General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Topender on October 21, 2015, 10:31:36 PM

Title: Looking for a new tow vehicle to replace the X-trail...$70K max and New!!!
Post by: Topender on October 21, 2015, 10:31:36 PM
As the Subject and Question for the Poll suggests....what would you choose and why?  I know I know, I've been around here long enough to know where this thread is headed but I've been waiting 18months for all of the above vehicles to be released (the mitsi is soon) and will be upgrading in the next 6 months or sooner.

Now the dilemma is the X-trail has and is a great little bus.  It's great on fuel, tows fantastic for a car it's size and believe it or not is quite capable off road in the right hands.  We want a little more luxury and room, better off road ability (especially towing the Swan), increased towing capacity and above all not much more fuel use than we are used to.

Go...flame suit on!  >:D >:D >:D

Dave :cheers:
Title: Re: Looking for a new tow vehicle to replace the X-trail...$70K max and New!!!
Post by: maximage on October 21, 2015, 11:13:37 PM
What about option 5 ... Pajero? More powerful and more direct handling than a Prado.
Title: Re: Looking for a new tow vehicle to replace the X-trail...$70K max and New!!!
Post by: Topender on October 21, 2015, 11:16:58 PM
When they make a "new" Pajero I'll already have bought something else.  I'm after new tech. not ten year old tech.

Post by: maximage on October 21, 2015, 11:21:07 PM
Understandable angle, but as mentioned that "10 year old tech" still has more power than a Prado. And also no DPF. Not sure if the other cars on the list are hamstrung by them or not, but I would take that into account whatever you buy.
Post by: Topender on October 21, 2015, 11:56:43 PM
Understandable angle, but as mentioned that "10 year old tech" still has more power than a Prado. And also no DPF. Not sure if the other cars on the list are hamstrung by them or not, but I would take that into account whatever you buy.

DPF's are nothing to be scared of.  My X-trail has one and as long as you service correctly and drive it as it should be DPF's are fine.  I wouldn't go out of my way to choose a vehicle with one but they are a fact of life now as most new cars have them and like I said I've lived with one for the last 6 years so happy to go either way.  Power isn't everything either.

Post by: noel_w on October 22, 2015, 12:09:26 AM
I would be looking at a Y62 Patrol. Some bargains to be had out there.
Post by: Bill on October 22, 2015, 05:45:18 AM
Come Febuary I will be in the same boat as you.
At this point it is between the Prado and Challanger for me.
I have driven both with and without my camper trailer in tow.
I have also priced both with the specs I will be wanting.
So far the Challanger is ahead for me.
Post by: oldmate on October 22, 2015, 05:48:10 AM

Post by: UIZ733 on October 22, 2015, 06:10:54 AM
New SsangYong Rexton. Will do the job easily. Very comfortable, excellent fuel economy and probably the only 4WD that is appropriately priced in Australia.  ;D
Post by: D4D on October 22, 2015, 06:28:14 AM
Previous model petrol auto Prado would be my pick
Post by: scblack on October 22, 2015, 07:38:20 AM
Topender, why not consider a dual cab ute?

As you know, I just bought a Forester diesel, but if I had my time back I would probably be driving a VW Amarok. If you go for a Highline they are luxurious enough, drive close enough to a large wagon, fuel use is not a massive increase on our size car and even though it has no low range off road use is very capable.

For camping I now see them as near perfect: tow well, good offroad, but prime in my mind is you can just load up the tray with camping gear having loads more space than a wagon and just take off. Much more convenient than a wagon I think.

My 2c.
Post by: gronk on October 22, 2015, 08:05:47 AM
I would toss up between a Everest or a Foretuner !
Post by: rotare on October 22, 2015, 08:15:48 AM
Each to their own I guess, but picking a brand new untested model of anything reminds me of the old saying 'the leading edge is sometimes the bleeding edge'.....

I guess someone has to be the guinea pig for the rest of us  ;D
Post by: Darcy7 on October 22, 2015, 08:26:17 AM
I'd look at the Holden Colorado wagon or the Isuzu MUX.

I test drove the Colorado and thought it was a pretty good mid size 4wd.
Post by: Isuzumu on October 22, 2015, 08:36:34 AM
I think you have probably missed the vehicle that is getting great reviews for reliability, great off road and price, and with $70K to spend you will have a lot for extras. So a Isuzu MUX LST @ below $50K you will not go wrong. We have now done 95K in our D.Max and not one problem, the GRR twice plus heaps of towing.
An article I was reading about all the twin cabs (new ones) this is for 0-100 KPH Ford Ranger 11.1, Navara 11.3 D.Max and Colorado 11.8 Amarok 12.2 Triton BT 50 12.4 and the Hilux, new one a distant last at 13.5. So do not under estimate the MUX with it low 380 NM.
Post by: scarpsD40 on October 22, 2015, 08:43:10 AM

Topender, why not consider a dual cab ute?

As you know, I just bought a Forester diesel, but if I had my time back I would probably be driving a VW Amarok. If you go for a Highline they are luxurious enough, drive close enough to a large wagon, fuel use is not a massive increase on our size car and even though it has no low range off road use is very capable.

For camping I now see them as near perfect: tow well, good offroad, but prime in my mind is you can just load up the tray with camping gear having loads more space than a wagon and just take off. Much more convenient than a wagon I think.

My 2c.
agree, I'm also reading great things about the Mazda BT50's. Apparently a great tow vehicle with the bigger pot.
Post by: Julian Kaye on October 22, 2015, 08:47:36 AM

Go with the Prado. With a few mods and the standard 150 litre tank it is a weapon, and you will plenty of change from $70k
Post by: Bird on October 22, 2015, 08:53:12 AM
Quote from: Topender
I'm after new tech. not ten year old tech.

why?
Post by: scblack on October 22, 2015, 09:18:08 AM
agree, I'm also reading great things about the Mazda BT50's. Apparently a great tow vehicle with the bigger pot.
Yep, my brother in law has a new BT-50 he picked up a month ago and he's very happy with it.
Post by: Bird on October 22, 2015, 09:26:46 AM
Was told the new engine in the new Prado is the old 2.8 same as Hilux - anyone know yes or no?
Post by: KingBilly on October 22, 2015, 09:29:39 AM
Well it's a 2.8 but know nothing of its history.  Toyota do like to save money though  ;D. Took them 10 years to update the Hilux.

Post by: Isuzumu on October 22, 2015, 09:39:07 AM
Was told the new engine in the new Prado is the old 2.8 same as Hilux - anyone know yes or no?

Probably a little different Bird like now Euro 5 instead of Euro 0  :D ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on October 22, 2015, 10:30:54 AM

Probably a little different Bird like now Euro 5 instead of Euro 0  :D ;D
so not a current VW engine then;D
Post by: tk421 on October 22, 2015, 01:02:10 PM

Brand New engine designated 1GD-FTV not the old 1KD in the Hilux. Euro 5 with DPF

http://www.toyota.com.au/news/high-torque-diesel-engine-to-power-toyota-prado (http://www.toyota.com.au/news/high-torque-diesel-engine-to-power-toyota-prado)
Post by: callmejoe on October 22, 2015, 01:09:05 PM
X3.

Go the petrol y62. Ti.(2015 build) has better options then the 2012 build. Drive away under $70,000....

you wont regret it.

Joe

Post by: Swannie on October 22, 2015, 01:53:24 PM
New prado

Post by: Hewy54 on October 22, 2015, 03:47:41 PM
I know that it is leaving it open for all the VW comments, but looking at a Toureg may be worthwhile. As far as I know all the problems with the VW relate to the 2.0 l engine. The Toureg 150 TDI runs a 3.0l engine, towing rated to 3500kg, fuel figures of 7.2l/100kg for a new price of $69,990. May be worth further investigation. ( not my cup of tea as I will be sticking with the old 80 series for many years to come)
Post by: millzzy on October 22, 2015, 04:18:07 PM
Brand New engine designated 1GD-FTV not the old 1KD in the Hilux. Euro 5 with DPF

Obviously couldnt find a manual gearbox to handle the torque so they have to detune the manual  ala colorado
Post by: rotare on October 22, 2015, 04:27:35 PM

Obviously couldnt find a manual gearbox to handle the torque so they have to detune the manual  ala colorado

Interesting Toyota think that 130kw and 450nm is 'stand out'.  Most manufacturers have been achieving that and more from their core stable of diesel engines for a few years now...
Post by: oldmate on October 22, 2015, 04:36:28 PM
http://www.carsales.com.au/editorial/reviews/2015/commercial/ford/ranger/4wd-dual-cab-ute-2015-comparison-54395 (http://www.carsales.com.au/editorial/reviews/2015/commercial/ford/ranger/4wd-dual-cab-ute-2015-comparison-54395)
Post by: Kiwijohn on October 22, 2015, 07:47:22 PM

Firstly I have not driven any of these vehicles.

At the start of the year we made a similar choice to update our 2010 Xtrail, we test drove a number of vehicles in this band including the old Prado and old Challenger. One thing is clear the higher the car the worse the road handling will be (e.g. higher centre of gravity) and it took some convincing for the wife to give up the Xtrail.

From what I understand the Fortuner has old style 3rd row seats that clip up to the side rather than fold flat - this would be a game breaker for me.

In the end our choice came down to the MuX and Colorado7 - I preferred MuX (more truck like ride) and wife liked Colorado7 (more car like, but still worse than Xtrail).

We ended up with with the Colorado7  :laugh:

That said I am very happy with the choice and it would be my first choice next time.

It was good being able to play Holden and Isuzu off against each other to save plenty and get things thrown in - we brought the top model (leather etc) and you should be able to get $25k change from $70k.

Enjoy the test driving and then the game of buying, there are plenty of options out there.

John

Post by: Bird on October 22, 2015, 07:54:03 PM
I cant wait till then get to 1/5th litre engines with 45 letters designating it, and throw on... oh say 50 turbos on them for reliability and power...

Bring on the future.
Post by: plusnq on October 22, 2015, 08:00:23 PM
You are forgetting they will have negative emissions and remove harmful gases from the atmosphere. Well when the test is running that is

;D ;D ;D

Maybe even produce oil as a side effect of operation. Oh hang on, Landrover have that one covered already  :cheers:
Post by: dales133 on October 22, 2015, 08:06:57 PM
You are forgetting they will have negative emissions and remove harmful gases from the atmosphere. Well when the test is running that is

;D ;D ;D

Maybe even produce oil as a side effect of operation. Oh hang on, Landrover have that one covered already  :cheers:
Like Jeremy  clarkson said, they spent millions of dollars designing probably the best 4x4 power to weight ratio and handling (about the earlier range rover )
Then built it in the midlands!
Post by: Topender on October 22, 2015, 10:02:50 PM
Great feed back so far everyone.  I think the Patrol is a massive overkill and has two major faults for me a) it's petrol only and this one is the killer b) it's a Nissan.  Having to deal with Nissan is the biggest pain in the arse and never again.  I know all brands have issues it's how the dealer(s) works with you and not against you like Nissan has done with us in the past.

Second on the list of negative vehicles is The Isuzu both Mu-x and the ute.  I didn't like the finish or the ride (no offence just not what I'm after). My parents have a ute and I wouldn't go that way personally having seen the dust and water issues that utes naturally have and generally the ride in them is agricultural at best although I haven't been in the new Hilux.  The Ranger and new Navara (bloody Nissan) are quite impressive though having been in both.

So basically at this stage (not completely) Utes are out and it has to be Diesel.  The VW Toureg was mentioned by Hewy and has actually been a vehicle I've been looking at too along with the Audi Q5.  Initial cost and cost of ownership is probably the killer for both of these.  VW is struggling so might be able to get a bargain though  >:D

Keep the feed back coming everyone and Bird new tech is just the way of the future...VHS and cassettes are dead! (new tech is why vehicles like I'm looking at have the power and minimal fuel use that they have)

Post by: Topender on October 22, 2015, 10:05:01 PM
This post is just so I can finally get 500 posts  :cup:
Post by: Beachman on October 23, 2015, 07:28:34 AM
I personally wouldn’t buy a new Patrol because if they can’t sell them new, then your going have to expect to cop a massive loss when you sell/trade it in.

My neighbour just signed up for a new Amarok and got $16K off the recommended price as the dealer admitted sales are dead. So if your keen on a  Toureg then now is the time to enquire.
Post by: scblack on October 23, 2015, 07:32:10 AM
On the Touareg. My last year retired Director at work has a Touareg, probably 2006-2008 model. A few months ago he had issues with the aircon. It cost him $4,500 to repair, so as you mention being European you have to bump up the service/maintenance costs. Bloody nice car though.
Post by: Bird on October 23, 2015, 08:08:42 AM
Google 'touareg gearbox problems'

http://www.mytreg.com/index.php?/topic/10163-buying-a-used-touareg-what-to-look-for/ (http://www.mytreg.com/index.php?/topic/10163-buying-a-used-touareg-what-to-look-for/)
hese are not budget Cars
 Touaregs were expensive when new and they can be very expensive to repair. These are not cars for someone on a tight budget. Engines and gearboxes can run away with £5,000 each. The V10 engine costs over £10,000 and it takes 30 hours to remove and replace it.
 There are next to no VW specialists serving the Touareg community. There are plenty for your Polo, Golf or Passat, but definitely not for the Touareg [some don't even have car lifts man enough to lift 2.5 tons] so you are probably going to be in the hands of main dealers and their labour rates. But even here there are few dealers recommended for their Touareg knowledge but at least they may have the right tools to do the repairs!
 Unlike Land Rover where you have an excellent choice of independents AND alternative sources for parts, with the Touareg most of the bits have to be sourced from VW and you can either pay dealer prices [sometimes things are very reasonable, sometimes not!] or use one of the motor factors who offer decent discounts.
 And don't think that if you are buying new or nearly new, VW dealers are going to roll out the red carpet as you buy one of their top of the range cars. They don't. And VW GB don't give a sh"t either even if you have a serious problem with a brand new car!

Post by: tk421 on October 23, 2015, 08:31:07 AM
I actually went from an Xtrail to a Prado. If I was looking again I'd be looking at the Fortuner as well. They've been out in the US and other regions for a while. Australia has come late to the party.

The Fourtner is in the Colorado, MUX and Challenger territory. Ford are pitching the Everest as a Prado competitor. I've been put off Ford and their build quality with my wife's Fiesta experience. The mirror control knob fell off as we drove it out the showroom. 2 gearbox and 1 seatbelt replacements and one steering column knock fixed in 3 years from a brand new car.  I've had to replace one seal on my 2008 Prado after 3 years and 40,000km. I'm never buying a Ford again  (various other family members have had similar issues over the years so its not just based on one experience)

After that it depends on your needs. Fortuner is based on the Hilux chassis but uses Prado front suspension and coil rears so it's pedigree is good. The slightly higher tow capacity over the prado is attractive too.  The factory diff lock is also appealing on the Fortuner if you want to get into the rough stuff. Though the Prado's traction control is almost as good as a diff lock in getting you places you need to go.   But the 180Litre tank on my Prado is awesome. Having fold flat rear seats loses you 30litres in the 150 series prado.   I haven't seen the Fortuner in the flesh but if the rear seats are like my Prado then they pop out in less than a minute. Having fold up rear seats has never worried me. Shame about the Fortuner's rear though. FUGLY.

Post by: rotare on October 23, 2015, 09:13:35 AM
But the 180Litre tank on my Prado is awesome

Maybe I'm missing something, but what's the fixation with a huge fuel tank?

Unless you're traversing the Simpson desert everyday to work, or every time you go on holidays, when do you actually need to carry 180L of fuel?  Most places I've travelled to around Australia where it's considered 'remote' there's usually fuel stops every 200/300km. The reality is if you're doing long hauls you have to stop occasionally anyway - toilet breaks, stretch the legs, check the trailer.  For me it's not really an inconvenience having to pull into a servo and topping up the tank after travelling 500km non-stop.

I've a couple of mates who own Prado's with the 'big' tanks, and the irony is none of them fill them up very often cause they reckon it's a waste lugging around all that fuel!  They'd probably be better off with a fuel tank half the size! 
Post by: tk421 on October 23, 2015, 12:57:33 PM
Maybe I'm missing something, but what's the fixation with a huge fuel tank?

Unless you're traversing the Simpson desert everyday to work, or every time you go on holidays, when do you actually need to carry 180L of fuel?  Most places I've travelled to around Australia where it's considered 'remote' there's usually fuel stops every 200/300km. The reality is if you're doing long hauls you have to stop occasionally anyway - toilet breaks, stretch the legs, check the trailer.  For me it's not really an inconvenience having to pull into a servo and topping up the tank after travelling 500km non-stop.

I've a couple of mates who own Prado's with the 'big' tanks, and the irony is none of them fill them up very often cause they reckon it's a waste lugging around all that fuel!  They'd probably be better off with a fuel tank half the size!

Not having to carry extra Jerry Cans of fuel when we go somewhere remote. 4 jerry can holders on the camper = 80 litres more water
Sydney to Dubbo and back without refuelling - just cause I can.
Paying for fuel at Alice springs either end of an Uluru trip and not at Yulara resort so not paying the extortionate fuel prices
Being able to fill up in major towns and not road houses - 10c differences in fuel make a big difference in a 180L tank
Fill up Harrietville then head up in the Vic High Country for a week of driving and return to Harrietville without having to make the hour round trip to refuel 
Fill up on the mainland, drive over to Fraser and not worry for the rest of the week about fuel stops - fill up again back on the mainland
I fill up around Sydney every 4-6weeks so I can wait for the cheap prices and/or take advantage of shopper dockets to get 20c off fuel - 180 litres @20c cheaper saves me $30+ a tank. I don't buy into the lugging around the extra fuel argument. The car gets driven almost every day so fuel is pumping through the system so little chance of algal growth
We go to a campsite every xmas for 2-3 weeks that has a lot of 4wding around it. Its 15km to the nearest road/house servo and fuel is 10c more expensive, or its 30mins to the nearest town to get fuel so again one less thing to worry about.
We drive to the south coast every month or so. I can fill up at the bottom of the cycle and then do the 700km on single tank  at Sydney not rural prices.

Would it kill me not to have the large tank? No, but its nice.

Post by: Julian Kaye on October 23, 2015, 01:14:00 PM
 Interesting topic. As a new vehicle buyer in the last eight months and after a lot of research I went for a 150 GX Prado. Thats not to say there aren't other good trucks out there and I really liked the Isuzus. The conclusions I came up with were:

* Go Japanese, avoid Europeans.
  * There are lies, damned lies and then there are power and torque figures.
  * Fuel capacity IS important. It's nice to pick the place of purchase and it takes the doubt out of "have I got enough to get there?" I have learnt the hard way
  * Availability of after market gear is important and makes life so much easier
  * I was set on a ute but did the figures and by the time you add a canopy, suspension (essential)
and long range tank, the cost savings in a ute were gone

One final point, drive 500 kms from a capital city and have a look at what people drive. There is your answer
Post by: Bird on October 23, 2015, 01:50:00 PM
Quote from: Julian Kaye
   One final point, drive 500 kms from a capital city and have a look at what people drive. There is your answer
what dual cab utes and cruiser/patrol utes ???
Post by: scblack on October 23, 2015, 01:56:44 PM
Why? I live in a capital city.
Post by: Beachman on October 23, 2015, 03:02:43 PM
what's the fixation with a huge fuel tank? 

I have 150L tank and admit I rarely fill it up totally, but when we spend a week at Fraser or Moreton Island the large tank is invaluable as it gives me the range to explore the island without having to worry about buying or carrying fuel. Yes you can buy fuel on the Islands, but it comes at a premium price, plus previously having to pay for a fuel pump rebuild, I’m now very picky from where I buy fuel.

Other good thing about a large tank is the grocery shopper docket as when we get a 8 or 10 cent discount, it makes a difference.
Post by: SUPA105 on October 23, 2015, 04:21:04 PM
We have been Toyota through and through.....not anymore  >:D MUX LST and add after market suspension fixes any short falls in ride and handling then add a LR tank for towing and your still way under your $70K with 5 years warranty added in.

Post by: Steffo1 on October 23, 2015, 05:55:52 PM
One thing that hasn't been mentioned is, what sort of terrain are you looking at travelling? Do you need  something in the Prado class which will get you a little further "Off road" than, say, an XTrail? A lot of rigs I've seen over my travels have been way over the top for where, after talking to the owners, they were intending to go.
Good luck with your dilemma & I'm sure you'll make the decision to suit.
Post by: GeoffA on October 23, 2015, 06:10:08 PM
........new tech is just the way of the future......

Nope. New tech is the present, not the future.

Even old tech was new tech once........

"simplicitas est pulchritudo"

Post by: Jakster1 on October 23, 2015, 06:56:48 PM
How long do you expect to keep your new car? If it's longer than the warranty period I would seriously consider buying a petrol model. The amount of "new" diesel vehicles that have major engine issues around the 200,000k mark and even less is rediculous. And the way they meet emissions regulations means that they gunk themselves to a slow but sure death unless additional (not in the logbook) preventative maintenance is done.
The cars that I would look at if buying new is a Disco 4, Prado or cruiser 200, Y62 patrol even a new FJ.
Diesel is overrated, most people don't need it especially if City bound for most it's life.
Post by: Hews on October 23, 2015, 07:54:12 PM
We are in the same boat at the moment looking to upgrade.

There are pleanty of great SUVs out there and all have their pros/cons and it all depends on youre needs. Everyone will have different opinions on whats best based on their criteria but at the end of the day whats best for you depends on youre needs.

We identified what was important to us and compared from there.

At the moment the Everest is winning for us (currently have 120 prado)  but havent locked it in yet because havent test drove them all. We found what looks good on paper doesnt always work out that way when sitting in and driving
Post by: AdrianLR on October 23, 2015, 08:29:50 PM
Shame you've ruled out Nissan (but I can understand the reasons - I've had poor service in the past from Nissan, but equally poor from Mitsubishi and Landrover). We are delighted with a Y62. As to someone's comment above re sales, there is now a waiting list stretching into next year as more people actually drive one rather than just relying on forum gossip or "a friend of my brother in the pub said...." and understand the value the vehicle represents. Fuel use so far is 1.5 - 2 L/100km greater than our 3L Patrol under similar conditions, including towing 2T.
Post by: SenojNW on October 23, 2015, 10:49:41 PM
Current Santa Fe is a great car but the ball weight is a major downside. Even with the load assist kit it's limited to 150kg.

Toyota Fortuner is about to be released - I'd be looking at that

Post by: Julian Kaye on October 24, 2015, 05:24:48 AM
Why? I live in a capital city.

Because that is where vehicles are used for their purpose of design and reliability.
Post by: Isuzumu on October 24, 2015, 07:53:56 AM
We have been Toyota through and through.....not anymore  >:D MUX LST and add after market suspension fixes any short falls in ride and handling then add a LR tank for towing and your still way under your $70K with 5 years warranty added in.

The suspension in the Pardo is no better than the one in the MUX, so to do any serious off road stuff you will have to up date the Pardos to. Oh Dave some thing you probably don't know is the auto box in the Isuzus is the same as the one in the 150 Pardo. So people who knock the Isuzu should do some research and look up Bruce Garland and see what they do with their Isuzus.
Post by: two up on October 24, 2015, 03:44:04 PM
The suspension in the Pardo is no better than the one in the MUX, so to do any serious off road stuff you will have to up date the Pardos to. Oh Dave some thing you probably don't know is the auto box in the Isuzus is the same as the one in the 150 Pardo. So people who knock the Isuzu should do some research and look up Bruce Garland and see what they do with their Isuzus.
Comparing the Isuzu Bruce Garland  drives is like comparing Craig Lowndes v8 supercar to commodore.
Post by: Topender on October 24, 2015, 05:16:22 PM
Comparing the Isuzu Bruce Garland  drives is like comparing Craig Lowndes v8 supercar to commodore.

lol that's gold  :cup:  You said what I was thinking!  Personally I don't want to buy a $60k plus car and have to modify it  >:D  what I buy I want to be happy to live with at least for a while stock standard and like I said the Isuzu is not for me regardless if it's cheaper plus mods.  Drove them both wasn't impressed.

Post by: GeoffA on October 24, 2015, 05:23:06 PM
.......Personally I don't want to buy a $60k plus car and have to modify it  >:D  what I buy I want to be happy to live with at least for a while stock standard........

Good luck with that, Topender.
Post by: Isuzumu on October 24, 2015, 08:13:27 PM

I was more referring to the motor and running gear if you can read gees sdh
Post by: Isuzumu on October 24, 2015, 08:15:03 PM
Good luck with that, Topender.
Your dead right Geoff he should just go and buy another X.Trail or may a Jeep  :D ;D
Post by: two up on October 24, 2015, 08:48:08 PM
I was more referring to the motor and running gear if you can read gees sdh
If you are talking about the prado and mux being similar I agree, but if your talking about Bruce Garlands truck my previous comment stands.
Post by: chisel on October 24, 2015, 10:02:00 PM
Based on your criteria I would definitely have Prado in front unless you really like all the bells and whistles ... in which case a Prado will be over $70k I think.
Next in line is surely a Fortuner or Everest.  They are both brand new models.  Problem might be getting any discount on a Fortuner for the next 6-12 months.  Or even managing to get one at all.  I reckon you'd get hold of an Everest ok but it would plummet in value about $10-15k after driving it home.
Post by: Topender on October 24, 2015, 10:15:17 PM
Based on your criteria I would definitely have Prado in front unless you really like all the bells and whistles ... in which case a Prado will be over $70k I think.
Next in line is surely a Fortuner or Everest.  They are both brand new models.  Problem might be getting any discount on a Fortuner for the next 6-12 months.  Or even managing to get one at all.  I reckon you'd get hold of an Everest ok but it would plummet in value about $10-15k after driving it home.

Yeah the Prado has always been an attractive buy, but the new version (engine & gearbox) is a bit of an un known at this stage.  I would love an Everest but will wait to see what happens with their pricing before committing.  And Ford quality and service is a grey area for me (you hear good and bad from all makes though).  Think it will plummet in price once the Fortuner becomes available although as you said the Fortuner will sell out pretty quick.

Post by: McTavish on October 25, 2015, 12:02:42 AM
12 months ago we were in a similar position.   Feels like you are going through the same issues.

Had the previous Subaru Forester (petrol) and IMO the package just didn't have longevity towing the camper and the room for all the usual family 'stuff', plus options for dual battery etc.  (New Forester diesel auto looks good but still mid size for a family.  Wish Subaru had a decent big vehicle to go to - they don't so other choices?   

Interesting the Petrol V Diesel points but I like most tend to forget about the initial purchase cost and am very interested in day to day mileage and torque for towing - so diesel it is for us for a big vehicle. 

Ford - main concern was depreciation (used to own a Falcon) and scarred for life.   Still makes me cringe every time a Ford ad comes on with their end of whatever excuse sales. (read Holden too)
Mitsubishi - maybe unfairly judged as these days they have really picked up their act - but I've tarred them with the old Sigma, Magna, 380 reliability.  Yes stung with a couple of these in my time too.
Nissan - petrol only and yes those with the new Patrol rate them.
Toyota - not as unbreakable as they promote, but they are still pretty good and very few lemons.  Most vehicles sold so you have to admit they wouldn't have this position without doing something right.
Isuzu - bit of an unknown quantity being a new model - for us at the time as only out a few months - but reliability of the engine and transmission seem to the selling points given the truck engineering.   So we drove a Mux with then intention to buy if we were happy with it compared to a Prado.    And truck like it was with interior design pretty good and a nice deep boot area even with the funny floor area raised due to the fold under seats.  But then the price for the model with roof rails (and hence able to place roof racks) was the top of the line only (at that time) so were looking at $55k.  I think when they update to their next series they will have improved big time in the refinement stakes I'm predicting.

Then, same day we drove a Prado GXL to compare and the Prado was ordered... Of course it didn't handle like the Sooby but it is pretty quiet for road/wind noise, impressive turning circle for a big car for parking and has really strong brakes - so for the 90% of its time being used as a family ride it ticked most the boxes for us..   And of course has a huge range of accessories.   I tow the camper with more confidence given its extra weight and torque to what I was used to.  Still miss the Subaru handling though...

Moral of the story - set aside the time and drive them - you'll see yourself favouring one over the other depending on YOUR expectations....  Looking at the specs and seeing a few reviews of the Fortuner I think we would of had a harder time with the decision but the pricing for the Fortuner is not that dissimilar to the Prado so my guess is we'd opt for the Prado still??

All the best with your decision.

Post by: oldmate on October 25, 2015, 08:26:14 AM
  Personally I don't want to buy a $60k plus car and have to modify it  >:D

Buy a y61 and just drive it. Could even spend a few hundred and just put heavy springs in the rear to help with towing

Post by: Topender on October 25, 2015, 02:42:39 PM
12 months ago we were in a similar position.   Feels like you are going through the same issues.

Had the previous Subaru Forester (petrol) and IMO the package just didn't have longevity towing the camper and the room for all the usual family 'stuff', plus options for dual battery etc.  (New Forester diesel auto looks good but still mid size for a family.  Wish Subaru had a decent big vehicle to go to - they don't so other choices?   

Interesting the Petrol V Diesel points but I like most tend to forget about the initial purchase cost and am very interested in day to day mileage and torque for towing - so diesel it is for us for a big vehicle. 

Ford - main concern was depreciation (used to own a Falcon) and scarred for life.   Still makes me cringe every time a Ford ad comes on with their end of whatever excuse sales. (read Holden too)
Mitsubishi - maybe unfairly judged as these days they have really picked up their act - but I've tarred them with the old Sigma, Magna, 380 reliability.  Yes stung with a couple of these in my time too.
Nissan - petrol only and yes those with the new Patrol rate them.
Toyota - not as unbreakable as they promote, but they are still pretty good and very few lemons.  Most vehicles sold so you have to admit they wouldn't have this position without doing something right.
Isuzu - bit of an unknown quantity being a new model - for us at the time as only out a few months - but reliability of the engine and transmission seem to the selling points given the truck engineering.   So we drove a Mux with then intention to buy if we were happy with it compared to a Prado.    And truck like it was with interior design pretty good and a nice deep boot area even with the funny floor area raised due to the fold under seats.  But then the price for the model with roof rails (and hence able to place roof racks) was the top of the line only (at that time) so were looking at $55k.  I think when they update to their next series they will have improved big time in the refinement stakes I'm predicting.

Then, same day we drove a Prado GXL to compare and the Prado was ordered... Of course it didn't handle like the Sooby but it is pretty quiet for road/wind noise, impressive turning circle for a big car for parking and has really strong brakes - so for the 90% of its time being used as a family ride it ticked most the boxes for us..   And of course has a huge range of accessories.   I tow the camper with more confidence given its extra weight and torque to what I was used to.  Still miss the Subaru handling though...

Moral of the story - set aside the time and drive them - you'll see yourself favouring one over the other depending on YOUR expectations....  Looking at the specs and seeing a few reviews of the Fortuner I think we would of had a harder time with the decision but the pricing for the Fortuner is not that dissimilar to the Prado so my guess is we'd opt for the Prado still??

All the best with your decision.

Wow...very thorough and I appreciate the time you took.  We too own a Subaru Outback and that will be going too to make way for a new smallish car for the wife (I'll probably use it as a commuter car for work though)  The Fortuner should be available to drive this week so it will be good to drive it back to back with the Prado.  The new engines and gearboxes are still an unknown.  We happen to know two people who are sales managers for two separate Toyota dealers, so that will hopefully help.  Friends have used them in the past and have been very happy.  Thanks again

Post by: topcat on October 25, 2015, 03:51:39 PM
I have a Fortuner for the weekend and normally drive a manual Prado. However, the 2.8 engine and auto transmission combo are so good that I'm considering changing to an auto next time round. I haven't had the opportunity to drive off road but reckon it's a great drive on-road. Physically not as big as the Prado itself but not far off.
TC

Disclaimer - I work for Toyota Australia and any opinions expressed on MySwag are mine and do not represent those of Toyota.
Post by: Topender on October 26, 2015, 07:51:07 PM
I have a Fortuner for the weekend and normally drive a manual Prado. However, the 2.8 engine and auto transmission combo are so good that I'm considering changing to an auto next time round. I haven't had the opportunity to drive off road but reckon it's a great drive on-road. Physically not as big as the Prado itself but not far off.
TC

Disclaimer - I work for Toyota Australia and any opinions expressed on MySwag are mine and do not represent those of Toyota.

Thanks for the comparison...I usually drive manuals, so it's nice to hear your feed back about the auto.  How would you say the on road handling compares to your Prado?  Considering it will spend 95% of it's time on the black top it's on road manners are fairly important.

Post by: topcat on October 26, 2015, 09:50:42 PM
Thanks for the comparison...I usually drive manuals, so it's nice to hear your feed back about the auto.  How would you say the on road handling compares to your Prado?  Considering it will spend 95% of it's time on the black top it's on road manners are fairly important.

I'm not in the tech end  :D - Just felt a bit tighter than the Prado, not as much body roll. Probably a factor that it's not physically as big. Brakes were good and steering felt direct. Nothing adverse that I could feel.
TC
Post by: McTavish on October 26, 2015, 11:31:42 PM
Just noticed this article from last week.

http://www.carsales.com.au/editorial/reviews/2015/toyota/fortuner/toyota-fortuner-crusade-2015-review-100024 (http://www.carsales.com.au/editorial/reviews/2015/toyota/fortuner/toyota-fortuner-crusade-2015-review-100024)
Post by: GeoffA on October 27, 2015, 05:10:34 AM
........Brakes were good and steering felt direct........

This is something that a lot of newer cars miss out on.......feel.......

All the electronic involvement in throttle/steering/braking puts the driver further away from whats' actually happening.

It spoils the drive for me....

Post by: scblack on October 28, 2015, 08:15:12 AM
This is something that a lot of newer cars miss out on.......feel.......

All the electronic involvement in throttle/steering/braking puts the driver further away from whats' actually happening.

It spoils the drive for me....

Yep, I agree.

I hate missing the feel of:
 - every single ripple on the road
 - feeling and hearing the rattle of loose bolts
 - the feel of poking my finger through rusted metal
 - the feel of picking up bits of trim that fell off
 - the feel of steering that needs half a turn before tyres move
 - feeling the thump of poorly damped suspension
 - the feeling of looking at the road through the hole in the floor of the car
 - the feeling of old vinyl floor covering
 - the feel of a brake pedal hitting the firewall (but not slowing at all)

I like the feel of old cars too. :cheers:

Sorry I had to chuck that in. >:D ;D
Post by: noel_w on October 28, 2015, 09:19:38 AM
Yep, I agree.

That is nothing that good maintenance can keep on top of.
I just bought a newish GU ute the other day to replace my ageing GQ wagon I am giving to my son. Have been driving the GU mostly since I got it but drove the GQ this morning and felt like a pair of comfortable boots. Sure it has a few quirks but it has character, something the GU lacks. I will be sorry to see the old girl leave my driveway though I am glad it is going to his driveway. 
Post by: scblack on October 28, 2015, 11:02:20 AM
That is nothing that good maintenance can keep on top of.
True of course, to some extent. But these things were always MUCH more prevalent in older cars than new ones.
Post by: GeoffA on October 28, 2015, 11:08:11 AM
Yep, I agree.

Missed the point entirely...... ::)
Post by: Hewy54 on October 28, 2015, 12:38:21 PM
Am waiting to see what the "new cars" are like in a few years time. Keep the modern tech for a few years and you may still have the feel of the things you miss.
Post by: scblack on October 28, 2015, 12:53:13 PM
Missed the point entirely...... ::)
Did you read my last sentence there: "Sorry I had to chuck that in. >:D ;D"
Just so you know, that's an indication that I have put the post in there light-heartedly and not seriously arguing the matter.

And it did not miss your point at all. I will explain for you. You argued old cars have more "feel" than new ones due to the electronics. No problem with that. Thats your opinion. I just added a few other "feels" that old cars had, that new cars lack.

How does that sound for you?
Post by: scarpsD40 on October 28, 2015, 02:51:46 PM
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=45553
Post by: GeoffA on October 28, 2015, 04:41:30 PM
Did you read my last sentence there: "Sorry I had to chuck that in. >:D ;D"
Just so you know, that's an indication that I have put the post in there light-heartedly and not seriously arguing the matter.

And it did not miss your point at all. I will explain for you. You argued old cars have more "feel" than new ones due to the electronics. No problem with that. Thats your opinion. I just added a few other "feels" that old cars had, that new cars lack.

How does that sound for you?

Go back and read my earlier post in context.
I responded to TC's comment about the Fortuner having good brakes and direct steering.
Nobody mentioned old cars except you.

BTW, I reckon you should sell your lovely new pedal-car and buy a proper car...... :P :P >:D >:D ;D ;D
Post by: Topender on October 28, 2015, 05:27:02 PM
What about a Jeep Grand Cherokee?  >:D >:D >:D Jeeps service and Warranty is about on par with Ford  :angel:  There are plenty on the roads.  (some would probably say on the side of the road, but I'm yet to see one 8))  You here horror stories about Toyota too.  Can't believe I'm contemplating a Jeep but they do seem nice.  Just putting it out there as an option

Post by: Banjo16 on October 28, 2015, 06:23:25 PM
All very interesting but most of these similar posts end up being "I support this brand etc "

It depends entirely on what you want, 2 years ago I wanted a new vehicle that could double as a 4wd & a daily drive for the better half to go to work. At the end of the day paid $41k for a new manual Challenger. Why? $20k cheaper then a Prado & for me does the job,sure if money was not a consideration I may have looked further but in the end I couldn't fault the value for money.

Go want you like & can afford then enjoy the great outdoors.
Post by: prodigyrf on October 28, 2015, 09:49:50 PM
Toyota Fortuner sounds interesting. Serious 4WD based on the Hilux with 3T towing capability -
http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews/2015-toyota-fortuner-review-first-drive-36436?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide (http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews/2015-toyota-fortuner-review-first-drive-36436?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide)
Post by: scblack on October 29, 2015, 08:22:32 AM
Go back and read my earlier post in context.
I responded to TC's comment about the Fortuner having good brakes and direct steering.
Nobody mentioned old cars except you.

BTW, I reckon you should sell your lovely new pedal-car and buy a proper car...... :P :P >:D >:D ;D ;D
Fair enough. But to be talking about "newer" cars having too much electronic involvement, means going back decades - that means an old car in anyone's books. It is 30+ years since electronics have not been deeply involved in cars. EFI, ABS and others have been pretty standard fitment to cars since the 80's and certainly 90's. That's old.

However if you are talking increasing further involvement such as traction control, electronic diff control etc on off road vehicles then fair enough that is more prevalent in recent vehicles.  :cheers:

These days even Porsche now uses electric steering on 911 models - no mechanical link at all, and that's one of the most involving sports cars money can buy.
Post by: Steffo1 on October 29, 2015, 09:02:42 AM
Toyota Fortuner sounds interesting. Serious 4WD based on the Hilux with 3T towing capability -
http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews/2015-toyota-fortuner-review-first-drive-36436?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide (http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews/2015-toyota-fortuner-review-first-drive-36436?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide)

It reads OK from a daily drive point of view but, speaking of views, I think it's fugly. Now I know what happened to the mould for the old Nissan Terrano! >:D
Post by: Wortho on October 29, 2015, 09:49:42 AM

These days even Porsche now uses electric steering on 911 models - no mechanical link at all, and that's one of the most involving sports cars money can buy.
I think electric steering is referring to electric 'power' steering. There is still a mechanical link to the steering rack and if the electrics fail the car can still be steered but with no power steering. I wouldn't want to be driving a car that had 100% dependancy on electrics for steering  >:(
Post by: Bird on October 29, 2015, 09:52:08 AM
Quote from: Wortho
I wouldn't want to be driving a car that had 100% dependancy on electrics for steering  >:(
agree 100%
http://www.wired.com/2014/06/infiniti-q50-steer-by-wire/ (http://www.wired.com/2014/06/infiniti-q50-steer-by-wire/)
The new Q50 is the market’s first “steer-by-wire” model, meaning there’s no mechanical connection between the wheel in your hands and the wheels on the street. Just electric signals.
Post by: scblack on October 29, 2015, 09:55:01 AM
I think electric steering is referring to electric 'power' steering. There is still a mechanical link to the steering rack and if the electrics fail the car can still be steered but with no power steering. I wouldn't want to be driving a car that had 100% dependancy on electrics for steering  >:(
Ok, thanks, wonder why I thought that?? You are correct. Cheers.
Post by: Wortho on October 29, 2015, 10:02:37 AM
agree 100%
http://www.wired.com/2014/06/infiniti-q50-steer-by-wire/ (http://www.wired.com/2014/06/infiniti-q50-steer-by-wire/)
The new Q50 is the market’s first “steer-by-wire” model, meaning there’s no mechanical connection between the wheel in your hands and the wheels on the street. Just electric signals.

"However, Infiniti includes a backup mechanical system, which takes over if the electronics fail."  http://www.cnet.com/au/news/power-steering-shifts-to-electric/ (http://www.cnet.com/au/news/power-steering-shifts-to-electric/) 
Post by: Wortho on October 29, 2015, 10:33:15 AM
Another consideration is the Ford Everest is said to use the Adblue system which is a bit off-putting for me as it will operate at reduced power if you run out of adblue (availability when out bush for example!). It seems that a lot of manufacturers are deploying adblue systems to help the achieve Euro 6 compliance and even the new 2.8 Toyota diesel engine use's adblue in some markets (Not Australia). Adblue is a Urea based solution that is used to reduce emissions of oxides of nitrogen from the exhaust of diesel engines.
Consumption of AdBlue is generally around 5% of diesel use and cost around $1 per litre.
Post by: The punter on October 29, 2015, 11:16:01 AM
You missed an option in your poll

Post by: hawks667 on October 29, 2015, 11:38:39 AM
Late model 100 Series Cruiser...4.2 Turbo Diesel...is there a better tow vehicle?
Post by: McTavish on October 29, 2015, 01:21:55 PM
You missed an option in your poll

Great setup Punter - impressive...
Post by: KingBilly on October 29, 2015, 01:46:56 PM
Hey punter, what is that giant white box on top of the Reconn?

Post by: The punter on October 29, 2015, 03:01:12 PM
Hey punter, what is that giant white box on top of the Reconn?

It's called a "fantastic ultrabreeze vent" which you can have open even if it rains. I'm planning on painting the inside black to keep the sun out of my beer soaked eyeballs in the mornings.  ;D ;D 8) 8)

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping/item/fan-tastic-ultrabreeze-vent-cover-white/58894 (http://www.campingworld.com/shopping/item/fan-tastic-ultrabreeze-vent-cover-white/58894)
Post by: The punter on October 29, 2015, 03:02:07 PM
Great setup Punter - impressive...

Be more impressive if the bank didn't own most of it!!   :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: prodigyrf on October 29, 2015, 07:20:06 PM
"You missed an option in your poll"

Yeah met a bloke with an FJ Cruiser up the Alice and he being interested in my light tackle..err rig.. I asked him what made him choose the Cruiser. Petrol (he knew about dark clouds on the horizon for diesels) and the bottom line.  Although the petrol Cruisers are thirstier than diesels he was quite happy saving $20k up front over a Prado and he reckoned the word is that's mainly why Toyota are discontinuing them because they're largely robbing their Prado profits.

Gotta say I like those sensible white rooves with colours although punter didn't need to worry but now I've tinted the SX4 windows I'm thinking of a white roof on the bloody black thing. My last choice of colour but buying used the deal was too good to pass up so I'm thinking it might be better to get a signwriter to cover the top with their white vinyl rather than painting. Black and white taxis or Cruisers here we come  ;D

Post by: Topender on October 29, 2015, 09:13:19 PM
Punter I said I wanted diesel....and I have my reasons as you probably have yours.  I'll never go back.  Diesel Prado's out sell not only the FJ but the petrol Prado is a dying breed too.  Also the reason, but not the only reason the new Patrol was a bit of a flop being petrol only

Post by: prodigyrf on October 29, 2015, 11:17:23 PM
Your call re petrol or diesel Topender but we'll see how the new breed of Euro5 and ultimately Euro6 diesels hold their sales and value in future but VW throwing in the towel with their cheat mod doesn't augur well for mine. Furthermore VW's gobsmacking actions have put all diesels firmly in the Greenies cross hairs now.
Post by: Topender on October 29, 2015, 11:31:20 PM
Your call re petrol or diesel Topender but we'll see how the new breed of Euro5 and ultimately Euro6 diesels hold their sales and value in future but VW throwing in the towel with their cheat mod doesn't augur well for mine. Furthermore VW's gobsmacking actions have put all diesels firmly in the Greenies cross hairs now.

My "new breed" 2009 Euro 5 Diesel X-trail has been a great car.  Holding their value is only an issue if you're not keeping it for long.  Pretty much any car type or brand lose a huge chunk of their value in the first 3 years anyway.  I personally don't care what it's worth in 3, 5 or even 10 years as long as it performs and ticks the boxes for me and my family now!  People are scared of new technology and the Greenies can kiss my arse.  I want another diesel a) because they have much better torque output per given size (read much better for towing) and b) I hate going to the servo so diesel gives me better fuel economy and less trips to the servo. Price is not a factor with either of these.

Post by: hempo on October 30, 2015, 12:03:19 PM
Hi Dave,

I know you appear to have concerns with Nissan, and 'old' vehicles.  However as others have mentioned a GU is still a good choice and only $50k.  Add an exhaust for some more get up and go for your towing and you still have nearly $20k in the bank.  125 Litres of Diesel.  Plenty of parts and accessories available. 

Considering you drive a Nissan now you must have had plenty of issues to hate Nissan so much?  Who knows, you could buy a GU and never have any issues and therefore never have to deal with Nissan.

Post by: tk421 on October 30, 2015, 01:51:33 PM
Furthermore VW's gobsmacking actions have put all diesels firmly in the Greenies cross hairs now.

Well no.  Rudolf diesel's first engine was designed to run on peanut oil, and there's plenty of diesels (mech injectors) running on waste cooking oil with little to no modifications. Far greener than petrol or diesel engines. Or you could even run on algae derived biodiesel.
Post by: UIZ733 on October 30, 2015, 02:24:25 PM
I have gone through the same process of choosing a 4WD (budget up $55,000, + if really impressed by something).
Criteria other that price were;
*Towing capacity of around 2.5 Tonnes with appropriate ball weight provision. Vista weighs in at 1600Kg and 165Kg ball weight.
* Reasonable fuel economy towing and commuting in city traffic.
* Must have selectable low range.
* Reliability
* Must be a wagon.
* Comfortable interior, seats and driving position.
* Reasonable suspension particularly on poor roads.
* I have no brand loyalty
* I hate squandering money (banks and motor vehicles are top of my list of those that want to ge their hands on my money)

For the money all 4WD’s are a crap drive (my opinion) and the object of the exercise was to get the least crappy drive at the lowest price NEW. Look at what can be bought for $50,000-$70,000 in a conventional passenger vehicle and there are some very nice wheels available that are amazing to drive. By comparison 4WD drives are positively boring and agricultural in their road manners.
We were paying cash. Yes I own it. I do not have an ABN.

Four wheel drive vehicles that may not be crap to drive possibly include LR Discovery 4, VW Toureg and Porsche Cayenne. Look at the buying premium though! Suzuki Grand Vitara Prestige with the V6 is also an exception, however it is not up the towing duties.
Vehicles we considered were Ssangyong Rexton, (because I already had an Actyon Sports that stood up well to its duties) Mitsubishi Challenger, Prado and Isuzu MUX. Jeep looked tempting!
I did not test drive the Prado as a family member had just bought one and I drove that. Impressions were that it was solid and drove quite well, however the $70,000 drive away price was very steep.
Test drove an up-spec MUX and I thought it was OK. In fact there was not a huge difference between it and the Prado on the road. Price was about $52,000 from memory.
Next up I organised by phone a test drive in a top-spec Mitsubishi Challenger at Toowong Mitsubishi. We booked a time and was assured the vehicle was in stock. Went in at the specified time and was greeted by “no mate we don’t have any Challengers in stock” You can however test drive a Triton as it is the same. I told the sales manager he had a future in ‘comedy’.
Last drive was the Rexton. I could not fault the drive when compared to the Prado and Mux. Drivetrain is smooth responsive. Negatives were only 4 airbags, skinny spare and lack of availability of aftermarket accessories. We do not carry rear passenger normally so airbags were not a major problem and the spare can be replaced by a full-size. Towing limit is 2.6 Tonnes (3.2T overseas). GVM is well within our requirements. It met major criteria and allows us to do other things with our hard earned.

A factor often mentioned is the poor resale value of vehicles like SsangYong. Compared to say a $70,000 Landcruiser Prado, I know for a fact that it is not a concern. I paid $37990 for my vehicle. That is $32,000 less that a Prado. Invest that for say 5 years (the life of a modern diesel before trouble???) at 5% or put it into Superannuation at a nominal 8% and I think the sums will look pretty good. If both vehicles had private finance, the equation would be even better.

To date the Sy has covered about 6,000km with 3,000 of that towing the Vista. It tows with ease and fuel economy towing has been 10.5L/100 lowest and 12.00L/100 highest. Like mentioned in another thread, as a ‘modern’ 4WD, it is effortless off road and I believe it will go anywhere we want it to go. Service intervals are 15,000Km. I believe it is well capable of completing the task.

I am not suggesting anybody buys a SsangYong, I am however suggesting looking outside the ‘square’. There are viable alternatives. If money is not a criterion, consider all of the above as useless junk.
Post by: prodigyrf on October 30, 2015, 02:59:11 PM
Well no.  Rudolf diesel's first engine was designed to run on peanut oil, and there's plenty of diesels (mech injectors) running on waste cooking oil with little to no modifications. Far greener than petrol or diesel engines. Or you could even run on algae derived biodiesel.

Won't you please think of the kiddies and their peanut paste sandwiches?  :'(

Hey don't get me wrong, I couldn't care less what VW did, just that it will fire up the watermelons (see you can't trust these horrible capitalists and we need more Gummint folks!) and although it's put the spotlight on diesels, petrolheads are not getting off lightly with these Euro standards.

Streuth I've been on the rollies til the beginning of the year when I finally saw the light and Gaia's way and took up aromatherapy with my essential oils- https://yaeliq.com/
No smoke, fire, butts, ash, the crackle in the chest disappeared in a week and I'm still getting a hit while saving at least $100/week. It's my personal protest Treasurer and up yours! So I have much empathy for all you heinous, public enemy No1, oiler owners nowadays and the bludging passive smokers should always have been made to buy their bloody own ;D

Post by: stevem on October 30, 2015, 03:11:27 PM
Vey much a personal choice - I'm a ute man as they serve many purposes.

The first word of advice and its probably been said before - don't buy the first of any new make or model. We brought one of the first new RA Rodeos back on 2004 and it was the biggest heap of junk I've ever owned. Never ending issues with sensors and all that - we sold it after 2 years when it had 40000k's on the clock, we couldn't deal with it a moment more.
We currently have a 2 year old Hilux and I stuck my nose into the Toyo dealer earlier this week to have a look at the new lux's and my mate who's a salemans there said hold off 9-12 months before buying. He said they have been heavily tested and don't expect any issues but ya never know.

If you're after something mid-sized, in a wagon configuration take a look at the Isuzu MuX - they are a really neat kit, 3t towing etc etc etc. Diesel engine will keep, or even get you better, fuel economy than your current ride. Off road the MuX is really impressive. My rellies own the TJM at the Sunny Coast and I can at test its off road abilty first hand from 4wd trips.
I wouldn't suggest the Holden varient as the Isuzu is leaps and bounds ahead with it engine etc. Mux seems to be more refined for some reason compared to the colorado. The MuX has been out for a while now too so all the bugs are ironed out unlike the Everest and the Fortuner which are new to the scene and untested in the real world.

I like the Challengers, but really they aren't a huge seller and you have to wonder how long Mitsu will keep them on the market.. and also what resale values are like.

If you want something a bit bigger than the MuX the Pajero's would be my next pic. My brother owns one (2013 model) and its been thru its paces and he lives at Mt Isa so its sees plenty of outback gravel roads. He happens to be th emanager of the TJM at Mt Isa and he came to choose the Paj after seeing all the various makes and models come into the shop and seeing how they all stood the test of time.

Prado's have never intersted me.... friends have an older model and I've driven it a few times and it's just unappealing. If ya gunna spend all that doe on a Prado you might as well just spend the few bucks more and get a proper cruiser that's built proper tough and not made flash for shopping trolley/school drop off reasons.
Post by: prodigyrf on October 30, 2015, 04:56:34 PM
"I like the Challengers, but really they aren't a huge seller and you have to wonder how long Mitsu will keep them on the market.. and also what resale values are like."

June 2010 model price was $49960 new and they reckon with 80-130K on the clock now private sale is $20-$23K but who cares when as the man says-
http://www.carsales.com.au/bncis/details/Mitsubishi-Challenger-2015/AGC-AD-18434248/?gts=AGC-AD-18434248&gtssaleid=AGC-AD-18434248 (http://www.carsales.com.au/bncis/details/Mitsubishi-Challenger-2015/AGC-AD-18434248/?gts=AGC-AD-18434248&gtssaleid=AGC-AD-18434248)
and the last of them without DPF, etc. Sheesh, who'd want to buy secondhand at that price and how could you go wrong?
Post by: Julian Kaye on October 30, 2015, 05:11:08 PM
I have gone through the same process of choosing a 4WD (budget up $55,000, + if really impressed by something).
Criteria other that price were;
*Towing capacity of around 2.5 Tonnes with appropriate ball weight provision. Vista weighs in at 1600Kg and 165Kg ball weight.
* Reasonable fuel economy towing and commuting in city traffic.
* Must have selectable low range.
* Reliability
* Must be a wagon.
* Comfortable interior, seats and driving position.
* Reasonable suspension particularly on poor roads.
* I have no brand loyalty
* I hate squandering money (banks and motor vehicles are top of my list of those that want to ge their hands on my money)

For the money all 4WD’s are a crap drive (my opinion) and the object of the exercise was to get the least crappy drive at the lowest price NEW. Look at what can be bought for $50,000-$70,000 in a conventional passenger vehicle and there are some very nice wheels available that are amazing to drive. By comparison 4WD drives are positively boring and agricultural in their road manners.
We were paying cash. Yes I own it. I do not have an ABN.

Four wheel drive vehicles that may not be crap to drive possibly include LR Discovery 4, VW Toureg and Porsche Cayenne. Look at the buying premium though! Suzuki Grand Vitara Prestige with the V6 is also an exception, however it is not up the towing duties.
Vehicles we considered were Ssangyong Rexton, (because I already had an Actyon Sports that stood up well to its duties) Mitsubishi Challenger, Prado and Isuzu MUX. Jeep looked tempting!
I did not test drive the Prado as a family member had just bought one and I drove that. Impressions were that it was solid and drove quite well, however the $70,000 drive away price was very steep.
Test drove an up-spec MUX and I thought it was OK. In fact there was not a huge difference between it and the Prado on the road. Price was about $52,000 from memory.
Next up I organised by phone a test drive in a top-spec Mitsubishi Challenger at Toowong Mitsubishi. We booked a time and was assured the vehicle was in stock. Went in at the specified time and was greeted by “no mate we don’t have any Challengers in stock” You can however test drive a Triton as it is the same. I told the sales manager he had a future in ‘comedy’.
Last drive was the Rexton. I could not fault the drive when compared to the Prado and Mux. Drivetrain is smooth responsive. Negatives were only 4 airbags, skinny spare and lack of availability of aftermarket accessories. We do not carry rear passenger normally so airbags were not a major problem and the spare can be replaced by a full-size. Towing limit is 2.6 Tonnes (3.2T overseas). GVM is well within our requirements. It met major criteria and allows us to do other things with our hard earned.

A factor often mentioned is the poor resale value of vehicles like SsangYong. Compared to say a $70,000 Landcruiser Prado, I know for a fact that it is not a concern. I paid $37990 for my vehicle. That is $32,000 less that a Prado. Invest that for say 5 years (the life of a modern diesel before trouble???) at 5% or put it into Superannuation at a nominal 8% and I think the sums will look pretty good. If both vehicles had private finance, the equation would be even better.

To date the Sy has covered about 6,000km with 3,000 of that towing the Vista. It tows with ease and fuel economy towing has been 10.5L/100 lowest and 12.00L/100 highest. Like mentioned in another thread, as a ‘modern’ 4WD, it is effortless off road and I believe it will go anywhere we want it to go. Service intervals are 15,000Km. I believe it is well capable of completing the task.

I am not suggesting anybody buys a SsangYong, I am however suggesting looking outside the ‘square’. There are viable alternatives. If money is not a criterion, consider all of the above as useless junk.

$70k buys a pretty high end Prado, A GXL can be put on the road these days for under $60k, I bought a GX on the road for under $54k, so maybe not a fair comparison, but I agree with you on the Ssangyongs, pretty under rated vehicles, a mate has one and it's a pretty nice drive.
Post by: landbarge on October 30, 2015, 06:33:19 PM
That's what I came here to say... cheap cheap

Post by: Topender on October 30, 2015, 07:25:40 PM
That's what I came here to say... cheap cheap

Some would say "Cheap" for a reason  >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D
Post by: landbarge on October 30, 2015, 10:19:19 PM
Good value? They are at a price

Post by: Topender on October 30, 2015, 10:36:44 PM
Good value? They are at a price

Yes they are....if that's what you're looking for.  Unfortunately not for us for many reasons.

Post by: landbarge on October 30, 2015, 11:07:24 PM
Yes they are....if that's what you're looking for.  Unfortunately not for us for many reasons.

Buy what you want. You only die once

Post by: McTavish on October 31, 2015, 12:20:20 AM
How long till you decide Topender?   There is only so much defending our own choices we can handle !!   

No pressure !!
Post by: prodigyrf on October 31, 2015, 09:34:49 AM
How long till you decide Topender?   There is only so much defending our own choices we can handle !!   

No pressure !!

Yeah you'd reckon any half decent bloke would award the winner of the best argument the dough to go out and buy his new tug for him  :cup:
Post by: landbarge on October 31, 2015, 10:51:47 AM
Buy what you want. You only die once

The new mid range sized 4b look the goods on paper. Fortuner, Everest, Mux etc. FJ cruises look the mustard too. A lot of left over coin for mods too.

Post by: McTavish on October 31, 2015, 02:51:22 PM
Yeah you'd reckon any half decent bloke would award the winner of the best argument the dough to go out and buy his new tug for him  :cup:

Paper Scissors Rock - he who wins gets to use his money and buy him a replica of our own !    Now that's bringing a bit of excitement to the thread.    What do ya reckon Topender - are you up for it??    Love spending other peoples money !!
Post by: Topender on October 31, 2015, 03:42:24 PM
Some things in life can't be rushed.....I've waited 6 years for this and if I have to wait another 6 months it's not going to kill me.  If and when I get to drive a few more and find a stand out that ticks all the boxes then I'll jump.  The 4WD and adventure show is next weekend so anything is possible  :angel:

Post by: hecle on November 02, 2015, 01:40:30 PM
Triton with a canopy or a challenger without... best bang for buck out there. Drove 100 series v8 petrol auto wagon for 7 years prior to the triton near on 3 years now. Cruiser a better drive 18 L/100. Triton 14L/100
Post by: prodigyrf on November 03, 2015, 08:58:10 AM
Some things in life can't be rushed.....I've waited 6 years for this and if I have to wait another 6 months it's not going to kill me.  If and when I get to drive a few more and find a stand out that ticks all the boxes then I'll jump.  The 4WD and adventure show is next weekend so anything is possible  :angel:

Worried his poor old mum too when he began pulling little girls pigtails in kindy
Post by: Steffo1 on November 03, 2015, 09:48:02 AM
http://www.mahindra.com.au/auto/10000km-holiday-in-a-pik-up-no-problem/ (http://www.mahindra.com.au/auto/10000km-holiday-in-a-pik-up-no-problem/)
I know the bloke who owns this & yes, he has had a few niggles with it but, for the miles it's done & some of the places he's been, I don't think it's any worse than anything else around. Plus he's the sort of cove who's never going to die wondering  ;D. Since this trip he's been to the Corner Country & surrounds, Bribie, D.I.Point, Woodgate , Kinkuna, Burrum to name a few.
Rear seat leg room seemed better than average too although I'm no expert.
Would I buy one? Maybe not but it would certainly be in the mix if I was looking for a dual cab or similar.

Good Luck with the choice
Post by: Topender on November 06, 2015, 06:41:14 PM
Ok so I bought the wife a new car for her birthday today, so now is out of the way the proper hunt can begin for mine  :cup:  I was going to take her to the 4wd show today but it wouldn't have gone down too well if I got my car first.  I did try to look at an Everest today but the dealer didn't have one  ???

Post by: prodigyrf on November 10, 2015, 12:38:58 PM
Mind you if you're having a mid life crisis and can stretch another $15k or so  8)
http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/2016-range-rover-evoque-convertible-new-car-sales-price-36643?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide (http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/2016-range-rover-evoque-convertible-new-car-sales-price-36643?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide)
Post by: gronk on November 10, 2015, 02:38:12 PM
After having a Challenger, I wasn't going to suggest it, but the new Pajero Sport is out in another month, and on paper, it looks OK.

Still a smallish engine...2.4 diesel with the normal high output, 8 speed auto, diff lock, traction control and terrain modes that are supposed to work very good ( which wasn't the case on the Challengers ) and they supposedly have made it ride a lot nicer.

Might be worth a look ??
Post by: Topender on November 10, 2015, 05:08:52 PM
After having a Challenger, I wasn't going to suggest it, but the new Pajero Sport is out in another month, and on paper, it looks OK.

Still a smallish engine...2.4 diesel with the normal high output, 8 speed auto, diff lock, traction control and terrain modes that are supposed to work very good ( which wasn't the case on the Challengers ) and they supposedly have made it ride a lot nicer.

Might be worth a look ??

Cheers. It was already on the list!...Will be checking all the options before diving in.  The old Toyota isn't what it used to be so I'm finding out :( (service wise that is)

Post by: briann532 on November 10, 2015, 05:54:08 PM
After reading this thread and doing a bit of googling on Toyota, I find very little difference between the fortuner and the prado....
Maybe just me, but the seem very similar expect on price...

The prado has a bit more torque, but the fortuner looks like it might be a goer for the grey nomads.

After recently being bent over with absolutely no vaso for an upgrade to the tow capacity, knowing full well it can do it, but its Cruiser sales related, I reckon I wish I had of waited and got the fortuner....
Maybe not, but at least there is a choice now.

Towing the tubby hawk is an absolute breeze for the playdo and I'm sure the fortuner would have no problem.
Of course after having a test of the new Fraud Everest, I was very impressed.
While Personally I think the quality of the Toyota is just a bit better, the Everest certainly looks like good value for money.

As always everyone has their own opinion, but for me I tow a lot and clock up the kms, so comfort and ride always come first and I think the coil springs on the playdo work best for me.
Also has the reliability which I like and as per previous threads I do like the long range. Refuelling every day on a trip eats into my beer time......

Now to chuck in the spanner.............
Given the time again, I'd go for the new patrol Y62. $70k brand new with an abundance of loud pedal.........Overtake uphill with the caravan on the back. Yee Ha....
Damn the expense - life's to short..........

Post by: gronk on November 10, 2015, 06:45:42 PM

Given the time again, I'd go for the new patrol Y62. $70k brand new with an abundance of loud pedal.........Overtake uphill with the caravan on the back. Yee Ha....
Damn the expense - life's to short..........

The diesel 200 series has been doing this for over 8 yrs now !!   ;D

The Playdo is a bit underpowered compared to the opposition, but as you said , it is a Toyota !!
Post by: Isuzumu on November 10, 2015, 06:47:24 PM
Mind you if you're having a mid life crisis and can stretch another $15k or so  8)
http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/2016-range-rover-evoque-convertible-new-car-sales-price-36643?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide (http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/2016-range-rover-evoque-convertible-new-car-sales-price-36643?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide)

Went for a drive in my brothers and it was very nice, they have had it off road and said it went pretty well. Saw one at Double Island Point when we went for a drive during the MySwag get together, it was doing the sand quite well, was high tide as well. But $80K don't think so, my sil wanted an MU-X would have been better value.
Post by: prodigyrf on November 10, 2015, 08:43:14 PM
Never had so much fun thinking about spending all that dough on a tug. Oh well perhaps I'll get some sunnies and shell out for one of these and stick my head out the window of the Zook occasionally-
http://www.hatsbythe100.com.au/mens-drivers-cap-ivy-herringbone-km43-b.html?utm_source=googlepla&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=pla&utm_campaign=pla&gclid=COWdwszUhckCFVglvQodcqQExg (http://www.hatsbythe100.com.au/mens-drivers-cap-ivy-herringbone-km43-b.html?utm_source=googlepla&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=pla&utm_campaign=pla&gclid=COWdwszUhckCFVglvQodcqQExg)
Post by: landbarge on November 24, 2015, 09:37:54 PM
As the Subject and Question for the Poll suggests....what would you choose and why?  I know I know, I've been around here long enough to know where this thread is headed but I've been waiting 18months for all of the above vehicles to be released (the mitsi is soon) and will be upgrading in the next 6 months or sooner.

Now the dilemma is the X-trail has and is a great little bus.  It's great on fuel, tows fantastic for a car it's size and believe it or not is quite capable off road in the right hands.  We want a little more luxury and room, better off road ability (especially towing the Swan), increased towing capacity and above all not much more fuel use than we are used to.

Go...flame suit on!  >:D >:D >:D

Dave :cheers:
I have a random option.

A bloke in Perth is doing GU Pootrolls with the 1HDTE turbo-diesel engine from the Hunjy. Many killer wasps and many many torques from that monster of an engine...

Post by: chookduck on February 27, 2016, 06:59:34 AM
Cheers. It was already on the list!...Will be checking all the options before diving in.  The old Toyota isn't what it used to be so I'm finding out :( (service wise that is)

After reading all 6 pages of this thread, and now it's the end of February 2016, and all the "new" wagon models are out, no outcome reached. What is/was your decision Dave?
Post by: Bird on April 12, 2016, 09:11:55 AM
unsure if it fits the budget though

http://www.tgwforums.com/post/russian-suv-7926641?pid=1290850858 (http://www.tgwforums.com/post/russian-suv-7926641?pid=1290850858)
(http://www.elitereaders.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/sherp-atv-russia-1.jpg)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3Eo1O5_qGI&feature=player_embedded (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3Eo1O5_qGI&feature=player_embedded)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3j7n00Xx38o&feature=player_embedded (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3j7n00Xx38o&feature=player_embedded)
Post by: plusnq on April 12, 2016, 10:49:08 AM
unsure if it fits the budget though

http://www.tgwforums.com/post/russian-suv-7926641?pid=1290850858 (http://www.tgwforums.com/post/russian-suv-7926641?pid=1290850858)
(http://www.elitereaders.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/sherp-atv-russia-1.jpg)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3Eo1O5_qGI&feature=player_embedded (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3Eo1O5_qGI&feature=player_embedded)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3j7n00Xx38o&feature=player_embedded (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3j7n00Xx38o&feature=player_embedded)

I think he wanted the whole vehicle.......not just the tyres 😄
Post by: prodigyrf on April 12, 2016, 12:01:57 PM
What the Hell! Every Green family needs a his and hers occasionally-
http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews/2016-bmw-x5-xdrive40e-review-first-australian-drive-40556?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide (http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews/2016-bmw-x5-xdrive40e-review-first-australian-drive-40556?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide)
although I'm not so sure the grandkiddies will thank us for thinking of them quite like that ;D
Post by: mrdenn1s on April 12, 2016, 01:42:01 PM
That MU-X engine though.......so damn good.
Post by: cheif carlos on April 12, 2016, 10:04:40 PM
That MU-X engine though.......so damn good.
I liked the engine but found the auto 'box "clunky" ended up going the Colorado 7 (for better half) for better/smoother Box and cheaper price for extras