General => General Discussion => Topic started by: fridayman on May 29, 2014, 12:27:27 PM

Title: Leaf blowers
Post by: fridayman on May 29, 2014, 12:27:27 PM
I want to venture into the world of petrol leaf blowers. Are cheap ones worth bothering with? I would prefer not to spend $800... but don't want to buy something that won't do the job, or break in a few months time.
Title: Re: Leaf blowers
Post by: Jakster1 on May 29, 2014, 12:36:53 PM
I had a cheap 2stroke GMC from bunnings that thing must have lasted 7 years before it finally self destructed. Only cost $99 from bunnings if I remember right and it did the job at home blowing off the driveway and concrete.
Now I just have an electric for around home. It cost $39 from bunnings and she blows hard. But it's only used around the outside of the house  and blow out the shed, garage and driveway. No need to mix fuel or ever run out of fuel or stinky fumes going everywhere.
For me the cheapies do the job.
Post by: wilson79 on May 29, 2014, 12:49:21 PM
I too brought a a $99.00 GMC from Bunnings 8 years ago and she is still going although blows a little smoke now. I use it every weekend blowing down my driveway, Front and rear patio and the deck.

I have only ever replaced the plug once and have snapped the pull cord which I just shortened and put back together.

Post by: Jenko67 on May 29, 2014, 01:12:50 PM
Bought a stihl for about $240 after having the cheap brands over the years.... Couldn't recommend more highly...
Post by: JCOJ on May 29, 2014, 01:16:02 PM
I just bought a $99 Ozito one from Bunnings - its not petrol but battery operated.  Its doing the job just fine.
Post by: Trex_s4m1 on May 29, 2014, 01:18:16 PM
i have an electric ozito.. it works but i will get a petrol one next time for sure. hate running leads everywhere!
Post by: D4D on May 29, 2014, 01:38:03 PM
I have an Echo PB-2100, it is a ripper, I use all the stale 2 stroke in it and it just keeps going. I am the 2nd owner, it was made in 1997, enough said :)

Post by: RebsWA on May 29, 2014, 01:39:41 PM
Get a Stihl ;D
Post by: Silvo on May 29, 2014, 01:40:16 PM
Bought a stihl for about $240 after having the cheap brands over the years.... Couldn't recommend more highly...

+1

i've had one of these entry level stihl for years, absolutely no troubles with it.
Post by: MDS69 on May 29, 2014, 03:07:42 PM
I have a cheap one from Bunnings (not GMC) and it works well apart from the tube falling off, nothing a screw couldn't fix. I have had it over 10 years. It is a little heavy and just quietly I am waiting for it to blow up or something so I can buy a Stihl to match my line trimmer and hedge trimmer but it just keeps going. Mine has the vac option as well which comes in handy occasionally.
Post by: austastar on May 29, 2014, 03:13:42 PM
  I have the leaf-blower, along with hedge-trimmer and pole saw as part of the Stihl Combi tool.
Very pleased with it.
Give the garage a blow job every so often - so much easier than a broom.

It makes a bon-fire really get up and go.

Mostly used for cleaning up after mowing.

Post by: paulo on May 29, 2014, 03:17:06 PM
I bought a cheapie petrol one from Big W, 3 in 1 (suck/blow/mulch), and it's a cracker. Just watch the leaf bag and the exhaust port. I didn't notice I'd burnt a small hole in the bag. Found out when I got showered by dust and bits next time I fired it up! No biggy though.

My vote. Go the cheapie.
Post by: fridayman on May 29, 2014, 04:07:10 PM
What a great response!

I really like the idea of the Stihl Kombi, but it certainly isn't cheap. I also like the idea of having a vac/blower because there are areas e.g. around the pool that I would prefer to vac rather than blow. So it looks like I need to spend around $200 for a vac/blower, or for $100-$200 more I could look at a Stihl (2 stroke), Makita (4 stroke) or maybe an Echo (2 stroke). Hmmm... I do like my little 2 stroke Stihl saw, but wonder if 4 stroke is the way to go these days?

Post by: builder94 on May 29, 2014, 06:16:56 PM
I run a 2 stroke husqvarna blower/ vac no problems at all. Cleans up all the mess the husqvarna chainsaw makes. Not brand loyal just picked them up at a good price and do all the jobs I need.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 30, 2014, 07:20:58 AM
I use a 2 stroke Husky (blower only) leaf blower.

Gets used 5 days a week, week after week after week. (I'm a lawnie)

In three years, all that's gone wrong was the pull start frayed really bad near the handle/puller grip thingy, so I shortened it and its still there.

Post by: Moto Mech on May 30, 2014, 07:44:07 AM
Dolmar, 4stroke. No more forgetting to mix the fuel or smoking out the neighbours ????
Post by: Buccan80 on May 30, 2014, 07:51:08 AM
I bought a Tradetools blower for $118 (normally $128) and it works a treat, I'm an ex arborist and still do a few jobs on the side and it's as good as the entry level stihls etc
Post by: achjimmy on May 30, 2014, 08:25:41 AM
Tanaka blower here with the vac kit. I wouldn't bother with the vac kit again but the blower is fantastic.
Post by: paulo on May 30, 2014, 09:18:18 AM
Price wise, my cheapie cost about $60-70 I think.
Post by: marvellous_matt on May 30, 2014, 11:51:05 AM
I've got a $12 multi stroke broom. Ultra reliable, Very energy efficient, so quiet you can use it at 7.00 on a Sunday morning with out annoying the neighbors. Can prop open tailgate while changing gas struts, shoo away stray cat. Also provides transport for the mother in law when she visits. >:D
Post by: Mongoose on May 30, 2014, 01:03:36 PM
Stick with your rake and broom and be content with waking your neighbours one at a time. :D
Post by: Matto on May 30, 2014, 02:33:59 PM
I have a 2-stroke Bunnings one - it was a middle-of-the-road brand - cost a couple of hundred bucks. At the time, it was an Aus-made copy of the comparable Ryobi product, just $100 less. It's a combination blower/vac - one of the ones you can flick the lever to change between on the fly. I loved it, but it was heavy, the dog hated it and it was ridiculously loud.

After 5 years of weekly usage the vac bag disintegrated, and I can't seem to find a replacement. Bunnings have stopped stocking that brand. It's been sitting in the shed, collecting dust.

I recently bought the Ryobi ONE+ 18v blower, because I already have a bunch of the ONE+ gear. It's a great little thing. No where near the power of the petrol unit, but good enough for blowing out a patio or carport. It does chew batteries though. And you've got to be pretty specific with where you point it. The petrol one, you could just stand at one end of the carport and let her rip and you'd blow the cat out the other end. This one takes more work. I wouldn't want to try to blow out a large open area with it, you'd be there all day.

Despite all it's limitations, it's still the one I use the most. Grab a fresh battery and bang it in, and start blowing. I really miss the ability to use it as a vac though - that was perfect for dog hair. You can't blow out our patio, you just end up sitting in the midst of a hair snowstorm.

My $0.02.

Post by: bodgie on May 30, 2014, 06:30:25 PM
I have a Makita 4 stroke blower, IMO it is much nicer to use than a 2 stroke blower as it is a quieter and produces less nasty emissions.
Post by: JPH on May 30, 2014, 08:02:07 PM
I've had a stihl blower for years, been really happy with it. Great way to clean up after doing the lawns. I originally bought it for cleaning up building sites after framing and straightening walls.
Post by: oldmate on May 30, 2014, 08:10:00 PM
I got a good blower years ago, got married..... Yeah yeah ok familly forum.
Post by: scarps on May 30, 2014, 09:00:44 PM

I got a good blower years ago, got married..... Yeah yeah ok familly forum.
might be cordless but definitely has strings attached
Post by: oldmate on May 30, 2014, 09:20:16 PM
That it does, lucky for me it's like a bungie, and she keeps coming back
Post by: GeoffA on May 30, 2014, 09:32:55 PM
I recently bought the Ryobi ONE+ 18v blower, because I already have a bunch of the ONE+ gear. It's a great little thing. No where near the power of the petrol unit, but good enough for blowing out a patio or carport. It does chew batteries though. And you've got to be pretty specific with where you point it. The petrol one, you could just stand at one end of the carport and let her rip and you'd blow the cat out the other end. This one takes more work. I wouldn't want to try to blow out a large open area with it, you'd be there all day.

Despite all it's limitations, it's still the one I use the most. Grab a fresh battery and bang it in, and start blowing........

Got 1 too. Had it for ages, and agree with all of that ^.

Another big + is the lovely one can use it too  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Chippy76 on May 30, 2014, 10:13:44 PM
Do your neighbours a favour (and improve your fitness) ...Buy a rake! :D
Ahhh leaf blowers, the jet ski of suburbia!

Cheers Chippy :D
(tongue planted firmly in cheek)
Post by: Kimberley Mob on May 31, 2014, 09:59:40 AM
Honda 4stroke love it
Post by: Bushman on May 31, 2014, 10:33:23 AM
also have an  Echo Blow/such/ mulch 2 stroke, can't even remember how old it is still going strong though doesn't get as hard work out now as it use too, drawback! it's now the only 2 stroke thing I have so only put enough fuel in to do the job at hand.

My old whipper snipper 2 stroke Victa was 31 years old before it finally  crapped itself, it had a hard life.

Love my Honda 4 stroke mower/Whipper Snipper.
Post by: outbackogre on May 31, 2014, 12:39:31 PM
Stick with your rake and broom and be content with waking your neighbours one at a time. :D

I'm glad someone said it (albeit with a smily face).  Leaf blowers generate the most annoying noise I've ever heard and they drive my autistic daughter to tears.  It's a shame that so many users either don't know or don't care about the noise they produce.  I agree - use a rake and broom.
Post by: Brumbypt on May 31, 2014, 01:22:51 PM
a good broom will cost you about $20 and wont need any other power or expence to run..

Well thats what I was going to say then I started reading that heaps of people have a blower and I must admit I do too..
I bought it years ago, it hardly gets used at all now at this place.

I would suggest a petrol one, especially if you have whipper snippers and chainsaws that you already have mixed fuel for, cos then the cord doesnt get in the way. And thats really really very annoying.
I like the smell of 2 stroke fumes so I would suggest ya go 2 stroke, if you have other 2 stroke machines, or plan to get them.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Post by: Fathom on May 31, 2014, 03:59:24 PM
I looked at the Brooms in Bunnings, but I couldn't see anywhere to put either batteries or fuel.
I think their brooms might be defective. I will try Masters next weekend.

In the meantime I will keep using my el cheapo  blower and avoid the "F" word.
Fitness... Ok I said it... Sorry. :) 
Post by: scarps on May 31, 2014, 04:29:33 PM

I looked at the Brooms in Bunnings, but I couldn't see anywhere to put either batteries or fuel.
I think their brooms might be defective. I will try Masters next weekend.

In the meantime I will keep using my el cheapo  blower and avoid the "F" word.
Fitness... Ok I said it... Sorry. :)
the batteries go in the handle. Everyone knows that:-)
Post by: blue suzuki on May 31, 2014, 04:45:58 PM
Ive used leaf blowers for years in my job. If you are going to use it a lot (by lots I mean having to refill the fuel once or moore a day) then pay the money buy a good brand. If its just around the yard on the weekend then save your money and get a cheapy $800 seems an awful lot for a blower
Post by: Fathom on May 31, 2014, 06:01:40 PM

the batteries go in the handle. Everyone knows that:-)
Ah now I understand. Thanks. :)
Post by: fridayman on July 27, 2014, 08:22:27 AM
I ended up getting a Stihl BG56 in last weekends 3 day sale for $269 including the vac kit. I got the cheaper version which doesn't have the anti-vibration mountings - that model costs double the price that I paid. My initial impressions are good, although it does seem to need to warm up before it really gets going. It might be that it just needs to run in a bit though. At first I thought that I wanted more power, but after using it a few times I realise that more power would just blow my gravel all over the place. The only complaint that I have is the vibration which has me constantly swapping hands. If you're only using it for 15-20 minutes this is not a problem, but more than that and you do notice it. Overall I'm pretty happy and would buy another one if I had to.
Post by: speewa158 on July 27, 2014, 08:46:44 AM
 lf you wear a pair of yellow brickie gloves  ( only $2 or so ) this will suck up a bit of the vibs . l have been at it for years , give it a fly  :cheers:
Post by: fridayman on July 27, 2014, 08:52:32 AM
lf you wear a pair of yellow brickie gloves  ( only $2 or so ) this will suck up a bit of the vibs . l have been at it for years , give it a fly  :cheers:

Cheers, I'll give them a go.
Post by: StrvnMrvn on July 27, 2014, 09:32:06 AM
I bought a battery powered Ryobi. Battery can be used in other battery powered tools by Ryobi which I have.
Post by: markymark on July 27, 2014, 05:13:46 PM
I ended up getting a Stihl BG56 in last weekends 3 day sale for $269 including the vac kit. I got the cheaper version which doesn't have the anti-vibration mountings - that model costs double the price that I paid. My initial impressions are good, although it does seem to need to warm up before it really gets going. It might be that it just needs to run in a bit though. At first I thought that I wanted more power, but after using it a few times I realise that more power would just blow my gravel all over the place. The only complaint that I have is the vibration which has me constantly swapping hands. If you're only using it for 15-20 minutes this is not a problem, but more than that and you do notice it. Overall I'm pretty happy and would buy another one if I had to.
I have the same, bought it last year and it gets a good work out here, my driveway is a couple of hundred meters long! I hear what you're saying about swapping hands although I thought it was just muscle tiredness rather than vibration - will try those gloves too.
Post by: NewieCamper on July 27, 2014, 08:42:28 PM
I bought a battery powered Ryobi. Battery can be used in other battery powered tools by Ryobi which I have.

I got one of those too. Already had a drill and a hedge trimmer. Works ok, not much grunt but it's ok to blow the grass clippings back off the drive onto the lawn. (Hate seeing other blow their grass out onto the roads). It's Also good for blowing the patio area out after hair cutting day. I did have an electric blow/mulch/vac unit a while ago, but you could hear that from Mars and the vac didn't work great either. The new battery unit is so much quieter I don't bother with earmuffs.