General => General Discussion => Topic started by: DaveR on February 19, 2015, 06:47:46 AM

Title: Cyclone Marcia
Post by: DaveR on February 19, 2015, 06:47:46 AM
I know there are many My Swag folk who live in this area.
I hope it isn't to bad for you.
And
I hope a good drink makes it inland, not too much of it.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-02-19/cyclone-marcia-tracks-towards-queensland-coast/6143900 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-02-19/cyclone-marcia-tracks-towards-queensland-coast/6143900)
Title: Re: Cyclone Marcia
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2015, 06:58:57 AM
We went into full prep mode yesterday, by putting an extra rope on the boat front and back.

hmmm, we also um..... let me think.... nup, that was it.
Post by: DaveR on February 19, 2015, 07:05:10 AM
Well,
How about turning the camp fridge on
Getting enough beers down to temp, and extra food.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2015, 07:11:07 AM
Nah, the local Woollies and IGA will be open.

Although, I might give the Honda EU20 a fire up later in case the power goes out at some point.
Post by: edz on February 19, 2015, 07:17:28 AM
We went into full prep mode yesterday, by putting an extra rope on the boat front and back.

hmmm, we also um..... let me think.... nup, that was it.
Maybe a few extra fenders along the sides and a double check on the bilge pumps / float switches and batteries  :cheers:
Post by: Garfish on February 19, 2015, 07:36:01 AM
Parents reported last night that no milk or bread at woollies in Bundy as everyone stocked up. 
Post by: muzza01 on February 19, 2015, 07:37:38 AM
Nah, the local Woollies and IGA will be open.

Although, I might give the Honda EU20 a fire up later in case the power goes out at some point.
I reckon it would be a safe bet that some area are going to lose power. Good luck Mate. :cheers:
Post by: paceman on February 19, 2015, 07:44:43 AM
for those interested in cyclone tracking (if you haven't already used it), try the following site:

http://www.usno.navy.mil/JTWC/ (http://www.usno.navy.mil/JTWC/)

just click on the 'TC Warning Graphic' for the cyclone you wish to look at.

these guys seem to know their stuff.  they picked yasi's track days before anyone else got close....

just another resource to have...
Post by: Clouty on February 19, 2015, 08:17:26 AM
My mate is heading up to bundy today in the B-double which is stocked up with general food items..

Should be a interesting drive for him ;D
Post by: xcvator on February 19, 2015, 08:39:34 AM
Ahh Queensland, beautiful 1 day............................................................. :'(
Post by: Bird on February 19, 2015, 09:02:06 AM
From Both sides...

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/brisbane-braces-for-heavy-rain-as-cyclone-marcia-hits-20150218-13ilke.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/brisbane-braces-for-heavy-rain-as-cyclone-marcia-hits-20150218-13ilke.html)

(http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/content/dam/images/1/3/i/n/k/m/image.related.articleLeadwide.620x349.13ilke.png/1424297461233.jpg)
Post by: Elky on February 19, 2015, 09:09:32 AM
Yea I cleaned the gutters for the first time in 2 years......got some petrol and test ran the gennie, just expecting lots of rain and possible power outage (last time was 4 days)

This time around we have the engel, and a fully charged deep cycle battery (battery box is uber handy) with the led lights we keep in the ct

Now I gotta move some cars around to avoid possible branch damage

Also need a stockpile of drinks.....
Post by: bentnose on February 19, 2015, 09:26:13 AM
Prior preparation and planning ladies and gents. Ive got t/c Lam heading my way.
Please stay away from creek and river crossings!
Good luck to all. See you on the other side
Post by: Rusty on February 19, 2015, 09:53:54 AM
Put all the loose stuff In the shed put the caravan cover on and went panic buying bought 4 cartons of beer (they were on special ) :cup: :cup:

Honda 2.0i is full and have extra fuel told the wife she may be lucky to use her Christmas present the Honda  ;D ;D

Rusty
Post by: speewa158 on February 19, 2015, 10:04:50 AM
This could make the 2015 Cape trip   very interesting indeed . Might rearrange a few roads  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on February 19, 2015, 11:49:09 AM
http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/cyclone-marcia-live-coverage-20150219-13iuaw.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/cyclone-marcia-live-coverage-20150219-13iuaw.html)

10:56am Kristian Silva: Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has urged Queensalnders to saty away from rovers and beaches as the cyclone hits.
Wind gusts of up to 150 km/h are tipped across parts of the state's central and southern areas, along with torrential rain.
Post by: theins on February 19, 2015, 11:53:06 AM
Good Luck - hope it is not going to be too bad!!
Post by: Elky on February 19, 2015, 12:19:02 PM
This could make the 2015 Cape trip   very interesting indeed . Might rearrange a few roads  :cheers:

Yep we are heading to the cape this year.....and to make things interesting we are goin in June/July so I am having kittens at the thought of dunking my 200 and CT on the tele track, some bypasses will be taken I thinks

Looks like choosing mud tyres is gonna be vindicated!
Post by: krisandkev on February 19, 2015, 12:33:54 PM
Our shed still has not been repaired since a bad storm 2 weeks ago!  Oh well, can't do much about it...  Do not mind the rain, just do not want the wind.   Kevin
Post by: Bird on February 19, 2015, 12:35:34 PM
Quote from: krisandkev
just do not want the wind.   Kevin
careful what you eat then,,
Post by: muzza01 on February 19, 2015, 01:29:27 PM
for those interested in cyclone tracking (if you haven't already used it), try the following site:

http://www.usno.navy.mil/JTWC/ (http://www.usno.navy.mil/JTWC/)

just click on the 'TC Warning Graphic' for the cyclone you wish to look at.

these guys seem to know their stuff.  they picked yasi's track days before anyone else got close....

just another resource to have...

Although I admit to using these guys too,(it's my job). Another couple of websites are:
www.ecmwf.int/ (http://www.ecmwf.int/)
www.nrlmry.navy.mil/TC.html (http://www.nrlmry.navy.mil/TC.html)

Saying that USNO picked Yasi's track days before anyone else is a little exaggerated but I will agree with you that their tracking was fairly accurate in that case  It is the track where everyone remembers but in most cases, the BOM has been the most accurate for other predictions.  It certainly doesn't hurt to have access to a few different models when making preparations.
Post by: paceman on February 19, 2015, 01:57:44 PM
Although I admit to using these guys too,(it's my job). Another couple of websites are:
www.ecmwf.int/ (http://www.ecmwf.int/)
www.nrlmry.navy.mil/TC.html (http://www.nrlmry.navy.mil/TC.html)

Saying that USNO picked Yasi's track days before anyone else is a little exaggerated but I will agree with you that their tracking was fairly accurate in that case  It is the track where everyone remembers but in most cases, the BOM has been the most accurate for other predictions.  It certainly doesn't hurt to have access to a few different models when making preparations.

if memory serves, their (JTWC) tracking map was accurate for at least 36 hours before the BOM got to the same result.  in this case, as you have said... :)

IMO, the BOM seems to take too long to get to their final prediction (and i do understand that it IS a prediction), and in the meantime, creates a fair amount of unnecessary panic among the general public, where we then see instances of panic buying, etc...

i think the BOM gets placed into a no-win situation a lot of the time with this sort of thing... i don't envy them at all.

thanks for the other links, mate... i enjoy comparing and contrasting... :)
Post by: muzza01 on February 19, 2015, 03:25:56 PM
i think the BOM gets placed into a no-win situation a lot of the time with this sort of thing... i don't envy them at all.
Agreed. Poor buggers are expected to predict the track of cyclones with 100% certainty. It is a science that has so many variables that constantly change making it very difficult accurately predict.

I work fairly closely with them on some projects; some of the expectations and pressure put on them by politicians to make an accurate observation is unfair; that is why they tend to give a broader range of prediction hedging all of their bets.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2015, 03:30:00 PM
Only 2 spots left vacant in the marina now, the houseboats are in, even the coast guard have parked up in their.

The funny thing is though, the spots left vacant are dead opposite us.... person could get a complex at this rate.

Bit of rain here and mid 30 knot winds, all pretty easy so far.
Post by: edz on February 19, 2015, 03:31:36 PM
Think things are starting to get a bit over the top around here atm ... We are aprox 1000 km away from the x point of this cyclone and theyve gone and cancelled schools for tomorow due to the Extreme weather event and as far as Nambucca heads south of Coffs Harbour ... 1500kms away from the storm ...
Never heard anything like it ever, must be the mother of all mothers of a possible Cat 2 cyclone .. Panic buying has started going by the people in the shops too.
Post by: Bird on February 19, 2015, 03:34:58 PM
Think things are starting to get a bit over the top around here atm ... We are aprox 1000 km away from the x point of this cyclone and theyve gone and cancelled schools for tomorow due to the Extreme weather event and as far as Nambucca heads south of Coffs Harbour ... 1500kms away from the storm ...
Never heard anything like it ever, must be the mother of all mothers of a possible Cat 2 cyclone .. Panic buying has started going by the people in the shops too.
Sponsored by Coles ????
Post by: DaveR on February 19, 2015, 03:48:10 PM

WTF
School as normal here tomorrow, gold coast that is, although, a school we used to go to possibly will be closed, but that is just local flooding they have near by.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2015, 04:03:31 PM
Gunna go Cat 3 early tomorrow or so the media say.
Post by: edz on February 19, 2015, 04:09:20 PM
Think some one in NSW Education needs  a lesson in geography  Dave ..
Post by: muzza01 on February 19, 2015, 04:22:25 PM
Gunna go Cat 3 early tomorrow or so the media say.

It is a Cat 3 now.
Post by: Steffo1 on February 19, 2015, 04:23:05 PM
Be good for the prawns & jewies.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2015, 04:28:33 PM
We've just had our first bit flooding....

My outdoor sink was blocked with leaves.... ;D
Post by: DaveR on February 19, 2015, 04:30:34 PM
Thats it mate.
No work or school tomorrow
Post by: wilson79 on February 19, 2015, 04:31:53 PM
Cat 3 now, possible cat 4 when crosses the coast according to the latest track map

Good luck fellow Qld'ers, stay safe and make sure you have plenty of  :cheers: in the esky..
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2015, 04:35:47 PM
Cat 3 now, possible cat 4 when crosses the coast according to the latest track map

Good luck fellow Qld'ers, stay safe and make sure you have plenty of  :cheers: in the esky..

fffffftt, easy peasy..... 
this a video of a few of us getting our boats sorted in the marina before trouble arrives.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-zfCBCq-8I (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-zfCBCq-8I)
Post by: Spada on February 19, 2015, 04:40:14 PM

About 10 years ago there was a severe storm that smashed Sydney, and the BOM got an absolute bollocking for not issuing a warning early enough. Ever since than, every forecast seems to be "fine, with a chance of rain" and the first hint of a black cloud sees a severe storm warning issued.

I don't envy their job ?

I think the Cyclone up near Darwin will be far more destructive than the storm that is coming to SEQ, but it's not getting the media hype (probably because it's a normal summer event for them)  ???
Post by: Green rv on February 19, 2015, 04:46:55 PM
Queensland Government  homeDisasters and alertsDisasters and alerts

This website is not available due to scheduled maintenance.

Please try again later, or call 13 QGOV (13 74 68) if your enquiry is urgent.

so after seeing dave's post on schools closed went to have a look on qld gov website and above is all i can get
good timing guys
Post by: Jakster1 on February 19, 2015, 04:54:38 PM
Well this looks like it could escalate here. Cat 4 by landfall
Prep underway, EVERYTHING in the shed.
Jerry cans full of fuel and water, genset plugged in and ready to run
Emergency kit ready to go
Evacuation kit in the car
Beer fridge stocked
It's blowing hard already
Post by: McGirr on February 19, 2015, 05:41:45 PM

The southern part of the cyclone is the most powerful. It should drop back quickly once it hits the coast.

McGirrs Cyclone tips. Cat 4 means 4 cases of  :cheers:

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2015, 06:17:24 PM
Thanks for the tip Mark.

Plenty of rain here and high 30's to mid 40 knots of wind and what Mark says is correct, we've got more wind here than the central coast going by "Sea-Breeze".
I reckon we'll max out around 65 to 70 knots, as we had 55 to 60 three years ago when the remains of a cyclone wobbled its sorry ar$e down here.
Post by: Spada on February 19, 2015, 06:32:23 PM
I think the Cyclone up near Darwin will be far more destructive than the storm that is coming to SEQ, but it's not getting the media hype (probably because it's a normal summer event for them)  ???

My apologies to all on the central coast, looks like Marcia is getting cranky. Now rated cat4.

It's been a while since one came this far south. I've been through a couple of cat 2's when I lived in Cairns, and they were not too devastating, but another Yasi (or worse) is something to respect.

Lets hope it crosses well north of Yeppoon, where there's not a lot of towns.
Post by: Steffo1 on February 19, 2015, 06:43:59 PM
WTF
School as normal here tomorrow, gold coast that is, although, a school we used to go to possibly will be closed, but that is just local flooding they have near by.
Just spoke to my sister in Rocky & schools are, so far, open tomorrow so hard to fathom, hey?
Post by: muzza01 on February 19, 2015, 06:45:56 PM
Just spoke to my sister in Rocky & schools are, so far, open tomorrow so hard to fathom, hey?
They won't be going to school in Rocky tomorrow.

Good luck you guys down south. Looks like a savage storm.
Post by: wilson79 on February 19, 2015, 07:33:16 PM
Strap yourselves in possible cat 5 now!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: IanC on February 19, 2015, 07:34:10 PM
Isn't too bad here in Mackay....yet.  Won't be sleeping until I know it isn't going to turn around and bite us on the ar$e.

Apart from making sure you are prepared yourself,  if you have people new to the area who may have not experienced this before make sure they understand the importance of water.  Water for drinking and fill the bathtub for washing, flushing loos etc. Hopefully everyone will only need to add bath bubbles and relax with a nice glass of wine tomorrow night !!!

Mind you now that we are set up for camping,  losing power etc is not such a drama anymore :D

Take care and be safe everyone.

Allana
Post by: speewa158 on February 19, 2015, 07:41:27 PM
Heads Down  to those in it , Be safe  Hang on  & Be Safe     ,      Post Pics   . lf Safe  :cheers:
Post by: edz on February 19, 2015, 08:02:34 PM
Into a decent shelter and hunker down guys and all the best to you .. Heres hoping you all stay safe up that way .
Post by: sol on February 19, 2015, 08:08:23 PM
Stay safe people. Been through it 3 times and know exactly how you guys are feeling.

Post by: Moggy on February 19, 2015, 08:13:57 PM
Isn't too bad here in Mackay....yet.  Won't be sleeping until I know it isn't going to turn around and bite us on the ar$e.

Apart from making sure you are prepared yourself,  if you have people new to the area who may have not experienced this before make sure they understand the importance of water.  Water for drinking and fill the bathtub for washing, flushing loos etc. Hopefully everyone will only need to add bath bubbles and relax with a nice glass of wine tomorrow night !!!

Mind you now that we are set up for camping,  losing power etc is not such a drama anymore :D

Take care and be safe everyone.

Allana

Slowing down to pick up speed now,  which is never good as thats when the predictability goes. Cat 5 at landfall

Not good for Macktown, might be our turn  :'( :'(

Oh well at least the work situation will improve  8)
Post by: jeeps on February 19, 2015, 08:17:26 PM
Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has urged Queensalnders to saty away from rovers and beaches as the cyclone hits.

that's a bit harsh, rovers aren't that bad... ;)
Post by: Jakster1 on February 19, 2015, 08:20:21 PM
Cat 5......  "GULP"
Everything's done. Now to sit and wait
Must be beer o'clock
Post by: dales133 on February 19, 2015, 08:21:58 PM
They are just pretty triumph 2500C's. .. take care .batten down the hatches
Post by: Ozsnowman on February 19, 2015, 08:33:06 PM
Cat 5? Yikes everyone be safe!
Post by: rockygu4.8 on February 19, 2015, 10:15:02 PM
This thing looks to be a bit of an animal. Cat 1 to Cat 4 in a day with predictions of Cat 5 by landfall early tomorrow. Lots of rain here and wind at present. Family at St Lawrence have been evacuated already. Some of the farm houses are quite old and surviving a Cat 4 or 5 cyclone will be a huge effort. The Family store has been standing for over 90 years so fingers crossed all will be good. No matter what happens Rocky and surrounding areas are looking at severe winds potentially over 100km per hr with very heavy rain. My concern is many are not prepared due to the late Intensity of this system. Let's hope it hits between St Lawrence and Yeppoon giving some distance to wipe off some of the destructive Winds. Stay safe everyone and good luck. Don't forget if you don't have to go out or be on the roads then don't.
Post by: bazt on February 19, 2015, 10:22:31 PM
If it gets to cat 5 the safe way to do it is to go somewhere else. Things can be fixed, lives cant.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2015, 03:06:01 AM
We had some solid wind in the mid 40 knots and gusting into the 50's, but its all dropped off to around 20 at the moment. (Double Island Point wind thingy)

Rain has just now stopped, but we've had some heavy stuff overnight.

I don't think i'll be mowing today some how.
Post by: KingBilly on February 20, 2015, 03:58:15 AM
Stay safe everyone

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2015, 04:28:47 AM

4:10am Natalie Bochenski: Cyclone Marcia is now officially a category FIVE system.

The Bureau of Meteorology's 4am update located the storm 130km northeast of St Lawrence and 180km north of Yeppoon.

Winds near the centre at 205 km/hr, with wind gusts to 285 km/hr.

Marcia has also increase speed from 11 to 13 km/hr, and is expected to cross the coast between St Lawrence and Bundaberg around 10am.

A separate Severe Weather Warning is current to the south of Double Island Point and west to the Great Dividing Range
Post by: Symon on February 20, 2015, 04:36:18 AM
Above a Cat 3 these things aren't fun anymore.  Looks like it is heading straight for Marlborough now.
Post by: muzza01 on February 20, 2015, 05:18:55 AM
It's sped up a little, now crossing at 0900. I guess the earlier the better with King tides again today.
Good luck guys.
Post by: DaveR on February 20, 2015, 05:28:09 AM
I see that ABC 24 is now live due to this, no hour long delay due to time zone, or 90 mins for the NT
Post by: Coolblue80 on February 20, 2015, 06:03:51 AM
Well, what a way to spend my 40th birthday.  A cat 5 storm bearing down on us here in Gladstone.  Happy days. All our prep is done. We were not expecting a cat 5 but it is what it is.  About to go and tape up the windows. Stay safe everybody.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: oldmate on February 20, 2015, 06:15:21 AM
Stay safe guys
Post by: slcs78 on February 20, 2015, 06:21:06 AM
Thoughts are with everyone in the path of this monster. Stay safe
Post by: scarpsD40 on February 20, 2015, 06:22:38 AM

Thoughts are with everyone in the path of this monster. Stay safe
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2015, 06:25:57 AM
I see two blokes in a boat are in trouble off Fraser Island, the idiots.  >:(

Now rescue services have to start looking for two blokes in the water in this weather, as it appears, their boat has sunk.

Its been blowing its ring out in the mid 30 knots all week, so why would you head out of Brisbane on Tuesday, to head friggin north?
No sympathy here.

Yeah yeah, I know they have family etc, but they made their bed, time to lie in it I think.
Post by: Banjo16 on February 20, 2015, 06:29:54 AM
Harsh but true.
Post by: oldmate on February 20, 2015, 06:37:02 AM
Yep agreed. Not like we haven't known all week this was coming. D heads
Post by: FNQBunyip on February 20, 2015, 06:41:04 AM
Yep Dheads for sure , they always think their trip is more important than anything , till it all go's wrong..

Stay safe all , at least it's a daylight crossing .. These thing make for a long night if your only listening to it , bang and crash around you..

Post by: oldmate on February 20, 2015, 06:42:26 AM
They should be charged for the rescue, the other life's that are now risked to go find them is crazy.
Post by: Black Diamond on February 20, 2015, 06:45:44 AM
Stay safe everyone :cheers:
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 20, 2015, 06:46:43 AM
Well, what a way to spend my 40th birthday.  A cat 5 storm bearing down on us here in Gladstone.  Happy days. All our prep is done. We were not expecting a cat 5 but it is what it is.  About to go and tape up the windows. Stay safe everybody.
Cheers, Mike.

Happy birthday Mike.  :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2015, 06:52:04 AM
It appears they are on the inside of Fraser.....  ???

"Nine News reports the boat sunk in the Moonboom area of the Great Sandy Strait." Trust channel 7 to imply they were outside of Fraser.

We often go to the Moonbooms, but not in this sort of weather.
At least it will make it easier for the rescue folks to get to them, keeping in mind, a south easter blows straight up the strait, so I would still expect very heavy conditions.
Post by: muzza01 on February 20, 2015, 06:52:51 AM
Cheers, Mike.
Happy Birthday Mike. I hope things don't get too bad for Mate.  :cheers:

Yep Dheads for sure , they always think their trip is more important than anything , till it all go's wrong..
Stay safe all , at least it's a daylight crossing .. These thing make for a long night if your only listening to it , bang and crash around you..

Agreed 100%. No doubt a Cat 5 storm is very very scary but to be in the dark would be terrifying.
Good luck all you guys, stay safe.
Post by: Colmano on February 20, 2015, 06:53:56 AM
Having travelled up through these beautiful areas on the way to the Cape back in Sept 14, our family's prayers go out to all the lovely Queenslander folk about to be impacted by Cyclone Marcia...Stay safe, and stay strong - I'm sure I speak for all the swaggers when I say we're there for you... :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on February 20, 2015, 06:57:21 AM
Just watching the ABC, they had a rolling caption saying 285km winds  ??? That sound right or is it a misprint?
Post by: paceman on February 20, 2015, 06:59:36 AM
Just watching the ABC, they had a rolling caption saying 285km winds  ??? That sound right or is it a misprint?

near the eye of the cyclone, it probably is...
Post by: paceman on February 20, 2015, 07:01:00 AM
it looks like mackay city is off the warning list, so if anyone further south needs a hand or a place to camp up, let me know....

happy to help...
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2015, 07:09:04 AM
Hey BD, yeah, pretty windy huh.

Category

Wind speeds

Five
?70 m/s, ?137 knots
 ?157 mph, ?252 km/h

Four
58–70 m/s, 113–136 knots
 130–156 mph, 209–251 km/h

Three
50–58 m/s, 96–112 knots
 111–129 mph, 178–208 km/h

Two
43–49 m/s, 83–95 knots
 96–110 mph, 154–177 km/h

One
33–42 m/s, 64–82 knots
 74–95 mph, 119–153 km/h
Post by: InMused on February 20, 2015, 07:28:44 AM
No, thats correct.

My brother was out all night with the SES evacuating people from Yeppoon.  Not looking good.
Post by: IanC on February 20, 2015, 07:50:05 AM
Mackay has dodged a bullet....big time... 

A daytime crossing is a lot better than night.  Everyone in the zone please take care. 

Will be thinking of you all day.....

Happy 40th Mike...  You won't forget this one! 
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 20, 2015, 08:02:59 AM
Good luck to all in the path and surrounds, keep safe and come out once all the noise has passed

Post by: paceman on February 20, 2015, 08:08:46 AM
Mackay has dodged a bullet....big time... 

mackay can thank the coral reef that sits off our coastline, due east...

that's what cyclones hit and veer away...
Post by: Bird on February 20, 2015, 08:09:30 AM
Said on news intense Cat 5 storm..

Not good for these people..  :(
Post by: paceman on February 20, 2015, 08:10:41 AM
Said on news intense Cat 5 storm..

Not good for these people..  :(

just like cyclone tracey, small but very intense...
Post by: Bird on February 20, 2015, 08:15:45 AM
Quote from: paceman
just like cyclone tracey, small but very intense...
That's not good to hear...
Post by: muzza01 on February 20, 2015, 08:35:43 AM
mackay can thank the coral reef that sits off our coastline, due east...

that's what cyclones hit and veer away...
Nice theory but the shallower the waters (reef) the warmer the sea temps are giving the cyclone strength. Power comes from atmospheric conditions, unfortunately a cyclone makes its path and will roll straight over coral reefs, hills and mountains without discrimination.

The same with TC Lam. Due to the shallow waters in the gulf, the very warm sea temps and the monsoon, we all knew that when the Low crossed across the Cape that it would develop quickly into a TC. We just didn't know as to what Cat or what direction it was going to go.
Post by: paceman on February 20, 2015, 08:41:52 AM
Nice theory but the shallower the waters (reef) the warmer the sea temps are giving the cyclone strength. Power comes from atmospheric conditions, unfortunately a cyclone makes its path and will roll straight over coral reefs, hills and mountains without discrimination.

The same with TC Lam. Due to the shallow waters in the gulf, the very warm sea temps and the monsoon, we all knew that when the Low crossed across the Cape that it would develop quickly into a TC. We just didn't know as to what Cat or what direction it was going to go.

i like to think of it as a bit more than a theory, considering the amount of 'bullets' mackay has dodged.... but hey, i'm no expert.  just lived here all my life... :)

not talking about power so much as general path...

plenty of previous cyclone tracking maps have shown this same curious behaviour around mackay and blokes that have lived here much longer than me say the same thing...

but, like you say, just a theory... :)

i'll take whatever protection i can get to avoid this type of thing... :)
Post by: ehsc on February 20, 2015, 09:02:41 AM
Fairly eerie in Bundy at the moment the wind has gone and bloody hot , But its coming i think its just the calm before the storm.

:cheers: :cheers: ehsc
Post by: Bird on February 20, 2015, 09:08:58 AM
Eek.

Australia's northern coasts are being battered by two severe tropical cyclones on Friday, the first time meteorologists have seen twin storms of such intensity making near-simultaneous landfall.

Cyclone Lam crossed the Northern Territory coast about 20 kilometres east of the town of Milingimbi as a category 4 cyclone overnight, knocking out two wind monitors in the process.

(http://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/1/3/j/v/m/h/image.related.articleLeadwide.620x349.13jycu.png/1424386036645.jpg)
Angry eye: VIIRS infrared imagery from @NASANPP of Cyclone Marcia as it approaches the eastern coast of Australia. Photo: NOAA Satellites/Twitter

About 2000 kilometres to the south-east, Cyclone Marcia has now crossed the coast near Yeppoon, close to Rockhampton, on the central Queensland coast. The storm is rated as a category 5 cyclone, the highest ranking.

While twin cyclones reaching Australia are uncommon, Friday's combination may be the first involving storms of category 3 or higher, said Phil Perkins, a meteorologist with the Bureau of Meteorology in Darwin.

"It's the first time that we have seen two severe cyclones occurring at the same time," Mr Perkins said.
http://www.smh.com.au/environment/weather/cyclone-lam-and-cyclone-marcia-twin-severe-storms-a-first-for-australia-20150219-13jycu.html (http://www.smh.com.au/environment/weather/cyclone-lam-and-cyclone-marcia-twin-severe-storms-a-first-for-australia-20150219-13jycu.html)
Post by: MattNQ on February 20, 2015, 09:17:26 AM
Hey BD, yeah, pretty windy huh.

Category

Wind speeds

Five
?70 m/s, ?137 knots
 ?157 mph, ?252 km/h

Four
58–70 m/s, 113–136 knots
 130–156 mph, 209–251 km/h

Three
50–58 m/s, 96–112 knots
 111–129 mph, 178–208 km/h

Two
43–49 m/s, 83–95 knots
 96–110 mph, 154–177 km/h

One
33–42 m/s, 64–82 knots
 74–95 mph, 119–153 km/h

This explains it in pictures

(https://scontent-lax.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xap1/v/t1.0-9/10151992_10152836814039753_8587713979718401922_n.jpg?oh=4beeebf14d415700faf032d6fad6cbf5&oe=554E8689)
Post by: paceman on February 20, 2015, 09:21:40 AM

(https://scontent-lax.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xap1/v/t1.0-9/10151992_10152836814039753_8587713979718401922_n.jpg?oh=4beeebf14d415700faf032d6fad6cbf5&oe=554E8689)

:cup: gold...
Post by: muzza01 on February 20, 2015, 09:24:47 AM

That's gold!! I a, going to use that pic in my PowerPoint slideshow. :cup:
Post by: Snapman007 on February 20, 2015, 11:31:01 AM
It's been downgraded to a Cat 4, that's the fluffy cat jumping.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 20, 2015, 11:53:54 AM
By the time 'Ex' TC Marcia gets to South East Qld.

Post by: Bird on February 20, 2015, 11:55:57 AM
By the time 'Ex' TC Marcia gets to South East Qld.
more like
(https://whyevolutionistrue.files.wordpress.com/2010/05/funny-looking-shaved-cat.jpg)
Post by: poidda on February 20, 2015, 12:19:35 PM
Good luck everyone up there!  I'm from Rocky originally so fingers crossed.

Cat 5 storms aren't much fun.  I experience one while living in Cayman Islands.  Cat 5 Hurricane Ivan swallowed the island. 

Some photos give a bit of an idea, but I remember the noise of the wind is just terrifying.

https://www.google.com.au/search?q=cayman+islands+ivan&espv=2&biw=1680&bih=959&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=XJjmVJfmJcTHmAWdkYGgCQ&ved=0CCgQsAQ&dpr=1#tbm=isch&q=cayman+islands+hurricane+ivan (https://www.google.com.au/search?q=cayman+islands+ivan&espv=2&biw=1680&bih=959&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=XJjmVJfmJcTHmAWdkYGgCQ&ved=0CCgQsAQ&dpr=1#tbm=isch&q=cayman+islands+hurricane+ivan)
Post by: Brett on February 20, 2015, 01:26:47 PM
We are getting hammered right now here in Rocky! No power since 11:30 but our Honda 2.0 is earning it's keep.

We are safe so now we're just waiting for it to pass.

Post by: Robbo on February 20, 2015, 01:32:37 PM
That's good news Brett. Can't beat those Honda Gennies though.  :cup:
Post by: Garfish on February 20, 2015, 01:37:31 PM

i like to think of it as a bit more than a theory, considering the amount of 'bullets' mackay has dodged.... but hey, i'm no expert. 
Even cyclones don't want to visit Mackay.
On a serious note
Stay safe one and all last one I went through was Fran and it was only cat 1.

Sent from my fingers via my brain
Post by: Bird on February 20, 2015, 03:11:02 PM
Gee, how soft are diveball players.. letting a little wind and rain stop them playing.... ???

http://www.theage.com.au/sport/soccer/brisbane-roarmelbourne-victory-aleague-game-postponed-due-to-cyclone-marcia-20150220-13k660.html (http://www.theage.com.au/sport/soccer/brisbane-roarmelbourne-victory-aleague-game-postponed-due-to-cyclone-marcia-20150220-13k660.html)
Post by: patroldude on February 20, 2015, 03:18:38 PM
Live in nth Rton, just went through the eye of the cyclone about 40 min ago, it's a bit worse on the tail end. Truck loads of trees down. Lots of houses with damage. Here are some pics
Post by: patroldude on February 20, 2015, 03:30:24 PM
Lots of flooding South of Rton. The big patch of water is Devils Elbow in the Fitzroy, look behind it!
Post by: Bird on February 20, 2015, 03:42:27 PM
Quote from: patroldude
Live in nth Rton, just went through the eye of the cyclone about 40 min ago, it's a bit worse on the tail end. Truck loads of trees down. Lots of houses with damage. Here are some pics
I reckon you'd be happy if that was the only damage

Hope everyone is ok..
Post by: patroldude on February 20, 2015, 03:47:10 PM
A couple more, gum tree through a mates roof, and somebody's roof on the road!
Post by: broncos11 on February 20, 2015, 04:52:16 PM
A couple more, gum tree through a mates roof, and somebody's roof on the road!

Hi mate

Are u anywhere near McRae place???? My sister is there and I've lost contact??
Post by: Crimso on February 20, 2015, 04:57:07 PM

Need a better fence, that one let the water in!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2015, 05:05:52 PM
Somebody in Rocky has some awnings that belong to a family member.

They decided to visit during the middle of the storm, so any swaggers who have awnings now, that they didn't have some earlier, let me know please.
Post by: broncos11 on February 20, 2015, 05:12:54 PM
Have heard that nobody injured when cyclone passed. That's great news.
Post by: Bird on February 20, 2015, 06:13:43 PM
Quote from: broncos11
I heard she blows strong :D :D
Post by: patroldude on February 20, 2015, 10:48:58 PM
Hi Broncos11, that's just down the bottom of the hill. Everybody in that area is OK, lots and I do mean lots of trees and power lines down everywhere. But no reports of anybody injured. Pm me her name and address and I will check tomorrow morning for you. PS, no power since 11:30 am this morning and no home phones working!!!
Post by: DaveR on February 21, 2015, 06:29:44 AM
Glad the storm passed by relatively quickly without anyone getting hurt.
Just watching it on the radar the sunny coast is coping it now.
It is eerily quiet here on the gold coast just waiting for its remains to arrive, its an impressive sight on the BOM radar.
Post by: speewa158 on February 21, 2015, 06:34:06 AM

Not Happy   JAN ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, :'(
Post by: DaveR on February 21, 2015, 07:04:05 AM
Looking at the BOM Cyclon web site, I see that it is showing the last update from 5 hours before at 02:06 am
I'd have thought something like this would be updated more often.
(http://www.bom.gov.au/fwo/IDQ65001.png?1424448440036)

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDQ65002.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDQ65002.shtml)
Post by: KingBilly on February 21, 2015, 07:32:00 AM
Nah mate, nothing in it any more.  Probably only 8 hour updates.  Will go to 12 hour soon

Post by: Rumpig on February 21, 2015, 07:52:27 AM
Looking at the BOM Cyclon web site, I see that it is showing the last update from 5 hours before at 02:06 am
I'd have thought something like this would be updated more often.
(http://www.bom.gov.au/fwo/IDQ65001.png?1424448440036)

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDQ65002.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDQ65002.shtml)
as said already, not much in it now so updates will be less frequent. BOM just put out a Severe Thunderstorm Warning a half hour ago for Nambour area. Weatherzone forum reports there'll be the chance of a few storms around for some areas today.
Post by: Rusty on February 21, 2015, 08:08:15 AM
Looks like Bundy missed all the rain got a bit and it was windy over night

The tender center will be full of milk and bread for sale from all the people panic buying lol

Rusty
Post by: Foo on February 21, 2015, 08:16:54 AM
300mm of rain here so far and still bucketing down.  :'(

Post by: slcs78 on February 21, 2015, 08:29:59 AM
The rain has worked its way down into nsw now. Bucketing down now. Nothing compared to up in qld though
Post by: KingBilly on February 21, 2015, 09:28:37 AM
Supposed to clear Brisbane by lunch time today

Post by: Garfish on February 21, 2015, 09:34:22 AM
Supposed to clear Brisbane by lunch time today

Just in time for the cricket ;D ;D
Post by: Foo on February 21, 2015, 09:58:31 AM
It can stop raining now, as I think 360mm is enough. :'(

Post by: MrEMan on February 21, 2015, 10:36:22 AM
That's great news that nobody has been injured.

This is certainly making plans for our 6 week trip in Qld interesting considering we have already booked some places and we leave in 13 sleeps.

Post by: DaveR on February 21, 2015, 10:38:23 AM
Na, you'll be right by then, easter will be when the next big rain comes, starting Friday Morning.....  ;D
Post by: Garfish on February 21, 2015, 10:39:02 AM

I think the BOM needs to get new measures from this picture it's saying we've only had around 100-150 mm until 8 this morning. 
Post by: jetcrew on February 21, 2015, 10:50:47 AM

Im up the road foo and I have had over 450..  just had big tree drop on the back fence ...if we get any wind at all thier gunna start falling like dominos I reckon...

Nothing compared to those up north though, hope everyone has faired ok..

jet ;D ;D
Post by: trevc on February 21, 2015, 10:59:22 AM
Im up the road foo and I have had over 450..  just had big tree drop on the back fence ...if we get any wind at all thier gunna start falling like dominos I reckon...

Nothing compared to those up north though, hope everyone has faired ok..

jet ;D ;D

Jet

Yell out if you need a hand sorting that tree out over the next few days.

Trev
Post by: Moggy on February 21, 2015, 11:02:06 AM

This is certainly making plans for our 6 week trip in Qld interesting considering we have already booked some places and we leave in 13 sleeps.

Just in time for Cyclone Nathan.  >:D >:D

Hot as hell here at the moment, good brewing weather (and i dont mean beer  ;D)
Post by: MrEMan on February 21, 2015, 12:46:37 PM
Na, you'll be right by then, easter will be when the next big rain comes, starting Friday Morning.....  ;D

Awesome... we'll be on Fraser Island for Easter :laugh:
Post by: Steffo1 on February 21, 2015, 01:38:35 PM
Just heard from my sister in Rocky. Mobile phone reception back & running now but still no power!
Post by: 4wd26 on February 21, 2015, 06:04:02 PM
https://4cb96f34-a-62cb3a1a-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/australiagettingoutthere/photo-gallery/Brisbane%20and%20Marcia.gif (https://4cb96f34-a-62cb3a1a-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/australiagettingoutthere/photo-gallery/Brisbane%20and%20Marcia.gif)
I created a giff of the rainfall intensity as it went over Brisbane/ where I work over a few hours

I might need this to explain things in my preparations digging sumps moving pumps and having spearfields prove to have been inadequate.

we have had plenty of rain, and the ground is saturated, so runoff was expected, but it was my job to limit to so that it didn't go past our boundaries. :cheers:
Post by: jetcrew on February 21, 2015, 06:05:20 PM
Jet

Yell out if you need a hand sorting that tree out over the next few days.

Trev

Thanks mate ..your a legend :cup: :cup: :cup:

But I will leave it be until I contact Telstra who own the land behind me next week..it wont fall any further and fence is still working to keep dog in so no great rush..but really appreciate your offer mate .

jet ;D