General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Wagon Man on October 22, 2014, 12:06:52 PM

Title: MySwag Group Buy on Supa Peg Awnings and Accessories. UPDATED 28/11/14
Post by: Wagon Man on October 22, 2014, 12:06:52 PM
Hi Fellow Swaggers,

With Summer here its time to get an Australian made awning for your tug.

I have been in contacted with Supa Peg in Queensland and they have offered a Group Buy to MySwag members on there awnings.

Supa peg have agreed to give us a

* 5% discount on their entire awning range and also include a free standard beach kit.

* When purchasing an awning if you want to purchase awning wall extensions you will also receive the discount on the walls.

The Terms & Conditions

*We require a minimum of 10 awnings orders to obtain the discount.

* All orders are to be processed over the phone to ensure members order correctly and receive the group discount.  Online orders will not get discount.

*  Supa peg will handle all payments and delivery / transportation of products.

* There will be NO discount given on freight no exceptions.

* All RRP are listed in their online shop.

*  Please use the freight estimator to get an idea of freight costs.

What we need to do is gather at least 10 committed members and then place our orders once we have a definite 10 ready to purchase .

We need members who are definates not maybes.

Info on there  products can be found on there website http://www.supapeg.com.au (http://www.supapeg.com.au)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/401260_259625324098030_99745716_n.jpg?oh=d16dddd9d8076c84d11f634ad040a69e&oe=54AFEF16&__gda__=1425352305_abeab475bc18bb64a3793a7ac053e2a9)
(http://www.supapeg.com.au//images/cms/swa25main.jpg)(http://www.supapeg.com.au//images/cms/se25main.jpg)

I have no affiliation with this company,
I just want to get a good deal for our members on a quality Australian made and manufactured product.

For those interested in participating in the MySwag Supa Peg Awnings and Accessories group buy please indicate by posting below.

Could everyone who has posted an EOI,
Please decide and if you would like to commit to the
group buy and PM me.

Group buy Participants.

1. Wagon Man   =    Purchased
2. Geordie 4x4   =    Purchased
3. Brooke. Fossey
4. nickandbron
5. stropp             =    Purchased
6. blacklotusdog =   Purchased
7. Burra Boy

So current offer as of 28/11/2014
is the Facebook offer:

5% off any of the wing and stand easy awnings and you get a free LED light kit and a free beach peg kit. (only valid to next Tuesday 4th)
Title: Re: MySwag Group Buy on Supa Peg Awnings and Acessories.
Post by: geordie4x4 on October 22, 2014, 08:50:35 PM
Thanks Wagon Man, great idea.

I am definitely in for the 2.5m Supa Wing and will probably get one of the rear wall sections in canvas for a bit of extra protection.

I see that they now also do a mozi mesh room and a solid canvas room with floor. Pitty they only just advertised these as I have already got a mozimesh for an Oz Trail awning.  I am going to sell the Oz Trail awning as it does not work over my back doors as well as as it could. 

I only want one awning on my wagon so it has to be a good one.

G
Post by: JD-120 on October 22, 2014, 09:08:42 PM
Thanks Wagon Man,

I am currently comparing side awnings. Could be interested depending on the discount %.

I only hear good things about the supapeg awnings, and the price reflects this :)

pending on final discount, I would probably be interested in a stand easy delux 2.5 side awning

Post by: steeples on October 22, 2014, 09:59:50 PM
Thanx wagon man,
  I'm after a super wing r/h for my van for the right coin  :cheers: good idea
Post by: Bird on October 22, 2014, 10:01:19 PM
what about shipping?
Post by: Andy_Q on October 22, 2014, 10:25:39 PM
I'd be interested in some ally poles for the right price.

Post by: geordie4x4 on October 23, 2014, 12:03:14 AM
what about shipping?

I checked for shipping to Perth was only $45.  I think they do a fixed price anywhere in Aus. which that makes it good for WA.  Other companies want $90 or more.
Post by: WilSurf on October 23, 2014, 09:43:26 AM
Hi Geordie, welcome back. Haven't seen you for a while.

I am happy enough with my Bob Burrage awning, 2.5 x 4 meters.
Post by: geordie4x4 on October 23, 2014, 09:58:20 AM
Hi WilSurf, thanks mate.

Hi Geordie, welcome back. Haven't seen you for a while.

I am happy enough with my Bob Burrage awning, 2.5 x 4 meters.
Post by: geordie4x4 on October 28, 2014, 04:46:15 PM
So I am nearly ready to order mine.

I will have a new custom made low profile, flat rack from Tracklander due to be finished this Friday. As soon as I get it on the vehicle and the hard shell camper on top, I will be able to confirm the height of the brackets needed and if the Supawing is going to fit properly. I want to then go ahead and order early next week. 

In Perth there is also the 4x4 and Adventure show comming up so there could be a few specials on products for competition.

There have been a few guys on the Patrol4x4 forum who are also interested in the group buy, but no one confirmed yet. 

Who else on here is close to confirming a buy? This could be th edifference between only 5% or 10% discount.
Post by: BigJules on October 28, 2014, 07:14:57 PM
Can't speak highly enough of the SupaPeg gear I've got. Trackabout use their poles, pegs and ropes as standard and I've bought a lot of extra bits. I already had an ARB awning when I learned of these guys, but my neighbour picked up a SupaPeg awning for his work van.
Post by: nickandbron on November 03, 2014, 11:52:43 AM
I was planning on purchasing one before we head away for a trip at Christmas. Haven't decided which model yet.
Post by: maverick01 on November 03, 2014, 04:53:54 PM
I would be interested in the stand easy rear rack awning
Post by: Wagon Man on November 03, 2014, 08:29:29 PM
A quick update for everyone

I will be contacting Supa Peg this week with regards to the group purchase.

I will be sending a PM to everyone who has shown an EOI.

If anyone else would like to take part in this Group Buy please post in this thread.

Post by: brooke.fossey on November 03, 2014, 08:49:27 PM
Hi Wagon Man. We are interested in more information.  Cheers
Post by: Wagon Man on November 03, 2014, 10:00:00 PM
Hi Wagon Man. We are interested in more information.  Cheers

PM sent Brooke
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 04, 2014, 12:12:06 AM
Thanks for keeping this going Wagon Man.

I am off to the Perth 4WD and Adventure show this weekend, but looking at the exhibitor list, does not look like Supapeg have their gear there. I was hoping to have a good look.

So I will be ready by early next week to purchase. 

I had a bit of interest on the Patrol4x4 forum but no definites.
Post by: FNQBunyip on November 04, 2014, 08:45:21 AM
yep interest here too .. I've been looking around a lot . must be time to make a decision ..

Post by: blacklotusdog on November 04, 2014, 10:34:10 AM
Interested in a rapid wing depending on discount. Will just have a chat the minister of finance tonight.
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 04, 2014, 09:16:16 PM
Interested in a rapid wing depending on discount. Will just have a chat the minister of finance tonight.

Make sure that you start off with:

You have found something that will make her life so much more comfortable and shade 'her side' of the car, and hell what a good shopper you are because it is at a bargain price.   

See I have been practicing my sales pitch too.
Post by: CRW on November 04, 2014, 09:22:59 PM
I would also be interested to please

Post by: Wagon Man on November 04, 2014, 09:29:43 PM
PM sent CRW
Post by: Wazza2 on November 05, 2014, 05:53:47 PM
Whilst buying some of their twist lock cams yesterday I had a look at the awnings. Great looking bit of kit and the quality leaves my 2 cheapies brand awnings looking very sick.

Will upload the picks I took shortly so you can see some of the good stuff on these awnings that isn't that obvious in the brochure.

W
Post by: brooke.fossey on November 05, 2014, 06:49:53 PM
I went for a recon today and was really impressed with the quality.  We are definitely going to be getting a supa wing because I could put it up by myself in less than 5 minutes.  I also think it is great value for money when compare to the quality of the others we have looked at for the prices they are asking.  The husband is going to send me on more recons now ;)
Post by: Wazza2 on November 05, 2014, 06:56:27 PM
The stand easy

(http://pic80.picturetrail.com:80/VOL2138/10477042/24571915/410319946.jpg)

Quality bit of c-section on the outer side also has a nice slot where led can be fitted

(http://pic80.picturetrail.com:80/VOL2138/10477042/24571915/410319947.jpg)

And nothing flimsy about where the poles all link together

(http://pic80.picturetrail.com:80/VOL2138/10477042/24571915/410319945.jpg)

Even comes with feet

(http://pic80.picturetrail.com:80/VOL2138/10477042/24571915/410319948.jpg)

Post by: Wazza2 on November 05, 2014, 07:18:40 PM
And the for a little less $ you can get the Stand Easy EcoRV

(http://pic80.picturetrail.com:80/VOL2138/10477042/24571915/410320089.jpg)

So much more robust in the hinge setup than my cheapies are

(http://pic80.picturetrail.com:80/VOL2138/10477042/24571915/410320086.jpg)

Equally sturdy looking here

(http://pic80.picturetrail.com:80/VOL2138/10477042/24571915/410320087.jpg)

(http://pic80.picturetrail.com:80/VOL2138/10477042/24571915/410320088.jpg)
Post by: dales133 on November 05, 2014, 07:52:39 PM
I'd be interested in some more info and prices offered to the group buy
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 05, 2014, 07:59:44 PM
I went for a recon today and was really impressed with the quality.  We are definitely going to be getting a supa wing because I could put it up by myself in less than 5 minutes.  I also think it is great value for money when compare to the quality of the others we have looked at for the prices they are asking.  The husband is going to send me on more recons now ;)

Cool, can I get you to talk to my lady to convince her. I do a lot of the buying of camping gear but she is so much better at bargaining and searching out a good deal.

Wazza2,
thanks for posting more photos mate, That is exactly the sort of detail I like to see. Pitty I am so far away over in Perth, there are no dealers with the Supa Peg gear to take a look at.
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 06, 2014, 09:17:20 PM
Well it looks like there are at least three keen from the Patrol4x4 forum as well as the members here, so it should be about 8 to 10 which would make SupaPeg happy to give a reasonable price.
Post by: blacklotusdog on November 07, 2014, 07:45:28 PM
Did you end up getting an idea of what sort of discount we can get?
Post by: nickandbron on November 08, 2014, 10:05:03 AM

Did you end up getting an idea of what sort of discount we can get?

I'm ready to grab mine when we find out. Cheers.

Post by: stevem on November 08, 2014, 10:49:00 AM
Sorry guys - I've only just seen this thread. I'd be interested myself. Thanks Steve
Post by: Wagon Man on November 09, 2014, 08:27:31 AM
Wazza2,  appreciate you taking the time to photograph at their premises and to post in this thread.

We are still in final negotiations with Supa peg.

I know a few of you are very eager to purchase.

If any other members are interested in this Group buy please post in this thread.

Post by: BaseCamp on November 10, 2014, 06:16:44 PM
Hi WM,

I'm interested in their products as well.

Please keep me in the loop...

Post by: Mik01 on November 11, 2014, 07:03:49 AM
Don't expect much of a discount.
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 11, 2014, 12:22:36 PM

Why do you say that Mik01? Have you had previous experience with them.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on November 11, 2014, 12:37:29 PM

Any discount is better than full price and I for one am really happy with the awning I currently have on the side of our ute.  If I could work out a good way to have one over the back I would get another supapeg.
Post by: Wagon Man on November 11, 2014, 01:22:47 PM
1st post has been updated.

Group buy is on for those who are interested.
Title: Re: MySwag Group Buy on Supa Peg Awnings and Accessories. UPDATED 11/11/14
Post by: JD-120 on November 11, 2014, 06:01:34 PM
Thanks for organizing wagon man. Will have to pass on this. Cheers Justin
Title: Re: MySwag Group Buy on Supa Peg Awnings and Accessories. UPDATED 11/11/14
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 12, 2014, 09:17:35 AM
Any discount is better than full price and I for one am really happy with the awning I currently have on the side of our ute.  If I could work out a good way to have one over the back I would get another supapeg.

They do a rear wing type awning that is only as wide as the rear roof and folds out the sides as well. It might join up well with the back of your side awning. On a ute you would just need a rear rack bar to mount it.

http://www.suparvaustralia.com.au/Rear_Wing_p/rwa375.htm (http://www.suparvaustralia.com.au/Rear_Wing_p/rwa375.htm)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on November 12, 2014, 05:47:04 PM
They do a rear wing type awning that is only as wide as the rear roof and folds out the sides as well. It might join up well with the back of your side awning. On a ute you would just need a rear rack bar to mount it.

http://www.suparvaustralia.com.au/Rear_Wing_p/rwa375.htm (http://www.suparvaustralia.com.au/Rear_Wing_p/rwa375.htm)

Thanks I have looked at that one it is even further out of the budget than the one that just goes off the back haha. I do like the idea but it is more a case of want versus need at the moment. cheers for posting the link though
Post by: blacklotusdog on November 13, 2014, 02:52:33 PM
Count me in for a rapid wing. Good to go once we have numbers.
Post by: Wagon Man on November 13, 2014, 03:18:50 PM
Count me in for a rapid wing. Good to go once we have numbers.

Done ... Added to the list.
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 16, 2014, 06:40:12 PM
You can add another from the Patrol4x4 forum, Burra Boy to the list.

Geordie
Post by: BaseCamp on November 17, 2014, 11:49:49 AM
Spoke with Peter at Supapeg FRI 14th Nov.

Said they had a bad experience with a 4x4 club previously - which had "promised wonders and cucumbers" (re: orders)...    Spent (wasted) 3 days of the owner's time doing quotes and drawings etc - then nothing eventuated...  Nil Orders...

So this time round - Peter said they will definitely be requiring confirmed orders and (as I understood) - "Orders Paid Upfront in Full" - to get any 5+% discounts...

The products look super quality...  I am considering buying the 2Mtr x 2.5Mtr awning...  But at approx $450; its a bit of a call... 

Because the same weekend I was also in Rays - which had the Oztent knock off made in China version, at approx $395 (less 20% less 10% - credit) = approx $284

The quality is not completely comparable - but kinda the Supapeg version would either need to last approx 60%+ longer; or have 60%+ better warranty - to really justify the price..

I hope all those Aussie workers in the Supapeg factory come to work each week with passion, and do pride in their work..  (I am sure many would).. 

The main reason I would go Supapeg - is because of the quality - in the "Goodyear" context...  If it saves your bacon just one time (heavy rain / wind / storms etc...) ... then it was justified...
Post by: Bird on November 17, 2014, 12:02:36 PM
having run several group buys the only way to run it is as soon as someone goes YES YES OOooooo OOOOOOOOOO ME ME ME - get the cash off them there and then...

Non refundable unless the whole discount and bulk buy falls through or you will be left holding the lot.
Post by: FNQBunyip on November 18, 2014, 07:49:08 AM
sorry but i'm out , I spent too much and brought a new truck instead ...

Post by: blacklotusdog on November 23, 2014, 12:47:25 PM
Apologies gents but I'm out too. Needed to get the awning for a trip early December. I did discover if you like their Facebook page you can get access to a 5% discount through the page. Paid $850 shipped for a 2.4m rapid wing.
Post by: Wagon Man on November 24, 2014, 02:06:38 PM
Ok fellow swaggers we need to get at least another 3-4 members to commit to this group buy.

Could everyone who has posted an EOI,

Please decide and if you would like to commit to the group buy , please PM me.
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 25, 2014, 03:49:08 PM
I am still a definite but I need to move on this asap to get it in time for Christmas.
Post by: stropp on November 27, 2014, 10:24:30 AM
Me too, I would like mine prior to xmas
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 27, 2014, 09:12:50 PM
I plan to ring Supapeg tomorrow to check what the wait and postage time is likely to be to get it to WA before Christmas. I might have to go ahead and order straight away.

I will post when I find out roughly how long they expect to take.
Post by: firefox on November 27, 2014, 09:37:39 PM
Hi guys,
So I've had Peter doing some work for me. He's gear is just the best.
I had a chat with him today about this deal. If you want these before Xmas and to WA they need to be placed in the next week.

Really these guys create the best gear. If you are looking for gear supa peg is brilliant.

In saying that everyone needs to really get this sorted by early next week and then contact Peter to organise. He can't offer the discount unless everyone gets organised.

Peter is excellent to deal with, so I highly trying to get this all sorted.
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 28, 2014, 08:44:04 AM
UPDATE

Well bugger me. After all this we have only 7 confirmed on this group buy which may not be adequate to get a decent discount.

BUT one of the others said have a look on Facebook, as there is a discount being offered if you "Like" them then request the special offer. You get an email with a link to the Facebook store which shows all the discounted items and you get a special offer code that you enter on checkout to get the Bonus stuff.

So current offer on Facebook is:
5% off any of the wing and stand easy awnings and you get a free LED light kit and a free beach peg kit. (only valid to next Tuesday 4th)

So thanks to Wagon Man for all the hard work in trying to get the group discount together but it is probably easier to take up the Facebook offer, I have purchased mine this morning.
Title: MySwag Group Buy on Supa Peg Awnings and Accessories. UPDATED 11/11/14
Post by: nickandbron on November 28, 2014, 09:45:47 AM
Facebook discount only applies to Wings & Stand Easy Deluxe. Discount does not apply to walls & accessories. I'm looking at the Stand Easy ERV and a wall kit, so I'm still keen for the group buy.

Post by: Wagon Man on November 28, 2014, 10:19:03 AM
Thanks for announcing the facebook offer Geordie.

Organizing this group buy and now this offer. :o

To all those that want to purchase please take advantage of the Facebook offer.

I will PM everyone who has committed.

Post by: geordie4x4 on November 28, 2014, 11:05:46 AM
Thanks Wagon Man and sorry I did not want to shoot down this group buy but looking at the time line to take advantage of this and time to order before Christmas, I had to move on it now.

So thanks for your efforts in getting this started.

Post by: geordie4x4 on November 28, 2014, 11:14:15 AM
Facebook discount only applies to Wings & Stand Easy Deluxe. Discount does not apply to walls & accessories. I'm looking at the Stand Easy ERV and a wall kit, so I'm still keen for the group buy.

nickandbron,
sorry when I posted this, I initially thought that there was also a discount of 10% offered for one week only on all side walls and accessories.

But when I spoke to Lee at Supapeg this morning, he said to check the date on that because it is still up on Facebook but was over a month ago.  I am also getting several rear walls and was thinking about a side or front wall so I was also keen on a discount on all of this too.

So it looks like they do periodically give offers of good discounts particularly on Facebook because then it is easy for them to have you still order and pay through the on-line / Facebook store.
Post by: Wagon Man on November 28, 2014, 11:18:05 AM
No worries Geordie I thinks it's in everyone's best interest to use the Facebook offer considering Christmas is around the corner.

Thanks to everyone who was involved.

Geordie could you forward the PM to Burra Boy.
Title: Re: MySwag Group Buy on Supa Peg Awnings and Accessories. UPDATED 28/11/14
Post by: geordie4x4 on November 28, 2014, 03:32:06 PM
Thanks Bill, yes I have PMd Burra Boy and Stropp on the Patrol forum. Stropp has ordered his which is a custom unit to fit his Hanibal roof top tent.

Nickandbron, I would give them a call and ask if you can get the gear you want at the special price or at least get the bonus LED lights and beach kit.

I spoke to Lee this morning then did the order through the Facebook page and have already had a confirmation back from Supapeg that my gear has been posted this afternoon, so they are bloody good on the quick service.

Title: Re: MySwag Group Buy on Supa Peg Awnings and Accessories. UPDATED 28/11/14
Post by: geordie4x4 on December 10, 2014, 08:11:38 PM
So I ordered and Supapeg sent it out the same day (bloody hell that is fast service). I  got the awning delivered last Friday, five days earlier than the courrier tracking suggested. Had time to finish fitting and put it up for the first time today. First impressions: It is a hell of a lot bigger than the old awning but well made and put together.   
Post by: Bird on February 24, 2016, 10:15:20 AM
So I ordered and Supapeg sent it out the same day (bloody hell that is fast service). I  got the awning delivered last Friday, five days earlier than the courrier tracking suggested. Had time to finish fitting and put it up for the first time today. First impressions: It is a hell of a lot bigger than the old awning but well made and put together.
how did you find it?
Post by: fossROK on February 24, 2016, 08:06:52 PM
@bird, I find the Supa Wing we bought astoundingly good and when you damage something (it does happen) then the Supa-Peg guys know what you need, go to the shelf to get it and courier it to you. They are really good to deal with and their product right up there in quality.