General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on April 29, 2015, 11:52:12 AM
http://www.dicksmith.com.au/navigation-travel/dick-smith-12v-dc-portable-stove-dsau-m4515 (http://www.dicksmith.com.au/navigation-travel/dick-smith-12v-dc-portable-stove-dsau-m4515)
$18 - 1 day sale....
ordered... for $18 I aint complaining. ;D
I've got one of these that I use in the boat and 4wd. Does pies, pasties, sausage rolls and chicken strips a treat. Jam filled donuts not bad either.
Ocassionally I'll make a big batch of curry chilli sausages and freeze them in the foil trays with cardboard lid also heat up nicely on a cold winter day.
And I just ordered a spare one. For that price, couldn't pass it up ....
(http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b289/cruiserpics/Capture.jpg) (http://s21.photobucket.com/user/cruiserpics/media/Capture.jpg.html)
And I just ordered a spare one. For that price, couldn't pass it up ....
(http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b289/cruiserpics/Capture.jpg) (http://s21.photobucket.com/user/cruiserpics/media/Capture.jpg.html)
yea love u ;D
Just picked mine up 8) donuts on the way to the swap meet :cup:
Thanks for the heads up, i just ordered one as well :)
donuts on the way to the swap meet :cup:
just be careful, hot jam dripping onto one's lap while driving can have scorching consequences
Who doesnt like roasted nuts in winter ;D
One very disparaging review on Dick's website - FYI
18 bucks should be about it, I recon?
++++++++++++++++++++++++++
No light to indicate that the unit is operating
-Opens from halfway up revealing two aluminium 'trays' which means when the unit is closed half the height is wasted when cooking because liquids will spill out particularly when it is sitting in a moving vehicle but also when it's stationary because it doesn't have a steam vent on the top of the unit steam will escape from halfway up and condense and run down onto the floor of the vehicle#
=>#Can be put in a tray or bucket on the floor of vehicle to prevent spillages#
-Unit can be irreparably damaged if the power goes out when it is hot and contains liquid because of rubber seal which creates a vacuum and will deform the 'trays' inward#
=> Cutting a small vent in the rubber seal will prevent vacuum damage
-'trays' #aluminium base and top# cannot be removed
-round shape causes it to roll around the floor of the vehicle when moving if not properly secured#
=>Can be secured from rolling by packing other items around it or attaching with Velcro to a flat sheet on the floor or even by suspending from the handle
-120 Watt 10 Amp takes about 30 minutes to heat to cooking temperature
=> #care must be taken to ensure vehicle electrics are not damaged if used in conjunction with other devices exceeding the vehicles power socket capacity and its a good idea to have spare fuses for the cigarette lighter circuit if you plan to use with other devices#
Even given the limitations above its wonderful and liberating to cook on the go and not have to rely on the vagaries of shops along the way and you get to choose what hot foo d you eat.
LOL
???
>:D
How long do they take to heat things up?
Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
l have 1 & it can do party pies in 30 mins from frozen . Last nights left overs ( if any ) in a foil tray put on 20 mins before lunch . At $18 how far wrong can you go :cup: :cheers:
Exactly what i thought even after reading that review on Dick.
They do take a while to heat up but they get ridiculously hot after about 30 mins. I have cooked bacon and eggs on them when i was working in the middle of nowhere. They would cook a steak if you were desperate. Biggest problem was keeping everyone elses food out of it.
It sure beats warming your food up on the exhaust manifold.
couple of tips. Firstly piss the cig plug off and put alligator clips on or you will end up melting it as they draw a bit of power.
Secondly if your heating sausage rolls and the like, dont wrap more than one layer of alfoil around them as each layer slows the heating process considerably.
Another

A loosely crumpled layer of foil on the bottom stops the bases of pies going hard.
Hot dogs in a foil tray with lid and a bit of water work well.
We could start a 12V oven gourmet thread
Another 
A loosely crumpled layer of foil on the bottom stops the bases of pies going hard.
Hot dogs in a foil tray with lid and a bit of water work well.
We could start a 12V oven gourmet thread 
hot jam donuts on mt skene years ago was a winner for me... ;D
Ordered :)
Ordered!
You could go with these for 200+
http://www.12-24voltovens.com.au/ (http://www.12-24voltovens.com.au/)
hot jam donuts on mt skene years ago was a winner for me... ;D
I think I remember you posting about it on EO! Around 2004/5. "Jimbo" was the master of the oven those days.
cant rush these things... :P
We've had one of these things for about ten years Best $50 I ever spent. First few years we used to run it off the std 12v in the back off a Kluger then Paj.
Used in the boat as well and still good nic, bargin at $18.
Ordered
We should have arranged a bulk purchase . Now also get some foil food containers with lids to handle the curries & stews , keep the unit cleaner ;D Hot pies & Cold beers what more could you ask for on the Wallaby . Gezzz we do it tuff these days :cheers:
Tried to order one this morning and the cheaper price is shown, when you go to the checkout they are at the normal price. Bugger
after eating sausage rolls from Hutchie's and jam donuts from Doweymex ordered 1 yesterday afternoon and arrived this afternoon
;D ;D got one a 5am at low price, all sold out for pick up in north east, luckily neighbor works in Melbourne he will pickit up :cup: :cup:
X2. But I have to drive a further 5 k's to pick it up. Hot pies on the beach when fishing
Tricky dick has done it again.
1 day only sale.
12v oven $18.60 or thereabouts. Will end a.m. tomorrow sometime.
http://www.dicksmith.com.au/navigation-travel/dick-smith-12v-dc-portable-stove-dsau-m4515
Ordered one last time and thought it would be like a waeco 12v kettle USELESS!
HOW WRONG I WAS!
Now $49.80
I wouldn't be keen to have something draw all that power from the 12 volt circuitry of your vehicle, that includes the load on the alternator and that cigarette lighter plug, never been designed for that, it's asking for trouble.
I have a much better idea >:D http://www.wikihow.com/Cook-Food-on-Your-Car's-Engine (http://www.wikihow.com/Cook-Food-on-Your-Car's-Engine) >:D
10 amps is not a great load, simply turning on your headlights is around the same, rear screen
demister probably around 20 amps.
Can I run these off 2 x 100amps in the expanda?
I run mine off 1 x 100amp Marine batt in my boat while out fishing.
Usually have it on for about 45 to 60mins to heat up food. Never flattened the batt yet.
Cool
Just bought one $18.00
https://www.google.com.au/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&rlz=1C1GGGE___AU601AU603&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=12+volt+portable+oven&tbs=vw:l,p_ord:p&tbm=shop&spd=851728036623629539 (https://www.google.com.au/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&rlz=1C1GGGE___AU601AU603&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=12+volt+portable+oven&tbs=vw:l,p_ord:p&tbm=shop&spd=851728036623629539)
What's the difference between these and Travel Buddys (apart from the price :angel:)?
$49.00 again :(
What's the difference between these and Travel Buddys (apart from the price :angel:)?
Travel Buddy cooks better, crispy not soggy, although with the price difference it would be hard to justify the TB. That said I have the TB and it is awesome.
TB also uses 6-7A so less than the cheaper ovens. It is designed to work off a car's accessory socket.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31535 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31535)
Just got one for $18.71 + $9.95 delivery to my door.
Same one i got :)
Got a fresh link the other post brings up a Google search.
https://www.google.com.au/shopping/product/1444830762280416177?q=12+volt+portable+oven&bav=on.2,or.&biw=1920&bih=993&dpr=1&ion=1&espv=2&tch=1&ech=1&psi=If1zVai6M4HCmAWChICYCg.1433664802568.3&ved=0CAMQqSs&ei=Iv1zVduwJMW1mAW-uIOQDQ (https://www.google.com.au/shopping/product/1444830762280416177?q=12+volt+portable+oven&bav=on.2,or.&biw=1920&bih=993&dpr=1&ion=1&espv=2&tch=1&ech=1&psi=If1zVai6M4HCmAWChICYCg.1433664802568.3&ved=0CAMQqSs&ei=Iv1zVduwJMW1mAW-uIOQDQ)
Travel Buddy cooks better, crispy not soggy, although with the price difference it would be hard to justify the TB. That said I have the TB and it is awesome.
TB also uses 6-7A so less than the cheaper ovens. It is designed to work off a car's accessory socket.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31535 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31535)
Think I will save up for travel buddy.
Got a fresh link the other post brings up a Google search.
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=261720008101
Back on at dick Smith at $17.89
Click and collect to pick up from local store.
I have posted before, I have had one of these for years. They are great, ran it off all sorts of vehicles at the OEM cig plug no probs. they are no travel buddy but for warming up ham and cheese rolls, sausage rolls pasta etc they are fantastic worth well more than the std price of $50 little lone $20
Ta, grabbed one, at that price worth a try taking into account other's experiences.
I got one as well, stop posting the deals up. The boss keeps picking up packages form the post office and I get in big trouble >:D
I'm going to resist it this time around I've already spent way to much before my trip
The DSE web site is saying they are sold out in Shepp :'(
Don't suppose there is any generous swagger that might be able to grab on from another store for me? I can fix you up and collect? I travel most parts of Vic.
Just organised one Click and Collect from the Sunbury store....$18...., had a look at one in another store the other day, the salesman was a bit "un-enthused" about the product so I wasn't going to spend $50 in the store, but $18 isn't too much to lose if it doesn't perform as it should...
Don't suppose there is any generous swagger that might be able to grab on from another store for me? I can fix you up and collect? I travel most parts of Vic.
I got mine posted for an extra $9
Cheers. I'll look into that. Thanks
at that price you should grab 4 and plug them in at night in the CT, leave the lids open and heat your bed, dry the canvas.........
Just picked mine up [click n collect] and hit the road at 3 this arvo.
Will put a sausage roll or two in in when I have 100 k's to go and see what happens.
Just ordered one online will pick it up at Cannon Hill this arvo after work. Be good for travelling. Get a few pies, keep in the fridge until needed then warm em up as you drive. Bargain
Just picked mine up [click n collect] and hit the road at 3 this arvo.
Will put a sausage roll or two in in when I have 100 k's to go and see what happens.
I'd give it 2 hours if they're frozen.
I got one as well, stop posting the deals up. The boss keeps picking up packages form the post office and I get in big trouble >:D
Tell her how much money will save buying pies on special and reheating them at your leisure. ..
Should have paid for itself by the 8th pie I reckon....
Let us know how you go with it.
Hiya lino6.
Just bought one up for you. No problem if you have already bought one. I'm sure someone here will take it at $17.whaterever.
can be picked up at prahran.
Hiya lino6.
Just bought one up for you. No problem if you have already bought one. I'm sure someone here will take it at $17.whaterever.
Mate you are a champ! :cup:
I'll be doing some stuff in Craigieburn next week so I'll PM you and try and arrange a pickup. Thanks heaps for that!
Just organised one Click and Collect from the Sunbury store....$18...., had a look at one in another store the other day, the salesman was a bit "un-enthused" about the product so I wasn't going to spend $50 in the store, but $18 isn't too much to lose if it doesn't perform as it should...
Just did the same at the Sunbury store
Mate you are a champ! :cup:
I'll be doing some stuff in Craigieburn next week so I'll PM you and try and arrange a pickup. Thanks heaps for that!
You're welcome! If you find one closer or easier feel free to grab it.
Maybe there might be someone who lives in craigieburn who works in the city might make collection easier for you. Anyone????
You're welcome! If you find one closer or easier feel free to grab it.
Maybe there might be someone who lives in craigieburn who works in the city might make collection easier for you. Anyone????
I've just found remembered I have a meeting in Notting Hill next week and have some paperwork to drop off in Moorabbin so I'll probably be able to grab it. Will PM you and maybe scarps when I have some dates etc. Thanks again!
Tell her how much money will save buying pies on special and reheating them at your leisure. ..
Should have paid for itself by the 8th pie I reckon....
Let us know how you go with it.
All jokes aside with three kids growing up one of these paid for itself fifty times over in Maccas spends.
You guys are costing me more n more money. Just ordered one myself
ordered an extra unit today, now we wont fight over who as the last sausage roll
might need a second battery????
Hiya lino6.
Thanks so much I had seen lino6 post above asking if anyone could grab one and said to him thats funny I have been watching this thread what if we had both got it. His answer then we have two lol. I asked was he getting one he said keep reading. Love myswaggers
Agreed. Ya gotta luv myswaggers.
just jumped on the bandwagon and ordered one to be delivered
I've had one of these for a while now.
I use it in the tractor when busy at certain times of the year.
SWMBO puts leftover wet type food (curries, spaghetti bog etc etc) into the single serve aluminium takeaway containers and freezes them.
A curry or similar takes about 45 minutes from turning the oven on to being ready to eat.
I put the food into a cold oven and turn it on, don't bother preheating it.
Sausage rolls, pies etc...... About 35 minutes from start to finish.
For 18 bucks ya can't go wrong. :cup:
just jumped on the bandwagon and ordered one to be delivered
Have you got a backup for the backup for the backup >:D Its an OCD thing
still reckon 4 of them could be as efficient as a diesel heater........
If you fill them up with diesel and set them on fire????
They will still be better than Scarps campfire
now look here lino6, don't play with fire;D
Grabbed mine today from feisty, thanks again mate! :cup:
Will give it a run on Wednesday.
hot jam donuts............yum
Mmmmmmmm, doughnuts!
Nah the Nutella doughnuts heated in them are better
swannie
Might have to start a poll. Best recipe for a 12v oven? First prize is a 12v oven
don't forget the alfoil under
welcome back Peter. Was a bit worried about you last night. You uploaded a vid to YouTube and then went MIA. Everything ok?
just been doing a little shopping for our next myswag weekend
Anyone made scones in them?
Should make life on the road a bit easier, and healthier. All I need now is the 12v coffee maker and I'll be set!
All I need now is the 12v coffee maker and I'll be set!
sji had one for sale at the swap meet.
A pod one?
Not a Coleman?? >:D
A pod one?
gas powered perc
Not a Coleman?? >:D
;D ;DYEP ;D ;D
Legendary
gas powered perc
:'( :'( :'( nup
bugger. was hoping for a Scarps comeback swagmail ;D
would it fit in my saddlebag? Neigh......
Oh well nevermind.
He is outsourcing these days, 1 step away from going offshore I reckon. >:D
would it fit in my saddlebag? Neigh......
yes Mr Ed ;D
He is outsourcing these days, 1 step away from going offshore I reckon. >:D
or management
My pleasure mate.
If you're after a Coleman gas powered coffee maker Rays in nunawading have them at 39 down from 139. Let me know if you want one.....
My pleasure mate.
If you're after a Coleman gas powered coffee maker Rays in nunawading have them at 39 down from 139. Let me know if you want one.....
Thanks for the offer, but Nay-DMAX has her eye on a 12v machine that takes pods. We are lazy like that!
Looks like they are back on sale again (16-Jun-2015).
Dick Smith 12V DC Portable Stove (http://www.dicksmith.com.au/navigation-travel/dick-smith-12v-dc-portable-stove-dsau-m4515)
Have been on sale for the last week. Seem to be running out at most stores
Grabbed one of these a few weeks ago when they were on special, fairly impressed so far. Did some mini jam doughnuts no probs one trip & was running late for work this morning so cooked a couple bits of toast, whacked some ham & cheese in between & wrapped in foil. Perfect ham & cheese toastie after the 20 min drive to work. :cheers:
Thanks just ordered one
Guy at work fitted an adjustable thermostst, stopped it over cooking things
Forgetting it of being delayed at work causd a few drid up meals apparrantly
Ordered!
Picked mine up, and seems great value for $20.
Out of interest, did anyone find the cable undersized for the amount of power the thing uses?
I only left it on for 5 minutes outside, and the cable was quite warm (very cold night though).
Never had a problem with a warm cable. I gather that would be normal as there is a bit of current going through it.
Prawn&vegie dumplings(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/06/19/c330988a0cf11b648e6d2960ea7cae53.jpg)
yummo - what is the thing that you are cooking it on?
Piece of stainless mesh so the dumplings can steam i reckon.
Thanks just ordered one
Guy at work fitted an adjustable thermostst, stopped it over cooking things
Forgetting it of being delayed at work causd a few drid up meals apparrantly
Great idea, i was thinking of adding an inline power switch but a rotary POT would be better.
Got some more details of the adjustable thermostat?
Great idea!
Prawn&vegie dumplings(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/06/19/c330988a0cf11b648e6d2960ea7cae53.jpg)
It's a piece of powder coated aluminium gutter guard I've got a 50 m roll in the shed,does the job
Looks good! Does it slow the heating process down much? I find that they seem to work best when the item is in contact with the oven's surface. If I put 4 pies in the top two are still cold while the bottom two are good and hot.... even with two pies I turn them over half way through the heating process
I think he ised one like this
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2-x-NC-SPST-Temperature-Temp-Switch-Thermostat-70-Degree-Celsius-/301191371210 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2-x-NC-SPST-Temperature-Temp-Switch-Thermostat-70-Degree-Celsius-/301191371210)
Forgotten how it was mounted but recall he pulled oven apart and fitted through wall in lower section
70 is pretty hot and you can get heaps of temp units
For $15 you could use one of these?
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DC12V-Aquarium-Temperature-Temp-Controller-Thermostat-Switch-40-f-120-Sensor-/151457310733 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DC12V-Aquarium-Temperature-Temp-Controller-Thermostat-Switch-40-f-120-Sensor-/151457310733)
......hang on last one need to hanle more current, others similar are capable of 10A
Ran the 12v Dick Smith job is on the weekend MMMMM tasty ,bit of a juggle cracking it open for crisp pies and sauso rolls ,but got closer
They are like a camp oven ,the more use/practise ,the better you may be
They did get a work out yesterday Graham, christened my one with pies for lunch and jam donuts for arvo tea. Kids we're happy to be munching on something warm. And Oi, the black lab was cleaning up all the scraps under BD's awning
Gag
Used our 12v oven today on the summit of Mt Matlock
Even though we were cool the pies and sausage rolls were HOT
Worked a treat
Got mine
Pulled it apart, fitted a heap more insulation and digital thermostat
Set at around 70 deg, defrosted pie hot in around 30 min
On around 20-30% of the time
Awesome for cold worksites and travelling last few weeks
Got mine
jr, what sort of insulation did you use, what thermostat did you fit and where did you find it?
Got mine
Am interested as well
Insulation I used rockwool -had a spare broken slab from hydroponics, had to cut it up and fit up sides etc. Looks identical to stuff fitted.
Because its on thermostat and will max temp be ~ 80 deg, plenty of things could be used.
Without temp control could go to over 100 deg so I claim its way safer too
Pic - Looks like standard with 50mm x20mm square box on side
Thermo control - I used this one
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Digital-Temperature-Control-Switch-DC12V-Heat-Cool-Thermostat-Thermometer-Temp-/151670986578?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item23504b9752 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Digital-Temperature-Control-Switch-DC12V-Heat-Cool-Thermostat-Thermometer-Temp-/151670986578?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item23504b9752)
rereading my post, it was an already defrosted pies put in, wasnt clear.
Thanks for the link, have made a purchase to have a bit of a play.
I use mine every day at work, 35 mins and yummy hot meal ;D
I'd give it 2 hours if they're frozen.
Insulation I used rockwool -had a spare broken slab from hydroponics, had to cut it up and fit up sides etc. Looks identical to stuff fitted.
Because its on thermostat and will max temp be ~ 80 deg, plenty of things could be used.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Digital-Temperature-Control-Switch-DC12V-Heat-Cool-Thermostat-Thermometer-Temp-/151670986578?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item23504b9752 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Digital-Temperature-Control-Switch-DC12V-Heat-Cool-Thermostat-Thermometer-Temp-/151670986578?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item23504b9752)
Thanks jr.
Just wondering where you located the temp probe?
Its on a lead, drilled small hole in corner of lower section, with grommet (tiny fiddly ^&%#W thing) and it sits suspended into lower section
Just above pie height
Its measuring air temp near centre seal I guess
Had to make sure the wiring inc sensor wire was on outside of insulation
For anything your heating up, make sure its over 60 deg or you could get crook.
The thermostat and oven has hysteresis issue, setpoint at 65 sees temps range between 60 and 75.
Its on a lead, drilled small hole in corner of lower section, with grommet (tiny fiddly ^&%#W thing) and it sits suspended into lower section
Just above pie height
Its measuring air temp near centre seal I guess
Had to make sure the wiring inc sensor wire was on outside of insulation
For anything your heating up, make sure its over 60 deg or you could get crook.
The thermostat and oven has hysteresis issue, setpoint at 65 sees temps range between 60 and 75.
Hi All I know this is an older thread but just wondered if anyone else has had their 12v oven from dick smith stop working. Ours stopped on the last trip lino6 did and we have not been able to get it working again. He has tried other fuses any other ideas? It has only beem used half a dozen times.
have you checked the wiring connections inside the 12v plug? Sometimes the solder on the connections is not that solid and I've had the wires break off in there and once resoldered, all works fine.....
6B&S >:D & :cheers:
have you checked the wiring connections inside the 12v plug? Sometimes the solder on the connections is not that solid and I've had the wires break off in there and once resoldered, all works fine.....
I agree, you should try this first!
But actually I have checked right back to the element and seems to be intact. The element doesn't seem to be heating up. Perhaps it shouldn't sit in the back of a super powerful Rodeo with half a tonne of firewood in the back??....
I agree, you should try this first!
But actually I have checked right back to the element and seems to be intact. The element doesn't seem to be heating up. Perhaps it shouldn't sit in the back of a super powerful Rodeo with half a tonne of firewood in the back??....
maybe it now needs an external heat source?
Mine has warped & distorted , the lead gets really warm . Though it still works :cheers:
maybe it now needs an external heat source?
Modified butane burner maybe? Make it a gas oven?
Reckon it'll be better to buy a new one
Modified butane burner maybe? Make it a gas oven?
Reckon it'll be better to buy a new one
But not cheaper
Ever thought of getting an ozpig? Don't need 6B&S or fuses on them.....so I'm told
I have, but don't want to cut a hole in the roof of the DMax for the chimney
At least the wood would be handy
Having pulled stuff apart to find a fault a few times only to discover that the socket I was plugging into wasn't live because a fuse had blown now has me starting there first...........
If you can find one in a Dick Smith store, they're down to $14.95.
Do you still have the receipt? Worth getting in before they close up for good. Might still have some in stock.
I have a receipt for one purchased in the past 12 months in an email as it was an on line order. Yours if you want it.
cut a hole in the side and and plug a diesel heater into it :cup:
yea.. see if you can make it look like this one
(https://julianhoffman.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/img_2055-1.jpg)
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D