General => General Discussion => Topic started by: MarkGU on May 12, 2014, 09:48:10 AM
Has anyone done the test where say if fuel is advertised at $1:60/Ltr, pump in $1 worth and see if the pump is accurate?
It wouldnt take too long to rack up big profits for the servo's if the pump was out a few cents or so >:(
Going to try this next time i fuel up.
Here is a Face Book link to post pics ( and shame) the servo's who are doing this.
https://www.facebook.com/1LitreCheck (https://www.facebook.com/1LitreCheck)
Like this ???
maybe why servo's dont want mobile phones there. most mobiles have a camera in them nowadays :-\
That photo above has been doing the rounds for a while. General consensus is it has been Photoshopped. Look at the different nines.
Not sure how often it happens BUT pumps are checked for accuracy by some government dept.. can't remember which one
Did it for Shits and giggles the other day and it was bang on
Heres one I saw on FB...
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/t1.0-9/10301300_10152117139158525_677665440576339576_n.jpg)
Terrible photoshop.
Heres one I saw on FB...
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/t1.0-9/10301300_10152117139158525_677665440576339576_n.jpg)
Terrible photoshop.
Yep, sure is :D
Don't need to do only $1
Fill up, divide total $$ by total qty. you will have $ per litre to compare with advertised price.
;)
Don't need to do only $1
Fill up, divide total $$ by total qty. you will have $ per litre to compare with advertised price.
;)
And that my friend is why your the boss! ;D ;D ;D ;D
Can you please tell that to the missus.
I have been telling her that for years. And all she does is snigger and walk away. :/
Probably best
Can you please tell that to the missus.
I have been telling her that for years. And all she does is snigger and walk away. :/
what's the old saying?
You can be the boss anyday swmbo says it's ok!
The bigger question......is the pump actually delivering the volume displayed??
^^^ too true.
Although I agree the get checked pretty regularly I believe.
They are already screwing us honestly. I don't think they need to lie about it. :)
yep i agree geoff, doesnt matter if the numbers on the pump do match, if it only delivers 500ml, per lt shown on display
That's right, if they wanted to rip us off (more than they already do between the govt and the oil companies) they would just make the pump deliver less!
All fuel pumps (should) have a little sticker on them that says when they were last tested (or when they next have to be tested.. I forget) which is some government agency (if you want specifics I am sure google will tell you)
Did it for ****s and giggles the other day and it was bang on
What has always got me is they test the volume is correct and if there is an error they put a red label on the pump and people continue using it anyway.......
Not sure how often it happens BUT pumps are checked for accuracy by some government dept.. can't remember which one
Maybe in NSW but NOT IN QLD !!
Pumps in WA have a sticker with the date and checkers number on it.
QLD Dept of Weights and Measures used to do it - that department no longer exists. Often in the past they would have a pump blocked off while checking - doesn't happen any more. Food scales in supermarkets were also regularly checked - no more !!
Have had numerous occasions where the 30 litre sub tank in my Patrol has supposedly taken up to 38 litres to fill ! WTF !! How come in WA I can only get up to 31 litres into it but in QLD it takes 38 litres?
I smell a RAT !!
Let me get my Tin Foil Hat while I read this thread. The conspiracy theorists are all waking up!
That is an absurd comment. We all know tin foil is futile unless used with 6B&S.
Probably just saved your life...
Your welcome. :)
That is an absurd comment. We all know tin foil is futile unless used with 6B&S.
Probably just saved your life...
Your welcome. :)
Thankyou :cup:
Yep, 6B&S or that 25mm wide copper earthing strap attached to the tinfoil hat.
More the better, make it look like a Mullet.
Weights and Measures have got this stuff well and truly covered but there's always the odd nutter worried about the weight of the placcy bag when buying fruit and veg that they're not getting their true weight's worth.
As for Big Oil and the servos all in cahoots ripping us off, the conspiracy theorists among us need to explain why these big bad monopolists ever drop their prices in the price cycle. Yeah I know, Big Oil has this wicked sense of humour unlike the three tiers of Gummint >:D
QLD Dept of Weights and Measures used to do it - that department no longer exists. Often in the past they would have a pump blocked off while checking - doesn't happen any more. Food scales in supermarkets were also regularly checked - no more !!
I smell a RAT !!
The rat would be one dead rat very quickly-
http://www.fairtrading.qld.gov.au/petrol.htm (http://www.fairtrading.qld.gov.au/petrol.htm)
You're more likely to get underweight and under volume from a farmers market or corner store than the Coles and Woollies or the multinational oilcos with the ACCC big stick awaiting them if something goes pear shaped. If their pumps were found under delivering no doubt they'd be suing their pump supplier and maintenance contractor on your behalf and the latter (usually another international) would know implicitly the commercial and Legislative realities and their obligations too.
Don't know about you, but I wasn't a straight shooter in biz simply because I might get caught if I were crooked, or some public servant type was or wasn't looking over my shoulder all the time. You want to worry more about union slush funders and the odd rogue employee ripping you off than big biz with their name to protect these days.
Has anyone done the test where say if fuel is advertised at $1:60/Ltr, pump in $1 worth and see if the pump is accurate?
It wouldnt take too long to rack up big profits for the servo's if the pump was out a few cents or so >:(
Going to try this next time i fuel up.
Here is a Face Book link to post pics ( and shame) the servo's who are doing this.
https://www.facebook.com/1LitreCheck (https://www.facebook.com/1LitreCheck)
Mark,
If you do wont to try it, it would probably be a lot easier and fairer test to pump in one (1) litre of fuel and see what price the pump says as to how accurate the pump is. To pump in $1 would not get the desired result, esp if fuel is as per your example $160 a litre.
When they do test the bowsers they do it with from memory a 10 litre drum.
http://www.raa.com.au/motoring-and-road-safety/fuel-information/fuel-measurement (http://www.raa.com.au/motoring-and-road-safety/fuel-information/fuel-measurement)
Speak of the devil. Management would not be pleased-
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/sa-court-fines-coles-31500-for-selling-significantly-stale-food-at-its-mclaren-vale-store/story-fni6uo1m-1226918600252 (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/sa-court-fines-coles-31500-for-selling-significantly-stale-food-at-its-mclaren-vale-store/story-fni6uo1m-1226918600252)
and no doubt heads have already rolled or are back stacking shelves
The pumps win have a sticker on them that will state the minimum delivery. Generally 5L. This is the least amount that the pump will be accurate. So if you put in 5L the it should calc correctly.
ok guys, here's a question for ya's 8)
your at the pump, press the numbers for desired amount ie say $50 worth.
pump starts pumping then reaches $50 and clicks off.
while keeping the handle on the nozzle open you up end the fuel hose and drain it into your tank.
The servo operator questions this practice but you tell him you are going to pay the $50 which it what the pump says. you tell him the fuel in the hose is what came OUT of the pump before it clicked off.
am i correct in saying that 1/2 to 1 ltr is mine because i payed for it?
Only if the hose was empty before you started your fill. The hose holds fuel after each fill so you're not missing out.
if the hose was full but before i used it then..................
Mate, It's got nothing to do with the amount of fuel in the hose.
The hose is always full of fuel, its the tiny amount in the nozzle that runs back into your filler tube.
Which is about sweet FA.
Just shaking the nozzle is all you are going to get more, the cut off is in the handle. :angel:
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/b/b9/Petrol_dispenser.jpg)
Jon
not saying your right or wrong but i have heard it running down the neck of the filler tube to the tank before. some nozzles may be different type to the diagram you posted?
Hey,
Contact Myth Busters.
Hey,
Contact Myth Busters.
did they burn down the servo while they were there ;D
I reckon they would give it a shot if you put a releasable request to them.
Maybe something along the lines of,
When filling his tank, he was having a perv on a good looking sort that was showing the twins quiet well, he had a heart attack, the pump had shut off, but the fuel in the hose ran out, as he fell to the ground a spark was caused through static electricity as he slid down the side of his car, which blow the servo pieces ;D
I'd give that a go :cheers:
I reckon they would give it a shot if you put a releasable request to them.
Maybe something along the lines of,
When filling his tank, he was having a perv on a good looking sort that was showing the twins quiet well, he had a heart attack, the pump had shut off, but the fuel in the hose ran out, as he fell to the ground a spark was caused through static electricity as he slid down the side of his car, which blow the servo pieces ;D
I'd give that a go :cheers:
i reckon that sounds like one of your previous experiences mate :cup:
Popped down to the servo tonight to get fuel for the lawn mower....
Managed to fit 6.01 litres into my 5 litre jerry can?!?!?!?!? ???
Spoke to the guy at the counter...he gave me the number of the manager to call in the morning and I took a pic...
Thoughts on what I should do?
Get over it....
Tip all of the fuel out of the can, and use an approved measuring device to accurately determine the actual capacity of your fuel can, and then if it definitely only holds 5ltrs, and not a drop more, then I would make an enquiry to the service station.
I am sure you will find that your can holds 6 ltrs when completely full to the top. Something you shouldn't do with petrol...
100% agree, after watching what happens to a plastic boat fuel tank when it gets a bit of sun on it :o
These pump are checked by a national government department - National Measurement Institute (Trade Measurement).
So QLD is covered, just like NSW is. Most of the time everything is in good nick and when not its fixed pretty quickly.
These photos have valid explanations - apparently a press release is going to come out soon because of all the crap that has been doing the rounds getting everyone up in arms about nothing at all.
How do I know this - the handbrake works for the dept in question
Mick
Popped down to the servo tonight to get fuel for the lawn mower....
Managed to fit 6.01 litres into my 5 litre jerry can?!?!?!?!? ???
Spoke to the guy at the counter...he gave me the number of the manager to call in the morning and I took a pic...
Thoughts on what I should do?
Stop over filling your 5l petrol can.
Yes they make fuel containers a bit larger to allow for expansion, The black plastic 20lt ones will hold 22lt if you fill them right up.