General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Tim - Stratford on February 02, 2015, 09:26:19 PM

Title: Towball weight of your camper?
Post by: Tim - Stratford on February 02, 2015, 09:26:19 PM
After a bit of discussion re tow-ball weight of camper trailers and knowing the KK is rather heavy, I decided to purchase a set of 'towball weight' scales.

They arrived today so I raced out to check the ball-weight of the KK.....HOLY SCHITE!!!! :o   :o   :o

270kgs!

I'm thinking I'm going to modify the loading and where everything lives whilst on the scales to see what difference I can make....Anyone else game to share their 'friend's' campers ball weight?  :-*

Tim
Title: Re: Towball weight of your camper?
Post by: Jason B on February 02, 2015, 09:30:41 PM
I am guessing mine is similar to yours mate. I have started to remove my just in case stuff that never gets used.

They are crazy heavy. I dread to think what my old one weighed with the 15hp outboard, fuel and Honda EU20i all in the front box as well as 3 x jerries across the front  ??? Scarey!

Post by: jk on February 02, 2015, 09:35:29 PM
Yep.............................had the same issue the first trip away in our Cape York Explorer Extreme ( 10 years ago ), ran it over the weigh bridge at work and it was about the same as yours.........300kg !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We now repack the heavy items to the rear and it's helped a bit but I would guess it's still around the 200 to 220kg mark.....................legal but your not going to be lifting it up by yourself any time soon  ;D

All hard floor campers with sizable front boxers are in this league, it's just the way it is  :-\ ,  but a lot of manufacturers will tell people otherwise when making the sale !!

It comes as a bit of a shock the first time you see the real numbers hey, but that's life  :cheers:
Post by: KingBilly on February 02, 2015, 09:35:54 PM
Interesting comparison of scales

http://www.campertrailers.org/group/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=269 (http://www.campertrailers.org/group/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=269)

Post by: Tim - Stratford on February 02, 2015, 09:38:33 PM
I am guessing mine is similar to yours mate.

Nah, yours is heavier Jas - all that new canvas that we don't have to carry!  ;D
Post by: Tim - Stratford on February 02, 2015, 09:40:14 PM
Interesting comparison of scales

G'day KB,

Hopefully my scales are fake - the real ones might show less weight!  ;D

Tim
Post by: Bird on February 02, 2015, 09:47:40 PM
G'day KB,

Hopefully my scales are fake - the real ones might show less weight!  ;D

Tim
bring em to the swap meet!!!!  we can have a competition...
Post by: Jason B on February 02, 2015, 09:52:07 PM
Nah, yours is heavier Jas - all that new canvas that we don't have to carry!  ;D

Lol I will pack them on the rear now!  :cheers:
Post by: Coiled on February 02, 2015, 10:38:40 PM
I am guessing mine is similar to yours mate. I have started to remove my just in case stuff that never gets used.

They are crazy heavy. I dread to think what my old one weighed with the 15hp outboard, fuel and Honda EU20i all in the front box as well as 3 x jerries across the front  ??? Scarey!

Yep, 260kg when I weighed it with an empty fridge but pantry stocked, water tanks full, 1kva Yamaha generator and about 15l of fuel plus tools and some recovery gear.
Post by: Homer_Jay on February 03, 2015, 06:59:40 AM
i thought my 220 was bad. I feel a bit better after hearing you guys!

Post by: Terry W4 on February 03, 2015, 08:03:39 AM
My Cub Supamatic Regal off-road weighs in at 130 but when packed to go away comes in at 140.
Post by: woftam on February 03, 2015, 08:15:38 AM
220kg but hopefully with creative placement I can get down to 200kg but the jerrycans on the drawbar will become decoration.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 03, 2015, 08:30:20 AM
Both tyres and tow ball weight, in lbs, not kg.

Post by: LuckyDog on February 03, 2015, 08:36:24 AM
My hard floor is 180kg with empty Engel and 2x4kg gas bottles and without generator and full jerry cans plus 80 LTS of water under the rear

Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk

Post by: chester ver2.0 on February 03, 2015, 10:29:30 AM
Goldstream storm RL (reverse layout kitchen at rear)

130kgs ball for a weekend away
155kgs for when we did our half lap around Oz
Post by: torsion on February 03, 2015, 10:51:35 AM
This is the first design criteria I look for in a camper.
Dont want to offend anyone, but those weights are stupid!
Post by: GeoffA on February 03, 2015, 11:25:50 AM
This is the first design criteria I look for in a camper.
Dont want to offend anyone, but those weights are stupid!

Have you weighed yours, loaded and ready to roll?
Post by: fisher on February 03, 2015, 11:43:58 AM
200kg, empty fridge and no jerry cans (Pioneer Argyle SE)
Post by: wilson79 on February 03, 2015, 11:56:24 AM
226KGS, empty 50ltr fridge & large pantry, 2 x 4.5kg  gas bottles (Full) 2x empty 20ltr jerry cans, light stuff packed into front storage compartment empty 100ltr water. tank

Ecomate forward fold..,
Post by: theins on February 03, 2015, 11:57:30 AM
Have no scales, so no opportunity to measure.... but seeing this thread I feel I should check...
Post by: edz on February 03, 2015, 12:17:52 PM
80% Finished build of a Jayco "  Flite sized " style  camper has the scales under the jocky wheel on 45 Kg atm  ;D  Bound to go up in weight but hopefuly stay well under the 80 / 100 Kg mark .
Post by: fishfinder on February 03, 2015, 12:19:06 PM
312 kg loaded
Post by: Swannie on February 03, 2015, 12:21:42 PM
312 kg loaded

:o
Post by: RobM on February 03, 2015, 12:24:10 PM
Tvan ready to go ( except cold food) - 65Kg with:

Only 2x4.5 kg gas bottles and small battery on the drawbar
Full 70l water tank behind axle
2 x full jerrycans behind axle
Empty fridge behind the axle

Measured under the jockey wheel
Post by: gronk on February 03, 2015, 01:58:53 PM
Tvan ready to go ( except cold food) - 65Kg with:

Only 2x4.5 kg gas bottles and small battery on the drawbar
Full 70l water tank behind axle
2 x full jerrycans behind axle
Empty fridge behind the axle

Measured under the jockey wheel

But, the newer Tvans with the front box went well over 200kg's !!

Used to own a 2007 KK ( with the old smaller front box ), with no fridge, 150kg's..

The latest Lifestyle AT10 van....140kg's
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 03, 2015, 02:15:57 PM
312 kg loaded

You win  :cup:
Post by: fishfinder on February 03, 2015, 04:58:40 PM
312 kg loaded
dyslexic - should have been 132 kg loaded
Post by: Humphreythebear on February 03, 2015, 05:55:28 PM
Outback Sturt 118kg packed . Dunno bout the total weight haven't weighed it

Caravan 1300kg - 14 footer , front kitchen pop top 125kg loaded

But tow vehicle max is 150kg on ball and 2100 total . Done on purpose  , don't beleive in taking a ton of crap on holidays ....... And still think I'm taking too much !
We grew out of a 10 foot 1960's caravan ????
Post by: oldmate on February 03, 2015, 06:16:09 PM

thank christ for that, back to special school for you  ;D
Post by: muzza01 on February 03, 2015, 06:47:06 PM
Funny you say that as I was thinking it was a mistake when I read it a few hours ago. :D
Post by: speewa158 on February 03, 2015, 06:50:15 PM
After a bit of discussion re tow-ball weight of camper trailers and knowing the KK is rather heavy, I decided to purchase a set of 'towball weight' scales.

They arrived today so I raced out to check the ball-weight of the KK.....HOLY SCHITE!!!! :o   :o   :o

270kgs!

I'm thinking I'm going to modify the loading and where everything lives whilst on the scales to see what difference I can make....Anyone else game to share their 'friend's' campers ball weight?  :-*

lf you don't tell then    :police:   will never know  , your secret is safe with us ,,,,,, :-[       :cheers:

Tim
Post by: fishfinder on February 03, 2015, 07:46:39 PM
Funny you say that as I was thinking it was a mistake when I read it a few hours ago. :D
yer my fingers quite often make mistkaes
Post by: lino6 on February 03, 2015, 08:05:58 PM
Wonder could you use a set of bathroom scales and a milk crate to get a rough idea? What to bathroom scales top out at?
Post by: GeoffA on February 03, 2015, 08:06:56 PM
Wonder could you use a set of bathroom scales and a milk crate to get a rough idea? What to bathroom scales top out at?

There's one way to find out..... ;D
Post by: lino6 on February 03, 2015, 08:09:34 PM
There's one way to find out..... ;D

The 1 thing I lack is motivation!

This might end up as a revival for tandem campers?!
Post by: KingBilly on February 03, 2015, 08:11:33 PM

120 or maybe 150kg.  Probably not much more.

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bpdons/stars/neville/handyhints/towball_weight.htm (http://members.optusnet.com.au/bpdons/stars/neville/handyhints/towball_weight.htm)

Post by: GeoffA on February 03, 2015, 08:13:29 PM
120 or maybe 150kg.  Probably not much more.

The old style with the rotary dial will keep going around and around.
Count the spins......up to a point..... ;D ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on February 03, 2015, 08:13:43 PM
From what I can remember most went to 120kg.
Post by: GeoffA on February 03, 2015, 08:14:28 PM
From what I can remember most went to 120kg.

...and then they went around again.... ;D ;D
Post by: lino6 on February 03, 2015, 08:15:37 PM
Might see if I can ebay an American set, surely they measure in tonnes now??!!
Post by: Bad Scott on February 03, 2015, 08:15:54 PM
It Broke >:D >:D
Post by: Bad Scott on February 03, 2015, 08:17:36 PM
Imperial tonnes. Gotta have a buffer >:D
Post by: Spada on February 03, 2015, 08:39:08 PM
At first, mine was around 190kg (11% of GVM).

I thought that was a bit on the fat side, so I rejigged my load distribution and got it down to 150kg at the hitch (8% of GVM).

next trip out it wagged its tail more than a happy Labrador, and I damned near rolled the thing.

It quickly got put back to 190kg, and tows like a dream.

It's not all about ball weight, weight distribution and handling dynamics also come into play. If that's how the manufacturer has designed it, and it tows well with that ball weight, perhaps the effort needs to into making sure the car can take the load rather than changing the trailer ?
Post by: Lloyd65 on February 03, 2015, 09:44:28 PM
It's not all about ball weight, weight distribution and handling dynamics also come into play. If that's how the manufacturer has designed it, and it tows well with that ball weight, perhaps the effort needs to into making sure the car can take the load rather than changing the trailer ?
[/quote]

Hi All
I agree with Spada. All vans ,boat and camper trailer's have pushed the axle back and increased the ball weight.
A lot better Towing
Cheers Lloyd
Post by: speewa158 on February 04, 2015, 05:57:15 AM
You talking from experience in this matter  ??? ???                  :cheers:
Post by: UIZ733 on February 04, 2015, 06:03:55 AM
Hi All
I agree with Spada. All vans ,boat and camper trailer's have pushed the axle back and increased the ball weight.
A lot better Towing
Cheers Lloyd
Ultimate seem to be able to come to a sensible compromise on ball weight. How do they manage it?
Post by: Jason B on February 04, 2015, 06:46:47 AM
Ultimate seem to be able to come to a sensible compromise on ball weight. How do they manage it?

By making an unsensible camper that looks like an upturned boat  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Swannie on February 04, 2015, 07:29:19 AM

Post by: UIZ733 on February 04, 2015, 07:54:23 AM

Post by: Jason B on February 04, 2015, 08:24:59 AM

Nah, I have many!  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: RobM on February 04, 2015, 08:53:56 AM
That's why there is nothing up front  :D

Sent from my tablet

Post by: fisher on February 04, 2015, 03:52:09 PM

A google search will show a method where you can divert 50% of the weight to a set of bathroom scales.  You don't smash the scales and you simply double the weight shown on the scales to give you the ball weight figure.  I ended up buying a set of tow ball scales and used it once.
Post by: Bad Scott on February 04, 2015, 04:04:44 PM
We can lift our hitch up off the ground, Just .  Were gonna put the camper on a weighbridge. Fully loaded up with no water in the tank. I feel very confident were well under, but for peace of mind.
99% of mods are now done ;D ;D. Any other mods are going to reduce the weight.
Post by: KingBilly on February 04, 2015, 05:38:11 PM
A google search will show a method where you can divert 50% of the weight to a set of bathroom scales.  You don't smash the scales and you simply double the weight shown on the scales to give you the ball weight figure.  I ended up buying a set of tow ball scales and used it once.

I posted a link on the previous page  :D

Post by: clae81 on February 04, 2015, 05:57:50 PM
2015 KK
215Kgs, water tank full, gas bottles full, 50L fridge Full.
Getting the extended drawbar fitted next week so will hopefully lower the weight slightly.

Clae
Post by: aussie9 on February 04, 2015, 07:20:42 PM
Modcon Grandeur. 
Water tank full, 2 gas bottles full, ready to go - 190kgs

Post by: Rumpig on February 04, 2015, 07:46:49 PM
2015 KK
215Kgs, water tank full, gas bottles full, 50L fridge Full.
Getting the extended drawbar fitted next week so will hopefully lower the weight slightly.

Clae
how does extending the drawbar lower the ball weight, wouldn't it increase it seeing it's increasing the distance from the axle more?
Post by: HuskyInAuz on February 04, 2015, 08:11:37 PM

Tons ...  There have been tons in the USA since before the Revolution.

A USA (Standard) and UK (Imperial) Tonne are different.  Short ton or Long ton, Long ton is close to a metric ton, about 220 lbs (100kg) differentiate a Standard ton and a Metric (Ton/Tonne).

Post by: oldmate on February 04, 2015, 08:14:52 PM
how does extending the drawbar lower the ball weight, wouldn't it increase it seeing it's increasing the distance from the axle more?

I would off thought so, but Im just a dumb ass chippy, what do you do for a living?  ;D :D
Post by: GeoffA on February 04, 2015, 08:20:02 PM

Extending the drawbar will reduce the load at the tow ball.
In layman's terms, think short crow bar v long crow bar.

The principle is discussed here......

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=41355.msg682884#msg682884 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=41355.msg682884#msg682884)

Reply #5 is the tech version.
Post by: Gunsrunner on February 05, 2015, 12:25:02 AM
210kg everything full, I would like it to be less, but it tow's great anyway!!! :angel:
Just finished moving the boat trailers (1300kg) axles forward by 25mm to reduce ball weight, was 150kg down to 120kg. I think it towed better before!
Post by: Rumpig on February 06, 2015, 06:08:47 PM
I would off thought so, but Im just a dumb ass chippy, what do you do for a living?  ;D :D
reading the next reply from yours i see why i am just a dumb ass chippy also  :-[

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=41355.msg682884#msg682884 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=41355.msg682884#msg682884)

makes sense i guess when you speak in the tool sense.... that other gobbly gook me no understandy  ;D ;D
Post by: alnjan on February 07, 2015, 12:26:03 AM

This works well until you decide I have a longer drawbar now i can put an extra toolbox on the longer drawbar.  Then you have to remember the further the weight/mass is away from the pivot point/wheel the heavier it will be at the towball.
Post by: GeoffA on February 07, 2015, 05:54:47 AM
This works well until you decide I have a longer drawbar now i can put an extra toolbox on the longer drawbar.  Then you have to remember the further the weight/mass is away from the pivot point/wheel the heavier it will be at the towball.

Comparing apples with apples.
Not talking about adding extra stuff on the extended draw bar...... ::) ::)
Post by: Animall on February 07, 2015, 03:34:02 PM
Had mine weighed  this morning at a public weigh brige . Lifestyle gen 2 delux soft floor 2 jerry cans on front and fridge and ice box in walk through , 1380 kts for whole thing and 160kg ball weight . Being towed by a nissan x trail deisel with heavey duty springs and air bags and still drops rear 30 mm to big for car I think !
Post by: KingBilly on February 07, 2015, 03:36:43 PM
Yep, think the xtrail only has a towball rating of 150 kg.  Time to lose weight or upgrade the xtrail

Post by: GeoffA on February 07, 2015, 04:43:09 PM
Had mine weighed  this morning at a public weigh brige.....

Smart move. If everyone did that, there'd be a lot of jaws hitting the ground.......
Post by: whitey001 on February 07, 2015, 04:44:37 PM
As I had pulled all the stuff off the drawbar of ours for a few paint touch ups I thought I would set it up on the scales as I added it back on.  With toolbox and pole holder back on and gear back in it came in at 100kg.  No clothes or food in but that is at the back of the camper so would reduce further. Currently only going to powered sites/caravan parks so the water tank doesnt get filled either. Filled it/flushed it out today and with around 30 litres in and it will drop another 10-15kg

Al.
Post by: nab on February 07, 2015, 07:13:20 PM
2005 Jayco Dove. Fully loaded bar some food and clothes (maybe 100kg) and 1x empty rear jerrycan.

Ball weight 190kg.
Post by: topcat on February 11, 2015, 08:41:13 PM
Small Trackabout - 110kgs going away for a weekend. Expect ~140kgs if fully loaded with 4 jerrys.

Mates Eagle Outback is 160kgs going way for a weekend.

TC  :D