General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on December 17, 2014, 05:09:06 PM

Title: Anyone else not going away at xmas??
Post by: Bird on December 17, 2014, 05:09:06 PM
Stuck working through xmas this year, anyone else stuck?
Title: Re: Anyone else not going away at xmas??
Post by: chester ver2.0 on December 17, 2014, 05:12:55 PM
Yep I don't have any kids so I volunteer to do the xmas new year thing most years it is OK as no one argues with me when I put in for other holidays I got 2 weeks off from the 12th Jan to make up for it
Post by: GeoffA on December 17, 2014, 05:25:05 PM
We're not going away at Christmas. Haven't for a few years.
I'll be off work from this Friday, through to 5 Jan. Got some things I need to do around home.
My lovely is working through. Like Chester, she doesn't get any arguments from colleagues.
We like to take a good break in the middle of the year, usually 6 weeks or so :cup:
Post by: xcvator on December 17, 2014, 05:36:14 PM
We don't go away in the school holidays if we can avoid it  8)
Post by: baldheadedgit on December 17, 2014, 05:39:12 PM
I don't go away cos I'm a tite arse.....  :-)
Post by: Ozsnowman on December 17, 2014, 05:39:42 PM
Would love to be heading somewhere, but funds are going to be tight, so no-go this time  :'(
Post by: oldmate on December 17, 2014, 05:48:39 PM
i know of a few people that are not going away this year
Post by: lino6 on December 17, 2014, 05:54:30 PM
Us.
Post by: D4D on December 17, 2014, 06:03:17 PM
'Working' through :)
Post by: Black Diamond on December 17, 2014, 06:05:27 PM
Yeh stuck at home and workng through. Heading to SA mid Jan though  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on December 17, 2014, 06:06:18 PM
Yeh stuck at home and workng through.

Cool, I might finally find some spare time to drop in and see the new digs :)
Post by: paceman on December 17, 2014, 06:10:14 PM
Never travel at Christmas. All the families are here.

Finish at work this Friday and go back on the 5th January...

Plenty of odd jobs to get down around the house...  :D
Post by: edz on December 17, 2014, 06:14:21 PM
As usual working right through only RDO'S etc off, and thats still not good enough for some of the Eagles above me who wanted me to work on one of my RDO's New Years Eve .... The change in the tone of voice was very noticable when they got the " no " reply..[ worked 16 of the last 20 of them ]..
Post by: Bird on December 17, 2014, 06:17:14 PM
Quote from: Black Diamond
Yeh stuck at home and workng through. Heading to SA mid Jan though  :cheers:
BBQ at BD's :D
Post by: hainess on December 17, 2014, 06:36:51 PM
I will have a couple of 4 day weekends  to finish the work trailer rebuild.

Was looking forward to a slow Christmas/New year, bit of golf,take the boat out, but.
It rained. Then stormed. And rained again. More storms for tomorrow.

Had calls from customers I hadn't seen for 3 months.
The grass is green and growing, the money's flowing but farq it's steamy.
Flat out now.

Rod
Post by: loanrangie on December 17, 2014, 07:01:56 PM
I'm off from Friday til 5th Jan and not sure we will go away or not, would rather wait til after the stupid season to go away when its a bit quieter.
Post by: oldmate on December 17, 2014, 07:11:31 PM
Never travel at Christmas. All the families are here.

Finish at work this Friday and go back on the 5th January...

Plenty of odd jobs to get down around the house...  :D

Plenty to do at mine too, but as I spend all bloody year doing that at other peoples places, I like my 2 week close down and ph turn off and go where no one apart from those invited can talk to me.  ;D

But your more then welcome to come do my odd jobs if you want.  ;D
Post by: fuji on December 17, 2014, 07:50:12 PM
Working 9-1 Chrissy day. Then off for a week from the 28th.
Post by: sol on December 17, 2014, 07:53:09 PM
Christmas Day and Boxing Day off then back to work. We are also looking after the kids dogs so THEY can go away. ;D
The first no camping Xmas for a long long time.

Post by: V8CRSA on December 17, 2014, 08:06:36 PM
We where planning to head away over the break, but we just sold our camper tonight so will not be going any where now.......good opportunity for a week of rest at home.

Post by: GUEY on December 17, 2014, 08:32:38 PM
Kids just wanted to stay home this xmas to play with their xmas pressies.
So we are staying home. Hope they won't be to disappointed in what they aren't getting  ;D
Post by: oldmate on December 17, 2014, 08:34:03 PM
Kids just wanted to stay home this xmas to play with their xmas pressies.
So we are staying home. Hope they won't be to disappointed in what they aren't getting  ;D

so what did you get them?? a paint brush and hammer??  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: GUEY on December 17, 2014, 08:35:48 PM
so what did you get them?? a paint brush and hammer??  ;D ;D ;D
Nope. Just the sheer pleasure of my company. That will stuff em  ;D
Post by: oldmate on December 17, 2014, 09:00:53 PM
Nope. Just the sheer pleasure of my company. That will stuff em  ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D :cup:
Post by: DropBearRacing on December 17, 2014, 09:04:26 PM
Working all over Xmas, on-call xmas day and new years day as well.
Post by: dales133 on December 17, 2014, 09:09:31 PM
I'm building my camper as far as time and money will permit.
I've easily spent a couple of grand or so making sure I got all the hard to get during fat man season parts and I couldn't be happier.
Lay ed down some timber floor bearers today
Post by: callmejoe on December 17, 2014, 09:18:26 PM
Well some people would class it as going away. But to me it just work. Driving from dawrin to broome then return. Just gotta love it up here.  Exploring or even working.
Post by: dales133 on December 17, 2014, 09:22:57 PM
Well some people would class it as going away. But to me it just work. Driving from dawrin to broome then return. Just gotta love it up here.  Exploring or even working.
Very nice part of the world
Post by: smartyingreen on December 17, 2014, 10:45:41 PM
Also have the pleasure of working Xmas day and NY day this year. Oh well, Easter ain't that far away!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: Barrabart on December 17, 2014, 11:00:30 PM
Yeah, i'll be snoozing through Xmas day, working nightshift as of last night right through till i get back into Aus on the morning of the 31st Dec. So an all nighter on New Years eve won't be a problem  ;D :cheers: ;D
Post by: Black-Pig on December 17, 2014, 11:22:44 PM
Yep I am away too. 2nd year running getting to work Christmas and New Year. Them the breaks I guess.
Post by: Bill on December 18, 2014, 05:45:58 AM
I too am working the holidays, only Christmas day off.
I will take a week off mid January and none of it will count towards my leave as they owe me for working the holidays.
Win for me...
Post by: camper48 on December 18, 2014, 06:43:48 AM
hi all. when my boys were school age I had no choice really but we did go to places with water lake river etc.
but now I never really go any place from now until February mostly
I have never really liked crowds
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 18, 2014, 06:55:01 AM
Will be working  >:(
Post by: paceman on December 18, 2014, 07:00:49 AM
Plenty to do at mine too, but as I spend all bloody year doing that at other peoples places, I like my 2 week close down and ph turn off and go where no one apart from those invited can talk to me.  ;D

But your more then welcome to come do my odd jobs if you want.  ;D

just because the jobs are there, doesn't mean to say i'll will be doing them... :)

perhaps we could catch up one day and talk about the jobs that we both didn't do... :)
Post by: Kangaron on December 18, 2014, 08:00:39 AM
Xmas time is a good time to stay home, everything crowded and at twice the price.
We normally head off the day school goes back, or there abouts.
Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on December 18, 2014, 08:08:08 AM
We're not going away this year as we had a baby boy almost 2 weeks ago. He is our first so both my wife and I would like to be around our families for the extra help. Aiming to go away again during Easter to relax by the beach.
Post by: Mace on December 18, 2014, 08:28:33 AM
We have never gone away camping  at Christmas, too busy for our liking. Prefer to take time off in late Jan/February when things are quieter.

Workwise, back too it after the Christmas/New Year week.
Post by: xcvator on December 18, 2014, 08:35:41 AM
We have never gone away camping  at Christmas, too busy for our liking. Prefer to take time off in late Jan/February when things are quieter.

Workwise, back too it after the Christmas/New Year week.
Do things get busy in Tassie  ??? >:D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: cloakle on December 18, 2014, 09:02:08 AM
to busy for us we go when school goes back
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on December 18, 2014, 09:32:27 AM
We're not going away this year as we had a baby boy almost 2 weeks ago. He is our first so both my wife and I would like to be around our families for the extra help. Aiming to go away again during Easter to relax by the beach.

Congratulation, enjoy.

Post by: fishfinder on December 18, 2014, 09:38:16 AM
off to a nudist swingers camp colony on my own
Post by: berlitza on December 18, 2014, 09:45:46 AM

be bloody carefull around the spit roast
Post by: xcvator on December 18, 2014, 11:00:10 AM
And watch out for anybody that wants to play leapfrog  ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 18, 2014, 11:05:36 AM

the words from the movie 'The Castle' come to mind:-)
Post by: speewa158 on December 18, 2014, 11:17:38 AM
I don't go away cos I'm a tite arse.....  :-)
A trip to the letter box could be a big outing for you  & that a cheap trip  :cup:    :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on December 18, 2014, 11:19:53 AM

& you reckon they will let you in  ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? :'(             :cheers:
Post by: Ozsnowman on January 04, 2015, 09:37:08 AM
Was plannig to goi away for a few days next week before I went back to work, but stupidly cracked a rib the other night, now can't handle a trailer :(
Post by: speewa158 on January 05, 2015, 06:08:56 AM
Xmas ,, Ummmm Did l miss something    ???  Should have advertised it a bit more so people will know   ,  for Next time  :cheers: . SO    lts 2015   lets have a dip at it & see how it goes     :cup: :cheers:
Post by: RWW on January 05, 2015, 07:11:34 AM
Trailer in getting warranty work completed, so none this holidays.  Although would tend to avoid peak times as we do not like the crowds.
Post by: lino6 on January 05, 2015, 07:41:51 AM
I did end up getting away..... from work

Back at work today though  :'(
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2015, 08:00:54 AM
Quote from: lino6
Back at work today though  :'(
same
its hurting already ....
Post by: lino6 on January 05, 2015, 09:05:31 AM
same
its hurting already ....

Simply not enough time off. Think I might have to use some of my long service this year. I was at work for about 30 minutes before i had to re-start fighting the urges to cave someone's head in.... Might have to go get a child care degree so that I can deal with these children I work with.....
Post by: Black-Pig on January 05, 2015, 06:27:32 PM
Still at work, have not been home yet. Home in a few days... Thank goodness! :o