General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on November 03, 2014, 07:49:06 PM

Title: So Whos Going to WIN the Melbourne Cup
Post by: speewa158 on November 03, 2014, 07:49:06 PM
 ???
Title: Re: So Whos Going to WIN the Melbourne Cup
Post by: MarkGU on November 03, 2014, 08:08:32 PM
???
The bookmakers are the only ones who win Jamie.

hence why ( imo) horse racing is boring as bat crap.
Post by: dales133 on November 03, 2014, 08:12:16 PM
I'd agree with that.
Unless your face down in your ashtray with a Form guide in one hand and a cigarette burning holes in your other fingers gambling just isn't sexy. ...lol
Post by: JD-120 on November 03, 2014, 08:16:10 PM
Ill play spewa

Cant go past the 2 fav's IMO. Admire Rakti and Lucia Valentina
Post by: oldmate on November 03, 2014, 08:16:48 PM
The bookmakers are the only ones who win Jamie.

hence why ( imo) horse racing is boring as bat crap.

Yep or horse 12 lol
Post by: lino6 on November 03, 2014, 08:17:55 PM
Tom Waterhouse
Post by: Davepatrol on November 03, 2014, 08:23:48 PM
I reckon the first one past the post might be the winner :cup:  :cheers:
Post by: dales133 on November 03, 2014, 08:25:01 PM
When you put midgets on horses anything can happen
Post by: Rumpig on November 03, 2014, 08:53:17 PM
if past cups are anything to go by, it'll be a horse other then the one i bet on  ::)
Post by: oldmate on November 03, 2014, 08:59:26 PM
When you put midgets on horses anything can happen

OOMPA LOOMPA DOOMPADEE DOO
I'VE GOT A PERFECT PUZZLE FOR YOU
OOMPA LOOMPA, DOOMPADAH DEE
IF YOU ARE WISE YOU'LL LISTEN ME
WHAT DO YOU GET WHEN YOU BET ON HORSE
DRINKING AS MUCH AS ELEPHANT OF COURSE
WHAT ARE YOU AT GETTING TERRIBLY DRUNK
WHAT DO YOU THINK WILL COME OF THAT
I DON'T LIKE THE LOOK OF IT
OOMPA LOOMPA DOOMPADEE DAH
IF YOU'RE NOT GREEDY YOU WILL GO FAR
YOU WILL LIVE IN HAPPINESS TOO
LIKE THE OOMPA LOOMPA DOOMPADEE DO
DOOMPADEE DOO
Post by: dales133 on November 03, 2014, 08:59:41 PM
if past cups are anything to go by, it'll be a horse other then the one i bet on  ::)
Lol.... You'd have more fun doing heroin for the weekend, I'm sure you'd find something that cost less that was more fun than watching anorexic sqeeky voiced dudes beating horses half to death and feel a whole lot straighter for it
Post by: dales133 on November 03, 2014, 09:00:41 PM
DOOMPADEE DOO
Perfect!
Post by: MarkGU on November 03, 2014, 09:01:05 PM
DOOMPADEE DOO
ease up on the drugs Olly
Post by: oldmate on November 03, 2014, 09:02:11 PM
ease up on the drugs Olly

Lol, I'll save some for ya hahahahha
Post by: Rumpig on November 03, 2014, 09:18:32 PM
Lol.... You'd have more fun doing heroin for the weekend, I'm sure you'd find something that cost less that was more fun than watching anorexic sqeeky voiced dudes beating horses half to death and feel a whole lot straighter for it
doubt i'll even bother putting a bet on tomorrow actually, so shouldn't cost me anything  8) i've got $10 in my wallet and my ATM card has stopped working, so couldn't place a decent bet even if i wanted to...lol. I used to go to the Brisbane races every year with mates, now that cost me a bomb...no pay for 2 days being self employed back then (cup day and too sick to go to work the next day also...lol...we used to be at the track before 10.00 a.m and home sometime the next morning) aswell as a fortune lost on the nags as i rarely won out overall on the day  :'( still it was a good day out being at the track  8) 8)
Post by: dales133 on November 03, 2014, 09:24:40 PM
doubt i'll even bother putting a bet on tomorrow actually, so shouldn't cost me anything  8) i've got $10 in my wallet and my ATM card has stopped working, so couldn't place a decent bet even if i wanted to...lol. I used to go to the Brisbane races every year with mates, now that cost me a bomb...no pay for 2 days being self employed back then (cup day and too sick to go to work the next day also...lol...we used to be at the track before 10.00 a.m and home sometime the next morning) aswell as a fortune lost on the nags as i rarely won out overall on the day  :'( still it was a good day out being at the track  8) 8)
I hear you... I've got a prepaid holiday to Cains next week lucky we've got the acomodation and Shit paid....
Btw anyone in Cains if you got nothing on I'm there Monday to Sunday and would love to meet up with some Queensland brethren.
Be cool to catch up
Post by: berlitza on November 03, 2014, 09:29:48 PM
Came the the conclusion that i'm going to win tomorrow, going the "borrow" one of these ,

http://youtu.be/hYlce0tFjLk (http://youtu.be/hYlce0tFjLk)

not sure how well I will do on the the grass though

Post by: dales133 on November 03, 2014, 09:39:07 PM
Borrow the useless tit farmer or the bike lol
Post by: berlitza on November 03, 2014, 09:41:27 PM
Borrow the useless tit farmer or the bike lol

I'd ride both at once i'm not scared much
Post by: dales133 on November 03, 2014, 09:43:18 PM
Lol
Post by: Kangaron on November 03, 2014, 10:21:10 PM
It beggers belief that anyone could put there hard earned on 2 tonne of horse flesh, with a brain the size of a pea, being ridden by some bent little pissant, trained by dodgy pricks like the Waterhouse Lot, who should have been banned from all racecourses in 1984.
and NO, I'm not a punter.
Post by: Robbo on November 04, 2014, 03:51:00 AM
Horses are amazing animals. They are the only one that I know of
that can take so many people for a ride at the same time.  ;D
Post by: Lobster on November 04, 2014, 04:21:22 AM
The first horse past the post :cup: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on November 04, 2014, 05:27:25 AM
After reading through all your post l am almost sorry l started this  :-[ :-[  No not really just interested to see who was going to maintain the tradition of the " Sickie " today & or possibly tomorrow . :cheers:
Post by: edz on November 04, 2014, 07:12:56 AM
Well I think Ive narrowed it down, I reckon theres a fair chance that its going to be >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>A horse !
Hopefully all the drunken ****tards will have crawled home to the gutter  by the time I get to work this arvo, It'll save me having to drag them out .
Post by: Daz100 on November 04, 2014, 07:21:56 AM
SignOff is my tip
Post by: speewa158 on November 04, 2014, 08:12:38 AM
The weather forecast sounds like a " Ripper " Storm warning at 4.30  , 5 Pm . Drink up & get out while you can  :cheers:
lf it rains & blows there will be wet punters everywhere , then the roads will flood , the train/trams will stop . Getting home will be the biggest punt of the day  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: gclan on November 04, 2014, 09:29:52 AM
I always pick horse no.11 and this year the lucky nag is 'Mutual Regard'.

My dog picked 'Red Cadeaux' ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 04, 2014, 09:31:30 AM

The weather forecast sounds like a " Ripper " Storm warning at 4.30  , 5 Pm . Drink up & get out while you can  :cheers:
lf it rains & blows there will be wet punters everywhere , then the roads will flood , the train/trams will stop . Getting home will be the biggest punt of the day  :cup: :cheers:
whole lotta dressed up peop's getting wet.........not good on many fronts......and backs
Post by: raider on November 04, 2014, 09:34:41 AM
Araldo , Red Cadeaux and Fawkner - not necessarily in that order - Box it.
Post by: Black Diamond on November 04, 2014, 09:35:33 AM
Empire rose is my tip for this years cup  8)
Post by: speewa158 on November 04, 2014, 09:58:27 AM
Wet summer party dresses competition coming up  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: paceman on November 04, 2014, 10:36:43 AM
mutual regard is my glue factory this year... :)
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 04, 2014, 02:38:20 PM
My bet's on protectionist I reckon
Post by: Homerj on November 04, 2014, 04:01:40 PM
I'm not into the horses at all but my girlfriend put a mystery bet on for me at the TAB.  She drew Protectionist! She's very kindly going to shout me lunch tomorrow with my winnings.
Post by: Rumpig on November 04, 2014, 04:27:26 PM
for those who backed Admire Radki and haven't read the What's Making News thread yet....the horse ran last as you may know, but back at the stable it died of what they think was a heart attack. Explains now why it performed so poorly in the race i guess.
Post by: oldmate on November 04, 2014, 04:28:41 PM
Yep or horse 12 lol

got third. But lyndall got the winner  :cup:

what made us pick those horses.  Our birthdays lol
Post by: speewa158 on November 05, 2014, 05:57:00 AM
Turned out to be an exciting race but a very sad day with the loss of 2 horses . l would hate to be the Japanise guy that goes home to the connections without a horse .         
Post by: oldmate on November 05, 2014, 06:00:43 AM
Turned out to be an exciting race but a very sad day with the loss of 2 horses . l would hate to be the Japanise guy that goes home to the connections without a horse .         

Yeah that's not good.
Post by: fridayman on November 05, 2014, 07:12:38 AM
I draw 2 horses in the sweepstake. I breaks a leg and the other drops dead. I'll just get back to work.
Post by: Squalo on November 05, 2014, 03:20:12 PM
As a P4x4.com moderator I had to go with 'GU Patrol', and look, we nearly got it...

(http://images.brisbanetimes.com.au/2014/11/04/5952487/art-finish--1--620x349.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on November 05, 2014, 05:48:39 PM
l wouldn't brag about being out run by a horse     >:D         :cheers:
Post by: Squalo on November 05, 2014, 05:54:23 PM
Well they put the Landcruiser down after the race, so... :D
Post by: Spada on November 05, 2014, 08:02:15 PM
As a P4x4.com moderator I had to go with 'GU Patrol', and look, we nearly got it...

(http://images.brisbanetimes.com.au/2014/11/04/5952487/art-finish--1--620x349.jpg)

Patrol's & race horses aren't much different.............................

They both need a lift home on a trailer after a long run... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: MarkGU on November 05, 2014, 08:07:36 PM

They both need a lift home on a trailer after a long run... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
your off the invite list in future Mr   >:(

Post by: Rumpig on November 05, 2014, 08:22:04 PM

PMSL  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on November 06, 2014, 06:09:38 AM
Should we bring out the screens  ??? or are you two going to play nice  :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on November 06, 2014, 06:11:42 AM
PMSL  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

What are you laughing at?  Go re read a few of your last trip reports.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Spada on November 06, 2014, 06:20:11 AM
Should we bring out the screens  ??? or are you two going to play nice  :cheers:

:cheers: just some freindly banter, put the popcorn away.
Post by: Rumpig on November 06, 2014, 12:58:48 PM
What are you laughing at?  Go re read a few of your last trip reports.  ;D ;D ;D
my fourby's only ever been on one tilt tray in the 8 years I've owned it....not bad considering how I neglect it's maintenance and where I've taken it Over the years I reckon...lol
Post by: Clouty on November 06, 2014, 02:48:55 PM
Patrol's & race horses aren't much different

:cup: ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: MarkGU on November 06, 2014, 03:48:43 PM
my fourby's only ever been on one tilt tray in the 8 years I've owned it....not bad considering how I neglect it's maintenance and where I've taken it Over the years I reckon...lol
Mal, your flat out taking care of yourself let alone the Cruiser.  8)
Post by: Rumpig on November 06, 2014, 07:02:26 PM
Mal, your flat out taking care of yourself let alone the Cruiser.  8)
i dunno about that, body of an adonis here i reckon  ;D ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 06, 2014, 07:07:24 PM
Turns out swmbo picked Protectionist and put on a bet for a win and a place.  I asked what made her select that horse?  Said she liked the write up in the weekends paper and selected it, go figure. But then I guess she's good at picking champions:-)
Post by: oldmate on November 06, 2014, 07:09:11 PM

Lol. Yeah your right. Lucky the other time you had a bloke with a nissan to drive you 200km to get the parts  ;D ;D
Post by: Rumpig on November 06, 2014, 07:43:20 PM
Lol. Yeah your right. Lucky the other time you had a bloke with a nissan to drive you 200km to get the parts  ;D ;D
200klms....try 370 odd klms one way thank you very much...lol...funnily enough, the guy at Innamincka said he might have had what we needed in his work shop actually, but considering you can't get him on the phone and had to leave a message for whenever he was back in town, it was time wasted if he didn't have it, and then we would have had to drive there and back the next day anyhow. Biggest part that Shit me about that, was we'd done less then 1000klms since that diff was rebuilt in the week before we went away on holidays and that was one of the parts he'd replaced....F'ing usless mechanic at Ipswich that one  ::)
Post by: oldmate on November 06, 2014, 07:52:29 PM
200klms....try 370 odd klms one way thank you very much...lol...funnily enough, the guy at Innamincka said he might have had what we needed in his work shop actually, but considering you can't get him on the phone and had to leave a message for whenever he was back in town, it was time wasted if he didn't have it, and then we would have had to drive there and back the next day anyhow. Biggest part that **** me about that, was we'd done less then 1000klms since that diff was rebuilt in the week before we went away on holidays and that was one of the parts he'd replaced....F'ing usless mechanic at Ipswich that one  ::)

Lmao.. 200 km I just took a guess, I knew you didn't walk there lol