General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Armadillo & Customline Campers on May 28, 2014, 02:48:13 PM

Title: Brisbane Caranvan and Camping show June 4-10
Post by: Armadillo & Customline Campers on May 28, 2014, 02:48:13 PM
Hi Swaggers,

Who's going to the show this year?

Customline and Armadillo will be there at our normal site.
Number 21406 Lower building 14.
Opposite the ARB stand.

We will have 3 campers in total on display.
1: Tracker off road
2: Adventure walk-up off road
3: Armadillo Arma X off road

I will be there on Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

So come down and say hi.......

Rod................
Title: Re: Brisbane Caranvan and Camping show June 4-10
Post by: Jenko67 on May 28, 2014, 02:51:59 PM
Will be going but not after a camper.... Looking for accessories.... Annex, jack, sat tv etc....
Post by: Spada on May 28, 2014, 04:59:43 PM
I'm going, but I'll be looking for a deal on a fridge slide.

There is nothing else that I need, but I wont know what else I will want until I see it  ;D
Post by: DaveR on May 28, 2014, 05:07:01 PM
Just had a look at the list of companies who are to be there.
Building 13 should be interesting......... if they are there.
I'm going, not sure why yet, will think of a reason.
Post by: Steffo1 on May 28, 2014, 05:08:16 PM
There is nothing else that I need, but I wont know what else I will want until I see it  ;D
That's the reason why I take my very rational, well money wise, wife with me to events like these. I often have trouble differentiating between "Want" & "Need"  ::)
Post by: RedDmaxxx on May 28, 2014, 05:32:07 PM
Yeah ill be there, ive been looking forward to it...I hope to find a camper at a good price ;D
Post by: Mik01 on May 28, 2014, 05:45:11 PM
Just had a look. $18 each! Am I a tightarse or is that a bit steep? >:(
Given most people spend money there anyway, do you think these things should be free entry, also considering the businesses pay list of money to exhibit there also?
Post by: nbd73 on May 28, 2014, 05:50:15 PM
Given most people spend money there anyway, do you think these things should be free entry, also considering the businesses pay list of money to exhibit there also?
Absolutely agree 100% > it's like paying money to see advertising which the advertisers have already paid for. The number of people thru the door has no affect on the cost to the show grounds so they should just work out their staff, elec, rent, permit etc costs and divvy up amongst the exhibitors.
But I will still go..... >:(
Post by: Spada on May 28, 2014, 05:53:53 PM

totally agree, it's like woolworths charging admission to come in and buy groceries.

You can usually get discounted entry through Courier Mail subs though.
Post by: Jenko67 on May 28, 2014, 05:58:10 PM
Totally agree, rip off, I have found in the past that there aren't great specials on items,  if you are looking for a van or camper it is worth it.. I'm after an annex so it gives me a good look at various annexes in one spot without driving around Brisbane..
Post by: Mik01 on May 28, 2014, 06:12:20 PM
Plus exorbitant parking of $20 or more, plus food etc. I'd like to go, but as I'm only looking to buy accessories, I'd need to save more than $100 or so to break even, as that is what it would cost me for the day with the family to go.

And to answer my own question, I am a bit of a tightarse, when it suits me!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bunyip on May 28, 2014, 06:37:23 PM
That is why we stopped going to Rosehill.

Panthers was free, parking much closer and everyone that we wanted to see

Post by: Spada on May 28, 2014, 08:05:46 PM
you can buy your ticket online (but it's only $1 cheaper) but it gives you free train travel from any station.

parking at the show will be $10, but space is limited due to the construction works.
Post by: oldarwin on May 28, 2014, 10:43:56 PM
Yep, got the red eye flight booked out of Darwin. Will be down thursday to check out your campers. Ahem work expense ;D sometimes I love my job!
Post by: grizzly on May 29, 2014, 07:46:44 AM
Margaret and I will be there :D not sure which day, looking at Off Road caravans, for future reference, and tow rigs dreaming of retirement ;D
Grizzly :cheers: .
Post by: Rumpig on May 29, 2014, 11:31:38 AM
a big reason why I won't be going is the price of admission, that and the fact the days of heaps of bargains to be got are long gone. Yeah there's some deals to be found, but the shows are nothing like they used to be 5 or so years back IMHO.
Post by: GeckoJK on May 29, 2014, 11:39:23 AM
I got 2 complimentary tickets from Modcon so i can supervise/Beatdown anyone wanting to touch my new camper on display hehehehe >:D
Post by: Beachman on May 29, 2014, 01:11:50 PM
I haven’t been for about 8 years as between the entry for the family, parking and buying a drink etc, it turns into $50 event before I’ve even bought anything.

In the past when I want something particular, I visited the local camping shops (who also have a stand at the show) and they have offered the same deal as what’s being offered at the show.

That plus the internet, deals offered in the showroom section on this forum and normal sales shops offer during the year offer just as good deals in my opinion.

If anyone wanted to buy a new camper or caravan, then going to the show would be helpful as they could see different brands/options in one place, but that’s the only reason I would go.
Post by: komaterpillar on May 29, 2014, 01:38:04 PM
the wife and i will be there, got a few things in mind that we will be keeping an eye out for, mainly just going for the day out and to see whats about and to pinch some ideas.  ;D
Post by: GeckoJK on May 29, 2014, 02:04:09 PM
the wife and i will be there, got a few things in mind that we will be keeping an eye out for, mainly just going for the day out and to see whats about and to pinch some ideas.  ;D

On saying that.... Who recommends those mats for outside and who makes them?? The ones where the sand falls through it... i think it is a double mesh or something?
Post by: nbd73 on May 29, 2014, 02:11:58 PM
On saying that.... Who recommends those mats for outside and who makes them?? The ones where the sand falls through it... i think it is a double mesh or something?
You mean CGear?  Camec sell them for sure but there will be heaps of different outlets at the show, but as others have said bargains need to be made, they won't just jump out at you.  I had to push ARB very hard a couple of years ago when I bought my 47l fridge at the show just to get the padded cover and some cargo bay tie down straps and mounting bolts thrown in for free.  A $1249 item surely has a fair profit margin built in, same goes for weber bbq's > the "show special" amounted to $20 off, hardly worth it when you have to haul it back to your car etc.
Post by: BBwilly on May 29, 2014, 04:51:34 PM
Promotion Code for the Show when buying tickets online

RACQ14
Post by: Jenko67 on May 29, 2014, 06:44:08 PM
Promotion Code for the Show when buying tickets online

RACQ14
But, you must enter your member number.....15% off plus $1 booking fee.
Post by: komaterpillar on May 29, 2014, 09:03:59 PM

Sooooooo anybody not prepurchasing tickets online who has a member number I can borrow? ;D ;D
Post by: DaveR on May 30, 2014, 06:42:24 AM
Sooooooo anybody not prepurchasing tickets online who has a member number I can borrow? ;D ;D
The beer tax will mean cheaper to pay full price   ;D
Post by: BBwilly on May 30, 2014, 10:28:46 AM

Just make one up I did :-) 9 digit number ;-)

To be honest I have no idea why we have to pay when we are purchasing something but anyway.
Post by: Mik01 on May 30, 2014, 12:15:19 PM
15% off $18, plus $1 booking fee = $1.70 discount.

whilst it sounds nice at around 9%, $1.70 is bugger all of a discount.

sorry it that seems ungrateful - I would have thought RACQ with all its buying power and influence could have got half price or something.

but better to save something than nothing I suppose! still wont be going myself... make sure you guys post up what you saw/thought of the show
Post by: Jenko67 on May 30, 2014, 12:46:43 PM

sorry it that seems ungrateful - I would have thought RACQ with all its buying power and influence could have got half price or something.

but better to save something than nothing I suppose! still wont be going myself... make sure you guys post up what you saw/thought of the show

Totally agree.
Post by: BBwilly on May 30, 2014, 03:34:53 PM

No worries mate if you like you can buy me a ticket and I can be your personal camper voyeur :-)
Post by: Rumpig on May 31, 2014, 10:11:48 PM
was just reading this on another forum (Expedition Portal), will be interested to hear from anyone going to the show what they think of the set up if they see it there (some pics would be nice also  ;) )
Quote from: haven;1594164
TravelTrucks will introduce their new expedition camper at the Queensland Caravan, Camping and Touring show, June 4-10, 2014 in Brisbane.  I hope our members in the Brisbane area will attend the show and give us a report.

The TravelTrucks camper will be sold under the name "Scrubmaster."  Here's a drawing depicting the new vehicle.

(http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk122/lx450/scrubmaster3.jpg)

The new camper uses the Iveco Daily 4x4 chassis. So far, Iveco (which is a subsidiary of Fiat) has not announced plans to enter the USA market.

For more information, http://www.traveltrucks.com.au/ (http://www.traveltrucks.com.au/)
Post by: BrisVegasGolfer on June 02, 2014, 09:11:03 AM
^^ That Iveco setup looks great!  When I'm a bit older and greyer (and the kids have moved on), I'd love something like that for cruising about. 

I think we're going to the show now.  My weekend of camping didn't pan out, so the next best thing would be to look at all the shiny new gear on show.  With any luck there'll be some roof awning specials.
Post by: Armadillo & Customline Campers on June 04, 2014, 10:56:29 AM
Well all the set up is done and the show is on........

Come and say hi..

See you down there.....

Rod.........
Post by: Armadillo & Customline Campers on June 04, 2014, 12:14:48 PM
Here are a few pics......

Rod.................
Post by: Jenko67 on June 04, 2014, 04:40:58 PM
Hi rod, how was the day? Plenty of people? I'm not in the market for a camper but might pop through and say hello on Friday.. Might wear my myswag polo.

Scott
Post by: GeckoJK on June 04, 2014, 04:51:37 PM
Seen you but was eating a dagwood dog hahahah. Did not want to embarrass myself
Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on June 04, 2014, 05:39:39 PM
Wish I could be in two places at once so I could go to this and camping as well.
Post by: oldmate on June 04, 2014, 06:03:52 PM
Wish I could be in two places at once so I could go to this and camping as well.

I'd rather camp. The shows are like a big virtual magazine lol
Post by: nbd73 on June 04, 2014, 06:47:33 PM
I'd rather camp. The shows are like a big virtual magazine lol
Agree. But SWMBO is working so no camping, therefore option B for weekend may involve a belated attempt to go. But from red bay I have a suspicion that CBF will be the dominating thought when it comes to actually getting semi serious about the concept. Just go to local news agent and buy 4 mags, that equates to entry fee, parking & fuel. ;D
Post by: DaveR on June 04, 2014, 07:04:40 PM
Here are a few pics......

Rod.................

Hope the show goes well for you guys.
Post by: oldmate on June 04, 2014, 07:07:27 PM
Agree. But SWMBO is working so no camping, therefore option B for weekend may involve a belated attempt to go. But from red bay I have a suspicion that CBF will be the dominating thought when it comes to actually getting semi serious about the concept. Just go to local news agent and buy 4 mags, that equates to entry fee, parking & fuel. ;D

Lol. Yep if I wasn't camping then I may think about option b   ;D
Post by: nbd73 on June 04, 2014, 07:19:06 PM
Lol. Yep if I wasn't camping then I may think about option b   ;D
The really sad part is that after you have finished skipping all the ad pages and paper thin articles that have been rehashed and shared amongst your 4 mags the damn things don't even make good quality fire starters: you still have to resort to the good old courier mail  :-[
Post by: Homer_Jay on June 04, 2014, 08:47:01 PM
I went today. Haven't been for a few years.

Was plenty to see and drool over. I was surprised at how many people were there today. Seemed to be mostly the 'bickie dippers' ....... There was pension cards being pulled out to get discounts everywhere you turned!

Seemed to be some good deals on offer. I picked up a bit of gear, all at good prices. Even ARB were keen to do a deal.

All in all a good day, beats working!

Post by: GeckoJK on June 04, 2014, 08:56:05 PM
I went today. Haven't been for a few years.

Was plenty to see and drool over. I was surprised at how many people were there today. Seemed to be mostly the 'bickie dippers' ....... There was pension cards being pulled out to get discounts everywhere you turned!

Seemed to be some good deals on offer. I picked up a bit of gear, all at good prices. Even ARB were keen to do a deal.

All in all a good day, beats working!

Agree very much so... Almost like a pension payday daytrip was to be had at the grounds LOL Had to dodge soooo many sticks and walkers!  :cup:
Post by: broncos11 on June 04, 2014, 09:57:48 PM
I'm there tomorrow if anybody wants to catch up for a coffee?

Post by: Jenko67 on June 05, 2014, 06:07:48 AM
Should keep this in mind if going to the show....

Post by: komaterpillar on June 06, 2014, 09:59:35 AM
Just arrived at the show, time to do battle with the grey nomads and the blue rinse brigade ;D
Post by: rodsswag on June 06, 2014, 10:40:39 AM
I'm on my way in now.
Roads are good hope the city is as good.

Rod......
Post by: BBwilly on June 07, 2014, 12:42:32 PM
How was the parking?
Post by: wartim on June 07, 2014, 01:20:18 PM
Good question, how was the parking?  last time I caught the train there was a break down?  I actually drove from Toowoomba to Brisbane quicker than it took for the train to get me to the show grounds. 

So am keen to park rather than go through that again.
Post by: Jenko67 on June 07, 2014, 01:43:43 PM
We didn't have a problem parking yesterday, got there at 10am and there was a line up but didn't take too long to get in, left at about 12.30 and it was easy to get out with on,y a few cars coming in, there were plenty of spare parks from cars that had been and left been for us...
Post by: BBwilly on June 07, 2014, 02:23:04 PM
Thanks Jenko will go in early then should be fine we went way to early last time lol sat outside for an hour with a 3 week old baby must admit we were treated like royalty by the female nomads.
Post by: Jenko67 on June 07, 2014, 03:42:50 PM
Thanks Jenko will go in early then should be fine we went way to early last time lol sat outside for an hour with a 3 week old baby must admit we were treated like royalty by the female nomads.

Hey mate, where are you coming from? I found it quicker for me, I'm in the western suburbs, go ICB, Off at RBH, left onto Bowen bridge road, then right into Campbell Street, then second right into Wren street (one way street), this will loop you around to O'Connell street, turn left and the car park is basically there on your right. you don't have to line up behind all the vehicles that travelled down from Brooke's Street and Hamilton Place,

Scott
Post by: BBwilly on June 08, 2014, 05:22:51 AM
Hey mate, where are you coming from? I found it quicker for me, I'm in the western suburbs, go ICB, Off at RBH, left onto Bowen bridge road, then right into Campbell Street, then second right into Wren street (one way street), this will loop you around to O'Connell street, turn left and the car park is basically there on your right. you don't have to line up behind all the vehicles that travelled down from Brooke's Street and Hamilton Place,

Scott

Ippy mate, will give that a go
Post by: JD-120 on June 09, 2014, 07:53:57 AM
We headed in yesterday. 4 hours of waking.

Checked out the Mirage, it was a good looking bit of kit. Big trailer.

We have a lifestyle camper, so we headed over to their site. Was a bit disappointed in specials. Unless you were keen to buy a new camper, they were not interested in selling or providing any other show specials. We had a few upgrades we wanted to purchase (probably a $1000 in total) but they would not budge from RRP.

Oh well, grabbed a few other bits and pieces for the Prado and some safety equipment.

Checked out a few caravans, this reinforced to us that we were not interested in trading in the camper to a van just yet

Post by: weeds on June 09, 2014, 08:46:28 AM
Dropped in yesterday arvo for a few hours.............could have spent all day walking around.

Grabbed a few more sand pegs for XMAS......

the wife fell I love with the conqueror 360

I fell in love with the IVECO scrubmaster

Post by: BBwilly on June 09, 2014, 08:50:10 AM
I fell in love with the IVECO scrubmaster

It looked like a Latte drinking Bushmaster lol but was a nice bit of kit as well
Post by: mickmac42 on June 10, 2014, 09:30:32 AM
Once again i walk away from a 4WD/Caravan & Camping show disappointed :'( . Took the missus to show her the CT's i was interested in. We were both thoroughly impressed with the Aussie Swag. I had been leaning towards a KK, but that Aussie Swag is just such a solid piece of kit. My disappointment didn't come from not getting a CT. That plan has been shelved while we build a house. I went to the show specifically to get a good price on 2 Black Wolf mega deluxe sleeping mats, two 60l Evakool iceboxes, and either an RV5 with front and side panels, or an F30X with front and side panels.

The iceboxes were the same price as currently available in the Club BCF sale. Not interested in going any lower.

The sleeping mats were the same story. Could have gotten the same price at Downunder Camping.

The RV5 was more expensive at the show than at BCF.

The only good price i got was on the F30X, which was $100 less than in stores. That's hardly a big deal though. I'm sure if i went to Downunder camping and told them i wanted to buy all of the above, they'd give me a good deal anyway... without having to pay for parking and entry.

Post by: komaterpillar on June 10, 2014, 09:35:49 AM
One place I walked into at the show had their RRP massively inflated and then their "sale price" was the normal market price eg. Coleman hot water on demand their RRP: 399 sale price : 229, I can get one for 229 any day of the week at my local bloke
Post by: DaveR on June 10, 2014, 10:20:35 AM
One place I walked into at the show had their RRP massively inflated and then their "sale price" was the normal market price eg. Coleman hot water on demand their RRP: 399 sale price : 229, I can get one for 229 any day of the week at my local bloke

x 2 for my local guy.
Post by: Jenko67 on June 10, 2014, 03:29:51 PM
Once again i walk away from a 4WD/Caravan & Camping show disappointed :'( . Took the missus to show her the CT's i was interested in. We were both thoroughly impressed with the Aussie Swag. I had been leaning towards a KK, but that Aussie Swag is just such a solid piece of kit. My disappointment didn't come from not getting a CT. That plan has been shelved while we build a house. I went to the show specifically to get a good price on 2 Black Wolf mega deluxe sleeping mats, two 60l Evakool iceboxes, and either an RV5 with front and side panels, or an F30X with front and side panels.

The iceboxes were the same price as currently available in the Club BCF sale. Not interested in going any lower.

The sleeping mats were the same story. Could have gotten the same price at Downunder Camping.

The RV5 was more expensive at the show than at BCF.

The only good price i got was on the F30X, which was $100 less than in stores. That's hardly a big deal though. I'm sure if i went to Downunder camping and told them i wanted to buy all of the above, they'd give me a good deal anyway... without having to pay for parking and entry.

Have to agree mate, I found most camp accessories were cheaper elsewhere, has been that way at every show... But having said that, I went to compare annexes no came away buying one so I was happy with that.

Scott
Post by: GeckoJK on June 10, 2014, 03:37:18 PM
Agree that alot of the prices were inflated.... however at Korr Lighting i did pickup the 4 led camp light kit with 4 50cm led bars. with all the accessories. Complete with added bonus of 2 x 30cm led bars, 2 x 5 metre extension cables, 2 x dimmers, 2 x splitters, extra velro and zip ties, but the biggest suprise was them also throwing in the remote kit for nothing.
The kit normally cost $249 with no extras and i did pick it up for $249 with all the extras i mentioned. To me that was a pretty good deal.
Post by: GS on June 10, 2014, 03:42:19 PM
My wife and I enjoyed wandering around the show today without the kids in tow or navigating through the weekend crowds.

Mainly looking at awning and annex options for our Goldstream.

Post by: grizzly on June 11, 2014, 09:48:22 PM
Margaret and i spent all day Sunday ;D at the show looking at off rod caravans for future reference( when we win lottery :'() picked up 2400kw Yamaha generator and a set of square pots and a fry pan :D, was surprised there where no tow rigs on show ??? , we don't need to go again for a few years :laugh:.
Grizzly :cheers: