General => General Discussion => Topic started by: feisty on June 28, 2014, 07:56:22 PM
Ok I'm sure people are doing it tougher than me but i thought north of the great divide was meant to be warm (er). 4 degrees in Renmark tonight.
How cold is it where you are camping tonight?
been wearing shorts and a t shirt all day here in Brisbane 8)
now that would be a sight 8)
Keen to join you. Fly into Noosa for a week on Wednesday. So keen to escape the winter blues.
So I think it's about 14 outside.
Just sat down to eat a nice pork port house roast..
Went out today and brought a new gas heater which was pretty good. And comfy. Can't have a fire or ozpig as I am in the caravan park. Was surprised on how well it worked.
Apparently down to about 8 tonight..
18 tonight!
Not tonight but Thursday night in Kroombit Tops
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/28/dasy3uby.jpg)
18 tonight!
Sorry. Should have stipulated centigrade.
Going camping to the Blue Mountains this week. Should be pretty cold. Although it has been down to -1 here anyway.
No snow or wind here though.
Just check weatherzone and it's currently 7.9 dropping down to 1. No, I'm not camping in this!
;)
X2. Still am infact. And have though about turning a heater on yet lol
Now is when I miss working in the NT! :)
It's getting cold here in the Pilbara with a brisk 18.4 here at the moment I better chuck another log on the fire.
:D
We had -2 yesterday.
What I wouldn't give to be traipsing off around the top end of WA and NT.
Two nights ago was camped in northern NSW and it got down to 2 overnight but shorts, shirts and thongs (the one's you wear on you feet) during the day ;D ;D
0 or 1 most nights in Alice at the moment. Im at home this week though.
The temp @ home , just burning firewood @ the moment lol
& a pic over lookin Young NSW from my window Taken about 10.30am very misty rain very cold wind
Take it easy on me u Qld landers
Well the temperature in Moss Vegas (aka Moss Vale) is 7.1 but with the wind chill the apparent temp is currently -3.3c
beautiful sunny day here today. will be heading out to the beach shortly for a fish and relax :cup:
http://www.weatherzone.com.au/nsw/northern-rivers/maclean (http://www.weatherzone.com.au/nsw/northern-rivers/maclean)
28 mms of rain in last 24 hours. Top of 8 today. And inside day.
Nah c'mon people let's get into it!
Our family is off camping in the Trackabout to Jindabyne for a couple of nights over the 11 July weekend. No powered site available either, geez I love my wife and kids :angel:
Disco teddy.
Set up the Trackabout for them and then check into the Jindabyne pub.
Nah c'mon people let's get into it!
Our family is off camping in the Trackabout to Jindabyne for a couple of nights over the 11 July weekend. No powered site available either, geez I love my wife and kids :angel:
Disco teddy.
x2. We love our Trackie too, but no chance I'd be camping in it anywhere southern NSW or Vic in the current weather:-)
Good call Terry, but one in all in I recon!!!!
Disco teddy.
x2. We love our Trackie too, but no chance I'd be camping in it anywhere southern NSW or Vic in the current weather:-)
You'd be all over it mate, I've spent this afternoon playing with my new Projecta Inverter, looks like it'll run a couple of elect blankets for a couple of nights from the battery bank, I'll give Jetcrews panels a good run if things look grim, honestly , can't wait.
Disco teddy.
what cold weather ? 8)
Back Beach Brooms Head
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P6291442_zpsd4df3a0f.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P6291442_zpsd4df3a0f.jpg.html)
Nathan pleased with his fish
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P6291443_zps6d750e29.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P6291443_zps6d750e29.jpg.html)
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P6291445_zps6a8e22ab.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P6291445_zps6a8e22ab.jpg.html)
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P6291444_zps9d66eae9.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P6291444_zps9d66eae9.jpg.html)
was a pleasant 20 deg :cup:
1.5 in Alice this morning :(
was up at Cunninghams Gap this morning then near Warwick after that...the wind was blowing a gale and felt like it was coming off Antartica, out of the wind and in the sun was a great day, but anywhere with the wind and the cold would cut right through you
what cold weather ? 8)
Back Beach Brooms Head
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P6291442_zpsd4df3a0f.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P6291442_zpsd4df3a0f.jpg.html)
Nathan pleased with his fish
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P6291443_zps6d750e29.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P6291443_zps6d750e29.jpg.html)
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P6291445_zps6a8e22ab.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P6291445_zps6a8e22ab.jpg.html)
(http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/ab356/navara04/P6291444_zps9d66eae9.jpg) (http://s879.photobucket.com/user/navara04/media/P6291444_zps9d66eae9.jpg.html)
was a pleasant 20 deg :cup:
Great photos Mark. Very jealous. Nathan must be stoked.
We are still under canvas
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/02/ta2anatu.jpg)
The camper froze
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/02/mynygude.jpg)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/02/a5ysypa7.jpg)
Heading out the back of Beaudesart on Thursday night camping for a long weekend. Glad it wasn't last night.
Ok - not tonight but don't sook too much in your campers ;D
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj12/Icarus62/swag29Sep12.jpg)
Went to bed on 100mm of snow, woke up with an additional 75mm of snow, warm as toast IN the swag, not when I got out at 4.30am for a comfort stop!
Sorry about the poor quality shot, but the phone doesn't handle low light at 4.30am too well - hmmmm, bit like me really.
Left camping in the flinders ranges and now holidaying in Noosa sans camper. Abc news tonight... 'And at 5 degrees Brisbane was colder than Hobart'
WTF!!!!!!!
Went to bed on 100mm of snow, woke up with an additional 75mm of snow, warm as toast IN the swag, not when I got out at 4.30am for a comfort stop!
Sorry about the poor quality shot, but the phone doesn't handle low light at 4.30am too well - hmmmm, bit like me really.
Mate you win. That is truly hardcore camping. Well done!
Many years ago I got up early at Bluff Hut in the Victorian High Country to see a similar image with much deeper snow coverage. A lone swag next to a vehicle. It also had what seemed to be a foot/leg protruding from the end, covered in snow and ice.
Being concerned about the likely outcome, I rapped at the head end of the swag to enquire if the occupant had a cold foot.
"Mate, are you ok, how's your foot" I asked.
"No worries, pal, all good" came the reply.
He then reached down to the lower end of the swag and grabbed his foot and lower leg and strapped it onto his leg stump. You guessed it, prosthetic leg!
"You making the coffee" was his next response.
We had a good laugh about it over a strong brew. :cheers:
Went for a 'cool' camp north of Licola yesterday for the night. Plan was to camp in snow around Kelly's Lane just prior to the closed gate. Wasn't a lot on the ground so we went further up to Lost Plain to have a look and a recce for a couple of weekends away trip. Bit more snow around but not much shelter so back to Kellys. The night was cool with a stiff wind chill - fairly toasty in our tents....did miss the heater of the KK though ;D No snow fell through the night and it was a cracker, but crisp, day.
The camp.
(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb50/Elmer_5mf/Pano%20Album/KellysSnow_zpsc0a85a1d.jpg) (http://s211.photobucket.com/user/Elmer_5mf/media/Pano%20Album/KellysSnow_zpsc0a85a1d.jpg.html)
Lost Plain ( aka Bird Plain)
(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb50/Elmer_5mf/SnowTrip9_zps8e6b1e36.jpg) (http://s211.photobucket.com/user/Elmer_5mf/media/SnowTrip9_zps8e6b1e36.jpg.html)
..and the new shovel in action...
(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb50/Elmer_5mf/Kellys%20Lane%20Vic%20High%20Country/SnowTrip35a_zps885cee1e.jpg) (http://s211.photobucket.com/user/Elmer_5mf/media/Kellys%20Lane%20Vic%20High%20Country/SnowTrip35a_zps885cee1e.jpg.html)
Tim
Some of you people are real hard core hey!! To deliberately go looking for snow to camp in? I must be going soft from living in Brisvegas...
Snow during the night doesn't get as interesting as Crocodiles visiting.
Forgive me - but both can give you a "bite" :laugh:
Snow during the night doesn't get as interesting as Crocodiles visiting.
Yup, much rather take my chance with a feral snowball than a croc! ;D
Tim
Meant to be about 6 deg here tonight. Police paddocks vic. Funnily enough it's quite comfortable, maybe because my wife and kids are not here tonight!
Camping on a friends farm tonight, i took the bobcat out before with the forklift attachment and brought up three fallen trees for firewood!
Katoomba wasn't as outright cold as I expected but the windchill certainly took it to a new level for family camping.
We had -2 yesterday.
What I wouldn't give to be traipsing off around the top end of WA and NT.
Been quite cold over night, down to 7.4 or something. Day temps 30c
Where in katoomba you stay mate ?
We stayed at the caravan park. There is only one in Katoomba. Just down the road from Scenic World.
Yep I know it. I grew up in mt Victoria. Hence why I live up here now, over that winter
Not tonight but Thursday night in Kroombit Tops
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/28/dasy3uby.jpg)
Yep went and had a look at the Bomber site on Wednesday and was a tad cool at the lookout
Lowest we had last night in the snowies, as recorded by the trusty Engel gauge. - 4.1.
We are at the Gold Coast, currently around 12 degrees. Had beautiful days though. Having said that its about 23 degrees in the camper. These diesel heaters are great!
The weather here this winter, has been nothing short of spectacular. I can't remember when we last had rain. Although we really do need some.
There is no way i'd get the missus out if it was minus 4.
I was out on the border river for two weeks (nsw qld). And it was -5
Just returned from Mudgee nighttime temps ranged from -3.6 to -4.8.
Nothing a couple of bottles of red wine or port can't help with. Wife and the 5 & 7 year old all good and no complaints, a bit crunchy on the canvas when packing up on the last morning though.
Gee I've gotta get the trailer out more. You lot are inspirational....
Lowest we had last night in the snowies, as recorded by the trusty Engel gauge. - 4.1.
I'm currently in Caloundra in Queensland and must say I love the winter here! I was out in the sun enjoying a stroll on the beach this morning thinking this is better than home that's for sure!
:)
I'm currently in Caloundra in Queensland and must say I love the winter here! I was out in the sun enjoying a stroll on the beach this morning thinking this is better than home that's for sure!
:)
yep, it's been shorts and t shirt weather all weekend here in SEQ 8) 8)
Friday is looking good here - Thursday night/Friday morning down to 2 and Friday a top of 5. I'll just push the fridge out the door and turn it off for the day!
Bloody cold up here got down to 15 this morning and the day was 30 ;D
:laugh:
Last week minus two just north of Licola. As the fridge was set to two degrees my daughter and I opened the lid and cleverly stood over it warming our hands....
Now its 5.4C & it FFFFFFFFFFFFFFRUCKEN Cold :cheers:
12 degrees at Soldiers Point at the moment but I'm ready to punch this wind right in its face...
Would love to be out camping atm, got to 3*C overnight but still comfortable this morning in shorts n T-shirt till the breeze picked up a bit.
was 3.6 degrees at 5.30 a.m at my place this morning here on the Southside of Brisbane, yesterday felt colder I reckon with the breeze howling about the place. Was about 17 degrees inside the house though, as I've had the fireplace going all night...lol
Just realised these were mainly 2014 posts....
Heading to Killarney this weekend to shakedown the new Ozent and BW self inflating mattresses. Supposed to be a frost. Might let the dogs in bed with us to keep us warm.
12 degrees at Soldiers Point at the moment but I'm ready to punch this wind right in its face...
man its a beautiful place but GEE IT GETS COLD!!! not sure if I have ever been there in winter (as in deep winter - my home town of Newcastle was cold enough) but that north easterly comes right through from the bay - last time we were coming back to lemon tree from Karuah we were down to seven knots and watching the gps all the way cause we couldn't see through the windscreen
still - I would happily sit down to breakfast at The Point tomorrow morning...
A First World problem I know, but we had to 'melt' the olive oil to cook our brekky last week!!!!