General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on November 25, 2014, 12:51:28 PM
Has anyone been up or through Buxton and had the once mighty burger and chips gig in recent times.
Just discussing with a bloke who said its gone through new owners and isn't what it once was...
(http://a3.urbancdn.com/w/s/C0/wPPZZR23hbKacq-640m.jpg)
http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/346/1602469/restaurant/Victoria/Igloo-Roadhouse-Buxton (http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/346/1602469/restaurant/Victoria/Igloo-Roadhouse-Buxton)
Was thinking of a run up there with a few mates but wont if it aint worth it...
Pretty typical. New owners place turns to Shit, hopefully not the case they were awesome burgers :cheers:
Pretty typical. New owners place turns to ****, hopefully not the case they were awesome burgers :cheers:
yea was thinkin of a Saturday arvo run soon...
That burger looks grouse. If it was at Buxton NSW I'd nip down and scoff one with ya, but alas, Buxton, Vic is a burger too far. Bugga!
That burger looks grouse. If it was at Buxton NSW I'd nip down and scoff one with ya,
yea, it was a place you went just for a drive just for a burger..
Then there was a platter of chips - not a plate.. it was ****ing huge.
but alas, Buxton, Vic is a burger too far. Bugga!
its not THAT far from Hawks... No ticker you Sydney people... :P
It changed hands ages ago and that pic doesn't look like the original Buxton Burger as was one big meat patty not two.
Maybe it's Bird Buxton Burger ;D ;D ;D
I was hoping Buxton Qld as I'm driving through in a few days
Sent from my fingers via my brain
yea I thought that, and they don't look very thick either.. just all salad...
Yep, word from a "friend of a friend" who lives up that way, since new owners took over, the place is supposedly nothing like it used to be, and the food quality is just not the same. Can't say I have been there for some time myself though.
Hope it dosent go the way of Rustic Berger's in Seymour on the Old Hume Hwy . That closed after almost 54 years of full trucking tummies & a few owners . All that's left ic mackers ,,, :'( :'( :cheers:
What's the name of that joint as you leave Negambie Speewa Billy's from memory?? They don't make a bad one :cheers:
Used to till it changed hands a few years ago , but chips & gravy is pretty special on a cold day :cheers:
Hope it dosent go the way of Rustic Berger's in Seymour on the Old Hume Hwy . That closed after almost 54 years of full trucking tummies & a few owners . All that's left ic mackers ,,, :'( :'( :cheers:
An my tummy!
Made the diversion into Seymour whorthwhile! 8)
Had one from this joint yesterday just around the corner, check out the nutricious menu >:D
http://www.mistysdiner.com.au/www/ (http://www.mistysdiner.com.au/www/)
I reckon im gunna smash he 14 minute burger challenge next :D
Have been since new owners. I wont be going back.
Mountain of chips now not what it was. Burger not a pinch on the one we had that night on the run to Knockwood.
Have been since new owners. I wont be going back.
Mountain of chips now not what it was. Burger not a pinch on the one we had that night on the run to Knockwood.
yea that plate of chips that night was massive!!
We used to live in Narbethong, so that was our local take away. Went back a couple of years ago and not a patch on what they once were :(
Danny's Burgers in Brunswick was another haunt of ours...yum!
Lil :)
Sent from my fingertips using my brain
Always Shits me to tears when you get a meat patty 5 mm thick and a pile of chips like it's spoked to compensate.
It's called a burger AND chips for a reason luigi!
Cripes! When did that happen??? ???
As a burger there about 6 months ago. (A few weeks after the meet up near Kevington.)
Just chatting with a bloke about it, he was thinkin of a drive up that way
anyone been in recent times... most reviews on google/trip advisor are very mixed since the new owners few years ago...
If your still talking of the Buxton Burger, a mate of mine just bought a property up there and have been up a few times to visit, had the burger on the second trip up ( about 3 weeks before xmas) and no I wouldn't recommend it as the sole reason for a trip up there, however a drive along the black spur in minimal traffic will always bring a smile to your face! I now stop at Healesville and hope that the Beechworth bakery still has a stockman's pie.
All said and done though it is a beautiful part of the state and no matter what the weather is it always makes me hate the city even more and look forward to not having to be here any more.
Just chatting with a bloke about it, he was thinkin of a drive up that way
anyone been in recent times... most reviews on google/trip advisor are very mixed since the new owners few years ago...
Last time I went up that way the local tracks were torn up, you needed 38s to get through the ruts. Didn't stop for a burger though.
>:( been years since I've been up that way, was thinking of somewhere different for a drive.. :(
Just keep heading north to the Nindigully pub for a road train burger. ;)
Only took 2 of their burgers to feed a couple of dozen of us last time ;D
light snack
(http://nindigully.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/218000_10150173469125233_6230790_n.jpg)
someone fly me there I'll give it a go :D
(http://nindigully.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/32119_410493785232_13537_n.jpg)
We didn't try one when we were there. Part of me wishes we did for the photo op! ;) They do very nice steaks also.
shut down for a few years but it has been open for quite a few years as “Burger Me”
Not a bad burger either.
Closed Mondays, even if it is a public holiday so I missed out on New Years Day.
someone fly me there I'll give it a go :D
the roadtrain burger we had there about 5 years was surprisingly tasty, the onion rings that came with it were delicious also. We headed back to Nindigully a few years ago to meet up with mates on their way home from a Simpson Desert crossing, the food was atrocious and the backpacker staff barely cared less about serving us, it was such a change from all my previous visits there, and a real turn off ever going back again.