General => General Discussion => Topic started by: robsjack on August 29, 2014, 08:08:53 PM
I have a love for music and was wondering whether any fellow swagger's are the same.
What instruments do you play?
I started with a $300 Yamaha acoustic which I paid for by working over Christmas in my first job at Woolies right before I started my apprenticeship. I moved to Bass and joined a band in the late 80's playing pubs and clubs for 16 years. 1st pic is my trusty Fender Precision (early 80's vintage I think). I currently have a beautiful Taylor acoustic and for my birthday just gone I have moved to my first electric (an American standard tele).
Sometimes I play 'the fool'. Other times I play the drums. One time we did a gig in Inglewood (country se qld) for a community function. The beautiful old ladies from the town got there early to get a front row seat. I thought this would be an issue given we were there to attract the youth of the town to a night highlighting youth issues including suicide prevention - I.e the music was going to be loud and heavy. I had my wife go to them and have a quiet word to give them the heads up. They were confident they would be ok so politely declined.
It was the funniest thing to see how fast they scrambled ten seconds into the first song to get out the back of the hall. Rock on.
I played the trumpet for many years. Started harmonica a while back but stopped. Need to get back into it as my daughter and I were learning together.
Piano, guitar, trumpet and used to sing in a band. Go figure.......
Scarey really
trust me.. theres plenty here that think they can sing.. Tomie was proof .. we had a live rendition of Pist Frozen Cats Featuring the BandSaw...
Play a bit of Didg, circular breathing still the problem.
I play with my organ every now and then. My wife tells me I'm a dirty bugger when I do.
Beat me to it...............she says "if you are getting that thing out again, make sure you use dettol and a wire brush".
I can play guitar, badly. Bought myself a harmonica when we travelled last year and taught myself how to play, but would live a few lessons to learn the right techniques.
Hi!
the other plays the bagpipes extremely well, he also plays the tin whistle, low d whistle, boudrin drum, harmonica,celtic harp, didg, anything he puts his hand to,
barb
Bought myself a harmonica when we travelled last year and taught myself how to play, but would live a few lessons to learn the right techniques.
I brought JP Allen's DVDs and downloadable lessons. (If you buy the 5 disc set you get free access to the download stuff) Pretty easy to follow and liked his technic.
http://www.harmonica.com/lessons/
I brought JP Allen's DVDs and downloadable lessons. (If you buy the 5 disc set you get free access to the download stuff) Pretty easy to follow and liked his technic.
http://www.harmonica.com/lessons/
Thanks for the tip, I'll look that up.
If you want a copy let me know , I'll burn you a copy .
I play a bit of guitar or bass, not as much not since I broke one of fingers a few years ago, played piano when I was a young bloke too.. As well as drums....
I play trumpet and cornet and play every week with a brass band in Brisbane. We compete in competitions regularly and have won the state B grade championships a few years in a row now.
I play guitar, but haven't played much for a few too many years. Once kids came along, I never seemed to have the time.
Got a sweet Rickenbacker 610 Fireglo & Vox AC30 25th anniversary (Not the best model btw. Been meaning to mod it for years)
Also have an unusual old Yamaha S-50 Acoustic. Japanese built in the late 60's from the few fragements of info on the web. Classical shaped body, but used steel strings. I've got a nylon set on at the moment. Very nice sound.
Been sorely tempted of late to sell the Ric & Vox to finance a good camera, but can't part with them just yet ;D
(http://mattlarsen.smugmug.com/Other/Mashup/i-QDtftd9/0/L/DSC_5882mod1-L.jpg)
(http://mattlarsen.smugmug.com/Other/Mashup/i-c87cVMf/0/L/DSC_5788mod1-L.jpg)
Played trumpet through high school and uni. Only get the opportunity in groups now every few years.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/09/02/a7aganep.jpg)
That's me 2nd one in about 4 years ago.
Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk
There a story going round that you can still bang out a note by yourself. According to the guy that had ear plugs in that shared a room with you on the postie bike ride.
No Names
(http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww110/HEM19X/DSC_0234.jpg) (http://s710.photobucket.com/user/HEM19X/media/DSC_0234.jpg.html)
SWMBO plays the acoustic guitar, piano and ukelele...
No Names
(http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww110/HEM19X/DSC_0234.jpg) (http://s710.photobucket.com/user/HEM19X/media/DSC_0234.jpg.html)
Good times Mark. :cup:
I have me a harem of guitars both acoustic and electric, six strings and basses. I dabble with mandolin and ukulele, and I play in church bands and a Bluegrass band.
Strummin around a campfire is icing on the cake. Love it.
does the recorder count??
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-AVxd_da6dTg/VAeqQcWP4DI/AAAAAAAA_Z4/5Y0PgZvM7wQ/w378-h819-no/100_2107-1.JPG)
MattNQ - That's a nice looking Rickenbacker 610 Fireglo & Vox AC30. I've got a little VOX amp with a few amp modelling settings including one for the AC30. I'm sure it doesn't sound half as sweet as yours.
Snow - After 16 years or so of playing bass in clubs bands I finally got out of that. The constant movements due to my engineering/construction work made it impossible to commit to a band. I play more guitar these days and only the bass occasionally. I lead our local church band too.
rob
Thanks Rob, the Vox does need some work. volume pots are noisy & I'd love to swap the Fane speakers for Celestions.
Kids all play something too. Daughter plays double bass (she figured it was cooler than the violin) son #1 plays tenor sax, son#2 plays clarinet. We reckon getting them into music is a worthwhile investment.
Austastar,
struth, I had no idea you could get a recorder that big. I used to dread my kids "recorder soiree" at school.
Intrigued, I looked up these big ones - they have a very nice sound !
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZmMMOnXwPg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZmMMOnXwPg)
Learning acoustic guitar for just over 12 months now. Still long way to go. Melinda plays piano and our 5 yo playas piano better then I could ever play it.
does the recorder count??
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-AVxd_da6dTg/VAeqQcWP4DI/AAAAAAAA_Z4/5Y0PgZvM7wQ/w378-h819-no/100_2107-1.JPG)
Is that a Nimbin recorder? Or just got busted :D
It goes toot, not bong.
I've gone toot before peaking lol :D Tongue in cheek but did enjoy the butterfly feeling!
Can play the didgeridoo n self taught the drums!
Sent from my iPhone using the Tappy thing
Before kids and uni I played in a little rock band in Newcastle called Four on the Floor and a duo called Rock Factor.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bNK4RK5DkMI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bNK4RK5DkMI)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-Iavp5E8bc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-Iavp5E8bc)
Now uni is nearly wound up I'm looking to get back into it...
Looking at the stage, that's me on the right...
Robbo
Robbo - great work on the Guitar mate - The band is pretty tight - well done - I'd say the quality of the band is much higher than the quality of the dancing - but I'll give them high marks for enthusiasm...
Yeah ta, kept me in drinking silver but that was about it.
Had some good times along the way, met the now missus at a gig, and a few memorable moments to boot.
Robbo
Yeah ta, kept me in drinking silver but that was about it.
Had some good times along the way, met the now missus at a gig, and a few memorable moments to boot.
Robbo
So you've just proved the old saying "the guitarist always get's the chick !" Excellent !!
So as mentioned above, getting back into it, only the duo at this stage.
www.rockfactor.com.au (http://www.rockfactor.com.au)
https://www.facebook.com/rockfactorduo (https://www.facebook.com/rockfactorduo)
First gig is at Coonamble, January 10th...
Robbo
Campfires, guitars and singing makes for a great night.
I play in a camp fire band with a mate of mine. Look us up on Facebook, Big Truck is our name. Had our first gig away from the camp fire late last year, was an awaesome experience.
Here we are at Norths Rugby Club
Play a bit of Didg, circular breathing still the problem.
Me too SJ. Also been playing guitar for a couple of years but really only on the cowboy chords. Would love to pick up the circular breathing as I have a very good didge. The sound of a didge in the bush around a campfire - magic.
Any swaggers out there that teach Didge?? ;D Mac
We've been doing a few little demos for our website and my mate popped this on the old you tube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL3Y9uRtrqo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL3Y9uRtrqo)
Third gig and two practices after three years away from it.
The crowd is going off... ;D
Robbo
Yes, I'm an ex muso for a livingkinda guy .... Been playing since I was 10. Have a nice little collection of guitars and amps and, and, and .... And a room dedicated as a studio with way too many toys accumulated over the last 40+yrs.
It's a great distraction .... When I'm not working, or camping .... Which means I don't get to play as much as I'd like too .... But last time we went camping I took a guitar with me (and I haven't done that in years).
Kev..
We've been doing a few little demos for our website and my mate popped this on the old you tube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL3Y9uRtrqo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL3Y9uRtrqo)
Robbo
Robbo
Great lead break Robbo !
Ha ha surprised myself with it. Must of just been in the beer window.
Robbo...
Old drummer / vocalist in country / middle off the road stuff
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
I have wanted to play a musical instrument since I was young but never got around to it. Got into ukulele last year and am now playing. I now have 4 ukuleles, 1 banjo and two amps and loving the hell out of learning and playing.
Michael. :cheers: :cheers:
Good to see I struggle to play an iPod. Daughter is the musician plays trumpet, tenor recorder, and is learning uke and guitar.
Sent from my fingers via my brain
My Fender Acoustic Guitar I'm not the best guitarist but love getting it out for a sing along around the camp with a few beers
Don't play any thing my self, but just sitting here watching my three year old grandson on a uke jamming with my son on guitar playing thunder struck is pure gold
Think the grandson will be a muso he is always on his drums, uke or keyboard and he loves aka daka
Kev - you've got a great set up there.
Yes, I'm an ex muso for a livingkinda guy .... Been playing since I was 10. Have a nice little collection of guitars and amps and, and, and .... And a room dedicated as a studio with way too many toys accumulated over the last 40+yrs.
It's a great distraction .... When I'm not working, or camping .... Which means I don't get to play as much as I'd like too .... But last time we went camping I took a guitar with me (and I haven't done that in years).
Kev..
Very nice collection.
I've had a couple of guitars over the years but I have now settled on a Gibson SG with P90's.
This one isn't mine but it's the same colour/model
(http://www.themusiczoo.com/images/4-04-12/7109_SG_Special_60s_Tribute_WSW_101320513_1.jpg)
I play on my own at home just for fun. I'm not good or anything like that but the wife and kids don't mind.
I've got my youngest daughter stated now as well, she's learning fast. She wanted an accoustic but can't get her arms over a full dreadnaught size so we settled on a Fender Telecoustic, which is like an accousitc/telecaster hybrid. It's a little weird but a great guitar and sounds great through an amp. The body resonates ok when it's not plugged in.
(http://cdn.guitar.co.uk/media/catalog/product/cache/1/thumbnail/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/f/e/fender-telecoustic-plus-sherwood-green.jpg)