General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on January 17, 2015, 05:43:36 PM
SWMBO and I welcomed our first child in early December and we are currently struggling big time with getting him to sleep.
He's 6 weeks old now and his sleeping habits are getting worse by the day :-( For example yesterday he slept roughly 2 hours. Today he's been a little better but generally just spends his time wide awake or screaming his head off. I managed to get him to sleep at 4pm and tried to have a nap as well and he was awake again in 20mins.
Does anyone have any tips for getting their children to sleep? I'm not holding out much hope and feel we'll just have to tough it out but maybe there's something we haven't tried.
Hoping things get a little easier soon
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
There is no set answer obviously.
How many hours a day/night do you think he is getting?
Both our kids were polar opposites, one slept nearly every spare moment. The other was always screaming and never sleeping.
Although we worked out hers was due to a heart condition. Although it could be anything including excess wind.
Lol really you can only do the best you can do. After that if you are concerned a trip to the local doctor could be worth a try. Trust me when I say you cant ask them a silly question about a child they haven't heard before.
Evo
Yeah i understand. Just getting frustrated.
Been to the doctor and he diagnosed him with reflux which we got under control with some new formula. The screaming back then seemed to be like he was in pain now it just seems like screaming for the sake of screaming :-( wife recons its colic now
Max sleeping over the past few days would be 5 hours a day but yesterday was particularly bad with broken sleep totalling 2hours. Tried in his bassinet, cot, swing, couch beside you, on the bed in between us with no luck.
Have a read of the book 'Save our Sleep' it worked a treat for us. You basically need to be surgical with routine.
Sometimes they just won't sleep. Worse thing you can do is sleep with them or have them in your own bed.
There is no simple answer. Every new born will have their challenges especially your first. Their immunity system has to kick in etc.
I would suggest changing your post to ask myswag members wife's to assist as as much as us male members think we know things and can assist, we really don't have the expertise.
Now drinking we can assist their.
I'm definitely not an expert but with our 2 who were both not great sleepers. A drive in the car along a dirt road always got good results or a walk in the pram was pretty good also & you get some time out of the house. I hope this helps you & good luck! :D
Sarah
Here are a few tips which may help.. it did for us.
Set a daily routine and stick to it if possible, same time, bed, bottle/tit beforehand, dark room with a dim nightlight, a/c set to 25 day and night in the bedroom and a bit of background white noise to drown out the rest of the sounds in the house.
As has been said, every kid is different and what works for one may not for another
Good luck! Is not easy mate but one way or another we all seem to get through it. It is all worth it in the long run
Don Williams.
Nice and quiet and slept with a smile.
Rod
Have a read of the book 'Save our Sleep' it worked a treat for us. You basically need to be surgical with routine.
Sometimes they just won't sleep. Worse thing you can do is sleep with them or have them in your own bed.
+1000 for this.
this book is excellent.
I'm definitely not an expert but with our 2 who were both not great sleepers. A drive in the car along a dirt road always got good results or a walk in the pram was pretty good also & you get some time out of the house. I hope this helps you & good luck! :D
Sarah
Car and pram work well untill we stop :-) plus I'm worried I'll fall asleep while I'm driving
Been a few years for us now with little ones, but I used to tell friends the first 7 weeks of a new bub is the hardest, especially when it's your first child.... you really have very little idea what your doing. It'll take time to work out what works best for you and your child, so don't get too down on yourselves. I don't miss those sleepless nights walking laps up and down our hallway trying to get our baby back to sleep, but eventually we worked out what was best for our child and they became great sleepers. Sorry can't be of any real help for you though
Fenergan on the dummy or 1/2 teaspoon of brandy in a warm bottle of milk :angel:
Been a few years for us now with little ones, but I used to tell friends the first 7 weeks of a new bub is the hardest, especially when it's your first child.... you really have very little idea what your doing. It'll take time to work out what works best for you and your child, so don't get too down on yourselves. I don't miss those sleepless nights walking laps up and down our hallway trying to get our baby back to sleep, but eventually we worked out what was best for our child and they became great sleepers. Sorry can't be of any real help for you though
This is good advice.
We have 3 kids,thankfully now out of that stage, but there will always be something they won't do which will drive you nuts (youngest still wets her pants rather than go to toilet!).
You have no idea when it's your first, as rum pig says. It will work itself out mate.
Routine, routine, routine is the best advice we ever got, and it works. In this situation, you just tough it out if there's no medial issues, or wind etc. sure you're burping it properly after a feed?
There is a forum called bub hub - my wife used it a lot. Lots of women with lots of advice. Worth checking out. Welcome to parenting!!!
This sort of thing can be priceless for baby problems....
Both of our kids were sleeping 11 hrs a night after only 2 weeks old......but don't ask me for a sure fire solution...just a bit of luck I think ?
Only thing I suggested we do was to not feed bubs during the night.....don't ask me why, just thought it was a good idea at the time....maybe if they didn't get a feed, they wouldn't wake up ??...worked after a week of trying !!......now this solution was me /us being selfish and wanting our sleep, but it worked and to this day they are both heavy/long sleepers ( 30 and 27 yrs old )
We...like heaps of others didn't have a clue about parenting, but at least these days there is the internet and the above help groups etc !!
+10 for bubhub. As with anywhere else tho, you will need to filter our some of the crap.
To be honest, at his age, I wouldn't be too anti sleep aid. There was a 2 month period where my little one would only sleep during the day if he was snuggled into me. I held out doing it as long as I could because I didn't want to start bad habits but once I caved I found it led to better night sleeping too, I wish I'd started doing it earlier (plus I got to catch up on a whole heap of TV shows
)
When I felt it was time for him to sleep on his own I was more rested and mentally prepared to deal with it then when he was 2mths old and it all went quite smoothly. After this I fully believe in the 4th trimester - makes a lot of sense to me.
I know I haven't offered much advice, (un)fortunately each Bub's different and what works for one may not work for the other.
I hope he settles for you shortly and you get to enjoy your time with the little man
Oh, and I should have started off with congratulations on your little man...
Have a read of the book 'Save our Sleep' it worked a treat for us.
X 2,000
It worked for us too. I only read the first 1/3rd of the book but that was enough..
Thanks for all the replies. Things that stick out are the routine. We've been trying something different almost every night.
Put wife onto the sleep book and she downloaded a sample copy of it. Will find a copy of it tomorrow.
Hoping for a better night tonight.
Number 1 thing is hang in there, we had worlds worst sleeper first followed by worlds best sleeper second, for no apparent reason.
Best advice I can give is don't worry about what any book, expert, parent, grand parent or self appointed guru says. I remember the sleep school nurse saying to my wife, "I'm not sure we can help you, but you've got a very strong willed little person there." I was wondering what to do with my hysterically crying wife at this point.
However at some point we threw out all of the techniques, at about 17 months of age, we gave up, as my wife was now 7 months pregnant, and took him in with us. SHOCK HORROR we slept with our child. ( as mankind has done for thousands of years) suddenly we all slept well. " but you'll never break that" said all of the experts, at age 4 by chance we put our boys in the same room, and 6 years latter all is well. We have had them on their own now for 12 months.
So my point, mate, is hang in there, there is no rule that works for every child. Do what you need, it will be ok. Ignore the parents bragging about their kids sleeping 23 hours a day, and how this somehow makes them super parents.
Hang in there, and obviously have all of the medical checks for reflux and the like.
Well, for my 20c worth.
1. Relax. Baby will sense if you are anxious, tense or whatever and will react the same.
2. Routine. Babies take a while to get into a routine but its better for everyone in the long run. I always bathed mine just before their last feed of the day to relax them.
3. If he has reflux raise the end of the bed a little. Not sure if it actually helps but have heard thats what you do.
4. Listen to the advice that I and others may give you and select what you think might apply to you. Every baby is different, just as every person is. I am big on cuddles for babies and little kids. I don't think they can have to many.
In time your baby will get better at sleeping. I had one that was 10 months old before he slept any longer than an hour and then I think he only slept because thats when he started walking. He would sleep for an hour, scream for an hour 24/7.
He is now 31 and we both survived. I even had 2 more kids so he didn't even put me off.
It will get better. Your baby will grow up way to fast. Enjoy every moment.
Vicki
Well, for my 20c worth.
1. Relax. Baby will sense if you are anxious, tense or whatever and will react the same.
2. Routine. Babies take a while to get into a routine but its better for everyone in the long run. I always bathed mine just before their last feed of the day to relax them.
3. If he has reflux raise the end of the bed a little. Not sure if it actually helps but have heard thats what you do.
4. Listen to the advice that I and others may give you and select what you think might apply to you. Every baby is different, just as every person is. I am big on cuddles for babies and little kids. I don't think they can have to many.
In time your baby will get better at sleeping. I had one that was 10 months old before he slept any longer than an hour and then I think he only slept because thats when he started walking. He would sleep for an hour, scream for an hour 24/7.
He is now 31 and we both survived. I even had 2 more kids so he didn't even put me off.
Vicki
Absolutely spot on. My, doesn't their fragility and helplessness freak you out?
Not to mention all those "helpers" whose comments are subtexted "Now, you're making a hopeless mess of this, just blah blah blah ..."
Vicki had the order totally correct.
Number one is RELAX
Number two is ROUTINE
Reflux? My six-foot-four great ox of a nephew had reflux for a little while. Now he's in the Obelix class as far as intake.
Choose what suits. Don't forget that lots of parenting advice has been varnished with Miraculous Transformatory Hindsight Spray.
My kids? Born in '78, '80 and '83.
Our worries over them? About the same .... Huge, but NOTHING like the joys.
Oh, and one bit of Camping With The Little Lord advice:
IF you have a caravan, AND he's at the potty training stage, take it from one who knows that it's NOT a good idea to let him sit on the potty in the open caravan door with his back to the outside.
The results when he leans back in triumph after a job well done are dismal over a remarkably wide area. I believe there's a bit of the camping area at Girraween still roped off ......
All of us know what you are going through but then none of us do because we aren't there with your child right now.
There is alot of good advise and suggestions above but that is all it is and unfortunately you will need a little trial and error to find what works for you and your child. We had a reflux baby and as mentioned above raising the head end of the bed around 3" may help.
If it all gets too much put the baby down somewhere safe like in its bed and walk away. It won't go anywhere.
Tressillians and Karatani (spelling) are great organisations you can call anytime of the day or night. Google them.
We found one of our kids had trouble sleeping st that age also.
I saw a theory that they are coming to terms with the extra stimulation that they get being out on the world so to speak.
The suggestion was to remove as much external stimulation from baby as possible when it was time to sleep. No talking, dim light, no mobiles, off shy other distractions, face them to wards the wall if necessary. Then stay quite, if baby is getting upset, a gentle touch to reassure, but minimal stimulation.
They need to learn how to tune out in order to sleep.
Worked for us.
Also, for your sanity.
View http://vimeo.com/27019462
CAUTION NSFW CONTAINS PROFANITY.
My first 2 slept like logs from about 2 months but the third was a bugger!! Tried all the same stuff but no luck. Then about 6-7? months old something changed(if we knew what it was we would tell ya haha) and a week later she was sleeping through most of the night.
My point is as everyone else says is who knows what will work. Someone gave me great advice which was, ironically, don't listen to anyone's advice. Unless they have YOUR baby in YOUR situation they have no idea what you are going through. By all means try different things but don't get down if things don't go the way people say they should.
Always remember, when people tell you the average baby sleeps x hours a night, it is just an average. Averages are made up from extremes at either end of the scale and your bub could be at the extreme end! You just won't know it until they grow out of it haha
Congrats and good luck!!!
Well, for my 20c worth.
Vicki
On the subject of relaxing, wife and I used a technique to calm ourselves and baby - when putting to bed, control your breathing, as apparently baby imitates (or senses if you are anxious, like Vicki says).
Concentrate on the breathing, slow and steady, rhythmic, while touching/cuddling baby - dunno if it worked by itself, but it was a calming technique for all of us!
But it must be said that it's the worst time for all when you have limited sleep - I would probably say 'whatever works' right now, just so you and your wife can function. But it will pass mate. Good luck
do you jump up and check on the baby as soon as it starts crying ??? if so try letting it cry for a while they wear them selves out and fall to sleep eventually - not saying all babies are the same as that is far from correct but that is what we did with our 14 children - and do not take advice from the inlaws they just tend to take over :)
... but that is what we did with our 14 children
:o
I know it gets cold in Tassie, but 14 kids :)
:o
I know it gets cold in Tassie, but 14 kids :)
stand corrected that is the head count
Even so....7 kids is pretty good mate !!! ;D ;D ;D
Does anyone have any tips for getting their children to sleep? I'm not holding out much hope and feel we'll just have to tough it out but maybe there's something we haven't tried.
We have four and our first was similar to yours.
These are our tips that worked for the next three.
1. Punch anyone in the head who says "breast is best". Hit those fundamentalist loonies right between the eyes (or just say thank you and move on). If bub is attached to the breast as well as dad is then life is great. If not it is the greatest cause of distress in mothers and bubs there is. If the little fella is not getting enough milk get him on the bottle asap. Plus you can share the feeding!. Mum will get crap from every other mother around as its their prehistoric urge to prove they are the best mother in the clan but she needs to tell em to butt out. This truly brings out the bitch in most women. "Oh, I loved it when my nipples dripped blood, don't you"
2. When they are born don't let anyone but mum hold him till you get him settled at home. No grandparents, no friends or family. Get the nurse to put up a sign saying only 'mother to hold baby" and make up some bs as to why - low blood sats, needs rest etc. I never really believed that babies needed to bond with mum but bloody hell it made our life so much easier with the next three. Once we were home if the little fella was upset I would hand him to mum and instantly they would calm down. This is a hard one as every tom dick and mary thinks its their right to have their 'little cuddle" and sadly that selfish desire does nothing for the littlie and makes your life a misery when you get home.
3. Wrap or swaddle them tight. Real tight. I always felt like I was going to crush the little fella but heck it works. They feel nice and snug and safe.
4. Look at a natures nest style of baby hammock to sleep in. They are on a big spring so if they stir you can 'bounce' them and they tend to go back to sleep. Once they get a bit bigger the actually bounce themselves back to sleep. Here is a link;
http://www.babyhammocks.com/baby-hammocks (http://www.babyhammocks.com/baby-hammocks)
I think they are good for sids as well.
And finally;
5. Dont creep around quietly. Whatever noise normally goes on, unless you live in a foundry, keep it up. They get used to and actually know everything is okay because nothing changes.
At least these are what we found worked. Our last two slept through all night at two weeks.
(Remember to punch those 'breast is best" bitches hard in the head. 8) )
Congrats!
I could have written your post 27 yrs ago !!! Our second boy was just the same . He was lactose intolerant and was much better when we switched to prosobe soy powder but by that stage the bad habits had been learned ! Then the colic kicked in ! Was a handful till he was able to crawl
Even so....7 kids is pretty good mate !!! ;D ;D ;D
having 7 kids would drive a man to drink so maybe my vision is compromised :cheers:
We have four and our first was similar to yours.
These are our tips that worked for the next three.
1. Punch anyone in the head who says "breast is best". Hit those fundamentalist loonies right between the eyes (or just say thank you and move on). If bub is attached to the breast as well as dad is then life is great. If not it is the greatest cause of distress in mothers and bubs there is. If the little fella is not getting enough milk get him on the bottle asap. Plus you can share the feeding!. Mum will get crap from every other mother around as its their prehistoric urge to prove they are the best mother in the clan but she needs to tell em to butt out. This truly brings out the bitch in most women. "Oh, I loved it when my nipples dripped blood, don't you"
2. When they are born don't let anyone but mum hold him till you get him settled at home. No grandparents, no friends or family. Get the nurse to put up a sign saying only 'mother to hold baby" and make up some bs as to why - low blood sats, needs rest etc. I never really believed that babies needed to bond with mum but bloody hell it made our life so much easier with the next three. Once we were home if the little fella was upset I would hand him to mum and instantly they would calm down. This is a hard one as every tom dick and mary thinks its their right to have their 'little cuddle" and sadly that selfish desire does nothing for the littlie and makes your life a misery when you get home.
3. Wrap or swaddle them tight. Real tight. I always felt like I was going to crush the little fella but heck it works. They feel nice and snug and safe.
4. Look at a natures nest style of baby hammock to sleep in. They are on a big spring so if they stir you can 'bounce' them and they tend to go back to sleep. Once they get a bit bigger the actually bounce themselves back to sleep. Here is a link;
http://www.babyhammocks.com/baby-hammocks (http://www.babyhammocks.com/baby-hammocks)
I think they are good for sids as well.
And finally;
5. Dont creep around quietly. Whatever noise normally goes on, unless you live in a foundry, keep it up. They get used to and actually know everything is okay because nothing changes.
At least these are what we found worked. Our last two slept through all night at two weeks.
(Remember to punch those 'breast is best" bitches hard in the head. 8) )
Congrats!
me thinks a can of worms may be opened - me thinks a big can of worms may have been opened
but the rest I think you kept those cans sealed
Granted it was three years ago but at that time no child had reportedly been lost to sids using the hammock style of bed. Has there been a change to this advice?
Not sure why everyone being stopped from playing pass the parcel with a newborn would open a can of worms. Unless of course there are people out there that value their wants over that of a mother. Its a big world so I suppose there are all sorts of views. Mine is just one so if it's not what you like then ignore it.
Simple.
i think everyone's comments here are valid. I can only share with you "our" experiences with our two. Which was a while ago, (currently 10 and 12).
Our two were bottle feed from the start. Sorry but i'm a risk person and after seeking so much advice and information there was nothing that could push us to not! (and ten years later get told they are both well behaved etc, and pretty smart)..
Both our children had what they called silent reflux. This is a huge issue (over normal reflux) as normally the bub will chuck! (and you can tell) but with silent reflux as soon as you put them down (couple of minutes) and they just have it come up a little and burn the throat.
As per some suggestions we used to put a pillow under one end of the cot. (creates an angle) this helped but didn't solve the problem. Mrs Firefox even took the first one to sleep school (the entire controlled crying etc, which i believe does work, but not with silent reflux)..
Anyhow i've given this TIP to many people and they have tried it and it does work (especially if the bub has reflux).. We spent $$$$$$ money seeing a specialist, he took one look and said as soon as the feeding is finished (and i mean immediately) give the bub 2ml of Mylanta (yes the green bottle stuff) it does exactly what it does for adults. You can only give a small amount but thats all the need. (we used to have syringe with 2ml in it) as they got older increased to 5ml (when my son was drinking about 200ml in a feed). OMG! what a difference after 2 sleep cycles the kids were sleeping through the night! What a difference it made to our life.
Anyhow i don't know if thats the problems with your's, but it certainly doesn't hurt to try. Stick with it, alot of doctors (and nurses and other people) will tell you to "just deal with it" or thats a baby. It's not really true. I am sure if you sit down and think and try different things something you will find will work specifically for your case. Take all the advise onboard and try different things.
Hopefully someone will give some advice that works..
:)
BTW, after 10 years it goes the other way! I can't get my daughter out of bed before 9AM! Drives me nuts.
from experience of knowing some people that practiced not passing the bundle of joy around in the hospital suffered from social etiquette but that was just from my personal experience - sorry from drifting slightly off topic
I feel your pain. Our son had some health issues at birth which caused lots of screaming and no sleep for the first 3 months. If the baby isn't sleeping try and take turns to get some sleep - lack of sleep is the enemy, not each other (or the baby).
On the whole routine thing I would add that lots of people told us to get into a routine asap, so for a few weeks we were trying our hardest to set a routine for the little chap. We had zero success and lots of frustration and even anger (we had a silent agreement that either of us could just walk away for a little while if it got too much). The mistake that we made at first was trying to impose a routine on him, rather than figuring out what his routine was and then sticking to it. Once we did the latter our lives changed. The routine then changed every 6 or so months afterward, but we would soon figure out the new routine and everything would be golden again.
Dazzler makes some good points above, if it's on the tit make sure there is enough milk coming through.
When brought our sone home for the 1st 3 days he wouldn't sleep just scream and cry, the child health nurse dropped in and suggested we give him a bottle of formula and after a good drink he started to sleep normally, maybe just something to check ?
And like others have said, make plenty of noise around them, routine and don't drop everything to run to them when they wake they will learn to get back to sleep.
Good luck,
Thanks for all the valued advice.
We had a better night last night. He slept for 2 hours at a time between feeds. Unfortunately it was on a pillow on the lounge. Not very safe but we slept on the floor next to keep an eye on him.
We found the Save our Sleep book today and we are starting to put the plan in action. So far he's been asleep in his bassinet for over and hour. Now for us that's almost unheard of. My wife Mandy wrote all the tips and schedule on the mirror so I can do the same as her.
Fingers crossed for some steady improvement :-)
Wire coat hangars on carpet, roll pram back an forth over them, slight rumble sends them off, worked every time
Congratulations :cheers:
Look after each other! It's amazing how much work(and Joy) it is for anyone to create a human.
Don't stress, relax and work as a team, listen and react to the signs, you will work out what to do.
Make sure you are both working together and help each other(Time share).
Yes try all this stuff and more, but do it together.
Most of all, watch them grow and enjoy it. It only happens once. Or 7 times lol ;D
OH and Go Camping hahaha.
Our first would sleep through a WW1 battle.
Our second suffered from extreme reflux and colic. This was 19 yrs ago so things may have changed.
Reflux: Best thing we did was put the top end of his cot up on a stand so it was at 45 degrees tilting downwards. We bought a sleeping bag doovey thing that supported him while he slept. It had some belts attached to it that tied up to the top of the cot. On top of that we used huge amounts of Zantac, peppermint oil and other concoctions I can't remember. Putting his bed up so he has head up while sleeping worked wonders and we suffered when he slept on a flat surface as the reflux would come up burning his throat. He also had projectile vomiting which was interesting having a dark blue carpet
Colic: Halfway between the bellybutton and the pointy bit of the hipbone (RHS) there is a point in the belly where for the want of a better word is a valve. I found if I gently massaged that point (in clockwise) circular motion it would release the gas buildup and 10 mins later a huge fart and instant sleep (for both of us). Worked 9 out of 10 times with our young fella.
Just saying though as every kid will be different. It took us a long time to work all that out. If I can help any new parent out I will be happy.
I found locking them in the laundry with some water and putting ear plugs in my ears worked best for me ;D
X 2,000
It worked for us too. I only read the first 1/3rd of the book but that was enough..
Yep, another vote for this book as well. We had plenty of friends who put us onto this style of routine and it worked perfectly for our two kids. It's not for everyone and the first week can pull at the heart strings when you just have to let them cry in bed, but in the long run when you know you'll get some sleep at night it's well worth it.
Good luck!
I feel for you. #1 was a bad sleeper for the first months weeks. I thought I would die. I have never been so tired and was ready to kill anyone who even said hello to me.
You've had lots of advice here - Kids are all different best thing to do is find what works for you.... Try something, stick at it for a week, then try something else. You'll get it eventually. But you'll have lots of trip ups along the way.
Our 3 kids have all been different but the common theme has been consistency. What works for us: All were swaddled for a few months . General rule for us before long night sleep bath, bottle, bed at about 7pm, and we didn't try and enforce sleeping until about 2 months old. From then one we left them to cry for 4 minutes, then pat/resettle. After 3 attempts get them up if not asleep. We've never been the ones for the 'dream feed' for all of ours, but works for some. Try not to be too quiet whilst sleeping so they get used to noise. My cousins insisted on absolute quiet for his first. Worked well until second came along and wasn't quiet :)
#1 was a bad sleeper for the first couple of weeks. Then Mid wife pointed out that we weren't burping them correctly. They became a great sleeper for a month and then went through a period of not sleeping more than an hour for 1.5 months. He was breast fed, but it turns out he wasn't getting enough as he wasn't putting on weight. So we started supplementing the night feed with a bottle - bang he slept right through. Then we discovered the lactose intolerance... He is a very heavy sleeper now is, but doesn't' like going to sleep.
#2 - lasted longer on mum's milk, slept like a log from the day he was born. Went straight to onto soy milk formula. No issues but was a lighter sleeper than #1 . He did sleep through from a young age 3 mths or so. Still loves his sleep.
#3 - from the day she was born has refused to fall asleep on her back. Third day at home we put her to sleep on her front unswaddled- bang she slept like a baby :). Yes its against SIDS advice but its the only way she would sleep. Went to mixed feeding after 4 weeks. At 11mths still wakes up once or twice a night 3 days a week. Goes back to bed after a half or full bottle. Last night - 1.5 bottles.
Good luck!
Thanks again for all the words of advice and encouragement. We had our first night using the Save our Sleep techniques. It made a massive difference. Today has been stress free and we have had some time to ourselves while he's been sleeping. Last night when we he would cry it went to hysterical cries but we left him the 4 mins and with a quick nurse he calmed down and went back in the bassinet. Today when he has stired after the 4mins we go in, quick pat on the tummy and pop his dummy in (spits it after a couple of minutes) and he drifts back off.
Hoping this will continue.
Can't thank everyone enough :-)
Thanks again for all the words of advice and encouragement. We had our first night using the Save our Sleep techniques. It made a massive difference. Today has been stress free and we have had some time to ourselves while he's been sleeping. Last night when we he would cry it went to hysterical cries but we left him the 4 mins and with a quick nurse he calmed down and went back in the bassinet. Today when he has stired after the 4mins we go in, quick pat on the tummy and pop his dummy in (spits it after a couple of minutes) and he drifts back off.
Hoping this will continue.
Can't thank everyone enough :-)
Great news. All this is baby steps pardon the pun :angel:
I found locking them in the laundry with some water and putting ear plugs in my ears worked best for me ;D
lol do you put them in for the full cycle ?
One thing that's good to figure out early is their crying
theres "I want" crying and bloody murder crying.
The first should be mostly ignored especially at bedtime.
They are far smarter than you think and will easily have you running in and out all night long as a bit of company is, well, nice.
It may take a week but they figure it out and just go to sleep.
lol do you put them in for the full cycle ?
I don't put them in the washing machine, that would be mean!
Sounds like you have made some great progress :cup:
There is no single right answer. Each of us is different just like our choice in cars.
Try them all and work out what works. It's all a big guess anyway.
Our youngest had trouble at the start turns out breastfeeding was not possible but and underdeveloped kidney meant he got formula as well. Once we realised breastfeeding was out it took out all the anxiety (and my sleep) and he slept better.
Find a routine that works for them play, feed, sleep. Or play, sleep, feed.
Night feeds reduce stimulation. No noises lights etc.
during the day when they are asleep make noise, vacuums etc. my kids will sleep through anything.
My sister in law put her's to bed with whale sounds and we had to tip toe around, still doesn't sleep well.
I don't put them in the washing machine, that would be mean!
you got it wrong you throw a doona in first stops the bruising and muffles the screaming - you are far from a good parent if you did not know this.
There is also a good night time formula called sweet dreams. It seems to go a little thicker after a while and makes them feel full for longer. It was great for our no 2 and his reflux. Not cheap though.
Been to the doctor and he diagnosed him with reflux which we got under control with some new formula. The screaming back then seemed to be like he was in pain now it just seems like screaming for the sake of screaming :-( wife recons its colic now
Was this the GP or Paediatrician who said the reflux is under control? If GP than ask for a referral to a Paediatrician or just go back to the Paediatrician.
For us, our Daughters reflux was so bad after trialling a few reflex medications she ended up needing an adult doses of Mylanta a couple of times per day.
Was this the GP or Paediatrician who said the reflux is under control? If GP than ask for a referral to a Paediatrician or just go back to the Paediatrician.
For us, our Daughters reflux was so bad after trialling a few reflex medications she ended up needing an adult doses of Mylanta a couple of times per day.
Doctor diagnosed it and we feel that we've got it under control. No pains while feeding and no vomits etc now. I recon it was just the mild form of it and the thicker formula has stopped it from coming back up and buring his osephugus. I suffered from it from birth untill I had major surgery to correct it when I was 7.