General => General Discussion => Topic started by: dlncooke on October 02, 2014, 06:58:13 PM
How'd, I'm in the process of upgrading our camper trailer for more regular use & some of these places
don't have showers. Have to keep the wifey happy :-)
What I'm looking for is the best/easiest portable shower system.
It can't be to big as room will be limited.
Just wondering what people are using and what do they think.
budget?
budget?
Yeah, budget makes a big difference. OK, on a limited budget, buy a bucket like this
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN1294_zps15aa018f.jpg)
They can be found in Bunnings or Big W for about $10. They are rubberised so you can fold them without breaking the bucket and they have a large capacity for water.
You can buy a shower from BCF or whatever for about $30. They work great and ours lasted for a few years before the. Pump failed.
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN1297_zps41a5c36c.jpg)
I replaced the pump with a bilge pump and replaced the 10mm hose with 19mm hose.
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN1296_zpsb8efa551.jpg)
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN1301_zpsf5607cfa.jpg)
I heat up water with a 15 litre stainless bucket (crab cooker) add the water to the big bucket mixed with cold water until the temp is just right. I then have a recycled shower for as long as you want. My Mrs iloves camping but is a bit precious when it comes to cleanliness. She is very happy with our shower setup, we will be using it for the next four days as we are going camping.
Hope this idea helps.
Best cheap option I have seen is black plastic drums (like the ones pool chemicals come in) full of water around the camp fire.
Shower tent setup with similar system to above.
As long as the drums are absolutely full (and not too close to the fire) they wont melt. Just need to judge your desired temp before showering.
Works a treat and cheap.
A bit more of a set up but can be done at a reasonable cost if you look around http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=38557.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=38557.0)
We get about 4 ltrs pm @40 to 42*C out of the shower head and a 25 ltr drum lasts aprox 6 minutes from our 8 ltr pm gas heater unit ..We use a 12.5 ltr pm preasure pump on it ..
Unit is rated to flow 8 ltrs pm but @ 25*c which is a bit too cool unless full summer time .. a thing we found, so as to have an even temp straight away, is to recirculate water through the unit first to prime all the plumbing, then set your desired temp .
budget?
My budget is max $350
We use the $30 pump above with a bucket but have seen (and been impressed with) people use a $10 pressure sprayer from bunnings.
(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/02/d89db4fc00861eb423ec689bca1ac41b.jpg)
Just pump up the pressure and off you go. No power required and not too much to go wrong.
OK, so you may get a bit of change from $350.
X2 for the bucket and pump I bought a primus brand.
cheap
lightweight
compact
We power it one of those jump starter packs and it just runs that with plenty of juice to spare if someone needs a jump start.
can all be locked away when not in use
We use the $30 pump above with a bucket but have seen (and been impressed with) people use a $10 pressure sprayer from bunnings.
(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/02/d89db4fc00861eb423ec689bca1ac41b.jpg)
Just pump up the pressure and off you go. No power required and not too much to go wrong.
We do this , works great , just heat some water up on the stove and mix with cold.
We use the same setup as muzza01 as the original pump gave out, we now use a momentary push button switch replacing the hand rocker switch, the push button is mounted as a foot switch also fitted is a one way valve to stop water returning to the bucket when pump is not running
We have been using the Coleman hot water system for years.
Pressure is average. Temp settings can fluctuate a bit when trying to keep it warm - not too hot not too cold.
Overall it's been great. Considering you can also get water hot enough for coffee instantly.
However it's too tall/ bulky to fit in the new camper so we have just got the primus pump and shower head.
We will fill a bucket and heat water with the kettle now.
I’ve been using a Glind heat exchange shower for about 9 years and it’s served us very well. One of the things I like about it the most is it’s always packed in the car seeing it’s permanently mounted under the bonnet. So I all I need to pack are 2 hoses and then ready to have hot showers.
Yes it does mean running the car for 20-30 minutes per day, but it’s also charging my batteries at the same time.
The only down side to a heat exchange is water can fluctuate in temperature when you turn the water off to soap up etc. To get around this just before showers especially when the kids are showering I recirculate the water in our bladder until it gets to the desired temperature. Then just turn the engine off and use the system that way.
Even at home I’ve used the car shower to wash the dog on the grass.
http://www.glind.com.au/ (http://www.glind.com.au/)
We use an aqua cube digital. It's been great and keeps the wife happy. You do can chew through your water supplies quickly but we are always close to water.
x2. I have 3 kids and it's perfect. Temp setting works very well and is easily adjustable. Chews about 20l showering 3 kids, and prob 10 per person if you're not into long showers. Doesn't use much gas either.
I just use the diesel powered hot water system in our camper 8) not that it helps the OP's cause any...lol
So where is the pics of said shower user in action :worthles:
We have the green coleman hot water instant thingy.
The 1st 1 failed, the shop gave me a brand new unit.
The temp setting is difficult to set perfectly, but does a great job. and I find it easy to pack away
So where is the pics of said shower user in action :worthles:
Which one ya talking to willis
We do this , works great , just heat some water up on the stove and mix with cold.
Hortico now sell one (we got ours from anaconda) with a showerhead. Great for hosing off the windscreen, birdpoo off the CT etc as well. Can't beat it.
While I was still lurking I came across a similar thread (I can't seem to find it now) and a member was using one of these.
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v284/Emikat/ScreenShot2014-10-06at85703AM_zpse1d16150.png) (http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Emikat/media/ScreenShot2014-10-06at85703AM_zpse1d16150.png.html)
I looked high and low for one as I reckon this is the ducks guts. Unfortunately no one in Oz still sells them. Overseas Ebay has them delivered for about @250+ so a little bit exy. I was able to contact the manufacturer in China and can have them landed, via courier, for US$160 but we need one for our recent Kennedy trip so went with one of these. (should have done it before the $ dropped to low 80's)
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v284/Emikat/ScreenShot2014-10-06at85037AM_zps731aa31d.png) (http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Emikat/media/ScreenShot2014-10-06at85037AM_zps731aa31d.png.html)
It worked really well. We didn't use the shower attachment as it uses a bit to much water. We just turned the spray nozzle to the finest mist and we managed 10 showers from less than 20 litres. Only down side is you can't put the nozzle to close to the skin as it is coming out quite hard and stings a bit. We still might contact the Chinese manufacturer and import one of the other ones as it takes up far less room having a folding bucket. We'll just have to do a few more trips and see if the extra space is going to be required.
Russell
The cheapest option is the canvas bag style shower. Half fill with hot water and the other half with cold. One bag easily does 2 people.
other option, buy a shower tent for about $60. Go to a boating supplier and buy a bilge pump then fit hose and shower fittings from Bunnings. Connect to small 12v battery or 12v outlet from car or camper. Submerge bilge pump in a basin (large enough to stand in and hold water) full of warm water. Easily get change from $350.
Bit late to the party ... but we have used one of these for the last couple of years and it's brilliant !! Wife & kid can do it all themselves without any input from ME !! ;D
Heat on the stove, next to a fire, under a black plastic bag in the sun ... but best of all, at 10pm at night you can have a hot shower (put it on the gas cooker for 10-15min).
Enough for two of us to have a nice hot shower. Wet down, lather up with shower off, rinse off.
http://www.2daloo.com/rainman.html (http://www.2daloo.com/rainman.html)
Not cheap, but will last a lifetime.
Kev.
http://www.smarthotwatersystems.com.au/shop/infinite-6-smart-hot-water-system/ (http://www.smarthotwatersystems.com.au/shop/infinite-6-smart-hot-water-system/)
While I was still lurking I came across a similar thread (I can't seem to find it now) and a member was using one of these.
Sound like this old thread! http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=32454.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=32454.0)
We still have the original Carcube from 2008 but recently fitted another pump as the old one was seizing up. The new pump works really well with slightly lower pressure so no 'sting'.
Wortho
we bought this helio shower and it is amazing ($99). Basically a pressure pack with foot pump, but it is super efficient and the spray goes for longer than you think. It sits outside in the sun and heats up during the day. we also use our coleman hotwater system if we want quick hot water in the helio. It was a national Geographic "gear of the year" winner. we also find it handy to wash the sand off our feet when getting in the car at isolated (no tap) beaches.
http://www.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=Helio+Pressure+Shower+%28Grey%29 (http://www.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=Helio+Pressure+Shower+%28Grey%29)
some youtube clips of the helio explains it better
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRBXDoLBedM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRBXDoLBedM)
and this one
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tJ51Ua5fZBY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tJ51Ua5fZBY)
we purchased a coleman shower tent ($89) and some foam matting to go with the helio shower. shower head can be hung up or hand held. so all up, I have a $200 shower system that makes my wife and kids happy. Best money I spent. (this is not the exact tent but similar)
nice and soft to stand on, (bottom of the shower) water runs through gaps.
we bought this helio shower and it is amazing ($99). Basically a pressure pack with foot pump, but it is super efficient and the spray goes for longer than you think. It sits outside in the sun and heats up during the day. we also use our coleman hotwater system if we want quick hot water in the helio. It was a national Geographic "gear of the year" winner. we also find it handy to wash the sand off our feet when getting in the car at isolated (no tap) beaches.
http://www.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=Helio+Pressure+Shower+%28Grey%29 (http://www.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=Helio+Pressure+Shower+%28Grey%29)
I like.
That Helio shower is a pearler.
I like the idea of that one too, does the outside of the unit get hot turbo ninja? Was only thinking like when you have it in the shower tent is it ok? We have the double shower tent and the pump in the bucket this is ok but always have to set up near the car for the pump to run and find somewhere to hook the hose part, have the bucket up high enough for the hose etc. Last time I put my small table in there with the bucket on and one of those mats on the ground in the dry side of the ensuite I hook the actual floor in and keep my towel and clean clothes in there can step through and get dry etc.
EDIT: It was not the helio one I thought that about with the outside getting hot it was the other one posted by fluids.
G'day. I'm pretty new to this forum and I read your post about your under bonnet shower set up.
I just bought a glind heat exchange and I'm really unsure about mounting it. I'm putting it in an 08 rodeo. Do you have any suggestions and pictures?
http://www.glind.com.au/instructions (http://www.glind.com.au/instructions)
Hi there,
We have been traveling for years using a bucket of water with a shower nozzle which we use to heat on the fire. Then I tried a Coleman Hot Water System but the pump it comes with is rubbish had it replaced 3 times under warranty and it still played up. I've now got the Smarttek6 Smart Hot Water System, they are great quality unit and easy to setup and use. Keeps my wife happy. I have seen them in a few stores but we got ours here www.smarthotwatersystems.com.au (http://www.smarthotwatersystems.com.au) cause it came with a free pump pack.
Hope that helps!
Happy camping.
Hey guys!
A little late but I'm Bart from Joolca. Thought I'd mention another shower option by introducing our HOTTAP. Feel free to jump to our Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/joolcaco (https://www.facebook.com/joolcaco)) for some images of how people use them (for those of you who like to see neat pics!).
Here is a thread I made, check it out and get some reviews from other happy Swaggers: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=39656.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=39656.0)
Also, a blog I made about alternative showers (if the LPG system is not up your alley): http://www.joolca.com.au/blog/news/how-to-take-a-warm-shower-while-out-in-the-bush/ (http://www.joolca.com.au/blog/news/how-to-take-a-warm-shower-while-out-in-the-bush/)
We've been using an OZtrail shower tent with a 12 volt camping shower.
(http://www.oztrail.com.au/images/stories/virtuemart/product/oztrail-ensuite-dome-privacy-shelter-shower-toilet-tent-MPE-ENS-B.jpg)
(https://www.whitworths.com.au/products/77465_lg.jpg)
Its been fine, but having to get power to its can sometimes be a bit of a pain.
So after seeing one of these a while back, I bit the bullet and purchased a rechargeable camping shower from Jaycar this morning. Haven't tested it as yet (still charging), but hopefully it'll perform as well as the hard wired 12V one.
(http://www.hisgifts.com.au/img/product-images/rcsh-350a.jpg)
Oh yeah ... it cost me $49.95.
We've been using an OZtrail shower tent with a 12 volt camping shower.
(http://www.oztrail.com.au/images/stories/virtuemart/product/oztrail-ensuite-dome-privacy-shelter-shower-toilet-tent-MPE-ENS-B.jpg)
(https://www.whitworths.com.au/products/77465_lg.jpg)
So after seeing one of these a while back, I bit the bullet and purchased a rechargeable camping shower from Jaycar this morning. Haven't tested it as yet (still charging), but hopefully it'll perform as well as the hard wired 12V one.
(http://www.hisgifts.com.au/img/product-images/rcsh-350a.jpg)
Oh yeah ... it cost me $49.95.
Will be interested to hear how it goes we also use the 12v one and I find the power thing a pain. I have been eyeing off the ironman one that you charge the usb when driving.
The Ironman one for all intents and purposes is the same as the Jaycar model.
OK ... gave it a charge and dropped it into a sink full of water. The output seems identical to the 12V wired one, so all good there.
The impeller is driven by a tapered spindle (as opposed to a D shaped one), and our 12V one also has a tapered spindle (purchased from Whitworths). The only issue with a tapered spindle is that sometimes the impeller wants to slip down the shaft and not spin. Its easy to fix, simply open the bottom of the pump and push it back. A bit of loctite would probably help circumvent the issue too.
Now ... the good thing about the tapered spindle is that the impeller won't split under pressure, as it would if seated on a D shaped shaft.
We're heading away in a couple of weeks for a bit of rest and relaxation, so the shower will get a good workout then.
OK ... gave it a charge and dropped it into a sink full of water. The output seems identical to the 12V wired one, so all good there.
The impeller is driven by a tapered spindle (as opposed to a D shaped one), and our 12V one also has a tapered spindle (purchased from Whitworths). The only issue with a tapered spindle is that sometimes the impeller wants to slip down the shaft and not spin. Its easy to fix, simply open the bottom of the pump and push it back. A bit of loctite would probably help circumvent the issue too.
Now ... the good thing about the tapered spindle is that the impeller won't split under pressure, as it would if seated on a D shaped shaft.
We're heading away in a couple of weeks for a bit of rest and relaxation, so the shower will get a good workout then.
Good to know thanks there is a jaycar about half hour away so next time in town might have to have a look
I have pretty much the same setup. For power I cut off the ciggie plug and replaced it with an Anderson. Now I can use my 20m 12V extension lead (the same cable I use for my solar panels) to run the shower from either the cruiser or the camper.
I think companion have the same one in green for an extra $20. Was interested cos it is brilliantly simple but the flow rate was a little low especially when mounted at 190 cm. Will be interested to hear how it goes.