline act expect double the numbers from 2015.
Just put my leave application in.
Just threw my hat in the ring as well for my wife and I. Went in 2013 and really enjoyed it.
I would be interested in anyone's firsthand experience at Big Red - specifically:
Those who camped at the venue; (pros and cons?)
(dust; OTT prices on snacks and food; no comms; rowdy mob?; yobbo elements?; feels safe?; on-venue convenience; remote camping camaraderie?; etc)
Those who stayed at the Birdsville Caravan Park; (pros and cons?)
("civilization"; 240; hot showers; cue for the free shuttle; or a 70k round trip each day; 'town joy'; the pub; etc)
We went this year and had a great time.
We camped at the Birdsville caravan park the night before the bash... Shower, fill up tanks, batteries etc..
Than camped at Big Red for the three days.
No issues with people behaving badly. Only nuisance was the use of generators which is unfortunately allowed during certain periods.
You need to be aware that grey water needs to be carried out and dumped at Birdsville. Apparently they are going to provide a mobile dump point next year. Keep an eye on it...
Camping at Big Red is special and I would recommend it.
You also need to have your own firewood and provisions (esp. Alcohol).
Hay Basecamp we were there this year.
Those who camped at the venue; (pros and cons?)
PROS-----Waking up and looking at Big Red every morning, We could see and hear the stage performances from the camper. You do have a fair bit of dust around the stage area and main road, Telstra setup WiFi next to the stage(we found this out on day 3, but was extremely slow), Making people jealous of my wood stacking and fire (great socializing icon) >:D
CONS----- No where near enough toilets and DONT setup camp near it(feel sorry for people down wind), bring ya own, beware of the wait if you want pizza
Those who stayed at the Birdsville Caravan Park; (pros and cons?)
IMHO, I would stay out of town. Its insane/chaos.
The wife and I have got our holidays in, so will be heading that way with our two girls. Cant wait.
Hey SJ & theins
Thanks for the replies...
I guess the next question on my mind is this:
(All firsthand experiences / replies welcome...)
Budget - (2pax)??
I know the tickets will burn about $740
But what is an approx breakdown in costs - there and back, me wonders??
BACKGROUND
# Brisbane>Birdsville>Brisbane...
# How many days should we allow - including the 3 days at Big Red..??
(My long distance driving is about like this / is about all I can "cope up" - based on past experiences...)
(ie: I am not a strong long-haul driver; and I will be doing all the driving...)
EG-
One day's driving -- Brisbane to Roma was "about it"
(Another example)
One day's driving -- Canarvon Gorge to Brisbane was "definitely about it"
(The longest I've got west is Bne>Roma>Charliville (2 days...)
NOTE - none of these hauls was with towing anything... The trip to Big Red... we would be pulling a 2tn van..
BUDGET
# Fuel - (usually burns approx 14Ltrs?/100 ... open black stuff...)
# Daily snacks budget $?
# Allowance for ex number of pub dinners $?
# Groceries $?
# Allowances for ex number of over nighters in motels/cabins?
# How much extra (per day) to lump on - $50? to cover everything else... laundry; first aide; drinks ;D; repairs; etc; etc; etc...
STOPOVERS // SIGHT SEEING
Recommendations on an Itinerary??
(Where?; Why?; No.of extra Days?; Costs?)
Many thanks
Birdsville to Chareville is a day's drive
Three days drive out there is fairly comfortable, think that what we did.
Clear the credit card
Start driving
Brisbane to Birdsville is about 1600kms in distance Basecamp, and Roma is roughly 500klms from Brisbane... So that should give you an idea of how many days you need to allow for your driving style. 3 big days atleast, but I think maybe even 4 days each way allowing for the fact you might go slower on the gravel Birdsville Developmental Rd.
Hey BaseCamp,
sorry - can't help you with the distances. We came up from Melbourne and for us it was a 4500k round trip.
Cost
- fuel, obviously - we average about 12l/100k with the CT in tow. NOTE - you will pay more for diesel on the trip. At some stage we paid 190 cents/litre.
- As we expected to be free camping most of the time we largely lived out of the fridge and freezer with the occasional pub meal and buying some provisions along the way. Pubmeals (incl drinks - say 50$ a head, then it's up to you as to how often you go)
- I would allow a few dollars for snacks - as we tried to have a coffee/snack in the various roadhouses along the way
- We stayed in the Birdsville Caravan park the night before the concert to have shower, fill up with water/diesel, batteries etc - if you want to stay at the park you should book early - it was frantic when we arrived.
Hope that this helps...
Hey mate... cheers...
I think the Birdsville CP for an over nighter to re-juice is a great idea...
Do they allow you to pre-book a particular space.... and if so, what would be the pick of them?
Shake&Bake BB
Don't know if you can pre-book particular sites.
We had a stroll through the CP when we were up there (always love checking out how other people are travelling) and noticed a few sites along the Billabong, which looked rather nice. Not sure if they are powered, though.
Have to admit that my care factor was limited, as it was only an overnighter in prep for the camping at Big Red (I don't like staying at CPs at the best of times).
Well my Big Red adventure may be scuttled even before it gets legs..
Have been busy selling the idea to the Minister for War & Finance - and she's come back with discouraging comments like:
"I'm not traveling all that way to see a concert..."
"I hate deserts" ...
So I'll try my mate whose working up in Mt Isa next - but the 'issue with that' - is that I want us to leave from Brisbane... (not meet in the middle), plus with the way Glencore is gong; who knows what that future (2016) may hold in terms of a job or booking vacation time, etc... = grrrr
:-[
Very disappointing for you.
Looking back at our trip earlier this years I realised that it was more about the journey, rather than the destination. Whilst the concert was good fun, the highlight for me was the experience of travelling with friends, enjoying the camping in the outback, etc...
Very disappointing for you.
Looking back at our trip earlier this years I realised that it was more about the journey, rather than the destination. Whilst the concert was good fun, the highlight for me was the experience of traveling with friends, enjoying the camping in the outback, etc...
... and sadly that's 100% exactly what she doesn't get... Just mention "dust"; "heat"; "noise"; "perceived yobs"; numerous 'arduous' hours on difficult roads to get to same; etc - and she wants to run a mile.... (She even Googled "Birdsville" to prove a point - to herself...) :'(
She does love camping and vanning ... but it must be the opposite of all of the above... (think Central Station FI)... She "tolerates" beach camping FI... but not in summer... OMG!
Has she been out that way?
B (my wife) does not particularly like the desert either, but because she had not experienced it (we had not been to Birdsville before), she was prepared to give it a go.
I don't think she'd be interested in going back to Birdsville in a hurry - she much prefers tropical QLD.
Dust - oh yes, it is dusty. I had my car detailed and am still finding dust in various places :-[
Noise - other than the annoying generator there wasn't much noise.
People - generally well behaved.
Heat - It is winter - desert gets cold in winter!!! we had a couple of frosty nights along the way. some beautiful days at the Big Red, though. Come 10 o'clock it was warm enough for shorts and T-shirt
Drive - well, for us it was a long drive and probably not something we would repeat in a hurry, as we travelled EVERY day. Depends a bit on how much time you have available for the trip. The gibber plains can get a bit tiring, but in my mind this is also part of the experience.
Anyway - just some feedback from my experience.
Lol everyone is different!
I mentioned the BRB to my wife and she wants to lock it in for 2017, then she says maybe we should do a Simpson crossing while we're out there.
Looking at adding this into our 6 week trip next year. Missus is keen, leave is approved just gotta fit it into our schedule :cheers:
Lol everyone is different!
I mentioned the BRB to my wife and she wants to lock it in for 2017, then she says maybe we should do a Simpson crossing while we're out there.
Indeed - everybody is different.
Driving from Cameron Corner to Merty Merty over the dunes has resulted in a Simpson crossing dropping way down the priority list.... Over two hours driving over those dunes has put the crossing of about 1000 dunes through the desert in perspective.. :D
Looking at adding this into our 6 week trip next year. Missus is keen, leave is approved just gotta fit it into our schedule :cheers:
Do it, if you can - quite an experience!!! So glad we went this year.
Just a question for those that went to the event this year. I have been to Birds Villegas and Big Red on my bike and I'm struggling to imagine how the accommodate the crowd. Is the stage at one end, the services then just random tent and CT allocations away from the stage ?
Hey,
check their website - that will give you an overview.
Attached please see a picture I downloaded from the site and I marked the stage / services area.
It is a bit of first come / first serve regarding the camp sites.
Is the camp on the western side of Big Red?
Thanks Theins. OK first in best dressed makes sense just wasn't sure whether there was an allocation process.
For those who maybe wondering what Bird Villegas is......I have no idea either. New phone and fat fingers. 😊
It's on the eastern side - you don't have go over Big Red to get to the campsite
Rodger. Thanks for that
They are closing Big Red for next year due to the "Children of the Dunes" Access to and from the Simmo is from little red
I have read, that all grey water is to be held and them put into a dump point, that does also mean shower water, from your own showers, or is there showers to use on site??
All grey water.
Showers might be off the agenda unless you have a grey water tank...
I have read, that all grey water is to be held and them put into a dump point, that does also mean shower water, from your own showers, or is there showers to use on site??
No showers on site.
All grey water is to be held(showers too). We Showered the night before the event, Used wet flannel wash for days at the event, Showered after the event.
They did have public showers near the information center in Birdsville. Leave very early
Just a question for those that went to the event this year. I have been to Birds Villegas and Big Red on my bike and I'm struggling to imagine how the accommodate the crowd. Is the stage at one end, the services then just random tent and CT allocations away from the stage ?
I had a pretty good read through the Big Red website last week...
From memory, here are your answers.
accommodate the crowd - it will be random, first in; best dressed...
(Avoid being near the dust and road in; and the dunnies at all costs...)
The camping stage area is on private property that is at the base of BR - This is a dry salt pan/lake - that does fill with water (rarely)...
I think the stage is front centre - and all the campers fan out from there...
Website says: "no camping permitted on the other (western?) side of BR"
We are looking into this for 2016. Just weighing up how we will go with the kids - they are fairly easy going (5&2).
Any advice thoughts?
We have our tickets and are definitely going...........will be the first big trip for the new tug :)
Cannot wait!! Who else is locked in?
We are locked in . Will soon working our trip plan.
Early thoughts plan on leaving Sydney early June explore along the way.
Can't wait.
Jeff
Unfortunately only have 2 weeks......we are going up via the corner country and back via flinders ranges.
We are locked in too. Myself, wifey, 2 kids, mum and dad. Got the confirmation that we have (all, except kids obviously) been accepted as volunteers.
Anyone volunteered there before?
Great stuff, if you see a white ranger with a myswag sticker, say hi!
I'm locked in, two cruisers, 5 mates, heading out from the Gold Coast. First night Friday 1st July Charleville, 2nd night Saturday 2nd July Windorah, 3rd night Sunday 3rd July Birdsville CP. Head to the bash on Monday morning, can't wait it's going to be a cracker of a time.
If you happen to be around where we are, stop in and say g'day.
I'm out. Unfortunately we can't get to Birdsville in time and still enjoy the big loop trip we are doing. We'll probably be at Big Red 1-2 days after the concert finishes.
Might look at doing the Big Red Bash next year and just go straight there and back via Winton, Boulia.
Looks like it's going to be a good turnout.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160324/c41a0823e26a2fc85cd5741929de93a0.jpg)
Well we were all set to go but things have changed and now we have two adult tickets for sale $550 if you know of anyone who may be interested.
Maybe next year.................
Ian, if only you had of posted a few days earlier - would have gladly taken them off your hands. I'm sure someone will snap them up.
re- water in the camping area??
Hmmmmm hope it dries out by June ???
awesome lakeside camping....Ha ;D We are booked in as well. Looking forward to it. :laugh:
Well we were all set to go but things have changed and now we have two adult tickets for sale $550 if you know of anyone who may be interested.
Maybe next year.................
Just sent you a PM.
Are tickets transferrable? Long way to drive and get told we're not allowed to use your tickets!
The 1st photo is from 2007 easter crossing
The 2nd one is from a 2012 june crossing
Not sure if there is any water there atm
righto, well thanks to IanC we're going!
We'll take some stuff out of our trip to make sure we get there on time, but we'll still be coming via the Simpson and won't have the camper trailer.
Looking forward to or first major outing, we have had a couple of practise trips to iron out the wrinkles. Hope to catch up with a few swaggers along the way. Going via the Flinders Ranges & returning via Cameron's Corner
Not long to go now. We will be heading out from Gladstone through Longreach / Winton then down to the BRB. Just need to get through one more week of work.
4 more working days........cannot wait, camper has been serviced, car is prepped, new suspension went on yesterday, just sorting out the packing of the ute on the weekend and we are set like a jelly :)
I posted this on the thread in the trip area about a meet and great.
"Looks like there is some interest in the meet and great so lets make it happen ;D
Lock in Tuesday morning, 10:00 Am.
We can meet between the concert entry gate and the Redarc Plaza.
Those fit/stupid enough can wander up onto Big Red from there @10:30am.
There is a children's activity on at the same time also heading up onto Big Red so we'll just add to the crowd."
See you there ;D
FYI
BIG RED BASH CHANGE OF VENUE- MEDIA RELEASE TUESDAY 28 JUNE
Significant rainfall in Birdsville and Big Red on Sunday 26th June has forced a change of venue for the 2016 Birdsville Big Red Bash. While the rain hasn't adversely impacted the concert and camping site, it has severely impacted the road from Birdsville to Big Red, as well as the access road into the venue from Little Red to Big Red. These roads will dry out and improve over the next few days, however they will still require repair work and have been deemed unsuitable for the volume and variety of vehicle traffic travelling to Big Red Bash site, both in the event set-up stage and during and after the Bash.
In the interests of our patrons safety, as well as the organisers ability to deliver a quality event, the decision has been made to relocate the concert venue to the Birdsville Oval, directly opposite the iconic Birdsville Hotel, adjacent to the Birdsville Bakery and Wirrari Visitors Centre. Other than the change in venue, the Birdsville Big Red Bash remains the same in all other aspects, particularly in terms of the entertainment program and the ability of people to camp nearby.
Camping options are available in Birdsville, including the Birdsville Caravan Park and free camping areas around the town common - there is plenty of space to accommodate everyone. Birdsville will come alive with a great party atmosphere over the three days and nights of the event - quite similar to the Birdsville Races.
Ticket holders can still take a scenic drive out to Big Red when the roads dry up and improve, which is expected to happen quickly, given the good weather forecast from now until after the event.
While the organisers are disappointed at being unable to stage the event at the amazing Big Red site, they are moving forward with a positive attitude. They believe that if patrons come along with a sense of adventure and the same positive attitude, a great time will be had by all.
Decisions like this are never easy, but the safety of everyone involved is paramount, and this change was the only practical option given the road conditions caused by Sunday’s rain. Sincere thanks to the Diamantina Shire Council and staff, the Birdsville community and our dedicated and expert event crew, as without their support this change of venue would not be possible.
While only the venue has changed, we have developed a range of FAQs to answer common questions that we expect people will have about the change. FAQs can be found on our website here www.bigredbash.com.au (http://www.bigredbash.com.au)