General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Symon on October 03, 2014, 12:10:21 PM

Title: Movember 2014
Post by: Symon on October 03, 2014, 12:10:21 PM
Mods - sticky?

Thought I would start a thread for those who are doing Movember this year.  For those of you who have never heard of it before, below is the objectives of the cause -

The annual Movember campaign - Results we seek to achieve
  • Movember will get men to grow moustaches and the community to support them by creating an innovative, fun and engaging annual Movember campaign, that results in:
    Funding for the Movember Foundation’s men’s health programs
    Conversations about men’s health that lead to:
    Awareness and understanding of the health risks men face
    Men taking action to remain well

Prostate and Testicular Cancer - Results we seek to achieve
  • Men living with prostate or testicular cancer have the treatment and care needed to be physically and mentally well

Mental Health - Results we seek to achieve
  • Men and boys are mentally healthy and take action to remain so
    When men and boys experience mental health problems they take action early
    Men and boys with mental health problems are not discriminated against

http://au.movember.com/about/vision-goals (http://au.movember.com/about/vision-goals)

For those who would like to support me in my quest in changing the face of men's health, please feel free to donate to me - http://au.movember.com/mospace/1392100 (http://au.movember.com/mospace/1392100) or simply donate to the cause in general here - http://au.movember.com/ (http://au.movember.com/)
Title: Re: Movember 2014
Post by: cancan on October 03, 2014, 12:18:59 PM
I done this a couple of years ago...what I liked is that they have minimum overheads so most of the money goes to the cause and not absorbed by the organisation...I think there financial report was on there web site
Post by: GeoffA on October 03, 2014, 04:56:19 PM
Well done once again Symon.... :cup: :cup:

Let's all chip in for a great cause.....
Post by: Bird on October 03, 2014, 05:00:53 PM
Well done once again Symon.... :cup: :cup:
why aren't you signing up?
Post by: Bullant4x4 on October 03, 2014, 05:11:32 PM
It would take me 6 months to get a 3 day growth :) I save heaps on shavers.

I do have an abundance of rubber gloves tho?...... :D
Post by: GeoffA on October 03, 2014, 05:19:19 PM
why aren't you signing up?

Too scared..... :P :P
I'm happy to contribute to a few.....
Post by: McGirr on October 03, 2014, 06:04:47 PM

Well done again Symon.  :cup:

The next months photos will be interesting  ;D

Post by: McGirr on October 03, 2014, 07:28:44 PM

Donated  ;D

Post by: Symon on October 03, 2014, 07:37:15 PM
Thanks Mark and Geoff, you guys are legends.
Post by: McGirr on October 03, 2014, 07:40:42 PM

Guys it's a worthy cause even if its $5 it all counts.

Post by: GeoffA on October 03, 2014, 07:43:09 PM
Guys it's a worthy cause even if its $5 it all counts.

x lots + lots......
Post by: duggie on October 04, 2014, 05:31:22 PM
Hi Symon,

It would take me months to grow a Mo, Great cause and good luck.

I threw a couple of dollars your way.

cheers duggie
Post by: Symon on October 06, 2014, 07:36:20 PM
You're a champion duggie, cheers mate  :cup:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 07, 2014, 12:19:43 PM
Donated to a great cause and made it a sticky

Post by: paceman on October 07, 2014, 12:46:01 PM
like some others, i am follically challenged in the facial area...

but happy to donate and have done so... :)
Post by: steptoey on October 07, 2014, 01:33:46 PM
Couldn't grow a mow to save myself, however I can donate and did.

Well Done Symon.

Grant
Post by: scarps on October 07, 2014, 02:14:30 PM
Couldn't grow a mow to save myself, however I can donate and did.

Well Done Symon.

Grant
swmbo closes down/shuts up shop when I don't shave. I only do it on very rare occasion.......
Post by: jk on October 07, 2014, 02:36:52 PM
I don't grow a great Mo either, and the last time I did I was told "don't get on the plane looking like that" so I guess it's a donation for me as well  ;D , good on you Symon  :cup:

John
Post by: RWW on October 29, 2014, 08:17:21 PM
Well done, this is my 12th year doing this also  8)
Post by: Garfish on October 31, 2014, 08:19:04 PM
Not being able to grow,
Is really you saying no
Next year why not give it a go
And grow a mo & be a mo bro

The first year I did it 2 weeks we had a visitor from head office and at the end they asked why I wasn't participating when all the other were, problem was I was and even cheated by starting a week early.  I just made a comment about being further evolved then the rest of the Neanderthals

Year 5 for me.
Post by: stevem on November 08, 2014, 11:01:23 AM
Love ya work Symon - I've been doing Movember for about 5 years now. Got a mate who got a dose of the dreaded "black dog" and a few who went that one step too far :(
So in the name of those lost mates and my mate who's doing an incredible job dealing with it daily that has me participate every year.
Post by: shanegtr on November 08, 2014, 12:12:21 PM
I done Movember a few years ago. I must say only one month to grow a mo wasnt enough for me, breaking 3 vertabrae and growing a beard for 3 months suited me much better (which I will be shaving off soon to raise some $$ for the RFDS)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 09, 2014, 07:25:42 PM
Today brings this to a perspective I did not want to face. A good mate, my mums husband and a great bloke was taken way too early from us today by the dreaded C.

The company that I work for are having a go, so dig deep and donate to a good cause.

http://au.movember.com/mospace/9943953 (http://au.movember.com/mospace/9943953)

I may not get a kiss from the wife or the kids but thats worth it in the end.

To Denis, I hope the pain has ended and may the cows grow fat and heathly where you now reside.

Garrick
Post by: GeoffA on November 09, 2014, 07:38:55 PM
Very sorry for your mum, you and your family Garrick....so sad.

Thinking of you all....

Post by: Bird on November 09, 2014, 07:50:05 PM
Very sorry for your mum, you and your family Garrick....so sad.

Thinking of you all....
x2...
always up for a coffee or drink at lunch if your in need dude.. you know where I werk.
Post by: Brett B on November 09, 2014, 08:36:53 PM
Sorry to hear Garrick
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 16, 2014, 05:38:50 PM
Two weeks in

(http://i1249.photobucket.com/albums/hh502/GGPatrol/20141116_183448_zpshbz8nkdf.jpg) (http://s1249.photobucket.com/user/GGPatrol/media/20141116_183448_zpshbz8nkdf.jpg.html)

Post by: McGirr on November 16, 2014, 06:09:05 PM

Looking good Garrick.  ;D

Come on people time to dig deep for a great cause. As mentioned even $5.00 helps.

Post by: GeoffA on November 16, 2014, 08:05:08 PM
Two weeks in

Looks good Garrick. Keep it, and let it grow into a goatee like McGirr's.

Proper men have facial hair..... :cup: :cup: ;D ;D
Post by: McGirr on November 16, 2014, 08:19:14 PM
Looks good Garrick. Keep it, and let it grow into a goatee like McGirr's.

Proper men have facial hair..... :cup: :cup: ;D ;D

He needs to have the grey showing.  :D

Post by: GeoffA on November 16, 2014, 08:21:02 PM
He needs to have the grey showing.  :D

Give it time....
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 28, 2014, 06:47:01 PM
So the hairy month is almost over, its been a little different with the carpet over the top lip and the cause has raised some great funds. I would like to say thank you to all that have contributed and there is still time to add to the effort no matter how small. I will post up a pic soon of the finished result.

http://au.movember.com/team/1632617 (http://au.movember.com/team/1632617)

In a company meeting this afternoon I was able to take out the Mo of the company, a great bit of fun with the boys and the ladies as judges.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 30, 2014, 07:56:59 PM
The final furry shot before I clean it up

(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/11/30/6ebbdd4d7aed8df2b5ceb0915cf1631d.jpg)

Post by: Symon on December 02, 2014, 08:45:07 AM
Here's mine.

Many thanks to those who donated to this fantastic cause.  For those who haven't donated but would like to, you can still do so with the links shown above.
Post by: dazzler on December 02, 2014, 01:11:49 PM
I grew one but was abducted and made to make 'movies'.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 02, 2014, 04:11:26 PM
This was my contribution a few years ago. Organised a car show at the workshop. Ended up taking over the street  ;D

http://youtu.be/0dvsaw9nEmo (http://youtu.be/0dvsaw9nEmo) (only video I can find on the event. Bit boring, but gives you an idea. )

Was gold coin donation for entry, $10 if you wanted your car judged. That judging fee was was thrown into a kitty, with the winner taking half, the other half to PCFA. The fella who won it, took $80 out for fuel, then tossed the rest back in. Top fella that one.

The band played for free, prizes, money and product were donated. Raised several thousand for PCFA. We ended up out of pocket a couple of hundred, simply because I couldn't find a beer sponsor  ;D  Band, volunteers etc, all rewarded with beer.

Ended up with thousands of people turn up for the day.

Shane.