General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Snapman007 on May 14, 2014, 01:40:02 PM
I've cleaned all the thick crusty stuff off the outside but need to get all the fine bits in the threads. I will bunch the braid up to expose the inside areas.
I've had good results in the dishwasher cleaning 30 years of crust off BMX tuffs but I'm thinking the front loader may work better for the winch rope.
Is one way better than the other?
You obviously must be single, if not you soon will be. :laugh: :laugh:
Not sure I would be doing it, so can't comment on which is better. Just be careful using detergents, it may affect the rope.
Washing machine works well for snatch straps, but haven't heard about winch rope..
Maybe google it - IM sure someone would have tried it by now.. Not sure of the long term effects on it.
Check here http://www.masterpull.com/rope-maintenance/ (http://www.masterpull.com/rope-maintenance/) for this bit of info
"To really get the strands free of dirt and grit, it is best to fill a bucket with water and some mild soap and run the entire length of the winch line through the water. While running the line through the water, push together on the rope to open up the strands to free dirt and grit.
Note: Do not wash your rope in a washing machine because the strands can get caught and pulled out."
Warm soapy water in a large tub (50lt) and then spend some time washing it and opening up the rope to free up all those small gritty bits you speak of.
Once done o good rinse in clean cold water, and leave to dry...done.
Swanny
I'll give the washing machine a go, it's a front loader so there's nothing inside for it to get caught on. I'll open up the strands before I throw it in and zip tie a footy sock over the metal bits on the ends and cross my fingers.
I did it here, the pics are missing so I might have to find them to get them back up
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=11310.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=11310.0)
In a dive bag in the washing machine, no soap, cold wash, Don't let the missus find out :o
Thanks for all the replies.
GG that gives me a bit for confidence in the result. :cheers:
I'm going to use powder unless there's an absolute reason not to. I'm thinking the dirt will stick to the suds then get spun away. I'll give it a 2nd wash without powder.
Also vote for no soap and dont dry in sun (uv)
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Ok I've put it in the machine with soap powder. I read the back of the soap box and nowhere does it say not to use with dyneema rope so all should be good. :cheers:
And thanks to google for helping find which part the soap goes in.
The chemicals in detergent may affect the strength of the rope. Thus why everyone says don't use soap or chemicals when washing it normally.
I understand where people are coming from regarding detergent but we are talking about mild clothes washing and not industrial strength detergent. If the residue left behind doesn't cause skin irritation I can't imagine its strong enough to damage the rope. As I mentioned earlier, I will be giving it an addition wash/rinse without soap. Besides, the soap hasn't effected the structural integrity of the elastic in the missus undies and if anything was gonna fail.........
Wow that's a big call:-) maybe put some cuddly in the final rinse. Makes it softer on the hands
Yep im with you on that......a good rinse and no dramas...
Ummar, Snapman's in trouble.
I put it through the first was cycle with soap. Switched it to a rinse/spin cycle and press start. 15 secs later I thought I'd stop the machine and have a quick look. The door wouldn't open so I tried ever so gently to persuade with the tiniest amount force and something broke in the latch, actually I don't even think I was touching it when it broke. The winch rope is stuck in the machine. I tried switching the power off to reset it and searched the internet for an emergency door release but this model doesn't seem to have one. That's the bad news. The good news is the rope looks really clean and the missus is away till Sunday.
I know its not nice to laugh at another's misfortune, but that is a cracka!
Gold!!!!!!!! Absolute gold. I wish you well.
Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Yup, front load washing machine. Your screwed. My condolensces
Was thinking earlier today that if you took this option, probably a good idea to cable tie the rope in a spool so it didn't tangle.
My apologies, I just didn't think you'd do it.
I read this thread at the start and thought why the f^ck would you put a rope in a washing machine.......................... >:D
Apparently Mr Internet says you can't open the door on a front loader during a cycle. Wish I knew that earlier.
Here it is doing an impression of a goldfish.
(http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/m501/snapman007/76b79564ab701c8d50b872f932cd4eeb_zpsb216ba98.jpg)
I put it through the first was cycle with soap. Switched it to a rinse/spin cycle and press start. 15 secs later I thought I'd stop the machine and have a quick look. The door wouldn't open so I tried ever so gently to persuade with the tiniest amount force and something broke in the latch, actually I don't even think I was touching it when it broke. The winch rope is stuck in the machine. I tried switching the power off to reset it and searched the internet for an emergency door release but this model doesn't seem to have one. That's the bad news. The good news is the rope looks really clean and the missus is away till Sunday.
(http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/1792/unseenad7.jpg)
Feeling for you mate. You must be gutted. You have a winch and no rope.
and no washing machine. :-[
Do you have a plan? And more importantly, do you have a story to tell "the boss"?!
Smash the laundry door, smash the washing machine door. Remove the rope, dry and reinstall onto winch.
Call the police and report a break and enter. Tell them you hide the family jewells in there and they've been taken.......
May as well coz your family jewells are toast on Sunday night!
pick it up, take it outside, smash it up, get your rope, buy her a new machine, and get the brownie points and the "praise" she will give you
win/win.
If you have a video camera, can you post up the conversation when you tell her!
Maybe you could cut out the glass door then stick a bit of tin over the hole!
If you have a video camera, can you post up the conversation when you tell her!
Maybe you could cut out the glass door then stick a bit of tin over the hole!
or any chance you can use a bit of wire with a hook on the end, grab the rope and pull it out through the drain hose? At least that way you get your winch rope back and can just say the machine just started all by it'self.
Reckon she's likely to believe that you didn't start it.........
All of you lot are about as helpful as a bucket with no base in it.
Geezzz you lot, the poor fella just wants some help.
Does the door lock unlock if you turn the power off at the wall? Failing that, Snappa,
can you lay the machine on it's back without the water going everywhere?
If that is possible, you may be able to undo the door hinges, from inside the body of the machine.
There is usually no cover across the underside of these machines.
You may even be able to get at the door lock and trick it into opening.
Comedians. :cheers:
I can't move the machine, it weighs 78kg + rope. I can feel some screws on the back top edge so hopefully there's enough room to get them out and remove the lid and access the door from the inside, hopefully. I give it a try tomorrow.
My other thought is to force the door open and replace the rope with some wet dirty clothes on Sunday morning, add a few drops of superglue around the door and close it then go out boozin for the rest of the day. ;D
All of you lot are about as helpful as a bucket with no base in it.
Geezzz you lot, the poor fella just wants some help.
Does the door lock unlock if you turn the power off at the wall? Failing that, Snappa,
can you lay the machine on it's back without the water going everywhere?
If that is possible, you may be able to undo the door hinges, from inside the body of the machine.
There is usually no cover across the underside of these machines.
You may even be able to get at the door lock and trick it into opening.
You are dead right, only helpful stuff now.
Does the washing machine need any speed holes? ;D
Sent from somewhere on something with that tap thing
In all honesty I don't think I'll get in much trouble, nothing surprises her anymore. :cheers:
I'm confident I'll get it open but not sure on getting spares in time. See what tomorrow brings.
Good luck with it.
In all honesty I don't think I'll get in much trouble, nothing surprises her anymore. :cheers:
I'm confident I'll get it open but not sure on getting spares in time. See what tomorrow brings.
is it still under warranty???
You obviously must be single, if not you soon will be. :laugh: :laugh:
Don't like to say but.....
is it still under warranty???
More comedy gold!!
Seriously though. What is the model of the washer. I'm sure a clever swagger will find a way to get it open if they get a look at a repair manual.
More comedy gold!!
Get the tech out there, he will get the door open if it is possible.. Slip in a $50 to say nothing.
Fifty or no fifty, the tech will have a grin from ear to ear when he sees what's happened.
Won't be able to resist telling his mates about it.
You just have to hope, none of the tech's mates Wives know your Missus.
Sorry Snappa, that's just GOLD. :cup: :cheers: :angel:
So....
You should not use detergent on rope... Maybe a 1/4 of a cap of organic/eco friendly stuff might be OK but do you really need you winch rope to have a lavendar scent???
I have done my rope in my washing machine a few times without detergent and it always comes up great. I usually tie mine up in a loop chain I learnt for washing ropes for climbing and it always comes out with out being tangled.
Do you have a "Drain" position on your machine? You should be able to switch it to drain and then once the drum is empty it should open up...
Good luck
Back when I had my 1st front loader I found that you needed to turn the power off & wait a minute or 2 to be able to open the door whilst doing a cycle when I had to look for lets say a mobile phone or a bluetooth ear piece ; (
This is exactly why I suggested to use a dive bag to 'contain' the rope.
X2. But this is he funniest thing I have read for a long time. Thanks mate :cup: :cup:
Good luck with it.
Ring Samsung. There will be a way to open the door.
Ring this number...0418878005...it's my brothers number and he fixes washing machines for a living in Brisbane. I'm sure if you explain the situation and tell him I said to ring and ask, he'll tell you what you need to do to get it going again or how to get the door open. For the price of a call what have you got to lose?
X2. But this is he funniest thing I have read for a long time. Thanks mate :cup: :cup:
Good luck with it.
Yeah I felt bad for laughing but I couldn't help it. Sorry ;D
At the very least you could finish washing the rope!
And as JWB said, you need to wait a minute or so for the door to "unlock" before you can open those machines.
Might just need brute force, it's (and you) knackered anyway.
Perhaps pre purchase the new machine, but I do think the "Superglue" method has merit. ;D
Can your hand fit down behind the bit where you put the powder?
Or maybe open it with Oxy?
Hopefully Mrs Snappa has a "Delay Start " button when she hears the good news! :cheers:
Some good news.
I got the door open. Someone broke the back part of the handle and that why it wouldn't open. The part has been ordered on fleabay for $17 delivered.
The machine was still working and completed both the wash and then rinse cycles. I just couldn't get the door open due to the broken handle.
(http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/m501/snapman007/1832045746571c4628ea9d8f67f792fb_zpsb4c84c6e.jpg)
We have a front loader and yes, once you push the button you have to wait for it to finish.
Just plug it back in, select another wash cycle and let it finish, then the door will unlock. Even though you broke the latch, you should still be able to open it once it unlocks.
As for using detergents, I used to abseil years ago, the ropes used to get really dirty and it was a no no to use any sort of detergent because it will affect the overall strength of the rope.
Just because it's ok to use it on clothes doesn't mean it's ok to use on something else.
You might be lucky this time, but I wouldn't do it again.
And some bad news. :'(
Some loops in the rope have come loose. They are not broken and there is nothing inside the machine for them to grab on that I can find.
The rope has never been used or had tension on it although it got muddy on its maiden voyage.
Is it possible these will pull tight when put under tension?
(http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/m501/snapman007/dc2fa38e0bda6daa41e2241aa355daa3_zps89f34d2b.jpg)
Or should my wife just chalk this up as a lesson learnt.
Maybe but I wouldn't trust it
Yes
Maybe but I wouldn't trust it
Yes
Geez....is this till going...... ::)
This has made my day mate.. sorry but its funny as
swannie
Nobody tell Mrs. Snappa.
This's gunna be priceless.
Sorry Snappa, It's there for the taking.
Just Gold mate.
So the moral to the story
If you start a thread asking for help, listen to all the advice giving, particularly if it all says don't put you winch rope in a washing machine with detergent. Lol.
At least you are a great teacher, you have taught many what not to do Pmsl
Another shred of wisdom learned from bitter experience as well as near divorce: DON'T TRY TO USE THE KITCHEN DISHWASHER AS A PARTS WASHER!
It makes the dishes smell funny and my wife has been regailing her friends about it for years at my expense.
It works OK though if you put extra detergent in and press the button for the pot-scrub cycle. But it still leaves a little bit of grease inside the stub axle.
Keith
Maybe try the dishwasher next Snappa, but please be sure to let us all know how that one goes.
Thanks for the good laugh
Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
Yes - try the dishwasher but use normal dish washing detergent...
Did this once as detergent is all the same right and of course I just poured it in by the tonne?
You know those movies where the whole room is full of bubbles - When discovered by my wife we all just 'laughed and laughed'!!! NOT.
Love your give it a crack thinking Snappa... Winner !!
And some bad news. :'(
Some loops in the rope have come loose. They are not broken and there is nothing inside the machine for them to grab on that I can find.
The rope has never been used or had tension on it although it got muddy on its maiden voyage.
(http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/m501/snapman007/dc2fa38e0bda6daa41e2241aa355daa3_zps89f34d2b.jpg)
Maybe if you give it a short cool cycle in the tumble dryer these loops will be pulled back into position.
Whatcha got to lose eh?
Can't have funniest swagger thread ever end here now can we..............
Definitely the washing machine but the pros always take the engine or gearbox parts out first.
Well at least he has learnt something, and given a good demo on how not to do it :)
Woolwash is what you need to use on Dyneema Rope and Car Parts.
http://www.naturesorganics.com.au/our-products/household-cleaning/australian-pure/eucalyptus-woolwash
It's a natural product that make the washed items softer on the hands when reinstalling!
Maybe if you give it a short cool cycle in the tumble dryer these loops will be pulled back into position.
Whatcha got to lose eh?
Dryer door? ;D ;D
outa balance too and throw itself offa the wall.
Plasta and crap everywhere
outa balance too and throw itself offa the wall.
Plasta and crap everywhere
cool, more work for me. ;D
Snappa looking to see if winch rope clean
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/16/ve7edu8e.jpg)
Rofpmsl
Give someone enough rope and they'll hang themselves.
(http://www.bullionstreet.com/uploads/news/2012/2/1328853720.jpg)
C'mon Fellas,
Would the rope actually hold his weight with all that damage he's done to it now? :cheers: >:D
I can't remember where I was but I completely missed this. Can it be pinned permanently please ;D
What a killer, funniest thing I have read in ages.
Snapman, thank goodness you took no notice of this early reply, had you done so you would have deprived us of many laughs.
"To really get the strands free of dirt and grit, it is best to fill a bucket with water and some mild soap and run the entire length of the winch line through the water. While running the line through the water, push together on the rope to open up the strands to free dirt and grit.
Note: Do not wash your rope in a washing machine because the strands can get caught and pulled out."
[/quote]
I think you should replace your profile pic with the one of your front loader in bits, once again thanks for the laugh, I'm of to do some washing!