General => General Discussion => Topic started by: muzza01 on January 01, 2015, 12:33:04 PM

Title: Miserable neighbours being unneighbourly
Post by: muzza01 on January 01, 2015, 12:33:04 PM
So bit of a background to the story. We live on a 1 acre block as do the neighbours on either side of us.  Next door neighbours on one side are in their 60s and are always winging about stuff. They are very quiet, stick to themselves, never have parties, never even have visitors (no friends). We used to talk over the fence to them but they are the type of people that winge and whine about everything from every local business in Cairns to the weather, about other neighbours everything. They feuded that badly with their other next door neighbours that they sold up and moved after living there for 20 years.

They are so miserable that we have been avoiding them for some time as when you ask them "how are you going" they just winge.  Anyways... We have a large mango tree down the back loaded with beautiful Bowen mangoes. A week ago, Me and the Mrs was picking some mangoes when the Mrs pointed out a big bunch hanging over the fence on my neighbours side, I said no, leave them for the next door neighbours to eat.

3 days ago i notice Kathy from next door (I call her Kathy Bates from Misery) ;D picking all of the mangoes from her side off the tree, I then notice her picking up the dead fruit from the ground and throwing them over the fence to my side. I know it's her legal right but I reckon it's pretty low anyways this morning we notice her cutting the branches down on her side and throwing them on our side. 

Me and the Mrs go down and have words with her this morning (happy new year) ??? I said if she had mentioned it was a problem I would have cut them down. Now we are feuding. It Shits me as I have helped them out on a few occasions by fixing their push mower and ride on mower. Not any more.

I know it's their legal right to do this but IMO, it's very unneighbourly. I get along really well with my other neighbours, over the years I have cut down branches from his side many times that I dispose of. I would never throw them back over his side.

So what do you other swaggers think? Am I being unreasonable?
Title: Re: Miserable neighbours being unneighbourly
Post by: paceman on January 01, 2015, 12:40:20 PM
i don't think you are being unreasonable at all.

neighbours like that would sh*t me, too...

everything by the book from now on, but i certainly wouldn't go out of my way to help them anymore...
Post by: gclan on January 01, 2015, 12:49:39 PM
Such a shame for you, but it's their loss!

Love the Kathy Bates reference. If we don't hear from you on here for a while, we'll send in the cavalry ;D

Post by: KingBilly on January 01, 2015, 12:51:31 PM
Mate, don't let their attitude get to you.  They will always be grumpy a**sholes, no matter what.  Nothing you can do will change them.  Move on, before it eats away at you.  Have an early New Years beer and take the branches to the dump tomorrow.

Remember the old saying, don't argue with fools, they will just drag you down to their level  ;D

Post by: jetcrew on January 01, 2015, 12:57:59 PM
I feel ya pain mate..just write them off ....

After my dispute and since being 100% by the book as mentioned I have had no issue with my troublesome neighbours. They throw the palm branches back over but that's fine by me. 

When their shed door was left open in the rain/storm and it was blowing litres of water into their house ..I was busy collecting my palm leaves. When the council ranger was collecting thier dog off the street and asked if I knew the owner I was so tired from collecting my palm branches I forgot whose dog it was....LOL  and they had to pay to get it out.

send em a bill for the mangoes they ate as clearly by their own assertion all of that tree and any items associated with it belong to you ....LOL

Look at the bright side they will most likely die before you... ;D ;D ;D ;D and don't feel sorry for them because they were most  likely a PITA long before they got old ;D ;D ;D

Jet ;D ;D
Post by: D4D on January 01, 2015, 01:08:43 PM
As others have said, ignore them and move on.
Post by: baldheadedgit on January 01, 2015, 01:44:13 PM
LMAO... i got  one like that next door to me.... they do walk among us... ;D
Just go with Jets idea's ................
Then have another Beer for the new year....................... :cup:

BHG
Post by: Bird on January 01, 2015, 02:11:23 PM
its amazing how you never appreciate brilliant neighbours until you have another form of human next door.

Back home we had same neighbours on one side from early 1970's until I moved in the early 00's... 
They were there until they passed away in 5yrs ago. Great friendly people they were... wish they were our neighbours now...
Post by: AdrianLR on January 01, 2015, 02:20:13 PM
We have a similar mix - one great the others......I've plotted revenge many a time! Not worth the effort though. Leave them be in their miserable little universe and spend your time with those more worthy. Very difficult when you have to look at them/their property every day though.

Post by: austastar on January 01, 2015, 02:42:16 PM
   Yep, let it wash of like water from a duck.  Don't provoke the situation what ever you do, it may (or may not) blow over.

We now have beaut  neighbours, but the previous one was the harridan from hell.

Post by: Paul (SA) on January 01, 2015, 02:49:51 PM
Just make sure the mangoes don't grow on their side of the fence next year, lest there be any trouble.
Post by: 03hilux on January 01, 2015, 03:17:15 PM
Send them a bill for the mangoes they took off your tree. Hopefully, they will then bill you for the arborist work they performed to your tree. If all goes well, then both bills will be of equal value, and would become good ground to call it even. They might get the message then.

Another option is to carry on life saying hello and being polite, but not going above and beyond, but not pushing them away.  They could be reluctant to call upon you when they really need help or when you need help if you do.

My brother lived in a duplex for a few years. He painted all the timber work outside, planted nice gardens and had a healthy lawn. The old whinger in the other half of the duplex didnt like the colour, so painted over it, he didnt like some of the plants because of allergies, so he ripped them out, all without my brothers permission.
 So biting his tongue, my brother repainted and replanted. Again, the neighbour repeated his acts of vandalism. My brother was smart enough to take pics during the renos, install a camera and film the vandalism. He went to the police, and when the police visited next door, the whinger said he had allergies to the plants, wasnt happy with the paint ( a very similar colour to his own), and didnt want the neighbourhood to think it was a duplex. The police didnt care for his excuses. They charged him with tresspass and malicious damage and also impossed a 12 month good behaviour order on him. During the 12months, he sold up and moved.

Post by: muzza01 on January 01, 2015, 03:26:40 PM
I have decided to cleanup the branches tomorrow (too hung over today) and I will trim back a few other branches that are hanging over. I won't provoke the situation but they are dead to me, I won't help them ever again.

I have to share one story about them though. A few years ago he was complaining about his old Cox ride on mower that it was on its last legs. He asked what is a good brand of ride on to buy for around $3500. I said John Deere, Husky and Toro, play them off against each other to get the best deal. He buys a husky.

A few weeks later, Mrs MISERY asks for help with mowers not working as Mr MISERY is interstate. I go over and fix their POS GMC brand push mower. (Broken spark plug)
I start up the ride on but as soon as I engage the PTO the blades start hitting the inside of the deck. I shut it down and said to Mrs MISERY, "did you run into something with the ride on as the deck is out of alignment" she says yeah, I accidentally ran into a small tree stump.

I said I need to remove and refit the cutting deck to fix the ride on, she says don't worry about it, it's brand new under warranty, Mr MISERY will sort it out when he comes back from interstate trip.

A few weeks later I run in to Mr MISERY in the yard mowing, I said "oh, you fixed the deck yourself or did you take it back to Husqvarna?  He says no, I just cut about 5mm off each end of the blades ???
OK, whatever, not my problem but it would have been just as easy to realign the deck rather than trim 5mm off the blades for the rest of its life.

For the next 12 months he winged and whined about the performance of the Husky as it gave a terrible cut compared to my lawn. Every time I saw him he would comment on how good my lawn looked compared to his lawn and also remind me that it was I that recommended he buy the Husqvarna. For some reason his lawn did look crap and the cutting quality of his machine was very ordinary.

One day we are both mowing at the same time and both pull up for a chat. He begins his rant about the cutting quality of his Husqvarna for about the 6th time in the last 12 months. This time I offer to have a closer look at his machine. Anyway after a closer inspection, I suggest he drive it over to my shed as I want to take his blades off, turn them upside down and refit them.

He asked me "can you do that with these blades Muz?" I said "not normally, but your blades are upside down Miss Jane". He just looked at me with this blank look in his eyes slowly realising that when he removed the blades a year earlier to trim them he must have installed them upside down. For the last 12 months he as been cutting grass with the blunt edge of the blades  :D
He has been wingding about his Husky for no reason. Once the blades were swapped around the performance of the cut was dramatically improved and his turf turned into a nice lawn.

About a year ago he whinges  about the steering on his mower once again bagging out Husky. He had never put any grease into the steering and each tyre had less than 5psi of air in them. I pumped up his tyres and greased up all of his points on the ride on. Surprise surprise the steering problem is fixed.
Moron ???.  Oh well, I won't be helping out Mr and Mrs MISERY ever again. :-*
Post by: 03hilux on January 01, 2015, 03:33:33 PM
I have decided to cleanup the branches tomorrow (too hung over today) and I will trim back a few other branches that are hanging over. I won't provoke the situation but they are dead to me, I won't help them ever again.

I have to share one story about them though. A few years ago he was complaining about his old Cox ride on mower that it was on its last legs. He asked what is a good brand of ride on to buy for around $3500. I said John Deere, Husky and Toro, play them off against each other to get the best deal. He buys a husky.

A few weeks later, Mrs MISERY asks for help with mowers not working as Mr MISERY is interstate. I go over and fix their POS GMC brand push mower. (Broken spark plug)
I start up the ride on but as soon as I engage the PTO the blades start hitting the inside of the deck. I shut it down and said to Mrs MISERY, "did you run into something with the ride on as the deck is out of alignment" she says yeah, I accidentally ran into a small tree stump.

I said I need to remove and refit the cutting deck to fix the ride on, she says don't worry about it, it's brand new under warranty, Mr MISERY will sort it out when he comes back from interstate trip.

A few weeks later I run in to Mr MISERY in the yard mowing, I said "oh, you fixed the deck yourself or did you take it back to Husqvarna?  He says no, I just cut about 5mm off each end of the blades ???
OK, whatever, not my problem but it would have been just as easy to realign the deck rather than trim 5mm off the blades for the rest of its life.

For the next 12 months he winged and whined about the performance of the Husky as it gave a terrible cut compared to my lawn. Every time I saw him he would comment on how good my lawn looked compared to his lawn and also remind me that it was I that recommended he buy the Husqvarna. For some reason his lawn did look crap and the cutting quality of his machine was very ordinary.

One day we are both mowing at the same time and both pull up for a chat. He begins his rant about the cutting quality of his Husqvarna for about the 6th time in the last 12 months. This time I offer to have a closer look at his machine. Anyway after a closer inspection, I suggest he drive it over to my shed as I want to take his blades off, turn them upside down and refit them.

He asked me "can you do that with these blades Muz?" I said "not normally, but your blades are upside down Miss Jane". He just looked at me with this blank look in his eyes slowly realising that when he removed the blades a year earlier to trim them he must have installed them upside down. For the last 12 months he as been cutting grass with the blunt edge of the blades  :D
He has been wingding about his Husky for no reason. Once the blades were swapped around the performance of the cut was dramatically improved and his turf turned into a nice lawn.

About a year ago he whinges  about the steering on his mower once again bagging out Husky. He had never put any grease into the steering and each tyre had less than 5psi of air in them. I pumped up his tyres and greased up all of his points on the ride on. Surprise surprise the steering problem is fixed.
Moron ???.  Oh well, I won't be helping out Mr and Mrs MISERY ever again. :-*

You could always buy them a horse rug each. When the say "but we don't have any horses" you could then reply with " but you carry on like an old nag, so I thought you could do with them"
Post by: oldmate on January 01, 2015, 03:38:58 PM
Cant wait to hear your reply the next time he has a whinge to you. lol.

Some people are just born like them mate. dont worry about them. Except trim your mango tree back so no branches over hang their fence. That way thay can go pay $4 a mango like every other person. Idiots!
Post by: edz on January 01, 2015, 04:00:18 PM
Get a syringe and go inject the overhanging branches of Mangos with liquid laxettes  ;D
Post by: Memem284 on January 01, 2015, 04:25:24 PM
I completely agree with your angst.

But one thing to remember is that the law actually states that any overhanging branches in your yard can be trimmed but must be returned to the owner of the tree (over the fence). Apparently it goes back to laws re orchards and fruit dropping over the fence.

We had a "neighbourly" issue re a tree and found this out.

Their overall attitude is obviously very negative and you'll never win. Enjoy those yummy mangoes and "stuff 'em".
Post by: muzza01 on January 01, 2015, 04:32:27 PM
Cant wait to hear your reply the next time he has a whinge to you. lol.
That way thay can go pay $4 a mango like every other person. Idiots!
Best crop of mangoes in 7 years. Beautiful sweet and massive mangoes. That is why I left them for the neighbours. I won't make that mistake again. :-*
Post by: speewa158 on January 01, 2015, 04:43:11 PM
l bout a house some years ago , the day l moved in the Bloke next door arrived to tell me we needed a new fence , l said  " Can l unpack 1st then look at the fence " ??? Some 5 years later still with the same fence l approached him about said fence with holes & rot & big gaps .
l was told we don't need a new fence , we are 1 big happy family , we have no secrets to hide . l gave him 2 quotes for fences & 28 days to make a decision . l was told to call a Taxidermist & dream on .
 l was upset ,,,,,,so
l took to pegging out the washing in the " Buff "
Watering the lawn in my own special way when l needed to
Always reminding him of the fencing requirements .
He put the house up for sale , sold & moved away . The new owner wanted my approval to develop the block into 2 townhouses . Before l approved the plans l requested a new fence , extra height , & at his expense . Done & dusted .
Wait the Silly Old Bugger out , be nice , do nothing  & wait for the Karma Buss to back up the drive .
l know a bloke that was charged $85 for a Aussie blade conversion kit for the   Ebay purchased ride on  after he tried to hang it on the local dealer for warranty . He tooooo had the blades around the wrong way  :laugh: :cheers:
Post by: dazzler on January 01, 2015, 04:52:40 PM
As others have said, ignore them and move on.

Yep.  Life is short.
Post by: austastar on January 01, 2015, 04:54:39 PM

l took to pegging out the washing in the " Buff "

(http://www.myconfinedspace.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/badimage.thumbnail.jpg)

Post by: muzza01 on January 01, 2015, 05:04:26 PM
Wait the Silly Old Bugger out , be nice , do nothing  & wait for the Karma Buss to back up the drive .
l know a bloke that was charged $85 for a Aussie blade conversion kit for the   Ebay purchased ride on  after he tried to hang it on the local dealer for warranty . He tooooo had the blades around the wrong way  :laugh: :cheers:
I would love to wait them out. I am not going anywhere, they have been trying to sell their house on and off for about 3 years. They want $850k, it's probably worth $650 maybe $700k tops.
The reason he was feuding with his other neighbour was because Mr and Mrs Misery decided to build a two story mansion (to on sell as quickly as possible)blocking the other neighbours spectacular views down the Valley. To add insult to injury Mr MISERY planted a whole row of Indian mask trees to purposely block out his neighbours views.

Mr MISERY said to me that he won't sell until they get $850k so I guess they will never move.
Post by: Black Diamond on January 01, 2015, 06:39:53 PM
What a bunch of old prunes they are  ??? The blade story is a pissa and why the hell you wouldn't check your tyre pressures it's just common sense and  just plain lazy ;D

Looking forward to the next instalment, this story is juicy just like your mangoes :cheers:

Post by: austastar on January 01, 2015, 07:21:04 PM
To add insult to injury Mr MISERY planted a whole row of Indian mask trees to purposely block out his neighbours views.

    similar happened nearby, but blue gums.  Funny they didn't grow! The other neighbour watered them every night with water from a nice shiny kettle.

Post by: speewa158 on January 01, 2015, 08:35:09 PM
Coming from  a Southern State l have heard the these trees need trace elements to grow well  , have they been treated with a copper screw to enhance growth  . lt might work up there though it hasn't worked here    ,    so lm told  .

But what would l know
Post by: achjimmy on January 01, 2015, 09:14:21 PM
Iam with d4d and Daz! just move on Muzz. Maybe next year prune the branches before fruit so the poor old misery guts don't have to do them, but just treat them as dead and smile and wave!
Post by: Beefa Toyota on January 01, 2015, 09:15:32 PM
Hi Muzza have just been reading the thread on your d..khead neighbor had to laugh out loud would not know a good thing if it bit him on the arse
Cheers Brian
Post by: bazt on January 01, 2015, 09:24:08 PM
Similar problem here but he is drunk most of the time. She is a nice lady and tries to keep him civil.
I throw his palm leaves back to him and have had the real estate agent remove the nut dropping branches of his trees on a couple of occasions.
Just ignore them and enjoy your life  :cheers:
Post by: jeeps on January 01, 2015, 10:03:08 PM
Yes just wait them out or ignore them. Although, your neighbors sound absolutely peachy compared to mine. Last year I installed a dozen cctv cameras and a few hidden trailcams and a 7ft fence due to my neighbours. Luckily they moved out a few months ago and the new neighbors are much better to deal with!
Post by: Black Diamond on January 01, 2015, 10:09:31 PM
Yes just wait them out or ignore them. Although, your neighbors sound absolutely peachy compared to mine. Last year I installed a dozen cctv cameras and a few hidden trailcams and a 7ft fence due to my neighbours. Luckily they moved out a few months ago and the new neighbors are much better to deal with!
Jeezus mate they must have been pretty hardcore  ;D :police:
Post by: jeeps on January 01, 2015, 11:47:42 PM
Jeezus mate they must have been pretty hardcore  ;D :police:

When they first moved in I went and said hi and started a great relationship. He had a 4wd (something in common) and kids and I actually thought I had a nice neighbor/family move in. Lets just say after a month or so of robbing fellow neighbors (being seen in the act by me and other neighbors) & hiding stolen cars and daily police visits of 2-3 police vehicles at a time became a regular occurance. I wouldn't have believed the stuff they did if i didn't see it with my own eyes. Turns out his 4wd was stolen too. I went out and installed the cameras and new fence at my cost (i wanted my fence my way) and made damn sure they saw me do it. We live in a nice quiet acreage street in a little small town where most of my neighbors are nice old retirees, been here almost a decade but never seen this out here before. The police visited them almost daily for months several cars at a time, they were renting for 6 months but long gone now. The new neighbors are much better... so far...

I've got some awesome security setup now. ;)

Post by: speewa158 on January 02, 2015, 05:39:19 AM
A friend in Meld has the ultimate  Bogan family next door . Norma street 4 or 5 people living in the house  ( depending on whos out at the time ) 4 cars in front 3 down the side . At any 1 timethe daily ride can be striped down to clean & repaint the suspension that will fill in the arvo  with the music pumping . When the Skyline was pushed off the trailer at 12.30Am it only lasted 3 weeks before it was torched at 3Am . Depending on bale conditions the cops could pop in for a chat  if the wanted is home ( or in hiding ) . Untill l put up the 12ft screen beside the fence the back yard was on view from their dunny window . l borrowed a mates rig  & parked in the back yard overnight to return it the next day . l was asked where did l get it , told him stolen , asked if he cold have the roof rack for a mate .. Really there are some numb skulls out there  :cheers:
Post by: Crimso on January 02, 2015, 07:03:16 PM
A friend in Meld has the ultimate  Bogan family next door . Norma street 4 or 5 people living in the house  ( depending on whos out at the time ) 4 cars in front 3 down the side . At any 1 timethe daily ride can be striped down to clean & repaint the suspension that will fill in the arvo  with the music pumping . When the Skyline was pushed off the trailer at 12.30Am it only lasted 3 weeks before it was torched at 3Am . Depending on bale conditions the cops could pop in for a chat  if the wanted is home ( or in hiding ) . Untill l put up the 12ft screen beside the fence the back yard was on view from their dunny window . l borrowed a mates rig  & parked in the back yard overnight to return it the next day . l was asked where did l get it , told him stolen , asked if he cold have the roof rack for a mate .. Really there are some numb skulls out there  :cheers:

So I take it that you didn't give him the roof rack? ;D
Post by: muzza01 on January 03, 2015, 12:25:00 PM
Here is a pic of the mango trees causing the dispute

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps4e97d4f1.jpg)

Here is some of the beautiful mangoes up for grabs. She picked most of the mangoes before cutting the lower breaches and throwing them over my fence.

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps887f2ac0.jpg)
Post by: muzza01 on January 03, 2015, 12:30:26 PM
Mrs MISERY lives on the left hand side of the fence. I got the chainsaw out and cut all of the lower branches down.  Hopefully this will keep her happy.

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsdc0da0d9.jpg)

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps247340a7.jpg)
Post by: edz on January 03, 2015, 12:47:46 PM
Couldnt have liked them too much Muzz, if they cut their free supply of fruit bearing branches off .. Nice tree of fruit too .
Post by: oldmate on January 03, 2015, 01:05:49 PM
Make sure you climb the tree and get the good fruit from her side before it hits the deck.
Post by: alnjan on January 03, 2015, 01:11:55 PM
You can have our lovely old neighbour.  We live in a rural setting.  A tree fell over our driveways and despite everything we clear both driveways of said fallen tree only to be accused of poisoning the trees to start with and making them fall on her driveway.  The only upside is the feud has been going that long now, started with them and my parents, she is now that old and senile she doesn't remember who I am anymore so last time the same thing happened she thanked us and offered a cuppa.  We declined her offer and kept clearing the driveway.  As much as she is the proverbial we cannot NOT clear the driveway just in case she has an emergency like setting fire to her house again. 
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 04, 2015, 06:54:08 AM
Hey Muzz,

Find out if the smelly old toad has a ladder or not and then trim the tree so the mangoes are just out of reach.

Some might fall, so install a bit of netting and angle it towards your place, so any mangoes that commit suicide and jump, will fall into the net and roll into your place.

Then, set up a wheelie bin out of reach from them in your yard, so the mangoes roll down the net and straight into the wheelie bin.

A folding chair and six pack are optional if you want to sit back and watch the reaction to the above.  ;D
Post by: muzza01 on January 04, 2015, 07:06:44 AM
Hey Muzz,

Find out if the smelly old toad has a ladder or not and then trim the tree so the mangoes are just out of reach.

Some might fall, so install a bit of netting and angle it towards your place, so any mangoes that commit suicide and jump, will fall into the net and roll into your place.

Then, set up a wheelie bin out of reach from them in your yard, so the mangoes roll down the net and straight into the wheelie bin.

A folding chair and six pack are optional if you want to sit back and watch the reaction to the above.  ;D
I like that idea. Plus the "smelly old toad" reference gave me another idea. ;D
I usually whack cane toads over our back fence with an old tennis racquet; I think I might start sending them them over next doors fence >:D from now on.
Post by: fishfinder on January 04, 2015, 07:19:43 AM
just plant bougainvillea along the rest of the boundary and let it grow thick so they can not throw what they trim over your side of the boundary
Post by: speewa158 on January 04, 2015, 09:12:02 AM
l do believe by law any tree branches that you grow are your by law & must be returned . Something about firewood supply in the bad old days  . Don't know about rotting Mangos though  :cheers:
Post by: edz on January 04, 2015, 09:31:58 AM
Just build a smaller version of this and sit back on the veranda with a few beers  and launch a few  bucket loads of toads onto them https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Om0O0_gr6Vo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Om0O0_gr6Vo)  ;D
Post by: Mik01 on January 04, 2015, 11:51:15 AM
I know it's legally ok, but am I the only one who feels a bit stingy about cutting leaves etc and throwing them over the boundary? I just can't do it - I know it's annoying, yet legal, and so I wouldn't do it to my neighbours as I know it would annoy me.

I either burn them or throw them in the bin.
Post by: Murph on January 04, 2015, 09:07:00 PM
Here in Vic you can cut the branches BUT must ask the person who owns the tree if they want them back if not you are not allowed to throw them over the fence .
Also we had to cut branches off his swamp gums , 30 m tall, and the arbourist had to make sure he didn't drop any thing into his back yard as he wasn't allowed to access the site from the neighbours yard at all .
Post by: Sawed-Off on January 04, 2015, 09:27:53 PM
Just shake your head about how many lousy people there are in the world and move on. I used to work with a guy that had issues with a neighbour. Things escalated and he stepped over the line a couple of times and wound up in court charged with criminal offenses. It's just not worth it.
Post by: BernieS on January 12, 2015, 02:21:34 PM
Seems to me a lot of tree issues could be avoided if people refrained from planting the wrong sort of trees too close to a dividing fence line.
We live next to an idiot who planted gum trees 800cm from the western side of our house. He's on two lots and has a whole yard in which to plant. Consequently, we had branches banging on the side of the house at night, keeping us awake. (yeah we live in the city, and blocks are a lot smaller here)  Then he planted a cocos palm, (which is deemed a weed by the local council) beside my laundry door, consequently bats ****ting everywhere.  A really nice health hazard.   In the meantime, he got the message about the  gums he cut one down, but took years for him to remove the stump, then took him two years to cut down a dead mango tree and when he did he used a pissy little electric pruner!!!!  He's not a gardener, well come to think of it, he's not much into any sort of maintenance.  His back deck is slowly falling off his house, a piece at a time.  I constantly have to clean up weeds he lets grow, eg. Wandering Jew, our poor dog is allergic to the stuff and has had two, visits to the vet.  So I poisoned the weeds along the fenceline with path weeder, he accuses me of killing one of his trees and if I dare as much cut one inch off his trees again, he is gonna call the police.  Told him to go ahead.  I just might organise a QCAT order to have all his trees removed from beside my house as they are blocking my light.  This is only a small sample of what we've had to put up with over the years from this Dork and his Gork.   They also like to copy everything we do.  We had a company install sun sails over our driveway beside the eastern boundry to shade vehicles, steel posts were concreted at the appropriate depth into the ground with all the correct fittings for the sails to be attached too.  Dork hangs a sail and ties it to the dividing fence  between our properties. Didn't ask us, just did it. So now its pulling the fence over, their double gates can't be closed any more..  I then got accused of cutting their Sail off the fence,  ??? when the fine gauge wire snapped, during some wild weather... give me strength!
Post by: theins on January 12, 2015, 03:03:04 PM
Mazza,  just move on. You are not going to change them and will only become bitter and twisted in the process.... life is too short....
Post by: briann532 on January 12, 2015, 03:19:59 PM
We have D![khead neighbours too..........

We just find it much easier to smile sweetly, be polite and just get on with life.

I feel your pain though, we've had some shockers over the years. Sometimes they just get your goat up!!!
I have learnt though it is just better to get on with life.
Don't give them the satisfaction of letting it get to you.
You know you're the better person, so just move onto the planning of your next trip.................
Then post photos here...

Post by: tk421 on January 12, 2015, 03:42:51 PM
My father was a lawyer and said after divorces, neighbour disputes are the nastiest.

Years ago I would have got annoyed and done something. But in my older age I have mellowed and I think being civil (wave and a hello) but ignoring them is the best way to go about it. Otherwise you are falling to their levels. In this case it is just petty behaviour.

I've had a few nasty neighbours but the one that sticks out is from many years ago in a London flat share - which was an old Victorian house converted to flats. We had a crazy neighbour below who complained about anything and everything we did. Especially noise where he would retaliate by playing Madonna "Ray of Light" at full volume. One time he put it on repeat and went out all day. It wasn't  party house it was over things like our TV or Spin drier being above 900rpm.  Our water pipes went through his flat too and he had installed a stop cock on them. Any perceived slight could also be dealt with by turning off our water supply. Usually we had to go and ask to turn them back on and apologise for whatever it was we'd supposedly done (coming home late, leaving a bicycle in the communal entrance, parking in 'his spot' etc etc).  He also 'renovated' his bath room by removing the ceiling which left just our floorboards between us and him - we could see through them into his bathroom and him into ours. It was like that for weeks.

The water stoppages stopped after we warned him not to do it again, and he did. So we called the cops to report the presence of the tall suspicious plants he had in his greenhouse.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 12, 2015, 03:44:35 PM
Make sure you climb the tree and get the good fruit from her side before it hits the deck.

And give them to the neighbours on the other side   ;D
Post by: oldmate on January 12, 2015, 05:22:03 PM
And give them to the neighbours on the other side   ;D

>:D >:D >:D your just as evil as me. I like it  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Moggy on January 12, 2015, 07:22:01 PM
Make some mango chutney & give them some as well as other neighbors, then if the pull the same $hit next year just make it out of the rotten ones they throw back & give that to them ????
Post by: ako on January 13, 2015, 05:44:53 AM
Life's too short.

Get payback when you can.

Wait till he goes out and push some fish heads under his house.  >:D  ;D
Post by: Ozsnowman on January 13, 2015, 06:23:24 AM
You can have my miserable* early 20's neighbours over the road - they had the nerve to set up an inflatable pool in their garage and cavort about in there in their bikinis all day during the last spell of hot weather! Sheesh!

*(I say miserable as they didn't invite me over lol)
Post by: bentnose on January 13, 2015, 09:33:07 AM
neighbours gum tree dropped a huge limb into my yard last weekend. missed the cnr of the house by inches
I only get 1 day off a week and I had to spend half of it on the chain and hand handsaw/ grrrrrrrrrrrr. useless pricks didn't even offer to help or assist. I have over the years asked them to do something about it even had a tree lopper in and removed a limb that would have hit my house at my expense.

Im over neighbours trees so thinking about the original post my response is.
Its your tree hanging over the neighbours property that's causing the problem so prune it or remove it as its your responsibility.
Post by: Trailer Bloke on January 17, 2015, 08:27:56 AM
Mate I thought we had the best neighbours no party's no noise hardly ever seen  them until the cops raided there meth lab.
Post by: muzza01 on January 17, 2015, 09:23:39 AM
Im over neighbours trees so thinking about the original post my response is.
Its your tree hanging over the neighbours property that's causing the problem so prune it or remove it as its your responsibility.
Cheers for the advice Bentnose; I might ignore yours and listen to the majority that responded instead. :-*

A bit of an update. I speak to oldmate next door last week. I shake his hand, wish him a Happy New Year. I showed him how I had cut back branches with my chainsaw, asked him if he was happy with the tree.

He tells me that he never had a problem with the tree, he said his Mrs just got a bee in her bonnet and decided to do what she did.  He said they both had words about what she did and she now regrets cutting the branches and throwing them over.  I tell him that if there is ever an issue, let me know and I will fix it. We both shake hands, all done and dusted.

Mrs Misery however can go and get...... >:D
Post by: tk421 on January 17, 2015, 09:46:17 AM
Cheers for the advice Bentnose; I might ignore yours and listen to the majority that responded instead. :-*

A bit of an update. I speak to oldmate next door last week. I shake his hand, wish him a Happy New Year. I showed him how I had cut back branches with my chainsaw, asked him if he was happy with the tree.

He tells me that he never had a problem with the tree, he said his Mrs just got a bee in her bonnet and decided to do what she did.  He said they both had words about what she did and she now regrets cutting the branches and throwing them over.  I tell him that if there is ever an issue, let me know and I will fix it. We both shake hands, all done and dusted.

Mrs Misery however can go and get...... >:D

Just goes to show how a friendly chat can often resolve an issue before it escalates too far
Post by: Reverend on January 17, 2015, 02:07:25 PM
I wish you were our neighbour, My wife and I just love mangoes. We have a similar problem, neighbours on the right are great but the left ...well you know. My good friend unless you are prepared to leave, I would just throw them into the too hard basket and leave them to their misery. Good time to plan a long camping trip!