General => General Discussion => Topic started by: WilSurf on March 25, 2015, 05:48:32 PM

Title: Which table saw to buy?
Post by: WilSurf on March 25, 2015, 05:48:32 PM
Are there myswaggers on here who can advice a not so expensiv table saw for me?
I have work coming up in our house and a hand saw isn't the right tool.  ;D
Budget isn't that high, around $500.

Is was reading up on the Bosch models but they are $700
Title: Re: Which table saw to buy?
Post by: Rumpig on March 25, 2015, 06:16:20 PM
What is it you plan to use the table saw for out of curiosity?
Post by: isportfish on March 25, 2015, 06:19:49 PM
I use a triton 2000 for my cutting needs and find it easy, accurate and powerful to use.

Don't seem to be that popular anymore though.

Post by: oldmate on March 25, 2015, 06:29:00 PM

x2 ?
Post by: isportfish on March 25, 2015, 06:33:14 PM
I use a triton 2000 for my cutting needs and find it easy, accurate and powerful to use.

Don't seem to be that popular anymore though.

Should add that I mostly make furniture with it.

Post by: oldmate on March 25, 2015, 07:16:01 PM
Should add that I mostly make furniture with it.

And that's why they aren't that popular, not many people can be ar**ed making their own furniture, easier to walk into fantastic furniture and buy cheap China crap.
Post by: dazzler on March 25, 2015, 07:17:10 PM
In some ways it depends on what sort of quality cut you are after.  I started out with the Triton Workcentre and it was really quite good.  What I didnt like about it was the thin metal top was prone to movement dependent on the weather and didnt always remain dead flat.  There are, or were, some very knowledgable people out in forum land that can get these things cutting very true.

Then moved on to a carbatec 10" TSCHB and that was really a step up in accuracy.

Now I have a Laguna Fusion and its terrific too.  I suppose what I am saying is its a bit like camper trailers- often upsizing LOL....

At $500 budget I reckon a dewalt or Makita 255mm contracting style saw.  Second hand should be around $400.

If you build it into a bench like the paulk style they are very good. and you have a lot more table saw space and the bench makes them more useable.    paulkhomes.com and http://www.paulkhomes.com/order-plans.html (http://www.paulkhomes.com/order-plans.html)

But dont discount the Triton Workcentre if you have the time and patience to set them up.

Totally left field but I came across this the other day;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjN37QWWB_o (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjN37QWWB_o)
https://youtu.be/TjN37QWWB_o (https://youtu.be/TjN37QWWB_o)

(sorry bloody youtube not embedding properly)

Post by: dales133 on March 25, 2015, 07:27:11 PM
I got an aldi one a few years ago and it's actualy a good little saw for 180 bucks.
Plenty of power and acurate too, I've used it heaps on my current build.
The only issue with it is the fence can't go past about 250mm but for what it is its better than alot of brand name saws for the money.
I'll probably upgrade soon but it will do me for now
Post by: AdrianLR on March 25, 2015, 07:51:12 PM
I made our bathroom cabinets, bath surround and other things on the Triton. Company's gone now so secondhand only. Speaking of which, I've been meaning to put mine on Gumtree as wood work, electronics and welding in the same shed don't get along all that well.  I'll put it in the classifieds here tomorrow if anyone's interested.
Post by: Bill on March 25, 2015, 08:58:57 PM
Im another with a Triton workstation.
Ive had it 8 years now and it has never missed a beat.
Bit of advice if you go this route is to take your time setting it up.
Get it right and you shouldnt have to adjust again.
Ive made heaps of furniture with mine.
Post by: Snapman007 on March 25, 2015, 09:04:10 PM
If you need it for sheet work, I'd be looking at a track saw at that price point.
Post by: oldmate on March 25, 2015, 09:44:25 PM
I made our bathroom cabinets, bath surround and other things on the Triton. Company's gone now so secondhand only. Speaking of which, I've been meaning to put mine on Gumtree as wood work, electronics and welding in the same shed don't get along all that well.  I'll put it in the classifieds here tomorrow if anyone's interested.

Yep, doing cabinet work is easier these days, with cut to size places doing it all for you as a flat pack. All edged, hinges routed, all panels pre drilled, just put it together like a flat pack.
Post by: GUEY on March 26, 2015, 05:20:11 AM
Yep, doing cabinet work is easier these days, with cut to size places doing it all for you as a flat pack. All edged, hinges routed, all panels pre drilled, just put it together like a flat pack.

Don't be telling people that. You'll put certain swaggers out of work :):)

The weapon of choice, those little table saws scare the Shit out of me... ;)
(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/15/03/25/c69ae1c1dd0b63d3f977b44f801059c5.jpg)
Post by: kylarama on March 26, 2015, 06:02:51 AM
Are there myswaggers on here who can advice a not so expensiv table saw for me?
I have work coming up in our house and a hand saw isn't the right tool.  ;D

As others said, what type of work?  General carpentry and joinery? ie timber docking and cutting up sheets.

A 10-12 inch slide compound mitre saw and a track saw would be far better and more versatile.  However costs more too.  A decent blade in a quality 7 1/4" saw, straight edge and quick grips also can cut up sheets accurately and neatly.

The Dewalt, Makita and Bosch portable table saws all look okay, but watch for table flex (most are plastic bodies to keep weight down) and the fences need allot of careful adjustment to make sure they are square.  Forget about ripping up 8X4' sheets with these, the decks are too small IMO.

For $500 I'd be checking out the classifieds for a 2nd hand belt driven 12" table saw with a cast iron deck.  If you want portability, there is nothing wrong with Triton, just a bit more fiddly to use.  Great 2nd bargins can be had from someone selling off their workshop collection.

FYI.  The Triton business is still alive and kicking.  Carbatec stock everything and I believe Mitre 10 can also get it.

http://www.carbatec.com.au/triton-power-tools-accessories_c20845?zenid=ftr1t9n64g7nu82007ui6qche4 (http://www.carbatec.com.au/triton-power-tools-accessories_c20845?zenid=ftr1t9n64g7nu82007ui6qche4)
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 06:44:03 AM
Don't be telling people that. You'll put certain swaggers out of work :):)

The weapon of choice, those little table saws scare the Shit out of me... ;)
(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/15/03/25/c69ae1c1dd0b63d3f977b44f801059c5.jpg)

;D ;D. Yep. That's a real table saw.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 26, 2015, 07:32:41 AM

If you build it into a bench like the paulk style they are very good. and you have a lot more table saw space and the bench makes them more useable.    paulkhomes.com and http://www.paulkhomes.com/order-plans.html (http://www.paulkhomes.com/order-plans.html)

I wonder if the plans come in metric, I like the bench and it will save a lot of space in the shed

Post by: Artie01 on March 26, 2015, 09:28:48 AM
What a coincidence, there is a triton 200 with a triton saw and a triton dust extractor for 600 at the moment.... I used a triton bench when I first started making furniture, has its limitations but is a bloody good bit of gear if you use it right.

This on a Triton.. (the table, I don't do chairs  ::))

Post by: WilSurf on March 26, 2015, 10:02:52 AM

Very basic stuff really.
I want to make a little storage for the fire wood, need to cut up fire wood to let it dry, making a frame for an attic ladder etc.
No furniture for me (yet, you never know)
Post by: fridayman on March 26, 2015, 11:13:14 AM
Very basic stuff really.
I want to make a little storage for the fire wood, need to cut up fire wood to let it dry, making a frame for an attic ladder etc.

I recently bought a Hafco 10" table saw for $150 - there are some bargains around. While its a great saw with a cast iron top, the stand was a bit crap, so I built a solid timber base on castors. Now that I have it I seem to use it all the time, and keep finding more and more projects that I want to do.

A decent sliding mitre saw may be more useful for the jobs that you mention though, and will be more portable.
Post by: Rumpig on March 26, 2015, 11:56:34 AM

A decent sliding mitre saw may be more useful for the jobs that you mention though, and will be more portable.
as mentioned above, it sounds like you are after a mitre saw / drop saw rather then a table saw. From memory,  Makita do a 260mm sliding mitre saw in the price range you are talking about for example, but plenty of other brands available in that price range aswell
Post by: Cracka on March 26, 2015, 11:57:10 AM
I wonder if the plans come in metric, I like the bench and it will save a lot of space in the shed

Yes they do GG, after that post last night I stayed up and watched all 14 or so parts of the construction and he mentions the plans contain both imperial and metric measurements.

It's a pretty impressive piece of kit.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 26, 2015, 11:59:37 AM
Yes they do GG, after that post last night I stayed up and watched all 14 or so parts of the construction and he mentions the plans contain both imperial and metric measurements.

It's a pretty impressive piece of kit.

Thanks,

Looks as though I have a new project underway soon  ;D

Post by: WilSurf on March 26, 2015, 12:58:59 PM
as mentioned above, it sounds like you are after a mitre saw / drop saw rather then a table saw. From memory,  Makita do a 260mm sliding mitre saw in the price range you are talking about for example, but plenty of other brands available in that price range aswell

What is the difference between a compound mitre and a sliding mitre saw?
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 01:15:41 PM
If a cut off saw can make angle cuts on 2 different planes (horizontal and vertical) it is referred to as a compound mitre saw, then you can get ones that slide for wider cuts, (sliding compound saw). A sliding coumpound in a larger size will normally have a wider angle range.  I like my 305mm sliding saw but it's big heavy and a pain to carry for the work I normally do, but it's great if you are setting up for a few days doing skirting, arcs, flooring, framing etc
Post by: WilSurf on March 26, 2015, 01:37:22 PM
OK.
Any brands better then others?
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 03:03:08 PM
I would stick clear of cheaper ones. You'll  find the mitres and bevels not real accurate.

This is what I use. Does the job well. Goes 50* one way and 60* the other. And 45 bevel each way
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 03:03:57 PM
305mm blade.
Post by: WilSurf on March 26, 2015, 03:18:04 PM
Which model mate?
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 04:23:40 PM
Ls1216 that one is

For ripping sheets I just use a circ saw. If it has to be a nice straight cut I will use the fence or clamp a straight edge down.  For ripping larger material I have a big 9" circ saw for that. Make sure to keep all your blades nice and sharp. You can drop them of to be sharpened. I'll get back to you on current prices for that, just dropped about 5 blades off for sharpening.
Post by: dazzler on March 26, 2015, 06:17:23 PM

They come in metric but if you don't need the portability you could do a similar setup with a normal torsion box bench and hang it off the end.
Post by: dazzler on March 26, 2015, 06:19:50 PM
I would stick clear of cheaper ones. You'll  find the mitres and brevels not real accurate.

This is what I use. Does the job well. Goes 50* one way and 60* the other. And 45 bevel each way

Same as mine. Great saw.
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 06:21:14 PM
Same as mine. Great saw.

Yep it is.
Post by: Barry G on March 26, 2015, 06:45:32 PM
 I have an early Triton, and have done heaps with it, including building complete kitchen benche cupboards from ply 25 years ago.
Also have a magnificent 1950s 'Shopsmith' that was my FILs. Once I have the new shed the Shopsmith will be getting a complete rebuild.
Post by: dales133 on March 26, 2015, 06:51:20 PM
Keep your eye out for an older 8 inch hitachi....you can pick them up for around 250 -400 but they are arguably the best saw in thier class ever made.
Nothing you buy new comes close to them in quality
Post by: Rumpig on March 26, 2015, 06:54:59 PM
I would stick clear of cheaper ones. You'll  find the mitres and bevels not real accurate.

i used to use the 305mm saws (had a couple of Dewalts over the years...though newer models not as good as the old one was IMHO), as you mentioned though, they are heavy to cart around. These days I just use the 260mm, a bit nicer to cart up and down stairs of houses each day

Keep your eye out for an older 8 inch hitachi....you can pick them up for around 250 -400 but they are arguably the best saw in thier class ever made.
my old 305mm Dewalt would have.... I framed with that saw for over 10 years, and that was all stick framing. The replacement Dewalt saw I got lasted 2 years before a bearing went in it, and it wouldn't have done a tenth of the workload the old saw had done in the same time frame.
Post by: dales133 on March 26, 2015, 06:56:42 PM
Yea the Dewalt a bigger saw but a good saw too.the new saws arnt anywhere near as well made...any brand
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 07:03:04 PM
Yea the Dewalt a bigger saw but a good saw too.the new saws arnt anywhere near as well made...any brand

i used to use the 305mm saws (had a couple of Dewalts over the years...though newer models not as good as the old one was IMHO), as you mentioned though, they are heavy to cart around. These days I just use the 260mm, a bit nicer to cart up and down stairs of houses each day

my old 305mm Dewalt would have.... I framed with that saw for over 10 years, and that was all stick framing. The replacement Dewalt saw I got lasted 2 years before a bearing went in it, and it wouldn't have done a tenth of the workload the old saw had done in the same time frame.

Yep. 100% agree there

Yep mal, I mainly use small saw as it fits in the toolbox on the ute. Don't use the big one often, but when I do, I'm glad I have it. Cutting anything over 130mm it's awesome
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 07:10:09 PM
wilsurf, any of the top name brands, will do the job you need, makita dewalt hitachi. I have a range of tools from each brand, most of my cordless stuff is hitachi, where my power stuff is mainly makita or dewalt, with a few cheap things thrown in that I may only use once or twice.
Just go to total tools/trade tools and have a look over different ones.   :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on March 26, 2015, 07:14:54 PM
wilsurf, any of the top name brands, will do the job you need, makita dewalt hitachi. I have a range of tools from each brand, most of my cordless stuff is hitachi, where my power stuff is mainly makita or dewalt, with a few cheap things thrown in that I may only use once or twice.
Just go to total tools/trade tools and have a look over different ones.   :cheers:
x2 on above...I have those 3 different brands in the back of my ute in various tools
Post by: dazzler on March 26, 2015, 07:17:48 PM
You can tell we are the camper trailer crowd. Not a festool in site - sadly.
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 07:21:37 PM
Festool is for the White collor tradies  ;D ;D. We don't get paid that much.  :D ;D
Post by: Barry G on March 26, 2015, 07:32:49 PM
Festool is for the White collor tradies  ;D ;D. We don't get paid that much.  :D ;D
Most white collar workers I know don't make as much as trades!
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 07:49:21 PM
Really, best I put my rate up then ;D
Post by: kylarama on March 26, 2015, 07:51:19 PM

Mines around 25+ years old and still going okay.  I got it 2nd hand and used it daily for 10+ years, mainly for cutting aluminium.
Good saw, but noisy and the guards are complete and utter rubbish.  I thew about 3 new guards at mine and gave up in the end.  Rubbish 3 piece plastic set up.
The guards on those era Hitachi's (8" & 10") were so bad Hitachi ended up doing a full recall on all the old CF models about 6 years ago.  Just had to take your old saw into any Hitachi dealer and they would give you a brand spanker for free!  I found out about the recall 12 months after it finished >:(.

My current saws a 12" Metabo SCMS, the previous model which is just a rebadged Elektra Beckum.  Beautiful saw to use, smooth, quite and great depth of cut on compound mitres too.  Only thing I don't like is the trenching stop is a bit flimsy.

The LS series Makita's are brilliant too.  We've got quite a few of the 8 and 10" ones at work.  The LS1018 with the dual slide rails is a great saw.  As others said not as good as the previous models that were Japanese made.  The older Japanese LS1216 with the vertical handle was the best.

Makita, Hitachi, Dewalt, Metabo, Blue Bosch.  Can't go wrong with any of them, all comes down to what feels most comfortable for you.

Post by: Rumpig on March 26, 2015, 08:06:21 PM
Very basic stuff really.
for basic cutting of framing timber like you describe, this will work fine http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084) ....i use one of these at work now a days for both framing and fix-outs. It's not as powerful as the 305mm saws, just take your time when it's cutting and let the blade do the work instead of working it hard like you can with the bigger saws. The advantage of a bigger saw shows when you start cutting 100mm x 100mm posts etc, you can cut straight through them in one go versus smaller saws not having the same depth of cut available for you to use
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 26, 2015, 08:29:44 PM

I have a heap of festool gear, my drop saw is a hitachi, the replacement will be a festo

Post by: GeoffA on March 26, 2015, 08:36:00 PM

No mention of Fein yet, either...
Post by: GeoffA on March 26, 2015, 08:37:46 PM
I have a heap of festool gear......

A mate of mine like Festool.
The cases, stacked up, go from floor to ceiling.....twice.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 08:38:19 PM
for basic cutting of framing timber like you describe, this will work fine http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084) ....i use one of these at work now a days for both framing and fix-outs. It's not as powerful as the 305mm saws, just take your time when it's cutting and let the blade do the work instead of working it hard like you can with the bigger saws. The advantage of a bigger saw shows when you start cutting 100mm x 100mm posts etc, you can cut straight through them in one go versus smaller saws not having the same depth of cut available for you to use

Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 08:41:57 PM
A mate of mine like Festool.
The cases, stacked up, go from floor to ceiling.....twice.... :cup: :cup:

Does he use them every day on a building site where they get exposed to dropping, rain, run over, theft, forgot to put it back on the ute.  The rate that stuff happens it ain't worth the over the top expensive gear.

Festool owners are like toyota owners, paid premium price for a tool they have no idea how to use.  :D :D :D
Post by: kylarama on March 26, 2015, 08:42:46 PM
No mention of Fein yet, either...

Love my Fein multitool. ;D

but no Festool in my collection.  A Festool track saw and domino is at the top of my wishlist.  However no longer working on the tools for a living makes it impossible to convince the missus they'd be a good investment. :'(
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 26, 2015, 08:51:23 PM

Festool owners are like toyota owners, paid premium price for a tool they have no idea how to use.  :D :D :D

I hope the brand of camper you own does not come into play, I would have no idea at all  ;D

Post by: GeoffA on March 26, 2015, 08:51:51 PM
Does he use them every day on a building site where they get exposed to dropping, rain, run over, theft, forgot to put it back on the ute.  The rate that stuff happens it ain't worth the over the top expensive gear.

Nope. Just a fastidious wood nut....real passionate.

Maybe the case for some, but not this bloke. He knows his stuff....
Post by: GeoffA on March 26, 2015, 08:53:19 PM

but no Festool in my collection....

Much the same here....
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 08:55:16 PM
Nope. Just a fastidious wood nut....real passionate.

Maybe the case for some, but not this bloke. He knows his stuff....

Yep understand,and bet he does great work.

Just having a stir on the toyota comment

I hope the brand of camper you own does not come into play, I would have no idea at all  ;D

Well since you bought it up.  >:D :D

Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 08:56:46 PM

but no Festool in my collection.  A Festool track saw and domino is at the top of my wishlist.  However no longer working on the tools for a living makes it impossible to convince the missus they'd be a good investment. :'(

I'd  love to have all the good stuff, but I ain't got the room, money or time at present.
Post by: GeoffA on March 26, 2015, 08:57:19 PM
Yep understand,and bet he does great work.

You should see the work bench he made......furniture quality......and he does use it..... :cup: :cup:
Post by: oldmate on March 26, 2015, 08:58:17 PM
You should see the work bench he made......furniture quality......and he does use it..... :cup: :cup:

Post by: WilSurf on March 27, 2015, 09:59:48 AM
I am tossing between the Makita and DeWalt DW713.
One is a sliding, the other is a drop saw.
Post by: kylarama on March 27, 2015, 10:10:18 AM

The timber sizes you want to cut will dictate your choice.  The Dewalt would be limited compared to the Makita, especially with mitre cuts.
Post by: feisty on March 29, 2015, 10:30:31 AM
Dewalt is just Stanley crap like black and Decker.  Go the hitachi, makita or aeg,

Post by: glenm64 on March 29, 2015, 10:35:27 AM
I picked up a older cast iron table saw cheap. Able to put on castor wheels, added router extension table and made a good fence for it. Very versatile.

Cheere Glen
Post by: Rumpig on March 29, 2015, 11:34:41 AM
Dewalt is just Stanley crap like black and Decker.  Go the hitachi, makita or aeg,
having used one Dewalt 305mm saw for over 10 years doing stick framing, I'd disagree with that statement, I also have a Dewalt slow revving drill I use purely for putting in batten screws, had it for years now and it still goes flawlessly. I reckon the Dewalt 7 1/4 & 9 1/4 power saws are rubbish, but the drop saws aren't to bad (though new ones not as good as the old ones used to be).
Post by: Bill on March 29, 2015, 06:26:59 PM
Go with the sliding.
Much more versitile...
Post by: kylarama on March 29, 2015, 08:30:16 PM
I reckon the Dewalt 7 1/4 & 9 1/4 power saws are rubbish, but the drop saws aren't to bad (though new ones not as good as the old ones used to be).

The old (90's) 9 1/4" Dewalt saw was actually the Black & Decker Industrial Sawcat.  U.S. made and was the best 9 1/4 saw IMO.  The new ones look a bit junkie.

Same for the drop saws.  The 90's ones were rebranded Elu's, once again great saw, but Dewalt gradually cheapened the quality.
Post by: oldmate on March 29, 2015, 08:32:39 PM

The old (90's) 9 1/4" Dewalt saw was actually the Black & Decker Industrial Sawcat.  U.S. made and was the best 9 1/4 saw IMO.  The new ones look a bit junkie.

Same for the drop saws.  The 90's ones were rebranded Elu's, once again great saw, but Dewalt gradually cheapened the quality.

Yeah but they all have cheapened their quality. Even hand tools arnt what they used to be, no matter the name on them
Post by: feisty on March 29, 2015, 08:43:14 PM
I do agree that Dewalt WAS generally good. Probably more of a comment about where they are now and how poorly stanley have treated the brands they swallow up like sidchrome b and d bostitch etc and their poor reputation for warranty issues etc
Post by: kylarama on March 29, 2015, 08:49:04 PM
Yeah but they all have cheapened their quality. Even hand tools arnt what they used to be, no matter the name on them
Too true. Half the Stanley hand tool range is junk these days.
Remember Marples chisels? Now owned by Irwin and are complete and utter junk.

In their quest to remain prominent in the large chain hardware stores, each brand has the lowered the quality to meet the expected price point. Some of the Makita range at Bunnings are exclusive to them, you won't find the model no. on  the Makita website.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Post by: oldmate on March 29, 2015, 08:51:48 PM
Too true. Half the Stanley hand tool range is junk these days.
Remember Marples chisels? Now owned by Irwin and are complete and utter junk.

In their quest to remain prominent in the large chain hardware stores, each brand has the lowered the quality to meet the expected price point. Some of the Makita range at Bunnings are exclusive to them, you won't find the model no. on  the Makita website.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Yep same as the aeg stuff, it is an exclusive lower quality stuff. And with their cordless stuff they generally supply smaller batteries to keep the cost down also, like 1.5ah instead of 3ah
Post by: Rumpig on March 29, 2015, 08:54:06 PM

.....but Dewalt gradually cheapened the quality.
i certainly noticed the difference about 6 years back when i bought a replacement for the one i had previously. Same goes for all the brands though as already mentioned, they aren't what they used to be. Funnily enough, my 9 1/4 i use now is one i grabbed from a kerb side clean up from the house next to where we were working. It's a early 90's (at a guess) Makita saw that had barely been used, still works like a new one and solid as with all the metal that is in it.
Post by: dales133 on March 29, 2015, 08:59:49 PM
I've got one of the old Dewalt 9 1/4s it's a great saw but a heavy bastard so I only use it when I have to
Post by: WilSurf on March 30, 2015, 10:12:30 AM
I had a look at them at Bunnings.
The Makita sliding saw is very handy, but the DeWalt felt like it was better quality.
However now another question.
Is there a way to secure the timber before making the cut with a drop/sliding saw?
As most of you know, I can't use my right hand.
And don't say: do not buy a saw then.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 30, 2015, 10:22:48 AM
However now another question.
Is there a way to secure the timber before making the cut with a drop/sliding saw?
As most of you know, I can't use my right hand.
And don't say: do not buy a saw then.

My Hitachi came with a clamp which attaches to the rear of the base plate and comes over the fence with a screw threaded foot to clamp the timber down

Edit Found a pic for you, have a look here  http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084)
Post by: oldmate on March 30, 2015, 11:14:24 AM
My Hitachi came with a clamp which attaches to the rear of the base plate and comes over the fence with a screw threaded foot to clamp the timber down

Edit Found a pic for you, have a look here  http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084)

yep  what he said, although by the time i have clamped it, i have generally cut it.  :cheers:
Post by: dazzler on March 30, 2015, 06:20:28 PM
If u can't use your right hand I suggest googling mitre saw stand mitre track and you should find lots of great shop built stands that use mitre track to secure the stock.
Post by: 6knights on March 30, 2015, 06:35:04 PM
x2 for the Hitachi sliding saw , as GG said they do come with a timber clamp and the one on mine can be used on either side of the saw blade so it could be set up to work which ever way is most convenient for you Wilsurf.
Post by: WilSurf on May 27, 2015, 03:25:15 PM
OK, finally some prgress.
I have decided to buy a sliding compound saw.
Now the options are:
Makita:http://www.bunnings.com.au/makita-1430w-255mm-slide-compound-mitre-saw_p6240084
Bosch: http://www.bunnings.com.au/bosch-1800w-250mm-sliding-mitre-saw_p6200251 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/bosch-1800w-250mm-sliding-mitre-saw_p6200251)

The Bosch has the advantage of being cheaper and can swivel left and right.
Post by: dales133 on May 27, 2015, 07:48:48 PM
I've used both and they are pretty much of a much Ness.
Get the better deal
Post by: dazzler on May 27, 2015, 08:44:35 PM
I have the makita one and I am not that happy with it.  Bearings seem a little rough in the slide and well, I just dont like it that much.

Maybe I just want a festool one.   :'(
Post by: dales133 on May 27, 2015, 08:53:54 PM
We all want a festool everything!
Post by: Pipeliner on May 28, 2015, 10:01:34 AM
I have a Triton with a GMC saw; I also have a GMC compound sliding mitre saw.  The mitre saw sees very little use these days, the Triton a lot more.

When GMC were around they had a huge range of tools available and my policy was to buy them and see how much I used them - if they got a lot of use then when they packed up (which was not uncommon) I'd replace them with a better brand.

GMC tools which I still have and which still do the job properly are the mitre saw, the circular saw in the Triton, a thicknesser and a biscuit cutter.

My advice is: don't spend large sums on a trade quality brand if you aren't going to give it the workout it is designed for.  To take an example Trade Tools Direct will sell you a Makita 235mm circular saw for $258 or their own brand (Renegade) for $168.  My experience of Renegade tools is that they are excellent and accurate: they may not have the life of a Makita but unless you work with them for a living that is unlikely to be a concern.

How about this Renegade compound mitre saw (https://www.tradetools.com/product-range/power-tools/power-tools/renegade-10-compound-slide-mitre-saw-1900w-contractor)?  Unfortunately for you they are a Queensland company so shipping to WA will probably eat up any savings!
Post by: oldmate on May 28, 2015, 12:17:15 PM
Giving mine a run now
Post by: staghornflat on May 28, 2015, 01:51:33 PM
I'm only using my little one today
(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/05/27/655e04c850945b883c4d42cd341efe1d.jpg)
Post by: stabicraft on May 29, 2015, 10:08:25 AM
Ypu guys with the Triton work benches, does anyone know where I can get some accessories?

When I first bought the triton saw, I also bought the router table.
They are brilliant bits of gear and I have made many things, the accuracy is amazing when set up right, even makes me llook good.
But now I want an angle cutter and a mitering attachment, but I cant find anyone who sells the stuff any more.

Does anyone in NSW know where I can get it?
Post by: dazzler on May 29, 2015, 12:28:08 PM
Not sure where you would get them but I am sure you could make mdf jigs up.
Post by: paulo on May 29, 2015, 01:15:15 PM
Maybe try Carbatec.

To the OP, I've used the bigger bosch one and liked it. I will look at the bosch to buy when we move into our new house, that will have a new big shed, that will need new tools. ;D
Post by: JPH on May 29, 2015, 06:54:50 PM
I'm only using my little one today
(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/05/27/655e04c850945b883c4d42cd341efe1d.jpg)

Great looking bench there Staghornflat, looks extremely similar to one I copied from up your way ages ago! Haven't used mine for a while, been concentrating on joinery more than carpentry. Did however crack it out today for a run.

JPH
Post by: staghornflat on May 29, 2015, 07:01:37 PM
A retired builder from Corryong use to make them, I haven't seen them at any at the tool shops that sold them for a while. I made an adaptor to sit on the bench so I don't have to change the height to use the ls 1040 or ls1212.
Post by: dales133 on May 29, 2015, 07:12:05 PM
I still to this day have a gmc compound mitre saw and it's built a number of houses, alot of decks, done plenty of joinery and cut alot of aluminium
It's been a dependable saw for 15 years almost so much so I shipped it to australia when I moved back here.
I've got the bus cut joiner too but as far  as a good cheap brand gos now I have no experience other than AEG witch is cost efficient trade tools.
I've heard good things about ryobi though
Post by: Rumpig on May 30, 2015, 06:58:56 AM
Great looking bench there Staghornflat, looks extremely similar to one I copied from up your way ages ago! Haven't used mine for a while, been concentrating on joinery more than carpentry. Did however crack it out today for a run.

JPH
i use a Tommy Tucker work bench with the 2 extensions myself, i bought it many years ago after pulling a muscle in my back lifting my timber bench that i made onto my trailer as i carted it from site to site . They aren't cheap by any means, but they are a great product  http://www.tommytuckertrestles.com.au/# (http://www.tommytuckertrestles.com.au/#)!drop-saw-work-bench/cxuu
Post by: kylarama on May 30, 2015, 07:12:49 AM
Ypu guys with the Triton work benches, does anyone know where I can get some accessories?

Carbatec stock it  http://www.carbatec.com.au/triton-power-tools-accessories_c20845 (http://www.carbatec.com.au/triton-power-tools-accessories_c20845)

and I believe Mitre 10 can order it all in for you.
Post by: robbo1172 on May 30, 2015, 07:45:49 AM

Carbatec stock it  http://www.carbatec.com.au/triton-power-tools-accessories_c20845 (http://www.carbatec.com.au/triton-power-tools-accessories_c20845)

and I believe Mitre 10 can order it all in for you.

Also try timber bits. I think they're in Sydney and are a sponsor of the woodwork forum I am on.

http://www.timberbits.com/brand/triton/ (http://www.timberbits.com/brand/triton/)

Robbo...
Post by: staghornflat on May 30, 2015, 05:01:00 PM
i use a Tommy Tucker work bench with the 2 extensions myself, i bought it many years ago after pulling a muscle in my back lifting my timber bench that i made onto my trailer as i carted it from site to site . They aren't cheap by any means, but they are a great product  http://www.tommytuckertrestles.com.au/# (http://www.tommytuckertrestles.com.au/#)!drop-saw-work-bench/cxuu

After using this one all week was thinking something a bit lighter would be good.
Post by: duggie on May 30, 2015, 07:52:48 PM
I use/own a Ryobi - slide-compound-mitre-saw, It was not cheap at the time when I bought it , but it is a great saw.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Myswag/010.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Myswag/010.jpg.html)

I have also bought a Triton work bench, it ain't the top of the range , but it does what I want from a saw bench.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Myswag/008.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Myswag/008.jpg.html)

My latest project is cladding my home that I built 30 years ago with Cypres pine chamfer board.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Myswag/005_1.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Myswag/005_1.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Myswag/001_1.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Myswag/001_1.jpg.html)
Post by: Rumpig on May 30, 2015, 08:10:20 PM
After using this one all week was thinking something a bit lighter would be good.
i've drilled a couple of holes through mine and put bolts up through the bottom of where the saw sits on, then done the nuts up onto the bench to lock the bolts in position. The saw sits on the  excess threads of the bolts and then I have wing nuts that hold the saw down onto those bolts....quick an easy to take the saw on and off each day.
Post by: WilSurf on July 01, 2015, 01:39:47 PM
I finally bit the bullet and bought the Bosch PCM 1800 SD.
With the 10% from Woolies I bought it from Mastes.
Will use it hopefully this Saturday, but have to find a saw bench.
Post by: sparksy on July 01, 2015, 02:38:09 PM
For a slide compound mitre saw Ive got a Hitachi  C12RSH  12 inch  304mm. Pretty dear at about $700 but it has belt drive from motor to blade. Cant burn it out but it glides through jarrah.