General => General Discussion => Topic started by: terravista on August 19, 2015, 02:31:00 PM

Title: Do you consider this sexist?
Post by: terravista on August 19, 2015, 02:31:00 PM
We had a 40 year old female employee who has left on stress leave after allegedly being "sexually harassed" by a male employee.
There was an instance after she had an altercation with a subbie where she verbally stood up to him, and the meme below was left on her desk a few days later as a sign of respect by the male employee. This is now being used in a complaint to Human Rights as evidence of sexual harassment.
What I am trying to do is get a feel from "real people" on whether they would consider this meme to be sexual harassment, or as it was meant as a (jokey) sign of respect, no matter how tacky that may look.
Ian
(http://)

Title: Re: Do you consider this sexist?
Post by: paceman on August 19, 2015, 02:37:38 PM
without the female employee knowing why it was left on her desk and without her knowing the context (ie:  workplace support, not harassment), i can see how this can be construed as harassment.

seems to be poor judgement by the employee that left it on her desk... if the male employee had spoken to the female employee when they left it on her desk, the situation might have been seen differently by the female employee.

just my opinion...

Post by: time on August 19, 2015, 02:42:24 PM
Totally inappropriate in the work place, she has a good case, hope the boss has deeeeeep pockets.

If you can't see how obviously offensive this would be to that employee then ................ 
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2015, 02:44:44 PM
I had a complaint from HR by the new HR beast cause I had a photo of a girl in a bikini scroll through the screen at the milli second she walked past.. She lots the plot over it.. She felt "Sexually Harassed" by it. This is a "female" that cant walk in high heels but gives us a laugh daily! Its like watching Mr Humphreys from Are you being Served.

It wouldn't have been on the screen for more than 2 seconds as we were looking at a website in the USA from a car show similar to Sema...

Then again every single bloke on this floor has now had an official complaint made by her about them...
Amazingly that all the chicks seem to win the monthly awards for work well done since she started.. I Shit you not.

The world is officially ****ed.
Post by: UIZ733 on August 19, 2015, 02:47:10 PM
Absolutely.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on August 19, 2015, 02:49:27 PM
hope the boss has deeeeeep pockets.

And that's where the system sucks arse. Why is it always someone else is to pay for others actions ?
Post by: StrvnMrvn on August 19, 2015, 02:52:31 PM
And that's where the system sucks arse. Why is it always someone else is to pay for others actions ?

Because now days the employer has a responsibility to provide training in this area. If they don't do it, then they are the ones in trouble!!

I hate it when something so simple turns to crap when another family member gets involved! And they don't even work there or were even present when it happened!! Go Figure!!
Post by: ScottT on August 19, 2015, 02:53:27 PM
It's 2015 people
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2015, 02:55:17 PM
Quote from: ScottT
It's 2015 people

I'd be more than happy to go back to 1984 and stay there... This world has turned very sad and pathetic these days

Bring on
(http://pre05.deviantart.net/8ced/th/pre/f/2012/327/c/b/exploding_planet_by_bftws-d5lybes.jpg)
Post by: Green rv on August 19, 2015, 02:55:29 PM
got a mate that was working for a city council
he was walking past a female employee's desk and she had some male porn on at the time
he put in a complaint and was told to suck it up or leave

Adam
Post by: StrvnMrvn on August 19, 2015, 02:56:21 PM
he was walking past a female employee's desk and she had some male porn on at the time

Adam

WTF?
Post by: ScottT on August 19, 2015, 03:00:45 PM
I'd be more than happy to go back to 1984 and stay there... This world has turned very sad and pathetic these days

Bring on
(http://pre05.deviantart.net/8ced/th/pre/f/2012/327/c/b/exploding_planet_by_bftws-d5lybes.jpg)

So would I, I'd be 16 ! How good would that be !  ;D

All I'm saying is times have changed, whether or not we agree, it's the way it is
Post by: Desert lover on August 19, 2015, 03:02:39 PM
I think your mate crossed the line with that one.  However I also think that the person receiving the card could have handled it somewhat differently....particularly if this was the first time she had been the subject of "harassment" issues.   

I worked in the job where we had very interesting interactions with the public on many occasions...... we developed a rather sick sense of humour to manage the stress of many situations.... This humour when just amongst the members didn't upset too many in the past (male or female) and if it was getting a bit 'rank' as females we would just disappear for a while until the boys got over it.....or call them on it and then get over it......however in today's society the general population is a bit sensitive I think and far too quick to go and tell the boss... give the blokes the benefit of the doubt I reckon.... give them what for, tell them it isn't appreciated and they've gone a bit too far.....give them a chance to recognise that maybe they have and then apologise and change..... finally get on with life and your job.
Females don't always do themselves a service either in the way they dress or behave. 
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2015, 03:11:07 PM
Quote from: Desert lover
I think your mate crossed the line with that one.  However I also think that the person receiving the card could have handled it somewhat differently

We all do but you don't get a payout that way...
Post by: jetcrew on August 19, 2015, 03:18:37 PM
imagine your wife brought that home to show you, and said  that a male college had left it on her desk ..

I know what I,d be telling my wife to do ..same thing ...nobody talks about my vagina except me .LOL ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D (now thats sexist thinking I own my wife I know  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet :D
Post by: Hewy54 on August 19, 2015, 03:18:54 PM
Got to be so careful nowdays.
A few years ago I got into trouble for sexual harassment.
I used to get to work early and tidy up the kitchen area and do a few dishes. Got sick of the same cups being left for someone else to clean, so to make the point I filled the unwashed cups and put them in the freezer (no idea of whose they were).
One female complained so I was hauled over the coals for harassment.
Easy fix - I stopped doing other peoples dishes.

Post by: evaredy on August 19, 2015, 03:22:48 PM
I really think people should harden up!

Most of this crap is just an excuse to either get some money, get paid leave or just being vindictive.

Mind you, physical contact is a completely different story.
Post by: tk421 on August 19, 2015, 03:26:32 PM
I think in this case, it could be construed as harassment. A verbal chat probably was a better way to handle it. Its very hard because they just have to find it harassing for it to be deemed harassment and an action like that can be misconstrued.

Unfortunately more and more these days, there are those who cry wolf and who use it as a cover or an excuse (I am not suggesting that is the case here). I was involved as a witness in a racial harassment case - accuser was fired for being bad at their job and subsequently claimed it was racially motivated and claimed racial harassment by their manager. The day before we were due to appear in court the case was dropped.  It was a very mixed workplace, and the accuser had forgotten about the 6 black men and women, and the 2 Indians who also worked for the same manager & were prepared to testify in their support. Bloody stressful few days

Then there was the case of the council work who was fired for coming in and saying "Good morning Ladies". He apparently should have said "Good morning fellow co-workers"
Post by: Robbo on August 19, 2015, 03:36:46 PM
The PC world has gone mad these days. Nobody has a sense of humour and is so precious.
The workplace back in the 60's 70's and 80's was so different. You could have a laugh and joke
and poke fun at each other and nobody got offended or gave a toss. Many of the jokes and
comments etc. were from the women to the guys. They were priceless.
Some people need to harden up.
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2015, 03:41:58 PM
The PC world has gone mad these days. Nobody has a sense of humour and is so precious.
The workplace back in the 60's 70's and 80's was so different. You could have a laugh and joke
and poke fun at each other and nobody got offended or gave a toss. Many of the jokes and
I love u...
Post by: paceman on August 19, 2015, 04:16:53 PM

whilst i agree that the PC world has gone too far, do you still think that a message talking about a woman's vagina and left on her desk, without her knowing who put it there, is OK?

i have my doubts that this (messages left without knowing who left it and containing sexually explicit language) has been deemed 'acceptable' in any era.

times have changed.  if the woman in the original post had a history of making the kinds of jokes you are alluding to, then i would see less of an issue with it. 

but the facts, as stated, point to something else entirely and in an office environment, i'm not surprised that she was offended.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 19, 2015, 04:47:27 PM
Nothing, and I really mean, NOTHING these days can be left in print or its gunna come back and leave teeth marks in your arse.

Face to face, you MIGHT get away with a bit in the way it's delivered and even then, its thin ice material.

Years ago, i got dragged into a hearing about something I didn't even do.

I won the case, but it still cost me $1,800 to fight it.
Better than the $10,000 the cow was going after from me too.

Post by: Bird on August 19, 2015, 04:49:12 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Better than the $10,000 the cow was going after from me too.

did you cut the wrong bush???
Post by: terravista on August 19, 2015, 04:56:25 PM
The boss may well need deep pockets, as he is the one who put it on her desk after she left work, and as soon as he came in the next morning, asked her if she saw it, and pointed out that it was left is as a joke.
It shouldn't matter, but is is a Builders office, and this female employee has been heard to swear at suppliers at the same time as trying to come off as the quiet, shy and typical "butter wouldn't melt" in my mouth type. She has had two husbands with a kid to each. Separated from the second husband and whilst trying to get reconciled with him had 2 affairs. She is a Cougar, and seeing a psychologist and a psychiatrist.
While in the office made a fraudulent motor vehicle insurance claim, and once even stole my cookie from the fridge (unforgivable). She is permanent part time and collecting more Centrelink than is legal, and would appear to be trying for a big payout.
Yep, life was so much better when people had a sense of humour.
I see where the meme could come over as offensive, unfunny, and even distasteful, but I must be too old, as I cannot see any harassment involved.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 19, 2015, 04:59:01 PM
did you cut the wrong bush???

Oh mate, it was an ugly thing huh, pretty much the ugliest woman ever to walk the earth. We inherited her when we bought a Real Estate office many years ago.

I heard a few years later, she grew some facial whiskers and got a job as a walrus at SeaWorld.
She already had the smell and the sound correct prior to the whiskers too.
Post by: aussie9 on August 19, 2015, 05:10:24 PM
I think what's worse than a direct complaint, is those who are "offended on behalf of someone else".
A woman and I were having a joke around session at work (we were an item at one time) when the cleaner overheard us and reported me to the boss as she felt my friend should have been offended.
I was investigated and when my friend found out, she told the cleaner to "mind your own business" and then told the boss there was no offence taken by her he felt the cleaner was "spying on us"
We all attended a session, including the cleaner and the cleaner ended up getting a written warning for making unjustified complaints against me

Post by: michael h on August 19, 2015, 05:32:13 PM
The boss may well need deep pockets, as he is the one who put it on her desk after she left work, and as soon as he came in the next morning, asked her if she saw it, and pointed out that it was left is as a joke.
It shouldn't matter, but is is a Builders office, and this female employee has been heard to swear at suppliers at the same time as trying to come off as the quiet, shy and typical "butter wouldn't melt" in my mouth type. She has had two husbands with a kid to each. Separated from the second husband and whilst trying to get reconciled with him had 2 affairs. She is a Cougar, and seeing a psychologist and a psychiatrist.
While in the office made a fraudulent motor vehicle insurance claim, and once even stole my cookie from the fridge (unforgivable). She is permanent part time and collecting more Centrelink than is legal, and would appear to be trying for a big payout.
Yep, life was so much better when people had a sense of humour.
I see where the meme could come over as offensive, unfunny, and even distasteful, but I must be too old, as I cannot see any harassment involved.
Total Bitch she should be sacked-  what sort of cookie was it? ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on August 19, 2015, 05:32:54 PM
I have worked with some very attractive women over the years & not once have I been sexually harassed by any of them so I must be O.K. with my political correctness :angel:
Post by: GeoffA on August 19, 2015, 05:35:57 PM
........ She is a Cougar, and seeing a psychologist and a psychiatrist........

WARNING!!!...WARNING!!!...
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 19, 2015, 05:41:03 PM
I have worked with some very attractive women over the years & not once have I been sexually harassed by any of them so I must be O.K. with my political correctness :angel:

The fact ya got a head that ugly that it would scare a hungry Rottweiler out of a butcher shop helps too I think mate.  :cheers:
Post by: jw2170 on August 19, 2015, 05:42:36 PM

Adam

...and the old double standard does not exist.... :laugh:    :laugh:    :laugh:

I believe the PC pendulum has to start swinging back to neutral....
Post by: McGirr on August 19, 2015, 06:14:12 PM

A funny story many years ago working at Norman Ross. A new male employee had started and let's just say he had an eye for the same sex, we will call him Percy. That did not worry us until he started trying to chat up another male staff member, we will call him Peter.  Percy would always seem to make eye contact or watch Peter while working. We thought it was all a joke when Peter was telling us until one day Percy walked up to the registers and started sweet talking Peter and Peter told us that Percy had a "gun in his pocket" when he was being chatted up. ;D

After that all us warehouse workers refused to walk into the warehouse unless we had another staff member accompany us when Percy was in there. Any way he was sacked for sexual harassment after Peter made a complaint and this was in the early 1980's.

See it works both ways  ;D

Post by: Marschy on August 19, 2015, 06:31:28 PM
Test yourself by putting your daughter or wife in the same position. This would have been considered sexual harassment 30 years ago. If the person who put it on the desk did not think there would be repercussions, then it gives an indication that he thinks he is above reproach. It sounds as though he may have a lesson coming his way.
Post by: Robbo on August 19, 2015, 06:32:53 PM
I love u...

Awe Gee, Thanks Bruce...... ;D
Post by: Robbo on August 19, 2015, 06:33:59 PM
Oh mate, it was an ugly thing huh, pretty much the ugliest woman ever to walk the earth. We inherited her when we bought a Real Estate office many years ago.

I heard a few years later, she grew some facial whiskers and got a job as a walrus at SeaWorld.
She already had the smell and the sound correct prior to the whiskers too.

HaHaHa, That's Gold Jeepers.. ;D
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2015, 06:35:23 PM
WARNING!!!...WARNING!!!...
X willions

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk

Post by: slydar on August 19, 2015, 06:38:45 PM

See it works both ways

only when the 'perpetrator' is male

but I do agree with jw, the pendulum is starting to swing back, such a shame it isn't the false accusers who are getting their just deserves - too late for all the innocent men whose lives have been ruined by false allegations of rape, misconduct AND DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
Post by: champin on August 19, 2015, 06:47:54 PM
I personally don't think this is harrassment because of the context it was delivered in. So, I put it to my partner. She also thinks the same. In her words, " oh harden the f up". And I think thats the crux of the whole thing. It's all about the context. Anything can be misconscrewed or taken out of context. The pollies have this down pat. ( spin docters ). According to our HR people, we can be dragged over the coals for having an inproper thought. If it is construed that way. Well, heck! 90% of my male friends would be bum up inthe boob with big Buba right now if that was the case.
  Please don'tget offended by my coments. It is not my intention. Just my opinion. And as we all know...opinions are like R soles, everyone has one and they all stink.
Post by: stabicraft on August 19, 2015, 06:51:36 PM
Political correctness has gone beyond the bounds of common sense and decency.
Everybody everywhere takes offence at everything, you just have to try hard enough to be offended.
That is unless you are a white, heterosexual, catholic, Anglo Saxon, male working for a living, then its open season.

Booing, calling people mussies, abbos, wogs, etc etc etc.

Sticks and stones, people sticks and stones.

But there is no money in not taking offence.
And its all about what you can squeeze out of the system..............isnt it?
Post by: KingBilly on August 19, 2015, 06:53:41 PM
https://www.humanrights.gov.au/our-work/sex-discrimination/guides/sexual-harassment (https://www.humanrights.gov.au/our-work/sex-discrimination/guides/sexual-harassment)

Sexual harassment is any unwanted or unwelcome sexual behaviour, which makes a person feel offended, humiliated or intimidated.

Sexual harassment is not interaction, flirtation or friendship which is mutual or consensual.

Sexual harassment is a type of sex discrimination.

The Sex Discrimination Act 1984 (Cth) makes sexual harassment unlawful in some circumstances.

Despite being outlawed for over 25 years, sexual harassment remains a problem in Australia.

Sexual harassment disproportionately affects women with 1 in 5 experiencing sexual harassment in the workplace at some time. However, 1 in 20 men also report experiencing sexual harassment in the workplace.
Post by: UIZ733 on August 19, 2015, 07:00:25 PM
Test yourself by putting your daughter or wife in the same position. This would have been considered sexual harassment 30 years ago. If the person who put it on the desk did not think there would be repercussions, then it gives an indication that he thinks he is above reproach. It sounds as though he may have a lesson coming his way.
So true. There are workplace laws and they are there for good reasons. To keep your job and reputation, it is best, proper and a legal requirement to obey them. If you want  a skirmish, choose the biggest, most ugly, and physically capable bloke on staff and then 'go for it'.
Post by: champin on August 19, 2015, 07:01:14 PM
Is it just me? Or does anyone else think Australia is leading the world in litigation?
Post by: gclan on August 19, 2015, 07:05:14 PM
I guess it depends on what the work environment is like. I was a survey drafter and worked in basically all male workplaces, and I personally find the meme hilarious. The majority of women I have worked with however had no sense of humour and probably would have found it offensive.

Surely if something offends you, you do the adult thing and let the person involved know that you'd prefer they didn't do things of this nature again, before going straight for the harassment claim.

Screaming sexual harassment over nothing drives me mad!

Have a laugh people

Karen
Post by: champin on August 19, 2015, 07:10:30 PM
I guess it depends on what the work environment is like. I was a survey drafter and worked in basically all male workplaces, and I personally find the meme hilarious. The majority of women I have worked with however had no sense of humour and probably would have found it offensive.

Surely if something offends you, you do the adult thing and let the person involved know that you'd prefer they didn't do things of this nature again, before going straight for the harassment claim.

Have a laugh people

Karen
X one brazilion  :cheers:
Post by: discoteddy on August 19, 2015, 07:15:47 PM

Have a laugh people

Well said Karen!

Disco teddy.

Karen
Post by: Swannie on August 19, 2015, 07:21:58 PM
Generally if you need to ask the question it usually is

Post by: tk421 on August 19, 2015, 07:37:16 PM
The key is in the definition. 'Unwanted'. Many here are telling stories about groups that had particular behaviour and no one cared. Which is fine, I've worked in those environments, but it's the unwanted part that needs to be considered and it is a fine line that can be easily crossed. Personally I think there has to be an element of consistency. Is one rude joke,maimed at me, harassment? Probably not. Are consistent sexual jokes aimed at me harassment?  yes.

Post by: alnjan on August 19, 2015, 09:06:07 PM
Having worked in a very EEO orientated organisation you very quickly learn that some people are more equal than others and took every advantage of that fact.  As a Anglo straight male I could never be a Victim, but readily accused. 
Post by: GeoffA on August 19, 2015, 09:09:44 PM
I don't believe it's sexual harrassment, or even sexist, but it is definitely crass......and funny.
Post by: GeoffA on August 19, 2015, 09:14:44 PM
Some of these definitions have a touch of Monty Python about them.

"....I simply said that piece of halibut was good enough for Jehovah...."

"BLASPHEMER!!!...."
Post by: terravista on August 20, 2015, 09:05:00 AM
Many thanks for your responses and comments.
The guy that did this is over 60, Mediterranean birth and upbringing for 12 years, and over the last 5 years has seen his son jailed for drug use, developed a property estate that was valued at $6.5million and due to the GFC and idiot valuers, ended up taking 4 years to sell at less than cost which saw a loss of over $2.5 million.
Many would have turned to crime, drugs, or suicide, but all he did was pizz off an office worker.
My understanding of harassment was that it was based on more than a one off situation.This particular meme uses the "V" word which many find offensive for some reason. The term having bigger balls has been applied to many strong women including heads of state Angela Merkel, Margaret Thatcher, Helen Hunt and Kevin Rudd, and of those the only woman who complained apparently was Rudd.
The whole context was not meant to be sexual.
I saw the results of one case where a manager over a period of time went from complimenting an employee on her clothes ended up saying" I like the look of your legs in that skirt. I would like to see them wrapped around my neck"
Now that is a clear case of sexual harassment, and it cost him $15 000, but the total of all the offences combined was around $150 000.
The one I have described was a one off situation with no hint of any sexual connotation, but looks like Human Rights are desperate enough to take it up.
I am old enough to remember many years ago when a piece of art (Chloe??) a nude painting was re-hung over a Melbourne bar. This sort of thing was pretty well considered porn up to then, now you see far more flesh in Women's magazines and no one flutters an eyelash or as the meme indicates a Victorian era woman, faints from having the vapours.
I guess we will see what Human Rights have to say.
Ian
Post by: Bird on August 20, 2015, 09:45:36 AM
Many thanks for your responses and comments.
The guy that did this is over 60, Mediterranean birth and upbringing for 12 years, and over the last 5 years has seen his son jailed for drug use, developed a property estate that was valued at $6.5million and due to the GFC and idiot valuers, ended up taking 4 years to sell at less than cost which saw a loss of over $2.5 million.
Many would have turned to crime, drugs, or suicide, but all he did was pizz off an office worker.
My understanding of harassment was that it was based on more than a one off situation.This particular meme uses the "V" word which many find offensive for some reason. The term having bigger balls has been applied to many strong women including heads of state Angela Merkel, Margaret Thatcher, Helen Hunt and Kevin Rudd, and of those the only woman who complained apparently was Rudd.
I saw the results of one case where a manager over a period of time went from complimenting an employee on her clothes ended up saying" I like the look of your legs in that skirt. I would like to see them wrapped around my neck"
Now that is a clear case of sexual harassment, and it cost him $15 000, but the total of all the offences combined was around $150 000.
The one I have described was a one off situation with no hint of any sexual connotation, but looks like Human Rights are desperate enough to take it up.
I am old enough to remember many years ago when a piece of art (Chloe??) a nude painting was re-hung over a Melbourne bar. This sort of thing was pretty well considered porn up to then, now you see far more flesh in Women's magazines and no one flutters an eyelash or as the meme indicates a Victorian era woman, faints from having the vapours.
I guess we will see what Human Rights have to say.
Ian

Basically hes ****ed. she is aiming for a payout.. she finds the lawyer Dewy Cheetham and Howe and he will close the doors.
Post by: paceman on August 20, 2015, 10:02:06 AM

so based on that, i get one free shot of sexual harassment??  i doubt that very much...

plenty of people, both men and women, find the use of the term 'vagina' in a very public setting offensive, not just for 'some reason'....

whether 'we' think the note or the term is offensive is beside the point.  the person it is directed at is the one who may/may not find it offensive.

we have no right to assume that they should or should not find something offensive.

common sense would dictate that you just don't do things like this... it's not hard to figure out.

Post by: Bird on August 20, 2015, 10:27:32 AM

I'd like it noted that from this day forward I find the word "TOYOTA" officially harassing and offensive. anyone using it will be done for harassment.

......Bring on the end of the world.
Post by: paceman on August 20, 2015, 10:46:30 AM

I'd like it noted that from this day forward I find the word "TOYOTA" officially harassing and offensive. anyone using it will be done for harassment.

......Bring on the end of the world.

i think you are missing the point...

it's not so much the word that is offensive, its the context in which it is used...

in your example, what if i left a note for your wife or daughter that said 'how about i drive a toyota up your ****'?  totally different context, but the same word used.

what is interesting is that their are some many different opinions on issues such as this... 

and opinions are like a**eholes, everyone's got one... :)

and each opinion can be equally valid... but in the OP's case, only one opinion will matter ATM...

Post by: Bird on August 20, 2015, 11:17:48 AM
Quote from: paceman
it's not so much the word that is offensive, its the context in which it is used...

"...plenty of people, both men and women, find the use of the term 'vagina' in a very public setting offensive..."  ;D
Post by: paceman on August 20, 2015, 11:26:55 AM
"...plenty of people, both men and women, find the use of the term 'vagina' in a very public setting offensive..."  ;D

not sure what is being misunderstood, the public setting is part of the context i am talking about... whispering in someone's ear is a totally different thing to placing something out in the open, which is open to misinterpretation (ie: taken out of context), which is what appears to have happened here...

the note being left on the desk is a public setting where many people can see it (AFAIK)...

what if people walk past and see the note?  opinions are formed about that person, without their knowledge, based on a note that someone thought was funny.

doesn't sound fair to me.

i think we can agree to disagree on this.  i've said my piece... :)
Post by: terravista on August 20, 2015, 12:34:52 PM
so based on that, i get one free shot of sexual harassment??  i doubt that very much...

I don't know whether you would get one free shot of sexual harassment. I assume there would be a legal term for a once only act and it would be hard to call it harassment, but I would agree it could still be a punishable offence.
Post by: Black Diamond on August 20, 2015, 04:26:56 PM

Post by: edz on August 20, 2015, 04:37:51 PM
Ohh dear  10.9.8.7.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 20, 2015, 04:42:09 PM
Chains... now that excites me....  >:D

Where's the whip when ya need it?
Post by: edz on August 20, 2015, 06:12:12 PM
OH OK just for Jeepers  ;D
Post by: BaseCamp on August 20, 2015, 07:31:12 PM
Totally inappropriate in the work place, she has a good case, hope the boss has deeeeeep pockets.

If you can't see how obviously offensive this would be to that employee then ................

x2,00000
 - how spectacularly inept ... you CANNOT mention (verbally; in writing; etc); Virgina or balls; or any other euphemisms relating to genitalia... or even close to...

Anyone on here in a management job; or in something resembling a management position that doesn't understand that - please resign now!     Dumcoffs!    ;D     
Post by: KingBilly on August 20, 2015, 07:36:03 PM
- please resign now!     Dumcoffs!

Think you mean dummkoph, dummkoph

Post by: slydar on August 20, 2015, 07:56:01 PM
I remember a former girlfriend 'stirring' (ever noticed this is a female trait...?) me about having a pink shirt in my wardrobe. after several bouts of banter I pointed out she was wearing a blue jumper. the question was put to me to the effect of 'so what' whereupon I pointed out blue was the boys colour. instantly on the dismissive I was asked 'oh -humph - since when'...?

fact is especially in this country it is pretty much illegal if not against the 'rules of society' (or john howard's 'mainstream australia') to have anything exclusive to men - oops, sorry - 'males' to the point where that old adage of 'pink is for girls, blue is for boys' is no longer with standing. I even heard a radio dj (female) telling how her grandmother would look at the sky and say 'there's enough blue in the sky to make a pair of pants for every boy' and again spitting out the dismissive 'whatever that was supposed to mean'

so, for me I'm out to support those Australian companies that have been named in parliament for 'failing to answer' to the federal governments stipulation of how they intend to comply with eeo policies for women and sit over on the lounge with a glass of tyrrels wine
Post by: listo on August 20, 2015, 08:41:48 PM
I'm glad she's not at my depot with the amount of sh*t that gets spoken there. We'd all get sued and sacked before we stuck a blow.
Post by: Bird on August 20, 2015, 08:46:36 PM
So... if people don't call it a vagina.. what do you call it? Isnt that the correct name for it??

or just call it Wife?

Lets see what Urbandictionary says about it

PS.. lets now ban thinking about people too

YMMV
Post by: lyn4680 on August 20, 2015, 08:47:09 PM
If I came into the office one morning to find that on my desk I'd be equal parts furious and mortified.

If I found out it was my boss who left it there I would seriously start looking for another job.  If he thinks that, as a boss, this is acceptable and that he hasn't done anything wrong, I can do without that grief

It would also have me wondering - if he's leaving notes about my vagina to my face (so to speak) what's he saying/talking about behind my back??
Post by: slydar on August 20, 2015, 09:05:30 PM
probably no more than my two female staff members in a past employment were discussing my level of manhood in the office thinking I couldn't hear them over an technical issue I didn't tear someone apart in a different section over, nor any more a group of female staff members openly and loudly denigrated another boss's failure to call another issue in their favour . it seems the male genitalia is not sacred. this same group of females were heard discussing action their concern over some instances where the apparently taboo 'c' word was becoming more common

so next time I see the pink ute driven by a female with a clear sign 'it takes balls to be a woman' painted across the tailgate, can I have her pulled over by the highway patrol and fined?
Post by: slydar on August 20, 2015, 09:08:58 PM
actually - if you read the card, it is actually spoken from a female perspective...?
Post by: raider on August 21, 2015, 08:22:52 AM
Boooooooooooo......... oops sorry wrong thread.
Post by: Bird on August 21, 2015, 09:13:24 AM
Boooooooooooo......... oops sorry wrong thread.
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Nothing more than a
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/df/b3/69/dfb3696bd6de19f569311126c8f884b7.jpg)
Post by: prodigyrf on August 21, 2015, 02:21:18 PM
It all depends on the context-
http://blogs.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/timblair/index.php/dailytelegraph/comments/the_many_moods_of_clementine_ford/ (http://blogs.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/timblair/index.php/dailytelegraph/comments/the_many_moods_of_clementine_ford/)

Clementine's a rabid lefty who gets paid to write for Fairfax and she recently tweeted of a female media colleague Rita Panahi who is Iranian by birth and by Clem and Co's standards a conservative writer-
"No matter how hard she tries, she'll never be a white man."
https://twitter.com/clementine_ford/status/633844160600997893 (https://twitter.com/clementine_ford/status/633844160600997893)

Tim Blair labels Clemmy and her like Misogyny Maidens very aptly 'Frightbats' and continually calls them on their outrageous double standards.
http://blogs.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/timblair/index.php/dailytelegraph/comments/clem_complies/ (http://blogs.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/timblair/index.php/dailytelegraph/comments/clem_complies/)
Unfortunately these are the sort of women and their girlymen sycophants who will be driving that HRC kangaroo court for sexual harassment with the full weight of the taxpayer behind them. It will have nothing to do with reasonableness and reconciliation between the two parties.

Post by: prodigyrf on August 21, 2015, 02:35:51 PM
On second thoughts although he's a bloke and stuffed there is the Mediterranean by birth and cultural angle to work over as best he can for mitigating circumstances. Find himself a top female brief that specializes in the multicultural/immigrant field.
Post by: terravista on August 21, 2015, 03:27:41 PM
The thing I don't really get is just as Slydar pointed out, the meme is spoken from the female aspect.
Nothing on the meme names this alleged victim or even says she actually has a vagina.
The word vagina seems to be upsetting to some people, and when you see the lack of support from Magistrates who release without any punishment morons who abuse police with vile language and excuse it off because it is now common street language, surely the technical name of a woman's body should be able to be used.
The office this occurred has 1 full time male employee (me) two part time women, and a couple of hours a day the owner/manager drops in.
He has given her money when in need of it with no expectation of it being refunded, (and no sexual favours asked for) done repairs to her house without payment, given her heaps of time off when needed, and now after leaving what he thought was a joke, looks like being severely punished.
I showed the meme to my wife, adult daughter and many of their friends, and  on the whole (notice the w in front of hole for any prudes) only a couple had a problem with it, and after it was pointed out that here was nothing personal in it, and after the shock of seeing the V word in print, were OK with it.
It just shows that there are people out there that can be shocked themselves, or be shocked on behalf of others over what really should be pretty minor indiscretion.
Maybe people should just "HARDEN THE ACT OF FORNICATION UP". Sorry if that offends anyone.
Post by: time on August 21, 2015, 03:40:13 PM
Maybe people should just "HARDEN THE ACT OF FORNICATION UP". Sorry if that offends anyone.

Your original post asked "What I am trying to do is get a feel from "real people" on whether they would consider this meme to be sexual harassment, or as it was meant as a (jokey) sign of respect, no matter how tacky that may look."

Clearly from your last post you are not interested in views of people who disagree with you.  I refer to my original comment, "If you can't see how obviously offensive this would be to that employee then ........" to finish that line perhaps I should have added "don't ask"

Now can we start a thread that deals with religion and politics ;)
Post by: terravista on August 21, 2015, 03:54:22 PM
Clearly from your last post you are not interested in views of people who disagree with you.  I refer to my original comment, "If you can't see how obviously offensive this would be to that employee then ........" to finish that line perhaps I should have added "don't ask"

I can see where you are coming from, do appreciate the responses and value the different opinions received.
My last response was not really related to the original post or the observations from forum members but the latest episode of a stalking complaint made to the police over the same matter.
Irrespective of this, I asked the question, I have read the 3 pages of responses, but was not aware that I was prohibited from having an opinion on the subject I started. Sorry for your inconvenience.
Ian
Post by: slydar on August 21, 2015, 04:23:21 PM

He has given her money when in need of it with no expectation of it being refunded, (and no sexual favours asked for) done repairs to her house without payment, given her heaps of time off when needed, and now after leaving what he thought was a joke, looks like being severely punished.

hmm, this sounds familiar - had a partner some years ago was much the same - all was good when she got what she needed from me financially and personally, fronted up to people she claimed were bullying her etc but as soon as I had to start doing more for myself (new job) and paying formal child support to my estranged kids mother out came the claws - will never understand why she chose to make me out to be such an evil nasty person, other than the fact that she had to if she wanted other people to do anything for her. sometimes changing your entire life for a 'needy' person just isn't enough for them

have seen so many other similar scenarios...
Post by: Bird on August 21, 2015, 04:39:14 PM
Quote from: Bird
...Bring on the end of the world.

Very disappointed
http://www.theage.com.au/technology/sci-tech/nasa-declares-world-is-not-going-to-end-with-asteroid-near-puerto-rico-in-september-20150821-gj4u6n.html (http://www.theage.com.au/technology/sci-tech/nasa-declares-world-is-not-going-to-end-with-asteroid-near-puerto-rico-in-september-20150821-gj4u6n.html)
Post by: SteveandViv on August 21, 2015, 06:32:47 PM

Bring on

A great grab from Star Trek ;D
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 21, 2015, 06:55:39 PM

Awe Gee, Thanks Bruce...... ;D

I thought his name was percy???
Post by: vicandug on August 21, 2015, 06:56:25 PM
If it was me, well I would have laughed if I was mates with the person who delivered it but if it was a person who I didn't know very well then I would probably think differently.
In these times its really hard to judge how people will take things.

But in the work place you really need to be careful what you say, how you say it and to who you say it.  Better off saying nothing to anyone I think.

Post by: Troopy_03 on August 21, 2015, 07:15:39 PM
OK, so being a bit older and slower, help me to come to grips with this.... Would it be OK then, if the person who received the card was a hermaphrodite?
Post by: Oldandslow on August 21, 2015, 08:25:50 PM
I'm with Bird, it is becoming a sad world.

So many people just walk around looking for ways to make a quick dollar without actually working for it.
Post by: heath74 on August 21, 2015, 08:34:26 PM
Whether you or I find it offensive, on this forum is irrelevant.

I think it's a fair expectation that a woman, no matter how many husbands she's had and insurance claims she has put in, can go to work without notes left on her desk about her vagina.

But hey, call me old school.

Post by: Marschy on August 21, 2015, 08:46:01 PM

I think it's a fair expectation that a woman, no matter how many husbands she's had and insurance claims she has put in, can go to work without notes left on her desk about her vagina.

Well said.

This thread is BS. I wouldn't call you old school, I'd call you a gentleman.
Post by: terravista on August 22, 2015, 07:50:15 AM

I have no problems with old school but old school to me apart from common courtesy is  making informed decisions.
You claim that the members opinions on this forum are irrelevent. I disagree. The question was originally put to find what peoples opinions were, and I appreciate the time the forum members have taken to respond. Thier opinions do matter to me.
This meme has a female outline that appears to be Victorian era and the first party words from her relate to her, not anyone else. The words to me could be replaced with "although I am a woman".
If this meme showed the same character saying "I may have breast cancer but I can still do a hard days work" it should not be related to the breasts of a person who read it. Also, if someone had written the victims name or substituted her image onto the meme, I would have a different opinion and fully agree with the majority of the respondents, but I have read the meme with a different interpretation.
Post by: rockinj on August 22, 2015, 04:04:27 PM
yes, the fact that the boss did it is despicable.
As someone else said, imagine if it was your daughter that was given this. Times have not changed in this regard, it has never been acceptable to be discusting to others. The fact that some people think this is allowable reflects their maturity level.
Post by: GeoffA on August 22, 2015, 06:06:47 PM
yes, the fact that the boss did it is despicable.
As someone else said, imagine if it was your daughter that was given this. Times have not changed in this regard, it has never been acceptable to be discusting to others. The fact that some people think this is allowable reflects their maturity level.

::) ::)

It wasn't a random act. They have known each other for some time, and seem to have had a very good relationship.
It was clearly a joke, between two friends that just happen to work together.
It's sad what the smell of money will do.....

If my daughter was given something like this, she'd respond in kind, not with feigned indignance and a cash grab.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 22, 2015, 06:34:57 PM
I agree with you Geoff......

Too many people take life way to seriously. (especially seeing as its not forever..... its only temporary)

People should learn to laugh at themselves, everyone else is.  ;D

Title: Do you consider this sexist?
Post by: robbo1172 on August 22, 2015, 07:51:15 PM
These things only take on the meaning that those reading them give them. Some people have a giggle others take offence. Me? Just a skinny little white vego that does not give one rats bum what people say to/about him. That said, I wouldn't leave that on someone's desk. Their reaction could be different on any day due to any number of different factors. Anyway, when ya see me be sure to ask me "how's ya bum for grubs"

rockfactor.com.au
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 23, 2015, 04:31:18 AM
When I was with the Bob Jane Group, I rang the Qld Govt. workshop to get an order number for a car.

I said the same thing, "Hey mate, how's ya bum for grubs"

The bloke was highly offended and carried on as if i'd called his mum a whore.  ;D
Post by: heath74 on August 23, 2015, 08:39:12 AM
Yep we all take things differently, and you never know how some people will take what you see as a joke, some of us are highly resilient and can easily enjoy a bit of banter. Many of us have the skills to keep it on track, and if someone gets close the the line we are able to let them know without lodging complaints etc. Good natured banter is a huge part of Australian, especially male, communication and a sign of friendship.

However some where along the line, (maybe not this meme, but generally speaking) banter can turn to bullying, and that's why we have workplace safety laws in place. The training I've always been put through insists that it is the victim who gets to define whether it's harassment or a joke. Which is why I make the comment that our thoughts are irrelevant - with respect to this case and what fair work will find- for the OP to get a few opinions of course they are relevant. Having said that context should be considered, some conversation is great for the footy club rooms, the public bar and the camp fire, but for me work is different, I really think we all have a right to go to work without things such as that meme.
If you are wondering why I'm passionate about this, have a read here.

http://www.justice.vic.gov.au/home/safer+communities/crime+prevention/bullying+-+brodies+law (http://www.justice.vic.gov.au/home/safer+communities/crime+prevention/bullying+-+brodies+law)

Not saying it's the same as the case discussed in the thread, but I do think it's a slippery slope, and what starts as a bit of a laugh can get out of hand, and the results can be very serious.
Post by: D4D on August 23, 2015, 08:46:21 AM
Is this thread still going? ::)
Post by: rockinj on August 23, 2015, 08:47:55 AM
I bow out; you obviously want to be told the boss is a poor, hard done by bloke and that the female in question is a user who should be able to laugh off any sexual harassment as it was 'just a joke'.
Sorry - I'm not going to tell you what you want to hear. You seem to be missing the point that as THE BOSS this person needs to be doing everything by the book. Leaving written sexual notes for a female employee especially without any context given is unacceptable.
Lead by example - what a great example to set. (NOT)
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2015, 09:34:34 AM
 ::) ::)
Post by: edz on August 23, 2015, 10:44:43 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTbgsoHDc24 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTbgsoHDc24)
Post by: prodigyrf on August 23, 2015, 12:44:49 PM
"The office this occurred has 1 full time male employee (me) two part time women, and a couple of hours a day the owner/manager drops in.
He has given her money when in need of it with no expectation of it being refunded, (and no sexual favours asked for) done repairs to her house without payment, given her heaps of time off when needed, and now after leaving what he thought was a joke, looks like being severely punished."

And then there's a stalking complaint related to the same matter and cougar, 2 husbands with 2 kids, dodgy MV claim, seeing shrinks, etc.

OK I've worked in the building game and running factory production among others and yes as the boss you're sometimes wetnurse, shrink, social-worker, financial and lay legal advisor, as well as trying to cope with failed marriages and relationships that seem the preserve of the working classes. You do the best you can to try and prevent your customers being dragged into the fallout from it all and you have to be judicious when some want an advance on their wages for the latest pickle they're in. It's how we lose our hair or what hangs on turns grey or white.

All I'd say terravista is the plot has thickened somewhat and be very careful you have the whole story because from experience it's a tangled web we weave sometimes and furthermore Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned as the Bard once noted. If you're ever asked you stick strictly to what you observed and know for a fact.
Post by: stabicraft on August 23, 2015, 02:21:48 PM
Mary had a little lamb....................no scrub that cant use and gender
Someone had a little lamb...............no scrub that it upsets the vegans.

oh Ill try again, more gender neutral

Jack and Jill went up the hill............No scrub that, what about same sex couples?
Jacck and Jim, Mary and Maude,................Oh forgat that too hard

Humpy Dumpty sat on a wall.....................sounds reasonably safe so far
Humpty Dumpty had a great fall.................Oh no, looking like a litigation issue coming up.
All the kings horses and all the kings men couldnt put Humpdy together again.........opps gratuitous violence, unqualified medical treatment, no no no , this is no good either

Little Jack Horner, sat in a corner...............o-oh here comes the complaints about abusing children, oh yeah, and its Jack , so we have the sexist issue again.

Guess we will have to stay put on animals.

Barr, barr black ........hang on there just one mi......Barr barr rainbow sheep......WHAT????? since when are there homosexual sheep?

Forget it

There is no nursery rhymes that are suitable for use.

Now lets just give up educating children and let them all become mindless asexual drones............
Post by: BaseCamp on August 23, 2015, 04:28:50 PM

... meanwhile on a (hopefully) lighter note - and to give a few smiles to everyone:

"The Change Up" - Sexual Harassment...

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CCAQtwIwAGoVChMI4N_jism-xwIVQSKmCh1WVA2m&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DBHrdrpUMBQI&ei=W2fZVaDGEsHEmAXWqLWwCg&usg=AFQjCNF72K9eGHQjt3MGwxTzJvCS8zax_Q (https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CCAQtwIwAGoVChMI4N_jism-xwIVQSKmCh1WVA2m&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DBHrdrpUMBQI&ei=W2fZVaDGEsHEmAXWqLWwCg&usg=AFQjCNF72K9eGHQjt3MGwxTzJvCS8zax_Q)

Post by: slydar on August 24, 2015, 05:51:54 PM
(leans against the post while he waits for his head to stop spinning...)
Post by: slydar on August 24, 2015, 05:53:03 PM
 oh good one - eddie maquire just messed up a contestants name on telly - 'dwayne' got called 'drain'...