General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Swannie on July 12, 2014, 07:57:54 PM

Title: Who do some with Diesel 4WD's think they are superior because I drive a petty?
Post by: Swannie on July 12, 2014, 07:57:54 PM
Ok, I will throw on my second flame suit in a couple of days. Now this is not aimed at any member on Myswag, but over the past few weeks when I have been looking at some parts & accessories for Frank they all ask why I drive a petrol & not a Diesel!! And what has got me a little worked up is a couple of blokes today I know wanted to argue all day that only Diesel 4WD are worth driving and pretenders drive petrol ones. Why do people have theses attitudes? Aren't we all one enjoying the same experiences & getting out there?

Title: Re: Who do some with Diesel 4WD's think they are superior because I drive a petty?
Post by: Foo on July 12, 2014, 08:02:42 PM
Because they can and  um no!  ;D

Title: Re: Who do some with Diesel 4WD's think they are superior because I drive a petty?
Post by: Mace on July 12, 2014, 08:04:23 PM
Been argued before!

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35000.msg608273#msg608273 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35000.msg608273#msg608273)

8)

Give me a petrol anyday.

Oh,and becoz they are dinosaurs, like their engines. petrol hybrid is the way to go. In 20 years time we will all have electric motors at each four corners.
Post by: gronk on July 12, 2014, 08:06:47 PM
All campers are equal....and we all are out there to enjoy the outdoors..

But.....if you drive a petrol......it will just cost you a little bit more to enjoy the great outdoors !!!!!!!!!      ;D
Post by: Swannie on July 12, 2014, 08:07:00 PM
Yep I remember that thread mace. This is not an argument Diesel vs Petrol, my next one will most likely be a diesel it's more about me feeling a little inadequate  ;D

Post by: scarps on July 12, 2014, 08:07:44 PM
While they're arguing about that, they're leaving Jeeps alone.
Go for it I say:-)
Post by: Mace on July 12, 2014, 08:08:59 PM
Yep I remember that thread mace. This is not an argument Diesel vs Petrol, my next one will most likely be a diesel it's more about me feeling a little inadequate  ;D

Don't do it, hybrid mate, be a trend setter, not old school.  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on July 12, 2014, 09:01:44 PM

There is NOTHING superior about Jeep, Jeep Owners ,Jeepers Petrol or Oilers   Your  right No Argument    ::) ::) :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on July 12, 2014, 09:04:08 PM
Let em be mate, doesn't matter what you drive. As long as you are happy doing it
Post by: areyonga on July 12, 2014, 09:07:02 PM
All campers are equal....and we all are out there to enjoy the outdoors..

But.....if you drive a petrol......it will just cost you a little bit more to enjoy the great outdoors !!!!!!!!!      ;D

Hmmm will it now, I dont think so when you put the extra purchase cost of a diesel on top, I am still a long way in front after owning the petrol cruiser for 4 years
Post by: Jakster1 on July 12, 2014, 09:08:47 PM
Yeah I've often wondered this myself. Seems now that everyone wants a diesel whether it be a 4wd, 2 wd, wagon, sedan, ute, hatchback, SUV you name it.
Diesel is in fashion.
My prediction is the novelty will wear off and people will go back to petrol.
Petrols are cheaper to buy, run and service.
They burn cleaner and they way high tech diesels are going they're simpler.
New petrol tech is now producing more powerful and economical petty engines so fuel
Economy will no longer be an issue.
Post by: scarps on July 12, 2014, 09:09:48 PM

There is NOTHING superior about Jeep, Jeep Owners ,Jeepers Petrol or Oilers   Your  right No Argument    ::) ::) :cheers:
C'mon speewa, I know deep down, you're a closet Jeep lover:-)
Post by: scarps on July 12, 2014, 09:12:32 PM

Yeah I've often wondered this myself. Seems now that everyone wants a diesel whether it be a 4wd, 2 wd, wagon, sedan, ute, hatchback, SUV you name it.
Diesel is in fashion.
New petrol tech is now producing more powerful and economical petty engines so fuel
reckon I agree with you here Jakster1, plus Diesel seems to be less affected by weekly price fluctuations (god I had to spell check that once or twice), while unleaded is more competitively priced.
Post by: speewa158 on July 12, 2014, 09:18:48 PM
scarps if its closet l will nail the cupboard shut . Have a Go at Pajero  if you want  too or  ;D  Trade up  :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: graham on July 12, 2014, 09:23:05 PM
Google BTU /gallon /litre , that should answer your question
Post by: xcvator on July 12, 2014, 09:23:37 PM
I love the smell of diesel fumes in the morning  >:D
Post by: alnjan on July 12, 2014, 10:31:26 PM
Each have there advantages and disadvantages, the way it goes, some people just want to measure penis's over it
Post by: lino6 on July 12, 2014, 10:47:02 PM
Some people just like to argue their point to make up for the personal inadequacies.... Some argue because they like their own voice.

End of the day, who cares what others think.  :cup:
Post by: Mace on July 12, 2014, 10:48:53 PM
Diesel is in fashion.

Volkswagen is putting  $$ into petrol hybrid, GM have never really gone diesel, and Toyota  are also pro petrol hybrid.

Really it's a no brainer, manufacturers  want low weight and better economy, diesel just doesn't stack up.  The gains made with petrol over  the last few years are amazing. Hybrid technology will just magnify these gains.
Post by: nab on July 12, 2014, 10:58:35 PM
I've had both, I enjoyed the petrols for simplicity/I understood them but the diesel seems to tow much better, or more effortlessly.

If I was buying again they would both be on my shopping list, only for a new one though. The older petrols drank like a fish!! They were cheaper to buy but also harder to sell.
Post by: Ynot on July 12, 2014, 11:18:11 PM
Back when Diesel engines were more expensive it was harder to pin down the real cost of petrol over diesel but when I bought the 150 there was only 2k difference between the petrol and diesel which blew my previous calcs out of the water. Having said that I have owned both and apart from running cost have no real issue with either.

Post by: dazzler on July 13, 2014, 12:02:36 AM
Another swagger and I have been chatting about this on and off for a bit. 

My TD Prado 120 gets around 12.5 lphk average (been towing lately).

His FJ Cruiser Petrol gets 11. 

And I know the FJ would leave mine for dead. 
Post by: muzza01 on July 13, 2014, 08:06:01 AM
Some people just like to argue their point to make up for the personal inadequacies.... Some argue because they like their own voice.

End of the day, who cares what others think.  :cup:

It all comes down to the same arguments of what's the best 4WD? (Cruza of course), the best tyres, the best winch, blah blah blah.  There used to be a fair arguement why diesels were better than pretties but I reckon that has all changed over the last 15-20 years.
 I have owned diesel Cruzas for most of my driving life but not long ago I came really close to selling the 105 diesel and buying a 100s petrol. :-*
Don't worry what some others think or say Swannie. :cheers:
Post by: macca on July 13, 2014, 09:28:30 AM
I love the smell of diesel fumes in the morning  >:D
Keith that's from your heater you left on all night

Don't worry about them swannie just point to the sign outside a servo and show them the 6  to 10 cents a litre more diesel costs.
Post by: Swannie on July 13, 2014, 09:51:00 AM
Good replies guys, I actually really don't care what they say ( I was certainly telling them that yesterday). It's was more around their perceptions.

Post by: whitey1 on July 13, 2014, 10:27:15 AM
Yeah the cost thing.... diesels used to be cheaper to run, but not anymore. I can remember when diesel was up to 10 cents cheaper than petrol, now its more expensive.  And then throw in the cost of replacing those damn expensive injectors every 100000km and if you dont you run the risk of having an engine rebuild costing upwards of $15000. I can't see the value.
Oh and I do drive a diesel. Would I buy another one? Possibly not, but I do like the torque, that is once the turbo spins up!
Post by: greg9000 on July 13, 2014, 11:58:31 AM
Ok .... I own a 75 series Troopy have done for over 10 years its a great bus tows my camper no probs and used to tow a 1.5 tonne excavator and gear daily easy as pie and I used to and still do get comments like geez it goes real well what mods have you done??? answer none its a 4.5 twin cam comes standard with 160 ish kw and goes like the clappers the only thing I would have changed and soon will is drop the gas as its hard to get out in the bush and the cost of a head rebuild is really expensive.(this is what happens when u don't run petrol regularly)  and the saving running is gas is good but factor in a head rebuild on these and the shine goes away .Swannie I hear ya as soon as they see shes petrol a few  think its not a real 4wd but the only thing to do is enjoy :)
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 13, 2014, 12:25:42 PM
Diesel is the way to go. The engines are designed to start and not stop. I have started a Diesel engine and run it 12hrs straight without moving it as that is what they are designed to do.

Diesel is easier to get anywhere you go and is safer to store.
Post by: noel_w on July 13, 2014, 01:23:48 PM
Who gives a rats @## what you drive. Look at me I still have an RD28T GQ so I would not give anyone grief over what they have.
Post by: Barrabart on July 13, 2014, 07:59:47 PM
In about 1994 I bought a '84 Petrol 4x4 Dual Cab Hilux, had the big 3y power pack, hehe......... that ol' bus drove myself Mrs and kids everywhere, we lived out bush, and it did sheeeeet loads of off-road bush driving, I did a fair bit of hunting back then, plus plenty of river fishing trips, family bush adventures etc...... close to 15yrs later I sold it  :'(
I then bought my current 100 series petrol wagon, it too has done everything I expected of it........ and has plenty of grunt and great for chewing up big miles..... Both petrol's have served me well, thoroughly reliable.

Still wish I owned ol' Hessy Hilux though, think I was having a brain snap the day I let her go....................... ???

Post by: VinceGU05 on July 13, 2014, 08:25:17 PM
Cause it's hard getting 1200nm out of a petrol. Torque rulz!!
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2014, 08:27:04 PM
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Meken on July 14, 2014, 09:28:49 PM
Not many petrol semi trailers on the road... Guess that points to diesels are better for reliability and pulling.... But I remember my dad had a diesel navara ute many years ago, what bad economy, because it was such a slug I always had my foot flat to the floor, which then lead to it gulping down tank fills of fuel.

Post by: dazzler on July 14, 2014, 10:10:34 PM
Diesel is the way to go. The engines are designed to start and not stop. I have started a Diesel engine and run it 12hrs straight without moving it as that is what they are designed to do.

Diesel is easier to get anywhere you go and is safer to store.

Yep.  I leave mine idling overnight.
Post by: Coiled on July 14, 2014, 11:15:11 PM
Perhaps because people are narrow minded and rely on what marketing departments and funded product reviews in the media tell them??

Good example of this is Toyota 200 diesel vs the Nissan Y62 petrol!
Post by: BIGRANG on July 15, 2014, 12:29:59 AM
The other thing to think about with modern whizz bang diesels is if you out the back of whoop whoop (as us campers are sometimes) and you pick up a bad batch of diesel, the saiyunara whiz bang modern diesel motor... Far less likely with a petrol. Plus my FJ cruiser goes just about anywhere, is quiet, goes FAST, and looks cool. It's a little thirsty when towing the camper but the diesel Prado we were also looking at was $10k more expensive, that's a lot of unleaded. FWIW my daily drive is a Turbo HZJ75 ute, which could just about pull Tasmania back to the mainland, give my the petrol FJ on long trips anyday.

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on July 15, 2014, 06:30:19 AM

No it's not  ;D
Post by: StevenB on July 15, 2014, 07:52:29 AM
Diesel master race ;)

Post by: Bird on July 15, 2014, 07:55:32 AM
Quote from: BIGRANG
and looks cool
beauty is in the eye of the beholder..
Post by: Steffo1 on July 15, 2014, 08:01:05 AM
beauty is in the eye of the beholder..
Post by: Aaron Schubert on July 15, 2014, 08:04:56 AM
At the end of the day, as long as it gets you out on the tracks people have no right to bag your ride. Both have their pro's and cons. Diesels are more suited to long distance touring, but it doesn't mean a Petrol is no good at that either.

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on July 15, 2014, 08:15:19 AM
Why do people have theses attitudes? Aren't we all one enjoying the same ........

Look at car shows. They're by far the worst. Don't dare stick GTS badges on a non GTS Monaro, or XU1 stickers on a GTR. You'll never be spoken to again if you painted a base model 6 cyl auto XC coupe white with blue stripes and possibly spat on if you fit a shaker to an XW   ::)

Those type are all a bunch of wankers. There's thousands of them. Owning a petrol 4x4 compared to a diesel to some, is like owning a 253 auto Monaro compared to a 308 4 speed GTS. You'll always be second rate in the eyes of some, yet those with neither will be envious of either.

Then, there's Torana owners..............  :-*

Shane.
Post by: RedDmaxxx on July 15, 2014, 09:26:55 AM
What other people think of my 4WD is none of my business. ;D
Post by: Bird on July 15, 2014, 09:44:26 AM
Look at car shows. They're by far the worst. Don't dare stick GTS badges on a non GTS Monaro, or XU1 stickers on a GTR. You'll never be spoken to again if you painted a base model 6 cyl auto XC coupe white with blue stripes and possibly spat on if you fit a shaker to an XW   ::)

Those type are all a bunch of wankers. There's thousands of them. Owning a petrol 4x4 compared to a diesel to some, is like owning a 253 auto Monaro compared to a 308 4 speed GTS. You'll always be second rate in the eyes of some, yet those with neither will be envious of either.

Then, there's Torana owners..............  :-*

Shane.
Gee, what would they think of this old build up in UnZud...
(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_FoXyvaPSnVk/S9-Q5mgRETI/AAAAAAACzuc/PEaxwtAujq8/s800/Folden-Holden-HQ-Ford-Mustang-01.jpg)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on July 15, 2014, 09:56:25 AM
(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_FoXyvaPSnVk/S9-Q5mgRETI/AAAAAAACzuc/PEaxwtAujq8/s800/Folden-Holden-HQ-Ford-Mustang-01.jpg)

That thing really got up the nose of some purists.  :cup:
Post by: noel_w on July 15, 2014, 09:57:00 AM

That is wrong in so many ways.

It should be red with blue stripes!!
Post by: Swannie on July 15, 2014, 10:03:17 AM
Settle down on the Torana owners mate  ;D

Post by: Bird on July 15, 2014, 10:04:11 AM
That thing really got up the nose of some purists.  :cup:
how about this then - what to do with a bent Ferrari...
http://www.diversstreetrods.com/ferrambo--the-build.html (http://www.diversstreetrods.com/ferrambo--the-build.html)

(http://www.diversstreetrods.com/uploads/2/5/0/9/25092088/2409315_orig.jpg)
to
(http://www.diversstreetrods.com/uploads/2/5/0/9/25092088/4811538_orig.jpg)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 15, 2014, 11:02:42 AM
Perhaps because people are narrow minded and rely on what marketing departments and funded product reviews in the media tell them??

Good example of this is Toyota 200 diesel vs the Nissan Y62 petrol!

Hey it is not even that i ran the numbers between a 200 diesel and a 200 petrol. Yes if you are towing a big van the diesel torque is great but when you factor in the 10,000 dollar difference in price and if you only have a camper the petrol went damn close to being in the driveway
Post by: xcvator on July 15, 2014, 11:10:35 AM
Me, I don't give a big rats ar3e what you drive  ;D ;D It's to listen to the drivel that falls out of your mouth around the camp fire that I go for  >:D >:D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: BigJules on July 15, 2014, 11:14:30 AM
There is no need to feel inferior for driving a diesel, or a Tata or a Great Wall, or towing whatever.

There are fancier cars and campers, and it would be lovely to have the best of both but one must make do with what one can manage and be comfortable with that, and I think as a rule myswaggers aren't too judgemental about these things.

I've loved my Cruiser but I would now prefer a diesel tow vehicle for the torque. Of course whatever I'm driving I'm towing the Trackabout so no upgrades required back there  8)
Post by: Mallory Black on July 15, 2014, 11:41:56 AM
I'm double gone... drive a petrol fourby AND has IFS  LOL
Post by: kylarama on July 15, 2014, 12:37:01 PM
I'm double gone... drive a petrol fourby AND has IFS  LOL

I'm even further gone.  The family cars a petrol auto fourby with IFS, IRS and a monocoque body...

I get points back as my daily drivers a diesel manual fourby. ;D
Post by: MDS69 on July 15, 2014, 12:47:44 PM
I'd love a modern diesel for the torque when towing but realistically we tow about 2-3 weeks a year and for the payback with servicing, fuel cost etc etc we don't do the kays. On current km showing on the odometer we are averaging 17,000km a year. We take my company car everywhere for local trips. The wife does the school run, work and some kids sport.
Post by: BigJules on July 15, 2014, 02:19:43 PM
I believe it is largely true that whilst one will pay more for a diesel 4wby over the petrol equivalent, Land Cruiser for instance, that price premium is recouped on resale.
Post by: MDS69 on July 15, 2014, 02:29:21 PM
I believe it is largely true that whilst one will pay more for a diesel 4wby over the petrol equivalent, Land Cruiser for instance, that price premium is recouped on resale.

True but why wait 6-10 years to recoup that outlay.
Post by: Meken on July 15, 2014, 06:00:05 PM
What if you don't plan on selling it? My daily drive is petrol auto - but then I have done a little over 30,000 in 6 years :0

Post by: Elky on July 15, 2014, 06:11:36 PM
i love my 200 diesel.....but the petrol is pretty good and a better bet for shorter term ownership

last month in the market for a new work ute to replace my 99 lux petrol 2.7 4 banger, would of liked the same thing again but yota dont do a petty 4 banger 4wd anymore.....only the v6 and only in a sr5 dual cab, i really did want a petrol but the only choice was the colorado with commo v6 (no thanks) or triton (no thanks) infact there is bugger all choice now

so i have got a dmax, i know i will love it but still unsure of CRD engines, i know petrol and EFI quite well and water in the fuel is not really an issue like on diesels

petrol engines have bridged the gap to diesel

Post by: mcfqn on July 15, 2014, 08:45:02 PM
Swannie I found the same thing. At the 4x4 show at brisbane I had a young guy from a diesel performance chip company call me over and I politely declined saying I've got a petrol. He had a funny look on his face and asked why. I said, well after owning diesels (105 cruiser with turbo I/c 1hz with 3" exhaust and fuel comp) and a new CRD patrol my petrol prado pulls my jayco better and uses same amount of fuel as a CRD patrol (I had a thirsty one). It's far smoother and quieter as well

Add to the fact I saved $6k instead of buying a D4D I'm happy with my choice. Plus the look on the diesel boys face when I pull away from them uphill is priceless haha
Post by: Diesel Power on July 15, 2014, 09:01:05 PM
Don't be petty about driving a petty. Just as long as you're getting out there and enjoying it!
Whoever suggested about idleing their diesel for 12hrs, that's not a good thing as they glaze the bore if not worked.
Post by: Black Diamond on July 15, 2014, 09:21:52 PM
Don't be petty about driving a petty. Just as long as you're getting out there and enjoying it!
Whoever suggested about idleing their diesel for 12hrs, that's not a good thing as they glaze the bore if not worked.
Agree with you there and that's always been my thinking. Not sure what the thinking behind this is can someone fill us in? 
BTW I run a petrol 80 as well. As much as it lacks power on the road especially when towing compared to some of the newer oilers, it's a whole different beast when in low range.
Post by: toad on July 15, 2014, 09:36:08 PM
 Having owned both petrol and diesel vehicles, in my humble opinion, there are two main advantages for 4WD diesels.
1/ range in the outback, which includes torque, etc, etc.
2/ availability of fuel in the outback
 Petrol vs diesel models - purchase price, resale, service costs, economy all seem to reach a common denominator after some time.
In other words, if I bought a car or 4WD for the city and local environs, I could probably buy a petrol.
Post by: Swannie on July 15, 2014, 09:49:21 PM
Agree with you there and that's always been my thinking. Not sure what the thinking behind this is can someone fill us in? 
BTW I run a petrol 80 as well. As much as it lacks power on the road especially when towing compared to some of the newer oilers, it's a whole different beast when in low range.
Us petrol 80 owners need to stick together brother & we cant forget brother Brett B :)

swannie
Post by: GeoffA on July 15, 2014, 09:53:21 PM
Just imagine if you had a petrol JEEP........ ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Swannie on July 15, 2014, 09:55:37 PM

Geez I've missed you
Post by: xcvator on July 15, 2014, 10:49:19 PM
Didn't you all notice how my poor old all original diesel "jackaroo 99 " kept up with everybody at Eildon and at Knockwood , especially on the last "Brewery Track" nuff said, 1st time I've ever had the brakes on going down hill  :angel: and without any fandagle downhill/uphill/sideways parking electronic "assist"
Steve, can I borrow that flame suit of yours please  :D

Post by: lino6 on July 15, 2014, 10:56:36 PM
Didn't you all notice how my poor old all original diesel "jackaroo 99 " kept up with everybody at Eildon and at Knockwood

99, thats 10 less years than my Rodeo carrying half a tonne of firewood! Fun times!
Post by: GeoffA on July 16, 2014, 07:18:09 AM
Geez I've missed you

Greg,

Why worry about what others may think? Most that fervently push their own opinion are tossers anyway......

Range is the only REAL issue that you MAY encounter, depending where you go. But, if you plan ahead, have an idea of your fuel consumption in different conditions, and know what your fuel gauge is telling you, the issue can usually be managed. It's something we all must do. It's only in very remote areas that it might become a problem.

Petrol or diesel, doesn't really matter that much for most people.....eventually the tank must be filled......

Geoff
Post by: Beefgravy on July 16, 2014, 11:29:30 AM

Those of us with V8 petrol Jeeps are certainly a different breed. Gee they tow nice though. :D
Post by: dlncooke on July 18, 2014, 06:38:20 AM
What's wrong with a horse & kart !!!

Post by: Brett B on July 18, 2014, 07:46:32 AM
Us petrol 80 owners need to stick together brother & we cant forget brother Brett B :)

swannie

Im still here  ;D
Post by: Bunyip on July 18, 2014, 08:03:35 AM
Im still here  ;D
I wish I was still there.

Love the hungie but nothing beats an 80
Post by: Beatle on July 18, 2014, 08:48:16 PM
When I lived in the NT before the blanket speed limit, I knew a businessman who lived in Alice but did a lot of trips to Darwin.  His petrol cruiser could sit on 160KPH on the cruise control..........   I reckon he must have had to leave the fuel cap off to prevent the tank imploding, but he always said he couldn't stand the diesels, and his missus refused to stand in an oily pool at the servo when filling up   ;D

I always tell the diesel guy at the show that I bought a petrol so i don't need to waste time modifying a diesel to get power out of it.  You should see them when I suggest the 1FZ lasts longer than the 1HDT   ;D   Or, tell them you bought the best 'cause you aren't a tight arse and can afford it  :cup:
Post by: Ian Wilkinson on July 19, 2014, 06:15:34 PM
Last year over in Germany, I had to photograph the BMW museum in Munich and a couple of fellas there said diesels have almost reached the end of their development lives, and over the next 5 yrs we'll see more advancements in petrol engines. Diesels aren't going away anytime soon, but they gave a couple of reasons and one was definitely emissions, can't remember what else they said other than petrol engines are seeing more development with smaller engines runnings more forced induction and producing a lot more power then they do now per litre of fuel. A friend of mine bought a Renault Clio (must have lost a bet or something) a couple of months ago, it's a 900cc engine that even with 4 of us in it still zipped along much better than I expected, and uses down in the region of 4lt/100k's.
Post by: DeLuxHiLux on July 19, 2014, 09:41:23 PM
Its alot harder to drown a diesel in a creek with a soggy sparks box than a petrol. Can get diesel easier in remote outback locations due to restrictions on petrol sales

However, both of these can be overcome, if you don't intend to do remote outback travel or go through deep water crossings, it doesn't even matter. Whatever works for you and your situation

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk HD
Post by: Topender on July 19, 2014, 10:02:39 PM
Those of us with V8 petrol Jeeps are certainly a different breed. Gee they tow nice though. :D

When they're on a trailer.......lol  :cup:
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 20, 2014, 08:03:05 AM

When they're on a trailer.......lol  :cup:

X2 :)
Post by: kylarama on July 20, 2014, 08:46:33 AM
Its alot harder to drown a diesel in a creek with a soggy sparks box than a petrol. Can get diesel easier in remote outback locations due to restrictions on petrol sales

However, both of these can be overcome, if you don't intend to do remote outback travel or go through deep water crossings, it doesn't even matter. Whatever works for you and your situation

On the other side of it.  Suck some water though the intake of a petrol and after a bit of a dry out your generally on your way again.  On a diesel your looking for a tow truck.  Plus all the stuff loaded into the engine bays of a modern CRD diesels is about as water friendly as a petrol.

Post by: GeoffA on July 20, 2014, 08:55:36 AM
On the other side of it.  Suck some water though the intake of a petrol and after a bit of a dry out your generally on your way again.  On a diesel your looking for a tow truck.  Plus all the stuff loaded into the engine bays of a modern CRD diesels is about as water friendly as a petrol.

Yep. Once they got rid of distributors, petrols have been just as good at the deep stuff .........
Post by: DeLuxHiLux on July 20, 2014, 02:32:32 PM

Yeah. Thats why i said "harder to drown" not "you cant drown". Down side of common rail but why God invented Snorkels :-)
Post by: pmturnbull on July 20, 2014, 10:04:24 PM
had a ford courier turbo diesel on the freeway north of sydney, With the truck empty just a canopy it would struggle and drop to 90kph up the hills and it only weighted 1650kg empty. My hyundai terracan 2.9crdi went better and has been my all time fave diesel could pull a camper and all the crap in it and maintain at least the speed limit of 110kph. My wifes kia grand carnival 3.5 v6 6 speed auto and jayco eagle today got slowed up by slower traffic down to 90kph at the bottom of the biggest hill on freeway and had no problem getting back up to 110kph half way up and I had heaps more revs and power to spare. I can't work out why I bothered with the diesel crap in the first place.lol

I won't talk to much about the money I lost on my 3litre patrol when it blew up and don't get me started on my piece Shit bt-50 I had. lol