General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Garfish on December 18, 2014, 08:13:00 PM
Lifestyle have a new offering, a pop up.
http://www.lifestylecampertrailers.com.au/camper-trailers-gallery/camper-trailers-crossovers/lifestyle-reconn/ (http://www.lifestylecampertrailers.com.au/camper-trailers-gallery/camper-trailers-crossovers/lifestyle-reconn/)
I like that :cup: Something different. And the starting price is good as well
when someone has a look can you tell me how it sleeps 4 comfortably? form the pics it only has the one main bed, how does it sleep the other 2? I like the look of it 8)
X2 must drop the toilet and fit a small bunk maybe?
Love the colour scheme though!
Disco teddy.
A very interesting concept....a real cross between a hard floor and a caravan.
Very new approach to the outdoor kitchen.
Every time a new design like this comes out, it just makes it harder and harder if your in the market. ??? ???
I wonder how much of this design uses aspects from their other designs...ie..how likely is it to/or not to have early issues.
MarkVS
How long before MDC copy it?
I like it... Where is the shower??
And it's still a caravan. :)
Not bloody long I reckon. Have probably bought a prototype already.
I like it!!!
But it is a caravan, and at 35 I'm way to young to own a caravan ;D ;D
The future XT20... ;D
I like that :cup: Something different. And the starting price is good as well
you coming over to the dark side
Rusty
This looks great, we had the AT10 with bunks slated as our next camper but this might be the number one contender now. I've shot Lifestyle an email asking about the sleeping configuration for 4.
I also liked their quote “we don’t copy; we create!”
you coming over to the dark side
Rusty
Funny man. You know there is a difference between a light weight 12 foot pop top and a hulking great Taj Mahal dual axle behemoth like what you own :D :D :D :D. Maybe I am just going over to the "slightly grey" side. ;D ;D
True. They don't do it too well though. They got bagged out pretty well for their copy of the AT10 (XT10) in Decembers Camper Trailer Australia magazine. Looks like a bit of a fail on their behalf. :-*
Yep looks good !
You will notice that Lifestyle is showing a "patent pending" which will stop the Chinese in their tracks (or at least slow them down somewhat). The extra accommodation for 2 is on the lower floor which can take a double bed and is accessible from either inside or out.
It is my understanding that Patents don't mean anything in China?
I like it
Not sure if it comes with an awning however looking by how much the kitchen door raises up
I also like how the " throne " is right next to the fridge so you can grub a tinny whilst on the crapper ;D
Patents may not mean anything in China but wait until one hits the ground in Australia.
I just went an had a look at one. VERY interesting.
You have to be a bit careful, as always, as what comes with base price and what are options. It is, much more of a base setup, that you then have to add the bits and customisations you want.
But the beauty of it is, that it seems to have a large amount of potential to do different things. Anybody that is handy, could pick up a base unit, for a god price, and mod it up themselves and have a realy good setup.
And there is SO much storage. There really is heaps.
Awning can run from the top of the 'pop-top' or they are going to do a 'curved' one that runs from the top of the van solid side walls. (base of the pop-top).
Inside, you step up onto the bed using steps that are there, like in a soft floor camper. The top of the bed is in line with the base of the pop-top section. All of the storage, is from the base of the bed to the wheel arches. A large amount of it...that they use for the kitchen on one side, and just a big open area on the other.
The area in front of the bed, where the door is, is available for fridge, or toilet, or shower, or whatever.
It only weighs 1100kg tare, with a ball weight of 100kg.
It has basic electrics as standard (only 12v no 240V at all, 100W solar on the roof, 1x120ah battery etc), 1 spare tyre, no internal heating. The cooktop/sink are basic. Not much pantry area. That you would need to look at how you would mod to get something more substantial.
They are using the same frame, chassis, vehicle components suspension, etc as their AT models which all looks very solid. Nothing hangs below the floor, Even the water tanks are above the floor so they cant get damaged.
As I said, it looks a great concept. Got the options and prices list..haven't done sums yet, but the price point looks pretty interesting as well.
Its making me have a second look.
MarkVS
I too am wanting to know how the sleeping for 4 can work.
But it looks like a good idea and meets my needs ...
- Sleeping for 4
- Very quick setup
- Outdoor shower pre-hooked up
- Lots of onboard water
- Great outside kitchen
- Lightweight
- Not crazily priced
My Extenda might be on the market soon ...
The storage space can accommodate a double bed with a tent hanging off the lifted hatch (see pic attached).(http://file:///C:/Users/Sales2/Pictures/2014-12-06%20Reconn/MBP_7756%20-%20Copy.jpg)
has def caught my eye esp if they are prepared to cut things out like say for instance ...wiring and solar ;D ;D ;D ;D
Jet ;D
The storage space can accommodate a double bed with a tent hanging off the lifted hatch (see pic attached).
No pic attached mate
Here is the area of the RECONN that can be used for sleeping 2 additional bodies.
I don't, or never have owned a lifestyle product. However, I think they are to be congratulated for bringing some realism (particularly price wise) into the market. Their 'hardshell' products look excellent and hopefully they sell well.
Here is the area of the RECONN that can be used for sleeping 2 additional bodies.
This area is refrigerated ??
Seriously, this does look very interesting and has caused me to pause tonight. I've been in discussions with a FF campertrailer company because I really haven't found what I was looking for in a O/R caravan and thought we'd give a FF CT a go for awhile. Expecting to buy something right after the new year.
Does anyone know about availability on base units?
This area is refrigerated ??
Seriously, this does look very interesting and has caused me to pause tonight. I've been in discussions with a FF campertrailer company because I really haven't found what I was looking for in a O/R caravan and thought we'd give a FF CT a go for awhile. Expecting to buy something right after the new year.
Does anyone know about availability on base units?
Give lifestyle a call would probably be the best.
I did call. Availability is good for both a Recon or AT-12 and have received options and spec lists for both models from them. There are a lot of options (==$$)
Need to get up there and see them and the other prospective vendor, a FF CT. I still like the Eco-Tourer Offroad but not a fan of inside kitchens though or their fold up tow bar.
I'm no lawyer but I think you'll find that the Patent will mean nothing if made in china and imported for sale it will only stop you from copying said product, manufacturing it and reselling it from within Australia...sad for Australian manufacturing industry....
Well it is proving to be very popular. Spoke to the chaps at Lifestyle today and apparently they secured orders for 12 Reconns at the Adelaide show last weekend!
They will have one at the 4x4 show in Brisbane next month if you are interested in having a look. The photos on the website are of a very optioned one so not the $39750 advertised price.
I like the size and weight and I think they are on a winner especially if you are able to option yourself at a later date as $$ are available.
I have an AT10, and I like the look of the Reconn....but the game changer for me is the bed.....when you have a van ( or camper ) and you literally fall into bed, the idea of climbing up a ladder is not my idea of luxury.
Kitchens great, colour schemes great, but just that bed !!
I agree about the bed.
If it is pretty crappy weather on the AT10/12 Quantums etc etc you can pull down the top and still sleep. I reckon I would need to lose a lot of weight to do that in one of these. :)
And there is standing room only inside...horses for courses, and the high bed may suit some, but you'd definitely have to crawl around one before ordering ..
We crawled through three models at the factory, SWMBO loved the kitchen but as others have pointed out, 3 meter dive board to floor during night relief activities is not in our future....
AT 12 with mods, possibly or a Eco-Tourer 'Off-road' are our only two candidates for upgrades at this time. I don't like the idea of cooking inside at all, but like the drop down of the ET...
Spewing... We just brought our Kavango. But these look great.
The extra sleeping area is surely not in that box on the side though????
I also did notice the lack of awning. I guess that would be an option/extra$$$. But at $39k and Aussie built it does look really good. I like it ;D
Correct ;D. That's what I was told when I had a look at the showroom
I can still remember back to my childhood ( bits anyway !! ) and I'm sure it would have scared the hell out of me being put in a dark box and told to go to sleep !!! >:D >:D
Salesman told me they could add a door from the inside of the camper to the box ;D
I would not like it, bit claustrophobic
The extra sleeping area is bunks which replace Inside kitchen and toilet with a convertible dinette and a drop down bunk.
Quite a good idea. But as others have said, that's a long drop down at night......
Evo
Accept for the additional sleeping area, I think its great, good starting price and looks like its built with some strength in mind.
Theses type of hyper/crossovers are certainly becoming popular, best of both worlds if its your thing, hard walls and roof, with the ability to take it into remote areas.
If I could afford I would defo consider one.
:cheers: :cheers:
Just back looking at the Reconns and noticed the price. Man has that jumped. Started under $40k and now they are $47k
Was there on Saturday. Price was $43950. When I started adding extras I was quickly to $49500!
He also said the price is going up again shortly.
Price of being a new popular unit.
Or maximizing profits in a popular market ;D I wonder how long it will take to price themselves out of their niche, however AOR and Complete campsite are still selling hybrids at top $$.
James
The market will soon decide if the price is acceptable.
Yep good old supply and demand
Got quote through today. Base price is over $46 000. That is a sharp increase in 4 days!
Yes on their website for $46,950.
He did say there was a price rise coming.
Got quote through today. Base price is over $46 000. That is a sharp increase in 4 days!
If you were serious I would push for the price quoted to you on saturday as your base. You'd hope they would honour that discussion if you are placing an order.
the $47K price tag represents an approx 10% increase... which isn't too bad in percentage terms..
Anyway - they may as well put the price up to:
# Slowdown the runaway demand for the them a little
# Recoup their development costs
# 'cash up' now, before the opportunity is potentially plundered by Chinese knockoffs; (Patient Pending not withstanding?)..
# dont forget the "just in Time for xmas" syndrome - when everything goes up at peak times grrr
# Build a war chest for the next innovation..