General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Titfish on January 11, 2015, 09:36:03 PM

Title: Be careful when using fuel dockets
Post by: Titfish on January 11, 2015, 09:36:03 PM
Yesterday, when we were handed our docket for groceries the nice bloke who served us pointed out that if we took the docket to any Woolworths petrol outlet, bought $10 worth of product in store and showed our rewards card we would get 14 cents a litre off our bill. You beauty says me as I'm off tomorrow up to Byron Bay to see my mother for a few days.

So today I headed to the nearest outlet. My luck was in. There was no other vehicle at the diesel pump. So I put in 130 litres at $1.39 and it comes to $182.00. So I walk into pay and show the bloke at the counter my docket from yesterday plus my rewards card and my 10 bucks worth of product and ask for the discount. He says that, no they don't honour that as they are a Caltex, Woolworths outlet, not a woolworths outlet. I then point out to him that there is a woolworths sign in big print advertising that it is a woolworths outlet and he still refuses. I then ask him where it is shown that they do not honour this prior to me filling my car. No answer. I point out that I no longer want their product as it was not what I thought I was buying and asked how  was he going to get the fuel out of my car for a refund. The attendant tells me that this happens regularly. Oops. He should probably have not. At this stage an elderly gent behind me bought into the argument and suggested that the ACCC needs to be brought into it. I then ask the attendant for a phone number for me to ring. This he couldn't provide either.

By now I've had enough although I felt better when all those in the queue in the servo told the attendant that it was poor form. Getting home I then rang the local woolworths to speak to the manager. He couldn't help  and put me through to the front desk so that I could get a number to take the matter further. Again they couldn't give me a number. I tried to explain to the lady (I maybe using the term loosely) that, unlike in the shop, where I can choose to leave something behind at the checkout if I decide it is more expensive than I expected I can't do this with the fuel. She tried to fob me off and I told her that she was next to useless and hung up. It will be on tomorrow. I'll still get up to Byron but I think I'll be getting away a fair bit later than I thought.

Okay. I understand that I may not have read the fine print but when a member of their organisation gives me this information am I not entitled to think that it is accurate? Or maybe they need better training. It is not about the 18 bucks or whatever. It just makes my blood boil when companies such as this dangle the bait and then get you into a situation where you have to pay. It is bloody immoral.

I have the number for the ombudsman and the ACCC ready to ring in the morning.

Anyway the point of this is, if you are going to use discount vouchers promising the world go in and ask the attendant if their servo does indeed honour their promise. The one I went to didn't.

Am I being too precious?

By the way I checked other fuel outlets on the way home and I could have got it for $1.28 without any discount at another place. That didn't help my mood much either.

Ken
Title: Re: Be careful when using fuel dockets
Post by: GeoffA on January 11, 2015, 09:46:54 PM
By the way I checked other fuel outlets on the way home and I could have got it for $1.28 without any discount at another place....

Really??.....and that surprised you??

Surely there are bigger issues to make a fuss about.....treat it as a learning experience.
Post by: dales133 on January 11, 2015, 09:48:54 PM
We'd all be better off if we just boycotted the big 2 .
Supermarkets and servos because this is what we can expect now the competitions all been killed off
Post by: Wagon Man on January 11, 2015, 09:57:31 PM
Titty, What is the location of this Caltex /Woolworths outlet ?
Post by: Pog on January 11, 2015, 09:57:42 PM
Really??.....and that surprised you??

:cup: :cup:

I have never really been a fan of the docket discounts, especially in Renmark, where a few people have complained about the quality of the Woolworths Diesel, sometimes having contaminants (water) in it.

Their scheme is to get you into their servo to encourage you to spend more money. Items in the servo are generally sold with a much higher markup, so they don't really loose. Yes you might get a few $ off when you fill up, but then again, you found out you could have bought fuel $0.11 / ltrs cheaper down the road, without spending more money in store.

I agree, their sales tactics are extremely questionable, but 99% of Aussies already know this, and about 50% don't get sucked into it. That leaves a lot of people that do...
Post by: Titfish on January 11, 2015, 10:09:20 PM
Wagon Man. the location is Caltex at New Lambton in Newcastle NSW.

GeoffA. No, I'm not really too surprised at all. P1ssed that I fell for it? Yes.

I must agree with others about the wisdom of my choice. They won't see me again and I have never filled up at either of the big 2 servos previously.

What erks me most is just how much they must make through giving miss information and forcing people to pay as it is impossible to return the product. Hopefully by passing on my experience I might just save others from a similar experience.

Ken
Post by: Wagon Man on January 11, 2015, 10:33:18 PM
Ken, I had a quick look on google earth and it seems to be a Caltex Store outlet.

Below is a summary of the Woolworths petrol /Caltex alliance.

CALTEX WOOLWORTHS STORE (Owned & Operated by Woolworths)
Caltex Woolworths branded price board Woolworths branded store
Fuel offer: Save up to 8c per litre of fuel by spending $30 or more at Woolworths
Supermarkets and spending $5 or more in-store.

CALTEX WOOLWORTHS ALLIANCE / REDEMPTION STORE (Owned & operated by Caltex or their franchisee)
Caltex Starmart or Caltex Shop branded price board & store Woolworths branding on price board
No Woolworths branding on shop
Accepts the 4cpl Woolworths Supermarket fuel discount
No additional 4cpl discount with $5 spend in-store
Accepts WISH/Everyday Gift Cards but NOT eGift Cards

CALTEX STORE (No association with Woolworths)
No Woolworths branding
No alliance with Woolworths
No 4cpl Woolworths Supermarket fuel discount No WISH/Everyday/eGift cards accepted.
Post by: Titfish on January 11, 2015, 10:38:45 PM
Thanks for the info Wagon Man.

I have no doubt that they are right and I am wrong. It is the way they operate. It just smells.

Thinking about it. Life ain't long enough to stress about this sort of garbage. Time to move on.

Where abouts on mid north coast are you? I'll pass by at some stage tomorrow. Hope the rain holds off and the traffic isn't too bad.
Ken
Post by: Wagon Man on January 11, 2015, 11:01:54 PM
I'm up near Australia's longest bridge.

Looks like you will hit so rain on your way north, traffic should be good on a Monday.

Safe travels....

Post by: Titfish on January 11, 2015, 11:06:44 PM
Thanks Wagon Man. You live in a good part of the world.
Ken
Post by: Kangaron on January 11, 2015, 11:24:20 PM
Old news.
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/news/woolworths-caltex-in-fuel-shakeup/story-e6frg906-1227129151008?nk=531527cc1cd19368067624430fe4b068 (http://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/news/woolworths-caltex-in-fuel-shakeup/story-e6frg906-1227129151008?nk=531527cc1cd19368067624430fe4b068)
Post by: torsion on January 12, 2015, 12:01:35 AM
Woolworths and coles are pieces of Shit companies, ripn motorists off everywhere even when you don't use this hoax docket scheme.
Sooner its banned the better.
Post by: Homer_Jay on January 12, 2015, 05:45:46 AM
I had one of those the other day.
It said on it something about only being accepted at participating outlets (or something along those lines). I thought, well I don't know what outlets are participating so I threw it out.

I do agree that it is bad form to have this and it not be available at all Woolworths branded fuel outlets.

Post by: D4D on January 12, 2015, 06:57:35 AM
I fill at my local Caltex/Woolies with Vortex diesel, and usually get a 4c/L discount if I spend $5 in store, a couple of cherry ripes :) Yesterday the dude says if you spend another $5 in store he'll give me another 6c/L off. As I had bought 156L I couldn't resist, $15.60 off and a stack of cherry ripes :)
Post by: Marschy on January 12, 2015, 07:11:33 AM
There is a fuel war going on here in Adelaide at the moment between the new Costco petrol station and the Coles Express petrol station. Costco are selling diesel for 115.7. My membership has paid for itself already and I have never set foot in the store.
Post by: ScottT on January 12, 2015, 07:25:36 AM
I fill at my local Caltex/Woolies with Vortex diesel, and usually get a 4c/L discount if I spend $5 in store, a couple of cherry ripes :) Yesterday the dude says if you spend another $5 in store he'll give me another 6c/L off. As I had bought 156L I couldn't resist, $15.60 off and a stack of cherry ripes :)

So do I, but I don't have a fuel discount receipt or my Wife's Woolworths  discount card but I put it on them every time for a discount and get it every time, well I didn't yesterday  >:(
Post by: Wagon Man on January 12, 2015, 07:27:36 AM
The current save up to 14cents per litre promotion is running till the 04/02/2015.
Post by: DrewXT on January 12, 2015, 07:29:57 AM
There is a fuel war going on here in Adelaide at the moment between the new Costco petrol station and the Coles Express petrol station. Costco are selling diesel for 115.7. My membership has paid for itself already and I have never set foot in the store.

In Adelaide do you have to pre-buy your fuel at Costco like you do in Canberra?  I was going to fill up there after Christmas, but refused to guess if I needed $100 or $120 worth of diesel to fill up...

Any idea who supplies them? Judging by the price it would have to be Mobil?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Post by: D4D on January 12, 2015, 07:32:55 AM
In Adelaide do you have to pre-buy your fuel at Costco like you do in Canberra?  I was going to fill up there after Christmas, but refused to guess if I needed $100 or $120 worth of diesel to fill up...

Don't travel to the US then, pre-pay is standard practice there, also stops drive offs.
Post by: Marschy on January 12, 2015, 07:34:08 AM

Any idea who supplies them? Judging by the price it would have to be Mobil?

Yes you do, but for the money I'm saving on diesel, I can live with that. It's costing me $85 dollars to fill my 70 litre tank. Before Costco it was costing me $105.
Post by: DrewXT on January 12, 2015, 07:36:04 AM
Don't travel to the US then, pre-pay is standard practice there, also stops drive offs.

Yeah, been there, done that... When i was living in Texas, once the guy i bought my fuel from got to know me, i could pay for what i used...

Yes you do, but for the money I'm saving on diesel, I can live with that. It's costing me $85 dollars to fill my 70 litre tank. Before Costco it was costing me $105.

That's a win in my book! 3 fills and the membership is paid for!

Post by: Pog on January 12, 2015, 07:47:08 AM
Woolworths and coles are pieces of **** companies, ripn motorists off everywhere even when you don't use this hoax docket scheme.
Sooner its banned the better.

I dont get it.... If you feel as though its a rip off, why would you shop there. If people are stupid enough to continue to buy fuel from these outlets, that is their problem.

Smart people ignore the glossy 'discounts' and 'savings' from these companies and shop where the fuel is generally cheaper or better quality, and dont get sucked into buying over priced chocolate bars or bottles of coke that they don't actually need, just to get a discount....

Post by: barnray on January 12, 2015, 08:27:52 AM
G'day Wagon Man, I happen to live near it too. I am camping at Belmore River at the moment getting a bit of ocean breeze. Barnray
Post by: achjimmy on January 12, 2015, 08:44:24 AM
Titfish it's misleading conduct, and while I agree with others I wouldn't lose a lot of sleep. A bit of time and energy on going through to the ombudsman/ACCC may cause them some pain.

I did something similar with Tiger airways. Used them once had to give an email address of course and they wouldn't stop spamming me or would not take me off there mailing list when requested. Reported it followed it through and eventually the ACCC contacted me (and others) and put a case together. Result was they stopped mailing me and tiger got a fine and resultant bad press. Good result for a bit of effort.
Post by: oldmate on January 12, 2015, 08:51:11 AM

Yeah that's right, but you don't even need to guess the amount, most people pay on card anyway, you pull up, swipe your card, fill to the brim. Get your receipt, and drive off, with out even having to go into the store. Easy.
Post by: lino6 on January 12, 2015, 08:55:33 AM
I used to work in a Wollies/Caltex servo a few years ago. It was mind-blowing to me the amount of people who thought all of the problems we my fault. So just something to consider when you get to the counter;

1, the people who work there don't personally set fuel prices, its done by some tool in an office in Sydney. And no, the people behind the counter can't give out the phone number for this tool as much as they would love to. Remember these people that work there often have to drive to get to work and when I worked there staff discount was the 4c/l only.
2, if the people behind the counter don't follow policies and procedures, they get fired.... So when the attendant asks you to not jam the nozzle open, its because if they get caught allowing it to happen the get the sack (despite what they think of the policy).
3, The computer systems on the registers are Nazi's and will not do anything that is not allowed. So if that particular store doesn't accept a certain discount there is nothing the attendant can do weather they want to or not.

I get frustrated like anyone, but having worked in a petrol station I have realised that it takes a special type of person (thick skinned) to work in this area of customer service. So now when I go to a petrol station and fuel is $1.95 I swear at the sign on the way in and not the poor bastard working behind the counter. Not even the manager of the place has any control, in fact the only difference between the manager and the staff is the manager has to roster the staff and order stock and that's about it. So next time someone wants to have a crack at the attendant because they shut the pump off for jamming the LPG nozzle open remember if they don't they can be sacked then you'll have to complain about them being on the dole....
Post by: Goose on January 12, 2015, 10:12:59 AM
1, the people who work there don't personally set fuel prices, its done by some tool in an office in Sydney.

Not a guy in the office. I would expect pricing in the big retail networks (like WW/Caltex) is done by an automated computer program that is constantly taking tabs on all fuel sales (demand), fuel volumes available at the individual sites (supply), wholesale prices (base cost), nearby competitor prices (competition) and producing a unique retail price for each fuel product in each outlet a few times a day, so as to maximize revenue.

3, The computer systems on the registers are Nazi's and will not do anything that is not allowed. So if that particular store doesn't accept a certain discount there is nothing the attendant can do weather they want to or not.

100% agree here... and this should be the obvious response to the very first post. If you walk in with a docket and the guy behind the counter can't scan it, there is absolutely nothing he can do for you. Hang onto the docket and use it next time at the right store or give it to a family member.
Post by: Bird on January 12, 2015, 10:42:14 AM
If its a common complaint and your sick of being abused, put up a sign saying 'we don't accept XYZ at this outlet'....

its not that hard, they do it with Amex and Corporate cards ...
Post by: lino6 on January 12, 2015, 10:47:51 AM
Not a guy in the office. I would expect pricing in the big retail networks (like WW/Caltex) is done by an automated computer program that is constantly taking tabs on all fuel sales (demand), fuel volumes available at the individual sites (supply), wholesale prices (base cost), nearby competitor prices (competition) and producing a unique retail price for each fuel product in each outlet a few times a day, so as to maximize revenue.

Certainly when I worked in the industry, it was a guy in the office. Who ever worked the first am shift had to do a drive by a number of nearby servos and note their fuel prices. Then you had to call through to this dude at 9am and inform him of the prices and he would let you know over the phone if you had to change prices or leave as is. Definitely not automated in those days. When I left they were trying to do it over all shifts but staff didn't appreciate doing an extra 10km unpaid to work to do the price checks. I would doubt the ACCC would allow all fuel prices into some computer system to allow regular price updates, we were strictly forbidden to give out prices over the phone because of the possibility of "collusion" over fuel prices. It was also frowned upon to work for 2 different fuel companies in case you used information to set fuel prices between companies.
Post by: Beachman on January 12, 2015, 10:57:53 AM
Here is a list of the participating Caltex servo's. Thanks for putting up this thread as I need to put 140L of fuel in the car this week and I was going to use the 14c voucher. The servo I usually use aren't on the attached list, so you just saved me going through the same heartache.
 www.woolworthspetrol.com.au/media/admin/194/_/5e5di3wr2pvaww4s04/ReceiptRewardsRedemptionLocationsWebsite.pdf (http://www.woolworthspetrol.com.au/media/admin/194/_/5e5di3wr2pvaww4s04/ReceiptRewardsRedemptionLocationsWebsite.pdf)

Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 12, 2015, 11:37:34 AM
If its a common complaint and your sick of being abused, put up a sign saying 'we don't accept XYZ at this outlet'....

its not that hard, they do it with Amex and Corporate cards ...

This would work if people actually read the signs a lot don't and if that is all they have on them and haven't read the sign then even point it out then does make it difficult for the shop attendant if they are coping the abuse.  I would hope most would not rely solely on something like Amex since it is not accepted everywhere
Post by: krisandkev on January 12, 2015, 11:57:01 AM
Bad service is not restricted to Coles/Woolworths outlets.  I use to use our local ‘United Fuel’ servo and never at the Woolworths one as the United was already discounted.  Until the attendant charged me for the wrong pump and after a bit of a heated debate with the manager they would not back down and insisted that I used the pump that the computer showed, even though I was parked beside a different pump!  I have not been back to that servo since, and I was buying a lot of petrol and diesel from that servo.  I just voted with my feet.  ;D  Kevin
Post by: Bird on January 12, 2015, 12:06:17 PM
Bad service is not restricted to Coles/Woolworths outlets.  I use to use our local ‘United Fuel’ servo and never at the Woolworths one as the United was already discounted.  Until the attendant charged me for the wrong pump and after a bit of a heated debate with the manager they would not back down and insisted that I used the pump that the computer showed, even though I was parked beside a different pump!  I have not been back to that servo since, and I was buying a lot of petrol and diesel from that servo.  I just voted with my feet.  ;D  Kevin
Tell em to call the cops and watch the security tape...
then never go back... :D
Post by: MDS69 on January 12, 2015, 12:07:13 PM

I filled up at Woolworths on 07/01/15 and put 162L in. I had my 4c docket (good for only 150L) and went into the store. Then the usual spend $5.00 in store for an additional 4c. On that day there was a promotion of 6c if you spend $10.00 in store. Somehow the git behind the counter gave me all 3 discounts so I got a total discount of $21.00. So I spent $10.00 in store which paid for itself and saved another $11.00, happy days.

It was good to put in 162L and only pay $167.45 instead of around $240.00 for a change

Someone above mentioned the overpriced items to save the additional which is a false economy but Coles servos are starting to charge supermarket prices for grocery items. Icecreams, drinks etc still overpriced.
Post by: HuskyInAuz on January 12, 2015, 05:35:43 PM

Eh?  Your grouping 50 states into one statement.  In Oregon there is no pre-pay since you can't pump your own petrol/diesel.  In Washington your card is validated if using a CC at the pump but I've never had to prepay unless using cash..
Post by: lino6 on January 12, 2015, 05:39:37 PM
Eh?  Your grouping 50 states into one statement.  In Oregon there is no pre-pay since you can't pump your own petrol/diesel.  In Washington your card is validated if using a CC at the pump but I've never had to prepay unless using cash..

Don't forget Alaska, no pre-paying there because the moose they ride runs on pasture  ;D  >:D
Post by: HuskyInAuz on January 12, 2015, 06:31:54 PM
Don't forget Alaska, no pre-paying there because the moose they ride runs on pasture  ;D  >:D

LOL .. unless it's winter then the rider uses Jägermeister (Schapps)to combat the chill and shares it with the moose's.
Post by: davenmarcia on January 12, 2015, 06:36:56 PM
I usually fill up at the local metro when needed but when I use the woolies standard 4c discount i don't do the spend extra and get so much off discount.
However on our cape trip last yearwhen filling up at either coles or woolies  we were offered a few times in Qld and each time I asked the attendent how much will I save and a couple of times they actually calculated it for me and when i save money I bought the extra to get the discount.(mainly after long drive with 2 kids under 7 in the back seat to keep them quiet lol).

Also Thanks for the heads up about the newlambton woolies as that is one i do use now and then.

Post by: Redcherokee on January 13, 2015, 07:53:37 PM

They only charge you for what you actually use.  You put in an amount greater than you think you need, they get a bank pre authorisation for that amount, you fill up, and they reverse the pre authorisation and charge you the exact amount. Even if it is out by just one cent.   

It is the only way an automated system can prevent you filling up and driving off without paying.
Post by: Coiled on January 13, 2015, 10:02:00 PM
Lucky it was you and not me.

I wouldn't have paid. I would have left all my contact details and stating that I am willing to pay once resolved with management.

It isn't about the money it is the principle of it and I wouldn't be aggressive to the guy behind the counter but I wouldn't sugar coat it either especially when they acknowledge the regular confusion and lack of effort to clarify.

Disclaimer to the above is I typically don't use these dockets nor shop at these type of servos for fuel but if I am I always on the alert and looking for the notices.
Post by: KingBilly on January 14, 2015, 07:34:13 AM
Those fuel dockets clearly state on them that the discount is only available at participating outlets.  If you went to a new outlet and didn't check first, you have nobody to blame but yourself.  Obvously if you had been to the outlet previously and had received a discount, then the next time didn't, you may have an argument

Driving off without paying, no matter if you leave your contact details, without mutual agreement from the service station that they accept this arrangement, then it is nothing more than a criminal offence of stealing.

Post by: pauljygrant on January 14, 2015, 07:49:09 AM
I'm not endorsing either of the big 2 although I do tend to use them for fuel.  However what I do like is the Woolies phone app. It states the current price at its local outlets and also if linked to your reward card also tells you what value of docket will be redeemed next.
I've used this when travelling into the city and saved a few dollars. Coles doesn't provide prices via its app.
I also feel sorry for the counter staff that are 'forced' to offer lollies etc to every customer paying for fuel. Having worked in retail and know how they are mystery shopped so can't differ from their script, I 'complained' to Coles via their website - my issue is actually to benefit the staff although made the matter sound more like it annoyed me as a customer.  Perhaps if enough people complain, they might let us pay without being hassled.?
Post by: rotare on January 14, 2015, 08:13:32 AM
Some of these fuel discount offers seem almost too good to be true.... and in most cases they probably are.  There have been plenty of studies and investigations on these sorts of docket / petrol discounts and all ended with the a similar conclusion that the consumer is really no better off.

Nothing more than an effective marketing strategy unfortunately....

Post by: MDS69 on January 14, 2015, 01:26:58 PM
Some of these fuel discount offers seem almost too good to be true.... and in most cases they probably are.  There have been plenty of studies and investigations on these sorts of docket / petrol discounts and all ended with the a similar conclusion that the consumer is really no better off.

Nothing more than an effective marketing strategy unfortunately....

I don't know about that.
In a lot of cases I see there may be a BP with a price of $1.09/L and the Coles or Woolworths a cent of two either side of that then the $0.04/L off that then I will go with the discounted fuel everytime. Sure you pay for it when buying groceries in the supermarket but when you shop there anyway......

As much as I would like to shop at IGA they are more expensive and don't have the range.
Post by: Bird on January 14, 2015, 01:53:21 PM
I don't know about that.
In a lot of cases I see there may be a BP with a price of $1.09/L and the Coles or Woolworths a cent of two either side of that then the $0.04/L off that then I will go with the discounted fuel everytime. Sure you pay for it when buying groceries in the supermarket but when you shop there anyway......
you pretty much wrote in a longer format 'I agree'..
Post by: rotare on January 14, 2015, 01:56:09 PM
I don't know about that.

As much as I would like to shop at IGA they are more expensive and don't have the range.

In a round about way you've just stated the same conclusion as the point I made.  You save on petrol but pay more for groceries in the first place.   

Regardless of whether you are shopping at Coles or Woolworths already, the point is, overall you're unlikely to be any better off financially than someone who chooses not to use Coles and Woolworths for groceries and petrol.  This has been demonstrated numerous times.

Again, it's just a very clever and effective marketing strategy and a good way of securing more of your $'s.

Post by: Paul (SA) on January 14, 2015, 05:17:57 PM
Unless you hang out the front of Woolies and Coles like a weirdo and beg people for their shopping receipts, in which case you come out in front by about $2.37 every time you fill up the average household car.
Post by: oldmate on January 14, 2015, 05:39:53 PM
Unless you hang out the front of Woolies and Coles like a weirdo and beg people for their shopping receipts, in which case you come out in front by about $2.37 every time you fill up the average household car.

:cup: :cup:  Next time i walk past ill be sure to stop and give you mine mate  ;D ;D
Post by: dales133 on January 14, 2015, 05:59:58 PM
I drink a fair bit of red bull or poweraide or water from servos and if I full my tank and get some drinks and save 8 -10 cents a liter then it's worth it to me.but I hate big corporations trying to cull thier competition in the same lite
Post by: Elky on January 15, 2015, 12:08:31 AM
I used to use a local woolies servo religiously, I fact I tried to only use that servo so in the event of contaminated diesel I could easily prove where it came from, then I discovered the northbound BP truckstop at forest glen was selling diesel cheaper than I would get at woollies discounted, closer to me too, was a win win situation, today I filled up at 118.9, they are usually 10c cheaper than anyone else ( except for the Matilda/puma servo at kunda park, which is also a truck stop)

The big 2 supermarkets can go and jump....
Post by: algreary on January 15, 2015, 12:53:15 AM
W.A. is a bit different. Fuel prices are regulated and have to be set by 1400 the day before, submitted and recorded by (whoever is responsible) and then advertised, prices can't be changed after being submitted. A website called Fuelwatch then compares the best prices as per your search criteria - yes, of every store that sells fuel to the consumer in W.A., it's great.

My closest 4 are BP, Woolworths, United then Caltex. (I ignore Gull due to the Bio-diesel and unmanned store - with no price saving despite the decreased staff costs - angers me to tears).

Usually the cheapest are WW and United running pretty close, then Caltex, then BP (often 6 - 10 cents more than WW, although I just checked and today it's only 4c more for diesel and WW is equal to BP for unleaded, but I think the unleaded prices are still in fluctuation from the big drop in prices recently).

I fuel up my landcruiser with 150L of fuel at a time, usually once a month. My wife once a week for 60L. We buy something that we need anyway with no markup - for us it's prepaid phone vouchers, doesn't matter which shop you get them from, they are always the same price. It would work for scratchies too if you a someone who must have scratchies, but probably not much else unless you use your imagination.

I save $12 flat at every top-up plus the reduced price of going to WW instead of the more expensive, but much closer BP. My wife approx. $4 - 8 (x 4 = av. $18/month.) Multiply $30 x 12 = $360/year. Nothing to sneeze at for the extra 120 secs to get from BP to WW.

Sure this only works cause I'm on a prepaid, and our WW is ALWAYS cheaper than our BP and 95% of time the Caltex as well, and usually by a big margin (and you can probably tell from the above that I have the type of personality that checks, not every fuel up, but average of every second one - it used to be every one, but now there really is no point as BP has never been cheaper on any of our checks).

Now this doesn't work for everyone, but my wife shops at WW, Coles and IGA (all in the same week) following the specials - not my cup of tea (but then I check Fuelwatch prices - which I'm sure makes many of you guys groan), and our vegetables come from a local farmer direct supermarket so I guarantee you we're not being ripped off by being a loyal customer to either of the big chains. Works for us and shows that the dockets can work, but only in some pretty extreme circumstances. :-D

All our Coles vouchers go in the bin as the Shell is the next furthest away station and they are never cheap enough to compete, especially against the 8c WW (yes I keep the Coles dockets until expiry, sometimes checking to see if they're worth using, but then we ALWAYS throw them out).

God, I need to get out more!
Post by: Pog on January 15, 2015, 08:15:07 AM
God, I need to get out more!

YES, Yes you do...  :D

In your case, you are using the docket system combined with smart shopping to save money, and it appears to be working.

There are a lot of people who just get their fuel from WW or Coles, without thinking about the actual savings, and only consider the perceived savings.

Good on you (but you do need to get out more....)
Post by: Kangaron on January 15, 2015, 08:38:52 AM
Can't be bothered with any of them, I fuel up when i need fuel at a servo with an immediately available space/pump.
Don't bother looking at prices, time is more important to me.
Post by: RWW on January 15, 2015, 10:33:43 PM
I like how since the fuel price has dropped the 95 pumps at my local servo (all of them!) have stopped working. Now the choice is either ethanol or 98..  >:D
Post by: jr on January 16, 2015, 07:49:04 AM
Do people understand they already gave WW the extra savings they will get by paying more or spending more at their supermarkets?
Then give more by spending extra $10 in petrol shop.

Only works at all IF, even then its hardly worth the effort.
You're shopping at WW anyway, spending more than minimum amount at supermarket anyway.

Rest assured you arent getting anything for free.
Its a scam to convince you to spend more.
Post by: D4D on January 16, 2015, 07:51:33 AM
Do people understand they already gave WW the extra savings they will get by paying more or spending more at their supermarkets?
Then give more by spending extra $10 in petrol shop.

Only works at all IF, even then its hardly worth the effort.
You're shopping at WW anyway, spending more than minimum amount at supermarket anyway.

Rest assured you arent getting anything for free.
Its a scam to convince you to spend more.

Really? I didn't spend anything at a supermarket and received 10c/L off last fill...