General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Paul (SA) on November 18, 2014, 10:33:33 PM

Title: How did a Jeep win 2014 Off Road 4x4 of the Year?
Post by: Paul (SA) on November 18, 2014, 10:33:33 PM
Must have been a misunderstanding about the term 'off road'?
Title: Re: How did a Jeep win 2014 Off Road 4x4 of the Year?
Post by: grafy82 on November 18, 2014, 10:49:41 PM
Yes, you are correct, their meaning of the term was most time spent 'off (the) road', usually in the dealership, waiting for parts. They were clear winners  ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 19, 2014, 12:28:03 AM
Lol...... It's a Jeep thing, you wouldn't understand.

Haven't missed or regretted one day since I sold mine.
Post by: tracker on November 19, 2014, 03:38:54 AM
Lost a lot of money on mine.....but it was worth the riddance !!!!!
Post by: Homer_Jay on November 19, 2014, 04:58:09 AM
4wd of the year is usually the one that is the 'nicest' and with the most bells and whistles, and some new innovation.
If it is 4wd or 'truck like' it will never win.

Oh, and there is usually some magazine advertising deal in the mix as well  ;D

Post by: speewa158 on November 19, 2014, 05:13:31 AM
Homer ...Jay   Are you trying to tell me somebody has done a deal to possibly    ,     allagedgely   ,    lead the cashed up to the poor house in a Jeep  . l will look into to as soon as the parts arrive   .   :-*
Post by: phrothy on November 19, 2014, 06:43:43 AM
Lol...... It's a Jeep thing, you wouldn't understand.

Haven't missed or regretted one day since I sold mine.

Post by: time on November 19, 2014, 10:20:32 AM
http://youtu.be/yVM3QX2GPjQ (http://youtu.be/yVM3QX2GPjQ)
Post by: Diesel Power on November 19, 2014, 10:28:27 AM
Obviously Jeep have plenty of cash to bribe the magazine companys so they win 4wd of the year.
Post by: monbeg on November 19, 2014, 10:49:55 AM
Any idea which magazine we need to avoid ?
Post by: DannyG on November 19, 2014, 10:52:01 AM
http://youtu.be/yVM3QX2GPjQ (http://youtu.be/yVM3QX2GPjQ)

Wow, I haven't seen that before, what a waste. Im surprised it didn't end up on eBay as a repairable write off..................
Post by: Pipeliner on November 19, 2014, 10:55:01 AM
It's interesting to see all the people who didn't buy Jeeps (OK, not you Scarps) making statements about how (not) good they are.  I've owned Jeeps since 2003 and sure I've had a few problems but nothing that I wouldn't consider typical of any vehicle - I had worse problems with my Ford Falcon.

I have a Grand Cherokee Limited ($63,000) and my friend has a Range Rover which costs about twice as much, and I find it difficult to see that much extra value in the Rangie.  A 200 series LC may arguably be a slightly better off-road performer, but is that worth another $25,000?

No bribes necessary - Jeep wins on value for money.

Starting under $50,000 for 4x4 versions, the Jeep Grand Cherokee continues to raise the bar in the off-road category in regards to affordability, luxury appointments and family-friendly appeal.

The latest update takes the large five-seat wagon further upmarket while not compromising any of its legendary off-road ability. Available with a proper four-wheel drive system, adjustable air suspension, eight-speed automatic transmission and powerful but efficient turbo-diesel engine (and good old fashioned petrol V8s), the Grand Cherokee is equally at home in town and bush.

Ride comfort, refinement, technology and safety levels are now comparable with significantly more expensive European SUVs, while the big Jeep also delivers in the cost of ownership and retained value stakes.

Rod Chapman – Editor Trucks & Industry

Post by: WilSurf on November 19, 2014, 11:01:29 AM
A mate had a Dmax and sold it for a Jeep Grand Cherokee.
He is regretting what he did.
After 30 kms on the road, the car was in limb mode and needed to be towed back to the dealer.
Post by: Pipeliner on November 19, 2014, 11:04:45 AM
Drive.com.au placed the Grand as 4wd of the year in  2011 (http://www.drive.com.au/car-of-the-year/drive-car-of-the-year-2011-4wd-winner-20111122-1ns6o.html), 2012 (http://www.drive.com.au/car-of-the-year/dcoty-2012-best-4wd-finalist--jeep-grand-cherokee-laredo-diesel-20121010-27cs2.html#comments) and 2013 (http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/dcoty-2013-best-4wd-20131127-2y99w.html)
Post by: DannyG on November 19, 2014, 11:07:42 AM
It's interesting to see all the people who didn't buy Jeeps (OK, not you Scarps) making statements about how (not) good they are.  I've owned Jeeps since 2003 and sure I've had a few problems but nothing that I wouldn't consider typical of any vehicle - I had worse problems with my Ford Falcon.

All manufacturers cop it mate, don't take it personally. When an owner of one brand see's another brand have an issue they tend to jump on it. Its human nature in most cases to 'justify' a purchase no matter how bad it turns out to be. I mean, I know people who own Toyotas....... ;D
Post by: JCOJ on November 19, 2014, 11:23:06 AM
The magazine probably only had it two days so it maybe lasted just that long.

Pipeliner - you must be one of the lucky ones.

Me personally - I have had two Jeeps and been a member of a Jeep Club for 10 years now.  Never in a million years would I ever buy one again, and most of our members are the same.  It is not only the lack of reliability, but also the very poor service from the dealerships, the total lack of spare parts and the time it takes to get them in (8 weeks or more!!), and the fact that the Jeep mechanics have no idea of what a problem is unless their little plug in machine can tell them.

When a vehicle spends 16 weeks at the dealer on the one warranty item, it becomes a bit beyond a joke.  When they tell you to collect the car after a warranty repair and you get no more than 100m out the driveway and the problem re-occurs (and this happened to me 4 times!!!), you start to lose faith very quickly.  When you leave for your Easter trip on Easter Thursday and you limp into the nearest town only half way to your desination and the Jeep ends up on the back of a flatbed with no assistance of a hire car from Jeep Assist, you start to get very angry.  When you get in the car and drive down your street at the start of your holiday and you wonder if you will actually make it, it is time to give up!!
Post by: MDS69 on November 19, 2014, 12:23:57 PM

I have a Grand Cherokee Limited ($63,000) and my friend has a Range Rover which costs about twice as much, and I find it difficult to see that much extra value in the Rangie.  A 200 series LC may arguably be a slightly better off-road performer, but is that worth another $25,000?

No bribes necessary - Jeep wins on value for money.

Starting under $50,000 for 4x4 versions, the Jeep Grand Cherokee continues to raise the bar in the off-road category in regards to affordability, luxury appointments and family-friendly appeal.

The latest update takes the large five-seat wagon further upmarket while not compromising any of its legendary off-road ability. Available with a proper four-wheel drive system, adjustable air suspension, eight-speed automatic transmission and powerful but efficient turbo-diesel engine (and good old fashioned petrol V8s), the Grand Cherokee is equally at home in town and bush.

Ride comfort, refinement, technology and safety levels are now comparable with significantly more expensive European SUVs, while the big Jeep also delivers in the cost of ownership and retained value stakes.

Rod Chapman – Editor Trucks & Industry

No where in that little blurb from Rod Chapman can I see the word reliable.
Post by: neowatcher on November 19, 2014, 12:26:13 PM
When toying around which 4x4 to buy if you want to take it out of the suburbs, I reckon it comes to only a few crucial questions you need to consider:

Of course, reliability can differ per car, some may never have a problem and for others the list can be endless. Cars just break down once in a while, you just have to accept that. But you generally get a gist of a car's reliability by looking at forums. If many Jeep drivers vow to never buy one again - that's an indication to reconsider that option.

When I was looking for a car (considered Toyota, Nissan, Jeep, VW, BMZ, Land Rover, Mercedes, etc), the definitive conclusion I made and chose for a Toyota Prado were the reliability and the support network nation wide. I may have been biased as that was my fourth Toyota, but I always found them good and the service network is just there and everywhere.

There is a reason why you see so many Landcruisers, Pajeros and the like, still driving in the outback and used by locals ... !
Post by: paull on November 19, 2014, 01:14:48 PM
I always think the sh1t people dump on Jeeps is funny.
Yes I'm a Jeep owner but I'm hardly a Jeep fanatic. If it was sh1t then I'd say so.   
I've owned my JK from new for 5 years, done over 100,000km, and it has been trouble free.
My only basis for comparison is the Nissan X-Trail I had prior to this (also a new car). That had more issues in 18 months than I've had with the JK in 5 years and the Nissan service department were way worse than Jeep's are (delays in getting parts, repeatedly ordering the wrong parts, unable to diagnose issues,.......).

I won't deny that Jeep dealers are largely useless, uneducated in what they sell, and damned expensive.
Nor will I deny that OE replacement parts for the Jeep can be difficult to get here (very long waiting times) and are seriously over priced.
That just means I source parts from elsewhere like the US or UK (far quicker and for far less than Jeep Australian can manage) and get it serviced by Jeep specialist garages.

My JK has been an absolute pleasure to own and wouldn't hesitate to get another one.
Do I think I've probably been lucky? Yes.
I think buying any new car is a lottery these days, especially if you intend to take it off the beaten track.
Look at any marque and tell me of a model that hasn't had some very well publicised issues. It's just that in some cases the sh1t sticks and they're labelled unreliable and in other cases is laughed off as minor blip on an otherwise unblemished record (in other words people are basing judgements of current reliability on how reliable things were 20 years ago). 
In this day and age I don't care how many service centres car companies claim to have. The reality is if you're more than 10 minutes from a major city then they're going to be very limited in what they can diagnose and fix with any speed. Regardless of the badge you're going to be paying for tow home or waiting ion the outback for weeks to get parts.

Just my 10c worth.
Post by: pattyann on November 19, 2014, 01:28:14 PM
Good one paull - we couldn't be happier with our Jeep and there are more like us - Toyota owners need to get over themselves and move on
Post by: monbeg on November 19, 2014, 01:33:41 PM
I always think the sh1t people dump on Jeeps is funny.
Yes I'm a Jeep owner but I'm hardly a Jeep fanatic. If it was sh1t then I'd say so.   
I've owned my JK from new for 5 years, done over 100,000km, and it has been trouble free.
My only basis for comparison is the Nissan X-Trail I had prior to this (also a new car). That had more issues in 18 months than I've had with the JK in 5 years and the Nissan service department were way worse than Jeep's are (delays in getting parts, repeatedly ordering the wrong parts, unable to diagnose issues,.......).

I won't deny that Jeep dealers are largely useless, uneducated in what they sell, and damned expensive.
Nor will I deny that OE replacement parts for the Jeep can be difficult to get here (very long waiting times) and are seriously over priced.
That just means I source parts from elsewhere like the US or UK (far quicker and for far less than Jeep Australian can manage) and get it serviced by Jeep specialist garages.

My JK has been an absolute pleasure to own and wouldn't hesitate to get another one.
Do I think I've probably been lucky? Yes.
I think buying any new car is a lottery these days, especially if you intend to take it off the beaten track.
Look at any marque and tell me of a model that hasn't had some very well publicised issues. It's just that in some cases the sh1t sticks and they're labelled unreliable and in other cases is laughed off as minor blip on an otherwise unblemished record (in other words people are basing judgements of current reliability on how reliable things were 20 years ago). 
In this day and age I don't care how many service centres car companies claim to have. The reality is if you're more than 10 minutes from a major city then they're going to be very limited in what they can diagnose and fix with any speed. Regardless of the badge you're going to be paying for tow home or waiting ion the outback for weeks to get parts.

Just my 10c worth.

paull - I doubt if anyone will argue with your experience with a Jeep but to state that they are the 2014 OFF ROAD 4x4 of the year is somewhat amusing to say the least.
Post by: WilSurf on November 19, 2014, 01:42:55 PM
Toyota owners need to get over themselves and move on

That's why I have a Lexus.  ;D
Post by: Homer_Jay on November 19, 2014, 02:08:55 PM
Obviously Jeep have plenty of cash to bribe the magazine companies so they win 4wd of the year.

Geez...... at least I was trying to be subtle about it  ;D ;D ;D

There is a commercial reality to ALL media (I don't want to alarm anyone, but they are all in it to make money!).

Doesnt matter if it is 4WDOTY, CarOTY, BoatOTY or PAt Callinan's 'quietest Yamaha generator' on the market, or Roothy's you beaut, best there is cheap chinese snatch strap......... There is probably money passing hands at some level.
Any magazine who was remotely honest in reviews has gone broke a long, long time ago.

And I would still say the same thing if they gave the award to a Toyota!  ;D

Post by: dazzler on November 19, 2014, 02:27:21 PM
Good one paull - we couldn't be happier with our Jeep and there are more like us - Toyota owners need to get over themselves and move on

Why Toyota drivers?

Seems like a good mix of brand ownership having a little fun in the thread.

BTW, I work alongside the people in Fair Trading who conciliate complaints from the public.  Hate to burst your bubble but I have asked them (after the wreck my jeep beatup) and Jeep are overly represented in the complaint area, particularly when you compare volumes sold.

Interestingly though some of the Jeep dealerships have been very customer focused even simply refunding the complainants money.  They are not built as well as the Jap brigade simply because they are built in the USA who are still behind their Asian brothers.

Enjoy your Jeep.  I would love one but don't suit my usage.
Post by: paull on November 19, 2014, 02:54:41 PM
paull - I doubt if anyone will argue with your experience with a Jeep but to state that they are the 2014 OFF ROAD 4x4 of the year is somewhat amusing to say the least.

Let's face it, it's not like they gave the award to a Suzuki Jimny (which I also own) and it makes a change from a D4 or LC200. Surely the Grand Cherokee can't be any less deserving that an FJ Cruiser (don't remember which mag had that as #1 a few years ago but one of them did).

In reality most of these are good cars. They all have their strengths and weaknesses and which one is best for any one particular person is going to be a decision based on a their own criteria. LC200 & D4 together have won more awards than I can count but neither of them fit my criteria.

I think all of the magazine articles need to be taken with a pinch of salt. The product comparisons are always won by major sponsors. The 4WD OTY articles are likely similarly decided. At best they are skewed by which specific models are made available by the car manufacturers for the test and at worst the testing criteria can be massaged to suit different vehicles. Read them for entertainment and information but then make your own mind up as to which is best.

In relation to the Grand Cherokee, is it right for everyone? Nope. Has it had it's fair shared of issues? Yep. Does it have 4WD, a class leading (or matching) tow rating and a whole swag of goodies to play with? Yep. Horses for courses........there's plenty of happy Grand owners out there, many of them towing bloody great big caravans around Aus for the best part of the year. Caravan parks are full of them. They can't be all that bad.
Post by: Pipeliner on November 19, 2014, 03:16:37 PM
I fully agree with Paull that the biggest drawback to Jeeps is the lousy service and high part cost from Fiat Chrysler Australia - but that is easily solved by going to an independent specialist mechanic and sourcing parts from the US or UK.  And certainly the lack of Jeep specialists and part suppliers outside the major cities is a drawback which caught me out with a previous Jeep - but then the same thing applies to just about any make except Toyota!
Post by: Bird on November 19, 2014, 03:25:16 PM
Same way that BMW X5 did few years ago...
Post by: Mik01 on November 19, 2014, 03:38:53 PM
I think we are missing the criteria used for the decision.there are many different criteria people have to decide on the 'best' 4x4.
This said it all for me "affordability, luxury appointments and family-friendly appeal." Nothing about off road capability, reliability straight off the showroom flooror service support and backup network.

It might be the car of the year in its price bracket, which just happens to be a 4wd. Perhaps that is what they mean? And doesn't nearly every motoring magazine have it's own car of the year awards?
Post by: Bird on November 19, 2014, 03:44:06 PM
why is everyone getting so upset??? honestly who believes a word any of these magazines say? Money talks...
Post by: Black Diamond on November 19, 2014, 03:45:53 PM
why is everyone getting so upset??? honestly who believes a word any of these magazines say? Money talks...
x2659874629462
Post by: Mik01 on November 19, 2014, 03:47:32 PM

I don't get it either. Funny how people get offended over a dig at their possessions. its just a lump of metal
Post by: Boggs on November 19, 2014, 03:48:15 PM
Who voted, was it a panel of industry experts or the "popular choice"?
Often popular choice voting awards the cheaper, more affordable offerings. People get carried away with their new purchases and vote for them out of loyalty.
Post by: Mik01 on November 19, 2014, 03:56:33 PM
Also I'm not surprised they are popular - they spend so much on damn advertising us to death. Sitting at Melbourne airport lounge now and this is at my table... Nothing to do with a jeep at all, as it's a peroni promo for a weekend away...
Post by: dazzler on November 19, 2014, 04:24:19 PM
I don't get it either. Funny how people get offended over a dig at their possessions. its just a lump of metal

Only blokes do it and I reckon its been the same when we rode horses, pulled carts, dragged sleys and whatever the hell they did before the wheel.

"That spruce is no good for draggin!"

"Shut up you sonnavabeeetch"
Post by: Homer_Jay on November 19, 2014, 04:50:14 PM
Only blokes do it and I reckon its been the same when we rode horses, pulled carts, dragged sleys and whatever the hell they did before the wheel.

"That spruce is no good for draggin!"

"Shut up you sonnavabeeetch"

Isn't that how wars start???? My frigate is bigger and faster than your frigate. And just wait until you see my cannon!  ;D
 (I don't think women start wars).

Post by: Elky on November 19, 2014, 08:09:08 PM
When I was gettin my dmax, a ring in from another dealership handling my paperwork told me he does more warranty claims on jeeps than any other brand they sell......

I love these awards.......I reckon the true test of how good a car is takes at least 10 years of ownership, and most don't keep their nowhere near that long! Will my 200 be as good as my 90 series prado? Dunno so far 16 years of trouble free motoring suggests my 4 banger 2.7 base model prado is 4wd of the century!

All these bells and whistles are great when new......air bag suspension? KDSS? Give them ten years and see where things are, by that time the third owner is the poor bastard lumped with fixing these whizz bang time bombs

Don't get me started on CRD.....reckon petrol is looking better each day
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 19, 2014, 08:38:55 PM
Isn't that how wars start???? My frigate is bigger and faster than your frigate. And just wait until you see my cannon!  ;D
wars start as a result of 3 things:

1 - Religion (early Crusades, Spanish Inquisition)
2 - Women (Helen of Troy)
and
3 - what 4wd do you drive!
Post by: oldmate on November 19, 2014, 08:43:13 PM

Really,  most women start them, then back away into the corner while 2 blokes fight it out. Lol ;D
Post by: Shelbyright on November 19, 2014, 08:52:47 PM
When they say off road, they mean on the side of the road.
Post by: monbeg on November 19, 2014, 10:20:14 PM

I love these awards.......I reckon the true test of how good a car is takes at least 10 years of ownership, and most don't keep their nowhere near that long! Will my 200 be as good as my 90 series prado? Dunno so far 16 years of trouble free motoring suggests my 4 banger 2.7 base model prado is 4wd of the century!

True test, go spend a week out around Noccundra, Thargomindah and Cunnamulla (I just did) and see what forms of yuppie 4wd's pass through occasionally but don`t reside out that way (and which ones you can get service and spares out there).
Ask a cocky what works when it comes to 4wd`s, not a Pitt Street editor.
Post by: muzza01 on November 20, 2014, 06:19:21 AM
Who really cares?

The 4WDOTY award doesn't go to the tuffest, most capable offroad, most reliable, cheapest spare parts, most available 4WD accessories etc etc.

The award goes to a 4WD vehicle that is affordable, has lots of bling accessories and is fairly popular. Guess what, Jeep wins. Like them or loath them, they are selling 5hedloads in Australia.

I take as much notice of this award as I do for Car of the Year, Camper Trailer of the year etc.
Me, I don't like Jeeps and I would never own one but I can't argue with them winning this award. :cup:
Post by: Spada on November 20, 2014, 06:37:06 AM
Who really cares?

The 4WDOTY award doesn't go to the tuffest, most capable offroad, most reliable, cheapest spare parts, most available 4WD accessories etc etc.

The award goes to a 4WD vehicle that is affordable, has lots of bling accessories and is fairly popular. Guess what, Jeep wins. Like them or loath them, they are selling 5hedloads in Australia.

I take as much notice of this award as I do for Car of the Year, Camper Trailer of the year etc.
Me, I don't like Jeeps and I would never own one but I can't argue with them winning this award. :cup:

It's a slick marketing campaign that has made them so popular.

You've seen the ads, 28 seconds of dad looking for a ball and asking where the Robinsons are, with 2 seconds showing the car with a catchy tune.

they are not selling the car, they are selling an image, and sheeple fall for it.
Post by: muzza01 on November 20, 2014, 06:52:29 AM
It's a slick marketing campaign that has made them so popular.

You've seen the ads, 28 seconds of dad looking for a ball and asking where the Robinsons are, with 2 seconds showing the car with a catchy tune.

they are not selling the car, they are selling an image, and sheeple fall for it.
Yep that's true. Jeep have certainly spent a lot of $$$ on advertising. Obviously working well for them.
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 20, 2014, 07:20:32 AM

you obviously haven't heard the joke about this add?

The Robinsons are stuck out in central Australia waiting for a part for their Jeep.......
Post by: Bird on November 20, 2014, 07:40:44 AM
Quote from: Spada
what sort of moronic ****wits have humans turned into if they would fall for that ??? Buying a Shitheap cause of your image? FFS, end all life on this planet now.. don't delay.
Post by: edz on November 20, 2014, 07:40:59 AM
Not sure how they won it,  but  people love modding their ads https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eg_wlyoDS1E (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eg_wlyoDS1E)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 20, 2014, 08:11:56 AM
what sort of moronic ****wits have humans turned into if they would fall for that ??? Buying a ****heap cause of your image? FFS, end all life on this planet now.. don't delay.

And it starts with iPhone.
Post by: macca on November 20, 2014, 10:06:01 AM

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: GOLD  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: xcvator on November 20, 2014, 10:08:40 AM
Idon't  ;D ;D
Post by: MDS69 on November 20, 2014, 10:16:18 AM
another reason not to take these awards seriously
Not 4x4''s but previous winners
1973 - Leyland P76
1982 - Holden JB Camira
1988 - Holden VN Commodore
Post by: Pipeliner on November 20, 2014, 01:31:00 PM

I'm not offended at people having a dig at Jeep just because I've owned 3 of them - I just don't understand why so many people seem to believe that every Jeep is a piece of sh!t which will break down without warning, and the only reason anyone buys one is because the advertising is so effective.

I certainly know all the drawbacks and took them into account when deciding whether to buy my current one - but when I considered all the available options rated to tow up to 3,500 kg the Jeep came out well ahead of the competition (I really don't want to drive a dual cab ute as a daily driver!)
Post by: dazzler on November 20, 2014, 02:11:52 PM
I think you underestimate the impact the brand has (or had). Like Harley Davidson. Sell like hotcakes yet don't handle, are slower than a Vespa and as reliable as most things from the usa.

Image sells.

Just like Toyota sells on being reliable. Nissan sells on being tough. Mazda on funky.

At least Land Rover gets a rest as the whipping boy for a bit. Just a bit. They will screw it up again.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 20, 2014, 04:16:38 PM
Suck it up you bunch of Nancy girls.

Jeep....  :cup:

I even heard, an old 90's something Lada flogged all the "So Called" big dollar fancy Jap stuff too.  ;D
Post by: gronk on November 20, 2014, 06:58:28 PM
A bit like Range Rovers, Jeeps are a great lease vehicle..

When the lease is up....if you are game for round two.....get another ( although most see the error of their ways and get something else )

Although now the Rangies are owned by the Indians....maybe Jeep could find a new owner ???
Post by: millzzy on November 20, 2014, 07:24:13 PM
Im glad I am in my jeep overtaking a prado with a caravan trying to get up a hill or rise in the road, they are all the same to the Toyota "powerhouse", unless of course it is a petrol model then it must carry a tanker behind it, all the same to a gutless ######, or maybe a 3.0 pootrol imploding on itself  ;D
Post by: paull on November 20, 2014, 09:25:44 PM
I'm not offended at people having a dig at Jeep just because I've owned 3 of them - I just don't understand why so many people seem to believe that every Jeep is a piece of sh!t which will break down without warning, and the only reason anyone buys one is because the advertising is so effective.

I certainly know all the drawbacks and took them into account when deciding whether to buy my current one - but when I considered all the available options rated to tow up to 3,500 kg the Jeep came out well ahead of the competition (I really don't want to drive a dual cab ute as a daily driver!)

X2 Doesn't offend me at all. I find it quite amusing.

The slightly ironic thing is that rather than taking offence at being the butt of the jokes, of all the 4WD'ers I've encountered, both in person and on forums, the people who tend to be most honest and frank about their car's drawbacks, faults, quirks and failings are Jeep owners. Now I know I'm opening that straight up for the obvious replies of "they have to as they have so many" or "it's too hard to hide them when you're stuck on the side of the road" but it's true.  They can all tell you 10 things that could/should have been designed better on their car, but then they'll also tell you why the love driving them despite all of that.

Post by: paull on November 20, 2014, 09:32:59 PM
I think you underestimate the impact the brand has (or had). Like Harley Davidson. Sell like hotcakes yet don't handle, are slower than a Vespa and as reliable as most things from the usa.

Image sells.

Just like Toyota sells on being reliable. Nissan sells on being tough. Mazda on funky.

At least Land Rover gets a rest as the whipping boy for a bit. Just a bit. They will screw it up again.

Absolutely. Marketing is all about selling the dream. They want you to buy from the heart rather than the head as it is that emotional tie that breeds brand loyalty.
And a good advert isn't one that tells you all about the product.......at least not from a marketers perspective. A good advert is one that you remember (whether you liked it or not), can immediately associate with the brand, and even one that evokes an emotional response (be that positive or negative) as that is what really sticks in your memory. Clearly Jeep have done a good job on their advertising as it seems that everyone here remembers their adds.
All brands do it though. They don't show reality. That's boring. Far better to show a Hilux falling off a cliff, getting washed up a romantic beach and then driving off into the sunset!
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 20, 2014, 10:51:07 PM
Absolutely. Marketing is all about selling the dream. They want you to buy from the heart rather than the head as it is that emotional tie that breeds brand loyalty.
And a good advert isn't one that tells you all about the product.......at least not from a marketers perspective. A good advert is one that you remember (whether you liked it or not), can immediately associate with the brand, and even one that evokes an emotional response (be that positive or negative) as that is what really sticks in your memory. Clearly Jeep have done a good job on their advertising as it seems that everyone here remembers their adds.
All brands do it though. They don't show reality. That's boring. Far better to show a Hilux falling off a cliff, getting washed up a romantic beach and then driving off into the sunset!
btw, I'm definitely not a Toyo fan, but it's just a personal choice. I love giving Torota owners stick:-) not coz they're not great peop's, just coz it can be fun.
I am however an experienced once loyal Jeep supporter that has fallen off the wagon.
Post by: Jasman on November 20, 2014, 11:59:58 PM
Yeah, it really sucks that journalists from all the different media outlets are all in Jeeps back pocket and keep voting the Grand Cherokee 4WD of the year, it's a bloody conspiracy, we need to find a whistle blower like Edward Snowden to lift the lid on this!

Don't start me on the buyers, these guys are bloody fools buying more of the these unreliable self combusting death traps then any other in the class, haven't they heard the stories about the 1998 model.  I reckon when our whistle blower breaks cover he's going to reveal that Jeep manipulated these numbers too.

These "Jeepers" really need to get themselves a decent vehicle, something that was designed last century with a ladder chassis just like a truck.  Don't they know if they spend 100% of there time off road then those onroad dynamics that they all talk about don't count for anything.  They need to get rid of all there doodads and computers and replace them with something that works, something reliable like a typewriter not a computer.  They also don't understand the lubricating properties of diesel, it seems only logical that ifyou produce all that power and use so little diesel then obviously the motor isn't getting enough lubrication, it's a disaster waiting to happen.

It's probably good that these less than real men don't drive real trucks, do you really think they would be able to top up the oil in a 200 series, do the injectors on a Prado, rewire a Rover, straighten the chassis on a dual cab or even rebuild a 3l Nissan?  and when it comes to driving do you really think they would know how to get the most out of a good old 4 speed box, I bet they don't even know that they have to slow down for a slight bend in the road? 

Finally, those bloody ads on TV, don't they know if they bought a Toyota they wouldn't have any money left, the whole bigger boat thing just becomes irrelevant if you don't have any money. They'd be too stupid to realise that they couldn't tow the bigger boat with a Prado anyway.
Post by: Jasman on November 21, 2014, 12:35:41 AM
I am however an experienced once loyal Jeep supporter that has fallen off the wagon.

I still have hope for you Scarps!
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 21, 2014, 03:50:46 AM
I still have hope for you Scarps!
thnx Jasman but not even if they gave me one for free
Post by: Garfish on November 21, 2014, 05:03:49 AM
[quote author=JCOJ link=topic=40431.msg664314#msg664314 date

When a vehicle spends 16 weeks at the dealer on the one warranty item, it becomes a bit beyond a joke.  When they tell you to collect the car after a warranty repair and you get no more than 100m out the driveway and the problem re-occurs (and this happened to me 4 times!!!), you start to lose faith very quickly.  When you leave for your Easter trip on Easter Thursday and you limp into the nearest town only half way to your desination and the Jeep ends up on the back of a flatbed with no assistance of a hire car from Jeep Assist, you start to get very angry.  When you get in the car and drive down your street at the start of your holiday and you wonder if you will actually make it, it is time to give up!!
[/quote]
This is what happened with my D40, except when they handed it back each of the 6 times or so they said they couldn't find anything wrong with it. We did our holiday and after getting home and parking the CT went to get some milk and the engine loses all power again. 
The GC made the final 2 replacements and was the best car that we test drove, but just the dealer network and availability of parts led me elsewhere.   
Post by: kylarama on November 21, 2014, 05:42:12 AM
So everyone's up in arms cause a Jeep won?

Maybe everyone should redirect their anger towards Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi and the likes and tell them to lift their game...
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 21, 2014, 06:25:35 AM
So everyone's up in arms cause a Jeep won?

Maybe everyone should redirect their anger towards Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi and the likes and tell them to lift their game...

Post by: Spada on November 21, 2014, 06:33:15 AM
this thread confirms that it's not poilte to critisize another man's car...............................It's like saying he's only got a little wizza
Post by: Mik01 on November 21, 2014, 07:27:14 AM
[quote author=JCOJ link=topic=40431.msg664314#msg664314 date
This is what happened with my D40, except when they handed it back each of the 6 times or so they said they couldn't find anything wrong with it. We did our holiday and after getting home and parking the CT went to get some milk and the engine loses all power again. 
The GC made the final 2 replacements and was the best car that we test drove, but just the dealer network and availability of parts led me elsewhere.   

Same happened to my mates BT50. After spending $20k on arb bling, he always bragged how much better it was than my prado and more capable off-road.
But then came the intermittent unidentifiable issues like losing power and gears not changing down. Took a year to diagnose, after replacing various parts, then another year of negotiation before they replaced the entire engine as a warranty claim. Then they replaced the transmission.
After 2 years of hell and unreliability, he decided to just sell it. He then bought a prado.
Post by: Steffo1 on November 21, 2014, 09:36:10 AM
I don't understand what this thread is about ??? There appears to be a lot of criticism on here from people who have never owned, let alone driven, a Jeep! I haven't read the article but would think the author has been subjective & based their decision accordingly. Personally, I would not entertain the thought of buying a Jeep, but that's me. What a crap world if everyone drove the same vehicle. They tried that in the old East Germany & came up with the ........Trabant.
I'm on my 5th Landie, a '97 Disco1 & have copped plenty over the last 40 years from people who really show their ignorance by their comments on the make. Sure, they have their foibles but they also have a personality & character about them. I was told by a Nissan mechanic from Darwin, who I met in Katherine, that the Disco would never make it through my 12 week Kimberley, Gunbarrel, Simmo trip. That was around 310,000 klms ago, so Jeep owners or any owner of any make shouldn't give a rats arse what others think or say. Even if someone gets swayed by good marketing there's still got to be a bit of personal preference involved. I mean, you'll never get me drinking VB just because " As a matter of fact, I've got it now!"
Post by: Coiled on November 21, 2014, 12:36:56 PM

Lift their game or their marketing budget?
Post by: alnjan on November 21, 2014, 01:33:23 PM
Must have been a misunderstanding about the term 'off road'?

Would help to know who has made the call.   

Not that I agree with the judges definition of 4x4.  Should read SUV of the year.   I must be old school cause I don't see a 4x4 in any of this lot.  Rather than 4wd ability they are more interested in the car like ability.

http://motoring.ninemsn.com.au/cars/4x4-australia/news/2014/02/4x4-of-the-year-2014 (http://motoring.ninemsn.com.au/cars/4x4-australia/news/2014/02/4x4-of-the-year-2014)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 21, 2014, 03:58:01 PM
this thread confirms that it's not poilte to critisize another man's car...............................It's like saying he's only got a little wizza

And whats wrong with that..... hmmmm.

I'm 200lbs of dynamite with a half inch fuse, so watch out when it goes off.  ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 21, 2014, 08:09:07 PM
C'mon, 30 more posts for another jxxp thread to hit triple figures
Post by: grafy82 on November 21, 2014, 10:23:04 PM
It's funny to hear all the Jeep apologists coming out in defense, us 80 series drivers don't need to do that  ;D
Post by: Elky on November 23, 2014, 08:30:35 PM
I am not a one eyed Toyota fan it's just each one has been so reliable that I found it hard to stray.....so I finally bought a dmax and strayed , at 1000kms gearbox had to come out for a engine oil leak.....then rhf hub spewed grease the next week, so you could imagine what I was thinking! After all my lux never dropped oil in 15 years and 350000kms. So time will tell how good the truck is I think, I will get back to you in 10 years, the 200 is doing ok after 4 years (touch wood) but still got a long way to go before I make a judgment.

We all know the Japanese make the most reliable cars......but it was the yanks and Brits that invented them and the japs merely improved on them
Post by: jeeps on November 24, 2014, 09:32:35 PM
Let's be honest, Jeeps are pretty crap. The only reason I have one is because the doors, windscreen and roof comes off.
Post by: Jasman on November 24, 2014, 09:40:06 PM
Okay haters, now you're in trouble, nothing but coal in your stockings this Christmas!! 

Just saw the latest ad and it turns out Santa Clause has got a Jeep.
Post by: Moto Mech on November 25, 2014, 04:16:01 PM
So which magazine was it?
Post by: Bird on November 25, 2014, 04:27:05 PM
So which magazine was it?
Womans Weekly :D
Post by: Rumpig on November 25, 2014, 07:11:34 PM
Okay haters, now you're in trouble, nothing but coal in your stockings this Christmas!! 

Just saw the latest ad and it turns out Santa Clause has got a Jeep.
atleast when my kids don't get a present this Xmas, I can say it's because Santas Jeep broke down on the way to deliver them  ;D ;D
Post by: Jasman on November 25, 2014, 08:23:58 PM
atleast when my kids don't get a present this Xmas, I can say it's because Santas Jeep broke down on the way to deliver them  ;D ;D

Nice Rumpig, I'll pay that!
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 25, 2014, 10:16:34 PM

lol......or He's out searching for the Robinson's from next door:-)
Post by: HuskyInAuz on November 28, 2014, 09:04:21 PM
These articles maybe of interest to folks
One jeep here ..
http://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/the-worlds-most-unreliable-car-parts/ss-BBc6Nv0#image=4 (http://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/the-worlds-most-unreliable-car-parts/ss-BBc6Nv0#image=4)

Couple Jeeps here
http://www.msn.com/en-us/autos/autosluxury/the-10-least-reliable-cars/ss-BBezB2q#image=4 (http://www.msn.com/en-us/autos/autosluxury/the-10-least-reliable-cars/ss-BBezB2q#image=4)

Everyone has an 'opinion' ..
Post by: ozbogwam on November 30, 2014, 06:15:16 PM
Having been involved in judging a ute if the year test a few years back I can categorically say that we were in no way forced or directed to pick any vehicle. It's nice to throw around conspiracy theories that it's all rigged but the mags would not last.

That said it does come down to vehicles that are and aren't supplied by the manufacturers. They are all invited but for various reasons they may not accept. Press vehicles may not be available etc

Also in many cases it is only open to new or significantly updated vehicles so the competition isn't as comprehensive as some would like.