General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jeepers Creepers on October 09, 2014, 04:32:38 PM

Title: Bathurst 2014
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 09, 2014, 04:32:38 PM
Yeah yeah, someone had to start the thread....  :D

Now, I've gotta meet up wiff da others on Sat afternoon at Rainbow for the 2015 Nat Meet stuff, but Sunday is gunna be a cracker of a day for boating, but the idiots have resurfaced the mountain circuit and its suggested, its gunna be a fast race on Sunday.

Now i'm in a pickle, I don't know which way to swing.

I reckon Whincup and Dumbrel are odds on to win, but.......i'd like to see Craig take it out.

But then, oh crap, I don't know.......  ???
Title: Re: Bathurst 2014
Post by: hainess on October 09, 2014, 05:09:00 PM
Did a couple of laps around there last week.
Then the missus did a couple, then the green Ps went on for the daughter to have a go.
Nice new surface,but, still a scaryass piece of road at 20kph,2nd gear in the old Triton.

Faster than that. No thanks.

Hope Ive got enough beer.

Go Ford.

Rod.
Post by: edz on October 09, 2014, 05:10:10 PM
Wonder if the new surface will stand up to the abuse on the corners .
Big screen tv, surround sound on, Waeco prechilled and loaded with beer and prawns + snacks at arms reach beside lounge,  funnel and tube in place [ when ya gotta go ya gotta go ], ...
Up at sparrows on sunday, bacon n eggs and a coldy for brekky, warm up the tv ready for the start of the days telecast ...
No talking no toys no kids fighting no interuptions phones off the hook go away sign on door wife and kids out the door,  this is my one and only day to watch TV in peace, the other 364 are theirs ... Jeez I hate Bathurst .  ;D
Post by: oldmate on October 09, 2014, 05:15:36 PM
Big screen tv, surround sound on, Waeco prechilled and loaded with beer and prawns + snacks at arms reach beside lounge,  funnel and tube in place [ when ya gotta go ya gotta go ], ...
Up at sparrows on sunday, bacon n eggs and a coldy for brekky, warm up the tv ready for the start of the days telecast ...
No talking no toys no kids fighting no interuptions phones off the hook go away sign on door wife and kids out the door,  this is my one and only day to watch TV in peace, the other 364 are theirs ... Jeez I hate Bathurst .  ;D

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: You just described my day. Nothing more to add.  :cheers:
Post by: Elky on October 09, 2014, 05:21:20 PM
^^^this, my Bathurst starts at 12pm Friday, hopefully won't miss more than 5 minutes of viewing at my pitstop time, as my birthday is a week after my only present request each year is a quiet Sunday!

Just doing my snack list for the weekend for swambo to fetch for me, hard choice for lunchtime Sunday tho

Bring it on!
Post by: oldmate on October 09, 2014, 05:32:28 PM
NEW LAP RECORD - David Reynolds 2.06.3714
Post by: speewa158 on October 09, 2014, 05:40:54 PM
Speewas Lap record   6.45 & a bit . Pajero NL  with CT on treg .   Read it & weep  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 09, 2014, 05:46:16 PM
Speewas Lap record   6.45 & a bit . Pajero NL  with CT on treg .   Read it & weep  :cheers: :cheers:

6.45 hours?  :cup:
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2014, 05:56:45 PM
watch the first 10 mins and last 10 mins and miss nothing..

6+ of the most boring hours of just watching cars go in circles, with basically no passing on the track - all happens in the pits (lets call it pit racing) or actual racing for 98% of the whole farce...

(http://www.quickmeme.com/img/a7/a7e5beea899d28b191f61165cca596602bd7684891a374784eaa19640a59a0e3.jpg)
Post by: oldmate on October 09, 2014, 06:07:28 PM
watch the first 10 mins and last 10 mins and miss nothing..

6+ of the most boring hours of just watching cars go in circles, with basically no passing on the track - all happens in the pits (lets call it pit racing) or actual racing for 98% of the whole farce...

(http://www.quickmeme.com/img/a7/a7e5beea899d28b191f61165cca596602bd7684891a374784eaa19640a59a0e3.jpg)

This one is just for you mate.  :cup:
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=39800.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=39800.0)
Post by: Mallory Black on October 09, 2014, 06:25:21 PM
Going to set up a TV in the garage so I can keep an eye on the race while tinkering
Post by: steptoey on October 09, 2014, 07:12:47 PM
I'm from Bathurst but prefer to watch in front of the TV. I'm not a racing fan but I can honestly say nothing compares to the mount. When you have 1000k's to do as fast as you can with elevation and sometimes 4 seasons during the race while changing strategies to suit the conditions makes for a great event. I've attached a link that some of you may have seen of Darrell Waltrip's lap in the passenger seat, this bloke is a nascar great and can't believe the ride, have a look.

Waltrip's Ride Of A Lifetime (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLkLtBkUVuo#ws)
Post by: oldmate on October 09, 2014, 07:21:48 PM
Going to set up a TV in the garage so I can keep an eye on the race while tinkering

Yep that's what I will do on Saturday.
Post by: speewa158 on October 09, 2014, 07:23:43 PM
6.45 hours?  :cup:

Well there could have been stops for  :cheers: & to take pics  & enjoy the view , Then lunch  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 09, 2014, 07:34:04 PM
So lets run a book
When will Skippy jump onto the track , which lap  ???
Will ford complete the race  >:D
How many car can go into Hell Corner door to door at once on the 1st few laps  8) ??? >:D
Just how fast can you go down Conrod before you have to hit the picks  ;D 8) ??? >:D
How many cans will be consumed before l/somebody wake up on the floor on Monday arvo  :cup: :angel: :cheers:
How many mirrors & tail gate skins will have to be replaced after the Ute race  :-[ :'( >:D ???
                                           Gentlemen Start Your Engines

Post by: GeoffA on October 09, 2014, 07:38:55 PM
Will ford complete the race  >:D

Short memory Jamie??
Post by: speewa158 on October 09, 2014, 07:42:08 PM
Short memory Jamie??

Don't come the funny with me ,,,,,,,,,,,,,Hellow , haven't seen you for cant remember when , would you like a  :cheers:
Post by: Homer_Jay on October 09, 2014, 08:11:39 PM
I reckon Lowdnes and Steven Richards are going to be a strong combo.

Only problem is that whinge-cup always gets the preferential treatment in the team.

Post by: 2impulsiv on October 09, 2014, 08:14:28 PM
Best day of the year! And the one day I can get out of bed and crack a can without getting in trouble. Gotta love live TV and living in WA!!

Go Lowndes!!

Post by: speewa158 on October 09, 2014, 08:25:14 PM
& no matter how p155ed you get there wont be a Booze Bus between your chair & bed . All Good .
                     Then Summer starts , the season of Hot days & Cold Cans  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 09, 2014, 08:26:49 PM
& no matter how p155ed you get there wont be a Booze Bus between your chair & bed . All Good .
                     Then Summer starts , the season of Hot days & Cold Cans  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers:

:cup: :cup:
Post by: shanegtr on October 09, 2014, 08:31:02 PM
I'll be watching happily from home. Can't discount the red bull cars, but it's a long race and it only takes one thing to go wrong to ruin the whole day. I think the Volvo of macglauclin and premat will be in with a shot for a podium if all goes right for them
Post by: kylarama on October 09, 2014, 08:33:03 PM
Anyone other than a 888 car for the win. Enough's enough!

Two things are guaranteed this weekend.  Lowndes will "just want to say hi to Levi and Chilli" during every of his 50 TV interviews and Whincup will answer every interviewers question starting with "Hey yeah you know"...

Reynold's steals Lowndes Thunder - Hi Levi and Chilli.... (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0bWBbzKgkgA#ws)
Post by: oldmate on October 09, 2014, 08:36:46 PM
Hey yeah you what I think you could be right mate. My thoughts are Courtney/murphy, or Dave renoylds. Can't discount either of the BJR cars. I think the Volvo will have something fail, I hope not but have a feeling.  There my thoughts anyway, see what happens.

Just like to say hi to Levi and chilli at home.  :cheers:
Post by: 58fc chev on October 09, 2014, 09:50:09 PM
I'm an old school Murphy fan so here's hoping he can win another. I think he has a good chance with Courtney.
I'm rostered on to work this weekend which sucks, but have to take the good with the bad. Won't be to far from a tv though and there's always the replay on speed tv during the week.

I to would also like to say hi to Levi and Chilli  ;D

Post by: Bird on October 09, 2014, 10:04:17 PM
Quote from: oldmate
I think the Volvo will have something fail, I hope not but have a feeling.
there would be riots in the streets if a Volvo or Merc won  (worse than the your all a pack of arseholes situation)

Imagine Nissan/Merc/Volvo 1 - 2 - 3 ... TV coverage would be cut short early LOL! That would make my day!
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2014, 02:05:11 PM
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/400786632326 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/400786632326)
Post by: macca on October 10, 2014, 02:55:20 PM
there would be riots in the streets if a Volvo or Merc won  (worse than the your all a pack of arseholes situation)

Imagine Nissan/Merc/Volvo 1 - 2 - 3 ... TV coverage would be cut short early LOL! That would make my day!
Get back on you own thread will ya
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2014, 03:01:41 PM
Quote from: macca
Get back on you own thread will ya

(http://cdn9.staztic.com/app/a/1095/1095989/middle-finger-prank-2-1-s-307x512.jpg)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 10, 2014, 04:00:46 PM
What could be worse.... I dunno, playing with toy trains.  :D
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2014, 04:05:48 PM
What could be worse.... I dunno, playing with toy trains.  :D
keeps the kids entertained... and QUIET... :D
Post by: D4D on October 10, 2014, 07:11:03 PM
Taxis are officially out it would seem...

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/motor-sport/bathurst-1000-2014-ford-to-be-killed-off-v8-supercars-circuit-at-end-of-2015-ending-iconic-rivalry-with-holden/story-fnp0lxk4-1227085430883 (http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/motor-sport/bathurst-1000-2014-ford-to-be-killed-off-v8-supercars-circuit-at-end-of-2015-ending-iconic-rivalry-with-holden/story-fnp0lxk4-1227085430883)
Post by: oldmate on October 10, 2014, 07:37:26 PM
But where is the surprise? Umm they have no money in Australia, that's why they are closing the factory and it was only natural that they wouldn't support the v8's also. I think you will still see ford here, but it won't be a falcon, obviously, and you won't have a factory supported team. Teams that choose to run ford will import something, mustang most likely. And even if they did stay, the rivalry would go, as GMH arnt too far behind them. So by 2018, we may have v8 mustang, nissan, Volvo, I reckon you will see bmw make a push, and maybe Audi. The holden guys will come up with some sort of opal machinery to run no doubt.

My 2c
Post by: ehsc on October 10, 2014, 07:54:03 PM
Can't wait to watch but I will be driving home from rainbow re national meet stuff thanks jeepers  :cheers: ;D ehsc
Post by: Rumpig on October 10, 2014, 09:18:46 PM
bit of crash action from the mountain so far for those who've not seen it

Carrera Cup Bathurst 2014 Qual Cini Pickering Big Crashes (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38EYc_Ftwlk#ws)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9q5U2lEeXRo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9q5U2lEeXRo)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcZ3NGucuMA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcZ3NGucuMA)

Post by: Black Diamond on October 10, 2014, 09:28:09 PM
But where is the surprise? Umm they have no money in Australia, that's why they are closing the factory and it was only natural that they wouldn't support the v8's also. I think you will still see ford here, but it won't be a falcon, obviously, and you won't have a factory supported team. Teams that choose to run ford will import something, mustang most likely. And even if they did stay, the rivalry would go, as GMH arnt too far behind them. So by 2018, we may have v8 mustang, nissan, Volvo, I reckon you will see bmw make a push, and maybe Audi. The holden guys will come up with some sort of opal machinery to run no doubt.

My 2c
Pretty sad really but thats the way it is. Just wouldn't be the same without a Holden/Ford rivalry, something we all grown up with. Can't see it dying off they will come up with something, just hope it competitive :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 10, 2014, 09:32:21 PM
Pretty sad really but thats the way it is. Just wouldn't be the same without a Holden/Ford rivalry, something we all grown up with. Can't see it dying off they will come up with something, just hope it competitive :cheers:

Touché mate. :cheers: 

Business comes and goes, and sport in the modern times is just a business. Whether it's 4 wheels, 2 wheels, or kicking a ball, it's all about money in the end. 
Post by: edz on October 10, 2014, 11:31:43 PM
Bring in a modernized back to the future  Group C category and you might have full grids of affordable race cars again.
Post by: slcs78 on October 11, 2014, 05:17:40 AM

This is nothing new for Ford. They have walked away from racing many times before. We all know how clever Fords marketing team are. Remember when they thought we didn't want v8s in the 80's!!!!!!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 11, 2014, 05:21:37 AM
Can't wait to watch but I will be driving home from rainbow re national meet stuff thanks jeepers  :cheers: ;D ehsc

Don'tblameme, itwasBrettandJillsythat chose todays date.  8)
Post by: Mrs smith on October 11, 2014, 08:07:58 AM
Bring back a mixed field of production touring cars 4,6 and 8cly and televise it.
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 08:14:33 AM
Bring back a mixed field of production touring cars 4,6 and 8cly and televise it.

They have it. It's called the bathurst 12 hr :cheers:
Post by: Mrs smith on October 11, 2014, 08:20:16 AM
They have it. It's called the bathurst 12 hr :cheers:

How about a series with 1 or 2 endurance races thrown in, not just one race.
And NO street circuits.   
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 09:25:14 AM
Quote from: Mrs smith
Bring back a mixed field of production touring cars 4,6 and 8cly and televise it

...and give it the marketing and advertising budget of the taxi racing and it will be twice as big as the junk is now.
as said grids will be at least double the size as the cost to be involved would be 1/10th of what the dinosaurs cost..  There may even need to be qualifying to get in the race!!!
I cant see anything bad in that plan.
Post by: solarpanel4 on October 11, 2014, 09:29:32 AM
  For those who are interested, live stream (audio only) race control, V8 teams,

police & air traffic for the area.

Hope those who like enjoy. www.bathurstscan.com/livestreams/ (http://www.bathurstscan.com/livestreams/)

Regards   Jeff

Damn there are a few other links posted before mine    :-[
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 09:39:39 AM
How about a series with 1 or 2 endurance races thrown in, not just one race.
And NO street circuits.

http://thenationals.com.au/index.php?page=nationals-tv (http://thenationals.com.au/index.php?page=nationals-tv)
Post by: Mik01 on October 11, 2014, 10:03:10 AM
Touché mate. :cheers: 

Business comes and goes, and sport in the modern times is just a business. Whether it's 4 wheels, 2 wheels, or kicking a ball, it's all about money in the end.

That may be so, but I feel sick in the guts thinking about the v8s I grew up watching turning into some euro cup race. Take away ford and Holden and I will never watch it.
They've tried this ****e before and it failed.... Nissans, cosworths anyone?. They were a dismal failure because the fans only want to see ford and Holden v8s get stuck into each other.

If the masses are turning soft now and looking forward to some sort of euro racing substitute for the real Bathurst Aussie experience, then their marketing spin has succeeded already.

Bathurst was built on beer, pies, wet t shirt comps, and hatred of the blue or red. We've lost our mongrel as this country de-volves into some hyper charged, 24/7 media/marketing spin, PC, don't offend the minority, think of the children! Society we have become.

So get some mongrel into you... and go Ford!  :D
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 10:14:21 AM
Quote from: Mik01
They were a dismal failure because the fans only want to see ford and Holden v8s get stuck into each other.
Dismal failure??  and not all fans want to see dinosaurs racing...
There wont be ford and holden in a year or 2.. BRING ON THE FUTURE!!!!
Post by: Mace on October 11, 2014, 10:17:04 AM
Loundes and Luff just had a coming together!s

No brakes on Number 2

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=905943129434818 (https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=905943129434818)
Post by: Mrs smith on October 11, 2014, 10:26:06 AM
http://thenationals.com.au/index.php?page=nationals-tv (http://thenationals.com.au/index.php?page=nationals-tv)

You've done well grass-hopper, now if only you could get it on peasant TV instead of re-runs of big bother, Oz has no talent and all that similar tripe that they've been inflicting upon us.

They could even call it something like consumer class racing.
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 11:11:30 AM
That may be so, but I feel sick in the guts thinking about the v8s I grew up watching turning into some euro cup race. Take away ford and Holden and I will never watch it.
They've tried this ****e before and it failed.... Nissans, cosworths anyone?. They were a dismal failure because the fans only want to see ford and Holden v8s get stuck into each other.

If the masses are turning soft now and looking forward to some sort of euro racing substitute for the real Bathurst Aussie experience, then their marketing spin has succeeded already.

Bathurst was built on beer, pies, wet t shirt comps, and hatred of the blue or red. We've lost our mongrel as this country de-volves into some hyper charged, 24/7 media/marketing spin, PC, don't offend the minority, think of the children! Society we have become.

So get some mongrel into you... and go Ford!  :D

Mate agree with you 100%. But what cars do you own? What about 5 neighbours each side of you, what cars do they own? There is a reason ford and holden are pulling the pins on australia, because me and you ain't buying their Falcons and Commodores. And that then translates to the track, teams can't run a car that's not produced, so they will have no choice.
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 11:14:33 AM
You've done well grass-hopper, now if only you could get it on peasant TV instead of re-runs of big bother, Oz has no talent and all that similar tripe that they've been inflicting upon us.

They could even call it something like consumer class racing.
Who cares about preasent tv. Click on the link and you can watch live feeds via Internet.

Agree though, anything that would replace big brother is good lol
Post by: Elky on October 11, 2014, 11:20:17 AM

Are you saying you DON'T  have a tv in the shed permanently? :) :)

I use the handme downs, got a separate booster and aerial along with speakers throughout so I can listen anywhere (20 metre long shed) I just got a 42" plasma from the olds, gotta work out how I can mount up in view when I am workin on a car on the hoist.

I firmly believe your man cave be able to support human habitation when kicked out of the house!
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 11:23:38 AM
Are you saying you DON'T  have a tv in the shed permanently? :) :)

I use the handme downs, got a separate booster and aerial along with speakers throughout so I can listen anywhere (20 metre long shed) I just got a 42" plasma from the olds, gotta work out how I can mount up in view when I am workin on a car on the hoist.

I firmly believe your man cave be able to support human habitation when kicked out of the house!

Yep I a have one, but I don't own a 20mtr long shed. I hate you now  ;D ;D
Post by: Rumpig on October 11, 2014, 11:40:48 AM
Interesting practice session thus far...just watched the footage of Luff, Lowndes and Kelly all going out on same lap
Post by: berlitza on October 11, 2014, 11:49:48 AM
poor Lowndes   ;D      ;D       ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 11, 2014, 12:02:48 PM
l don't have a 20 m shed ,,mine so only 15 m but l reckon the 42 in Plasma is just a bit big . Sort of overkill you know what l mean   :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 12:14:11 PM
l don't have a 20 m shed ,,mine so only 15 m but l reckon the 42 in Plasma is just a bit big . Sort of overkill you know what l mean   :cheers: :cheers:

Go away you too lol
Post by: Clouty on October 11, 2014, 02:45:39 PM
Gave the pool a good clean this morning and just put the big TV outside where it lives over summer.. Now just sitting back and watching Bathurst ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 11, 2014, 02:47:59 PM
Used to set the TV up on the edge of the spa, watch the race & become a white Prune  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on October 11, 2014, 02:59:02 PM
Bugger

http://www.v8supercars.com.au/news/championship/huge-shunt-in-practice (http://www.v8supercars.com.au/news/championship/huge-shunt-in-practice)

(http://d508o84lonf06.cloudfront.net/live/images/dmImage/SourceImage/20141011_104131_CAM39670.jpg)
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 03:01:49 PM
Yep and Tander is gone from the weekend now cause of it. lowndes will make the TT shoot out
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 03:04:37 PM
Lorenzo has pole so far, be interestin got see if Marquez can take it - if he does he's world champion again...

Aussie Jack Miller down in 5th :( first race hes had where he wasn't leading moto 3 championship this season... lets hope he bounces back...
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 03:07:08 PM
Marquez is hard to stop.
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 03:08:11 PM
Marquez is hard to stop.
hes only finished 1 of last 3 races though... and has run off 4 times at th one corner today, but yea, what a talented kid... his brother in Moto3 is leading that too... imagine that pair as a team in MotoGP
Post by: D4D on October 11, 2014, 03:09:31 PM
hes only finished 1 of last 3 races though... and has run off 4 times at th one corner today, but yea, what a talented kid... his brother in Moto3 is leading that too... imagine that pair as a team in MotoGP

I'm sure this belongs in a different thread ::)
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 03:12:09 PM
Some people are just born a natural talent, certainly not me. Not sure what happen, maybe the old lady dropped me and all the talent spilled all over the floor lol

I'm sure your right, and he was just looking for that bite.  :cup:
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 03:12:29 PM
are you sure? its motor racing that's on tele at the moment...

Qual 2 just starting.
Post by: Mace on October 11, 2014, 03:16:52 PM
Bugger

http://www.v8supercars.com.au/news/championship/huge-shunt-in-practice (http://www.v8supercars.com.au/news/championship/huge-shunt-in-practice)

Only about 5 hours late! Don't you hate delayed telecasts?

Post by: Mik01 on October 11, 2014, 03:22:46 PM
Mate agree with you 100%. But what cars do you own? What about 5 neighbours each side of you, what cars do they own? There is a reason ford and holden are pulling the pins on australia, because me and you ain't buying their Falcons and Commodores. And that then translates to the track, teams can't run a car that's not produced, so they will have no choice.

True. But they could never make a decent family 4wd like the japs! I owned falcons until I bought the prado.
Post by: berlitza on October 11, 2014, 03:26:03 PM
bit more of a close up
Post by: speewa158 on October 11, 2014, 03:26:56 PM
lt Lost/Bird at his best , he should have gone camping .  :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 03:27:51 PM
True. But they could never make a decent family 4wd like the japs! I owned falcons until I bought the prado.

I know mate, I have owned Commodores, the old man was a for guy, but my last holden was an Astra (not aus built) and traded that in on the troll.

Let hope the teams look at say, a mustang and camaro as replacement. At least it's still v8 and Gm v ford
Post by: Mik01 on October 11, 2014, 03:29:09 PM
Dismal failure??  and not all fans want to see dinosaurs racing...
There wont be ford and holden in a year or 2.. BRING ON THE FUTURE!!!!

F$&@ the future!!!
 >:D
Post by: speewa158 on October 11, 2014, 03:29:27 PM
bit more of a close up

That should Buff Out ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ;D >:D                                :cheers:           
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 03:31:25 PM
Quote from: Mik01
Bathurst was built on beer, pies, wet t shirt comps, and hatred of the blue or red.

not many blue or reds at all and wasn't built on V8's at all. Mini Coopers won.

The Armstrong 500 (1965) (Super100MPH) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Fhnt9LqWWU#ws)
1966 Gallaher 500 ICMR (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reh8yNE6xhE#ws)
Mount Panorama Bathurst - The Great Race - 1967 highlights (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdEgCFnlvYM#)
Bathurst - The Big Three - 4 Corners 1970 ICMR (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEcInDT7ufA#ws)
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 03:35:29 PM
So JC was in, now he is out.

As a JC fan, I was happy, but agree that he shouldn't of been included. His time did not make the TT.

Bring on the Utes  :cup:
Post by: berlitza on October 11, 2014, 03:35:55 PM
F$&@ the future!!!
 >:D

pmsl,,,,,  x2
Post by: macca on October 11, 2014, 03:43:42 PM
Lorenzo has pole so far, be interestin got see if Marquez can take it - if he does he's world champion again...

Aussie Jack Miller down in 5th :( first race hes had where he wasn't leading moto 3 championship this season... lets hope he bounces back...
I have just been looking thru the drivers lists and I can't find them. Which cars are they driving, Holden or Ford
Post by: alnjan on October 11, 2014, 03:45:50 PM
So JC was in, now he is out.

As a JC fan, I was happy, but agree that he shouldn't of been included. His time did not make the TT.

Yep agree, he will still start tenth but did not qualify for Top Ten shoot out.  Disappointing for him but someone should have looked at the rules before they said he was part of the Top Ten.
Post by: 2impulsiv on October 11, 2014, 03:57:41 PM
Nearly top ten shoot out time!!

:)
Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 04:09:35 PM
1 min to go  :cup:
Post by: berlitza on October 11, 2014, 04:12:45 PM
ssssshhhh it's started  ;D
Post by: Foo on October 11, 2014, 04:28:23 PM
Times are down.  :'(

Post by: oldmate on October 11, 2014, 05:27:13 PM
Times are down.  :'(

Yep. Expected a lot faster
Post by: Mace on October 11, 2014, 05:35:09 PM
Wincup was on pole with a 2.07.8 last year. Seven cars are faster than that this year. Not a bad effort IMO.

The gizz is 1.5 seconds faster this year.
Post by: Foo on October 11, 2014, 05:41:20 PM
Mark Larkam showed the speed difference around the track for this and last year and this year they are 10kmh quicker everywhere.  :o No wonder they are out of control.  ;)

Post by: Mace on October 11, 2014, 06:18:21 PM
Yep it was an interesting comparo that larko did.

A pity  they always run the top 10 late in the day when track temps are dropping and today's was also after the Utes had left a heap of crud on the surface.

Interesting that Caruso missed out on his last run in qualifying becoz of a starter motor failure, as crompo said, they were very disappointed not to have a crack at the top ten, but then, that's racing.

Post by: slcs78 on October 11, 2014, 06:29:38 PM
The giz can certainly drive. Good to see a small one car team get some accolades
Post by: 2impulsiv on October 11, 2014, 07:13:27 PM
Yes, the increase in corner speeds will make for an interesting race tomorrow. It's a shame Tander is out, I've always had a soft spot for HRT/HDT but I'll be cheering for 888 tomorrow! And drinking lots of beer!

Post by: achjimmy on October 11, 2014, 08:02:12 PM
Here's a granteed prediction for tomorrow. After several hours and nearing the end, a pace car will be introduced and close everybody up. After the pace car and the sprint to the finish, the dickhead Commentators will start wetting themselves telling us how amazing after a full days racing it is so close.

Bathurst is Bathurst, it's about racing and the pilgrimage. People have flocked there regardless of the classes racing, production, group C, group A etc. I don't recall ratings or crowds being down when ford where running sierras?
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 08:09:45 PM
Marquez is hard to stop.
Marquez didn't get pole... that was par for the course, hes struggling with front end grip massively. I'm bettin he doesn't finish the race..

Moto 2 qualifying was awesome, but competitive racing wouldn't interest people here.
Post by: kylarama on October 11, 2014, 08:14:35 PM
Here's a granteed prediction for tomorrow. After several hours and nearing the end, a pace car will be introduced and close everybody up. After the pace car and the sprint to the finish, the dickhead Commentators will start wetting themselves telling us how amazing after a full days racing it is so close.

Just like last year when the safety car was called on lap 85 to bunch the field up for a 72 lap sprint to the finish to ensure a nose to tail finish....
Post by: shanegtr on October 11, 2014, 08:47:06 PM
Just to ensure a waste of time safety car, I think they should put some cones on a couple of corners. When the drivers knock them over it's a good excuse to call out the safety car like they did at sandown
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 08:53:52 PM

Bathurst is Bathurst, it's about racing and the pilgrimage. People have flocked there regardless of the classes racing, production, group C, group A etc. I don't recall ratings or crowds being down when ford where running sierras?
(http://images.sodahead.com/profiles/0/0/2/4/5/1/6/3/1/applause-meter-1-74412634423.jpeg)
Post by: wartim on October 11, 2014, 09:19:40 PM
I was looking at some stats over the years.

1960 average speed was 96kph
1970 average speed was 122 kph
1980 average speed was 147 kph
1990 average speed was 149 kph
2000 average speed was 135 kph however it was a wet for most of the race
2010 average speed was 161 kph

Over this time lap times have gone from 3 minutes in 1960 to 2:13.94 in 1990,  2:11.55 in 1995, 2:9.77 in 2001, 2:8.59 in 2005, 2:07 in 2010 and now 2:05.6???

Wow amazing what technology can do?
Post by: mrsedz on October 11, 2014, 10:48:49 PM

Yes, Edz will get most of the day full of peace and quiet bar for Bathurst blaring out of the surround sound since he finally worked out how to get it to work today.  He did forget to include one thing though.  If there is not enough action on the track there will be snoring coming from the recliner.  Edz so loves Bathurst and so loves having the day off work!    :-*
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 05:04:15 AM
..... there will be snoring coming from the recliner.......

That's absolutely disgraceful, mrsedz.

I'd never do anything like that..... ;D
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 06:08:26 AM
Yes, Edz will get most of the day full of peace and quiet bar for Bathurst blaring out of the surround sound since he finally worked out how to get it to work today.  He did forget to include one thing though.  If there is not enough action on the track there will be snoring coming from the recliner.  Edz so loves Bathurst and so loves having the day off work!    :-*

Hahahahaha. Love it.
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 06:12:08 AM
Race day is here!
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 06:22:48 AM
l have been asked what l wanted today from SWOMBO . My answer
 Home made sausage rolls
 Fresh muffins
Cold Beer
Absolute Silence
Louse the top  ( l was on a roll , things were going Well , What could possibly go Wrong    ???  )

Now shes grumpy with me so l will have to watch the race in silence   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
                      Happy Day Are Here Again   ;D ;D :cheers: :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: kylarama on October 12, 2014, 06:24:42 AM
Every year since we stopped going to the race 13 years ago we have a big BBQ at a mates place 30 odd blokes with a spit, beer keg and the sweepstake with booby prizes, starts at 7:30am and goes till late.  This year I elected not to go and have a quite day at home finishing the camper wiring and cleaning the workshop, with the TV on in the background.  Mates were not happy and came around yesterday arvo for the top 10 shootout and gave me a bit of what for!

I'm being picked up in 5 minutes for the traditional black labels (Jim Beam) with bacon and egg breakfast...
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 06:28:40 AM
Every year since we stopped going to the race 13 years ago we have a big BBQ at a mates place 30 odd blokes with a spit, beer keg and the sweepstake with booby prizes, starts at 7:30am and goes till late.  This year I elected not to go and have a quite day at home finishing the camper wiring and cleaning the workshop, with the TV on in the background.  Mates were not happy and came around yesterday arvo for the top 10 shootout and gave me a bit of what for!

I'm being picked up in 5 minutes for the traditional black labels (Jim Beam) with bacon and egg breakfast...

...and so you should....... ;D ;D
Post by: StrvnMrvn on October 12, 2014, 06:33:44 AM
Woke up this morning, bacon and eggs in bed!

Walked out to the kitchen, the TV was on, coffee n the news paper on the table next to my seat!

Asked the SWMBO why all the extra attention and she said 'I'll leave you in silence all day without the kids if I can go shopping all day!!??'

SOLD!!!!! :cheers:
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 06:35:46 AM

Walked out to the kitchen, the TV was on, coffee n the news paper on the table next to my seat!

Asked the SWMBO why all the extra attention and she said 'I'll leave you in silence all day without the kids if I can go shopping all day!!??'

that's going to cost you............
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 06:43:26 AM
that's going to cost you............

Oh yeah, he will be paying for that for at 2 weekends I reckon lol
Post by: StrvnMrvn on October 12, 2014, 06:51:15 AM
Oh yeah, he will be paying for that for at 2 weekends I reckon lol

Dam! What have I done!! Oh well, the things you do to keep the clan happy!!
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 06:52:32 AM
Dam! What have I done!! Oh well, the things you do to keep the clan happy!!

Just enjoy your day now mate. Make the most of it.  Ok now to go get a beer :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 06:56:58 AM

Give her the list of stuff you want from Supacheap  , it will be full of girlfriends & wifes shopping .  Good Girls  :angel: :cheers:
Post by: Robbo on October 12, 2014, 07:01:12 AM

Geeze Strvy, you've got a great missus.  :cup:

Well done and enjoy your day.  ;D
Post by: StrvnMrvn on October 12, 2014, 07:04:07 AM

Geeze Strvy, you've got a great missus.  :cup:

Well done and enjoy your day.  ;D

Yeah she is a good girl!! Like the others have said, this is going to cost me!!

Sent from my iPhone using the Tappy thing
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 07:21:18 AM
Don't Worry , She will come back when you have run out of Credit ,that's after the cash has gone .     :'( :'( >:D
But you Love Her ,,,,,,,, She told you that  ;D ;D ;D                Enjoy the race  :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 07:44:34 AM
Just watched the UTES go around . Gots to get me 1 of them , l hope it comes with a few extra tailgate skins , mud guards , mirrors , Bonnets & a fuel card  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 07:45:58 AM
Just watched the UTES go around . Gots to get me 1 of them.....

Top chop the concubine harvester..... ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 07:52:07 AM

lts hard enough to get them in without making it easy to escape . That sounds a bit creepy  :angel: :angel: :cheers:
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 07:53:08 AM

Just watched the UTES go around . Gots to get me 1 of them , l hope it comes with a few extra tailgate skins , mud guards , mirrors , Bonnets & a fuel card  :cup: :cheers:
get a Navara Mate, they're Great:-)
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 08:04:11 AM

lts hard enough to get them in without making it easy to escape . That sounds a bit creepy  :angel: :angel: :cheers:

Pmsl. You don't hang out around wolf creek do ya?
Post by: 2impulsiv on October 12, 2014, 08:20:09 AM
Happy Bathurst Day Everyone!!

Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 08:23:04 AM
lts not on the road as yet till the Bling Attacher has done his thing  :cheers:
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 08:24:08 AM

lts not on the road as yet till the Bling King has done his thing  :cheers:
fixed it
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 08:24:14 AM
Pmsl. You don't hang out around wolf creek do ya?

Not as much as l used to ,,,Why do you ask  ??? :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 08:25:25 AM
fixed it

Gaffa Tape is not really a good look  :-* :-*      :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 08:27:20 AM
nice way to end that Carrera Cup race  :o WTF was he thinking going up the inside there....lol
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 08:32:00 AM
nice way to end that Carrera Cup race  :o WTF was he thinking going up the inside there....lol

Luff out on the same corner as yesterday too :(
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 08:58:31 AM
Luff might get the corner renamed as he spent so much time there . Parked FOOBARED       >:D :cheers:
Post by: Foo on October 12, 2014, 09:09:39 AM
That was a dumbarsed move that was never on.  ???  ::)

Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 09:27:01 AM
Must have left his brain in the truck this morn     >:D   :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 09:29:23 AM
One minute
Post by: jwb on October 12, 2014, 09:31:00 AM
Doing their warm-up lap! ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 09:32:10 AM
Might crack a  " Cool Down "  :cheers: Start the day  :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: achjimmy on October 12, 2014, 09:44:13 AM
The commentators being dicks again if you look at the long shot you can see whincup jump on the lights going off. He was just wired to go.
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 09:48:11 AM
Might crack a  " Cool Down "  :cheers: Start the day  :cup: :cup: :cheers:

Mate your about 3 beers behind already ;D
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 09:50:03 AM
Quote from: achjimmy
The commentators being dicks again if you look at the long shot you can see whincup jump on the lights going off. He was just wired to go.
I watched my 5 mins.. and they haven't shut up... they've had frame by frame etc and he didn't jump, he guessed and got it right.
Off to do a tip run now, maybe clean the gutters, rub one off, pick up a shovel of sand and count how many grains there are per shovel
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 10:04:00 AM
...and they haven't shut up...

Pot kettle black ::)
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 10:10:48 AM
Not to bad on the fuel 5L per 6.2KM ,  Ummm that's about 80L per 100 KM . Wonder what that could be if they were towing  ??? ??? >:D :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 10:18:42 AM
Whingecup certainly isn't holding back, obviously wants to be up the pointy end ASAP
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 10:22:29 AM
Pot kettle black ::)
(http://api.ning.com/files/X6RobV4633m*FAXQ4xigkhkGaOo-4JoB*yeVmRaw5JC4B0r9QSiVsVR7ZJAe0Yb49ou*DEOY5jm9lln55vyZUD1FTDFAVeJY/131696_res3_linus.gif)
Post by: raider on October 12, 2014, 10:25:15 AM
Love him or hate him Whincup driving like a man possessed !
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 10:28:08 AM
Driven like its Stolen  >:D >:D :police:
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 10:29:49 AM
Not to bad on the fuel 5L per 6.2KM ,  Ummm that's about 80L per 100 KM . Wonder what that could be if they were towing  ??? ??? >:D :cheers:

Next year they will fit hclones. That should help
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 10:31:06 AM
Dumbrell just bettered Whingecups time 2:07
Post by: sol on October 12, 2014, 10:31:21 AM
Awesome drive by Whincup!!!
Love him or hate him  ;D

Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 10:37:37 AM
Next year they will fit hclones. That should help     
                                                                               Dreaming  :cup:
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 10:57:38 AM
Griffins Bend is sure seeing some action this weekend...no need to give racing room it appears...lol
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 11:00:58 AM
Yep absolutely
Post by: Foo on October 12, 2014, 11:09:16 AM
Those tyres have saved some Dollars!   ;)

Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 11:15:53 AM
Skippy on the track
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 11:16:45 AM
Skippy on the track
lap 45... Anyone have it in a sweepstake?...bet they don't show footage of the hit
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 11:19:42 AM
What a legend Morris is..
Post by: edz on October 12, 2014, 11:21:15 AM
Ohh and the track is breaking up ...what a surprise ... not ..
As predicted Morris has crashed out before halfway .. yay I win a dollar ..
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 11:21:44 AM
Action a plenty at the moment...Morris into tyres and Wood cleans up his team mate behind pace car on same lap
Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on October 12, 2014, 11:22:10 AM
What a legend Morris is..

Worst Driver with plenty of money who buys himself a seat each year.
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 11:23:07 AM
I think woods was texting. Didn't see the traffic slowing :cup:
Post by: Robbo on October 12, 2014, 11:26:58 AM
That old Number 33 Swedish Taxi ain't going too bad either. Certainly got off to a flying start.
Paul Morris should hand in his racing license and return to the rest home.
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 11:29:20 AM
I think woods was texting. Didn't see the traffic slowing :cup:
someone check his phone log ...lol
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 11:31:26 AM
Skippys early this year , & He brought a bag of gravel for turn 2  >:D Too Too Too Too :cheers:
Post by: edz on October 12, 2014, 11:40:31 AM
Should FRITZ all displays and telemetry  in all cars and lets see who the real drivers are ..
Track breaking up on T2 is copping a lot of blame, what ever happened to " ummm drive to conditions instead of ego " .
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 11:45:55 AM
That old Number 33 Swedish Taxi ain't going too bad either. Certainly got off to a flying start.

Yeah it's doing alright, if it is reliable it might just win.
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 11:47:49 AM
& now a word from a sponsor  Penrite Oils ,            ' The best to drip on to the track "      >:D 
Post by: raider on October 12, 2014, 11:48:46 AM
Is this bathurst or bADthurst ? I know they have to pay for it but Channel Seven are definitely the worst for ads through sporting events.
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 11:49:06 AM
I'm going to write a letter and propose that all drivers in 2015 need to make at least 3 phone calls using the handset during any enduro round, could make things even more interesting, may need a helmet redesign
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 11:51:08 AM
Lmao.

Even the safety car is getting damage
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 11:53:51 AM
Yeah it's doing alright, if it is reliable it might just win.

They will be Going Off at the Bowles club            ;D ;D                    :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 11:56:32 AM
We get adds for tractors & harvesters up here . & the Medical car chucked a Harter on the way home  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 12:08:44 PM
l hope l can get past 9759 posts as its been most of today . it done it again  :cheers: no it hasn't  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 12:11:24 PM
Race Suspended 15 ,, 20 mins .. What are we going to do now  :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 12:12:10 PM
WTF. Race stopped.

Fixing turn 2
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 12:13:39 PM
enuf time to write this and restock the esky, maybe make a sandwich
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 12:13:56 PM
Race Suspended 15 ,, 20 mins .. What are we going to do now  :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Quick. Skull a beer
Post by: edz on October 12, 2014, 12:18:49 PM
Gotta help the steerers of the race to get around, doesnt seem to be too much of a problem for the ones who can drive ...
Post by: time on October 12, 2014, 12:19:08 PM
Potholes ......................... poor luvs, stick a set of muddies on, have a cup of cement and harden the **** up  >:D
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 12:19:35 PM
oldmate  lv done that ,, down to my last 5 slabs . Time to start short gulping to make it last  :cheers: Hic  :laugh:
Post by: Robbo on October 12, 2014, 12:25:17 PM
They've turned the starting grid into a giant workshop ;D
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 12:27:06 PM
heads up while theres no action, supercrapauto on there website are having hourly specials
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 12:29:44 PM
Might give it a wash & polish while it there . What else do you do on a quiet summers Sunday arvo
So do they restart the race to run to time for the 6PM News or ti lap 161 , That might be tomorrow  ??? :cheers:
Post by: jkwpajero on October 12, 2014, 12:30:56 PM
Millions of dollars invested in the race and Bathurst Council can't organise a road surface that is up to standard. It's a typical council job. The whole race day has been turned into a circus and it's totally unacceptable. The upside is the cars should be band new for the restart.

James
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 12:35:26 PM
4 Quick Sale
                       Road resurfacing equipment & crew used 1 on turn 2 & at the dipper .
                                        Best offer
                                                      Owner leaving town for Medical reasons 
                                                                                  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: edz on October 12, 2014, 12:36:04 PM
Its not like its realy bad or anything ...
May aswell get well and truly on the grog ... waiting for a coucil mob to fix it, 10 standing around leaning on shovels 35 high viz hardhatted boffins conferencing,  18 months of detours and stop go,  roadworks signs and no work being done .. :cheers:
Post by: macca on October 12, 2014, 12:39:42 PM
It's a new rule
 Stop for half time and when they re start  they go the  other way.  That should keep bird happy
Post by: StrvnMrvn on October 12, 2014, 12:42:22 PM
Who cares about the road..... That's what racing is about, whatever happens, happens!!

Sent from my iPhone using the Tappy thing
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 12:54:08 PM
These poppets havnt been to the Cape     :'( :cheers:
Post by: edz on October 12, 2014, 01:01:40 PM
Should get Simon out there to show them how to drive a real cat .. 1/2 the HP of a supercar 1/3 rd the weight and super tight uneven country roads  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-T1XkCN2lA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-T1XkCN2lA)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwl40XFvpLE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwl40XFvpLE)
Post by: raider on October 12, 2014, 01:11:13 PM
They were saying yesterday that they have resurfaced Phillip Island. Race committee said to contractor that they had to lay the course as one strip which meant doubling their machine size. Then they went to Melbourne council and had a road resurfaced with the same product in a heavy traffic area in town and monitored  how it withstood the use. Don't think Bathurst Council did that.
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 01:14:20 PM
About fricken time
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 01:15:22 PM
It's a new rule
 Stop for half time and when they re start  they go the  other way.  That should keep bird happy

Nothing will keep big bird happy  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: edz on October 12, 2014, 01:15:51 PM
Biggest thing is the time factor before racing begins on the new track surface ..it probably should have been resurfaced just after the race last year so as it could cure and harden up properly ..
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 01:19:13 PM
i got in the good books with the misses...lawn is 3/4 mown this far
Carnage after restart, Whingecup gone round in that bunch
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 01:21:56 PM
Whingecup takes himself out!
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 01:23:10 PM
Wow , Johnson crashed now...action a plenty today
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 01:25:25 PM
Wow , Johnson crashed now...action a plenty today

What your surprised
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 01:26:39 PM
What your surprised
not that he crashed, just how much action / crashes in a race with no rain
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 01:28:40 PM
ls there a vet at the track in case Slippy comes back  :cheers: & will he be waring a rain coat  ??? :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 01:32:08 PM
not that he crashed, just how much action / crashes in a race with no rain

Lol. I knew what you were saying mate
Title: Bathurst 2014
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 01:41:46 PM
Scott Pye - that'll buff out ok, not!
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 01:46:45 PM
Looking like a few teams have a lot of work to do before Gold Coast after this weekend is finished
Murphy couldn't see a thing with that dust flying everyhere
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 01:49:53 PM
We got to get close to 161   first  ??? ??? ??? >:D :cheers:
Post by: Foo on October 12, 2014, 01:59:36 PM
Can't remember a race with so much craziness.  ???

Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 02:14:16 PM
What number is the Pace Car , it will have been on the track long enough to be a winner  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 02:32:39 PM
Quote from: speewa158
What number is the Pace Car

a non holden/ford must be in front to have so much pace car... gotta keep the bogans happy
Post by: slcs78 on October 12, 2014, 02:43:01 PM
Time to combine the bathurst and drunk thread me thinks ????????????????
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 02:58:34 PM
bean tare dung vat  ??? :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 03:00:58 PM
Another safety car
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 03:04:30 PM
Another safety car
good timing... Just walked upstairs after finishing mowing the yard, turn the telly on and see Slade I think it was go into the wall...lol
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 03:33:38 PM
if they finish as they are with 7 laps to go Marquez will win the title..
Post by: time on October 12, 2014, 03:36:20 PM
888 :cup:
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 03:40:43 PM
45mins ago 888 was 11th , & then  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 03:43:39 PM
888 :cup:

nooooooooooooooooooooo    :'(
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 03:45:25 PM
Nooooooooooo jandles is out
Post by: slcs78 on October 12, 2014, 03:51:41 PM
Lowndes or giz is my pick. Think percat might be good for a podium
Post by: raider on October 12, 2014, 04:12:07 PM
30 laps to go but Thunder and lightning in Wodonga - better not lose power !
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 04:13:14 PM
This thread seems to be running out of myswag'rs at the same rate as the race.  Maybe not enough fuel, or too much?

This post is sponsored by the power of a 2013 Navara V6 Turbo Diesel.
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 04:14:34 PM
Nothing less than 888  raider if you lose power we will tell you of the fin............. :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 04:16:15 PM
Lowndes or giz is my pick. Think percat might be good for a podium
Giz mate is my pic..
This thread seems to be running out of myswag'rs at the same rate as the race.  Maybe not enough fuel, or too much?

This post is sponsored by the power of a 2013 Navara V6 Turbo Diesel.

Not running out yet lol. But the tank is 3/4 full I reckon lol

Nice sponsorship also  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 04:19:21 PM
Ingall flips the Merc
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 04:19:28 PM
Wow he's on his roof, same corner again
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 04:19:39 PM
Upside down!!
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 04:20:06 PM
Wow he's on his roof, same corner again

Yep.. Stupid, never going to make that turn
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 04:22:57 PM
Going to be a real sprint for home by the time they right it...Dumbrell looks real dehydrated
Post by: LuckyDog on October 12, 2014, 04:26:28 PM
Who's the top 5 atm please guys?
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 04:29:33 PM
Ingall should know better than that
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 04:31:58 PM
Who's the top 5 atm please guys?

Giz 1st
Lowndes 2nd
Mostert 3rd
Coultart 4th
Perkins 5th
I think...lol
Post by: Hairs on October 12, 2014, 04:32:31 PM
Mark Skaife
"When you're upside down you orientation is all wrong"
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/WTF.gif)
No **** mate, ya think
Quote of the weekend  :cheers:
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 04:38:40 PM
Come on Frosty!
Post by: Homer_Jay on October 12, 2014, 04:39:55 PM
Go Lowndsey! Come on  :cup:

Do it for Levi and Chilli  ;D ;D

Post by: LuckyDog on October 12, 2014, 04:41:25 PM
Thanks rumpig
Post by: 6knights on October 12, 2014, 04:44:11 PM
what speed does the safety car travel at?
Post by: LuckyDog on October 12, 2014, 04:51:29 PM
I'd like to see Lowndsey win too
Post by: xcvator on October 12, 2014, 04:54:40 PM
Has it finished yet, I want to turn my tv back on 
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 04:56:41 PM
Has it finished yet, I want to turn my tv back on

It will be if Giz stuffs up
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 04:58:28 PM
Seems like Winterbottom is in the box seat as far as fuel goes
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 05:02:46 PM
Safety car, splash and dash time
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 05:05:33 PM
bugger GIZ ,grrrrrrrr
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:07:32 PM
It's all happening..poor Giz hey
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 05:08:28 PM
Yep. That's really hard
Post by: slcs78 on October 12, 2014, 05:08:57 PM
Feel sorry for the giz
Post by: Homer_Jay on October 12, 2014, 05:12:53 PM
Yeah poor bugga.

As much as I don't like Whingecup, geez he has good car control.

Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:13:05 PM
what speed does the safety car travel at?
no idea...but they just mentioned race control slowed it down as they are obviously trying to get the race back under way ASAP without another lap behind it and getting the tilt tray ahead of it...so it must vary
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 05:14:20 PM
Frosty time! Go FORD
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 05:18:09 PM
WTF Lowndes, muppet
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 05:18:32 PM
F$&@ Lowndes
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:19:48 PM
F$&@ Lowndes
crazy stuff, he'll get a penalty for that you'd think even though he wouldn't have meant it
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 05:20:29 PM
penalty for fake smiling asasin, NOT ENUF
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 05:23:10 PM
crazy stuff, he'll get a penalty for that you'd think even though he wouldn't have meant it

Yeah a deserved penalty. He's got brakes but chose not to use them
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 05:23:16 PM
Is that a duct tape car bra?

This post is proudly sponsored by the power of a 2013 Navara V6 Turbo Diesel.
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 05:25:10 PM
Come on Mostert! Can't let a Holden win
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:27:47 PM
Will Whingecup run out of fuel?
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 05:28:08 PM
Nissan in for 2nd or 3rd, not bad for a Patrol engine :)
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 05:28:27 PM
Will Whingecup run out of fuel?

knowing my luck,,no  :cheers:
Post by: slcs78 on October 12, 2014, 05:29:07 PM
Sip fuel whincup sip
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 05:31:07 PM
Run out, run out
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:31:33 PM
When will he conk out
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 05:33:20 PM
 :cheers:  BRILLIANT   :cheers:
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 05:33:33 PM
YES!!!!!!
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 05:35:00 PM
Wow!

Moffatt 2nd
Post by: JCAT on October 12, 2014, 05:35:23 PM
Omg

Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:35:43 PM
How was that for knowing exactly how much fuel he had... You have 1 lap of fuel to do 1 1/2 laps...and they were spot on
Post by: alnjan on October 12, 2014, 05:37:11 PM
he should have kept going.
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:37:56 PM
he should have kept going.
he ran out of fuel at the top of the mountain
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 05:39:53 PM
Yeah he had no choice.

Well Im glad that boring, predictable, uncompetitive race has finished.
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 05:40:34 PM
he ran out of fuel at the top of the mountain

Yeah that's shattering. But as he's a Holden driver, who cares!  >:D
Post by: Foo on October 12, 2014, 05:40:41 PM
What a wild race!  :cup:

Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:41:15 PM
Yeah he had no choice.

yeah I tuned out after a few laps, it was obvious who was going to win
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 05:41:34 PM

Last place starter, first place winner!
Post by: Hairs on October 12, 2014, 05:41:50 PM
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/a0/Ford_Motor_Company_Logo.svg/1280px-Ford_Motor_Company_Logo.svg.png)
Post by: slcs78 on October 12, 2014, 05:41:57 PM
Well done to mostert but Paul Morris is still a cock
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 05:42:34 PM
Yeah he had no choice.

LOL  ;D
Post by: Homer_Jay on October 12, 2014, 05:42:59 PM
What a finish. Would have been a great drive from Whingecup from last to first, just needed one more litre of fuel!

Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 05:44:46 PM
What a finish. Would have been a great drive from Whingecup from last to first, just needed one more litre of fuel!
or acknowledge his crew and back off the throttle a tiny bit one lap earlier...who knows if it would have worked yhough
Post by: Garfish on October 12, 2014, 05:46:07 PM

Mostert also started from the rear after a red flag breach in qualifying.  Interesting 1st and 2 nd both stuck in tyres at turn 2 at one stage
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 05:47:14 PM

so, are you into horse racing?

Post by: achjimmy on October 12, 2014, 05:48:56 PM
Amazing they are Soooo close after all those laps !!!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2014, 05:49:56 PM
What a shame it didn't rain.....

This post is proudly sponsored by the lack of power of a 1988 XF Falcon panel van .
Post by: raider on October 12, 2014, 05:50:44 PM
PMSL at all the comments on this thread - good stuff
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 05:50:53 PM
What a moron Morris is with his speech.
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 05:54:20 PM
so whingecup heard his team telling him to back off and yet he kept pushing on,,not really suprising
Post by: Garfish on October 12, 2014, 05:54:48 PM
If the maximum time allowed for one driver is 3.5 hours shouldn't they all be disqualified
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 05:55:34 PM
Good on him for sticking it up Holden. Proves the rivalry isn't dead
Post by: Garfish on October 12, 2014, 05:56:20 PM
so whingecup heard his team telling him to back off and yet he kept pushing on,,not really suprising
Still beat winterbottom,  thanks lowndesy
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 05:58:29 PM
What a moron Morris is with his speech.

What a moron Morris is!

Fixed it for for ya
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2014, 05:59:26 PM
Still beat winterbottom,  thanks lowndesy

I piddled on the couch laughing when that happened.  :-[ :D
Post by: slcs78 on October 12, 2014, 06:00:03 PM
Still feel for svg, at least whincup lost it having a go. A mechanical failure so close while your in the box seat reminds me of seton
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 12, 2014, 06:04:58 PM
I'm a Lowndsey fan so a bit gutted that it didn't  haspppen  for him. Very glad that anyone other than Whincup, Winterbottom or Tander won. In saying that, I'm not a fan of Mostert or Morris. Thems the breaks.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: Snake on October 12, 2014, 06:06:56 PM
What a moron Morris is!

What did Morris say? I missed the speech.
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 06:07:10 PM
Last place starter, first place winner!

Yep Mostert has done what no one ever has
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 06:08:08 PM
What did Morris say? I missed the speech.

Don't know, I turned off when I heard him talking. I was just making a factual statement. Lol
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2014, 06:10:31 PM
He was crying, but I don't know if that was because he won or if he'd skinned a knuckle dragging 'em on the ground.
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 06:11:11 PM

Don't know, I turned off when I heard him talking. I was just making a factual statement. Lol
yep, factual statements after 10hrs of drinking always make sense:-)

Post by: achjimmy on October 12, 2014, 06:11:29 PM

Can't blame he really , 2nd place is 1st loser at Bathurst. Worth the gamble IMO, he was 1/2 lap out.
Post by: alnjan on October 12, 2014, 06:13:17 PM
Still feel for svg, at least whincup lost it having a go. A mechanical failure so close while your in the box seat reminds me of seton

Yeah shame Giz wasn't in the final mix
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 06:24:26 PM
Can't blame he really , 2nd place is 1st loser at Bathurst. Worth the gamble IMO, he was 1/2 lap out.
Yep agree, fact is he would of finished 4th 5th anyway, whether he conserved or went hard.
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 06:27:18 PM
Ford 1st.
Nissan 2nd.

I'm happy.... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Elky on October 12, 2014, 06:31:42 PM
Hell yeah! What a race, can't hear what the haters are saying cause Nissan came 2nd! Best race in recent years by far......gotta feel for the giz tho, he will be beating himself up over that small error

Good on whincup for having a go too, tho I really was hoping frosty would get it, and remember chaz won Bathurst NOT Morris!

Formula one is gonna look a bit boring tonight after all that!
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 06:32:16 PM
yep, factual statements after 10hrs of drinking always make sense:-)

12 hours thank you, get it bloody right. :)
Post by: Mrs smith on October 12, 2014, 06:33:27 PM
He only won the second race after everyone had an hour to rebuild there
taxi's.
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 06:39:26 PM
Yep agree, fact is he would of finished 4th 5th anyway, whether he conserved or went hard.

I guess now at least whingecup can blame his team by getting a dnf,, would love to have heard what Lowndes excuse was
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 06:43:34 PM
......would love to have heard what Lowndes excuse was

Punter.....very poor form.... expect better from him...
Post by: Hairs on October 12, 2014, 06:49:41 PM
Post by: speewa158 on October 12, 2014, 06:53:37 PM
What a race ,,, So many lead changes & the track changes. Well done to though that finished .  What a race . :cheers:
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 06:55:54 PM

That's a bit harsh, Lowndes doesn't punt people and if you watch the replay Frosty slid across into Lowndes' line. Nothing Lowndes could do, even if he braked he still would have tagged him.
Post by: Mik01 on October 12, 2014, 07:00:54 PM
But he didn't brake. Hence the penalty. Sounds like the footy player "it's not his go" mantra
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 07:02:13 PM
That's a bit harsh, Lowndes doesn't punt people and if you watch the replay Frosty slid across into Lowndes' line. Nothing Lowndes could do, even if he braked he still would have tagged him.

I agree. Not normally. But it was a punt this time. Got a penalty for it, too....
Post by: steptoey on October 12, 2014, 07:04:29 PM
Is there any other motorsport event in the world that can compete with Bathurst, Isle of man is crazy but today is another example of 1000kms of mayhem.

Post by: Homer_Jay on October 12, 2014, 07:12:03 PM
Great race even though I did like the ending! Can't wait till next year. Why do all the other races of the season just not have the same passion and excitement??

And yeah good on Wincup for having a red hot go all day. Too many people with a championship lead dive to conserve their championship at Bathurst. I don't think he gave it a second thought, his aim was to win it at all costs, or might as well come last.

Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 07:15:51 PM
Quote from: GeoffA
ox
its not easy stopping such precise racing machines. he didn't have much option - the other bloke forgot to use his indicators.. must be from Box Hill
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 07:19:15 PM
ox
its not easy stopping such precise racing machines. he didn't have much option - the other bloke forgot to use his indicators.. must be from Box Hill

Doesn't matter now...
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 07:31:57 PM

12 hours thank you, get it bloody right. :)
well it is now! Or is that 14?

Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 07:42:12 PM
well it is now! Or is that 14?

Yep 14 now.
Post by: kylarama on October 12, 2014, 08:08:17 PM
Paul Morris, Bathurst champion!... in a Ford...

Kinda like watching your mother inlaw driving of a cliff in your prized classic car!

Still beats the hell of a 888 victory! 
Lowndes cops a drive thru and Whincup runs out of fuel with 4 corners to go, makes it even sweeter!
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 08:09:24 PM
Paul Morris, Bathurst champion!... in a Ford...

Kinda like watching your mother inlaw driving of a cliff in your prized classic car!

Still beats the hell of a 888 victory! 
Lowndes cops a drive thru and Whincup runs out of fuel with 4 corners to go, makes it even sweeter!
Hahahahahahaha.
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 08:11:24 PM
Dunno if anyone noticed, but that's 2 in a row. :cup: :cup:

Not a lot of noise from the red boys.....all gone to bed I suppose.....
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 08:14:26 PM

Nup still here, but that's abit like the blues bragging about winning state of origin..  How many have ford won in total compared to holden lol.
And I would rather any ford win over a triple 8 car
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 08:16:21 PM
Nup still here, but that's abit like the blues bragging about winning state of origin..  How many have ford won in total compared to holden lol.
And I would rather any ford win over a triple 8 car

Quality over quantity any day....
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2014, 08:18:21 PM

to be honest I'm over the Holden v Ford thing, I was hoping one of the other makes would win myself
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 08:19:14 PM
to be honest I'm over the Holden v Ford thing, I was hoping one of the other makes would win myself

Yep, that wouldn't have bothered me at all......
Post by: D4D on October 12, 2014, 08:19:34 PM
Quality over quantity any day....

Ford didn't win, Holden lost it :)
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 08:21:15 PM

Sorry to burst your bubble, but Mostert/Morris made it through from dead last.......
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 08:21:24 PM

Yep I'm with you mal, I've gone from avid holden supporter to driver/personality supporter.

James Courtney, Scott McLaughlin, David Reynolds, and a few others, have personality, as well as can drive
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 08:22:11 PM
Yep I'm with you mal, I've gone from avid holden supporter to driver/personality supporter.

James Courtney, Scott McLaughlin, David Reynolds, and a few others, have personality, as well as can drive

Good peddlers.....
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 08:22:57 PM
(http://www.abc.net.au/news/image/5807990-3x2-940x627.jpg)
Post by: scarps on October 12, 2014, 08:23:37 PM

Stephen Bradbury moment!  Hang in there long enough at the back til everyone else falls over.

Or runs out of fuel, or crashes, or stalls etc

Nissan, runner up at Bathurst 2014. Can't remember who won..........
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 08:24:04 PM
(http://www.abc.net.au/news/image/5807990-3x2-940x627.jpg)

Isn't it past your bedtime? Lol
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 08:25:51 PM
Is there any other motorsport event in the world that can compete with Bathurst, Isle of man is crazy but today is another example of 1000kms of mayhem.

british touring cars, any round of Motogp, any round of world superbikes, IOM... world mx titles.. give me time I'll think of several dozen more
Post by: oldmate on October 12, 2014, 08:27:28 PM
british touring cars, any round of Motogp, any round of world superbikes, IOM... world mx titles.. give me time I'll think of several dozen more

Bit slow tonight mate, expected this reply at least an hour ago hahahaha

Ok I think it's bedtime for me.. Best put this beer down.. Sorry all
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 08:31:39 PM
Bit slow tonight mate, expected this reply at least an hour ago hahahahal
been watchin son do gardening all day.. im knackered...
Post by: Mrs smith on October 12, 2014, 08:34:59 PM

Electric super bikes ?
lol
Post by: alnjan on October 12, 2014, 08:54:07 PM
Great race, no one could have picked a better script to finish on.  Well done to Chaz Mostert and Paul Morris last to first and to think the other vehicle he was racing on the last lap was also a back marker. 

As for Ford v Holden, that is only kept alive by the fans, it died many years ago in the V8 Supercars, slowly becoming more and more like Nascar, same vehicle with a different vehicle silhouette.  Not much Holden or Ford under the shell. 
Post by: kylarama on October 12, 2014, 09:05:22 PM
Ford won, Holden lost

Fixed your post ;D

Almost every Holden team made multiple errors over the entire weekend.

The no. 6 FPR car only made one!  Appointing Paul Morris as Chaz's codriver...

british touring cars

Really?  Unless you class 'push to pass' as real racing...  I followed the BTCC during the much hyped 90's and other than 'bump and run's' it was never that good.

While average driving and heaps of mistakes might make for lots of 'overtaking' it doesn't mean it's great racing.
Post by: berlitza on October 12, 2014, 09:30:53 PM

The bigger picture is, Whingecup lost and Lowndes sc*&^%^ himself , sux that ford won  ;D  but it made my day
Post by: slcs78 on October 12, 2014, 09:33:50 PM
And despite this whincup still extended his lead in the championship!!!! On a serious note think percat did a good job and good to see three nissans in top 10
Post by: kylarama on October 12, 2014, 09:42:05 PM

And despite this whincup still extended his lead in the championship!!!!

Thanks to his teammate taking out the other contenders.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Post by: slcs78 on October 12, 2014, 10:09:20 PM

Thanks to his teammate taking out the other contenders.

Next you will be claiming team orders  :cheers:
Post by: kylarama on October 12, 2014, 10:13:39 PM
Next you will be claiming team orders  :cheers:
Nah. Craig's more than capable of a push to pass on his own without Roland telling him.

Post by: Garfish on October 13, 2014, 04:54:33 AM

Strange thing, I'm a ford guy but have always backed drivers, and they mainly drove crumbledores

Post by: speewa158 on October 13, 2014, 04:59:27 AM
lf that race was a movie you would reckon the writer was on drugs . Nobody could have put on a race like that that got better as it went on . Ford winning is a bonus but it will be interesting to watch what happens when there is no sponsorship $ splashed about  .  :cheers:
Post by: Spada on October 13, 2014, 06:42:25 AM
I enjoyed the first race the most, It was good to see McLachlan get another win.

After they all rebuilt their cars and had their lunch, the second race was ok, but I thought the pace car was going to get the trophy
Post by: 2impulsiv on October 13, 2014, 08:57:28 AM
What an awesome race, I drunk waaaaaaaaaaaaay to much yesterday and luckily for me i watched the race at my bosses house. So today we are having a day off to recover!! :)

Post by: Ozsnowman on October 13, 2014, 10:05:34 AM
Was the best race in many a year, even though I was hoping the Volvo would win, just to upset everybody. Brilliantly fought down to the wire b y everyone, and I tell you, those last 5 laps I was pacing the loungeroom as I couldn't sit still lol
Post by: Bird on October 13, 2014, 01:18:41 PM
(http://www.mcnews.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Marc-Marquez-Champ1.jpg)
Post by: shanegtr on October 13, 2014, 01:32:03 PM
Was a great race. I think being allowed to work on the cars during the red flag wasn't the best idea - but its in the rules so I don't blame any of the teams for doing what they did. Although Im not really a fan of Giz I did feel for him when the car wouldn't restart as he would have had a podium for sure. I was disappointed to see Scott Macglauglin tag the wall as I believe he could have made the top three as well. I reckon lowndes coped it a bit rough after he turned around winterbottom, from my perspective it was just a racing incident and if it was earlier in the race I don't think he would have coped the drive through
Post by: speewa158 on October 13, 2014, 03:17:55 PM
(http://www.mcnews.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Marc-Marquez-Champ1.jpg)
 That's only 1/2 a car  >:D
Post by: Bird on October 13, 2014, 03:20:59 PM
Quote from: speewa158
That's only 1/2 a car  >:D

its a touch faster though, handles better, does better laptimes... shall I go on??? :)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 13, 2014, 03:23:34 PM
shall I go on??? :)

I thought you already had......  ;D
Post by: Bird on October 13, 2014, 03:26:13 PM
Hes lead all year up till last round  :(

Australian young gun Jack Miller paid dearly for a last lap error as Spain's Alex Marquez won the Moto 3 race in Japan and extended his world championship lead.

The drama completed a tumultuous Japanese weekend for Queensland-born Miller, who also crashed during qualifying.

Miller led for much of the Motegi race, with a lead pack of six riders in the hunt for a race victory coming into the final lap.

As riders jostled for position at the end of the back straight, Miller and English rider Danny Kent both ran wide then narrowly avoided a collision on re-entry.

Miller finished fifth - 1.2 seconds behind victor Marquez.

Marquez, the younger brother of MotoGP world champion Marc, moved 25 points ahead of Miller with the win.

Miller's race position matched his qualifying result, remarkably achieved after getting back on his bike after crashing.

The Australian started the Moto3 season looking every bit a world champion with three race wins in five meets.

But he's been bettered by Marquez in each of the last five rounds to lose the championship lead.

Just three rounds of the championship remain, beginning with the Australian leg at Phillip Island next weekend.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/25240209/miller-stumbles-in-moto3-title-hunt/
Post by: Bird on October 13, 2014, 03:29:44 PM
I thought you already had......  ;D
(http://queenrandom.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/team-mangina1.png)
Post by: swanny on October 13, 2014, 03:35:53 PM
My first time on the mountain, and it was unreal, I have followed the V8 from early days to what it is now, and love it....I know it doesn't resemble what most of us grew up watching, but I still think its awesome.

To be there and see these guys going at it, even during practice was just so bloody exciting, the tele doesn't do them justice, they are dead set screaming at every point on the track...a real eye opener.

We camped for 4 days in the Paddock area as its called, and it was decent, small sites and while modern amenities, we still had to line up for a shower at times, could defo do with more.

The cost was $170 bucks for the 4 days, and kids under 12 were free, access to all areas minus the pits and corporate areas of course. The 4 days were non stop action, with the action kicking of at 730-800am each day with a break for lunch, and then recommencing with more racing of all class' including the big guns each day.

TBH, I thought it was great value for money, based on other events of taking the kids to and payed a lot more for a lot less, the camp sites could be bigger, but in the end we only camped there and then up and off we went.....Great weekend, if you haven't been and are keen on the V8's get along, you wont be sorry.

If we have enough enthusiasts, and could get enough numbers and early enough prior to book etc.....maybe we could throw a MYSWAG weekend together up there....its defo a must do for the motorsport followers.....

Swanny

PS, was going for Whincup, but great to see a young fella get up and win, just happy it wasn't Whingebottom..... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: raider on October 13, 2014, 03:42:09 PM
My first time on the mountain, and it was unreal, I have followed the V8 from early days to what it is now, and love it....I know it doesn't resemble what most of us grew up watching, but I still think its awesome.

To be there and see these guys going at it, even during practice was just so bloody exciting, the tele doesn't do them justice, they are dead set screaming at every point on the track...a real eye opener.

We camped for 4 days in the Paddock area as its called, and it was decent, small sites and while modern amenities, we still had to line up for a shower at times, could defo do with more.

The cost was $170 bucks for the 4 days, and kids under 12 were free, access to all areas minus the pits and corporate areas of course. The 4 days were non stop action, with the action kicking of at 730-800am each day with a break for lunch, and then recommencing with more racing of all class' including the big guns each day.

TBH, I thought it was great value for money, based on other events of taking the kids to and payed a lot more for a lot less, the camp sites could be bigger, but in the end we only camped there and then up and off we went.....Great weekend, if you haven't been and are keen on the V8's get along, you wont be sorry.

If we have enough enthusiasts, and could get enough numbers and early enough prior to book etc.....maybe we could throw a MYSWAG weekend together up there....its defo a must do for the motorsport followers.....

Swanny

PS, was going for Whincup, but great to see a young fella get up and win, just happy it wasn't Whingebottom..... ;D ;D ;D

Get Bird to organise it , ;D
Post by: berlitza on October 13, 2014, 03:45:06 PM
Must admit watching it on tv and actually being there is an entirely different experience, Havnt been up there for the past 7yrs but would seriously be interested in doing a myswag gathering there or even for the 12hr next year  ;D
Post by: slcs78 on October 13, 2014, 04:04:58 PM
Must admit watching it on tv and actually being there is an entirely different experience, Havnt been up there for the past 7yrs but would seriously be interested in doing a myswag gathering there or even for the 12hr next year  ;D

Im in for either the 12hr or the 1000
Post by: speewa158 on October 13, 2014, 05:59:40 PM
its a touch faster though, handles better, does better laptimes... shall I go on??? :)
Can we stop you  ??? Might be better on the Rant thread  ::)     :cheers:
Post by: swanny on October 13, 2014, 06:14:28 PM
Get Bird to organise it , ;D

After just reading the other thread and commenting I get it now  :-*, DOD......
Post by: Hairs on October 13, 2014, 07:09:12 PM
Post by: slcs78 on October 13, 2014, 07:12:09 PM
 :cheers: that's a good one

Despite being a Holden supporter i didn't mind who won as long as it wasn't an FPR or 888 car. Cant stand Roland Dane or Tim Edwards. They take whinging to a whole new level
Post by: gunna on October 13, 2014, 07:24:27 PM
Im a holden fan , but quite happy with the result's go the aussie's
Post by: Mik01 on October 13, 2014, 08:00:43 PM

Swanny

I've been thinking about taking my boys there camping, but have been nervous about amenities, and behaviour of the ferals up there. Last time I went it was pretty feral.
I would be extremely keen for next year, knowing some more about where you stayed and the other logistics of it all. With other like minded swaggers, I reckon it would be a hoot. My boys are 4 and 6 currently, but love anything to do with race cars!
Post by: raider on October 13, 2014, 08:06:58 PM
After just reading the other thread and commenting I get it now  :-*, DOD......
Yeah , we would probably end up at Phillip Island and the bikes if he had his way.
Post by: oldmate on October 13, 2014, 09:41:02 PM
I've been thinking about taking my boys there camping, but have been nervous about amenities, and behaviour of the ferals up there. Last time I went it was pretty feral.
I would be extremely keen for next year, knowing some more about where you stayed and the other logistics of it all. With other like minded swaggers, I reckon it would be a hoot. My boys are 4 and 6 currently, but love anything to do with race cars!

It's not as feral as it was years ago, still not real family but not totally feral. This is of course up the top, down the bottom is completely different and a great family day out for the most part
Post by: berlitza on October 13, 2014, 10:08:25 PM
Came across this over on Betty's page

Post by: Robbo on October 14, 2014, 04:01:03 AM
Came across this over on Betty's page

Hahaha, that's gold.  :cup: :cup:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 14, 2014, 05:31:32 AM
Geez, as if Bogan Betty can talk.....  ???
Post by: Bird on October 14, 2014, 07:33:28 AM
Quote from: oldmate
It's not as feral as it was years ago, still not real family but not totally fera

yea, you'll see quite a few of these up there
(http://www.mitchvane.com/site/assets/files/1054/cartoon6.480x0.jpg)
Post by: macca on October 14, 2014, 09:15:32 AM
Mik01
I have been going up there for years, missed this year because I have just had shoulder surgery, so here are a few of my observations
We stay in Max Cameron campground, just behind Hell corner
Sites are bigger at Max Cameron, ammenities are better in the Paddock
We have two sites together and on them there are usually five cars, three camper trailers, two gazebos and around three tents and we still have room for a fire
There are heaps and heaps of families go up there
Take a TV to watch proceedings while in your camp
95% of the people are fantasic and up there for the same reason you are
You can catch a bus up to the top of the mountain to have a look around
The coppers keep a close eye on behaviour , if you mess up they kick you out, and are only a phone call away, they have a 24hour station at the track and backup in town. And they come in force usually six at a time. A few years ago when it was wet there was a bogan (bird talk) in a Nissan Patrol that decided to turn the muddy tracks around camp into a race track, slid into the back of a Jayco, one phone call to the cops and 15 of them turned up. The gentleman was dragged out told that the tracks are public roads, RBT and off to jail.
Seen one fight in the last ten years and that was two fathers fighting because their kids had a falling out
Amenities (showers) are much better now, but you will still need to wait a few minutes if you go at peak times, 7:00 am, we usually go at 6:00 and no waiting, they are hot and cleaned regularly.
 They have a fenced off block for women and kids only.
You can hire porta loos for your site, expensive tho
Kids are always riding bikes, playing footy, playing with remote control cars etc.
It is NOISY at night so sleep can be a bit of a problem, chinese generators and music, I use ear plugs and never have a problem sleeping
There is heaps to do and see in town, be up there for the transport parade and free BBQ in town on the Wednesday
There is usually milk and bread available at the track if needed, ice and firewood are bought off the back of a truck that drives around camp all the time.
Dont drive if you have had anything to drink as you WILL get busted, they have RBT, s set up leaving the track

One downside of Max Cameron is the bloody helicopters, five of them leaving every 15 minutes from 8:00 in the morning to 5:00 at nite

GO you will not regret it, it is nothing like it was years ago and it is nothing like watching it on TV

I cant wait for my grandson to get a bit older so I can take him up, he is two now but I reckon I will have him up there the year after next

Let me know if you want any more info or pictures

macca

PS there are heaps of swaggers go up there they are just spread out all over the place

Post by: berlitza on October 14, 2014, 11:43:42 AM
Geez, as if Bogan Betty can talk.....  ???

lmao, It was posted on her page, pretty sure she didn't draw it  ;D

As far as it being a family event, I wouldn't have a problem with taking a family there but I wouldn't camp at Reid and Sulman  only because of the lack of repsect the guys seem to have for the public toilets up there.

Since the riot squad moved in many years ago it became a very different place, carnt comment on McPhillamy park as I never camped there. I was happy being one of the feral bogans up  at Sulman  for 12yrs even then we still had our own builders toilet delivered on site, To scared to use the public toilet incase you got blown up.
personally I would have rather be watching the race back then with the bogans than kicking it with the 2bob snobs in corporate and I've done both. These days I think I would be more happier with the 2bob snobs  ;D  gettin old
Post by: kylarama on October 16, 2014, 10:47:07 AM
Seems the Dan Murphy's in Bathurst knew something Red Bull Racing didn't...

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v684/GTRMagic/077032A5-D47C-4BE7-A20B-443F63F5C90B_zpsvajeqwdv.jpg)
Post by: Mik01 on October 16, 2014, 12:06:07 PM
Mik01
I have been going up there for years, missed this year because I have just had shoulder surgery, so here are a few of my observations
We stay in Max Cameron campground, just behind Hell corner
Sites are bigger at Max Cameron, ammenities are better in the Paddock
We have two sites together and on them there are usually five cars, three camper trailers, two gazebos and around three tents and we still have room for a fire
There are heaps and heaps of families go up there
Take a TV to watch proceedings while in your camp
95% of the people are fantasic and up there for the same reason you are
You can catch a bus up to the top of the mountain to have a look around
The coppers keep a close eye on behaviour , if you mess up they kick you out, and are only a phone call away, they have a 24hour station at the track and backup in town. And they come in force usually six at a time. A few years ago when it was wet there was a bogan (bird talk) in a Nissan Patrol that decided to turn the muddy tracks around camp into a race track, slid into the back of a Jayco, one phone call to the cops and 15 of them turned up. The gentleman was dragged out told that the tracks are public roads, RBT and off to jail.
Seen one fight in the last ten years and that was two fathers fighting because their kids had a falling out
Amenities (showers) are much better now, but you will still need to wait a few minutes if you go at peak times, 7:00 am, we usually go at 6:00 and no waiting, they are hot and cleaned regularly.
 They have a fenced off block for women and kids only.
You can hire porta loos for your site, expensive tho
Kids are always riding bikes, playing footy, playing with remote control cars etc.
It is NOISY at night so sleep can be a bit of a problem, chinese generators and music, I use ear plugs and never have a problem sleeping
There is heaps to do and see in town, be up there for the transport parade and free BBQ in town on the Wednesday
There is usually milk and bread available at the track if needed, ice and firewood are bought off the back of a truck that drives around camp all the time.
Dont drive if you have had anything to drink as you WILL get busted, they have RBT, s set up leaving the track

One downside of Max Cameron is the bloody helicopters, five of them leaving every 15 minutes from 8:00 in the morning to 5:00 at nite

GO you will not regret it, it is nothing like it was years ago and it is nothing like watching it on TV

I cant wait for my grandson to get a bit older so I can take him up, he is two now but I reckon I will have him up there the year after next

Let me know if you want any more info or pictures

macca

PS there are heaps of swaggers go up there they are just spread out all over the place

thanks mate - that's top info right there.

don't think I would take the mrs - just the boys (currently 4 and 6).  but if she did come, she would prob insist on bringing our own camp toilet.

what days would you recommend getting there and leaving, so as to avoid a billion people and long delays getting in and out of there?
Post by: macca on October 16, 2014, 12:49:05 PM
I usually leave Melbourne on the Tuesday before and camp overnite at the Lake Carcoar, Max Cameron doesn't open till Wednesday morning. Then I have a walk around the transporters in town, do some shopping and go and set up camp,  most of my mates come up Thursday morning, leave Melbourne at midnight. People do take camp toilets but as said earlier the women's showers and toilet are separate from the men's, taking your own would save a lot of walking. They would be long days for the young ones but we spend a lot of time around camp relaxing
 Do some research on what's on in town, they have plenty of things on and do have some kids activities at the track.
Thursday is busy but they get you thru the gate a lot quicker now,  vehicle searches aren't as long and we leave early Monday morning 6; 30 by 9 you hear them on the UHF fighting their way thru the jam, so go early or wait till the afternoon.
Got to hand it to Bathurst council they do a great job catering for the crowd's
Post by: Mik01 on October 16, 2014, 01:47:19 PM
I usually leave Melbourne on the Tuesday before and camp overnite at the Lake Carcoar, Max Cameron doesn't open till Wednesday morning. Then I have a walk around the transporters in town, do some shopping and go and set up camp,  most of my mates come up Thursday morning, leave Melbourne at midnight. People do take camp toilets but as said earlier the women's showers and toilet are separate from the men's, taking your own would save a lot of walking. They would be long days for the young ones but we spend a lot of time around camp relaxing
 Do some research on what's on in town, they have plenty of things on and do have some kids activities at the track.
Thursday is busy but they get you thru the gate a lot quicker now,  vehicle searches aren't as long and we leave early Monday morning 6; 30 by 9 you hear them on the UHF fighting their way thru the jam, so go early or wait till the afternoon.
Got to hand it to Bathurst council they do a great job catering for the crowd's

just read the supercars site about t's and c's of entry - sounds pretty heavy. no glass whatsoever for food even.

so they search your vehicle and camper? do they go through your fridge/esky and other personal belongings? must take some time?
Post by: macca on October 16, 2014, 01:59:51 PM
Few years ago they went thru everything, that was when the police did the searches but now it is security that do it and in the last few years they just look in the car, open the boot and sometimes open the camper, but not often
Make sure you only have one slab per person and if you have glass like salt and pepper etc. put in well down in the camper out of site. I always take a bottle of wine, just put it under everything. They are mainly after car loads of young blokes
If you need more booze set up camp and run back into town for another. If you take spirits put it in a plastic bottle
In the last five years it would have taken no more than 20 minutes to get thru the gate, including paperwork