General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tracker on September 16, 2015, 04:06:36 PM
Wow...Made it through round 2.......Not a nice way to spend a day at work :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Lost 4 though..!!
Going through same thing at work at the moment. Every day is an adventure.
I reckon we'll lose another half a dozen next week.
rockfactor.com.au
Yes, seems to be happening everywhere. Ive survived 3 so far. Had a huge one not too long ago where 30 people turned up to work and left an hour later with envelopes.
Haven't had any yet, but given the way things are going I don't think it will be much longer before they start talking about it, and then offer them up.....hard times at the minute...with no end in site....
Its truly a Shit environment to work in.. moral turns to Shit and people really start looking after themselves at the risk of anyone else.. :(
Hope it works out for you all, and anyone in this position... maybe apply for a 457 and get work instantly.... or float in on some wood.
Not going to get any better any time soon. Recession next year is my prediction. I think we already are, but powers that be just try to cover it. the RBA can't lower interest rates much more.
"My Opinion only"
Anyway good luck to all you guys, remeber you need to be the most valuable to your boss, there the ones that stay, someone that can multi skill or at least willing to learn to multi skill. ,make your self stand out, and Yep like bird said its hard when morale gets low, but just stick with it and hopefully you can stay a bit longer.
Wow...Made it through round 2.......Not a nice way to spend a day at work :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Lost 4 though..!!
Good news mate :cup:
Hang in there.
Hmmm,I was retrenched,17 years ago,went from a package of 70k plus car to driving a cab.
Guess what, life goes on.
That's great news mate, they're pretty uncomfortable and scary times when they're forced. As oldmate said, stand out from the crowd for the right reasons & keep the chin up.
Pardon my ignorance on this, but on the news Tony Abbott says they've created 300 000 jobs in Australia, why are there so many people losing jobs?
Please don't turn this into a political debate, a quick answer will do me so Trackers thread isn't hijacked, it's just something I've been thinking about for a while now.
Australia is buggered.....we all want more and do less....
That's great news mate, they're pretty uncomfortable and scary times when they're forced. As oldmate said, stand out from the crowd for the right reasons & keep the chin up.
Pardon my ignorance on this, but on the news Tony Abbott says they've created 300 000 jobs in Australia, why are there so many people losing jobs?
Please don't turn this into a political debate, a quick answer will do me so Trackers thread isn't hijacked, it's just something I've been thinking about for a while now.
cause they havent really, it just politacl number crunching for the media and to sound good, he didnt mention the 600 000 lost by any chance?
Sorry tracker back to you. Hang in there mate.
It's not only redundancys that everybody is worried about, but also the shift to a casual workforce.
Currently the mining industry is going through a massive change and rollouts of everybody getting laid off from permanent full time jobs and being re-employed as contractors On a casual agreement. Wages cut dramatically, and benefits like sickies and holiday leave taken away. If you don't like the offer, then too bad go find another job is their attitude. With unemployment the way it is, they can find 10 people lined up to take the position without even looking.
Yep.... Australia is screwed
Best of luck, it's difficult to keep focused,
any time you want to vent, mate, my door is open...
Anyway good luck to all you guys, remeber you need to be the most valuable to your boss, there the ones that stay,.
Depending on which industry, that person may be the best suck hole....one thing I never delved into !! :-[
With the current political party, the worker is at the bottom of the pile....it's the turn of the bosses to dominate, so workers rights ( like weekend loading, pay rates etc ) will be attacked...
But there is no such thing as a recession....if you have a job !
There are a lot of people in MOST countries in the world that would definitely NOT agree.
It's not only redundancys that everybody is worried about, but also the shift to a casual workforce.
Currently the mining industry is going through a massive change and rollouts of everybody getting laid off from permanent full time jobs and being re-employed as contractors On a casual agreement. Wages cut dramatically, and benefits like sickies and holiday leave taken away. If you don't like the offer, then too bad go find another job is their attitude. With unemployment the way it is, they can find 10 people lined up to take the position without even looking.
Mining has always been a boom and bust industry. It's just been through a massive boom time for years, and now it's change time...hardly the country is screwed IMHO. Plenty of work on in construction at the moment, mining isn't the only industry in Australia. There's a lot of people that made big dollars off of the back of the mining industry for many years that now need to readjust their spending habits to accommodate the countries current economic situation.
It was never sustainable
After 20 years in the industry (mining) I have been through a few booms and busts
Sorry but the good times had to end
Still a good day when you
Get through without a tap on the shoulder these days though
I have a week left of work and then screwed... Whole department replaced with internal staff with no experience... And joy of being a contractor... No redundancy, just a thank you... And not much in Brisbane so now looking at Sydney and Melbourne and with a big pay drop but on the brightside side I am going camping
Mining has always been a boom and bust industry. It's just been through a massive boom time for years, and now it's change time...hardly the country is screwed IMHO. Plenty of work on in construction at the moment, mining isn't the only industry in Australia. There's a lot of people that made big dollars off of the back of the mining industry for many years that now need to readjust their spending habits to accommodate the countries current economic situation.
Yep agreed mal, heaps of projects going on the GC at the moment, commercial, hi rise, res, heaps of renos
Been in the mining game for 40 years....been retrenched 4 times...last time 2014..
Retrenchment never comes easy, especially if it's unexpected, but as someone said, life goes on....if you can find a job !!
Coal mines will come back...whether it 1 or 3 yrs, but they will....we aren't done with coal as an energy source yet ( that should mean the chinese aren't yet ).
Australia was built on the back of mining, and it might take a while to adjust without it !
If it all gets to bad just book a tiket to this place ..http://www.theaustralian.com.au/life/weekend-australian-magazine/the-businessman-his-wife-and-the-ark-at-the-end-of-the-world/story-e6frg8h6-1226981970263 (http://www.theaustralian.com.au/life/weekend-australian-magazine/the-businessman-his-wife-and-the-ark-at-the-end-of-the-world/story-e6frg8h6-1226981970263)
There are a lot of people in MOST countries in the world that would definitely NOT agree.
Australia has seen very good times for a very long time.
The economy reached a point where it was not possible to continue in that way and has since settled somewhat.
Prices of everything were driven up sky high to unreachable levels for many and those that did stretch themselves to try to make the Aussie dream come true are now feeling the effects of lower incomes, devalued wealth and massive debt which isn't worth what it was not too many years ago.
A lot of people are in a lot of trouble at the moment and it ain't looking like getting much better anytime soon.
Sure there is still work around and personally I am not too worried as I am in an industry which nobody can really live without, but those who battle on with the least rights and bargaining power, looking for whatever work they can find are the ones who feel it the most
It is not only the mining industry feeling the effects of the casualisation of the workforce, many workers in a lot of different industry's are facing these changes and most are going to be worse off. Just watch the nightly news to see factory's, transport, manufacturing, food, construction just to name a few also going that way.
Yep, things are getting tighter. I took a VR at the start of July along with five others from an office of 20. If we hadn't of taken the VR we would have been pushed.
Now I'm kicking back playing the odd gig and working for my church. Doesn't leave many weekends to get out camping.
Sure there is still work around and personally I am not too worried as I am in an industry which nobody can really live without,
Do you make toilet paper ?? ;D ;D
For all those that are sadly losing their jobs and looking for something else............Become a curtain and blind installer, its a dying trade and extremely hard to find experienced installers.
Annual earnings for a contract installer $120K
I wish everyone all the best for your future endeavours.
lts a brave New world out there . l have been pushed out the doors a few times into the Greater Unknown , only to find that its not as bad as you think . All you have to do is start to think .
There are many directions you can go . access your situation make a plan & Kick Arse . By backing yourself you will be in charge & setting your own direction .
There is an Old Australian expression " Have A Go You Mug :cup: "
Forced redundancy Jan 2013 found work a couple of weeks later and then another redundancy 12 months back no work since. Was short listed on a job application 6 weeks ago sat final interview was not successful reason being they wanted someone more recent in work force.
sat final interview was not successful reason being they wanted someone more recent in work force.
Yeh, sometimes you have to tell a porkie....I've been asked when was the last time you worked ( 12 mths now ) and I say I've picked up a few cash labouring jobs here and there....gives the impression you haven't been sitting idle !!
It's hard out there......try a new direction and they want 2 yrs prior experience....job agencies promise you the world but deliver nothing.....they say apply yourself and start working for yourself, sounds easy, not !
I've applied for the dole ( can't get it until next year ), and if anything can spur you on to get a job, then dealing with centrelink is the incentive to do so.....what a disorganised pack of no hopers !!
Yeah, I went from editing videos, made redundant to taking notes at TAFE for people with disabilities - was quite lucky, but shows things can progress. Best of luck dude!
For all those that are sadly losing their jobs and looking for something else............Become a curtain and blind installer, its a dying trade and extremely hard to find experienced installers.
Mate of mine was a plasterer, he chucked that in and started installing commercial blinds. He did that for 12 months and is now selling them and making good $. He said he should have done it long ago.
for those in mackay and surrounds...
http://www.seek.com.au/job/29475594?pos=1&type=premium&engineConfig=control&tier=no_tier&whereid=5015 (http://www.seek.com.au/job/29475594?pos=1&type=premium&engineConfig=control&tier=no_tier&whereid=5015)
Mate of mine was a plasterer, he chucked that in and started installing commercial blinds. He did that for 12 months and is now selling them and making good $. He said he should have done it long ago.
Do you know how he made the shift from one profession to the other? Did he seek out blinds or did it stumble upon it by chance in the job ads?
I think for most people, this is the hardest part about starting again.
I've applied for the dole ( can't get it until next year )
Last time I was out of work 12yrs ago I had that problem, didn't qualify for the dole so I lived off savings until I managed to find a career change... This time I guess I still won't qualify but having just finalised a divorce which the lawyers dragged out way to long, so what little savings I walked away with went to paying rent and half a mortgage so will be interesting living on nothing... And haven't had a job interview in so long... All my work came from networking or I had been asked to come on board but those contacts are all losing or lost there jobs as well.. It will be fun and games
Just to put some balance to the argument, it's not always about 'businesses' screwing people over when times are tough.
I work in a medium sized Australian owned company and its tough doing business at the moment for many reasons. We take whatever opportunities we can to reduce our running costs and keep competitive, but there is no denying the fact the labour costs, for us, are a large component of our direct and indirect costs.
When our industry is booming staff demand to be paid well, because they can otherwise they walk. Unfortunately when times are tough some people still demand high levels of renumeration just because they think they are entitled. Unless people are willing to acknowledge the state our current economy is in and accept that being employed in some capacity is better than being unemployed, then people need to come to terms with pay cuts, reduced hours, part time or casual work. If employees aren't interested in these alternatives then what avenues are businesses left with? Keep running at losses until the business folds altogether?
In my experience it's neither a cheap excercise or a very pleasant experience making people redundant. Ideally it should be the last option, however in my experience too many employees are not willing to negotiate from their current employment terms and are seemingly unaware of the current economic situation we are all struggling with - both as employers and as employees.
Been made redundant once, survived it a second time and third time.... Its never pleasant and frikking stressful and you feel kind of worthless.
First time came into work after lunch to an envelope saying c'ya.
Second time - called into a meeting on Friday. "There's 2 of you, we only need 1. You will re-interview on Monday". Come Monday get told - "Don't worry. You're moving teams back to your old job". I left 2 months later and doubled my salary.
Third time - called into a meeting. "There's 3 of you, we only need 2. We will make the decision next week. In the meantime see if there's another role in the organisation you want to do, or see if you can come up with another solution amongst yourselves". Spent the whole week stressed and wondering about my colleagues and what they were doing behind my back. Kind of like Abbott probably felt the last few months. They got rid of one team member anyway.
It all depends how you define tough.
If a large multi national only makes 2.5 billion profit instead of the forecast 2.6 billion,
Then it is time to tighten the belt.
The reason lower level employees want to maintain their wages and conditions, is that those at the top will maintain theirs, whatever happens.
Too right.....and how many times do you got to hear about the company doing it tough before you actually believe them ?.....if only everyone could work for an honest reliable company ?
Talk about changing careers to a blind installer....exactly the job that has come up a few times on seek....and one I reckon I would have no trouble doing....except they want someone with 2 yrs prior experience !!
Too right.....and how many times do you got to hear about the company doing it tough before you actually believe them ?.....if only everyone could work for an honest reliable company ?
Talk about changing careers to a blind installer....exactly the job that has come up a few times on seek....and one I reckon I would have no trouble doing....except they want someone with 2 yrs prior experience !!
You can come and fit some at my place, and count that as 2 yrs experience... ;)
I hear you, I was lucky in the first 700 gone. I don't think my section will be as lucky in the next 700 to go.
I'm not sure what to do, I still have 30-35 years of work left and I have done this and only this since I 17. I think I would be happy with a career change but it would most likely mean another uprooting of the family. Plus starting from scratch so to speak is a pretty scary thought.
That said I am only 34 and that will work to my advantage.
Some Observations:
# During the Great Depression of the 1920's - there was 25% unemployment...
# BUT that meant that in spite of that - a lucky 75% still had jobs...
# At the moment in Australia - there are 2,000,000 Aussies self employed in their own micro businesses.. So that's in part an indicator of all the lost "normal" employment jobs out there..
# One nice thing about the golden handshake (a redundancy) - is at least you get one... For the rest of us self employed types - the "redundancy" may be the bank etc foreclosing on the family home...
# A mate of mine is an wardsman in a major public hospital in Qld... He said Qld Health have not created ANY permanent jobs for the wardies in 6 or 7 years... Anyone "new" in the past 6 or 7 years is employed casually ... about 33 hrs a week... Among other joys - that means "being on standby / on call" (with nil loading/compensation) - so they can snap their fingers - and you will come running... glad for a day's pay!
You can come and fit some at my place, and count that as 2 yrs experience... ;)
It takes me 6 mths to get to Mexico.....couldn't afford the fuel !! 8) 8)
# A mate of mine is an wardsman in a major public hospital in Qld... He said Qld Health have not created ANY permanent jobs for the wardies in 6 or 7 years... Anyone "new" in the past 6 or 7 years is employed casually ... about 33 hrs a week...
plenty of other government depts in a similar position to this also. My misses just remarked recently to me that at her government job they had advertised for full time staff, the first time they've done that in a long long while, normally people get put on casual contracts like you mentioned.
It's nothing new. They have been running with a small core of full time employed staff and a large pool of casuals since the mid 1990's. It happens from wards men to doctors and just about everyone in between.
Similar thing to Kyria. She's a pre-school teacher with an early childhood development degree.
She was teaching as a "casual". 5 days/40 hours a week.
But it was casual "officially". (no holiday pay, no sick leave, no pay during school holidays etc)
So they offered a new full time job, security was better right?
yes and no... the new "full time" position was for only 30 hours a week. (so quite a noticable pay cut) But at least it was "full time" yeh.
once again... yes and no. While it was full time, it was under a weird system where she gets holiday pay and sick leave, no she's not paid for any school holidays. Which she must take off.
At the end of the day though... she has a job. And many don't.
As I just turned 50... I wonder what I'd do if I lost my day job. And it's not a good thought.
Plenty of work on in construction at the moment,
Not in Mackay, where tracker (& myself) are....Its absolutley fu#&%d here at the moment.
And when your self employed its just not that easy to "pack up" & go to the next hot spot, plus after being here for 26+ yrs dont really want to move.
If you havent already heard it (& i only heard part) this guy had some interesting information regarding Australian economy.
http://www.abc.net.au/local/stories/2015/09/16/4313353.htm. (http://www.abc.net.au/local/stories/2015/09/16/4313353.htm.)
I'm off to sell my shares....house....business & everything else & go live in the desert me thinks....WINTER IS COMING.... ;D ;D ;D
Do you know how he made the shift from one profession to the other? Did he seek out blinds or did it stumble upon it by chance in the job ads?
It was through somebody he knew
Its a combination of both for me the redundancies which has a flow effect on to my small business as well as the lack of rain and now tougher water restriction i have a mowing business in
Townsville or Brownsville have had it for 10 years and this past 5 months or so has been the worst I have seen ,cant sell it but got to keep paying the fran fees each month ouch ,have seriously thought of selling house etc and .....well what to do ?
just a heads up to those looking for work. Try labour hire companies. I sent off hundreds of resumes and went through a few interviews unsuccessfully. i never tried labour hire as i thought it would only lead to one or two days here and there.
i signed up with three labour hire mobs and a week later i had two short term jobs. i chose one of them and have been with them for 13 months now.
basically the company i work for use labour hire because there not required no give a minimum trial period and can get rid of people that are no good straight away instead of having to wait 4 weeks etc.
It was through somebody he knew
That will get you a job 99% of the time..
There was a book put out years ago called "Change you job, change your life" or something like that during all the management layofs.
The principle was not look for a job that you have been doing, but look at a different career path.
My son is in the same situation at the moment where they are calling for a number of voluntary redundencies...
I doubt it is going to get any better in the near future...
There was a book put out years ago called "Change you job, change your life" or something like that during all the management layofs.
The principle was not look for a job that you have been doing, but look at a different career path.
My son is in the same situation at the moment where they are calling for a number of voluntary redundencies...
My wife is doing that now. 20 yrs in the print industry, at the same place, 2 days before we left for cape job finished, and now is looking for something outside of that industry. Already has scored what appears to be a good opportunity.
Not easy to deal with, it's easy to say, but it's important to remember it's not personal.
I feel for anyone in the situation.
Just to put some balance to the argument, it's not always about 'businesses' screwing people over when times are tough.
I work in a medium sized Australian owned company and its tough doing business at the moment for many reasons. We take whatever opportunities we can to reduce our running costs and keep competitive, but there is no denying the fact the labour costs, for us, are a large component of our direct and indirect costs.
When our industry is booming staff demand to be paid well, because they can otherwise they walk. Unfortunately when times are tough some people still demand high levels of renumeration just because they think they are entitled. Unless people are willing to acknowledge the state our current economy is in and accept that being employed in some capacity is better than being unemployed, then people need to come to terms with pay cuts, reduced hours, part time or casual work. If employees aren't interested in these alternatives then what avenues are businesses left with? Keep running at losses until the business folds altogether?
In my experience it's neither a cheap excercise or a very pleasant experience making people redundant. Ideally it should be the last option, however in my experience too many employees are not willing to negotiate from their current employment terms and aren't seemingly unaware of the current economic situation we are all struggling with - both as employers and as employees.
All this talk of redundancies makes me feel ill...especially knowing that some of the useless dimwits that work near me keep on keeping on, yet good people can't get another go in the job market.
If you are one of the good ones (all swaggers I expect) keep networking, keep reinventing yourself, keep confident and hopefully something will come your way soon.
Cheers!
Andrew
I have been out of work for two months, applied for 36 jobs and only had one interview so far.
That interview ended when he siad I was over qualified and would probably leave for greener pastures when they came along.
I am an engineer, with three management degrees, cert IV in training and have worked in most countries in the world as a consultant.
But Im apparently too old (57) they are looking for long term employees
I ask you what job now days is guaranteed to be longer than 10 years.
The market out there is very hard thanks to the idiots running or is that ruining our country, allowing cheap Shit to imported free while we pay to export to the same country.
I even went to Bunnings, but was told that I had no retail experience.
So Im overqualified for a real job and under qualified for a Bunnings job.........Go figure
So the world tells you your too Good , adapt , overcome . Dumb Down . The 1/2 wit that has been given the job , over their pay scale of interviewing you is Sh1t Scared . Somebody is going to push them out of there Cossie job . Only apply the bare minimum of equalisations to get the gig , then cream them . :cup: :cheers:
I have been out of work for two months, applied for 36 jobs and only had one interview so far.
That interview ended when he siad I was over qualified and would probably leave for greener pastures when they came along.
I am an engineer, with three management degrees, cert IV in training and have worked in most countries in the world as a consultant.
But Im apparently too old (57) they are looking for long term employees
I ask you what job now days is guaranteed to be longer than 10 years.
The market out there is very hard thanks to the idiots running or is that ruining our country, allowing cheap Shit to imported free while we pay to export to the same country.
I even went to Bunnings, but was told that I had no retail experience.
So Im overqualified for a real job and under qualified for a Bunnings job.........Go figure
My wife who has no retail experience at all has a job interview at Bunnings on Tuesday.
Well theres ya problem Stabi, A bit of lippy, a dash of powder puff and a tight sweater,short skirt, bat the baby blues with a nice smile and you could of had a better chance .
great, a 57 year old bloke with a pair big hairy drumsticks poking out of a short skirt. :o
Thanks Jeepers l need therapy now ,,,,,,,,,, got the horribly mental pic :o :o >:D
Change is good. I went from brick laying to working in a bank to now driving trains. I never foresaw any of those jobs coming.
My wife who has no retail experience at all has a job interview at Bunnings on Tuesday.
I presume that means if/when she gets the job we all get "mates rates". ;D
Good luck with the interview BTW.
Thanks Jeepers l need therapy now ,,,,,,,,,, got the horribly mental pic :o :o >:D
What .... Like this sort of one ;D ;D ;D
I feel for anyone going through redundancy that doesn't want to go... And have been in roles where I've had to decide and hand over the folder.
Hardest thing i have ever had to do... So many conflicting influences. I try to give it to people that want to go.
I want to go.. To get paid out...throw both arms up when the opportunities arise. Cant get it because they say i'm too good at what i do.. Then sit back and watch people who wouldn't work in an iron lung getting big payouts.
Maybe i'm the idiot.... Or just too proud.
MarkVS
hey all, been in the coal mines since I was 17 now 47 , I have been retrenched 6 times the boom/bust
goes in 7 to 10 yr stints , I have had a $48k pay cut since Xmas and have been lucky as half the work force at my underground mine have lost there jobs now the mining company's ( all of them ) have taken there workers to fair work to limit the retrenchment payout that they have work for .
they are trying to limit to 9yrs I now men that have been at the same mine for 30 yrs now how the hell is that fAIR? so much for the lucky country.
Looks like the only safe job is in politics, Poly as in bird brained and tics as in blood sucking parasite.
They do nothing worthwhile, and get overpaid for their qualifications.,
They stuff up the country just so they get bribes and pay offs and then retire on a retirement package that any of us would work had for.
A pox on them all.
(http://blkmav.com/images/notagain.jpg)
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
how the hell is that fAIR? so much for the lucky country.
Since when has fair ever had anything to do with the law??
More money and influence means more equality before the law.
I always look at what is happening in the USA. The trends always hit Australia 10 years later.
Australian workers (people in general) used have strong ties towards one another, always looking after each others back.
There has been a big shift against that thanks to the the ultra greedy..................divide and conquer always works. Everyone for themselves is how they want it.
I too was caught up in keeping up with the Joneses until a few years ago. I have a plan to keep things a lot more simple and keep more dollars in my pocket.
Yes I'm a retailer and hope to get out soon.
they are trying to limit to 9yrs I now men that have been at the same mine for 30 yrs now how the hell is that fAIR? so much for the lucky country.
Been in for 40 yrs, but you wonder why coal miners are in a union....the multi national companies try every trick in the book to undermine safety and conditions, then cry poor when they can't get their own way.
Couldn't agree more....
So just imagine mining without a union. What was the name of the gold mine in Tassie???
I feel for anyone going through redundancy that doesn't want to go... And have been in roles where I've had to decide and hand over the folder.
Hardest thing i have ever had to do... So many conflicting influences. I try to give it to people that want to go.
Yeah, that isn't fun. Never had to do a redundancy but had to do a few dismissals, one of the worst aspects of the job.
Maybe i'm the idiot.... Or just too proud.
The problem is that you have to live with yourself as well. Some people are very happy to take the coin without working for it, others wish they had that problem.
2013 1st redundancy. 2014 2nd redundancy, 14 months later get another job 2 days ago after working for 6 months. with out warning all staff was escorted out of workplace and doors locked. Asked about our entitlements and could not or would not answer me.
not great mate, sorry to hear
almost soul destroying.
Took voluntary redundancy as an engineer from qantas in 2012. Was lucky and moved into management with a bus chassis builder. Resigned from there after being head hunted to another supplier. Start next week. The is life on the other side.
Hit the road like us. Great lifestyle and visit great places.
My job in Canning vale WA officially finishes first week in July. Redundant after 19 years there as a electrician. Gone the way of a lot of manufacturing places over here in WA where the company boss's decide to manufacture in eastern states and transport to WA.
Slight bonus is possibly a months work after to empty warehouse and remove the equipment.
Company has looked after staff pretty well though, Told us about closure 9 months ago and have provided a lot of assistance with job search, interview technique etc.
well its looking like my turn soon - we all got 'expression of interest' emails last Friday, had to have our expressions in by c.o.b. next Friday for it and of course the way its worded they'll only be keeping the ones the bosses want (did I say perochialism and nepotism run rife in my place...?) but the long termers have suggested we all hold out for the 'not-so-voluntary' redundancies. ever since I went there to work various board members have come and gone and every one of them has eyed of my group for outsourcing (we're one of the I.T. wings) but the complexity of it meant it got shelved every time (after however-many millions were wasted on studies of the concept). now technology has changed and it has become easier so with all of this going on we don't know where we're going to end up either. the missus has enough points up to retire now (age-wise, not financially) but I have a bit over two years before I can even take my super then we have to worry about what our house here in Canberra will be worth so we can sell it and own our place in coffs - worry, worry, worry...
I worked in IT for nearly 20 years. I came into the industry in the late 90's when things were still booming and had several job offers straight out of uni. First job was with QR on big projects. QR was a weird place to work, with lots of staff and redundancies an everyday occurrence. We were due to get made redundant after a the big project we were on finished up, but the payout would have been bugger all so we left and went overseas for a working holiday. We went to America on work visas as they couldn't find enough skilled workers over there. Lost my job twice in America! First time due to a lengthy strike (in another part of the business) that almost broke the company, resulting in all the consultants being kicked off. As a consultant I got no redundancy payout. Second time was after Sept 11 and the tech downturn and our whole team was let go. Very much "macro" decisions, but you can't take them personally. I was actually on a customer site and fully billable! I got 4 weeks severance, which didn't come close to covering my moving costs back to Australia. Came back to Oz in 2002 and found it hard to find work in Brisbane, so took the first job I could find in Sydney as an entry-level programmer. Shit job, shift work and not enough money to live in Sydney due to house prices. That job had already outsourced a part of it's workforce to India and was planning to do more redundancies so I jumped ship before I got the tap on the shoulder. Found a reasonable job back in Brisbane working on mining and defence software. In my 7th year there, they offered me redundancy as they were outsourcing all the development and support roles to Malaysia. I had a wife on maternity leave and a mortgage, so couldn't risk leaving, so I took another role to stay in the company. Survived a few more years, but the mining boom died off and the company was taken over by an American mob. Lots more redundancies over a few years and I finally got the tap on the shoulder in my 12th year. Got nearly 6 months pay in total, which I've been living on for a while now while I go back to uni and reinvent myself.
I'm doing teaching now, which will hopefully be a job that can't be outsourced to 3rd world countries. My wife is working again, so we're ok, albeit living pay to pay. We saved a fair bit of money while overseas (nearly $200k) which we stupidly (in hindsight) put into our dream house. Turns out that we built near the top of the market and when we had to sell recently, we lost half our nest egg. On the upside, I've got 25-30 more years of work ahead of me in which to build up some assets. It seems like everyone else we meet seems to have made easy money in property. We tried to do the right things and saved heaps and bought into the dream, but our timing has just been a bit off. Living in Townsville now, and it looks like we picked a winner here again! Bloody house market has tanked here too. Might buy a caravan and move to the bush I reckon!
I guess the moral of the story is that for every boom there is a bust. And there's no point second guessing your decisions, you just gotta work with the cards you're dealt.
Sounds like the Administrators have been put in, so they knew for a while that things were going bad,,,,,, :'( :'(
I worked in IT for nearly 20 years. I came into the industry in the late 90's when things were still booming and had several job offers straight out of uni. First job was with QR on big projects. QR was a weird place to work, with lots of staff and redundancies an everyday occurrence. We were due to get made redundant after a the big project we were on finished up, but the payout would have been bugger all so we left and went overseas for a working holiday. We went to America on work visas as they couldn't find enough skilled workers over there. Lost my job twice in America! First time due to a lengthy strike (in another part of the business) that almost broke the company, resulting in all the consultants being kicked off. As a consultant I got no redundancy payout. Second time was after Sept 11 and the tech downturn and our whole team was let go. Very much "macro" decisions, but you can't take them personally. I was actually on a customer site and fully billable! I got 4 weeks severance, which didn't come close to covering my moving costs back to Australia. Came back to Oz in 2002 and found it hard to find work in Brisbane, so took the first job I could find in Sydney as an entry-level programmer. Shit job, shift work and not enough money to live in Sydney due to house prices. That job had already outsourced a part of it's workforce to India and was planning to do more redundancies so I jumped ship before I got the tap on the shoulder. Found a reasonable job back in Brisbane working on mining and defence software. In my 7th year there, they offered me redundancy as they were outsourcing all the development and support roles to Malaysia. I had a wife on maternity leave and a mortgage, so couldn't risk leaving, so I took another role to stay in the company. Survived a few more years, but the mining boom died off and the company was taken over by an American mob. Lots more redundancies over a few years and I finally got the tap on the shoulder in my 12th year. Got nearly 6 months pay in total, which I've been living on for a while now while I go back to uni and reinvent myself.
I'm doing teaching now, which will hopefully be a job that can't be outsourced to 3rd world countries. My wife is working again, so we're ok, albeit living pay to pay. We saved a fair bit of money while overseas (nearly $200k) which we stupidly (in hindsight) put into our dream house. Turns out that we built near the top of the market and when we had to sell recently, we lost half our nest egg. On the upside, I've got 25-30 more years of work ahead of me in which to build up some assets. It seems like everyone else we meet seems to have made easy money in property. We tried to do the right things and saved heaps and bought into the dream, but our timing has just been a bit off. Living in Townsville now, and it looks like we picked a winner here again! Bloody house market has tanked here too. Might buy a caravan and move to the bush I reckon!
I guess the moral of the story is that for every boom there is a bust. And there's no point second guessing your decisions, you just gotta work with the cards you're dealt.
very similar work history here - thought being a self-employed 'consultant' was the way to go but all that glitters is not gold and have learned its not good to become comfortable in a cushy contract the hard way. was married to a teacher some years back, don't think I could put up with the routine and while my step-grandson appears to have been smart enough to switch from I.T. to teaching at Armidale uni its probably getting too late for me
Lost 4 though..!!
Hey mate, how's the job going?
My other half was made redundant from a job she loved doing (but worked long hours and was on call), about a year ago, no warning, told on a Monday that she would finish on Friday. Devastating at the time. Took 5 months to get another job. In her time off we went camping a bit more, went to Hawaii, had a great time. New job, although it doesn't pay anywhere near as much, is great, she loves it. Because it pays less and she is way over qualified for it she pretty much works the hours she wants (within reason of course), and her boss is happy with this as he does not want to loose her. She now has work / life balance, and is much happier and healthier as a result.
At the time it was hard to take, I work there too, so I had to continue to work with the people that made her redundant. But in hindsight, it was probably the best thing that happened to her.
We were fortunate that her payout was good, and that our personal situation meant we could afford for her to have the time off she did until the ideal job appeared. But I do feel for those whose situation is different and people / families are facing the prospect of long term unemployment.
Hey mate, how's the job going?
Well mate...since i started this job 3 or so years ago where the numbers of people working here was aprox. 70 or so is now down to about 25.....i survived all the redundancies ...but now because of a medical condition i found it necessary to resign yesterday...being a glazier i have struggled the last 2 months to do my work without doing it safely and without pain...i now suffer with psoriatic arthritis....but at least now i can choose what i do without the obligation of fulfilling my work duties to an acceptable standard. So now a new chapter in my life begins.....We will see how it pans out ...Looks like the camper trailer get a bit more of a work out cause wifey works 3 x 12 hr shifts in intensive care at the hospital she gets a nice run of days off in a row which means we can haunt the camping spots only an hour or to from home to have 3-4 days camping...which sounds ok to me..... Lets see what the future holds.
hope it works out for you, mate...
another cheers to you tracker, I hope you both enjoy it - three days on four days off would suit me too. not ready to retire early yet, got a few things to pay down and reserves to build up but it may come sooner than I want - either way I don't see us being in this place beyond two years