General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on July 29, 2014, 07:50:21 AM

Title: Smaller engine and less power new navara
Post by: Bird on July 29, 2014, 07:50:21 AM
Yes.. that's a step in the right direction - the fixation of small highly stressed engines... designed to last the warranty period and then nothing
http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/new-nissan-navara-less-powerful-20140728-zxkhk.html (http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/new-nissan-navara-less-powerful-20140728-zxkhk.html)

"Instead, the most powerful engine at launch is likely to be a 2.3-litre four-cylinder diesel motor "
and
"We are aware of quality issues for the previous model."

and whats with the look of all new cars, they look like a rat caught behind a jet engine...
(http://images-2.drive.com.au/2014/07/28/5630623/navara_600-620x414.jpg)
Title: Re: Smaller engine and less power new navara
Post by: HEM19X on July 29, 2014, 07:56:54 AM
Eventhough they are getting more power from smaller motors, I'm happy with my BT50
Post by: Steffo1 on July 29, 2014, 08:25:07 AM
My goodness me. Look at all that ground clearance! Our friends Mitsu ASX has more than that >:D
Post by: GUEY on July 29, 2014, 08:35:08 AM
I thought there was talk of the 2.8lt cummins. Maybe just American spec?
Post by: paceman on July 29, 2014, 08:35:52 AM
Eventhough they are getting more power from smaller motors, I'm happy with my BT50

+1 here.  there's no substitute for cubes... :)
Post by: Diesel Power on July 29, 2014, 09:35:28 AM
Yeah had a laugh the other day when a mate was saying that he is getting 13 litres/100 kms out of his Amarok Auto with a load.
I get the same economy out of my 200 series under the same conditions, and being an ex D40 Navara owner, I'm not a big fan of the highly strung small capacity diesels anymore.
Angus
Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 29, 2014, 10:04:11 AM
Why not it is fast becoming a vehicle that is used for fun rather than work

The average punter may tow twice a year and put a couple bikes in the back. So for the 99% of the time it just runs around town than a small fuel efficient engine is the go. People like us unfortunatly are in a ever shrinking minority and vehicles are designed around the majority
Post by: gronk on July 29, 2014, 10:09:18 AM
Goes to show Nissan STILL hasn't got its head around what Aussies want !!

And contrary to what some people think, Australia is a big market for 4wd's....

obviously USA kills us for the other side of the market ( the big Tundras and F150's etc )
Post by: chisel on July 29, 2014, 10:10:30 AM
I think the biggest selling Navara has been the 2.5L in the last 10 years so it's not a huge change.  I doubt they were selling too many of the "hero" 3L V6 550 vehicles due to the cost.
I assume this new navara spells the end for the D22 as well?
Post by: Robbo on July 29, 2014, 10:18:18 AM
Not a bad looking vehicle though. Looks like it has been designed to go up against the Ford Ranger with it's styling.
Post by: rotare on July 29, 2014, 10:52:47 AM
the fixation of small highly stressed engines... designed to last the warranty period and then nothing

I'm not necessarily arguing this point, but is there any factual basis that these engines aren't lasting the distance, or is this simply speculation?

Wind the clock back 12-15 years where many manufacturers where releasing models with 4 cylinder turbo diesels, and lots of people then were speculating that these 4 cylinder boosted diesels would have a short life span..... yet there are plenty examples on forums today getting 400K+ on stock standard "untouched" motors. 

My goodness me. Look at all that ground clearance! Our friends Mitsu ASX has more than that >:D

Just like any stock 4wd, a simple 50mm lift and slightly larger tyres will give this thing enough clearance for 95% of people to get to the places they need to go.  Generally people who buy these sorts of rigs don't want / need 500mm of clearance.   
Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 29, 2014, 11:16:04 AM

obviously USA kills us for the other side of the market ( the big Tundras and F150's etc )

Compared globally im Sorry but AUS would make up 5% of Nissan Global sales
Post by: paceman on July 29, 2014, 11:32:20 AM

The average punter may tow twice a year and put a couple bikes in the back. So for the 99% of the time it just runs around town than a small fuel efficient engine is the go. People like us unfortunatly are in a ever shrinking minority and vehicles are designed around the majority

i can see your point, but i also subscribe to the theory that a bigger engine might be as (if not more) efficient as a smaller engine because it isn't working so hard, depending on what you are doing with it...

my opinion only... :)
Post by: Mace on July 29, 2014, 11:32:55 AM
Compared globally im Sorry but AUS would make up 5% of Nissan Global sales

We wish!  Nissan made nearly 5 million vehicles in 2012.  They sold just under 80,000 here. Less than 2%. Nothing will ever get designed specifically for here ever again.
Post by: marvellous_matt on July 29, 2014, 11:52:27 AM
So for the 99% of the time it just runs around town
your bang on, but we love having bling on our toys for that 1%. Winches and snorkels and spare spare tyres, muddies, long range tanks, all in preparation for those trips. I know the percentages of use vary, but it is more about perceived need rather than actual need.
Post by: Bird on July 29, 2014, 11:55:15 AM
Quote from: paceman
i can see your point, but i also subscribe to the theory that a bigger engine might be as (if not more) efficient as a smaller engine because it isn't working so hard, depending on what you are doing with it...
my opinion only... :)
Not only yours..
What would you expect to last longer, a lazy v8 4.0ltr @150kw @ 3500rpm or a 1.0ltr turbo @150kw @550,000rpm
Post by: rossm on July 29, 2014, 12:04:13 PM
Lots of media about Nissan dropping the v6, the way it is written you would think it was the standard engine not an option that came at a substantial cost.

I suspect most v6 navaras went to cashed up caravan owners rather than tradesmen and miners whose purchases dominate the sector.

Nissan australia is a victim of the global car market. We are minnows and often  get everybody else's leftovers or have their preferences forced on is , like the petrol only new patrol.
Post by: lino6 on July 29, 2014, 12:08:20 PM
Has anyone seen a torque curve for these engines (as a matter of interest)? If so, could you post a link up (just some of the cr@p I'm interested in looking at  :D).
Post by: Black Diamond on July 29, 2014, 12:20:30 PM
Dunno about the BabyShit brown but i dont reckon it looks too bad. I drive a D40 2.5 everyday and i reckon its got plenty of power without being too greedy. With all the newer technology id say the 2.3 would be quiet similar if not better. Efficiency is what its all about and thats the path the car manufacturers are all heading down in this global market.
Similar thing happened in the MN triton where they stepped down from a 3.2 to a 2.5 in the MN but makes the same power. I have heard of some reliability issues but overall i dont think its too bad  :cheers:
Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 29, 2014, 01:54:18 PM
Not only yours..
What would you expect to last longer, a lazy v8 4.0ltr @150kw @ 3500rpm or a 1.0ltr turbo @150kw @550,000rpm

Your still missing the point the AVERAGE buyer would have the vehucle for about 4 years than change over even if you planned for a 3% failure rate within that and replace the engine under warranty you would still be ahead in terms of R&D costs

Modern market wants alsmost sedan like comfort and economy out of their utes so that is what they are given. As long as the engine lasts say 250,000 which would take the once again AVERAGE punter 10 years to get to the vehicle has operated within its design purpose
Post by: paceman on July 29, 2014, 02:25:40 PM
Your still missing the point the AVERAGE buyer would have the vehucle for about 4 years than change over even if you planned for a 3% failure rate within that and replace the engine under warranty you would still be ahead in terms of R&D costs

Modern market wants alsmost sedan like comfort and economy out of their utes so that is what they are given. As long as the engine lasts say 250,000 which would take the once again AVERAGE punter 10 years to get to the vehicle has operated within its design purpose

but i'm not the average buyer.  i plan on keeping mine well beyond the 4 year mark you have specified.

and so, based on this, i chose my vehicle with engine considerations (size, torque, etc) taken into account.

i get better fuel economy out of my 5-cylinder 3.2L than i did out of my 2.4L 4-cylinder, with about the same workload.

i'm sure everyone in this discussion understands the nature of the decision from nissan's point of view (as you have pointed out), but that doesn't change the fact that every single usage case is different, and based on this, why wouldn't you select a vehicle with an engine that supports everything you want to do, without having to worry about the engine working its guts out for a fair portion of that time?

and, based on this, why wouldn't nissan provide a motor (that they already have, mind you - link below) and give consumers the best of both worlds?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V9X_Engine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V9X_Engine)

my opinion, once again... :)
Post by: Chris J on July 29, 2014, 02:33:09 PM
There’s no substitute for Cubes, low revs with grunt down low!

regards,
Post by: swanny on July 29, 2014, 03:55:34 PM

And they never will they sell fifty million more to a petrol enriched country that just sux them up by the gazillions......cant argue with that.....but we can dream I guess, well I can...lol
Post by: swanny on July 29, 2014, 03:59:41 PM

Spot on
Post by: speedcomm on July 29, 2014, 04:14:22 PM
It's actually exactly the same power and torque as the current 4cyl diesel D40 Navara ST, Not a reduction if you compare a current ST with the yet to be released ST ( or equivalent ) but with a 25 percent reduction in fuel consumption.
Post by: Steffo1 on July 29, 2014, 04:24:22 PM

Just like any stock 4wd, a simple 50mm lift and slightly larger tyres will give this thing enough clearance for 95% of people to get to the places they need to go. 
Shouldn't have to spending $40g+! It's like buying a boat & having to spend money to make it float.
Post by: Homer_Jay on July 29, 2014, 07:40:09 PM
Kinda looks like 'birds' profile pic. Is there something you should tell us? Did you have a hand in designing it??  ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Bird on July 29, 2014, 07:43:13 PM
Kinda looks like 'birds' profile pic. Is there something you should tell us? Did you have a hand in designing it??  ;D ;D ;D
Shit.. it does too!
Post by: kalex on July 29, 2014, 07:55:35 PM
Forget the engine news, did anyone else notice that it has coil suspension in the rear!

From Carsales review:
Also impressive was the new multi-link rear suspension’s ability to soak up the bumps and provide a relatively smooth, well-damped ride over some very rough and broken dirt roads in the northern Thai jungles around Chiang Mai.

Unladen utes with rear leaf springs usually bounce and skip over rough terrain, but the Navara’s more sophisticated rear-end remained well planted, dispatching most nasties in its path while delivering a commendably composed off-road experience.

The upside is that coil sprung Navara utes will still offer the full one-tonne payload, so there’s no need to sacrifice practicality for comfort.
Post by: Elky on July 29, 2014, 08:14:37 PM
Good old Nissan.......seems like they gave up on Australia years ago.......no diesel pootrol, pathfinder gone fwd based soft roader. Hell they even use ads from Lhd overseas markets, shows how little Australia mean to them, we will take what we're given eh?

About the only thing they have done right is to continue to sell the d22 alongside the d40 and still offer the PROPER patrol in lieu of the new one

I will stick to my lazy big cube diesel bent 8 that is not choked with dpf's, adblue or whatever new tech they add to keep with euro6+, don't intend on buying another for a long time
Post by: Bill on July 29, 2014, 08:22:39 PM
I think the biggest selling Navara has been the 2.5L in the last 10 years
My 2006 has the 3.0
I bought mine February 2007 and had the dealer find me a leftover 3.0 because all they had on the lot were 2.5 ( they were standard from 2007) and I just was not impressed with them.
Post by: Coiled on July 29, 2014, 08:43:10 PM
Forget the engine news, did anyone else notice that it has coil suspension in the rear!

From Carsales review:
Also impressive was the new multi-link rear suspension’s ability to soak up the bumps and provide a relatively smooth, well-damped ride over some very rough and broken dirt roads in the northern Thai jungles around Chiang Mai.

Unladen utes with rear leaf springs usually bounce and skip over rough terrain, but the Navara’s more sophisticated rear-end remained well planted, dispatching most nasties in its path while delivering a commendably composed off-road experience.

The upside is that coil sprung Navara utes will still offer the full one-tonne payload, so there’s no need to sacrifice practicality for comfort.

I read that this morning too. I know my eyesight isn't brilliant buut look at the photos closely, I reckon it looks like leaf springs.
Post by: Ian Wilkinson on July 30, 2014, 01:19:39 PM
Yeah had a laugh the other day when a mate was saying that he is getting 13 litres/100 kms out of his Amarok Auto with a load.
I get the same economy out of my 200 series under the same conditions, and being an ex D40 Navara owner, I'm not a big fan of the highly strung small capacity diesels anymore.
Angus

That's the worst fuel economy I've heard for those.

A couple of the fellas at school have them, pulling a camper trailer, the tray carrying enough stuff for a family of four, they get between 10 and 11, and that's at 110kph.

The other fella has said a few times how he gets between 7 and 8 litres per 100k's.
Post by: Darren253 on July 30, 2014, 01:26:12 PM
I pulled up at a next to a guy at a servo towing an 17ft (full hight) caravan with an Amarok, and he reckoned he was pulling 20ltr per 100km @ 100KPH.
Post by: chisel on July 30, 2014, 02:09:07 PM
More on the coils in the back
http://www.motoring.com.au/news/large-4x4/nissan/navara/new-nissan-navara-to-target-horsey-set-45025 (http://www.motoring.com.au/news/large-4x4/nissan/navara/new-nissan-navara-to-target-horsey-set-45025)
Post by: Bird on July 30, 2014, 02:53:11 PM
More on the coils in the back
http://www.motoring.com.au/news/large-4x4/nissan/navara/new-nissan-navara-to-target-horsey-set-45025 (http://www.motoring.com.au/news/large-4x4/nissan/navara/new-nissan-navara-to-target-horsey-set-45025)
oh yea I can see horse owners arriving at their Nissan dealers in the bus load to snap one up.. LMAO!
Post by: muzza01 on July 30, 2014, 03:43:24 PM
Mate of mine has had a sh1t load of problems with his Navara. I think it's a 2012 but not 100% sure but he has had a real bad run with it.

He is on his third turbo, thankfully the first two were fixed under warranty. Has problems with elec windows, central locking, oil leaks, poor fuel economy and suspension. I am sure there are other things  I can't remember ATM.  I think this one is definitely a lemon but he can't afford to buy another new vehicle just yet.  He is adamant that he won't buy another Navara.