General => General Discussion => Topic started by: achjimmy on March 31, 2015, 06:49:09 AM

Title: 2015 Ashes.
Post by: achjimmy on March 31, 2015, 06:49:09 AM
No time to rest, the squad is getting named today. Looks like Watto will keep Marsh out as well with Faulkner (desevedly ) getting that spot.

Top Stories: Australia's Ashes squad to be announced today

Rod Marsh has spent little time resting on his laurels, with the chief selector finalising a squad for the Ashes on Tuesday.

Australia's World Cup winners are not the only ones nursing headaches, with Marsh and his colleagues sifting through the contenders for tours to the Caribbean and England.

Those squads will be revealed at 10am AEDT on Tuesday.

Cricket Australia will also announce its new contract list, in addition to an Australia A squad for a winter series in India.

It's expected the Windies-Ashes squad will feature approximately 16-17 players, with a back-up wicketkeeper and second spinner likely to be included.

NSW gloveman Peter Nevill and Victoria's Matthew Wade are the leading contenders to be Brad Haddin's understudy, whi...

Read the full story
http://abc.net.au/news/6360678 (http://abc.net.au/news/6360678)

Title: Re: 2015 Ashes. squad getting named today!
Post by: Black Diamond on March 31, 2015, 07:12:25 AM
I wonder if Clarke will announce that it will be his last test series :)
Post by: Bird on March 31, 2015, 07:40:45 AM
Quote from: Black Diamond
only if hes pushed...
Post by: paceman on March 31, 2015, 07:41:25 AM

only if they are 3-0 up... :)
Post by: achjimmy on March 31, 2015, 08:51:57 AM
only if they are 3-0 up... :)

If we're 3 up watch them fast track Pieterson in, if he isn't already in by then. Iam thinking he will start his summer with Surrey and force his way into the side.
Post by: achjimmy on March 31, 2015, 09:15:01 AM
The Australian squad: Michael Clarke (capt), David Warner, Chris Rogers, Steven Smith, Shane Watson, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris (Ashes only), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Fawad Ahmed, Peter Siddle, Peter Nevill, Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges.

Post by: Bird on March 31, 2015, 09:49:42 AM
Watson must have photos of someone rooting someone elses wife...
Title: Re: 2015 Ashes. squad Named
Post by: paulo on March 31, 2015, 10:12:40 AM
He's had those photo's for at least 15 years.
Post by: terravista on March 31, 2015, 11:42:44 AM

That's a bit unfair.............based on the antics of some of these drunken clowns, it's probably someone's pet sheep or dog.
Post by: Black Diamond on March 31, 2015, 12:11:14 PM
Whats the go with Ashton Agar lads he has dropped right off the map.

EDIT just found this  :  http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/ashton-agar-favoured-to-join-australias-winter-test-tours-20150330-1mbday.html (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/ashton-agar-favoured-to-join-australias-winter-test-tours-20150330-1mbday.html)
Post by: achjimmy on March 31, 2015, 07:36:55 PM
Whats the go with Ashton Agar lads he has dropped right off the map.

EDIT just found this  :  http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/ashton-agar-favoured-to-join-australias-winter-test-tours-20150330-1mbday.html (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/ashton-agar-favoured-to-join-australias-winter-test-tours-20150330-1mbday.html)

Bit like burns?  Apprantly his going to India with AU A to practice opening with intention to replace Rogers post ashes.
Title: Re: 2015 Ashes. Poms getting a new coach
Post by: achjimmy on May 10, 2015, 05:38:35 PM
$&@)en traitors the pair of them for even considering it

Jason Gillespie, Justin Langer lead race to coach England in Ashes

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sport/cricket/jason-gillespie-justin-langer-lead-race-to-coach-england-in-ashes-20150508-ggxs3w.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sport/cricket/jason-gillespie-justin-langer-lead-race-to-coach-england-in-ashes-20150508-ggxs3w.html)
Post by: D4D on May 10, 2015, 06:42:10 PM
Wasn't Langer the Aussie batting coach?
Post by: Nick74 on May 10, 2015, 08:22:12 PM

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sport/cricket/jason-gillespie-justin-langer-lead-race-to-coach-england-in-ashes-20150508-ggxs3w.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sport/cricket/jason-gillespie-justin-langer-lead-race-to-coach-england-in-ashes-20150508-ggxs3w.html)

I agree..............very uncool!!!
Post by: paceman on May 11, 2015, 06:23:12 AM
Wasn't Langer the Aussie batting coach?

i think langer was part-time, but michael di venuto has been full-time for a while now...
Post by: Bird on May 11, 2015, 08:32:52 AM
Quote from: achjimmy

If there is no work for them here, why not... be an easy gig...
Coach them to failure, collect chq and come home.
Post by: achjimmy on May 11, 2015, 08:51:37 AM
If there is no work for them here, why not... be an easy gig...
Coach them to failure, collect chq and come home.

The elite sportman's ego doesn't allow for failure.
Post by: Bird on May 11, 2015, 08:58:15 AM
seen soccer players?? They all take the pay chq from bookies and walk away
Post by: Moggy on May 11, 2015, 09:16:01 AM
Somebody forgot to tell the poms on last ashes & CWC

EDIT
Sorry my bad, i missed the word "elite"
Title: Re: 2015 Ashes.
Post by: achjimmy on June 15, 2015, 01:54:34 PM
 Ashes finally on the agenda for Aussies, says Clarke

The Ashes. The two words Michael Clarke did not want his team to speak about during its two-Test tour of the Caribbean.

Worried his team might lose its focus and worry more about England than the West Indies, Clarke says he made it crystal clear he did not want any talk about the Poms over the past month.

Now, having wrapped up a 2-0 series victory over the hapless hosts with a 277-run thrashing inside four days at Jamaica's Sabina Park, Clarke is officially letting the Ashes build-up begin.

"I'd be lying to say it hasn't been in the back of everyone's mind but the fact we've been really disciplined on playing really good cricket in these conditions against this West Indies team is a really good achievement from the boys," Clarke s...

Read the full story
http://ab.co/1Gn5Wbc (http://ab.co/1Gn5Wbc)
Title: Re: 2015 Ashes
Post by: achjimmy on June 27, 2015, 08:43:07 AM
Reading a few reports looks like the poms are producing a few fairly flat boring tracks in an attempt to subdue our bowlers. Good to see Mitch starting to perform though.

Love that This Kent batsman Rob Key: "For a large part of that I thought 'there is no way I get paid enough to be facing Mitchell Johnson"

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/cricket/33294112 (http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/cricket/33294112)
Post by: plusnq on June 27, 2015, 09:00:25 AM
Reading a few reports looks like the poms are producing a few fairly flat boring tracks in an attempt to subdue our bowlers. Good to see Mitch starting to perform though.

Love that This Kent batsman Rob Key: "For a large part of that I thought 'there is no way I get paid enough to be facing Mitchell Johnson"

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/cricket/33294112 (http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/cricket/33294112)

Especially since his last test was in 2005. I imagine the Poms will be trying to create concrete pitches after the bowlers performance in the Windies. Should be a good series and hopefully I will be able to ***s off my inlaws if we win.
Post by: Jimmy01 on June 27, 2015, 09:03:16 AM
The photos in question are actually of mark Waugh rooting a goat.
Post by: Black Diamond on June 29, 2015, 08:24:35 AM

That would sound about right for the gutless Poms  >:D
Really looking forward to this :cheers:
Post by: achjimmy on July 02, 2015, 09:05:52 AM
It's time  :cheers:

Mitch Marsh puts heat on Shane Watson with ton

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/mitch-marsh-scores-another-preashes-ton-20150701-gi31ax.html (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/mitch-marsh-scores-another-preashes-ton-20150701-gi31ax.html)
Post by: Moggy on July 02, 2015, 06:26:32 PM
It's time  :cheers:

Mitch Marsh puts heat on Shane Watson with ton

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/mitch-marsh-scores-another-preashes-ton-20150701-gi31ax.html (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/mitch-marsh-scores-another-preashes-ton-20150701-gi31ax.html)

My bet is that as an incumbent Watto will get first shot.
Which means it could well be his last test for Australia.
I'll make an early call for watto lotto & back him to score a century in the first test

Post by: D4D on July 04, 2015, 07:27:16 AM
Taking carrying the drinks a little too far...

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/james-faulkner-charged-drink-driving-united-kingdom-manchester-police-australia-cricket/2015-07-04 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/james-faulkner-charged-drink-driving-united-kingdom-manchester-police-australia-cricket/2015-07-04)
Post by: Black Diamond on July 04, 2015, 02:54:16 PM

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/james-faulkner-charged-drink-driving-united-kingdom-manchester-police-australia-cricket/2015-07-04 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/james-faulkner-charged-drink-driving-united-kingdom-manchester-police-australia-cricket/2015-07-04)
What a flog fair dinkum. I hope it doesnt effect his performance  :cheers:
Post by: Moggy on July 04, 2015, 08:29:05 PM
Breaking News!!!!!!

Ryan Harris retires.... effective immediately
Post by: D4D on July 04, 2015, 08:32:08 PM
Wow, that's a big loss for the Ashes team
Post by: lino6 on July 04, 2015, 08:37:54 PM

Unfortunately not the first Aussie to get in trouble for drinking on a pommy tour....

Sad news for Ryan Harris. One of the best consistent bowlers the Aussies have had since probably McGrath. He was fun to watch with bat in hand too!
Post by: achjimmy on July 05, 2015, 05:31:18 AM
yep I think its a bigger loss than we realise. with the flat pommy tracks we needed a clever bowler with plenty of experience. hopefully Siddle with his County cricket experience can step in/up and fill the void?
Post by: paceman on July 05, 2015, 08:46:56 AM
Unfortunately not the first Aussie to get in trouble for drinking on a pommy tour....

Sad news for Ryan Harris. One of the best consistent bowlers the Aussies have had since probably McGrath. He was fun to watch with bat in hand too!

When looking at the numbers, Harris has been one of Australia's best bowlers in any era.

A great loss.  Looks like pat cummins is taking his place... Not sure about that on flat wickets...
Post by: Nay-DMAX on July 05, 2015, 08:53:30 AM
When looking at the numbers, Harris has been one of Australia's best bowlers in any era.

A great loss.  Looks like pat cummins is taking his place... Not sure about that on flat wickets...

I loved watching Harris play wish his body could of held up for him.
Post by: achjimmy on July 05, 2015, 11:44:57 AM

Yeah I am not sure Pats going to play think it's more for experience and backup. They will start with MJ, stark, hazelwood and Lyon.
Post by: paceman on July 06, 2015, 10:38:22 AM

legend...

http://www.foxsports.com.au/cricket/australia/ryan-harris-career-stats-put-him-alongside-legends-of-australian-fast-bowling/story-fn2mcu3x-1227430164196 (http://www.foxsports.com.au/cricket/australia/ryan-harris-career-stats-put-him-alongside-legends-of-australian-fast-bowling/story-fn2mcu3x-1227430164196)

In his News Corp column, Michael Clarke used the example of Harris bowling Australia to victory in the deciding Test against South Africa last year as one of the best ways to sum up just how good a bowler he was.

“I knew he was injured, I knew he was buggered and already booked in for surgery, but I walked up to him and said, ‘Ryno, I need you to bowl from the top end.’, Clarke wrote.

“With his knee busted and his hip banged up, Ryno said ‘mate, I don’t know if I can even get to the crease’. But we were desperate, and I needed my go-to man.

“‘Well you’ve got two choices,” I said. ‘Either you bowl, or I’ll bowl.’

“He took one look at me, and demanded, ‘Give me the ball.’

“With his first delivery, he bowled Dale Steyn, and on the third he crashed through Morne Morkel’s stumps. The game was all over and history was made.”

When the pressure was on, Harris was able to deliver. That will ultimately be his legacy.
Post by: achjimmy on July 08, 2015, 07:36:31 AM
Need to get the spare TV out of the van, state of origin and ashes tonight both tonight 7.30. Don't know how Iam going to manage 5 nights of 3am!
Post by: D4D on July 08, 2015, 03:58:18 PM
Easy decision, I'll be watching the cricket :)
Post by: paceman on July 08, 2015, 04:03:33 PM
Easy decision, I'll be watching the cricket :)

damn right... i've had enough of origin...

and it will be nice to watch some sport on ch9 in HD...
Post by: achjimmy on July 08, 2015, 07:35:06 PM
Poms won the toss, looking at Clarke looked like a toss he wanted to win!
Post by: D4D on July 08, 2015, 07:37:11 PM
Watto gets the nod over Marsh
Post by: Kangaron on July 08, 2015, 07:38:53 PM
Mongrels have mowed the pitch dead flat >:(

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Post by: Black Diamond on July 08, 2015, 08:09:10 PM
It's on like donkey kong!  :cheers: I've just cracked the bottle of Jack :cheers:
Post by: Pog on July 08, 2015, 08:24:52 PM
1 down. Nice catch to Warner.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 08, 2015, 09:15:45 PM
2 for 42. Spinner on early pays off

Post by: Clouty on July 08, 2015, 09:20:37 PM
3 /43
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 08, 2015, 09:20:44 PM
3 for 43. Go aussies

Post by: achjimmy on July 08, 2015, 09:31:18 PM
So much for the poms plan to go after Lyon!  Shame they droped root, feel he'll make us pay now?
Post by: Black Diamond on July 08, 2015, 10:11:15 PM
So much for the poms plan to go after Lyon!  Shame they droped root, feel he'll make us pay now?
All talk  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on July 09, 2015, 08:01:33 AM
Shame they droped root, feel he'll make us pay now?

134 :(
Post by: Kangaron on July 10, 2015, 06:55:17 PM
Tonight is THE night we need WATTO to stand up and deliver.

Post by: plusnq on July 10, 2015, 08:05:03 PM
One can only hope. But it's like a mate on his fourth marriage :(
Post by: plusnq on July 10, 2015, 08:11:51 PM
Watto now looking for his next gig.......
Post by: robbo1172 on July 10, 2015, 08:13:26 PM
Watto may well break a record yet. Most unsuccessful reviews.
Post by: Murph on July 10, 2015, 10:06:10 PM
Surly no more wasted innings for this has been ? 
Post by: achjimmy on July 11, 2015, 07:03:41 AM
He was probably unlucky with that call but surely the selectors have to know the poms have got his measure with LBW?
Post by: Garfish on July 11, 2015, 07:07:55 AM
What I found funny was the commentator even made mention of that's Watson in to the thirties.  My immediate thought was no a wicket must be about to fall..

Went to bed @ 4 for 240 ish. Perhaps should of stayed up
Post by: D4D on July 11, 2015, 08:34:01 PM
30 minutes in and it looks like we have shut up shop all ready. It's going to be a loooong 2 days :(
Post by: Kangaron on July 11, 2015, 08:40:41 PM
No mate. Long nights :))

Post by: Garfish on July 11, 2015, 08:43:08 PM
They'll go bang soon
Post by: Garfish on July 11, 2015, 08:45:49 PM
I meant the Aussies getting some runs not out. 

Post by: Pog on July 11, 2015, 08:47:08 PM
Not a good start... England bowlers look hungry, and Aussies are struggling against Anderson & Broad.

Now Rogers is gone, hopefully Steve Smith can get some runs.
Post by: Murph on July 11, 2015, 10:09:24 PM
What was Warner thinking ?
Post by: D4D on July 11, 2015, 11:10:32 PM
5 for, we're done :(
Post by: alnjan on July 11, 2015, 11:39:31 PM
So we are back to our usual form?
Post by: Murph on July 12, 2015, 12:02:05 AM
 :laugh: 6 for I'm off to bed
Post by: cetacean on July 12, 2015, 03:47:03 AM
Surely that MUST be Watson's last test match for Australia for a little while  ???
Post by: achjimmy on July 12, 2015, 05:58:54 AM
At this point MJ must be in the running for Batsman of the series?
Post by: Pog on July 12, 2015, 08:10:39 AM
Woke up this morning, and see the score - very disappointed, but not unexpected.
Post by: D4D on July 12, 2015, 08:12:13 AM
Yeah we really missed Harris. We need a bowler who can pin down an end and not leak runs.

That said, we also need our top order batsmen to do their job :(
Post by: achjimmy on July 12, 2015, 08:17:24 AM
This article in the fairfax press is pretty spot on re Watson.

Personally I don't agree with his other points re selection and players and their median age. As per D4D we are missing ryno and he's no spring chicken.

I said before these ashes with the pommies flat pitches this was going to be hard. I also think the toss is going to be paramount and we lost it in Wales. Don't wet traditionally play well at lords?

The Ashes: Shane Watson exhibit A, B and C of First Test loss to England

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/the-ashes-shane-watson-exhibit-a-b-and-c-of-first-test-loss-to-england-20150711-giabij.html (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/the-ashes-shane-watson-exhibit-a-b-and-c-of-first-test-loss-to-england-20150711-giabij.html)
Post by: lino6 on July 12, 2015, 09:16:52 AM
(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/11/d3b4fdc3c7f812903999a4fd14a1fc01.jpg)

tappa tappa tappa

Post by: achjimmy on July 12, 2015, 11:48:13 AM
Post by: alnjan on July 12, 2015, 01:20:57 PM
Surely that MUST be Watson's last test match for Australia for a little while  ???

Add Clarke to that list

MC  38 &  4  =  42

SW  30 & 19 =  49
Post by: Pog on July 12, 2015, 11:56:24 PM
(http://i1285.photobucket.com/albums/a590/pogasarus/b15d904a394c283c230b3dfbb89b912b_zpsfex6ycqw.jpg)
Post by: Paul (SA) on July 13, 2015, 07:13:43 AM
I reckon we've long lacked the patience to perform in English conditions. You can't just get to the middle and start piling on runs. It is important to get set and adjust to the pace of the pitch and swing in the air. We've never done well against genuine movement in the air.

Our bowlers look too impatient as well.

Surprised to see we've only won once in last 14 Tests in UK.

We ate not as good as we think we are.
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2015, 11:03:44 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qY-mW_mBVu4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qY-mW_mBVu4)
Post by: achjimmy on July 13, 2015, 01:21:14 PM
Shane Watson – “I Have Photos Of The Cricket Selectors Dumping Body Of Dead Hooker.”

http://theunaustralian.net/2015/07/13/shane-watson-i-have-photos-of-the-cricket-selectors-dumping-body-of-dead-hooker/ (http://theunaustralian.net/2015/07/13/shane-watson-i-have-photos-of-the-cricket-selectors-dumping-body-of-dead-hooker/)

Post by: Moggy on July 13, 2015, 04:44:59 PM
Shane Watson – “I Have Photos Of The Cricket Selectors Dumping Body Of Dead Hooker.”

http://theunaustralian.net/2015/07/13/shane-watson-i-have-photos-of-the-cricket-selectors-dumping-body-of-dead-hooker/ (http://theunaustralian.net/2015/07/13/shane-watson-i-have-photos-of-the-cricket-selectors-dumping-body-of-dead-hooker/)

Thats funny, but i thought the real funny one was about Robbie Farrah & tattooes. (I'll post link in origin thread) its a classic
Post by: achjimmy on July 15, 2015, 06:37:30 AM
I wonder if the public critism of his cardif performance has led to this? Remembering he supposedly knocked back the captaincy and suggested Smith instead.

Brad Haddin expected to miss Lord's Test due to personal reasons

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-brad-haddin-expected-to-miss-lords-test-due-to-personal-reasons-20150714-gicdkv.html (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-brad-haddin-expected-to-miss-lords-test-due-to-personal-reasons-20150714-gicdkv.html)
Post by: D4D on July 15, 2015, 07:14:44 AM
Wow, pulling out of an Ashes Lord's test is a big deal, that's THE test an Aussie cricketer lives for...
Post by: paceman on July 15, 2015, 07:34:25 AM
As others have intimated, might be a gentle 'push' rather than a undignified dumping...

If it is a family matter to the truest extent, I hope that everything works out okay.

Post by: achjimmy on July 15, 2015, 07:43:54 AM
As others have intimated, might be a gentle 'push' rather than a undignified dumping...

If it is a family matter to the truest extent, I hope that everything works out okay.

If haddon is the sort of person as reported I think he has done this him self.
Post by: achjimmy on July 15, 2015, 07:45:52 AM
Unlike our other mate  :cheers:

Shane Watson dropped for second Test, replaced by Mitchell Marsh

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-shane-watson-dropped-for-second-test-replaced-by-mitchell-marsh-20150714-giceu2.html (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-shane-watson-dropped-for-second-test-replaced-by-mitchell-marsh-20150714-giceu2.html)
Post by: achjimmy on July 15, 2015, 08:05:31 AM
Sh1+   Why couldn't they do a NSW and name hime for the tests and let him cop his ban there?

James Faulkner to sit out limited-overs series after drink-driving ban

Australia all-rounder James Faulkner has been suspended for four games for drink driving, meaning he will miss the limited-overs games after the Ashes.

While playing for English county side Lancashire, Faulkner returned a reading almost three times the legal alcohol limit while driving in the United Kingdom earlier this month.

The 25-year-old was charged with a level-three offence under Cricket Australia's (CA) code of behaviour and accepted four suspension points.

That means he will miss a one-day international against Ireland on August 27, a Twenty20 clash with England four days later, and a pair of ODIs against E...

Read the full story
http://ab.co/1O9L8a9 (http://ab.co/1O9L8a9)
Post by: Kangaron on July 15, 2015, 10:38:49 AM
Wow, pulling out of an Ashes Lord's test is a big deal, that's THE test an Aussie cricketer lives for...

His youngest overcame leukemia some years ago, hope it hasn't reared its ugly head again.
Post by: Bird on July 15, 2015, 10:42:57 AM
Quote from: Kangaron
His youngest overcame leukemia some years ago, hope it hasn't reared its ugly head again.

correct.. I hope it isn't that...

The details are sketchy, and so should they be. Haddin took time out of cricket previously in 2012 to rally around his daughter, Mia, then 17 months, who had been diagnosed with a form of cancer

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-separate-brad-haddin-the-man-from-haddin-the-wicketkeeper-20150714-gicg56.html#ixzz3furn33j7 (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-separate-brad-haddin-the-man-from-haddin-the-wicketkeeper-20150714-gicg56.html#ixzz3furn33j7)
Post by: D4D on July 15, 2015, 10:52:36 AM

Agreed, however if that was the case I'd be on the first flight back to AU, it appears he is staying so hopefully it isn't that.
Post by: Kangaron on July 16, 2015, 07:32:29 PM
Pitch report just in.
Another dead one.
And we are batting

Post by: achjimmy on July 16, 2015, 09:12:09 PM
Warner doesn't seem to be using his feet or Is it just me?

I might add I have found a most relaxing way to watch the broadcast it's with the mute on!
Post by: Paul (SA) on July 16, 2015, 09:21:50 PM
Aaarrrggghhh! Warner you are killing me. Stupid shot at the wrong time.
Post by: D4D on July 16, 2015, 09:31:48 PM

Post by: lino6 on July 16, 2015, 09:44:32 PM

Soft way to get out.
Post by: paceman on July 17, 2015, 06:23:50 AM
Soft way to get out.

and after rogers and smith both got big hundreds, he'll be doubly kicking himself...
Post by: lino6 on July 17, 2015, 06:31:42 AM
At 1/300+ do you reckon they wanted flat tracks??!!

You would think after winning the first test that the next 4 test wickets are going to be roads that are impossible to take 20 wickets on. Good to see Rogers make a big hundred and Smith continue on his merry way.

and after rogers and smith both got big hundreds, he'll be doubly kicking himself...

Reckon you are right, he could have been 200 n.o. and the Aussies could have been 0/400+!!
Post by: paceman on July 17, 2015, 08:19:56 AM
these types of pitches make it really important to have someone who can swing it in the air and not just get movement off the pitch...

interesting to see what happens when australia bowls (eventually, by the looks... )
Post by: D4D on July 17, 2015, 09:27:31 PM
Good to see Clarke added value on a flat track ::)
Post by: alnjan on July 17, 2015, 09:55:49 PM
He is such an asset
Post by: lino6 on July 17, 2015, 10:51:35 PM
Not a bad ball that go Voges.

Now, can an Aussie all-rounder make more than 30???!
Post by: Pog on July 17, 2015, 11:49:43 PM
Another terrific knock by Smith. He has looked very comfortable this innings, and hasn't rushed it.
Post by: lino6 on July 17, 2015, 11:50:44 PM
Yep well done Smith. If he was Victorian he would be a legend!!!
Post by: achjimmy on July 18, 2015, 06:14:41 AM
Yep well done Smith. If he was Victorian he would be a legend!!!

Lol if he was a victorian he wouldn't be there!  Even Rodgers is a new south Welshman  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on July 18, 2015, 07:00:53 AM
The bowlers have backed up the batsmen nicely.
Post by: Black Diamond on July 18, 2015, 07:35:55 AM
The bowlers have backed up the batsmen nicely.
**** me I fell asleep around midnight and woke up to this  :cup:
Post by: swanny on July 18, 2015, 08:35:34 AM
**** me I fell asleep around midnight and woke up to this  :cup:

X2, but how good is it...... :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on July 18, 2015, 08:37:13 AM
Who would have picked that??

It's a funny game...
Post by: Davepatrol on July 18, 2015, 08:38:48 AM
It's amazing, Take Watson out of the team and they improve 200% :cup:
Post by: D4D on July 18, 2015, 08:44:04 AM
It's amazing, Take Watson out of the team and they improve 200% :cup:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: achjimmy on July 18, 2015, 09:15:27 AM
I fear except for punters call we could of been on the other side.  If they keep producing these pitches the toss will be the most important play of the day. Let's hope we can punch through this pair quickly a follow on would be humiliating and put the pressure way back on England after our fail in Cardiff where we should of at least rescued it to a draw given day 5 was and was predicted to be a wash out.
Post by: D4D on July 18, 2015, 09:23:13 AM
If they keep producing these pitches the toss will be the most important play of the day.

Agreed, funny thing is Clarke called heads for this match when he normally calls tails.
Post by: achjimmy on July 18, 2015, 12:35:22 PM
Agreed, funny thing is Clarke called heads for this match when he normally calls tails.

Yep apprantly punter called out to him at the hotel and said "pup why don't you try heads " then Clarke said he just might and Ponting panicked worrying if he called it wrong it was his fault. Lol
Post by: D4D on July 18, 2015, 09:23:39 PM
Hmmm this 4th wicket partnership is building...
Post by: Clouty on July 18, 2015, 09:46:26 PM
Hmmm this 4th wicket partnership is building...
Not anymore ;D

Stokes gone
Post by: D4D on July 19, 2015, 09:47:19 AM
Well that was a good day for the Aussies, nice let off for Warner too.

http://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-video-goes-viral-after-woman-misses-chair-and-falls-down-20150718-gifi10.html (http://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-video-goes-viral-after-woman-misses-chair-and-falls-down-20150718-gifi10.html)
Post by: achjimmy on July 19, 2015, 10:06:12 AM
Yep great day and it wasn't that easy but they worked hard.

I ve found if you get on to the CA website early before they publish the highlights you can replay the entire live stream fast forwarding to the lunch break where I usually go to bed at.  :cheers:
Post by: Kangaron on July 19, 2015, 10:07:35 AM
Bugger.  Fell asleep on the couch with the hound. Last I remember is cpt cook on 90. Missed the best part of the day

Post by: Pog on July 19, 2015, 08:20:03 PM
Lets hope Rogers is ok.

He is in terrific form at the top of the order, and our most experienced batsmen in English conditions.
Post by: D4D on July 19, 2015, 08:21:01 PM
Lets hope Rogers is ok.

He is in terrific form at the top of the order, and our most experienced batsmen in English conditions.

x2 it didn't look good live
Post by: Pog on July 19, 2015, 08:52:22 PM
Warner just threw away another 100.

He's become Moeen Ali's bunny this series. I think that's the 3rd time he's got him in 4 innings.
Post by: achjimmy on July 19, 2015, 09:18:51 PM
Do you think Broad is still going to question Smudges batting credentials after this Innings?
Post by: achjimmy on July 19, 2015, 09:20:25 PM
Warner just threw away another 100.

He's become Moeen Ali's bunny this series. I think that's the 3rd time he's got him in 4 innings.

I wouldn't be too hard on Warner his moving his feet much better. He was putting the foot down for runs.
Post by: DaveR on July 20, 2015, 03:37:05 AM
I'm presently at work here in the UK.
For some reason the Englishmen and Sth Africans are keeping clear of me...   ;D

Only the scottish are happy to talk about the cricket.
Post by: lino6 on July 20, 2015, 05:42:05 AM
So maybe their slow wicket idea needs rethinking?
Post by: achjimmy on July 20, 2015, 06:11:12 AM
I'm presently at work here in the UK.
For some reason the Englishmen and Sth Africans are keeping clear of me...   ;D

Only the scottish are happy to talk about the cricket.

Ha ha Dave I have many pommie friends and they really do go off cricket when we are dominate.
Post by: D4D on July 20, 2015, 08:36:49 AM
Went to bed at lunch, woke up to all out. The boys did well. School boy error by Stokes, not that it would have changed the outcome of the game.
Post by: achjimmy on July 28, 2015, 07:45:56 AM
Why would the media expect Haddin's inclusion in the third test to be a given? I would have thought he will not get another game unless we wrap up the series early, same for Watto.

Haddin to be overlooked for Third Test: report

http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=9012411 (http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=9012411)
Post by: Steffo1 on July 28, 2015, 11:38:36 AM
Why would the media expect Haddin's inclusion in the third test to be a given? I would have thought he will not get another game unless we wrap up the series early, same for Watto.

Haddin to be overlooked for Third Test: report

http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=9012411 (http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=9012411)

I hate the use of the term "Overlooked" when it is surely certain that the inclusion of Haddin in the lineup would have been discussed by the selectors.  Not being selected is entirely different to being overlooked IMO!
Post by: DaveR on July 28, 2015, 03:45:52 PM
The Girls are doing a fine job over here in the Ashes also. Just thought I'd given them some mention.

Sadly for me, the Cricket types have all gone home, no one left here to make fun off....  >:(
Post by: D4D on July 29, 2015, 06:36:11 PM
Why would the media expect Haddin's inclusion in the third test to be a given?

Punter thought Haddin should be in...
http://www.cricket.com.au/news/ricky-ponting-disappointed-brad-haddin-dropped-edgbaston-third-ashes-test-2015-healy-clarke/2015-07-29 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/ricky-ponting-disappointed-brad-haddin-dropped-edgbaston-third-ashes-test-2015-healy-clarke/2015-07-29)
Post by: Kangaron on July 29, 2015, 07:32:25 PM
Nice toss to win

Post by: paceman on July 29, 2015, 07:42:10 PM
Punter thought Haddin should be in...
http://www.cricket.com.au/news/ricky-ponting-disappointed-brad-haddin-dropped-edgbaston-third-ashes-test-2015-healy-clarke/2015-07-29 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/ricky-ponting-disappointed-brad-haddin-dropped-edgbaston-third-ashes-test-2015-healy-clarke/2015-07-29)

he and matthew hayden obviously have ignored haddin's last 12 tests or so... keeping and batting have been subpar...

a tough decision, but the right one... IMO...
Post by: D4D on July 29, 2015, 08:00:46 PM
Nice toss to win

Post by: Moggy on July 29, 2015, 08:32:16 PM
Geez.. they should drop warner....

Bring back WATTO ????

Post by: lino6 on July 29, 2015, 08:39:00 PM
If only Warner could bat as consistently as he yapped!!
Post by: D4D on July 29, 2015, 08:43:07 PM
Smith goooooooooooooone :(
Post by: achjimmy on July 29, 2015, 09:06:37 PM
And next on the exit conveyor ................M Clarke
Post by: lino6 on July 29, 2015, 09:11:28 PM
Ahhhh, how's the rain!
Post by: Darren253 on July 29, 2015, 11:23:36 PM
6/86... Could be a short day!
*Needed to be edited as a wicket fell in the time it took to type the message!
Post by: D4D on July 30, 2015, 06:55:46 AM
All out for 136, going to be a long 3 days :(
Post by: GeoffA on July 30, 2015, 07:22:50 AM
Nice toss to win

Yep....and bowl.....
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 07:40:57 AM
Yep....and bowl.....

grassy wicket and overcast conditions...

automatic bat first?  can't fathom that thinking...
Post by: Kangaron on July 30, 2015, 07:58:07 AM
Always bat first, when in doubt have a think about it then bat anyway

Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 08:01:43 AM
Always bat first, when in doubt have a think about it then bat anyway

and in the first two tests, that would make sense, given the wicket and conditions....

but with this wicket being harder under foot (more bounce) and having more grass (ball movement off the pitch and in the air), along with overcast skies forecast for much of the first day and cooler temps being forecast (very conducive to swing bowling), why not bowl first?

especially since the aussies have a glaring weakness against a ball that's moving around... which was shown up in the worst way in their first innings...

but, it makes for an interesting test match if the aussie bowlers get their finger out...  :D
Post by: GeoffA on July 30, 2015, 08:08:56 AM
and in the first two tests, that would make sense, given the wicket and conditions....

but with this wicket being harder under foot (more bounce) and having more grass (ball movement off the pitch and in the air), along with overcast skies forecast for much of the first day and cooler temps being forecast (very conducive to swing bowling), why not bowl first?....

Yep, you could see it from the first ball of the day....
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 08:20:10 AM
Yep, you could see it from the first ball of the day....

no surprise that jimmy anderson carved us up...

Post by: achjimmy on July 30, 2015, 08:11:40 PM
Johnson showing his worth.  :cheers:
Post by: lino6 on July 30, 2015, 08:13:06 PM
2 absolute rippers from Mitch!
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 08:14:03 PM
Johnson showing his worth.  :cheers:

do english batsmen not know how to duck??

both bairstow and stokes were a foot off the ground...
Post by: Kangaron on July 30, 2015, 09:03:35 PM
When Mitchell J came on to bowl the crowd booed!
Obviously racist.

Post by: weeds on July 30, 2015, 09:04:48 PM

When Mitchell J came on to bowl the crowd booed!
Obviously racist.

Will be announcing retirement at end of game
Post by: Kangaron on July 30, 2015, 09:07:46 PM
Why weren't the "booers" exposed on national tv and ejected from the ground.

Post by: UIZ733 on July 31, 2015, 06:16:12 AM
Australia look Root-ed to me.
Post by: D4D on July 31, 2015, 06:29:25 AM
Australia look Root-ed to me.

Actually I think they're Finn-ished :)
Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 06:31:43 AM
Actually I think they're Finn-ished :)

maybe for this one, but if jimmy anderson is out injured, then we have a good chance in the next two...
Post by: Moggy on July 31, 2015, 06:03:51 PM
Will M.Clarke last the series as captain ???

Could be a major changing of the guard in the Australian team.

I reckon at least 4 (minimum) changes before Australian summer tests
Post by: lino6 on July 31, 2015, 06:35:59 PM
Not sure if I want to watch tonight.....
Post by: D4D on July 31, 2015, 06:37:03 PM
Not sure if I want to watch tonight.....

x2 I'm going out for dinner
Post by: Wukkers on July 31, 2015, 06:53:09 PM
If they drop Clarke and Voges who will they put in?  S Marsh is not good enough, Watson is done and there are no other batsmen I can think of that are with the squad.
Post by: Moggy on July 31, 2015, 07:05:23 PM
If they drop Clarke and Voges who will they put in?  S Marsh is not good enough, Watson is done and there are no other batsmen I can think of that are with the squad.
Watch for the Watto comeback, he'll be recalled for 4th test, score a century as opener(in the 1st innnings) & a quick fire 80+ in the 2nd to secure a Aussie win.
He'll then be name as Aus capatain for the 5th test to lead Austarailai to its first ashes win in england since "who the f%ck knows" & then retire gracefully, allowing steve smith to ascend to the role for the summer.......

Do i pass the creative writing subject  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: lino6 on July 31, 2015, 08:23:32 PM
Well, you don't walk do you Stu!
Post by: D4D on August 01, 2015, 07:11:06 AM
...going to be a long 3 days :(

:(
Post by: GeoffA on August 01, 2015, 07:15:04 AM
:(

Well, at least it's over......for now......

I wonder what sort of pitches will be prepared for the last 2....
Post by: shakey55 on August 01, 2015, 07:43:47 AM
Muggy your dreaming, but the broom needs put through the team. As for replacements, I'm not sure

Post by: achjimmy on August 01, 2015, 07:46:49 AM
Least our tail performed a bit. And there should be no more talk about Haddon over Neville after his gritty effort with the bat?
Post by: lino6 on August 01, 2015, 02:37:54 PM
I'm a bit puzzled as to how our bowlers dominated on a flat track and couldn't perform on a seam friendly..... Doesn't help when you are trying to defend such a low total, but there was probably only 2 balls bowled that showed some intent, both delivered by Johnson in the first over of day 2. Really home Hazelwood and Starc come good and blow the poms away next test.

And I hope more than 1 can make some runs....
Post by: firecracker on August 02, 2015, 04:04:39 AM
I watched the highlights, I think we did OK ;D for a change,  ??? I'm not used to coming out on top :cheers: makes a pleasant change don't ya know. ;D ;D !!!
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 08:07:54 PM
Not the best start......
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 08:09:44 PM
Expect it to zip around on the green top
Post by: Pog on August 06, 2015, 08:10:56 PM
Game over.... we lost!
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 08:14:18 PM
Holy crap. Supposed to go to a mate's joint Saturday to watch the cricket. Won't last that long......
Post by: weeds on August 06, 2015, 08:14:48 PM
So much for Clarke dropping himself down the order.......in the middle second over 
Post by: weeds on August 06, 2015, 08:15:04 PM
So much for Clarke dropping himself down the order.......in the middle second over 
Post by: Pog on August 06, 2015, 08:15:13 PM
8 x balls... 3 x wickets!
Post by: Nay-DMAX on August 06, 2015, 08:16:15 PM
This is crazy be lucky to make 30 runs the way it is zipping around.
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 08:16:32 PM
Almost 4 for
Post by: weeds on August 06, 2015, 08:19:02 PM
Good run rate....
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 08:20:42 PM
Bugger
Post by: Pog on August 06, 2015, 08:21:44 PM
Almost 4 for

Not almost....
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 08:24:26 PM
Maybe its a tactic, get out for FA and release Mitch Johnson on the green top??
Post by: GeoffA on August 06, 2015, 08:24:50 PM
What odds leg byes will be the highest scorer??
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 08:25:44 PM
What odds leg byes will be the highest scorer??

Wouldn't be worth dropping your money down would it, get 3c back!
Post by: Pog on August 06, 2015, 08:26:07 PM
Can't wait to watch Starc  bowl a heap of wides and give the Poms some time to get their eye in..
Post by: jmorgan1981 on August 06, 2015, 08:26:43 PM
Wow.
This is something isn't it.
Not something good but something.
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 08:28:50 PM
Think Ritchie would have said on live tv "pi$$ poor effort that....
Post by: Pog on August 06, 2015, 08:29:04 PM
Maybe its a tactic, get out for FA and release Mitch Johnson on the green top??

Awesome theory if we had a good captain... He will start with Starc who will have the yips, and bowl 1/2 a dozen wides in his 1st spell. Johnson will be held back until the new ball is rooted, then he will get it, and be asked to perform a miracle.
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 08:29:55 PM
5 for
Post by: Black Diamond on August 06, 2015, 08:30:27 PM
Shit
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 08:33:03 PM
Shit

Understatement of the year!!!!!
Post by: GeoffA on August 06, 2015, 08:37:56 PM
It's funny now.....
Post by: Clouty on August 06, 2015, 08:39:49 PM

Holy sh!t
Post by: letsgoplaces on August 06, 2015, 08:40:07 PM
No Way!!!!
Unbelievable
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 08:40:47 PM
Need to get at least 1 more run, let the kiwis keep their record.....
Post by: weeds on August 06, 2015, 08:44:16 PM
Throw the rest of the wickets and have a crack at the poms while the week is greener than green
Post by: listo on August 06, 2015, 08:46:54 PM
5 for 6 off 4 overs... That's pretty impressive
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 08:55:13 PM
7 for
Post by: achjimmy on August 06, 2015, 08:59:53 PM
Currently out just logged on. This is a ****ing nightmare .
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 09:02:50 PM
Could be worse, Watson could have wasted a review by now....
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 09:05:31 PM
Or you could have paid $$$$ to be in the crowd
Post by: GeoffA on August 06, 2015, 09:07:07 PM
Or you could have paid $$$$ to be in the crowd

....or have tickets to anything after day 2....
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 09:13:05 PM
8 for
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 09:15:00 PM
9 for
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 09:16:10 PM
Can you follow on after the first innings....?
Post by: D4D on August 06, 2015, 09:18:12 PM
Leg byes 2nd top score
Post by: GeoffA on August 06, 2015, 09:24:54 PM
Leg byes 2nd top score

It's not over yet.
Post by: grumpy1 on August 06, 2015, 09:29:42 PM
England could declare without facing a ball, then bowl out Australia again before scoring the winning runs just after tea........
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 09:30:37 PM
It's not over yet.

Unfortunately I think it is over.....! Sad really.
Post by: Kangaron on August 06, 2015, 09:49:32 PM
Haven't seen controlled swing like that since Bob Massie

Post by: Kangaron on August 06, 2015, 09:51:13 PM
Xxx

Post by: Moggy on August 06, 2015, 10:00:14 PM
At the risk of being racist
Boooooooooooooooooooòoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Post by: Pog on August 06, 2015, 10:01:50 PM
As predicted.... Clarke holds Johnson back... Hazelwoods first over was a pile of crap, with no pressure on the batsmen.
Post by: lino6 on August 06, 2015, 10:35:23 PM
Siddle back for the dead rubber....
Post by: firecracker on August 07, 2015, 12:13:28 AM
60!  :cheers: >:(
Post by: sol on August 07, 2015, 05:31:20 AM
What an absolute disgrace  ??? ??? ???

Post by: UIZ733 on August 07, 2015, 06:09:15 AM
What an absolute disgrace  ??? ??? ???

Agreed!
The Poms should be ashamed of themselves inflicting that kind of punishment on what are supposedly friends.  ;D
Post by: paceman on August 07, 2015, 06:18:53 AM
it's been said many times that you never judge a pitch until both teams have batted and bowled on it.

australia's batting technique is just rubbish and our bowling is just not at the right line and length... 

some of the shots played by aussie batters were grade cricket class...

when mitchell starc is your front line fast bowler, something is wrong...

geez, we miss ryan harris (and peter siddle for that matter)...
Post by: Moggy on August 07, 2015, 07:00:44 AM
Thinks there's something mentally wrong with the whole team.
Probably bring back Watson, Haddin & Siddle for a fairwell test before some wholesale changes this summer. (Though why they would want to be part "that" team i dont know)
The day 1 score is just embarrassing for Australia

Post by: D4D on August 07, 2015, 07:08:02 AM
Pretty simple really, the batsmen didn't adapt to the conditions, they went too hard at the ball rather than waiting for it to come to them, and the bowlers couldn't hit the right spot.
Post by: plusnq on August 07, 2015, 07:21:36 AM
Pretty simple really, the batsmen didn't adapt to the conditions, they went too hard at the ball rather than waiting for it to come to them, and the bowlers couldn't hit the right spot.

I agree. No patience to see out the new ball and conditions. A couple of mean balls but the rest were their own errors. And we pay these guys a motza. I;d keep Smith and Rogers and sack the rest of the batsmen.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on August 07, 2015, 07:41:54 AM
I agree. No patience to see out the new ball and conditions. A couple of mean balls but the rest were their own errors. And we pay these guys a motza. I;d keep Smith and Rogers and sack the rest of the batsmen.

Rogers might not play much longer if they go to day/night tests. A shame I would like to see more of him. Clarke should of gone at the end of world cup and when he did come back during that from injury Smith should of kept the captaincy.
Post by: Black Diamond on August 07, 2015, 07:43:28 AM
Bugger ???

Post by: V8CRSA on August 07, 2015, 07:45:35 AM
The Australian cricket teams performance over night was "un Australian"............disgraceful.
Post by: paceman on August 07, 2015, 07:55:36 AM

trouble with smith is that he made a s**tload of runs on flat tracks, but when the ball moves, his 'unorthodox' technique gets him in trouble... he doesn't have a backup plan.  the 'shot' he played when he got out was disgraceful.  his feet were outside leg stump...  on that track, that's a leave any day of the week in the first session of a test...

it's about time more pitches in australia were developed with more grass on them (like the gabba) so our shield players get experience batting and bowling on them...

Post by: D4D on August 07, 2015, 07:57:52 AM
trouble with smith is that he made a s**tload of runs on flat tracks, but when the ball moves, his 'unorthodox' technique gets him in trouble... he doesn't have a backup plan.  the 'shot' he played when he got out was disgraceful.  his feet were outside leg stump...  on that track, that's a leave any day of the week in the first session of a test...

To that point, I think Johnson left the most and had the most patience.
Post by: paceman on August 07, 2015, 08:11:03 AM
To that point, I think Johnson left the most and had the most patience.

dead right.

this aussie mindset of 'attack at all costs' is just moronic on pitches that move around...

Post by: paceman on August 07, 2015, 08:13:58 AM
i guess they can't play 'a broad'...  :D
Post by: D4D on August 07, 2015, 08:14:44 AM
Yeah we're pretty 'root'ed
Post by: achjimmy on August 07, 2015, 08:35:20 AM
Patience has been our downfall for a longtime now. That and the riduciculous schedule that sees them wasting there time in the Caribbean instead of having a Serious period in the UK before the tests. They are still a class side but they need more time on thoses pitches and they need the side to be fulid for the conditions and form. There was nothing wrong with dropping haddon and Watson and given siddles exprience over there he should have been tried when they saw the state of that pitch.

Now if they want to restore some of our faith in them when they get back in they need to play patient and bat out for a draw? ..... Iam going out now to feed my pigs before they go for there morning flight.
Post by: Bird on August 07, 2015, 09:30:44 AM
they should refund from match payments any poor **** that has saved up to fly over for a once in a lifetime holiday and watch this...

also any money left over from the refunds should be given to charity..
Post by: lino6 on August 07, 2015, 11:33:02 AM
Sad thing will be we'll get slaughtered in the ODIs as well because Jimmy Faulkner got done for pi$$y driving  :'(

Wonder do these blokes know you don't have to tank for draft picks in cricket?
Post by: Bird on August 07, 2015, 11:41:22 AM
England should declare LOL!
Post by: lino6 on August 07, 2015, 11:47:22 AM
Most of the pommy media have declared, that the Aussies are a joke that is...
Post by: Wukkers on August 07, 2015, 01:41:53 PM
The pommy media are right, our team is a joke.  But the poms will tear their team down again soon.  It's what their media live for.

Adam Gilchrist was right, the wags should be left home until the series result is beyond doubt.  They could stay at my place until it was time to go.lol
Post by: Darcy7 on August 07, 2015, 01:54:08 PM

"You tell Bronwyn to land over there and sort these boys out.....!"
Post by: DaveR on August 07, 2015, 06:30:40 PM
HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've gone into hiding.
Still here in the UK, at work and umm. well, even the Polish lads have ripped it into me.....

Send supplies.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on August 07, 2015, 07:23:39 PM

it's about time more pitches in australia were developed with more grass on them (like the gabba) so our shield players get experience batting and bowling on them...

True but he was not the only one being impatient and playing shots he shouldnt most of them went out that way. I still think the captaincy change should of been made too many who have hung around too long and kept their spots but not made big contributions. If Siddle is in the squad and this pitch suited him then he should of got a game I do like Siddle but dont think we will get to see him play again at top level. Time a few retired I think
Post by: GeoffA on August 07, 2015, 07:28:03 PM
....Time a few retired I think

That decision may now be out of their hands Nay.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on August 07, 2015, 07:52:58 PM

That might be a good thing Watson has had a lot of contract renewals he shouldnt of. Surely he doesnt get one next go.
Post by: lino6 on August 07, 2015, 08:52:57 PM
Bit of fight today after some ordinary bowling. If only the batters could have made runs....
Post by: paceman on August 07, 2015, 09:46:52 PM
Starc bowled well this morning...

Post by: Moggy on August 07, 2015, 10:10:09 PM
Warner looked like a rabbit in the headlights.
Perhaps if spent as much time on technique as he does trying to sledge the oposition he might score some runs.
I always knew he was a loose cannon, but he has really slipped in my estimation of a good "Australian" batsman.
He needs to go back to grade cricket & forget about being a media personality.

Post by: lino6 on August 07, 2015, 10:52:12 PM
Warner looked like a rabbit in the headlights.
Perhaps if spent as much time on technique as he does trying to sledge the oposition he might score some runs.
I always knew he was a loose cannon, but he has really slipped in my estimation of a good "Australian" batsman.
He needs to go back to grade cricket & forget about being a media personality.

Its probably lucky Warner is out of form, he probably would have nicked 5 of the Broad deliveries before lunch!
Post by: Trailer Bloke on August 08, 2015, 07:02:34 AM
WTF all out for 60 no words ???
Post by: tk421 on August 08, 2015, 10:02:56 AM
RIP
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2015, 10:17:13 AM
(http://ashe.motifake.com/image/demotivational-poster/1206/tomorrow-death-ashes-funeral-demotivational-posters-1339203316.jpg)
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2015, 11:20:21 AM
you'd think so... but its almost impossible to lose ya seat once in that team... as 40 yrs of history have shown
Post by: Moggy on August 08, 2015, 07:00:33 PM
My bet is one Michael Ckarke is done & will pull the pin.

Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 07:38:00 PM
It's almost official http://www.cricket.com.au/news/michael-clarke-retire-after-ashes-2015-according-to-reports-australia-england-trent-bridge/2015-08-08 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/michael-clarke-retire-after-ashes-2015-according-to-reports-australia-england-trent-bridge/2015-08-08)
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2015, 08:48:54 PM
My bet is one Michael Ckarke is done & will pull the pin.
be told to pull the pin....
Post by: Moggy on August 08, 2015, 08:50:45 PM
be told to pull the pin....
Geronimo. ...............

Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 08:51:20 PM
'The time is right'...
Post by: dales133 on August 08, 2015, 08:52:22 PM
Theres always the rugby,australia actualy look competitive tonight.
Post by: Barry G on August 08, 2015, 08:57:50 PM
Cap'n "bingle" finally crashes and burns.
An Aussie Captain either opens the batting or comes in at 1st drop.
It's called leading from the front.
I have never been impressed by him hiding down the order.
Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 08:59:54 PM
Cap'n "bingle" finally crashes and burns.
An Aussie Captain either opens the batting or comes in at 1st drop.
It's called leading from the front.
I have never been impressed by him hiding down the order.

I wrote a reply to your post then deleted it.

You need to review his stats and then think about your post, you are uninformed.
Post by: Barry G on August 08, 2015, 09:09:30 PM
I wrote a reply to your post then deleted it.

You need to review his stats and then think about your post, you are uninformed.
I guess we can agree to disagree.
For mine he has always been a celebrity first.
Yes, some marvellous innings, as others have, but not there when needed.
Compare his latest over there with Taylor in similar circumstances when we needed a Captain to stand up.
Even his press conference and the 'justification' of playing aggressively was a joke.
There was a reason Bradman was so rarely caught.

Post by: dales133 on August 08, 2015, 09:14:42 PM
Clark is a bit of a show pony,youve only got to look at the floosies he knocks around with...btw i said theres always the rugby.
Currently aussies in front
Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 09:15:49 PM

No you need to get informed. Clarke has a better average, run rate and win ratio as captain compared to Taylor.
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2015, 09:19:11 PM
No you need to get informed. Clarke has a better average, run rate and win ratio as captain compared to Taylor.
and is a bigger show pony than the last 10 captains put together.
Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 09:20:37 PM

Have you not watched what he has done since he ditched bungle?
Post by: paceman on August 08, 2015, 09:22:30 PM
Hard to compare captains from different eras.  Taylor certainly had better players at his disposal...

I think the death of phil Hughes affected Clarke more than we (and Clarke himself) realised.

It was his time.  Not convinced that smith has the mental toughness, though...

Post by: Barry G on August 08, 2015, 09:25:40 PM
My point is that he protected his own run rate, rather than being prepared to bat further up the order when we needed a 1st drop. 
As for 'win ratio' everything other than Ashes tests and tests against 'In Zid' is pretty much there to fill the schedule. Windies are a spent force, and can't take the sub continent seriously these days.
Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 09:25:56 PM
Not convinced that smith has the mental toughness, though...

x2 but we thought the same of Pup after Punter
Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 09:27:07 PM
My point is that he protected his own run rate, rather than being prepared to bat further up the order when we needed a 1st drop. 
As for 'win ratio' everything other than Ashes tests and tests against 'In Zid' is pretty much there to fill the schedule. Windies are a spent force, and can't take the sub continent seriously these days.

Again you need to get informed, look at his record in the subcontinent, India and Sri Lanka.
Post by: jmorgan1981 on August 08, 2015, 09:31:23 PM
All things said and done. Clarke was an outstanding player.

I take my hat off to him for doing well in probably the most publicly scrutinised job behind the PM.
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2015, 09:32:01 PM
Quote from: D4D
Again you need to get informed, look at his record in the subcontinent, India and Sri Lanka.
nobody believes results over there anymore.. Theres more corruption there than sand in the Sahara...
Post by: Barry G on August 08, 2015, 09:35:04 PM
Frankly a bit hard to take cricket in the sub continent seriously. 
Post by: GeoffA on August 08, 2015, 09:36:36 PM

That'th wraithitht......
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2015, 09:38:57 PM
That'th wraithitht......
(https://scontent.cdninstagram.com/hphotos-xfa1/t51.2885-15/s320x320/e15/11085118_1577493099159463_130475383_n.jpg)
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2015, 09:58:33 PM
England win, regain Ashes
Australia's first loss by an innings away to England for 30 years has seen them officially surrender the Ashes.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/#ixzz3iDwvnMol (http://www.theage.com.au/#ixzz3iDwvnMol)
Post by: lino6 on August 09, 2015, 12:25:58 AM
Ponting reckons up to 8 of the current squad will retire. Harris, Clarke and Rogers have made their intensions clear, lets hope the other 5 are Watson! You'd reckon Haddin, Farwad, Siddle and maybe Voges out of the current squad. Time to fly in the Aussie A boys from India and give them a crack at the last test I reckon!
Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 02:06:47 AM
nobody believes results over there anymore.. Theres more corruption there than sand in the Sahara...

No better in tubbies day, we even had involment through Warne and Waugh remember. Also the Sth Africians with Cronje
Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 02:09:34 AM
x2 but we thought the same of Pup after Punter

Yep and I wasn't convinced of a punter after Waugh
Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 02:12:59 AM
For mine he has always been a celebrity first.
Yes, some marvellous innings, as others have, but not there when needed.
Compare his latest over there with Taylor in similar circumstances when we needed a Captain to stand up.
Even his press conference and the 'justification' of playing aggressively was a joke.
There was a reason Bradman was so rarely caught.

I liked Taylor he was a stand out cricketer and captain but he had a fairly lean spell for a while. And he is on the record discussing the advantageous of captaining and having the ability to call in Warne or McGrath when needed. I don't belive that Clarke has had the same quality of players at his disposal.
Post by: D4D on August 09, 2015, 07:27:14 AM
Good summary
http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/michael-clarke-retirement-phillip-hughes-chronic-injuries-and-form-behind-decision/story-fnu2penb-1227475762480 (http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/michael-clarke-retirement-phillip-hughes-chronic-injuries-and-form-behind-decision/story-fnu2penb-1227475762480)

Post by: Kangaron on August 09, 2015, 08:23:03 AM
Not that long ago Greg Chappell,  after 6 ducks in a row as Capt, said " I'm not playing badly, I was keep getting out".

Post by: D4D on August 09, 2015, 08:25:45 AM
Yup, both Punter and Taylor had a similar run of bad form. I can't remember if Waugh did though...
Post by: Barry G on August 09, 2015, 10:37:23 AM
No better in tubbies day, we even had involment through Warne and Waugh remember. Also the Sth Africians with Cronje
And that is why I don't know why anyone gives a stuff about the results in India etc, but at least he could lead from the front in Pom land and get the results. Which is my entire point.
Title: 2015 Ashes.
Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 10:42:45 AM
With Warne, McGrath, Gilchrist ,and slats and that quality. I could poke both eyes out and get a result leading that team
in the UK, especially against the upper class cronies they had playing  ! Tubby was great one of my favourites but he was blessed as he will be the first to admit. That's my point. I didn't like Clarke as Captain particularly either but he helped rebuild AU side after the guts had been removed . The windies are still trying to rebuild 20+ yrs later
Post by: D4D on August 09, 2015, 10:47:49 AM
...but he helped rebuild AU side after the guts had been removed.

Agreed, Warner, Hughes, Johnson, Starc, Harris, Smith etc. have all been influenced/grown by Clarke under his leadership.
Post by: Swannie on August 09, 2015, 11:18:39 AM

Nothing wrong with being a show pony if you got the cash, the ladies and set up for life good luck to anybody I say

Post by: Moggy on August 09, 2015, 12:46:04 PM

Not convinced that smith has the mental toughness, though...

So who could be captain then? Surely not warner, haddin's done & has no interest in the job. Bring watto back .
Maybe kattich might get a recall,  now with clarke going.
The biggest down for smith will be a lack of senior players to call on for advice, but he's a long term prospect or at least next summer :-)

Post by: D4D on August 09, 2015, 04:18:06 PM
Some good memories here
http://www.cricket.com.au/news/michael-clarke-retires-best-test-innings-highlights-australian-captain/2015-08-09 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/michael-clarke-retires-best-test-innings-highlights-australian-captain/2015-08-09)
Post by: lino6 on August 09, 2015, 04:42:03 PM
What ever you think of the bloke, Clarke could bat.
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2015, 06:36:12 PM
Clarke:
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/c5/68/eb/c568ebf4225519e1d920a9562ebdc80f.jpg)
Post by: alnjan on August 09, 2015, 06:53:00 PM
What ever you think of the bloke, Clarke could bat.

Just not lately.....even Watson was out batting him
Post by: lino6 on August 09, 2015, 08:21:40 PM
Just not lately.....even Watson was out batting him

True, but when I said he could bat I'm talking about the bloke who scored 4 double tones in a calendar year. The guy who scored a triple century. Gunna go out on a limb and say Watson today would out bat Bradman today, but I still put Bradman miles above Watson (and Clarke).

Reckon the last 4 test captains played too long. It was just that Waugh and Taylor had some handy players to hide behind. Ponting and Clarke didn't.
Post by: listo on August 09, 2015, 08:27:58 PM
I'm not so sure that Bradman & Watson belong in the same hemisphere let alone the same sentence
Post by: aussie9 on August 09, 2015, 08:39:51 PM
I have been a horse trainer for 40 years and the Stewards ram down our throats that all the rules and regulations for our sport are to ensure the "Betting Public" have confidence in an honest system
Now that we can bet on most sports, cricket included, how can players play with injuries that are often undisclosed or play after getting pain killing shots etc
If our horse don't perform to an acceptable standard, thy are sent back to the trials until they do perform satisfactorily
Why can't cricketers or any sportsman be sent back to state or grade games until they re qualify for A Grade selection
If Clarkes head hasn't been in the right place since Hughes unfortunate death, he should have stated as much to selectors and been sent to the trials with reduced pressure. This would also let some new blood get a chance to show us what they can do at International level.
People bet on Australia winning the Ashes and should feel robbed if players knew they weren't coping and still played.
My missus, on the other hand, reckons they were all tired from carrying their Big Heads around!
Just my thoughts anyway

Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 09:00:21 PM
I'm not so sure that Bradman & Watson belong in the same hemisphere let alone the same sentence

quoting bird

Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 09:01:44 PM
I have been a horse trainer for 40 years and the Stewards ram down our throats that all the rules and regulations for our sport are to ensure the "Betting Public" have confidence in an honest system
Now that we can bet on most sports, cricket included, how can players play with injuries that are often undisclosed or play after getting pain killing shots etc
If our horse don't perform to an acceptable standard, thy are sent back to the trials until they do perform satisfactorily
Why can't cricketers or any sportsman be sent back to state or grade games until they re qualify for A Grade selection
If Clarkes head hasn't been in the right place since Hughes unfortunate death, he should have stated as much to selectors and been sent to the trials with reduced pressure. This would also let some new blood get a chance to show us what they can do at International level.
People bet on Australia winning the Ashes and should feel robbed if players knew they weren't coping and still played.
My missus, on the other hand, reckons they were all tired from carrying their Big Heads around!
Just my thoughts anyway

Best solution  ban betting on all sports  :cheers:
Post by: dales133 on August 09, 2015, 09:04:36 PM
Nothing wrong with being a show pony if you got the cash, the ladies and set up for life good luck to anybody I say

Agree completly. ..unless you become shane warne.
That should be illegal
Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 09:04:54 PM
True, but when I said he could bat I'm talking about the bloke who scored 4 double tones in a calendar year. The guy who scored a triple century. Gunna go out on a limb and say Watson today would out bat Bradman today, but I still put Bradman miles above Watson (and Clarke).

Reckon the last 4 test captains played too long. It was just that Waugh and Taylor had some handy players to hide behind. Ponting and Clarke didn't.

Yep and I reckon it's the bucks, let's just hang around for a year or two and top up that super by $2-3million?

Here's a thought after 5yrs or before 30 switch the contract to performance based where they don't get a cent until there above a certain average. Then see if they wanna play on simply to review LBW decisions
Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 09:05:47 PM
Agree completly. ..unless you become shane warne.
That should be illegal

Don't tell me Shane warne gives you the 5h1+s ?
Post by: dales133 on August 09, 2015, 09:07:41 PM
Advanced hair *selfie* .. yea yea..*selfie* ...im not alone.
Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 09:12:09 PM
Advanced hair *selfie* .. yea yea..*selfie* ...im not alone.

Lol yep pretty ordinary. But I gotta say the latest ad where he's rooting somebodies misuses is pretty funny taking the p155 out of himself?

But love him or hate the twit was an amazing cricketer .
Post by: lino6 on August 09, 2015, 09:14:40 PM
Stu McGill was the same, brilliant on the field, bit of a toss off it. Both brilliant leg spinners though.
Post by: dales133 on August 09, 2015, 09:14:42 PM
Yea he was.
I just wish hed take a leaf out off julia gillards book and stfu when he retired.
Post by: Barry G on August 09, 2015, 11:05:51 PM
It would be interesting to see some from earlier eras in the modern context.
Keith Miller for instance, like some in other fields in that era (JFK for instance) he would've found the instant media a pain.
His "pressure is having a Messerschmidt up your arse" comment deriding the existence of 'pressure' in the sport would be welcome today.
He was a bit of a bad boy', but a great cricketer and, above all, leader.  I would have him over Bradman, batting averages aren't everything.
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2015, 11:08:42 PM
Quote from: swannie

There is when it interferes and ****s up and makes you not capable of doing your job..  ;D
Post by: Davepatrol on August 09, 2015, 11:36:34 PM
The biggest problem with the Aussie team is they play to much one day cricket with the smash and run attitude and take the same attitude into the test matches.
Post by: Robbo on August 10, 2015, 06:58:29 AM
What more can one say. ;D
Post by: D4D on August 10, 2015, 07:43:37 AM
This makes for interesting reading...
http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes-2015-david-warner-set-for-vice-captaincy-as-steve-smith-lined-up-to-replace-michael-clarke/story-fnu2penb-1227476479975 (http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes-2015-david-warner-set-for-vice-captaincy-as-steve-smith-lined-up-to-replace-michael-clarke/story-fnu2penb-1227476479975)
Post by: Paul (SA) on August 10, 2015, 08:01:18 AM
I get sick of all the English who have migrated to Australia giving me heaps about how'they' won back the Ashes.

You've moved over here, enjoy everything Australia can offer - who's side are you on!!

Bloody soap dodgers.
Post by: broncos11 on August 10, 2015, 08:17:14 AM
The biggest problem with the Aussie team is they play to much one day cricket with the smash and run attitude and take the same attitude into the test matches.

Yep. You've hit the nail right on the head.
My young fella, who's 12,  is in a state academy of sport elite squad and goes once every 3 weeks to training days. The other day the head coach encouraged these young kids to practise their ramp and reverse sweep shots as they can make good careers out of one day and 20/20 cricket. I could have flogged him when he said that!!!
How about we teach our kids a sound technique and worry about show pony shots later in life when they have the basics sorted????
Of interest also is that Joe Burns got another 100 playing for Aussie A over in India. That's a couple of tons and a couple of 50+'s in trying conditions. Would have been handy in middle order.

Post by: lino6 on August 10, 2015, 08:20:07 AM
Might be time to take some learnings from India in the current "A" team tour over there. 10 South Africa A players were hospitalised for food poisoning, maybe we should have slipped the poms a dodgy butter chicken the night before the last test!
Post by: Bird on August 10, 2015, 08:22:41 AM
Like it or not, the future in Cricket is 20/20 and probably not as much but IPL/50 over...

Night test cricket wont save it.. that will just annoy people.
Post by: Kangaron on August 10, 2015, 08:48:19 AM
Make sure you all tune into four corners tonight.

Post by: D4D on August 10, 2015, 09:03:47 AM
Like it or not, the future in Cricket is 20/20 and probably not as much but IPL/50 over...

Based on what? Same thing was said when Packer brought in World Series Cricket...
Post by: paceman on August 10, 2015, 09:12:07 AM
20/20 is where the quick money is... no doubt...

i can't stand 20/20 (or hit and giggle)... much prefer 50 over cricket for the shorter form.  more tactics and skill involved...

test cricket will always be the pinnacle of cricket, IMO...

we need to get back to not thinking that someone who is good in the shorter forms of the game is necessarily as good in test cricket.

more emphasis on consistent and sustained sheffield shield form for test cricket selection is needed, IMO...

and when you are selected for the test team, you get a minimum of 5-10 tests to prove your worth to get rid of this 'one bad test and you're out of the team' habit for new players...

Post by: Moggy on August 10, 2015, 09:19:45 AM
This makes for interesting reading...
http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes-2015-david-warner-set-for-vice-captaincy-as-steve-smith-lined-up-to-replace-michael-clarke/story-fnu2penb-1227476479975 (http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes-2015-david-warner-set-for-vice-captaincy-as-steve-smith-lined-up-to-replace-michael-clarke/story-fnu2penb-1227476479975)

Geez as if he didnt already have enough "short man syndrome" attitude.

It could either make him or destroy the aussies reputation
Post by: D4D on August 10, 2015, 09:26:56 AM
Agreed, if you remember Punter also was involved in a punch on early in his career, history repeating...
http://www.espncricinfo.com/australia/content/story/80026.html (http://www.espncricinfo.com/australia/content/story/80026.html)
Post by: ellisd on August 10, 2015, 08:18:20 PM

The players have changed with One dayers and 20/20, batsman try and score a boundry off every ball and the bowlers bowl far too many slower balls trying too much. Cannot remember that many tests going into day 5 latley
Post by: Bird on August 12, 2015, 10:08:46 AM
Hope his kid is doing ok.

Brad Haddin has been granted an early release from Australia's Ashes squad and is flying home from what will almost certainly be his last tour with the national team.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-brad-haddin-out-of-squad-flies-home-early-for-personal-reasons-20150811-giwzxe.html (http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-brad-haddin-out-of-squad-flies-home-early-for-personal-reasons-20150811-giwzxe.html)

Post by: Nay-DMAX on August 12, 2015, 09:31:16 PM
Hope his kid is doing ok.

Post by: D4D on August 14, 2015, 08:40:09 PM
Warner named Test vice-captain
http://www.cricket.com.au/news/australia-name-test-vice-captain-post-michael-clarke-steve-smith-deputy/2015-08-14 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/australia-name-test-vice-captain-post-michael-clarke-steve-smith-deputy/2015-08-14)
Post by: Moggy on August 14, 2015, 08:48:55 PM
Dad " Whats vice"
"Well son its drugs, loose women, alcohol, and gambling.  Why do you ask?"
"Wow I just got made CAPTAIN of it in the Australian cricket side"

Post by: lino6 on August 20, 2015, 07:45:01 PM
Siddle in for Hazelwood. Hope Buck has a blinder of a last test, good luck mate!

None fa off the first, already a better start!
Post by: lino6 on August 21, 2015, 08:07:57 AM
Warner batted well, as did Smith. If only this could have happened in the last 2 tests this one may have meant something.

Was a good tribute to Richie the poms put on too.
Post by: D4D on August 22, 2015, 06:55:49 AM
Poms 8/107 chasing 481, Siddle 2/18, pity we didn't play like this 2 tests ago...
Post by: paceman on August 22, 2015, 08:41:47 AM
i wonder if warnie thinks not having siddle in the side is still a good idea...

Post by: achjimmy on August 22, 2015, 08:47:47 AM
Poms 8/107 chasing 481, Siddle 2/18, pity we didn't play like this 2 tests ago...

Even is we wernt so up oursleves in the first test and played day 4 out till stumps? It pissed down all day 5 and would have been a draw?

Still aways to go, wood seems to be able to hang around. I would love to see them get through quickly and bundle them back in?  An innings defeat would be the perfect comeback to close the series?
Post by: achjimmy on August 22, 2015, 08:49:26 AM
i wonder if warnie thinks not having siddle in the side is still a good idea...

Yeah but I read warnies whole comments and he made sense. If cummins is the future blood him now.  Warne did say in the article that siddle should have been selected earlier to replace hazlwood.
Post by: paceman on August 22, 2015, 08:53:03 AM
Yeah but I read warnies whole comments and he made sense. If cummins is the future blood him now.  Warne did say in the article that siddle should have been selected earlier to replace hazlwood.

johnson or starc should have been the ones to go...

have hazelwood and siddle building pressure and doing the hard yards and then have starc or johnson firing in 4 or 5 over spells...

starc and johnson are not frontline, pressure building bowlers, they are attacking bowlers...  thery have actually relieved pressure, not built it, with crap bowling.

hazelwood and siddle are more of the ryan harris mold... and look how we miss harris..

warnie should just keep his mouth shut.  he wants matthew wade (a victorian, what a shock) in the test side instead of peter nevill.  enough said.
Post by: Palmer on August 22, 2015, 09:05:18 AM

warnie should just keep his mouth shut.  he wants matthew wade (a victorian, what a shock) in the test side instead of peter nevill.  enough said.

Actually, Wade's a Tasmanian who couldn't get a permanent spot for the Tassie team  (was battling with another keeper who was also in the mix for Test selection)    :laugh:
Post by: paceman on August 22, 2015, 09:33:39 AM
Actually, Wade's a Tasmanian who couldn't get a permanent spot for the Tassie team  (was battling with another keeper who was also in the mix for Test selection)    :laugh:

plays for the vics now though... amounts to the same thing...

he hasn't done a thing for ages... and yet warnie thinks he's test material all of a sudden??

this obsession we have for finding the next gilchrist/haddin is just ridiculous. 

how about we get a wicket keeper who is the best keeper in the country (IMO, chris hartley for years) and then let our top order batsmen worry about the runs...?

Post by: lino6 on August 22, 2015, 02:59:05 PM
Maybe Clarke and Rogers should retire every test!

tappa tappa tappa

Post by: achjimmy on August 22, 2015, 07:28:31 PM

johnson or starc should have been the ones to go...

Don't disagree mate, just stating what Warnie said.

how about we get a wicket keeper who is the best keeper in the country (IMO, chris hartley for years) and then let our top order batsmen worry about the runs...?

Totally agree there too.
Post by: lino6 on August 22, 2015, 08:55:08 PM
Thought us aussies were allergic to the follow on?

tappa tappa tappa

Post by: achjimmy on August 22, 2015, 10:19:01 PM
Thought us aussies were allergic to the follow on?

tappa tappa tappa

With a good chance of rain coming if they want a victory they have too. Plus the bowlers haven't bowled a stupid number of overs
Post by: Pog on August 23, 2015, 07:30:59 AM
Its the 1st time that Clarke as captain has made a team follow on..

Lets hope the Aussies can get the last few wickets early in the day and wrap it up 2-3. Still a series loss, but 2-3 over there isn't as bad.

If only they could have batted out day 4 of the 1st test, or if only Haddin had of held the catch of Root in the 1st test, this series may have gone another way..

oh well, theres always next time.
Post by: achjimmy on August 24, 2015, 06:14:59 AM
Great result to close a losing series.
Post by: lino6 on August 24, 2015, 06:43:10 AM
Yep. Sad to lose a series despite winning 2 tests buy such big margins. I'm glad Siddle got a few wickets seems like he might not be done with yet.

And congrats to the 2 guys who retired.
Post by: weeds on August 24, 2015, 11:40:05 AM
I don't reckon Clarke should have retired......good to see we won the fifth.
Post by: achjimmy on August 24, 2015, 01:33:38 PM
I don't reckon Clarke should have retired......good to see we won the fifth.

Yeah I am disappointed about both him and Rodgers going. But it was inevitable with Clarke I don't think he is well enough and doesn't feel like his batting will improve.
Post by: broncos11 on August 27, 2015, 11:00:51 PM
Anybody else watching Joe Burns bat???
Why he wasn't in our middle order or even first drop with Clarke 5 is beyond me.
I know it's only Ireland but after the way he finished the summer against the Indians, I found it ridiculous he didn't go to the Windies and Ashes. Even if it was to get him use to test cricket by being around the team.
Post by: broncos11 on August 27, 2015, 11:08:06 PM
Put the curse on him, out for 69
Post by: paceman on August 28, 2015, 06:30:18 AM
Anybody else watching Joe Burns bat???
Why he wasn't in our middle order or even first drop with Clarke 5 is beyond me.
I know it's only Ireland but after the way he finished the summer against the Indians, I found it ridiculous he didn't go to the Windies and Ashes. Even if it was to get him use to test cricket by being around the team.

maybe because of the QLD after his name... same thing happened to chris hartley...
Post by: achjimmy on August 29, 2015, 07:53:47 AM
Yey the girls got the ashes back!

Southern Stars regain the Ashes

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/match-report/womens-ashes-video-highlights-australia-england-second-t20-hove-perry-lanning-taylor-edwards/2015-08-29 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/match-report/womens-ashes-video-highlights-australia-england-second-t20-hove-perry-lanning-taylor-edwards/2015-08-29)
Post by: Garfish on August 29, 2015, 10:30:52 AM
Yey the girls got the ashes back!

Southern Stars regain the Ashes

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/match-report/womens-ashes-video-highlights-australia-england-second-t20-hove-perry-lanning-taylor-edwards/2015-08-29 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/match-report/womens-ashes-video-highlights-australia-england-second-t20-hove-perry-lanning-taylor-edwards/2015-08-29)

Yes we have the ashes.....    Perry's second over was amazing, can't believe the hat trick ball missed the stumps
Post by: Kangaron on August 31, 2015, 07:06:57 PM
Worth a look

Post by: D4D on September 06, 2015, 07:08:24 AM
Stokes given out obstructing the field, I thought it was a harsh call but the right decision was made based on the rules.
Post by: plusnq on September 06, 2015, 07:32:22 AM
I didn't think it was even that harsh really. He moved his hand away from his body to the ball. It was reflex but hard to say self defence only.
Post by: achjimmy on September 06, 2015, 07:37:36 AM
Yep it looked reflex even down to him starting the grab the ball. But the rules are the rules and we didn't even write them:-)

No good the idiot pommie commentators bleating about seeing it in real time, when was the last time a runout was  decided in real time?
Post by: achjimmy on September 06, 2015, 08:11:32 AM
Almost a good catch by stokes!

Post by: D4D on September 13, 2015, 08:57:51 PM
Poms choking in the final  ;D
Post by: achjimmy on September 13, 2015, 10:20:05 PM
Poms choking in the final  ;D

:cheers: just gotta make sure we don't!