General => General Discussion => Topic started by: prado2004 on November 11, 2014, 03:53:07 PM

Title: swag to choose
Post by: prado2004 on November 11, 2014, 03:53:07 PM
Hey guys, tossing up on what sort of swag to buy for quick trips on my own when I dont need a tent.

I want aussie made, not oztrail etc... At the moment I am tossing up between the below two. It doesn't have to be from this store, I simply work near the store and they both look like good quality and from googling the prices it seems reasonable. I do not know if the burke wills swag is worth nearly double the price over the true blue. It is a bigger swag but this could be painful packing it up too. Also has a 75cm mattress not 50cm so would be bigger when packed, however comfier potentially also? Hmmm... decisions, decisions...

http://www.outbackadventures.net.au/products/swags/true-blue-bluey-xxl-swag-canvas-dome-camping-swag-detail (http://www.outbackadventures.net.au/products/swags/true-blue-bluey-xxl-swag-canvas-dome-camping-swag-detail)

http://www.outbackadventures.net.au/products/swags/burke-wills-redgum-xl-deluxe-canvas-dome-swag-detail (http://www.outbackadventures.net.au/products/swags/burke-wills-redgum-xl-deluxe-canvas-dome-swag-detail)
Title: Re: swag to choose
Post by: Green rv on November 11, 2014, 04:08:11 PM
Gday mate
i bought a roo swag a year or so haven't used it much but this is what i learnt

it has the aluminum poles in it just like the burke and wills what a pain in the a--
once the poles are bent their always bent and won't go back into the pole bag
not only that the things keep snapping at the joints
have now swapped the pole over to fiberglass type
finally the bag is too small, i can fit back in but its a fair mission to do so
just some things to look at

ads
Post by: fluids on November 11, 2014, 04:46:27 PM
I too wanted a "just for me" alternative, looked at all the "gimmicks" with hoops and fan-dangled bits ... and ended up buying a good old fashioned canvas swag - http://www.saulswags.com.au/ (http://www.saulswags.com.au/)

It's brilliant! I get a good nights sleep in it. I added a firm 20mm excercise matt under the included foam mattress, and use two blankets (one of them a Sauls merino blanket) and a sheet.

So far have slept out in it (under the 4wd awning) in down to 3deg and it was comfotable and warm.

I also purchased a swag protection system (King single) from http://www.aosswags.com/ (http://www.aosswags.com/)
The way it unzips gives me a 3/4 length waterproof groundsheet/underlay under the swag, and leaves enough room when rolled up to put a couple of pillows in one end.

The Saul is a lifetime purchase as I see it. It's quality. The aos protection system lets me carry the swag on the roof racks regardless of wind, rain, dust, and unpacks clean & dry !!

YMMV .... some folks don't like the canvas to close to their faces ... I just tie one corner out to the door handle or awning pole on the 4wd so it's a bit tented .... and stare out at the stars!  ;D

Kev..

Post by: GUEY on November 11, 2014, 05:25:26 PM
If I was to buy another swag I would get one with a pvc/rubber/plastic base. Someone may chip in with why these aren't a good idea, but for heavy rain and damp ground I could only see it as a bonus.
Post by: wilson79 on November 11, 2014, 06:10:30 PM
I have a standard king single AOS swag and love it

If I am camping at creeks where there are mosquitos i use a meshed hutchie style tent that they use in the military..
Post by: Swannie on November 11, 2014, 06:11:59 PM
I have a Burke & wills Coolabah XL, great bit of kit

Post by: Wagon Man on November 11, 2014, 06:26:36 PM
Swannie the PVC front and side mat looks handy.
Post by: speedcomm on November 11, 2014, 06:31:59 PM
We have 4 Burke and Wills Coolabahs in our household, very happy with them, I myself have an old Candy Canvas out of SA swag built about 15 years ago, basic swag design, but Aussie made and I love it ! I'm one of the odd ones who like the canvas on the face thing.. It like most quality things was pricey in the day, but it has survived the hard yards.

We got the eldest a cheap Chinese swag, what a waste. The material fell apart, zips failed, poles snapped, could never get it to seal, replaced it with the first of our Coolabahs.
Post by: Swannie on November 11, 2014, 06:43:23 PM
Swannie the PVC front and side mat looks handy.

Yeah I normally just throw the shoes under the pvc to keep them dry if its a little  wet
Post by: prado2004 on November 11, 2014, 06:50:59 PM
Cheers for the feedback guys. Yes Aussie built is the way to go. Not interested in the roo systems and kings brand rubbish that's built overseas (and isn't much cheaper). Both brands are Aussie built so probably can't go wrong. Burke and wills seems to be pretty well renowned so might end up with one of them I think.
Post by: D4D on November 11, 2014, 07:01:54 PM
I have a Burke & wills Coolabah XL, great bit of kit

Post by: alnjan on November 11, 2014, 09:07:08 PM
http://www.ultimaswag.com/swags.htm (http://www.ultimaswag.com/swags.htm)

Ultima tent covered swags have been operating since 1992. The Ultima swag is the invention of Tony Camaroni stemming from his outback training in the Australian Army in Townsville Queensland. As a direct result of intense discomfort experienced during field exercises Tony realised the necessity for a swag that was completely sandfly and mosquito proof. Tony started making swags under his house and they quickly became popular with other soldiers in his unit.
Post by: paul.o on November 12, 2014, 04:16:47 PM
Have a look at Panorama Swags. My mate and his kids have them and they look great. His is the top of the line one I think, and he said that it also has a fly you can attach if it is wet. It is side entry also which he pointed out is a great benefit if it is raining.
Post by: Sawed-Off on November 13, 2014, 07:04:28 AM
Wife and I are happy with our ARB swag.
Post by: pedrogb on November 13, 2014, 07:37:54 AM
There is a swag review in the latest Pat Callinan 4x4 mag.  His stipulations were that they had to be Aussie made Aussie materials etc.  I bought the mag 'cause I bought the actual Murchison River King Brown Swag featured in the article after they had finished the test  ;D. It is a big swag, all top quality canvas, can't fault the construction, has a 90mm mattress, and a simple hood arrangement over your head closes it up.
I also just purchased a Snow Peak sleeping bag from Drifta.  I bought this because it fits perfectly (the bag is 2000 x 1000mm) inside the dimensions of the swag, which is huge.
If there are mozzies/sandflies I have a net to hang over it.
You get what you pay for, we need to support these small Aussie suppliers, or they will cease to exist.
Pedro
Post by: gumboot on November 18, 2014, 04:15:17 PM
Hunting for a swag
Want Aus made and a few seem to recommend the Burke & Wills Coolabah XL
Whats better a PVC or a canvas base?
On the ground is normally fine but can you also put this on stretcher if you want to get off the ground?
Where is the best place to buy the swags?
Robert

Post by: Swannie on November 18, 2014, 04:38:39 PM
Hunting for a swag
Want Aus made and a few seem to recommend the Burke & Wills Coolabah XL
Whats better a PVC or a canvas base?
On the ground is normally fine but can you also put this on stretcher if you want to get off the ground?
Where is the best place to buy the swags?
Robert

The Coolabah is a really good bit of kit. I have a canvas base no reason besides that was the option I had. From keeping the bottom clean pvc is probably better but being up brisbane it may create condensation between the ground & mattress
Post by: Nay-DMAX on November 18, 2014, 08:48:45 PM
We have the kulkyne queen size swag and love it. Yep it packs up a bit bigger but we have still got it in the bag with a pillow topper winter sheets doona and a blanket in it, the side bags are handy cause you can zip your shoes inside.  I don't like canvas on my face so I find it much better to sleep in than our old one. 

http://www.kulkyne.com/au/Queen-Super-Dome-Swag.html (http://www.kulkyne.com/au/Queen-Super-Dome-Swag.html)  This is the one we have.
Post by: gumboot on November 19, 2014, 12:32:36 PM
The Coolabah is a really good bit of kit. I have a canvas base no reason besides that was the option I had. From keeping the bottom clean pvc is probably better but being up brisbane it may create condensation between the ground & mattress

Thanks Swannie
I will check them out
Robert
Post by: prado2004 on November 19, 2014, 12:54:33 PM
Thanks Swannie
I will check them out
Robert

Rob, outback adventures at moray field sell the burke and wills redgum so I would guess they may also sell the coolabah or be able to order it in. The redgum is on special in their latest catalogue I am looking at buying one
Post by: gumboot on November 19, 2014, 07:46:16 PM
Rob, outback adventures at moray field sell the burke and wills redgum so I would guess they may also sell the coolabah or be able to order it in. The redgum is on special in their latest catalogue I am looking at buying one

Thanks for that.
It seems to be the redgum is the next model up after the Coolabah. More of a dome swag with more cooling with a big one piece mesh on the top and two hoops instead of three. Otherwise same material , mattress etc.
Does anybody on here have one or used one and can comment please?

Robert
Post by: Swannie on November 19, 2014, 08:00:39 PM
Thanks for that.
It seems to be the redgum is the next model up after the Coolabah. More of a dome swag with more cooling with a big one piece mesh on the top and two hoops instead of three. Otherwise same material , mattress etc.
Does anybody on here have one or used one and can comment please?

Robert

For me Robert I went the coolabah because the middle pole is setup on the outside where the redgum is the inside, probably not a biggie but I like all three poles externally

Post by: Wagon Man on November 20, 2014, 12:35:31 PM
Anaconda is having a 25% off store wide sale till Sunday ...

Burke and Wills Coolabahs XL for $420

Now to convince the SWMBO
Post by: fuji on November 21, 2014, 05:21:53 AM
I was about to buy a B&W swag but I believe they too are made overseas. I purchased a Darche which is quite good.  Wanting something bigger I bought a Southern Cross bag which is huge but I love it. Which reminds me, I must go camping.
Post by: fuji on November 21, 2014, 05:31:09 AM
We have the kulkyne queen size swag and love it. Yep it packs up a bit bigger but we have still got it in the bag with a pillow topper winter sheets doona and a blanket in it, the side bags are handy cause you can zip your shoes inside.  I don't like canvas on my face so I find it much better to sleep in than our old one. 

http://www.kulkyne.com/au/Queen-Super-Dome-Swag.html (http://www.kulkyne.com/au/Queen-Super-Dome-Swag.html)  This is the one we have.

I would rather have canvas in my face than Andrew.  ;D
Post by: gowalkabout on November 21, 2014, 06:25:26 AM
We have a couple of the B&W Simpson swags and a B&W nullabour. The B&W nullabour and Wentworth swags are Chinese the simpson is australian. I would highly recommend the Simpson.
I sell B&W stuff and if anyone wants detailed info feel free to call me or pm me.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on November 21, 2014, 07:16:30 AM

I would rather have canvas in my face than Andrew.  ;D

HAHAHAHA that just made my morning, so in the old one it was canvas and Andrew is the new one it is more roomy so no canvas no Andrew in my face but I can still reach to put my cold feet on his legs to warm them.  >:D
Post by: Swannie on November 21, 2014, 07:51:34 AM
I was about to buy a B&W swag but I believe they too are made overseas. I purchased a Darche which is quite good.  Wanting something bigger I bought a Southern Cross bag which is huge but I love it. Which reminds me, I must go camping.

That's not true mate, they are made in Dandenong. I have been to the factory

Post by: gowalkabout on November 21, 2014, 08:28:28 AM
That's not true mate, they are made in Dandenong. I have been to the factory

Greg some are now Chinese and some other products are made in Fiji
Post by: Swannie on November 21, 2014, 09:21:24 AM
Greg some are now Chinese and some other products are made in Fiji

ok I take that back then, I'm surprised as I rang them directly before I bought the coolabah to confirm Australian made

Post by: gowalkabout on November 21, 2014, 10:03:38 AM
The coolabah is australian made. Only some things are made os
Post by: Wagon Man on November 21, 2014, 01:53:33 PM
Researching which is better PVC or Canvas Base for your swag?

Came across this

http://www.wildearth.com.au/choice/pvc-or-canvas-base-for-your-swag/668 (http://www.wildearth.com.au/choice/pvc-or-canvas-base-for-your-swag/668)

Post by: fuji on November 21, 2014, 07:05:23 PM
I love Wild Earth. How much do you want to spend?  Don't dismiss D'arche although it is imported.
Wayne
Post by: gumboot on November 22, 2014, 04:44:51 PM
Mission Complete, picked up a Burke and Will Coolabah XL on special.
Thanks for the feedback.
Post by: Wagon Man on November 22, 2014, 08:55:01 PM
Robert did you end up getting the canvas or pvc base ?

I hope you got a good price , being on special.
Post by: gumboot on November 23, 2014, 09:04:21 AM
Robert did you end up getting the canvas or pvc base ?

I hope you got a good price , being on special.

Wagon Man,
I got the canvas base. Will put some shadecloth underneath it to keep it clean  from the dirt

Robert

Post by: Wagon Man on November 24, 2014, 04:23:10 PM
I purchased 4 B&W Coolabah XL swags for the family from Anaconda today , essentially getting 1 swag for free. :cup:

Thanks for the feedback and recommendations.
Post by: vicandug on November 24, 2014, 04:30:11 PM
We went and looked at swags yesterday.
Despite having a 2 minute pop up tent that we just had to have for incase, apparently we also need swags.  Also for incase we can't take the camper. 

Anyways....  Ug liked the Burke and Wills Coolabah but I think it would be too clostraphobic. (Not sure how you spell it). He also likes the Kulkyne dome swag because of the one pole along the top.  There was another one there. Its made by  Black Wolf that I don't think would be so hard on us that don't like restricting space.
http://www.leisuregear.com.au/blackwolf/6893-blackwolf-swags-ryebuck.html?gclid=CI_Dks_OksICFUFwvAodDhYA0w (http://www.leisuregear.com.au/blackwolf/6893-blackwolf-swags-ryebuck.html?gclid=CI_Dks_OksICFUFwvAodDhYA0w)

I don't know much about them but I know that I don't like to feel closed in, hence buying a camper over a caravan thingy.

Vicki
Post by: Nay-DMAX on November 24, 2014, 05:25:10 PM
Despite having a 2 minute pop up tent that we just had to have for incase, apparently we also need swags.  Also for incase we can't take the camper. 

Anyways....  Ug liked the Burke and Wills Coolabah but I think it would be too clostraphobic. (Not sure how you spell it). He also likes the Kulkyne dome swag because of the one pole along the top.  There was another one there. Its made by  Black Wolf that I don't think would be so hard on us that don't like restricting space.
http://www.leisuregear.com.au/blackwolf/6893-blackwolf-swags-ryebuck.html?gclid=CI_Dks_OksICFUFwvAodDhYA0w (http://www.leisuregear.com.au/blackwolf/6893-blackwolf-swags-ryebuck.html?gclid=CI_Dks_OksICFUFwvAodDhYA0w)

I don't know much about them but I know that I don't like to feel closed in, hence buying a camper over a caravan thingy.

Vicki

Hi Vicki as I said in my post I don't like feeling closed in either and I don't get that with the kulkyne, our plan is that for overnighters it will be the swag (weather dependent)

Post by: Swannie on November 24, 2014, 05:43:28 PM

Vicki

Hi vicki, the collabah is quit roomy and with the front flap open its great. It you get an XL or double they are massive. Put it this way my slim self and the lovely can fit in it no worries. Happy to drag it out one day for you to test before you buy one

Post by: vicandug on November 24, 2014, 08:37:53 PM
Hi vicki, the collabah is quit roomy and with the front flap open its great. It you get an XL or double they are massive. Put it this way my slim self and the lovely can fit in it no worries. Happy to drag it out one day for you to test before you buy one

Hey Greg
If it's raining do you get wet cos it only has the 2 poles?
Thanks heaps, might have to give it a try.

Vicki
Post by: peter01 on November 24, 2014, 08:42:18 PM

Vicki

Vicki, so does this mean your selling Ugs camper ???
Post by: Swannie on November 25, 2014, 06:52:37 AM
Hey Greg
If it's raining do you get wet cos it only has the 2 poles?
Thanks heaps, might have to give it a try.

Vicki

Nope, it has 3 poles, the canvas is way off the body in the XL,
Post by: vicandug on November 25, 2014, 06:54:56 AM
No Pete. I'm not selling MY camper, but if you know where I can get a good harness made let me know.   Just in case he does a runner and takes HIS car!  Lol

Never sell the camper

Vicki
Post by: Jason B on November 25, 2014, 06:58:37 AM
There is only one swag.

http://www.southerncrosscanvas.com.au/swags/dome-swags/ (http://www.southerncrosscanvas.com.au/swags/dome-swags/)

Buy once, buy right and it will last you a life time and keep you dry when it counts most. These are made in Oz, by Ozzie's using Ozzie WCT canvas.

The Kulkyne is a cheap, inferior Chinese rip off of this swag.

Post by: prado2004 on January 05, 2015, 02:30:27 PM
There is a swag review in the latest Pat Callinan 4x4 mag.  His stipulations were that they had to be Aussie made Aussie materials etc.  I bought the mag 'cause I bought the actual Murchison River King Brown Swag featured in the article after they had finished the test  ;D. It is a big swag, all top quality canvas, can't fault the construction, has a 90mm mattress, and a simple hood arrangement over your head closes it up.
I also just purchased a Snow Peak sleeping bag from Drifta.  I bought this because it fits perfectly (the bag is 2000 x 1000mm) inside the dimensions of the swag, which is huge.
If there are mozzies/sandflies I have a net to hang over it.
You get what you pay for, we need to support these small Aussie suppliers, or they will cease to exist.
Pedro

I am leaning towards buying the Murchison River King Brown, it looks the goods on the website but think I will go with the original 50mm foam mattress as I figure it will fold up a lot smaller then the thicker 90mm foam mattress
Post by: Reddirtroaming on January 05, 2015, 08:31:21 PM
I know this is an old thread but have a look at Sunset Canvas in Toowoomba. I had my swag from them for over 20 years until it was stolen & it was still going strong.

http://www.sunsetcanvas.com.au/category6_1.htm (http://www.sunsetcanvas.com.au/category6_1.htm)
Post by: Barry G on January 05, 2015, 10:30:59 PM
IMO swags have little to recommend them when compared to lightweight dome hiking tents.

I have my Mountain Designs 3 man tent up inside 5 minutes. As it is self supporting doesn't even need pegs, unless rain is likely.

Designed as a snow tent, packs down small and is really light.
I find that good self inflating sleeping mats ( Thermarest or equiv.) are more than adequate for a good nights sleep in my down sleeping bag.

AND no risk of stuffing my back manhandling a swag with foam mattress onto the roof rack and tying it down.

Perhaps if I was older / carrying more weight I would want more.
Post by: prado2004 on February 10, 2015, 11:24:51 AM
sorry to bring up an old thread but my murchison river king brown swag arrived today, and god it is good quality. very very happy!
Post by: pedrogb on February 10, 2015, 01:26:20 PM
Yep I love my king brown as well, just got to wait for the weather to cool down a bit more to use it!
Pedro