General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Nifty1 on January 30, 2015, 10:35:28 AM
Laid up in bed with KindyFlu and got to do a bit of grumbling. It started with the electric blanket.
Old style blankets had a clicky lever and the maximum effort was 3 clicks to whatever temperature you wanted. And you could feel the numbers. This one has a switch on the back, then turn over and press the button for feet maybe 8 times to get it on full, then another button for the main section - another 8 presses - but you also have to read the pissy little display to make sure you didn't press too many times. That's not a better product.
Antifoul. I used to use a paint with TBT in it. It worked. Lasted for years, but was banned as too toxic (ie too good). So now I have to use inferior products three times as often, making three times as much toxic waste. I want my TBT back.
Creosote. Guaranteed to make timber immune to pests and rot. Haven't seen it for ages. I guess it must be illegal now.
Decking Oil. I used some water based decking oil last time. Always slightly tacky, gets milky when wet, always looks dirty. I'm going back to real oil. Hope the environment can cope with that.
Marine Safety. Took the grandkids out in the 11' dinghy, but it was 3 hours of preparation to have the right lifejackets, with current AS ratings (and this meant weighing the kids!), check expiry dates on the flares, new battery for the waterproof torch, check the fire extinguisher, anchor, oars, bailer, and current rego for the boat and the trailer. Yes I know it's common sense but this is in a lake and canals, never more than 50m from shore, and so shallow you could probably walk it in anyway. Flares, for Christ's sake!
Common Sense. A mate has informed me that in the world of OH&S you are actively discouraged from using common sense. Apparently it's better to sift through the manuals and standards to find an approved procedure, and common sense is reckoned to be a very poor defence if you are ever called to account.
Knobs. Much better than multiple presses on a button when all you want to do is change the volume.
And Switches. So much more direct than the nested menus that have escaped from computers to infect he rest of the world.
There's lots more but now I'm too depressed to continue
and I posted in the wrong section too - sorry
found creosote for you
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aczPDGC3f8U (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aczPDGC3f8U)
You didn't need the flares ???
Yep, don't need them, but you MUST have them. I heard about a bloke near Metung who didn't have them and got picked up a few years ago. Apparently he gave the cops a real mouthful and he copped multiple fines to cover each of the 4 flares he didn't have.
The fine for having a flat battery in your torch used to be $176, probably close to $200 now. And it's not good enough to just be carrying a spare battery either. I guess that makes sense in a way.
Yep, wont be long and you'll need a PFD just to go swimming.
There hell bent on dumbing us down...
What's the torch for?
And I thought you only had to carry flares if you were more than 1 km off shore.
Yep, just looked it up, here in WA at least in enclosed protected waters all you need is a bailer, skippers ticket and a fire extinguisher. No flares or even life jackets required but are recommended.
You West Australians must be so much tougher than us Victorians! Even on this protected lake I gotta have all this stuff even one inch off the shore. I guess the torch is to signal for help if the bloody flares don't work.
Guys here can get busted launching their boats if not wearing a lifejacket. Single person on board means Heightened Risk so lifejacket required thanks as soon as the boat breaks contact with the trailer.
I miss Vincent powders...
(http://cdn.samhs.org.au/Australian_analglesia_clip_image002_0003.jpg)
Playing tennis/cricket/footy in the street. Someone would yell "car" whenever needed and stumps(wheely bin) etc would get shifted to the side and drivers would wave at you as they went past, not yell expletives.
Oh the 80s were good haha
bates salve. If you had a splinter no mucking about digging it out with a needle. Heated the bates up with a match and dropped it on and out would come the splinter a day later.
I miss Vincent powders...
(http://cdn.samhs.org.au/Australian_analglesia_clip_image002_0003.jpg)
BEX is better..... ::)
There's a reason they're both gone.
Pretty nasty too - http://samhs.org.au/Virtual%20Museum/Medicine/Australian_analglesia/Australian_analglesia.html (http://samhs.org.au/Virtual%20Museum/Medicine/Australian_analglesia/Australian_analglesia.html)
My grandmother used to take a Bex every morning, just in case she got a headache.
The power of advertising..... ::)
Did you sniff them , or swallow them ??? ??? ??? :cheers:
Analogue TV for me. No pixilation and if the reception went dodgy at least you could still hear what was going on and half see things through the snow, no blue screen flickering on and off.
E-mailing instead of Facebook. Have to have FB because that's the only way to keep up with kids sport.
And not being sent paper copies of accounts and such to "save paper". More like save money and effort. Still needs to be printed out at home, by me.
Kids riding around on pushies without any worry and people being responsible for themselves and leaving other peoples stuff alone.
Rant over ;D
bates salve. If you had a splinter no mucking about digging it out with a needle. Heated the bates up with a match and dropped it on and out would come the splinter a day later.
A few alternatives we use at home.
Thars Ointment
http://www.rawleigh.net/antiseptic_salve.htm (http://www.rawleigh.net/antiseptic_salve.htm)
My first boat and 40 series cruiser. Don't miss the petrol bill from it though
Sent from my fingers via my brain
I miss a world without fun police and politican
correctness stupidity
I blame lawyers for pretty much all of the above.
If it wasn't for a lawyer suing on behalf of some idiot that should really be dead (Darwin's theory) and thus winning a huge settlement for said idiot that should be no longer living.
Idiot goes on to reproduce more idiots, that are now cashed up.
So then the government, being the cash cows they are, due to our funding them by working our asses off for them to steal away more than half from us place laws, rules, regs and red tape so there is less chance of being sued.
Remove the lawyers, make people responsible for their own actions.
This OHS stuff has become an industry to protect people from themselves, is it needed, really?
Spot on Azz - I'll even go a step further. Politicians and police need to take some responsibility too - if we hadn't introduced seat belt and XPCA laws in the 70's imagine how many less numpties we'd have around today! ;D unfortunately the legislation and enforcement prevented Darwin's theory taking today's numpties' grandparents and parents!
A couple of bosses at work didn't see it the same way when I mentioned it though! >:D
Talking to Vic coast guard this morning , you do not need flares or anchor for rivers or lakes. I have a 10' car topper with the floor filled in between the two seats. I was told I need a bilge pump if you have any flooring. On the bright side they gave me a waterproof phone bag. :police:
I miss the days when all you worried about was getting old ......aahh those were the days !! :cheers:
This OHS stuff has become an industry to protect people from themselves, is it needed, really?
amazing aint it!!!
I mean we all need a sign on a hot tap saying its HOT.... or buy a McDonalds Coffee and need HOT on the lid, cause coffee maybe hot! Or ... a HOT APPLE PIE!!!!!!!! IT MAYBE HOT...
or if you fall down those stairs you may get injured....
Can I add my wife????
She's old and I keep missing her, one day I'll get her though!!!!
;D ;D ;D
On a serious note, I really miss "service"
You know when people actually cared and let you know..............
Ah the good ole days.....................
Only with a good lay down ;D
The $4.75 a carton for tallies! :'(
petrol @ 20c a litre
You can go back further than that Keith.......
Really thought it was 12c but didn't think any one would believe me ;D ;D ;D
I remember paying 60c/gallon for ZOOM for my minibike.. ;D
Also remember it going from 15.9 to 18.9.....circa 1978
I remember paying 60c/gallon for ZOOM for my minibike.. ;D
Last of the big spenders, ;D probably filled a cream bottle, that would have lasted a days running :cheers: :cheers:
Bought it by the gallon tin, and it kept us going for ages...... :cup:
Spot on Azz - I'll even go a step further. Politicians and police need to take some responsibility too - if we hadn't introduced seat belt and XPCA laws in the 70's imagine how many less numpties we'd have around today! ;D unfortunately the legislation and enforcement prevented Darwin's theory taking today's numpties' grandparents and parents!
A couple of bosses at work didn't see it the same way when I mentioned it though! >:D
Yep ... one of my favorite sayings "Danger eliminates stupid people"
and totally agree
"unfortunately the legislation and enforcement prevented Darwin's theory taking today's numpties' grandparents and parents!"
Had the same reaction with the OHS safety wanker
"A couple of bosses at work didn't see it the same way when I mentioned it though!"
Seems like no one wants to take responsibility of their own actions anymore.
Manners, courtesy, kindness & respect from others in all aspects of life.
Growing up as a country kid, we would get a ar*e kicking if we were ever disrespectful to anyone. So many people are all for themselves now days & have no courtesy to others.
Makes me sad to think how the world has changed. Our kids won't get to grow up in the safe little world that I did.
Sounds like the same OHS people I deal with asking what's my hearing protection for hamming nails in by hand and msds for everything and you can't forget having to wear gloves to pick up anything even a tape measure
Am I forgetting something when I say: " I really miss Windows 95" imagine how fast it would be if I could just get it on my current computer.
I just don't think they are getting any faster, they just do extra stuff I don t need.
A bit like caravan parks, they aren't getting better, they Just have extra stuff I don't need.
"Nostalgia! It ain't what it used to be"
Yep ... one of my favorite sayings "Danger eliminates stupid people"
and totally agree
"unfortunately the legislation and enforcement prevented Darwin's theory taking today's numpties' grandparents and parents!"
Had the same reaction with the OHS safety wanker
"A couple of bosses at work didn't see it the same way when I mentioned it though!"
Seems like no one wants to take responsibility of their own actions anymore.
We work in a government department yard on a regular basis, part of this is you need to do a OHS test and carry a card on site. Repeat every twelve months.
So the last question of the multi choice test.
Who is responsible for your safety on site?
A. The Manager.
B. Yourself.
C. The Manager and your workmates.
D. The Manager & Yourself.
So I answered B. Because I am responsible for my own actions, but guess what, I was wrong ;D
Turns out D is the correct answer. ??? Not sure how the manager can keep tabs on everyone working on site at any given time, must be a super human.
I miss the old driveway service that you got at service stations, fill her up and check your oil and water, all with a smile. Now you hardly even get acknowledged at the counter of the modern fuel shops.
cheers duggie
High school girlfriends!!!
Manners, courtesy, kindness & respect from others in all aspects of life.
Growing up as a country kid, we would get a ar*e kicking if we were ever disrespectful to anyone. So many people are all for themselves now days & have no courtesy to others.
Makes me sad to think how the world has changed. Our kids won't get to grow up in the safe little world that I did.
+1...
Nostalgia is a seductive mistress....
:cheers:Pete
buying a trading post on Thursday and getting the deal before others, unlike battling with morons in ebay who will bid more than retail, with 9 days to go in the auction...
Indeed, these suckers cost me my Grandmother (earlier than I would have liked...) according to the doctors who looked after her in her last days.... :-[
I remember the little cardboard box they came in.. little folded paper sleeves nasty lil suckers.....
skimpy barmaids
and ducking down the pub on Fridays lunch break and watching the titty show whist downing as many beers was you can in that hour
Azz, that's because the whole system is a rort and a primary aim seems to be to provide ways to get the management in the poo. I did the 5 day intro course and was disgusted by the entire thing. Learnt nothing about safety but a lot about how to cause problems.
Cars with proper gauges not warning lights so I can actually tell what is going on in my 4x4 without having to fit secondary gauges
4x4's with PTO's
Walking to school with your mates. Not being chauffeured by mumsie and dadda from door to door
The recognition and kudos from holding the street record for highscore on PacMan on the Atari
Common Sense. A mate has informed me that in the world of OH&S you are actively discouraged from using common sense. Apparently it's better to sift through the manuals and standards to find an approved procedure, and common sense is reckoned to be a very poor defence if you are ever called to account.
The reason you are discouraged from using common sense is because it is nothing more than a philosophical concept. You can't use common sense as a defense because you can't rely on it.
So are you saying that if I was at work it would be ok for me to stick my toe under the track of a moving excavator because I had my regulation safety boots on or should I use common sense and not do that regardless of what I'm wearing :angel:
What ever happened to the days a tyre shop only had to stock a dozen tyre or so sizes and cater for 90% of cars on the road ;D
To name a few:
165/75R13
185/75R14
195/75R14
205/65R15
185R14
31/10.5R15
205R16
750R16
Now you have to carry 100 different sizes and that still ain't enough ???
A Sample of few current sizes:
BMW X5
315/35R20
285/35R21
325/30R21
MERC ML
265/40R21
295/35R21
New sizes just launched for BMW's electric cars:
BMW i8
195/50R20
215/45R20
BMW i3
155/70R19
175/60R19
???
???
WTF
What ever happened to the days a tyre shop only had to stock a dozen tyre or so sizes and cater for 90% of cars on the road ;D
To name a few:
165/75R13
185/75R14
195/75R14
205/65R15
185R14
31/10.5R15
205R16
750R16
BMW X5
315/35R20
285/35R21
325/30R21
MERC ML
265/40R21
295/35R21
BMW i8
195/50R20
215/45R20
BMW i3
155/70R19
175/60R19
???
???
WTF
You missed my "Jackaroo" :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( ;D
I miss the old driveway service that you got at service stations, fill her up and check your oil and water, all with a smile. Now you hardly even get acknowledged at the counter of the modern fuel shops.
cheers duggie
Pulled up at the Wallan Shell servo the other day with the car and before I could get out the servo attendant was there to fill the car....could have knocked me over with a feather. Had a chat and made my day. I would happily pay extra for that service any day including the friendly chat. :cheers: :cheers:
You missed my "Jackaroo" :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( ;D
Holden Jackaroo is irrelevant ;D bit like Leyland p76 >:D :-*
Ah, the P76 ;D. Grew up driving around in a mate's P76. Memories ;D
So are you saying that if I was at work it would be ok for me to stick my toe under the track of a moving excavator because I had my regulation safety boots on or should I use common sense and not do that regardless of what I'm wearing :angel:
It is not common sense that tells you to not stick your toe there. Your awareness of the hazard and knowledge of how to avoid it is what tells you that.
You give common sense too much credit, it isn't that good.
cheers duggie
Yep. There is still one place on the Gold Coast that does it. And the servo at woodenbong (just over nsw border) also fill up for you.
Your awareness of the hazard and knowledge of how to avoid it is what tells you that.
Now that is exactly what I meant, common sense, people know the hazards and know how to avoid them but do the act anyway ;D Why, because a lot of people think the "rule" will protect them, and don't think :cheers:
Holden Jackaroo is irrelevant ;D bit like Leyland p76 >:D :-*
Don't you mean unbreakable?
Come to think of it the P76 was pretty rugged too.
Now that is exactly what I meant, common sense, people know the hazards and know how to avoid them but do the act anyway ;D Why, because a lot of people think the "rule" will protect them, and don't think :cheers:
No, you have missed the point entirely.
People not knowing the hazards is the problem, it isn't 'common' as you like to think it is. Even though philosophers like to talk about common sense, the reality is that what is widely regarded as common sense is a fallacy, it doesn't exist. There is nothing worse than saying to someone 'use common sense' because if they do, they will get hurt.
To name a few:
165/75R13
185/75R14
195/75R14
205/65R15
185R14
31/10.5R15
205R16
750R16
BMW X5
315/35R20
285/35R21
325/30R21
MERC ML
265/40R21
295/35R21
BMW i8
195/50R20
215/45R20
BMW i3
155/70R19
175/60R19
???
???
WTF
Oils the same.
You had 4 choices when I started driving and that was it.
Quaker State 10w30 or 10w40
Or
Penzoil 10w30 or 10w40
Yep. There is still one place on the Gold Coast that does it. And the servo at woodenbong (just over nsw border) also fill up for you.
The Shell servo in Lakes Entrance has full driveway service too.
Still a few about :D
I miss Coke'a'Cola yoyo's and Choo choo bars. :cheers:
Choo Choo bars are still around.....albeit a lot smaller
They still taste the same though
I also miss milkbars that sold fireworks to kids. :cheers:
I miss Coke'a'Cola yoyo's and Choo choo bars. :cheers:
I got two Samboy yo-yo's year before last for $3 each - still in wrappers :)
Once as a kid, my ol man said, go to the shops and get some hot chips to have with Sunday lunch while Mum and Dad had some friends over.
He wanted, 30 cents worth of chips, (i'll never forget this) 3 x 10 cents worth of chip wrapped up separately. So, I grab a dollar note (remember them) off him and I peddle the pushie to the fish and chip shop.
I arrived home, 3 x 30 cents worth of chips. (Hard to believe, but I wasn't always the brightest light on the Xmas Tree)
Back in them days, 90 cents worth of chips was a lot of friggin chips.
The ol boy went off too, we had enough hot chips to feed the whole suburb..... ;D
Bet ya never see chips at 10 cents a bag ever again. Remember, chuck 'em on a bit paper square, then wrap 'em in butchers paper.
Oh, and in Australia, they're called chips, not fukkin fries.
Once as a kid, my ol man said, go to the shops and get some hot chips to have with Sunday lunch while Mum and Dad had some friends over.
He wanted, 30 cents worth of chips, (i'll never forget this) 3 x 10 cents worth of chip wrapped up separately. So, I grab a dollar note (remember them) off him and I peddle the pushie to the fish and chip shop.
I arrived home, 3 x 30 cents worth of chips. (Hard to believe, but I wasn't always the brightest light on the Xmas Tree)
Back in them days, 90 cents worth of chips was a lot of friggin chips.
The ol boy went off too, we had enough hot chips to feed the whole suburb..... ;D
Bet ya never see chips at 10 cents a bag ever again. Remember, chuck 'em on a bit paper square, then wrap 'em in butchers paper.
Oh, and in Australia, they're called chips, not fukkin fries.
I remember them being wrapped in newspaper never got the page 3 photo
skimpy barmaids
and ducking down the pub on Fridays lunch break and watching the titty show whist downing as many beers was you can in that hour
You can still do that in Darwin!
And you can buy fireworks too.
Going to the pictures and paying 40c entry for the stalls or 60c for the balcony, 10 minutes of cartoons then the first movie ... Intermission ... then a short cartoon and then the second movie ...
During the intermission it was next door to the milkbar for a 12c can of coke, a 10c bag s worth of mixed lollies and a 15c pie + a few games on the pinball machines..
You can still do that in Darwin!
And you can buy fireworks too.
Tassie will get there one day they're not really with the times here
Catching the train from Wangaratta to Melbourne and stopping at Seymour to go into the station dining room / kiosk. And stopping at all the 1 horse towns along the way
Xcavator - haven't seen Him for ages ;D
Prince Planet, Gigantor, Phantom Agents, The Samurai, Marine Boy
I'm only 38 but I really miss
Old Skool Campsite Rules.. The unspoken kind. For example:
- Walk around someones site to get to the Shitter. Not through it
- Enjoy your music by all means, but not everyone wants to be at your concert
- Feel free to bring 12 cars, 6 boats, 11 Tents and 3 motorbikes, just make sure you can fit them on YOUR site and don't crowd the neighbours
- Kids... You are the apple of your parents eye, but you will be on someone else Shit list if you are yelling and screaming between 7pm and 7am
Growing up in Caravan Parks I was taught to be respectful of others enjoying there holidays. Now-days it seems like no one cares if they bother other people. This is why I carry a load of water balloons.
feel free to add.
JT
Getting kicked (politely) off the mcg cause the big boys wanna start. :D
No wonder the kids play Xbox when they carnt jump on the field pre game or half time and kick the ball with there mates.
Getting kicked (politely) off the mcg cause the big boys wanna start. :D
No wonder the kids play Xbox when they carnt jump on the field pre game or half time and kick the ball with there mates.
Isn't that ^ back again?
Catching the train from Wangaratta to Melbourne and stopping at Seymour to go into the station dining room / kiosk. And stopping at all the 1 horse towns along the way
Used to be fun when on the 'up' train.
Into the caf and line up the beers. Then wait for the 'noobs' to 'pack' it when the train 'moved' .
LOL, was just the front and rear sections being separated into Wodonga and Echuca trains. ;D ;D :cheers:
Don't know, I moved to Qld 3 maybe 27 years ago but it's a great memory from my childhood. I would vote for spectators being allowed to jump the fence again!
cheers duggie
:cup: :cup: :cup:
Yeah I remember servos where you could inflate your tires. Now most of the "new Australian" run ones only have a sign saying 'air' but no hose or inflater.
Square glass milk bottles with bright and shinny and various colourful aluminum tops that you would stove-in with eager thumbs each and every morning...!
(Having been delivered fresh every morning to your door by the milkman). ....
Yes, no need to make a 21st century contribution/correction here and say "milk delivery person".... grrrr...... this pre 1990's domain was a (self employed) mans job....
No sight of "Jims Milk" operators either....
Carlton not being Shit
Square glass milk bottles with bright and shinny and various colourful aluminum tops that you would stove-in with eager thumbs each and every morning...!
(Having been delivered fresh every morning to your door by the milkman). ....
Yes, no need to make a 21st century contribution/correction here and say "milk delivery person".... grrrr...... this pre 1990's domain was a (self employed) mans job....
No sight of "Jims Milk" operators either....
I was a milko for six years in high school
As a kid at primary school here in WA we use to get a bottle of milk 1st thing each morning.
Real milk, with cream on top and a foil cap.
What about Sunnyboys....
(Thirst quenching cordial drinks sold at the tuckshop - that came packaged in waxy cardboard pyramid shapes, I recall....)
As a kid at primary school here in WA we use to get a bottle of milk 1st thing each morning.
Real milk, with cream on top and a foil cap.
Also got the same in NSW but as I attended a small one-teacher school the milk had to come from the closest town in an unrefridgerated truck just over an hour away.
Upon arrival at the local drop-off two students would have to trek more than a kilometre each way to retrieve it. By morning break at 11 o'clock we then had to drink our warm milk before being allowed to go out and play! Memories ....
Carlton not being Shit
And Richmond not being Shitter :'(
I also miss milkbars that sold fireworks to kids. :cheers:
So do l :cup: :cheers:
xcavator and speewa. Tho don't really miss them
2 shillings at the self serve near North Road Adelaide would fill the tank on the motorbike and have some left over to give to the next vehicle in line.
Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
Trout fishing in the vic high country with my dad
1 cent pieces.... lollies 10 for a cent
[/quote
Old diabetics :-* :cheers:
Me too.
What about Sunnyboys....
(Thirst quenching cordial drinks sold at the tuckshop - that came packaged in waxy cardboard pyramid shapes, I recall..
You can still get sunnyboys.. had one the other day only they dont come with the "freebies" anymore :'(
also 1 cent pieces.... lollies 10 for a cent
My old milk bar /fruit veg shop own by the 2 Joes take you by the ear to the jars of lollies take the lid off one and put a lolly in my mouth
while mum was doing the veggie shop.
The recorder band playing God save the queen while your shoes stuck to melting bitumen - not.
'Standard or super mate?'
High school bodies - theirs and mine haha.
Jelly Tip ice blocks, straight out of the dry ice cooler in the back of an olive green/white roof EJ Holden station wagon on a Sunday afternoon.
If we were good, we got the 10 cents required.
If we were not so good, we got 5 cents for a normal ice block.
If we were little turds, we got the old man's size 9 up the date.
Can I add my wife????
She's old and I keep missing her, one day I'll get her though!!!!
;D ;D ;D
On a serious note, I really miss "service"
You know when people actually cared and let you know..............
Ah the good ole days.....................
You don't have to lead them so much when they are older ;D The young ones run much quicker
cheers duggie
Driveway service and swap cards for the kids .. :D
Paying 9d for a meat pie (that's pence for the youngsters on here) 6d for a brown paper bag of broken biscuits, at the post office who sold Arnott's Biccies from big square tins. Buying a 20 pack of Chesterfield Filter for the old man for 3'3d (three shilling and threepence). Buying a 10 pack of Craven A for 20c a bit later when we used to go for a smoke behind the school oval. Pinching the bottles of beer left out for the garbo or the dunny man, at Christmas, because they got shiploads anyway... Playing closest to the wall, with your lunch money and going home with 5 times what you went to school with... Experimenting with making wine while in high school, and a few others who also did swapping the results to see how it tasted... :cheers: Although we got busted with that, when one winter we put the bucket of fermenting brew up in the ceiling where it was nice and warm, and out of sight... Then it bubbled over and made a big stain in the ceiling in our bedroom. The old man wasn't very amused...
Proper cubby houses. Dodgey, ricketty one's, built by kids, so that they learn what works and what doesn't.....
Geoff Havent you just got a " Proper Cubby house " :cup: :cheers:
He had now, but ya shoulda seen the first 6
Being able to have a robust conversation without being called a racist or bigot because you don't agree with others
Food without use by dates, so you had to guess if it was okay.
I remember when bread bags starting come out with a different colour tie for each day of the week
Bread that was big enough to fit a jaffle iron.....
The long and slow but interesting drive through all the separate little townships from Brisbane to Bribie Island....
Though in the 1960s and early 70s -- I was not yet 15yo through all those trips to Bribie with the family -- sitting in the back of the valiant; I recall the first "town" was Bald Hills; then Strathpine; then Lawton; then past the water tower at Kalanger; then (I can't remember) -- to finally the T junction at Caboolture; (having a pie from the street vendor at the corner on the way through) - turning right; and then onto the newly constructed toll bridge over to the island. ...
Often times the familiar and strangly welcoming smell of Bribie bushfires floating in the air ....
Sure, the highway is more convenient - but it did blow away all those things.... leaving nostalga lost in it's wake..
People that can think for themselves
Proper cubby houses. Dodgey, ricketty one's, built by kids, so that they learn what works and what doesn't.....
yea now I think of it ufkin oath....
Sunday ritual once a month.
Holding the chooks for the old man to chop their heads off for dinner.
He use to tell us hold them and dont ket them go!
Whack, off their heads go, and us kids would delight watching them run around headless with the old man shouting at us kids I told you to hold onto them.
Mum would do them in the pressure cooker to soften them up before roasting.
No such thing as steggles back then.
Being able to strip down a Holley and rebuild it in under an hour, changing jets, power valves and re adjusting float levels.
Being able to swap Donks within a couple of hours with a few mates and be running the streets again.
Being able to sleep in ya car at the beach front without a ranger giving you a ticket.
Being able to drive the Pathetic H/way without seeing another vehicle for ages(Day or Night).
Seeing my best mate without tucking my gut in. ;D
Edit,
NSW winning a State of Origin Game >:D
Wow Hairs, you've got a really good memory! >:D
Being able to lift the bonnet of almost any car & know where & what everything was.
I did get taken aback when I first lifted the bonnet on a friends rotary Capella.
You should see the one at Harfra, no second best for my two ;D
Grand opening in a couple of weeks
Wow Hairs, you've got a really good memory! >:D
Got to have written it down , long ago , now reading stuff he dosnt understand :cheers:
now reading stuff he dosnt understand :cheers:
Hey!!!
I resemble that >:D
Fire cracker night:(
And driving on the Melbourne ring road and not seeing another car for the entire trip, not to mention driving to
Queensland and only seeing a car every hour or so if that!