General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Black-Pig on February 13, 2015, 06:51:20 AM

Title: Not good for Jeep Owners...
Post by: Black-Pig on February 13, 2015, 06:51:20 AM
I dont have a jeep, and have more bar work than I probably need, but this is not good for Jeeps.
Was it recalled in Australia too?
https://au.finance.yahoo.com/news/fires-deaths-continue-jeep-fuel-171918877.html
Title: Re: Not good for Jeep Owners...
Post by: wilson79 on February 13, 2015, 07:18:32 AM
That's not good.... >:(
Post by: Pipeliner on February 13, 2015, 07:35:24 AM
This recall has been around in Australia for some time now.  I owned a Cherokee until 6 months ago, but mine was not only fitted with the towbar from new but I also had the steel bash plate which protected the tank from stones and rocks on the 4wd tracks, so I didn't worry about it - but I had no idea that the fuel tank was plastic until I got round to fitting the bash plate.

Most people on the ausjeepoffroad (http://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/showthread.php?t=134679&highlight=recall) forum were delighted to find out that they would get a free towbar!
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 13, 2015, 08:22:50 AM
I always thought this was a U.S. standard, fuel tank protection from rear impact? When GMH exported the Monaro as a Pontiac GTO, the fuel tank had to be relocated to the boot for this reason.
Maybe it's a GM standard or practice, not US?
Post by: neowatcher on February 13, 2015, 11:53:49 AM
Although I do feel sorry for the men and women that have suffered because of the tragedy caused by such a flaw ...

Judging by the Hollywood movies, fuel tank explosions (even at minor collisions) are standard with American cars.
Post by: Mace on February 13, 2015, 11:55:58 AM
http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/chryslers-quick-fix-for-recall-slap-a-tow-bar-on-it-20130625-2ov1o.html (http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/chryslers-quick-fix-for-recall-slap-a-tow-bar-on-it-20130625-2ov1o.html)
Title: Not good for Jeep Owners...
Post by: scarpsD40 on February 13, 2015, 01:28:47 PM
Sad for anyone that has died or been injured as a result.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2015, 03:26:56 PM
We got our new towbar about 2 weeks ago from the recall.

Post by: Coiled on February 13, 2015, 06:15:17 PM
Why you would buy a Jeep in this country has me beat! Product is junk and Fiat don't stand behind it.
Post by: Jasman on February 13, 2015, 08:44:14 PM
Assuming you're referring to current models, why would you buy a Jeep?.....um, let me think!

They go better, drive better,  ride better, stop better,  sound better, smell better, look better, use fuel better, pull better, and sell better than all the dinosaur trucks designed last century.  Did I mentioned they have heated and cooled seats!

Disclaimer: the above comments in no way represent a true and accurate portrayal of fact and are only one bogans opinion.  Jeep Australia in no way confirm or deny these comments or the rumours suggesting that they are the worst supplier of spare parts in the country and that current model Jeeps have been overlooked by the after market industry.
Post by: loanrangie on February 13, 2015, 09:50:35 PM
That almost brings a tear to a Landrover owners eye :)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 14, 2015, 05:41:22 AM
Why you would buy a Jeep in this country has me beat! Product is junk and Fiat don't stand behind it.
Its the same thing as having a wife or girlfriend.

Some wives/girlfriends are really good and give no trouble but are limited in their performance.
Then ya get some who are difficult, hard to get started and leak fluids and are always dirty, but stuff me sideways, they do perform some kinky sh!t.......
Good girls go to heaven, bad girls go everywhere.

That's why others and myself, own a Jeep, ya Muppett.  :D
Post by: edz on February 14, 2015, 06:59:46 AM
but stuff me sideways, they do perform some kinky sh!t.......
Good girls go to heaven, bad girls go everywhere.

Now that explains why a certain Jeep has a tendancy go down in the sand at Inskip .. ;D ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on February 14, 2015, 08:34:45 AM

Now that explains why a certain Jeep has a tendancy go down in the sand at Inskip .. ;D ;D
where's that new like button
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 17, 2015, 02:35:39 PM
Read on facewastebook that a known myswagger might have come across a 'Jeep on fire' just north of Albury?
Post by: evolution on December 17, 2015, 02:43:06 PM
Read on facewastebook that a known myswagger might have come across a 'Jeep on fire' just north of Albury?

yeah............
so cant tell what year or color it was, but it was a 2005ish jeep cherokee.
Caught fire, pulled off the highway just north of the Thurgoona Exit. Instead of staying on the tar he had pulled all the way off in to the long grass and caused a "little" bonfire
Bloody jeeps

Nick
Post by: pinarelloman on December 17, 2015, 03:00:37 PM
Maybe he pulled into the long grass to increase the chances of a totally burnt wreck. Good quick thinking if he did!
Post by: speewa158 on December 18, 2015, 06:22:05 AM
l don't want to worry you all ,,,,, BUT    ,,,,,,,,,Santa bout a Jeep  :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

Whos going to tell the kids  ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 18, 2015, 03:37:46 PM
To all you Jeep haters.......  ;D

This may contain a naughty word, can't remember for sure.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4Uf8bLl6yU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4Uf8bLl6yU)
Post by: Redcherokee on December 18, 2015, 04:24:19 PM
To all you Jeep haters.......  ;D

This may contain a naughty word, can't remember for sure.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4Uf8bLl6yU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4Uf8bLl6yU)

:cup: :cup:
Post by: Jackdawg on December 18, 2015, 05:42:44 PM
l don't want to worry you all ,,,,, BUT    ,,,,,,,,,Santa bout a Jeep  :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

Whos going to tell the kids  ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Not me!

Post by: speewa158 on January 05, 2016, 06:57:41 AM
What do you give a Jeep owner for Xmas  ??? ???
                                              RACV Total care on speed dial  :cup:    :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 05, 2016, 07:01:53 AM
Did it take you until just now to come up with that?

Oh dear, you do know, Xmas was last year... don't ya.  ???
Post by: scarpsD40 on January 05, 2016, 08:49:12 AM

What do you give a Jeep owner for Xmas  ??? ???
A shark to strap on the bullbar apparently
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2016, 09:29:02 AM
A shark to strap on the bullbar apparently
that was gold when I saw it!
(http://www.watoday.com.au/content/dam/images/g/l/z/8/j/o/image.related.articleLeadwide.620x349.glz8bd.png/1451900616748.png)

probably to scare the fire away
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 05, 2016, 09:37:51 AM
I thought sticking a Chev badge on a Commodore made you a Wanker, but that wins.
Post by: scarpsD40 on January 05, 2016, 10:18:30 AM

I thought sticking a Chev badge on a Commodore made you a Wanker, but that wins.
just so we're all clear, it's just this Jeep owner with the shark strapped on the front that's a wanker;D
Post by: gronk on January 05, 2016, 12:01:23 PM
just so we're all clear, it's just this Jeep owner with the shark strapped on the front that's a wanker;D

Uumm...............no !!   ;D ;D
Post by: Moggy on January 05, 2016, 06:43:57 PM
Would of been funny if it was a

Wait for it
 BULL Shark ????????????????