General => General Discussion => Topic started by: MarkVS on October 19, 2014, 05:23:33 AM

Title: Guess who lives in Melbourne and is getting a new shed..and car hoist
Post by: MarkVS on October 19, 2014, 05:23:33 AM
A little birdie tells me that someone,who lives in Melbourne, (and recently had their dearest Patrol broken into) is about to get a new double door shed, with Duggie style car hoist !!!!!

Something tells me the Patrol won't be on the street anymore !!!

MarkVS
Title: Re: Guess who lives in Melbourne and is getting a new shed..and car hoist
Post by: speewa158 on October 19, 2014, 05:57:16 AM
Could it be somebody that also thinks Tandem is  terrific , Bogie is best    ???
Title: Re: Guess who lives in Melbourne and is getting a new shed..and car hoist
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 06:24:44 AM
A little birdie tells me that someone,who lives in Melbourne, (and recently had their dearest Patrol broken into) is about to get a new double door shed, with Duggie style car hoist !!!!!

Something tells me the Patrol won't be on the street anymore !!!

MarkVS

Hi Mark,

I trust you all had a pleasant time. I can see there was plenty of chatting, but that's a given.... ;D ;D

A comment or two, if I may.

The shed will have only one main door. I suppose it'll be a double door jobbie if you count the little man door ::)... ;D

The Patrol hasn't lived on the street since the liberation attempt. It's not my daily driver any more. Very crowded in the garage ATM.

Yes, duggie's set-up has provided no small amount of inspiration. I'm still in awe. I got some serious shed envy there, but we don't have the space for something as impressive.......no gantry for me i'm afraid :'(......but I'll make do.

Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 06:26:58 AM
Could it be somebody that also thinks Tandem is  terrific , Bogie is best    ???

You mean it's not??... ??? ???

My garden trailer is a tandem, too..... ;D ;D
Post by: MarkVS on October 19, 2014, 06:44:43 AM

I trust you all had a pleasant time. I can see there was plenty of chatting, but that's a given.... ;D ;D

Geoff,
Good time had by all....mind you, being the only bloke and seven women....lucky I got any conversation in at all !!

I thought the 2 doors didn't sound right...as there is only 1 Patrol.

But correct me if I am wrong....you are getting a type of car hoist ? arent you ?

MarkVS
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 06:51:57 AM
Geoff,
Good time had by all....mind you, being the only bloke and seven women....lucky I got any conversation in at all !!

I thought the 2 doors didn't sound right...as there is only 1 Patrol.

But correct me if I am wrong....you are getting a type of car hoist ? arent you ?

MarkVS

Ear plugs might have been a good idea...... ;D

Yes, I'll definitely be putting a hoist in the shed, but an overhead gantry like duggie has will remain a dream.

Post by: MarkVS on October 19, 2014, 06:57:40 AM

Yes, I'll definitely be putting a hoist in the shed, but an overhead gantry like duggie has will remain a dream.

So you would have to be the ONLY person, who lives in suburban Melbourne, with their own car shed that has a car hoist ? That is one spoilt car  :cup:

And boy...is Kay is open to some REAL payback...... ;D ;D

MarkVS
Post by: Nay-DMAX on October 19, 2014, 07:12:04 AM
You mean it's not??... ??? ???

My garden trailer is a tandem, too..... ;D ;D

You and lino6 could have things to talk about forever with the number of different trailers we have  ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 07:36:28 AM
So you would have to be the ONLY person, who lives in suburban Melbourne, with their own car shed that has a car hoist ? That is one spoilt car  :cup:

And boy...is Kay is open to some REAL payback...... ;D ;D

MarkVS

Not so much about spoiling the car Mark. I'm just getting too old for all the getting down on the ground, and then getting back up rubbish.

Are you taking a morning cuppa in to Kerry yet??... ;D ;D
Post by: Wato on October 19, 2014, 07:59:03 AM
Geoff
If there is a new shed on the horizon I would seriously consider having a pit built into the floor. A great addition I reckon.

Craig
Post by: D4D on October 19, 2014, 08:05:41 AM
A mate installed a Tufflift hoist in his home garage, it works really well and he's had no probs with it and it gets used a lot.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2-Post-Hoist-Tufflift-2-Post-4-Ton-Overhead-Vehicle-Hoist-2-Post-Car-Hoist-/301287505344 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2-Post-Hoist-Tufflift-2-Post-4-Ton-Overhead-Vehicle-Hoist-2-Post-Car-Hoist-/301287505344)
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 08:09:04 AM
Geoff
If there is a new shed on the horizon I would seriously consider having a pit built into the floor. A great addition I reckon.

Craig

Thanks Craig, but a hoist will suit me better.
I need something that will get the wheels of the ground.
They allow stacking, too.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 08:11:25 AM
A mate installed a Tufflift hoist in his home garage, it works really well and he's had no probs with it and it gets used a lot.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2-Post-Hoist-Tufflift-2-Post-4-Ton-Overhead-Vehicle-Hoist-2-Post-Car-Hoist-/301287505344 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2-Post-Hoist-Tufflift-2-Post-4-Ton-Overhead-Vehicle-Hoist-2-Post-Car-Hoist-/301287505344)

That's exactly the type I have in mind.....4-4.5T, clear floor.
Nice to get a little feedback about someone that has one.
Thanks Jamie.  :cup:

Post by: D4D on October 19, 2014, 08:30:19 AM
The only difference between the domestic and commercial is with the domestic you need to release the lever on both posts before it will lower. You pay twice the price for the privilege of not having to do that. The clear floor works really well too.
Post by: Black Diamond on October 19, 2014, 08:45:58 AM
Hoist at home would be gold, lucky I have one at work  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 19, 2014, 09:30:36 AM
Honest Geoff Cut & Shunt   has a nice ring to it . The service centre in the Western Berbs .. A car gos in & comes out what ever colour you want a few days later with mods . A whole new slant on working from home  :cheers:
Post by: scarps on October 19, 2014, 09:40:23 AM

Honest Geoff Cut & Shunt   has a nice ring to it . The service centre in the Western Berbs .. A car gos in & comes out what ever colour you want a few days later with mods . A whole new slant on working from home  :cheers:
interestingly, I thought most sheds in the area had put full skylights, headlamps and irrigation systems in?  A car shed, now that's novel.....
Post by: speewa158 on October 19, 2014, 09:46:55 AM
& rewire power meters & early 1 morning a bunch of blokes will come through the front door to do a spot of gardening  :police:
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2014, 09:48:16 AM
Quote from: MarkVS
A little birdie tells me that someone,
the story lost all creditability when you came to think of Geoff as a bird....
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 11:05:44 AM
the story lost all creditability when you came to think of Geoff as a bird....

Wasn't me doing the telling........there's more to it than meets the eye.

Besides, have you looked in the mirror lately?.... :P
Post by: speewa158 on October 19, 2014, 12:29:39 PM
lm still scared from the mental pic of an angry partly clad Bogan sprinting down the street in the early hours of the morn . Pity help the paper boy in that area  >:( >:(
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2014, 04:45:43 PM
Quote from: GeoffA
Besides, have you looked in the mirror lately?.... :P
just look at the name and avatar... what more do you need
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 04:52:51 PM
just look at the name and avatar... what more do you need

I preferred the Nasty Canasta avatar....a good likeness.... ;D
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2014, 04:55:26 PM
I preferred the Nasty Canasta avatar....a good likeness.... ;D
here yar.. you can change your
http://statici.behindthevoiceactors.com/behindthevoiceactors/_img/chars/thumbs/char_42339_thumb.jpg (http://statici.behindthevoiceactors.com/behindthevoiceactors/_img/chars/thumbs/char_42339_thumb.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 04:59:52 PM
here yar.. you can change your

Happy??
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2014, 05:03:01 PM
Happy??
BAR TENDER BAR TENDER...> WHERES MINE............
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 05:06:09 PM
BAR TENDER BAR TENDER...> WHERES MINE............

Drip-along Daffy... ;D
Post by: rellbell on October 19, 2014, 09:07:43 PM
Not so much about spoiling the car Mark. I'm just getting too old for all the getting down on the ground, and then getting back up rubbish.

The exact reason Tony has a hoist.  Everything gets fixed on the hoist, Nissan, Trackabout, zero turn ride on mower goes up to sharpen the blades, daughters come home and put there 4wds up there too.  When the 18 mth old granddaughter took her little pushcart down for aunty to do a service too , it was a bit small so it got pride of place up on the transmission jack grandad got for Xmas:) cheers rellbell
Post by: speewa158 on October 19, 2014, 09:15:50 PM
rellbell  Don't go giving him ideas for things to do with said Lifty thing  to justify the excessive cost of the lift . Could it be the girth is exceeding the lift on the Dato      ???     :laugh:
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2014, 09:46:39 PM
Drip-along Daffy... ;D
]
Daffy Duck - (Ep. 61) - Drip-Along Daffy (http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1ylm6x)
Post by: prodigyrf on October 20, 2014, 05:54:00 PM
It has come to the industry and nanny state's recent attention that certain greasy undesirables are covertly buying hoists for their sheds, among other forbidden tools and daring to service, maintain and repair their own vehicles-
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/business/companies/motorists-to-pay-more-for-car-servicing-under-new-regulations/story-fnkjkh00-1227095455020?sv=86ebabaaa8532895efc5cd95711600ba (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/business/companies/motorists-to-pay-more-for-car-servicing-under-new-regulations/story-fnkjkh00-1227095455020?sv=86ebabaaa8532895efc5cd95711600ba)

Ve haf vays of making you pay  >:D
Post by: speewa158 on October 20, 2014, 06:45:10 PM
Cottage industry , GTS     " Geoffs Turck Service "  Push it in   Drive it out  :cheers:
Post by: duggie on October 20, 2014, 06:51:43 PM

Yes, duggie's set-up has provided no small amount of inspiration. I'm still in awe. I got some serious shed envy there, but we don't have the space for something as impressive.......no gantry for me i'm afraid :'(......but I'll make do.

Hi Geoff,

I dont suffer from shed envy, but you know how it goes, bigger shed more space to stack unused crap in.

I may get around to putting some doors up for the shed one day, so at least yor shed can be locked up.

Enjoy both the shed and the hoist,  cheers duggie.
Post by: prodigyrf on October 21, 2014, 02:05:12 AM
Oh what a feeling! Seems the hoist, etc will be useful after all but the Nissan will have to go-
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/business/companies/toyota-gives-local-mechanics-a-fair-go-as-ricky-muir-asks-car-industry-to-review-its-decision/story-fnkjkh00-1227096523670 (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/business/companies/toyota-gives-local-mechanics-a-fair-go-as-ricky-muir-asks-car-industry-to-review-its-decision/story-fnkjkh00-1227096523670)
Post by: GeoffA on October 21, 2014, 11:06:55 AM
....but the Nissan will have to go-

Not much chance of that.... :-*
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 21, 2014, 11:21:14 AM
Where and when can we start to make a booking  ;D

Would love a hoist now I have the shed, just need to be able to get into it

Post by: GeoffA on October 21, 2014, 11:36:10 AM
Where and when can we start to make a booking  ;D

Would love a hoist now I have the shed, just need to be able to get into it

Group buy??... ;D

You're way ahead of me Garrick. I still have to get the shed.....
Post by: Bird on October 21, 2014, 11:40:14 AM
I thought about one, but then your limited if you put it in the wrong place first time...
Post by: GeoffA on October 21, 2014, 04:40:44 PM
I thought about one, but then your limited if you put it in the wrong place first time...

Yes, selecting the location isn't easy. All options are a compromise of some sort.....
Post by: Black Diamond on October 21, 2014, 08:05:34 PM
Yes, selecting the location isn't easy. All options are a compromise of some sort.....
Maybe we should come around and discuss a suitable site over a few slabs of beer  :angel:

I'll bring the vid, we can make it "The Block" Myswag version ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 21, 2014, 08:33:29 PM
Planning  Section   lm in  ;D ;D ;D ;D :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: D4D on October 25, 2014, 11:03:36 AM
Much inspection of hoist...

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/hoista.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on October 25, 2014, 11:45:44 AM
It works!!!...and very nicely, too... :cup: :cup:

Thanks for arranging the looksee Jamie.
Post by: Bird on October 25, 2014, 01:19:44 PM
It works!!!...and very nicely, too... :cup: :cup:
that shed is way too clean...
Post by: oldmate on October 25, 2014, 02:12:12 PM
 :cup: :cup:  looks great
Post by: scarpsD40 on October 25, 2014, 02:27:07 PM

that shed is way too clean...
as is the GU
Post by: D4D on October 25, 2014, 02:50:03 PM
as is the GU

I hope the Prado is in as good condition as Geoff's GU when it is 15 years old.
Title: Guess who lives in Melbourne and is getting a new shed..and car hoist
Post by: scarpsD40 on October 25, 2014, 03:13:46 PM
agree, he keeps his motor clean. Why he's...............

Post by: speewa158 on October 25, 2014, 04:46:55 PM
That's Tom Slicks Thunderbolt Grease  Slapper  on the rack     or Geoff   GU .   1 or the other  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 26, 2014, 05:46:44 AM

Thanks Jamie. I reckon you're pretty safe..... :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on January 11, 2015, 08:02:05 AM
Update time.....

Preliminary works are continuing.

Shed permits are almost through council. Had to make a couple of small concessions wrt siting and ridge height, but no show stoppers. They've given the nod, just need final sign off.

Just about got drive access reinstated. Demolition of the blockage continues.

Have removed a 3m x 4.5m garden shed, and will break up and get rid of the slab today. Thankfully, no reo.... :cup:

Hoping to have the new shed up by the end of Feb.

Post by: speewa158 on January 11, 2015, 08:38:02 AM
Should l bring down the front end loader to help you move the rubble  ??? ???l hate to think of you watching Kay swing the 9LB hammer to demolish the slab then load it in a big bin  ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on January 11, 2015, 08:58:09 AM
Should l bring down the front end loader to help you move the rubble  ??? ???l hate to think of you watching Kay swing the 9LB hammer to demolish the slab then load it in a big bin  ;D ;D :cheers:

It's OK Jamie. She'll have it all done in time to make my lunch.... ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 11, 2015, 10:25:39 AM
It's OK Jamie. She'll have it all done in time to make my lunch.... ;D

Why do l get the feeling you will be sucking through a straw in ICU    :'(   ??? ??? At least the nurses are paid to be nice to you  :cheers:
Post by: duggie on January 11, 2015, 10:48:08 AM
Update time.....

Shed permits are almost through council. Had to make a couple of small concessions wrt siting and ridge height, but no show stoppers. They've given the nod, just need final sign off.

Have removed a 3m x 4.5m garden shed, and will break up and get rid of the slab today. Thankfully, no reo.... :cup:

Well done Geoff,

The problem with having a shed and hoist is you will now find that you are going to need some more tools, MIG welder, Plasma Cutter, Drop Saw , Pipe Bender and so on, but thems are the breaks.

Looking forward to the photos as progress moves along because ,  :worthles:

cheers and beers , duggie
Post by: Black Diamond on January 11, 2015, 11:20:07 AM
Update time.....

Nice one Geoff. Can i get in nice and early and book in for some Air Bags, subwoofer install and neons??  Thanks Bro that'll be on 10 years interest free too mate  :P

Post by: Bird on January 11, 2015, 11:23:45 AM
Nice one Geoff. Can i get in nice and early and book in for some Air Bags, subwoofer install and neons??  Thanks Bro that'll be on 10 years interest free too mate  :P

na that's Evo's gig... ;)
Post by: speewa158 on January 11, 2015, 11:56:14 AM
You blokes think he a " New Chum " at sheds . l have seen is current shed/garage  & he wont need anymore crap just a place to put it where he can find & use it . That's going to be something to behold  :cup: :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on January 11, 2015, 05:40:38 PM
.........he wont need anymore crap just a place to put it where he can find & use it........

Yep.... ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on January 11, 2015, 05:42:49 PM
na that's Evo's gig... ;)

Also yep.... ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on January 11, 2015, 05:50:49 PM
Well done Geoff,

The problem with having a shed and hoist is you will now find that you are going to need some more tools, MIG welder, Plasma Cutter, Drop Saw , Pipe Bender and so on, but thems are the breaks.

Looking forward to the photos as progress moves along because ,  :worthles:

cheers and beers , duggie

Hi duggie,

Some tools may be purchased, but more because I want to, than I have to. Sometimes life's tough....... ;D ;D

Plenty of pics will be posted when there's something positive to show.
So far it's all been about access and site clearing.....nothing interesting....

Post by: jk on January 11, 2015, 06:20:06 PM
AH........................"Want" one of my favourite words in the whole world  :cup:
Post by: MarkVS on January 11, 2015, 06:32:07 PM
AH........................"Want" one of my favourite words in the whole world  :cup:

Old Buddhist saying- "Happiness is wanting what you've already got."

They clearly never owned a 4WD or camper.  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 11, 2015, 06:56:49 PM
Mark VS 
            Show us your shed            ???                           don't pontificate about it             , in to it      :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on January 11, 2015, 06:59:21 PM
Mark VS 
            Show us your shed            ???                           don't pontificate about it             , in to it      :cheers:

Mark has some very impressive, hoist suitable sheddage...... :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: MarkVS on January 11, 2015, 07:02:40 PM
Mark VS 

Jamie,
I'm lucky enough to have 2 sheds with no want for a hoist...As I'd have no idea what to do with it.  ;D ;D

Post by: GeoffA on January 11, 2015, 07:06:59 PM
Jamie,
I'm lucky enough to have 2 sheds with no want for a hoist...As I'd have no idea what to do with it.  ;D ;D

I'm sure others would be very happy to show you Mark...... ;D
Post by: jk on January 11, 2015, 07:49:57 PM
 ;) :4x4: sure can  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 12, 2015, 06:22:15 AM
Build it & they will come   ,m   & bring  :cheers:
Post by: Elky on January 15, 2015, 12:33:32 AM
Much inspection of hoist...

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/hoista.jpg)

Yea I got one off tuff lift in 2007, been pretty good so far, the only thing to go wrong was a start up capacitor letting its smoke out, got another quickly and easily. I don't lift the 200 too high on it tho, as the dodgy concretors who knew exactly what I was gonna do still made the centre of the slab a bit thin, for longer trucks like my dmax I quickly get stands underneath before work starts. I mainly put gemini's on it, 900kg is nothing compared to the trucks

Once you have one you can't go back!
Post by: GeoffA on February 04, 2015, 08:31:28 PM
Once you have one you can't go back!

Yep. It's something I've wanted for a long time. Not long now.

Shed permit approved yesterday...nearly 3 months since submitted.... ::)
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2015, 08:37:06 PM
So Catch can and bonnet fitting services should be ready in 2 weeks time... :)
Post by: GeoffA on February 04, 2015, 08:38:15 PM
So Catch can and bonnet fitting services should be ready in 2 weeks time... :)

...more like the end of Feb I reckon... :-* ;D
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2015, 08:40:42 PM
...more like the end of Feb I reckon... :-* ;D
I thought you had more clout than that... Treat them like the car thieves, run in their offices in ya Y fronts with the stain on em, Im sure they will help get the work done quicker

gives me time for American to come back and look after kids..
Post by: GeoffA on February 04, 2015, 08:43:51 PM
I thought you had more clout than that... Treat them like the car thieves, run in their offices in ya Y fronts with the stain on em, Im sure they will help get the work done quicker

gives me time for American to come back and look after kids..

I want their help, and I want a good result, so it's a case of "more flies with honey than vinegar".......
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2015, 08:47:21 PM
I want their help, and I want a good result, so it's a case of "more flies with honey than vinegar".......
Hmmm.... STRANGE.. VERY STRANGE.
Post by: speewa158 on February 04, 2015, 08:54:18 PM
Yep. It's something I've wanted for a long time. Not long now.

Shed permit approved yesterday...nearly 3 months since submitted.... ::)
                     Happy Days 
                                      Oh Happy Days
                         Hes a Happy  Happy Boy
                                                               like a Dog with 2 Tails
                                                                                                 Let the Erection Begin        :cup: :cup: :cheers:
 l shell raise a  :cheers: in honour of the occasion         :cheers:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 04, 2015, 09:04:02 PM
Great news, give me a yell if you need a hand

Post by: GeoffA on February 04, 2015, 09:11:54 PM
Thanks Garrick, but the shed mob are doing the lot, except SW and sparks.
Post by: GeoffA on February 24, 2015, 06:27:24 PM
Finally, some progress.....

...looks like I may have a little bladder issue....

Post by: scarpsD40 on February 24, 2015, 06:35:56 PM
Noice
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 24, 2015, 06:41:03 PM
Looks great Geoff, I have a pour tomorrow, a little larger though. When is the good bits going up. Always great when the concrete is laid and you have something to walk on rather than mud and reo

Post by: GeoffA on February 24, 2015, 07:57:23 PM
Hi Garrick,

The good bits will be delivered on Friday, and will start taking form on Monday or Tuesday. They say 3 days to build it.

The plumber will be on site on Friday to run sewer, sw, water, and the elec conduit.
He'll also be re-doing the water supply from the meter. The old galv main is well past its' best.

Might soon be time to order the hoist... ;D ;D

Post by: Black Diamond on February 24, 2015, 08:33:55 PM
Decent size slab mate, exciting times :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on February 24, 2015, 08:36:53 PM
9m x 11m John......it won't be big enough.

Doesn't really matter though......if it had been 10m x 20m, it STILL wouldn't have been big enough..... ::)
Post by: Black Diamond on February 24, 2015, 08:39:34 PM

Doesn't really matter though......if it had been 10m x 20m, it STILL wouldn't have been big enough..... ::)
You got that right mate ;D
Post by: speewa158 on February 25, 2015, 04:14:34 AM
9m x 11m John......it won't be big enough.

Grasshopper
You will be like a Crayfish ,, you will grow into your new shell & it will become part of you . lt will be just big enough & fit you like a shell should . What plans have you made for seating arrangements to entertain  :cheers:
Post by: Coolblue80 on February 25, 2015, 04:40:43 AM
Looking good.  Here's a bit of inspiration for you.  I've had my hoist in for a couple of weeks and used it for a job on the Val on the weekend.  What a revelation.  Makes everything so easy. Cheers, Mike.
(http://i817.photobucket.com/albums/zz92/pageys/20150208_1438171_zps4dijeazy.jpg) (http://s817.photobucket.com/user/pageys/media/20150208_1438171_zps4dijeazy.jpg.html)
(http://i817.photobucket.com/albums/zz92/pageys/20150208_1438031_zps38yy9ycg.jpg) (http://s817.photobucket.com/user/pageys/media/20150208_1438031_zps38yy9ycg.jpg.html)

Post by: GeoffA on March 09, 2015, 06:23:42 PM
It's growing.....

.....but have plans for another 3m bay..... ::) ;D ;D
Post by: D4D on March 09, 2015, 06:30:25 PM
Nice wide entrance too :)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 09, 2015, 06:31:16 PM
Looks good bud. I like the open air idea. Hoist as high as you like ????

Gag
Post by: speewa158 on March 09, 2015, 07:05:22 PM
Might be a bitch when it rains  :cup:  but coming along nicely . So where will the fridge be installed & when  ???
Post by: GeoffA on March 15, 2015, 05:28:58 PM
A big day today..... ;D ;D
Post by: D4D on March 15, 2015, 05:30:39 PM
Congrats, that's a great work area :cup:

When is the hoist getting installed?
Post by: GeoffA on March 15, 2015, 05:33:40 PM
Congrats, that's a great work area :cup:

When is the hoist getting installed?

Thanks Jamie.

It could go in now, but I'm going to wait until the 2.9m extension is done ;D ;D.....or should that be  ::) ::)?
Post by: scarpsD40 on March 15, 2015, 05:41:31 PM
Geoff, looks great but your tandem trailer looks too clean and newish. Bit like a Toorak Trailer;D

Here's a genuine offer to help ya.  Bring it along into Mt Disappointment next time Fuji and I head in. We'll fill our chainsaw fuel and oil while balancing on the side. Spilled oil and fuel is really great for capturing forest dirt and dust. Make it look a whole lot tougher!
Then we'll load it with mountain ash logs freshly cut and dropped in from the side. Add a few dents, scrapes and paint chips. Starting to look really rugged now.
Then we'll get you to follow us the a few gravel tracks and maybe a creek wash out. That'll fix those shiny alloy rims. By the time we've finished and dropped the timber at our places, it'll look like a real trailer.

It's ok, don't thank us for the offer. That's what myswag friends are for;D
Post by: Swannie on March 15, 2015, 05:53:57 PM
Geez might have to put my Torrie in there Geoff :)

Post by: GeoffA on March 15, 2015, 05:58:04 PM
Thanks for the offer scraps, but the trailer's done its' share of work. My dad and I built it over 20 years ago. It was originally my camping/motor bike trailer, but it's also hauled many a load to the tip. It sports many battle scars and faded paint. The photo flatters it immensely.....

The shiny alloy rims were a $300 ebay pickup. A set of 5 EL Fairmont Ghia rims, with 4 near new Michelins and an unroaded original spare. I got $100 for the 4 old XF Fairmont rims with stuffed tyres ... :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on March 15, 2015, 05:59:53 PM
Geez might have to put my Torrie in there Geoff :)

Only if I can have a drive....... ;D ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on March 15, 2015, 06:33:08 PM

Thanks for the offer scraps, but the trailer's done its' share of work. My dad and I built it over 20 years ago. It was originally my camping/motor bike trailer, but it's also hauled many a load to the tip. It sports many battle scars and faded paint. The photo flatters it immensely.....

The shiny alloy rims were a $300 ebay pickup. A set of 5 EL Fairmont Ghia rims, with 4 near new Michelins and an unroaded original spare. I got $100 for the 4 old XF Fairmont rims with stuffed tyres ... :cup:
oh well in that case, meet you at BP Hume northbound 8am Sat morning with trailer in tow;D
Post by: speewa158 on March 15, 2015, 06:43:03 PM
l have enjoyed the pics of the   ,   Erection    , there are 3 trailers in said same . Two of which are tandem & the other is a single axel . ls that the unit that Kay uses to fill the fridge for yourself    ???. Can you please explain the only 2 skylights  in the roof    ??? . You should have enlisted the help of a Swagger that has raised  two of the best   Sheds  yet seen & is inhabiting a 3rd  & GROWING   :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on March 15, 2015, 06:53:12 PM
l have enjoyed the pics of the   ,   Erection    , there are 3 trailers in said same . Two of which are tandem & the other is a single axel . ls that the unit that Kay uses to fill the fridge for yourself    ???. Can you please explain the only 2 skylights  in the roof    ??? . You should have enlisted the help of a Swagger that has raised  two of the best   Sheds  yet seen & is inhabiting a 3rd  & GROWING   :cheers: :cheers:

No girly single axle trailers in MY shed.....

4 skylights, not 2.....
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 15, 2015, 07:02:49 PM
Looking great bud, twin axles all round. The shelving looks very siiiimilar to mine.

Post by: speewa158 on March 15, 2015, 07:12:02 PM

No girly single axle trailers                 ??? ??? ??? ???

So just WHOM own the single axel trolley on the far  Right  , with only 1 axel & 2 wheels  >:D :cup: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on March 15, 2015, 07:13:41 PM
ls  somebody    ???    under the   "  Thunb  " ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on March 15, 2015, 07:16:04 PM
No girly single axle trailers                 ??? ??? ??? ???

So just WHOM own the single axel trolley on the far  Right  , with only 1 axel & 2 wheels  >:D :cup: :cheers:

It has 4 wheels...... :-*
Post by: Brett B on March 15, 2015, 07:18:52 PM
looking good mate  1 shed is good but 2 sheds is better  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on March 15, 2015, 07:19:40 PM

D R E A M I N G                           :laugh:
                                   l have seen have  pics                                        :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on March 15, 2015, 07:22:22 PM
looking good mate  1 shed is good but 2 sheds is better  ;D

Yep. I have 2 now.... :cup:
Post by: speewa158 on March 15, 2015, 07:24:01 PM
Yep. I have 2 now.... :cup:

Got a BP for that or What  ??? ??? ??? :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on April 02, 2015, 05:49:58 PM
It fits.......not that there was any doubt.... ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on April 02, 2015, 05:57:37 PM
my shed was that empty once... awesome to be able to set it up in the shed and let it dry out for a week while Locked up....
Post by: GeoffA on April 02, 2015, 06:04:03 PM
my shed was that empty once..

It won't stay like that forever.... :'(

.. awesome to be able to set it up in the shed and let it dry out for a week while Locked up...

All part of the plan.......it was a by-product of having the height for a hoist.
The hoist will go in after we get back from the Kimberley, and the extra bay has been added.

Post by: Bird on April 02, 2015, 06:12:46 PM
are u going to line it??
Post by: GeoffA on April 02, 2015, 06:51:02 PM
are u going to line it??

The roof has air-cell insulation, but no plans to do the walls.
Post by: Bird on April 02, 2015, 06:53:56 PM
The roof has air-cell insulation, but no plans to do the walls.
fair nuff.
 I'd like to air-cell and 9mm ply the walls.. justr not sure how to attach it as mine is like yours, no 2x2 framework around the walls.
Post by: JPH on April 02, 2015, 07:16:49 PM
I lined the walls of my last shed with 2400 x 1200  x 16  white board, was a 200 m2 shed, so used roughly a pack of board, was $800 bucks well spent. It made it easy to mount power points, airlines etc and made the shed heaps brighter inside. It was a Ranbuild shed and looks exactly the same as the picture, I just screwed the sheets into the back flanges of the top hats with wing tip metal screws. Some spots I had to check around braces or drill holes with a spade bit in the back of the sheet to go over bolts. The shed's looking good with the coota opened up, just need that hoist.. They're never big enough though, we work out of ours, outgrew the 200 m2 shed in about four years, five years later we've outgrown a 460 m2 shed so time to double it again....
Post by: speewa158 on April 02, 2015, 07:24:06 PM

Swaggers Porn                       . GeoffA Ct set up in HIS   SHED  to air        ,  does it get any better than that  ???
Post by: MarkVS on April 02, 2015, 07:55:42 PM
Looks awesome Geoff !!!!
Post by: speewa158 on April 02, 2015, 07:59:11 PM
Thats what you do with a shed Mark  ;D ;D
Post by: Glenno on April 22, 2015, 05:14:25 AM
Looks sensational Geoff.

Have you installed the fridge and tested it?? 

No doubt the air compressor and tools all installed

Need to book in a visit post your trip

G
Post by: duggie on April 22, 2015, 08:00:39 AM
Great looking shed you have there Geoff, let the fun begin . :cup:

cheers duggie.
Post by: MarkVS on April 22, 2015, 08:06:32 AM

cheers duggie.

Thats quite a compliment coming from the 'king' of sheds.... ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on April 22, 2015, 07:00:56 PM
Looks sensational Geoff.

Have you installed the fridge and tested it?? 

No doubt the air compressor and tools all installed

Need to book in a visit post your trip

G

Thanks Glenn. No big fridge, or a lot of other things, in the new shed yet. Been too busy, sadly..... :'(

The compressor, mig, and trolley jacks have made their way into their new home, but there's a long way to go yet. I plan a kitchenette (sink, fridge, bench) type setup in 1 corner, and it's also plumbed for a dunny. That's all been on hold while we've been doing some prep work for our Kimberley trip. The shed was completed later than planned, and it's brought some pressure to bear.......

We'll most definitely be getting together after we're both back from our trips.
You have some show-and-tell to do yourself... :cup: :cup:

Geoff
Post by: GeoffA on April 22, 2015, 07:07:48 PM

cheers duggie.

Thanks duggie. It has a way to go yet, but there is a rough plan.

Thats quite a compliment coming from the 'king' of sheds.... ;D ;D

It is indeed Mark. Duggie is extremely well set up... :cup:

Post by: speewa158 on April 22, 2015, 07:45:01 PM
No   No    No     No     lts all to clean , neat & tidy to be a   " Real Mans Shed  " , l may have to give personal 1on 1 instruction for a nominal fee . That being  :cheers: :cheers:& then  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on April 22, 2015, 08:30:49 PM
Geoff, I really like that erection mate   O0
Post by: GeoffA on September 17, 2015, 08:02:31 PM
Update time.....

The shed extension was approved by the council's Town Planning dept 2 weeks ago, and I got word today that the Building Dept has given their OK as well.

The hoist is getting closer.... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: scarpsD40 on September 17, 2015, 09:28:59 PM
Noice one
Post by: speewa158 on September 18, 2015, 07:19:49 AM
Geoff With all your new found Expertise  of Shedding/Roofing will you be having a crack at the Flinders street rail yards next  ??? ???. Need a good man in that department    :cup:                  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on December 04, 2015, 05:24:53 AM
Stand by......... ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on December 04, 2015, 06:30:02 AM
l getting a but tired standing by , can you fax me a chair & a few  :cheers:   ???
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 04, 2015, 08:39:45 AM

l getting a tired butt sitting in my camp chair waiting and drinking a few  :cheers:   ???
fixed it for you
Post by: GeoffA on December 04, 2015, 06:49:44 PM
Finally.... :cup: :cup:

Had the final inspection for the shed yesterday, and the 4.5T hoist was delivered and installed today.

The shed is now 13.9m x 9m with a ridge height of 4.4m.
Only took 14 months ::) ::).....but very pleased.... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: scarpsD40 on December 04, 2015, 06:54:18 PM
Noice

Post by: speewa158 on December 04, 2015, 06:56:35 PM
Really  Nice  Shed      but its a bit to tidy & it only fits 1 Dato & 2fords .

Should be bigger     for Real Rigs  .                           8) 8) 8) 8) 8) :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on December 04, 2015, 06:57:48 PM
Really  Nice  Shed      but its a bit to tidy & it only fits 1 Dato & 2fords .

Should be bigger     for Real Rigs  .                           8) 8) 8) 8) 8) :cheers:

Nah. That's why we have Simsmetal....
Post by: speewa158 on December 04, 2015, 07:03:41 PM
Nah. That's why we have Simsmetal....

So just Whom is going to tell  " Loverly  " Her car has been trashed to pay for the Toys    ???   :cheers:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 04, 2015, 07:36:04 PM
Looks great Geoff........... Time for me to get the tape measure out and start planning, Farkaway needs one too.  ;D

Post by: D4D on December 04, 2015, 07:37:55 PM
You now need a sign that says 'Geoff's Shed' :)
Post by: GeoffA on December 04, 2015, 07:48:08 PM
Thanks boys, but we're not finished yet.

Got some steel coming for the mezzanine, and will then do the dunny and shower.

Post by: MarkVS on December 04, 2015, 07:59:00 PM
Very Very Noice
Post by: McGirr on December 04, 2015, 09:02:59 PM

Where's the bar  :cheers:

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 04, 2015, 09:16:48 PM
I'll bet he's not had it delivered yet.
Or the plumber hasn't run the lines for the keg and taps yet. >:D :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on December 04, 2015, 09:17:37 PM
Where's the bar  :cheers:

You're looking at it.....all 125.1 sq.m of it.... ;D ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on December 04, 2015, 09:17:56 PM
Gotta be happy with that mate that's awesome :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on January 10, 2016, 07:54:46 PM
Got some steel up for a mezzanine.....it's a start....
Post by: MarkVS on January 10, 2016, 08:07:00 PM
Geoff, is the lounge so you can sit in the shed and 'look' ?
Post by: GeoffA on January 10, 2016, 08:09:52 PM
Geoff, is the lounge so you can sit in the shed and 'look' ?

Yep. It's a "Parker", too.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: Brett B on January 10, 2016, 08:14:53 PM
Looks ace Geoff will have too come over and check it out  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on January 10, 2016, 08:18:36 PM
Looks ace Geoff will have too come over and check it out  :cup: :cheers:

You're always welcome Brett.
Post by: Swannie on January 11, 2016, 08:20:09 PM
Looks great Geoff

Post by: speewa158 on January 12, 2016, 11:08:09 AM
That lounge loos like a great spot to have  :cheers: & tell tall Tales about how Good We Were  ::)   :cheers:
Post by: Bad Scott on January 12, 2016, 12:15:28 PM
That lounge loos like a great spot to have  :cheers: & tell tall Tales about how Good We Were  ::)   :cheers:
Along time ago, in a distance far far far far away >:D
Post by: speewa158 on January 12, 2016, 04:46:44 PM
Geoff's Shed   a lot more than a destination  , its " The Place " to be  :cheers:

Knock with your elbows  , as you have a slab under each arm   .

( l will personally supervise  " Drinking Lessons "  with practical demonstrations as required )

Post by: duggie on January 12, 2016, 05:09:40 PM
Life gets better every day, well done Geoff, the shed looks great.

cheers duggie
Post by: hutchie62 on January 12, 2016, 05:32:20 PM
Well done,
The shed looks the goods, it is so nice to have a good shed to play in..

Hutchie
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on January 12, 2016, 06:58:26 PM
I thought it was kick the door, because your arms were full. 
You couldn't move your arms, or you'd drop something precious. :cup: :cup: :cup: :angel:
Post by: speewa158 on January 12, 2016, 07:47:23 PM
I thought it was kick the door, because your arms were full. 
You couldn't move your arms, or you'd drop something precious. :cup: :cup: :cup: :angel:
Ammeter   ,      your not trying hard enough                :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on September 04, 2016, 08:01:28 PM
The saga continues.....son and I have finally finished the shelf....
Post by: MarkVS on September 04, 2016, 08:05:14 PM
Looking Good !!!!  :cup: :cup:
Post by: speewa158 on September 04, 2016, 08:33:50 PM
                & the load carrying ability is of the  " Upper Deck "  to be provided    :cup: :cheers:
                       Nicccce Work                       :cup:              :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on September 06, 2016, 08:41:02 PM
That looks unreal Geoff :cup:
Post by: AdrianLR on September 06, 2016, 09:47:38 PM
Wow!