General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jasman on May 12, 2014, 06:22:08 PM

Title: step ladder etc
Post by: Jasman on May 12, 2014, 06:22:08 PM
Hey, what does everyone use to reach high places when camping?

I'm looking for something so that I can easily reach the tops of the pop-top poles on the jayco to wrap the velcro flap around.  At the moment have a little ladder but thought their may be a better option, maybe something that doesn't sink in the sand.  Was thinking one of the industrial buckets but they take up a fair bit of room also.

Jason.
Title: Re: step ladder etc
Post by: ozstickman on May 12, 2014, 06:27:56 PM
We have a simple step ladder that when folded up is only an inch thick. I boards to go under the legs in soft stuff.

Sent from my Ring-a-ding-a-ling
Post by: DropBearRacing on May 12, 2014, 06:35:30 PM
We have a simple step ladder that when folded up is only an inch thick. I boards to go under the legs in soft stuff.

Sent from my Ring-a-ding-a-ling

x2.

Got ours from the big green shed for $20.00, does the job for us.
Post by: gunna on May 12, 2014, 06:45:09 PM
How high u got to go Jason ?
we use a milk crate very useful bit of furniture around the campsite
Post by: johnno48 on May 12, 2014, 07:39:05 PM
milk crate x 2
Post by: Rumpig on May 12, 2014, 07:51:55 PM
i have a small 2 step ladder, was a touch long to fit in the front box the chairs go in, so i cut the legs down about 50mm and it now fits perfectly  8)
Post by: Jasman on May 12, 2014, 08:07:51 PM
Gunna and Johno I like the milk crate idea.  I'm about 6', probably need about 1-2' extra to reach the top of the pole so I reckon a milk crate would be about right but 1" thick ladder is also appealing.
Post by: Beachman on May 13, 2014, 08:31:45 AM
Our camper didn’t come with a access ladder into the bed area (Their story is an insurance liability when drunk campers fall off the ladder)

So I just used the painting ladder I had at home. It’s your normal styles aluminium ladder with about 5 rungs and it’s about 1 metre high so I just lean it against the bed area to get in and out.

It’s nice and wide and sturdy (for those times I’m getting in and out of the bed drunk) plus it come in very handy for hanging lights in the annex area. Now when we go with a group, everyone in the group borrows the ladder at some stage during their set and pack up.
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on May 13, 2014, 09:00:51 AM
We don't have a ladder, I simply rely on being extremely tall, it seems to work.
Post by: BigJules on May 13, 2014, 09:21:23 AM
I've also go a collapsable step ladder, folds small enough to fit into the pole box, will post a photo for you.
Post by: #jonesy on May 13, 2014, 12:17:47 PM
I have a table and 2 benches.  I just use one of the benches for reaching the high points in the annex.  Used to drag around the esky around.
I only need it for a few minutes when setting up

I do have a ladder to get into bed but it isn't freestanding
Post by: peterdeg on May 13, 2014, 01:31:02 PM
milk crate x 2

Until you go through the crate and do a leg/ankle. If you have to use a crate, stand over opposite corners to spread the load.

No, wasn't me but someone I know ;-)
Post by: @fnq4now on May 13, 2014, 03:32:46 PM
We don't use a ladder. For wrapping the Velcro around the pop top poles, the leg winder works a treat.
Post by: Rumpig on May 13, 2014, 05:08:45 PM
Until you go through the crate and do a leg/ankle. If you have to use a crate, stand over opposite corners to spread the load.

No, wasn't me but someone I know ;-)
or get some decent thickness ply and screw it to the bottom of the crate....seem plenty like that on work sites over the years.
Post by: Meltdown on May 13, 2014, 05:19:10 PM
or get some decent thickness ply and screw it to the bottom of the crate....seem plenty like that on work sites over the years.

This :cup:
Post by: Azz on May 13, 2014, 05:31:05 PM
All you need to do is get your wife down on all fours and (get your minds out of the gutter) stand on her back.
That will give about 500 - 600mm extra reach  ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 13, 2014, 05:34:36 PM
milk crate x 2

Do you have a bit of board bolted to it?

A while ago down the marina, a bloke stood on one and his foot went straight through it. Cut him up badly and needed to cut it off his leg.

They do get brittle with time.

We just use a small stepladder that came with our camper, doubles as our way of getting into bed etc as well.
Post by: GUEY on May 13, 2014, 07:05:01 PM
One of these.
www.bunnings.com.au/rhino-0-9m-120kg-fibreglass-double-sided-industrial-step-ladder_p0860687 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/rhino-0-9m-120kg-fibreglass-double-sided-industrial-step-ladder_p0860687)
Outback Jayco's and short arses aren't a good mix  :'(
Post by: michael h on May 13, 2014, 10:53:26 PM
I have this in the 5 step model for our Expanda
[url]https://www.txp.com.au/shop/home.php/url]
In case the link doesn't work Its a squeeze box ladder purchased from TXP ladders
Not affiliated blah blah just like the idea cause it packs down quite small

Cheers Michael
Post by: prodigyrf on May 14, 2014, 03:03:43 AM
I'm 6'4" and naturally handle the top of the velcro tele, door flaps, etc but one of these is ideal for the missus and short ass.. err..vertically challenged-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/FineLife-13-Step-Stool-Portable-Plastic-Folding-Foldable-Chair-Store-Flat-/390738759914?pt=AU_Children_s_Furniture&hash=item5af9d850ea (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/FineLife-13-Step-Stool-Portable-Plastic-Folding-Foldable-Chair-Store-Flat-/390738759914?pt=AU_Children_s_Furniture&hash=item5af9d850ea)
You can pick them up in the cheapy stores like The Reject Shop too