General => General Discussion => Topic started by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 05:39:20 AM

Title: A rude awakening.....
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 05:39:20 AM
Got woken up a bit earlier than normal this morning...... >:(
Title: Re: A rude awakening.....
Post by: britts on August 23, 2014, 05:59:40 AM
Did you get hold of them?
Bugger about the damage
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 06:02:40 AM
No. The immobiliser did the job.
They'd gone by the time I got out there.
Post by: McGirr on August 23, 2014, 06:04:44 AM

The #%€¥# bastards. It's a sick feeling when it happens.

Post by: Hairs on August 23, 2014, 06:05:15 AM
G'day Geoff,
That suxs big time mate, bastards  >:D
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 06:06:04 AM
It's taken the shine off my weekend, that's for sure....
Post by: Black Diamond on August 23, 2014, 06:12:06 AM
Shit!! Bloody pricks. Hopefully not too much damage.
Post by: weeds on August 23, 2014, 06:12:07 AM
The f$/@?"........

Looks like they left their screwdriver behind

Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 06:15:29 AM
****!! Bloody pricks. Hopefully not too much damage.

Yeah, not too much. Looks like steering lock / ignition barrel, and a quarter window at the moment. There's bound to be more though.
Post by: Clouty on August 23, 2014, 06:27:26 AM
Bloody pricks >:( >:(

Post by: slcs78 on August 23, 2014, 06:30:29 AM
That's Shit, was it parked outside the house?? Can't stand thieving bastards
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 06:33:46 AM
That's ****, was it parked outside the house?? Can't stand thieving bastards

Yep. Parked in the driveway.
Post by: muzza01 on August 23, 2014, 06:41:54 AM
Don't you just wish you could catch the mongrels in the act  >:D
Post by: Homer_Jay on August 23, 2014, 06:43:23 AM
They are game doing that in front of your house. Wouldn't they think smashing the glass would wake someone up?

Bastards!

They must have been on drugs........ Stealing a Datsun of all things!  ;D ;D ;D

Sorry mate... Would certainly put a downer on your day. I would be wild about it of it was me.
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 07:00:43 AM
Don't you just wish you could catch the mongrels in the act  >:D

Sure do. But with 110kg of angry bogan after them, wearing nothing but jocks, I'm sure they'd have been fleet of foot......
Post by: achjimmy on August 23, 2014, 07:04:15 AM
Bloody pricks >:( >:(

X 2, sorry for you Geoff must be gutted.
Post by: D4D on August 23, 2014, 07:06:30 AM
Bugger Geoff that's a crap way to start the morning. Hope there's not too much damage.

I've recently bought a couple of large halogen sensor lights. I plan to fit an extension lead to each of them and mount them in various positions around the camper. That way if they take one out there are still others to light up the area. I also have fitted an infrared beam across the driveway with a buzzer in our bedroom, this should alert me to anybody entering.
Post by: speewa158 on August 23, 2014, 07:08:09 AM
Sure do. But with 110kg of angry bogan after them, wearing nothing but jocks, I'm sure they'd have been fleet of foot......

Toooooo Much lnfo  for this hour of the morning  >:D   Sorry to hear of this  & the car break in  :cup:
Post by: cm4x4nut on August 23, 2014, 07:12:57 AM
That sucks a big one Geoff, I know where you are coming from, similar happened to us not long after moving to Sydney. Sour taste left for sure  >:(
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 07:18:33 AM
Cheers all.

After this mess is cleaned up, it looks like some security cameras will be needed.
Post by: speewa158 on August 23, 2014, 07:23:25 AM
l am using a track camera that is giving good results .  Just to know whos about when lm not  . :cheers:
Post by: Symon on August 23, 2014, 07:32:05 AM
%$#@ing pricks.

Good to see the immobiliser did its job and there isn't too much damage.
Post by: jk on August 23, 2014, 07:47:07 AM
You've never got a large calibre hand gun when you need it  >:(  , sorry to see the mighty Troll in such a state of distress but at least the immobiliser did it's job and the 4B is still in the driveway !!
Post by: swanny on August 23, 2014, 07:51:57 AM
Arseholes that's all they are, and im hearing there is a lot patrols being flogged down Vic way at present, im just glad you got to the car before they were able to get her going.

Luke
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 23, 2014, 07:52:19 AM

Oh hell, that's ruined any chance of sleep tonight until I can get the thought outta me ead.

I bet ya not the only one in your area that got a visit either.  >:(
Post by: Raym on August 23, 2014, 07:54:14 AM
That sucks Geoff. Hope the damage isn't to bad.

Ray
Post by: Reddirtroaming on August 23, 2014, 08:26:33 AM
The scumbags! Really sucks this happened.

We had stuff stolen off our roof rack once & that was bad enough to make me feel sick & pissed off.

Hope the police can get some fingerprints.
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 08:30:00 AM
Hope the police can get some fingerprints.

Thanks, but I'm not sure they'll bother turning up......
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 23, 2014, 08:35:18 AM
Pure A holes

There seems to be a lot of Patrols getting the number at the moment, I know of at least 5 in the last week and they have been all over the country. I think its time for more than cameras Geoff, hope all the good bits are still ok

Post by: Brett B on August 23, 2014, 08:35:51 AM
Bloody %$^& turds  ???
Sorry Mate did they take anything
Post by: oldmate on August 23, 2014, 08:37:02 AM
Yeah that sucks mate.
Post by: MarkVS on August 23, 2014, 08:43:34 AM
....................................$%$&$%^$$(............

Good to see you still have the car and with not a lot of damage.

They must have been a classy lot as they obviously went for the best one around......as you wouldn't take the threat of a 110kg angry bogan in jocks chasing you lightly....

MarkVS
Post by: Swannie on August 23, 2014, 08:49:29 AM
Geoff just left a message on your phone mate,mi can get a window ASAP and come your place and fit it

Post by: D4D on August 23, 2014, 08:50:06 AM
Geoff just left a message on your phone mate,mi can get a window ASAP and come your place and fit it

Post by: heath74 on August 23, 2014, 08:56:13 AM
no good at all mate, but that comment did make me piss my self laughing, and throw up a little but in my mouth. At least you've kept your sense of humour.

Post by: DannyG on August 23, 2014, 09:06:24 AM
wow that leaves a sour taste thats for sure. Worst part is that trying to insure it for what its worth is near on impossible :(
Post by: Ratbag on August 23, 2014, 09:19:55 AM
Bloody mongrel socialists ... :(

The "what's yours is mine; but what's mine is mine" brigade @@!!

From my Batphone
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 09:22:27 AM

My hero  ;D ;D..... :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: lino6 on August 23, 2014, 09:41:02 AM

You are a champ  :cup:

Geoff - not a good start to the weekend mate got my fingers crossed its nothing that can,t be easily fixed.

Ya kinda wish these bastards get hit by a large karma bus not far out the driveway.....
Post by: muzza01 on August 23, 2014, 09:47:30 AM
I just found out my sons girlfriend had her car stolen last night. She lives on a cane farm with her parents. Someone walked in off the road (about 300 meters) and got the car. The keys were left in the car but that is how they live (up until now) with keys in car, never locking doors to the house.

I &$?!en hate thieves.
Post by: scarps on August 23, 2014, 09:53:25 AM
mate, that's terrible news. Hope it all fixes up ok.

Btw, that alarm you have, does that comes with the 110kg jock wearing, running angry bogan or is it an aftermarket accessory?  Does evo do the install?
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 09:56:46 AM
mate, that's terrible news. Hope it all fixes up ok.

Btw, that alarm you have, does that comes with the 110kg jock wearing, running angry bogan or is it an aftermarket accessory?  Does evo do the install?

.....it's location dependant...... ;D ;D
Post by: Wato on August 23, 2014, 10:07:43 AM
P.....cks.... time for a BIIIG dog ! At least the immobiliser did it's job.

:cheers:Swannie for your help

Craig
Post by: Mace on August 23, 2014, 10:23:47 AM
Well done in aborting the getaway.

Wonder if they would have tried to flog a 3litre?

Post by: noel_w on August 23, 2014, 10:28:41 AM
Patrols & Cruisers are being targeted for Ram Raids as they are a few of the vehicles that survive so they can drive away after the deed.

Bl00dy scum is all I can say.

I had the same happen to my GQ at the Valley carpark in Brissie. The idiot broke in via the back sliding window by levering the window with a screwdriver & dropped his wallet inside the car when he crawled in. Cops said to drive the car home & will contact me. An hour after I got home to Mansfield a young forensic copper turned up and fingerprinted & took photos and took his wallet.
He turned up at the Valley copshop next day to report his wallet missing and they nabbed him. Great result except for the insurance excess it cost me to get the smashed window and bent frame replaced. (plus the $10 in coins in the ashtray he got). Ya gotta question the intelligence of these scum.
Post by: MarkVS on August 23, 2014, 10:29:52 AM

I'm impressed thats what you wear in Vic at winter time..... ;D
Post by: knoath on August 23, 2014, 10:46:40 AM
"Ya gotta question the intelligence of these scum."
That's the point noel_w, if they had half a brain they wouldn't do it in the first place!!!

GeoffA, feel for you, it's a turd of a feeling...
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 11:03:19 AM
Nothing stolen Brett.
They wanted the car, and knew what they were doing.

Swannie's on the job now...... :cup:
Post by: Bird on August 23, 2014, 11:04:43 AM
What the others have said..

they knew what they were lookin at I'd say... Might be time to speak with Evo about a bulk buy on fitted car alarms...
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 11:13:11 AM
... Might be time to speak with Evo about a bulk buy on fitted car alarms...

Yep.
Post by: Bird on August 23, 2014, 11:15:42 AM
Yep.
just shot him a SMS. see what he comes up with.
Post by: scarps on August 23, 2014, 12:16:45 PM

What the others have said..

they knew what they were lookin at I'd say... Might be time to speak with Evo about a bulk buy on fitted car alarms...
only if it comes with the aftermarket option
Post by: speewa158 on August 23, 2014, 03:16:48 PM
lm still in shock of the mental pic of a Flat Footed Jocked up Bogan in Full Flight down the street at 5AM . lts enough to frighten the saddle off a night mare   . With security like that they wont be back  :cheers:
Post by: SteveandViv on August 23, 2014, 03:24:20 PM
The f$/@?"........

Looks like they left their screwdriver behind

Wonder if they could get prints off that ???
Post by: jetcrew on August 23, 2014, 04:17:11 PM
That sucks mate..

look at it this way...

Keep the screwdriver, use it often in your shed and have a little chuckle each time that they cam to steal your ride and you scored a screw driver  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet ;D

Keep a dry chemical fire extinguisher by the bed ...

Jet ;D ;D
Post by: bspink101 on August 23, 2014, 04:28:19 PM
That is crap, sorry to hear about it Geoff.....

Let's hope karma gets these low life scum.......
Post by: speewa158 on August 23, 2014, 04:49:29 PM
So where will the Patrol sleep tonight    ??? & will you  ??? :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 05:00:07 PM
So where will the Patrol sleep tonight    ??? & will you  ??? :cheers:

It's tucked away for the night......as it will be every night until I get some more car and home security organised.
Post by: Bird on August 23, 2014, 05:05:11 PM
It's tucked away for the night......as it will be every night until I get some more car and home security organised.
yea I'd leave that big old heavy Cooter in the driveway instead too...
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 05:14:40 PM

:P :P.......they're cuddling......
Post by: Mongoose on August 23, 2014, 06:47:35 PM

Exactly what I was thinking...no black market for those dodgy double-axle dooverlackies! ;D
Post by: Moggy on August 23, 2014, 07:13:12 PM
Well thats not what i was expecting by the thread title.  :'(

John Howard has a lot to answer for, making us hand in theft deterrent retraction devices  >:D  >:D
Post by: Bird on August 23, 2014, 07:15:09 PM
Quote from: Mongoose
Exactly what I was thinking...no black market for those dodgy double-axle dooverlackies! ;D
be worth a bit in scrap metal though....
Post by: Brett B on August 23, 2014, 07:22:30 PM

:cup: Nothing wrong with dodgy double-axle dooverlackies!
Post by: vicandug on August 23, 2014, 07:40:13 PM
Geez Geoff
Thats sux.  My son said last week...  "No one will try to steal a 4wd mum!"  How wrong was he?

A couple of weeks ago tyres were slashed on a lot of cars in Wyndham Vale.

I was raised in Werribee and only left 6 years ago.  The place just isn't the same as it was when I was growing up.

Vicki
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 23, 2014, 08:21:36 PM

I just had bourbon come out my nose I laughed so hard

Post by: Mongoose on August 23, 2014, 08:54:14 PM

Sorry GG. Did you catch it in your glass?
Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 08:57:20 PM

be worth a bit in scrap metal though....

You girls need to come with me on a real trip, not just around the block, and you'll see how a proper camper performs.
With well over 50,000kms in 5 years, the runs are on the board...... :P :P

Hey Garrick, have you had yours on a weighbridge yet? Not game, I'll bet....... >:D >:D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 23, 2014, 09:10:29 PM

Hey Garrick, have you had yours on a weighbridge yet? Not game, I'll bet....... >:D >:D

I have but have no problems at the moment thanks to a GVM upgrade. Wait for week or so when I bolt all the other goodies on

Post by: GeoffA on August 23, 2014, 09:23:41 PM
I have but have no problems at the moment thanks to a GVM upgrade. Wait for week or so when I bolt all the other goodies on

I meant the camper.....
Post by: aussiex on August 23, 2014, 10:41:29 PM
Glad not too much damage, unfortunately excess may be worth more than damage  >:(
Little pricks will try anything.
My car was broken into at the hospital while I was visiting my son after work a few years ago.
Moron stole a camera which I later recognized on the back of a stroller.
Work supplied purple case - stood out like dogs balls  :D
I grabbed it & got into an argument with the little prick.
It was a work camera, I used to work doing telco stuff, so it had pics of mobile towers.
Security came out, I handed it to them & told them what pics were on it, the moron who stole it said they were pics of cranes. ;D
Cops came, moron was lippy, so they accidentally banged his head into the door  ;D
Later on his girlfriend had the nerve to say "you didn't have to get the police involved"
If they didn't I would have smashed the little prick.
When your kids sick, last thing you need is that happening.
Post by: speewa158 on August 24, 2014, 07:39:51 AM
Arrr The Karma Buss backed up again    :cup:

l wonder if Geoff maintained his exercise regime in the early hours   , Hope he slept through till about now . With no reason to be up & about    :laugh: :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on August 24, 2014, 08:15:11 AM
Nope.......up early, as usual Jamie......... ;D
Post by: Wato on August 24, 2014, 08:20:15 AM
Hey Geoff were you able to put the steering column cover back on or was it buggered too ?
Post by: Mik01 on August 24, 2014, 08:29:59 AM
Just read over at 4wd earth there is a spate of patrols being flogged in Melbourne. There is a current thread with a pic there of a before and after patrol - after it's been stripped and burnt to a shell. They have a list of all the gear stolen, and asking for people to keep an eye out on gumtree etc for cheap gear, or a lot of gear available at one place.
There must be a gang of morons who are keen on flogging 4wd accessories.

http://www.4x4earth.com.au/forum/general-4x4-discussion/32118-2-stolen-gqs-help.html (http://www.4x4earth.com.au/forum/general-4x4-discussion/32118-2-stolen-gqs-help.html)
Post by: Swannie on August 24, 2014, 08:33:44 AM
There has been plenty of 80 series cruiser targeted as well at the moment. I have actually moved
"Frank " from my place as I'm adamant I have had a car load of people in a cruiser casing him out over the past week
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2014, 08:44:00 AM
That GQ would have taken several hours to strip - front diff and all ???

Quote from: swannie
There has been plenty of 80 series cruiser targeted as well at the moment. I have actually moved
"Frank " from my place as I'm adamant I have had a car load of people in a cruiser casing him out over the past week
What a f****ed world its become.
Post by: GeoffA on August 24, 2014, 08:48:50 AM
Hey Geoff were you able to put the steering column cover back on or was it buggered too ?

Hi Craig,

No damage to the plastic cover. They carefully removed the screws, and then smashed the ignition barrel. It's stuffed. I can drive the car OK, but I can't leave it anywhere....

Geoff
Post by: pommiedic on August 24, 2014, 08:50:58 AM
From the several FB forums that I'm on, There seems to be two or three patrols being stolen every week, most been found burnt out after being stripped of their good stuff; question is. Where are these parts going?  The scumbags buying the cheap parts are no better than the scumbag thieves. Stop the market for these parts and you stop the thefts. The police don't want to know as you are insured, not that insurance covers all of your loss and then they stab you in increased premiums the following year. On the off chance it gets to court, the ivory tower magistrates give them a slap on he wrist as poor jonny had a bad upbringing.  I'm yet to own a vehicle that has not been done over one way or the other. The only scum bag I've caught went home with broken fingers and threat to his life if he returned. I dread the thought of my own actions should I catch another!!  Bring in Arab law, one theft equals one lost hand, a second theft, the loss of a second hand; you don't see too many no handed thieves. I'm sick of the thieving scumbags bringing financial misery to hardworking people, sick of the law that protects them and sick of the do gooders who think the scum should get off with a slap on the wrist. End of today's rant.
Post by: Ratbag on August 24, 2014, 09:08:32 AM
Don't any of these cars use MicroDot technology?

Makes it bloody hard to steal and pass off stolen goods ...

From my Batphone
Post by: speewa158 on August 24, 2014, 09:30:50 AM
There is the stolen to order stuff . Buy a bomb  & build it up with stolen bits that cost you SWA . lts a sad indictment of our world  .  >:D
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 09:53:44 AM

There is the stolen to order stuff . Buy a bomb  & build it up with stolen bits that cost you SWA . lts a sad indictment of our world  .  >:D
noone steals Jeeps! Now that's gotta tell you something:-)

You may also find many Patrols etc are being stolen by the people that want the parts for their own.

Remember today's 4wd's are yesteryear's muscle cars, hot rods etc.
Post by: D4D on August 24, 2014, 10:00:39 AM
Don't any of these cars use MicroDot technology?

Makes it bloody hard to steal and pass off stolen goods ...

You can buy datadots to add to your vehicle, I posted about this a while ago
Post by: Ratbag on August 24, 2014, 10:08:40 AM
You can buy microdots to add to your vehicle, I posted about this a while ago

Thanks ,D4D

Ours already have them.

From my Batphone

Post by: Bad Scott on August 24, 2014, 10:21:23 AM
noone steals Jeeps! Now that's gotta tell you something:-)

No one wants em >:D
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 10:31:20 AM
No one wants em >:D
lol.......
Post by: LuckyDog on August 24, 2014, 10:31:42 AM
That gives a very sickly feeling even when it happens to someone else.
had it happen to me a couple of times whilst having my old GQ at the Boat ramp.

feel sorry for you.
Post by: Oldandslow on August 24, 2014, 10:35:14 AM
The sooner they make it legal to fit these to car alarms the better, way too many low lifes around these days.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDrzMGdYWZc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDrzMGdYWZc)
Post by: hutchie62 on August 24, 2014, 10:55:45 AM
Sorry to hear what happened, if there is any ting I can do, just give us a call.
Might be time to build that new shed.

Cheers Hutchie
Post by: GeoffA on August 24, 2014, 10:17:54 PM
Sorry to hear what happened, if there is any ting I can do, just give us a call.
Might be time to build that new shed.

Cheers Hutchie

Thanks Hutchie, but there's not much for others to help with now that swannie's done his stuff with the glass. I just need to address the other damage now.

The new shed would be nice. Not ready for it yet, though....
Post by: Hairs on September 03, 2014, 07:33:42 PM
Just read over at 4wd earth there is a spate of patrols being flogged in Melbourne.

Obviously some thieves have no taste
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/smiley%20dance01.gif)
Post by: speewa158 on September 03, 2014, 09:03:34 PM
Not the Datto  :-*    :cheers:
Post by: jclures on September 04, 2014, 09:33:17 PM
I know how you feel Geoff, when my Nissan was stolen by a couple of low life pricks, you just wonder what  they think they have the right to steel other peoples pride and joy.
I know it cost me a new engine and transmission new tyres, to name just a few things needed to get her back on the road back then.