General => General Discussion => Topic started by: ozstickman on July 25, 2014, 01:57:39 PM
G'day sorry I've been away for a while, been big changes and life has got quite busy, moved towns, bought a house, started up a new business etc.
I have seen a few people post up pics of them designing trailers/campers using a program that's cheap or free to use, for the life of me I can't remember the name of it or find any posts that point to the name of it. I may have not searched the right stuff.
Cheers in advanced.
Sticko
I would imagine it would be Google Sketch-Up.
Cheers mate. With a name like that I should of remembered it.
Oz, Youtube has video tutorials to help with using it too...
There are also some really good training videos on the Sketch-Up page, probably the same ones on youtube.
3D Studio Max or Autocad is probably a little more advanced than google, depends how far you need to get into your designs.
(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/camper%20trailer/19.jpg)
(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/camper%20trailer/47.jpg)
(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Hard%20Top%20Camper/render1_zpsbf4568e5.jpg)
(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Hard%20Top%20Camper/render7_zpsb69c4171.jpg)
Nice work Danny, there's some work in those!
Welcome back Oz!
Google sketch isn't too bad, heaps of models to download.
Where are you now?
I haven't used cad since high school but now I'm doing a bit of fabrication work for the business so I need to get back into it so I can screw up on the cheap with the program instead of screwing up on the job wasting materials. I will eventually buy a quality CAD program but the funds don't allow this for now.
I've been asked to do a canopy for a tray back cruiser with draws, cupboards, doors and all sorts of things. I've been given a few sketches of what he wants. Just need to model it up and make sure everything will work/fit.
By the way, you know the saying if you do something you enjoy for a job it's not a job, well that's what the new business is. Getting back to what I love, fabrication, engineering, metal work. Just a bummer I still have to cart black Shit to found the start up. But that's a completely different topic.
Cheers and Beers
Sticko
Might have to gie this a run , looks like fun :cup:
Nice work Danny, there's some work in those!
That is top notch, i love the reflection of the gas bottles.
My crappy trailer renders are laughable compared to the program's true abilities. Many years ago I used to spend waaaay too much of my spare time making cars and race tracks for PC games ;)